728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Laminate Wood Flooring or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Shelton Hickory Handscraped 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)

Shelton Hickory Handscraped 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)

Shelton Hickory features a hand-sculpted design, inspired by rustic high-end visuals. Shelton has a hickory look with great depth and color. Its surface texture, complete with chatter marks, creates a casual feeling popular in today’s decors. This beautiful laminate hickory flooring is constructed using LocNPlace technology, this technology offers a single action glueless locking system which greatly enhances the speed and ease of installation while improving seam integrity.
Overall rating:
3.964 / 5
4
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
71%of customersrecommend this product20 of 28reviews
Rating Breakdown 28 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(14)
4
(7)
3
(3)
2
(0)
1
(4)
Appearance 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
71%of customersrecommend this product20 of 28reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Shelton Hickory Handscraped 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)
Review 1 for Shelton Hickory Handscraped 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)
from Westchester, NY
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fairly easy to install. Super Value for what you get.

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I also recently purchased a bunch of this for about a 600 sq ft basement + stairs project. I was looking at the $2-3 range per sq ft and then ended up getting this at $0.69/ sq ft! The reason was that some of the boards were 'defective', and had a strange white stain that wouldn't come off. All in all, maybe 3-4% of the total boards had this issue, so i just bought a few extra packages and was good to go.
Overall install was fairly easy. This was my first floor install, and I had very little issues. A couple of the pieces were stubborn or slightly bowed, but nothing that a rubber mallet couldn't fix. End result has gotten tons of compliments and I saved a ton of $.
In terms of transition, I agree I noticed the issue and ended up going with the Zamma Enderbury Hickory style for quarter molds, reducers, and stair noses. They are very very close to a match, so I think they work well instead of attempting to stain match.
Can't beat this stuff for the price I paid.
Pros: Feels Like Wood, Looks Like Wood, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Shelton Hickory Handscraped 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)
from Texas

Great values, looks great and easy install!

PostedOctober 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Not sure what people are complaining about here. If a board doesn't go lock check it for obstructions or simply grab another one and move on. Transitions.... I thought the same first about transition pieces, but a HomeDepot associate called and was told they will be available in a few months; we waited. They are now available and my floor looks GREAT! The only thing that was not available is the stair nose molding which I needed to finish my house. Called the manufacturer, Zamma, and discovered that it's made for another product under Enderbury Hickory. Just ordered the pieces and will have over 1800 sq ft of this floor installed in my house with only the help of my 13 year old son. Everyone loves it and so do we. Installed Pergo before on a previous home and to be honest you are only paying for the name!
Pros: Feels Like Wood, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Effective
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Shelton Hickory Handscraped 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)
from San Antonio

Looks great, big improvement!

PostedJuly 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We changed out our berber carpet to the Shelton Hickory because we have pets and wanted a cleaner surface that wouldn't easily absorb scents and that would look modern. We are very happy with our purchase and would recommend this to anyone.
Pros: Feels Like Wood, Looks Like Wood, Looks Great, Modern, Easy to Clean, Effective
Cons: can peel
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Shelton Hickory Handscraped 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)
from Richmond, VA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Floor!

PostedMarch 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the 2nd laminate floor I've installed. One section of our house sits on a slab; so, there is no subfloor on which to place hardwood. Yes, I could build up a subfloor and raise all the doors to match the new height; but, yeah, I'm not doing that! We had decided on trying an engineered hardwood or bamboo in our dining room. We just happened to be at our local Home Depot looking around when we came across this! A nice, thick, handscraped laminate. It has some grooves and knots, etc. to give it some real wood detail, and it has just enough color variation to complete the look of real wood. Add in a nice underpad, and you've got a nice looking floor! We didn't have any major issues with installing. There were a couple boards in the 10 cases we bought that didn't quite want to snap together. So, we set them aside and used them for our cut pieces in a later run. I was surprised by the price - a good, thick, single plank laminate would usually cost more. We are going to take up the other (lighter oak, lesser quality) laminate in our TV room and put this down in its place. When we can manage the finances for it, that is!
Pros: Feels Like Wood, Looks Like Wood, Comfortable, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Shelton Hickory Handscraped 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)

Very easy install!

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was my first big project and a coworker and I tackled it in two days no problem. Product lays easily and looks FANTASTIC!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Shelton Hickory Handscraped 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)
from Van Buren, AR
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks great

PostedOctober 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Looks even better when it is in the house. Would recommend to all.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Shelton Hickory Handscraped 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)

Looks great

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So easy to install. It looks so good. Pricing was very reasonable. Installed 2 10 x 12 rooms in 3 days.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Shelton Hickory Handscraped 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)
from Albertville, Alabama
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Value Laminate!

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Changed to this product after installing some cheap laminate from another big box retailer. This flooring was remarkable for the price. Easy to cut, with no broken or chipped edges. Easy to install, with only 4 or 5 that required a hammer to fully engage the lock. I broke a few 'locks' off removing them incorrectly...should've read the removal instructions first. I purchased 10% extra for waste and took 90% of that back to return after I managed a 1% waste factor on 1600 sq ft laid. Great, low cost product
Pros: Looks Like Wood, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Looks High End, Great Value
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Shelton Hickory Handscraped 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)
from McIntosh County, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointed

PostedOctober 13, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I should have read the details because I was shocked to discover that all the planks were the same length. This caused me extra time and effort. This is the first of these type products I purchased that did not come with three different sizes. They also did not click into place as readily. Overall, it is an okay product except for the fact it did not have varying sizes in the box.
Pros: Good Wood, Effective
Cons: Difficult to Install, all planks the same length
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Shelton Hickory Handscraped 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)
from Ruskin FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Shelton flooring

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The flooring is beautiful but was a bear to install because they really didn't click and lock easily. Halfway into the project I really wish I had sucked up the cost to have it installed but I was concerned with all of the add on costs. Turns out it would have been worth it.
Pros: Feels Like Wood, Looks Like Wood, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Comfortable, Looks Great
Cons: Difficult to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Shelton Hickory Handscraped 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)
from griffen, ga.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

'bedroom makeover

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Struggled the first few rows getting the joints to align but then learned to give joints a tap with a spare piece and then the process really sped up. I love the look and even better, the wife does too. highly recommend... great product, even better price.
Pros: Looks Like Wood, Looks Great, Modern, Easy to Clean, Looks High End
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Shelton Hickory Handscraped 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)

Great product

PostedAugust 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
So it was very hard to install at first stopped and read the directions and I was laying it right to left, it says to go left to right once I changed the direction who floor installed very quickly! Love the color we will see how it holds up to dogs!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Shelton Hickory Handscraped 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)
from Lafayette Tn. and Sarasota, Fl.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good looks But Locking Problem

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have been in the lumber business for 25+yrs I remember when Pergo hit the market only problem
to smooth no grain then Wilsonart came out with a laminate with grain you could feel strong enough to be used in bowling alleys. I found this floor to have a good look to it, but, the locking system is terrible easy to come apart and you have to glue down when you can't lift. Most laminates allow you to use the tapping block and pull bar and you feel it click and lock. This floors groove is not deep enough its a shame USA made was a reason I gave it a try. Much better products out there.
Pros: Feels Like Wood, Looks Like Wood, Looks Great
Cons: Difficult to Install, locking problems
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Shelton Hickory Handscraped 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)
from Texas

Good Stuff.....

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had already bought this flooring then read the reviews, decided to go ahead and see what happened. Sure glad I did, it is awsome, Used the red muffler floor membrane and this stuff is quiet. It was easy to install and locked right in place, some pieces needed a little extra help. This was my first attempt at Laminate flooring and I am very pleased and am going to get this again for other areas of the house.
Pros: Feels Like Wood, High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Looks High End
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Shelton Hickory Handscraped 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)
from tulsa, ok
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great flooring at a great value

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This laminate floor was just perfect for my living room. It looks and feels like real wood. I have never used laminate flooring before and this was the perfect choice. I had it installed by home depot and I'm glad I did because it is a lot of work when it comes to cutting the pieces and the trim. All the pieces seemed to lock in place perfectly and I didn't notice any warped boards. This floor is perfect if you have kids and pets. Its very easy to clean and does not appear to scratch easily.
Pros: Feels Like Wood, High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Comfortable, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Shelton Hickory Handscraped 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)

Great value..too bad you can't get transition pieces to match!

PostedAugust 20, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought almost 700 sq ft of this product and was told that the reducers could be ordered. After installing one room, I went back to the store to order the transitions. This time I was told that the manufacturer (Shaw) doesn't even make transition pieces to match this flooring! No wonder it was a "Special Buy." I ended up having to get finished reducers, sand them down, then re-stain to a color that somewhat matched. Not happy!
Cons: no transition pieces
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Shelton Hickory Handscraped 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)
from Graham

Watch what you pick up, check the lot numbers

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased 10 boxes of this flooring, after making my major cuts and working around a delicate area, opened another box and started the strait areas got 2 rows done and noticed a difference in color and appearance, only to find out the boxes have different lot numbers, had to return some of the boxes and get the same lot so the floor would match all the way accross, The jury is still out on this as I have not completely finished so may be updating this if the appearance is different again.
Pros: Feels Like Wood, Looks Like Wood, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Modern
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Shelton Hickory Handscraped 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)
from Wellington, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

very high end look

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
beautiful look for the price A little tricky in the beginning but once I got the hang of it, it went very easy and quick.
Pros: Feels Like Wood, High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Comfortable, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Shelton Hickory Handscraped 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)
from Indianapolis
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice appearance but variations in finish

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought 1600 sq ft of this for entire main floor of our house. I like the appearance overall, and our installers said it was easier than most to install. The main issue was that with some of the boxes, the planks had a glossier, somewhat darker finish. In other boxes, the finish appeared more dull. It was difficult to see when just looking at the planks, but when you put these next to each other on the floor, there was an obvious difference and it just looked strange. Each of these look fine individually, but when mixed up over the entire floor, it just wasn't acceptable.
After realizing this about 1/3 of the way through the installation, we ended up having to take up what was already laid down, then sort each box and piece individually into glossy vs. dull. After going through all 1600 sq ft, it appears that the dull ones all had a manufacturing timestamp within about the same one hour period. I don't know if something went wrong with the finishing process during this time or what. Ultimately, we were then able to use the glossy kind in one area and the dull kind in another area, thus minimizing the problem somewhat. However, it was alot of work and unnecessary headache. I still think it was an OK deal based on the very low price, but if I was doing it over again, I would probably go with a different choice.
Pros: Looks Like Wood, Easy to Install
Cons: inconsistent finish
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Shelton Hickory Handscraped 12 mm Thick x 5.43 in. Wide x 48 in. Length Laminate Flooring (17.99 sq. ft. / case)
from texas
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

nice floor

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
it was not hard to put down. Looked nice after all was said and done.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 >>