728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Laminate Wood Flooring or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Shelton Hickory Handscraped 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)

Shelton Hickory Handscraped 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)

Shelton Hickory features a hand-sculpted design, inspired by rustic high-end visuals. Shelton has a hickory look with great depth and color. Its surface texture, complete with chatter marks, creates a casual feeling popular in today’s decors. This beautiful laminate hickory flooring is constructed using LocNPlace technology, this technology offers a single action glueless locking system which greatly enhances the speed and ease of installation while improving seam integrity.
Overall rating:
3.809 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
67%of customersrecommend this product14 of 21reviews
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(10)
4
(5)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(4)
Appearance 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Quality 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
67%of customersrecommend this product14 of 21reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Shelton Hickory Handscraped 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)
Review 1 for Shelton Hickory Handscraped 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)
from Westchester, NY
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fairly easy to install. Super Value for what you get.

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I also recently purchased a bunch of this for about a 600 sq ft basement + stairs project. I was looking at the $2-3 range per sq ft and then ended up getting this at $0.69/ sq ft! The reason was that some of the boards were 'defective', and had a strange white stain that wouldn't come off. All in all, maybe 3-4% of the total boards had this issue, so i just bought a few extra packages and was good to go.
Overall install was fairly easy. This was my first floor install, and I had very little issues. A couple of the pieces were stubborn or slightly bowed, but nothing that a rubber mallet couldn't fix. End result has gotten tons of compliments and I saved a ton of $.
In terms of transition, I agree I noticed the issue and ended up going with the Zamma Enderbury Hickory style for quarter molds, reducers, and stair noses. They are very very close to a match, so I think they work well instead of attempting to stain match.
Can't beat this stuff for the price I paid.
Pros: Feels Like Wood, Looks Like Wood, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Shelton Hickory Handscraped 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)
from Texas

Great values, looks great and easy install!

PostedOctober 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Not sure what people are complaining about here. If a board doesn't go lock check it for obstructions or simply grab another one and move on. Transitions.... I thought the same first about transition pieces, but a HomeDepot associate called and was told they will be available in a few months; we waited. They are now available and my floor looks GREAT! The only thing that was not available is the stair nose molding which I needed to finish my house. Called the manufacturer, Zamma, and discovered that it's made for another product under Enderbury Hickory. Just ordered the pieces and will have over 1800 sq ft of this floor installed in my house with only the help of my 13 year old son. Everyone loves it and so do we. Installed Pergo before on a previous home and to be honest you are only paying for the name!
Pros: Feels Like Wood, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Effective
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Shelton Hickory Handscraped 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)
from San Antonio

Looks great, big improvement!

PostedJuly 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We changed out our berber carpet to the Shelton Hickory because we have pets and wanted a cleaner surface that wouldn't easily absorb scents and that would look modern. We are very happy with our purchase and would recommend this to anyone.
Pros: Feels Like Wood, Looks Like Wood, Looks Great, Modern, Easy to Clean, Effective
Cons: can peel
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Shelton Hickory Handscraped 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)
from Richmond, VA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Floor!

PostedMarch 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the 2nd laminate floor I've installed. One section of our house sits on a slab; so, there is no subfloor on which to place hardwood. Yes, I could build up a subfloor and raise all the doors to match the new height; but, yeah, I'm not doing that! We had decided on trying an engineered hardwood or bamboo in our dining room. We just happened to be at our local Home Depot looking around when we came across this! A nice, thick, handscraped laminate. It has some grooves and knots, etc. to give it some real wood detail, and it has just enough color variation to complete the look of real wood. Add in a nice underpad, and you've got a nice looking floor! We didn't have any major issues with installing. There were a couple boards in the 10 cases we bought that didn't quite want to snap together. So, we set them aside and used them for our cut pieces in a later run. I was surprised by the price - a good, thick, single plank laminate would usually cost more. We are going to take up the other (lighter oak, lesser quality) laminate in our TV room and put this down in its place. When we can manage the finances for it, that is!
Pros: Feels Like Wood, Looks Like Wood, Comfortable, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Shelton Hickory Handscraped 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)
from Lafayette Tn. and Sarasota, Fl.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good looks But Locking Problem

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have been in the lumber business for 25+yrs I remember when Pergo hit the market only problem
to smooth no grain then Wilsonart came out with a laminate with grain you could feel strong enough to be used in bowling alleys. I found this floor to have a good look to it, but, the locking system is terrible easy to come apart and you have to glue down when you can't lift. Most laminates allow you to use the tapping block and pull bar and you feel it click and lock. This floors groove is not deep enough its a shame USA made was a reason I gave it a try. Much better products out there.
Pros: Feels Like Wood, Looks Like Wood, Looks Great
Cons: Difficult to Install, locking problems
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Shelton Hickory Handscraped 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)
from Texas

Good Stuff.....

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had already bought this flooring then read the reviews, decided to go ahead and see what happened. Sure glad I did, it is awsome, Used the red muffler floor membrane and this stuff is quiet. It was easy to install and locked right in place, some pieces needed a little extra help. This was my first attempt at Laminate flooring and I am very pleased and am going to get this again for other areas of the house.
Pros: Feels Like Wood, High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Looks High End
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Shelton Hickory Handscraped 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)
from griffen, ga.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

'bedroom makeover

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Struggled the first few rows getting the joints to align but then learned to give joints a tap with a spare piece and then the process really sped up. I love the look and even better, the wife does too. highly recommend... great product, even better price.
Pros: Looks Like Wood, Looks Great, Modern, Easy to Clean, Looks High End
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Shelton Hickory Handscraped 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)

Great value..too bad you can't get transition pieces to match!

PostedAugust 20, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought almost 700 sq ft of this product and was told that the reducers could be ordered. After installing one room, I went back to the store to order the transitions. This time I was told that the manufacturer (Shaw) doesn't even make transition pieces to match this flooring! No wonder it was a "Special Buy." I ended up having to get finished reducers, sand them down, then re-stain to a color that somewhat matched. Not happy!
Cons: no transition pieces
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Shelton Hickory Handscraped 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)
from Graham

Watch what you pick up, check the lot numbers

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased 10 boxes of this flooring, after making my major cuts and working around a delicate area, opened another box and started the strait areas got 2 rows done and noticed a difference in color and appearance, only to find out the boxes have different lot numbers, had to return some of the boxes and get the same lot so the floor would match all the way accross, The jury is still out on this as I have not completely finished so may be updating this if the appearance is different again.
Pros: Feels Like Wood, Looks Like Wood, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Modern
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Shelton Hickory Handscraped 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)
from tulsa, ok
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great flooring at a great value

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This laminate floor was just perfect for my living room. It looks and feels like real wood. I have never used laminate flooring before and this was the perfect choice. I had it installed by home depot and I'm glad I did because it is a lot of work when it comes to cutting the pieces and the trim. All the pieces seemed to lock in place perfectly and I didn't notice any warped boards. This floor is perfect if you have kids and pets. Its very easy to clean and does not appear to scratch easily.
Pros: Feels Like Wood, High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Comfortable, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Shelton Hickory Handscraped 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)
from Wellington, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

very high end look

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
beautiful look for the price A little tricky in the beginning but once I got the hang of it, it went very easy and quick.
Pros: Feels Like Wood, High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Comfortable, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Shelton Hickory Handscraped 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)
from Indianapolis
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice appearance but variations in finish

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought 1600 sq ft of this for entire main floor of our house. I like the appearance overall, and our installers said it was easier than most to install. The main issue was that with some of the boxes, the planks had a glossier, somewhat darker finish. In other boxes, the finish appeared more dull. It was difficult to see when just looking at the planks, but when you put these next to each other on the floor, there was an obvious difference and it just looked strange. Each of these look fine individually, but when mixed up over the entire floor, it just wasn't acceptable.
After realizing this about 1/3 of the way through the installation, we ended up having to take up what was already laid down, then sort each box and piece individually into glossy vs. dull. After going through all 1600 sq ft, it appears that the dull ones all had a manufacturing timestamp within about the same one hour period. I don't know if something went wrong with the finishing process during this time or what. Ultimately, we were then able to use the glossy kind in one area and the dull kind in another area, thus minimizing the problem somewhat. However, it was alot of work and unnecessary headache. I still think it was an OK deal based on the very low price, but if I was doing it over again, I would probably go with a different choice.
Pros: Looks Like Wood, Easy to Install
Cons: inconsistent finish
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Shelton Hickory Handscraped 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)
from texas
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

nice floor

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
it was not hard to put down. Looked nice after all was said and done.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Shelton Hickory Handscraped 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)
from Georgia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

cheap is correct description

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The stuff looked pretty good in the store, good price. The joints do lock well & are very hard connect. We took 2 or 3 people pushing on the 4 foot board to try to get the joint locked. If we hadn't already put down 1/3rd of the room & cut so many, I would have taken it back. You would be much better off spending more to get better quality. Oh, I have doing carpentry & woodworking for 40 years.
Cons: Difficult to Install
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Shelton Hickory Handscraped 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)
from San Antonio, Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Worst floor to install ever

PostedDecember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am a own Home Repair and Remodeling Company in San Antonio, Texas and have being in business since 1996. This is the hardest floor to install I have ever seen. It will not lock properly. It will take you twice as long to install because as soon as you think is going ok, you will find that a cpl of rows ago, the floor separated and at that point you have to disassemble enough of your work to fix the separation. Please whatever you do, try this at the store. Lock two of the small samples (about 12 inches long) and then pull them apart. Then, try the same thing with other brand and you will see.
Cons: Difficult to Install, will not stay locked
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Shelton Hickory Handscraped 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)
from Lake jackson
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product looks great

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product !,, Love the look of the floors... I would purchase these floors again for my next project.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Shelton Hickory Handscraped 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)
from Houston, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Value

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I had no problems installing this product. A few planks wouldn't fit together cleanly but swapping them out with another fixed that issue. The product looks darker in the home pieced together than what it looks like at the store. My only complaint is the transition pieces, I cant find any and im not paying $20 for the combo reducer and t mold because I dont need the reducer.What were they thinking???? I will have to find a similar match from somewhere else and this is a major hold up.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Shelton Hickory Handscraped 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)

Love them

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Looks like real wood! Textured looks great. Two dogs, no problems so far.
Pros: Feels Like Wood, High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Looks Great, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Shelton Hickory Handscraped 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)

Perfect floor ... more than you expect for thr price

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this floor is the easiest to install (completed about 850sq/ft in about 6 hours), more than you can expect looks and seems to worst was more than you paid for once down!!!
Pros: Feels Like Wood, High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Great Instructions, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Comfortable, Great Accent, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Effective
Cons: Hard to Remove
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Shelton Hickory Handscraped 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cheap is what you get

PostedSeptember 14, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Seemed like a great price. I chose it for a 1300 sq ft job. After getting the flooring to the house, I found the locking system very poor quality. Hard to lock in and not very secure once locked. I had to return it all and paid a little more for a different brand, but it required much less labor and the quality was better.
Pros: Looks Like Wood, inexpensive
Cons: Difficult to Install
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 >>