728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Vacuums or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for DC50 Animal Compact Upright Vacuum

DC50 Animal Compact Upright Vacuum

DC50 Animal is Dyson’s lightest upright vacuum. It weighs just 11.6 lbs. and has the performance of a full-size upright. The technology inside has not simply been concentrated – every angle and dimension re-engineered for improved performance. Dyson DC50 Animal has advanced cleaner head technology. It includes a self-adjusting base plate for optimal contact on every floor type, a brush bar with anti-static carbon fiber bristles to remove fine dust from hard floors and stiff nylon bristles to remove ground-in dirt from carpets. Like all Dyson vacuums, DC50 Animal has no bag, so there’s no loss of suction. Instead, patented cyclone technology spins dust and dirt from the air. With 2 Tier Radial cyclones, DC50 Animal has 19 cyclones that work in parallel across two tiers to increase airflow and capture more microscopic dust from the home. Unlike ordinary upright vacuum cleaners, DC50 Animal rides on a ball. It turns on the spot, steering easily around furniture and into difficult places. DC50 Animal has Dyson’s latest Ball technology. Even more of the machine’s key components are located inside the ball itself. This reduces clutter on the outside of the machine, streamlining its profile. DC50 Animal comes with the Tangle-free Turbine tool. It’s the only turbine tool that doesn’t tangle. Counter-rotating heads with brushes remove hair and dirt from carpets and upholstery. There’s no brush bar for hair to wrap around.
Overall rating:
4.669 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(952 reviews) 903
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product909 of 952reviews
Rating Breakdown 952 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(703)
4
(209)
3
(22)
2
(10)
1
(8)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Features 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product909 of 952reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for DC50 Animal Compact Upright Vacuum
Review 1 for DC50 Animal Compact Upright Vacuum
from Jackson, TN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Good Overall Vac

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Picks up great. Easy to store since handles retracts. Pushes and turns good. Hose is a little short for pull out cleaning. Apparently they sell an extension hose. Key word - SELL.
Pros: Performs Well, Good Size & Lightweight
Cons: short hose
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for DC50 Animal Compact Upright Vacuum
from York, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Pretty Dang Nice Vac

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to assemble.
Works great.
Easy to use.
Light weight.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Good for All Surfaces, Easy to Empty Filter
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for DC50 Animal Compact Upright Vacuum

pricey but good vacuum

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
worth the price as it cleans much deeper than any other vacuum we have ever had
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for DC50 Animal Compact Upright Vacuum

Dyson DC50

PostedApril 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the best vacuum I have ever owned!! It picks up every little speck on rugs and hardwood. I also have a cat and it picks up all of his cat hair. I would definitely recommend this vacuum to anyone who wants an immaculate home :)
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Nice Design
Cons: price
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for DC50 Animal Compact Upright Vacuum
from Penitas, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Weekly

My wife and daughters love it. Powerful lite weight.

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After several searches, the animal was the one for us.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for DC50 Animal Compact Upright Vacuum
from Oregon, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Not sure why it's called animal

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this to replace another pet vacuum. It is very light and compact. I was a little concerned about the size of the head but it has to turned out well. It maneuvers well and can fit into those hard to reach places. I can finally vacuum under my kitchen cabinets. I really like the way it turns on the ball. The big downsize of this vacuum is the size of the dirt container. I have to empty it before finishing a room. Sometimes more than once. I have to put my hand in the container to get all of the dirt and hair out. Yuck! I even have to use a hanger to get what I can't reach. This is not pleasant. I am very disappointed with this feature. For the price of this machine, I was hoping to get something special
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Good Size & Lightweight
Cons: Cord Length, Dust Chamber, Clogs, Build Quality, Difficult to Empty Filter
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By DysonProductExpertSeptember 16, 2014By DysonProductExpertSeptember 16, 2014
Hi Lisa, this is Joe with Dyson. I am glad to hear you are enjoying the powerful suction and maneuverability of the DC50. DC50 is our ultra lightweight compact upright and the machine is designed for optimum efficiency without sacrificing performance. Having to empty the bin is a good indication that the vacuum is effectively cleaning your floors.

We would be happy to discuss your experience in greater detail, please feel free to send us an email with your contact information to askdysonUS@dyson.com and we will be in touch.

Best wishes,

Joe
Dyson Customer ServiceDyson-EN_US
Review 7 for DC50 Animal Compact Upright Vacuum
from Amherst, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Daily

DC 50 Animal

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First the good: very lightweight, very maneuverable and great suction. Not the bad: the canister is waaaay too small to get any serious coverage completed before having to empty it. And, to remove pet hair, you not only have to empty the canister, but you have to take the canister apart to get the hair removed from it. And finally, the electric cord is way too short.
Bottom line: expect a great vacuum, but be prepared to empty and take apart the canister and keep plugging and unplugging the cord from room to room.
Had I known these issues, I most likely would not have purchased this model.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Quiet, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Self-Propelled
Cons: Cord Length, Clogs, Difficult to Empty Filter
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for DC50 Animal Compact Upright Vacuum
from Victoria, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Excellent Product

PostedAugust 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I really love the performance and features of this vacuum. It's fantastic at doing what I bought it for - cleaning. Now, the few cons are that the dust collector is a little small, and the handle seems a little flimsy when it's extended out. That's... well, that's it. Other than that, fantastic product and cleans way better than my previous vacuum. Only downside is that it's about twice as expensive as any other vacuum I'd consider, but if it lasts twice as long, I'm a happy camper.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Lots of Features, Nice Design
Cons: Dust Chamber, Build Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for DC50 Animal Compact Upright Vacuum
from New York City
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Weekly

Best lightest vacuum I've ever used!

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Although expensive, it is definitely the best lightest vacuum I've ever used. Extremely easy to maneuver around, with exceptional suction that does not quit. While we do not have any animals as pets - I expect this one to be the most often used for daily cleaning and pickups. Although it's feel is light (which it is supposed to be), if does preform as expected. We have one on each floor of our home for convienence.
Pros: Performs Well, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for DC50 Animal Compact Upright Vacuum
from Indiana, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Weekly

I love how easy it is to maneuver.

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I like this model, very easy to maneuver. But I still like my full size purple pet Dyson the best. I imagine after I get use to it I will love this one as well. I wish the cord was longer, but I will get use to that too.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Cord Length
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for DC50 Animal Compact Upright Vacuum
from Albuquerque, NM, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Weekly

There is no better vacuum!

PostedJuly 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I can't believe the dirt the Dyson gets from my already vacuumed carpet. I just moved into a new apartment
and am shocked. The Dyson is an archeologist's dream.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Quiet, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Self-Propelled, Nice Design, no competition!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for DC50 Animal Compact Upright Vacuum
from Buford Ga.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Dyson Is Great!

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
WOW! Our new Dyson Vac is the greatest since slice bread. My wife bought the unit right before Thanksgiving and I had a chance to use for clean-up on black Friday, and it works like a dream. Very light, not too big/bulky and very powerful. It's als very easy and simple to clean. Accessories are easy to change out. I'm still not convinced about the value yet (too soon), but if it continues to perform like it has, this will be our best value buy during this holiday season.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for DC50 Animal Compact Upright Vacuum
from Ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Usage frequency:Daily

Does a great job!

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have purchased various vacuums over the years, but this one is by far the best one yet. Very easy to use and love the idea that you can see what you have collected before you empty the unit. Also has the best pet cleaning attachment I have ever used. Great job! Only complaint would be the hose doesn't extend as far as needed some times.
Pros: Easy to Use, Strong Suction, Good Size & Lightweight
Cons: hose length
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for DC50 Animal Compact Upright Vacuum
from Wyoming, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Daily

works as good as they advertise

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
very easy to use and maneuvers great. I have two dogs and live in an area with very fine dirt, and the vacume picks up every bit of it.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Good Size & Lightweight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for DC50 Animal Compact Upright Vacuum
from Bellmore
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Daily

amazingly great

PostedDecember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had my fill of vaccuums that dont work well. This Vacuum is great. It works the best out of all the name brands Ie used I would buy another in a second!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for DC50 Animal Compact Upright Vacuum
from Orange, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Lightweight and cleans beautifully

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This vacuum cleans the best of any vacuum I have ever used. I appreciate the light weight and how easily it maneuvers over carpet and hard floors.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for DC50 Animal Compact Upright Vacuum

I'm in love with my vacuum cleaner

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My carpets have never been so clean and my allergies have made marked improvements since I purchased this amazing machine. I know it sounds crazy, but I look forward to vacuuming my house (and so does my husband, something I never thought I'd say!). The machine is super light weight and delightfully easy to maneuver around corners, under beds and in tight places. It sucks up every piece of dog hair our mutts leave behind--not to mention the dander and other things that make me sneeze! I will never buy another vacuum cleaner again. It's so worth the investment! The only thing I wish is that the canister was a smidge bigger like the older Dyson models. and it would be cool if the hose were a little longer, too, but these are both things I will happily live with for the sake of cleanliness!!
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Good for All Surfaces, Quiet, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
Cons: hose length is shorter than expected
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for DC50 Animal Compact Upright Vacuum
from Fairfax, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Weekly

This is the best vacuum I've ever purchased.

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The Dyson vacuum is as powerful as it claims. It is light and easy to work with. The extension tube is not as long as it appears in the commercial. I will definitely buy another Dyson in the future.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for DC50 Animal Compact Upright Vacuum

Great Vacuum!

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This dyson came just as described. It is light weight and very easy to maneuver. It picks up dust that is unexplainable and is very quiet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for DC50 Animal Compact Upright Vacuum
from Apopka, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Weekly

Love this vaccum!!!!!

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is by far the best vaccum I have ever had! It is so light but suction is incredible!
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Quiet, Great Value, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>