728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Laminate Wood Flooring or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Hand Scraped Dark Hickory 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)

Hand Scraped Dark Hickory 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)

Dark Hickory features a hand-sculpted design, inspired by rustic high-end visuals. Dark hickory has great depth and color. Its surface texture, complete with chatter marks, creates a casual feeling popular in today’s decors. This beautiful laminate hickory flooring is constructed using LocNPlace technology; this technology offers a single action glueless locking system which greatly enhances the speed and ease of installation while improving seam integrity.
Overall rating:
3.925 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(40 reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
77%of customersrecommend this product30 of 39reviews
Rating Breakdown 40 reviews
3.9 out of 5
5
(20)
4
(9)
3
(5)
2
(0)
1
(6)
Appearance 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
77%of customersrecommend this product30 of 39reviews
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for Hand Scraped Dark Hickory 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)
Review 1 for Hand Scraped Dark Hickory 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)
from Kingwood, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cheap quality, AVOID

PostedJuly 26, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don't be fooled by how attractive this laminate is. It's manufactured poorly. The tongue and groove system for assembly is so flimsy and breakable. In many of the boxes I opened, the tongue on the short ends was already broken. And this was not a shipping or handling issue. The tongue was just peeling away from the board. When I tried to install these planks, many of the ends kept popping up. This flooring boasts a "click and lock" system. But there is not clicking and no locking. I've installed quite a few laminate floors and this was the worst flooring I've ever worked with. I'm including photos. I'm taking this back to and getting my money back.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Difficult to Install, cheaply made, poor quality, waste of time
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hand Scraped Dark Hickory 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)
from El Dorado, AR

Nice and Inexpensive Flooring

PostedAugust 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I recently remodeled my home and I needed something durable and to go with the pine walls in my home. Wonderful flooring with high traffic area. Looks great to be laminate. I love the scraped look. If you get a scratch it will blend with the flooring. (Side note: The rug you see in the picture came from homedepot.com) This was very inexpensive flooring. The section of wood that I had to replace due to removal of old wall heater was more than the cost of 450 sq. ft. of flooring. I am very happy with my purchase
Pros: Looks Like Wood, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Looks High End
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hand Scraped Dark Hickory 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)
from Westchester, NY
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fairly easy to install. Super Value for what you get.

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I also recently purchased a bunch of this for about a 600 sq ft basement + stairs project. I was looking at the $2-3 range per sq ft and then ended up getting this at $0.69/ sq ft! The reason was that some of the boards were 'defective', and had a strange white stain that wouldn't come off. All in all, maybe 3-4% of the total boards had this issue, so i just bought a few extra packages and was good to go.
Overall install was fairly easy. This was my first floor install, and I had very little issues. A couple of the pieces were stubborn or slightly bowed, but nothing that a rubber mallet couldn't fix. End result has gotten tons of compliments and I saved a ton of $.
In terms of transition, I agree I noticed the issue and ended up going with the Zamma Enderbury Hickory style for quarter molds, reducers, and stair noses. They are very very close to a match, so I think they work well instead of attempting to stain match.
Can't beat this stuff for the price I paid.
Pros: Feels Like Wood, Looks Like Wood, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hand Scraped Dark Hickory 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)
from Texas

Great values, looks great and easy install!

PostedOctober 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Not sure what people are complaining about here. If a board doesn't go lock check it for obstructions or simply grab another one and move on. Transitions.... I thought the same first about transition pieces, but a HomeDepot associate called and was told they will be available in a few months; we waited. They are now available and my floor looks GREAT! The only thing that was not available is the stair nose molding which I needed to finish my house. Called the manufacturer, Zamma, and discovered that it's made for another product under Enderbury Hickory. Just ordered the pieces and will have over 1800 sq ft of this floor installed in my house with only the help of my 13 year old son. Everyone loves it and so do we. Installed Pergo before on a previous home and to be honest you are only paying for the name!
Pros: Feels Like Wood, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Effective
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hand Scraped Dark Hickory 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)
from Richmond, VA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Floor!

PostedMarch 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the 2nd laminate floor I've installed. One section of our house sits on a slab; so, there is no subfloor on which to place hardwood. Yes, I could build up a subfloor and raise all the doors to match the new height; but, yeah, I'm not doing that! We had decided on trying an engineered hardwood or bamboo in our dining room. We just happened to be at our local Home Depot looking around when we came across this! A nice, thick, handscraped laminate. It has some grooves and knots, etc. to give it some real wood detail, and it has just enough color variation to complete the look of real wood. Add in a nice underpad, and you've got a nice looking floor! We didn't have any major issues with installing. There were a couple boards in the 10 cases we bought that didn't quite want to snap together. So, we set them aside and used them for our cut pieces in a later run. I was surprised by the price - a good, thick, single plank laminate would usually cost more. We are going to take up the other (lighter oak, lesser quality) laminate in our TV room and put this down in its place. When we can manage the finances for it, that is!
Pros: Feels Like Wood, Looks Like Wood, Comfortable, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hand Scraped Dark Hickory 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

nice floor

PostedAugust 26, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I hired installers... they didn't express any difficulties installing the floors and denied that it broke easily. Per instructions, no acclimation needed
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hand Scraped Dark Hickory 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)
from San Antonio

Looks great, big improvement!

PostedJuly 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We changed out our berber carpet to the Shelton Hickory because we have pets and wanted a cleaner surface that wouldn't easily absorb scents and that would look modern. We are very happy with our purchase and would recommend this to anyone.
Pros: Feels Like Wood, Looks Like Wood, Looks Great, Modern, Easy to Clean, Effective
Cons: can peel
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hand Scraped Dark Hickory 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)
from Winston Salem, NC
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A lot easier than i thought to install!

PostedAugust 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Replaced old carpet with this product on a concrete slab. Was impresses about how easy it was to install. I have a 100 pound dog and was worried about the finish along with her scratching it. I have had this product installed for over 3 weeks now and still looks brand new and no scratches.
Pros: Feels Like Wood, High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Looks High End, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hand Scraped Dark Hickory 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)

Hazy Look

PostedAugust 13, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Please tell me what I can do about the hazy look? the installation is new. Since I've been reading don't use oils but I don't know what I can do to get rig of that hazy finish!!! Please help I would hate to think I wasted my money....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hand Scraped Dark Hickory 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)
from MYrtle Beach SC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beautiful flooring

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The flooring was easy to install. Looks like real hardwood. I have animals and you can not see any scratches.
I was disappointed that the product was discontinued and we traveled several miles to purchase. I would have covered my bedroom floor had I been able to find more of this in the store.
Pros: Feels Like Wood, High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Looks High End
Cons: discontinued the product. unable to purchase more
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hand Scraped Dark Hickory 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)

Love this floor

PostedJuly 22, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We did our entire house in this floor and it turned out beautiful. Was very easy to install. Very satisfied with the look and quality of the product.
Pros: Looks Like Wood, Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hand Scraped Dark Hickory 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)

Nice floor for the price

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Didn't have any problem with the flooring everything went in smooth and the floor looks great I hope it holds up like it's suppose to
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hand Scraped Dark Hickory 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)
from Atlanta, Georgia
Age Range:25 to 34
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks Beautiful, but the Interlocking Design is Mediocre

PostedJuly 3, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We installed this flooring on the entire first floor of our home. The ease of install was fair. The boards require a pretty strong tap to click together. While the flooring looks beautiful, I have noticed in the weeks following installation that the boards have a tendency to separate ever so slightly. Normally, I would not mind, but the small separation causes creaking sounds and can make the floor seem bouncy in places. It is not a huge problem, and a little super glue in the grooves seems to help, but don't expect a strong, powerful interlock like you will get with some of the more expensive flooring. If your subfloor is uneven at all, then you likely will have some separation, bounce, and creaks - especially where the boards meet end to end. It looks great, but the interlocking design left much to be desired.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Difficult to Install, does not lock together well
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hand Scraped Dark Hickory 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)
from San Antonio, Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Value-Very Esay Installation

PostedJune 17, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Purchased over 100 boxes of this stuff as well as Black Jack (Excellent Underlayment).
Goes on very, very easy-an amateur can do it no problem. It looks great-nicest laminate
Ive seen. However, it does not look like hardwood-so if that is the look you're looking for
this wont make you happy. But for the price-this was a good deal and it does look nice
as we did over 2000 sf in our house.
Pros: Feels Like Wood, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hand Scraped Dark Hickory 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)

Scratches easily

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
We were going to get 107 boxes of this to go in our house but just started with 5 and got a sample. Long story short, they told us it won't scratch and the only thing to worry about is if we let water seep through it. We brought it home and had seen a few scratches( not much at the time) we tested it to see if it did scratch and took a small rock to it lightly; it did major damage. We are taking it back.
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hand Scraped Dark Hickory 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)
from Texas

Good Stuff.....

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had already bought this flooring then read the reviews, decided to go ahead and see what happened. Sure glad I did, it is awsome, Used the red muffler floor membrane and this stuff is quiet. It was easy to install and locked right in place, some pieces needed a little extra help. This was my first attempt at Laminate flooring and I am very pleased and am going to get this again for other areas of the house.
Pros: Feels Like Wood, High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Looks High End
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hand Scraped Dark Hickory 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)
from Lafayette Tn. and Sarasota, Fl.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good looks But Locking Problem

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have been in the lumber business for 25+yrs I remember when Pergo hit the market only problem
to smooth no grain then Wilsonart came out with a laminate with grain you could feel strong enough to be used in bowling alleys. I found this floor to have a good look to it, but, the locking system is terrible easy to come apart and you have to glue down when you can't lift. Most laminates allow you to use the tapping block and pull bar and you feel it click and lock. This floors groove is not deep enough its a shame USA made was a reason I gave it a try. Much better products out there.
Pros: Feels Like Wood, Looks Like Wood, Looks Great
Cons: Difficult to Install, locking problems
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hand Scraped Dark Hickory 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)

Great product

PostedAugust 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
So it was very hard to install at first stopped and read the directions and I was laying it right to left, it says to go left to right once I changed the direction who floor installed very quickly! Love the color we will see how it holds up to dogs!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hand Scraped Dark Hickory 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)
from Albertville, Alabama
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Value Laminate!

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Changed to this product after installing some cheap laminate from another big box retailer. This flooring was remarkable for the price. Easy to cut, with no broken or chipped edges. Easy to install, with only 4 or 5 that required a hammer to fully engage the lock. I broke a few 'locks' off removing them incorrectly...should've read the removal instructions first. I purchased 10% extra for waste and took 90% of that back to return after I managed a 1% waste factor on 1600 sq ft laid. Great, low cost product
Pros: Looks Like Wood, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Looks High End, Great Value
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hand Scraped Dark Hickory 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)
from Port St. John, Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Beautiful and affordable flooring, very thick 12mm (1/2 inch) laminate

PostedNovember 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Remarkably thick (12mm, 1/2 inch) laminate -- all the other laminates were thin and plasticky. Beautiful warm wood tone, nice woodgrain texture underfoot, and great price. Home Depot installed it along with premium underlayment. All done a year ago, couldn't be happier.
Pros: Feels Like Wood, High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Looks High End
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>