728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Tool Bags or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 22 in. Rolling Pro Tool Tote

22 in. Rolling Pro Tool Tote

The Husky 22 in. Pro Grade Rolling Tote features a Heavy-Duty Telescoping Handle and 3 Heavy-Duty Steel Reinforced Wheels for Greater Mobility. This item also features a fold-over rain flap with waterproof zipper to keep water out of main compartment. The Husky 22 in. Pro Grade Rolling Tote also features Heavy-Duty carrying handles and 4 Heavy-Duty Tape Measure/Pouch Clips.
Overall rating:
4.917 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product12 of 12reviews
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
4.9 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product12 of 12reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for 22 in. Rolling Pro Tool Tote
Review 1 for 22 in. Rolling Pro Tool Tote
from San Diego, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Amazing Tote for My RC Tools, Chargers and Parts

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
About 1 month ago, purchased a Husky 22-inch Rolling Pro Tool Tote from Home Depot for my RC tools. I really love it!
When I first got into RC Trucks, I started keeping my charger, batteries, parts and tools in an old SKB 61-Note Roto-Molded Electronic keyboard case.I had purchased that case (used) to hold a 500-series helicopter which I no longer have. It’s a great case. Tough as nails. It even has wheels at one end. However, it’s one BIG downfall is that it’s, well, BIG! It is so long that it won’t fit in the trunk of my car. It will fit across the back seat of my car, but that’s not always optimal. It is also very awkward to lift when it’s full of stuff.
In my quest to find a better portable case for my RC stuff, I began looking for another hard case. I actually had in mind the Stanley FatMax 020800R 4-in-1 Rolling Work Station. In pictures, the 020800R FatMax looked like it might be perfect for chargers and larger items in the bottom, plus parts, tools and batteries in the upper sections. However, it had to be able to fit in the trunk of my car without laying down. I measured my trunk height, then went to the store and measured it. No luck. It’s too tall.
I had not even thought of a soft-sided tote until I was walking through Home Depot and saw one on display. I was pretty impressed. It was a bit expensive at $129, but I bought it on impulse (Hi, my name is Michael and I have a tool addiction…).
This 22-inch Rolling Pro Tool Tote is the largest soft-sided tote that Home Depot sells. Luckily for me, it JUST fits standing up in the trunk of my car. For a soft-sided case, it is seriously beefy and well made with a heavily reinforced bottom and back and a very strong extendable handle. When full of parts and tools, this tote is pretty heavy. However, the two strong straps across the top make lifting it into the car much easier than trying to manipulate that seriously long SKB box that I have. It also has very strong lifting straps on either side.
This 22-inch Rolling Tote has THREE wheels across the bottom. They are solid wheels with good bearings. The fully loaded tote handles the weight without any problem and rolls easily on reasonably flat surfaces and lawns. It is not for off road walking expeditions over rough surfaces, but that’s not why I bought it. For me, it’s a base station. My job takes me away from home quite a bit. I take my RC Trucks with me. That’s why it was important to me to have a tool-box capable of fitting into the trunk of my car. When I stay in hotels, the tote goes with me into the room so I can work on the trucks in the evening when I’m not running them.
I had an interesting experience in practical use of the three wheels: Besides holding extra weight, I wasn’t sure what the purpose was for having three wheels. However, I was recently pulling this tote along the sidewalk to my hotel when I had to move over for some people walking the other way. One side of the tote went over the edge of the sidewalk. I braced myself for the expected drag, but it never happened. Even with one wheel hanging in the air, the other two wheels on the sidewalk kept the tote upright and rolling easily. I don’t know if Husky had that in mind when they installed three wheels, but I like it!
I especially like the many, MANY pockets on this tote. I use the outside pockets for things I want access to the most such as my batteries and one of my chargers. The various sized inner pockets are great for my voltage tester, hand-tool kits, lights, spare parts, wire, tape, glue, etc. The numerous mini-pockets and straps across the inner back wall are perfect for my various individual hand tools such as pliers, vice grips, wire strippers, side cutters, clamps and so on. There are even two small zippered web pouches on the inside top flaps where I keep my extra charger adapters and the CellLog battery tester that I use all the time. They are safe there, but quickly accessible.
Finally, the large space in the middle of the tote works well for things like my second battery charger and power supply, electric drill and driver, heat gun, soldering station, my rolled up Cow Pad, etc. You could also fit a smaller 1/10 scale or a 1/16 scale RC Truck in there.
The closest soft-sided tote that I could find in comparison is the Klein Tools Tradesman Pro Organizer It is a also a very well-built tool tote and has awesome, large wheels. Video on YouTube shows that those wheels will easily roll over rough surfaces. However, I don’t need that ability. The Klein tote is more expensive than the Husky tote and just slightly smaller. Overall, I found the Klein tote to be too small for my needs. I have a lot of stuff.
UPDATE: The center space of the Husky 22-inch Rollng Pro Tool tote is vary large, so it’s rather easy to pile too much stuff in there. That makes it hard to keep organized. I considered buying plastic organizer boxes to stack in there, but settled on using smaller Husky totes that fit inside the large tote. That ended up working extremely well and I’m very happy with the final result.
I had placed a link in my review to an RCCrawler Forum where I had posted 22 pictures of this tool tote along with descriptive captions. Unfortunately, Home Depot rejected that review because of including the link. I'll post the maximum of six pictures allowed here. If you want to see more, go to the RCCrawler forum, then the Tools and Procedures sub-forum, then search within that sub-forum for the MailManX review of the Husky 22-inch Rolling Pro Tool Tote.
Buy this tote! You won't be disappointed!
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Move, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Nice Design, sturdy extendable handle, three wheels
Cons: none - except they could charge less for it!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 22 in. Rolling Pro Tool Tote
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sturdy Bag

PostedSeptember 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This bag is strong and seems as if it will hold up to repeated use if the first month is any indication. There are pockets galore with some viewable zipper pouches and clips for various tools. This is nice considering how deep the bag is. Unless you don't put the tool in the proper pouch, there isn't any fumbling for it in the bottom of the bag. Also, the three wheels provide additional security and stability when moving on flat and slightly uneven surfaces. Although the bag is heavy, I carry it up steps unless they are concrete. It moves well up and down concrete steps. The top of the bag is reinforced and flat which means I can sit other bags or items on the top and roll the bag without worry that the items will fall off. I gave the value a 4 because it is pricey, but if it lasts for a long time it will definitely be worth every penny.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Move, Nice Design
Cons: higher price point
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 22 in. Rolling Pro Tool Tote
from Pennsylvania
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Heavy But Built To Last

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Very pleased with this bag. It's only drawbacks are its' price and it's shipping weight as stamped on the carton, is 29 lbs. That is a heavy bag before one tool goes into it. If you need to lift your bag a lot you may want to go to a lighter bag; However if your job has you moving and using a lot of tools in a lot of different locations throughout the day, this is a great bag for that. I have put so much into the bag and there's room for more. With all the pockets it's easier to find things faster. The bag folds closed fairly flat so you can easily stack other bags, boxes or lunch thermoses on top and roll everything together. There is a 3rd wheel in the center of bag bottom and it has considerable skid plates built into the lower part of the sturdy handle which makes for easier moving up or down short steps. I wouldn't go over too many steps if there's an easier way though simply because of the weight. This bag is a brute and holds a lot! If cost is no worry, You'll love this freight train!
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, many pockets, weather resistant, 3rd wheel
Cons: heavy empty, expensive
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 22 in. Rolling Pro Tool Tote

Best tool bag

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got this tool bag for my b/f that had a trunk full of scattered tools. This bag is amazing! Has all kinds of nooks and cranies and everything has a place. It's heavy duty and good quality. I recommend it.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 22 in. Rolling Pro Tool Tote
from Upstate NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Nice bag but should have been better

PostedJune 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I use this bag to do technical service to machinery at the customer's location. It serves the purpose well and is built very well for the money, especially at the new price. After using it for about 3 months, I have found a couple flaws that for me are significant and I hope future versions will improve.
1.) The bag does not go down stairs well. I often "drag" it up and down a short set of concrete stairs at the loading dock. It goes up just fine, following me as I drag-lift it up each step. Going down using the bag in front of me, step by step, it hands up at the bottom of the bumpers and actually has to be shoved forward to clear the edge instead of naturally going down. This is awkward when you are standing a couple steps above and really should have shown itself during testing if Husky had chosen to do it's assessment in real world conditions.
2.) The pockets are pretty robust but many of them become useless once you put some tools in some of the pockets because they are too tight. In other words, the inner and outer pockets nest in each-other and once you put a tool into one of the pockets, the others that are nested in the same group no longer have any or much room for the next tool, greatly limiting what can be put in them. The pockets should have been made more spacious from the factory which would have made the bag far more versatile. Instead, I'm having to find other pocketed inserts to put inside somehow. The optimum bag would have had an attachment system and a couple optional pocket panels either included or available separately for purchase.
All and all this is a rugged and spacious bag that does what I need it to and is a bargain at the reduced price. It could be better with a little effort and I hope Husky makes the effort to learn from their customers and continuously improve their bags.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Stylish, Good Size & Weight
Cons: not as flexible as it should have been, doesn't go down stairs easily
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 22 in. Rolling Pro Tool Tote
from Louisville Nebraska
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Heavy Duty Big Rolling Toolbox

PostedDecember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a big, beefy bag. So is the price tag but it is not just a piece of cheap airport luggage with wheels. haven't had it long but figured after carrying my old toolbox for the last 20 years, a rolling box (bag) might make me work smarter, not harder. This one of the 3 that HD offers, is black (big deal) but much larger than the other two smaller ones. Same quality I think but the tape measure holders on the outside are metal and the bag rests opposite the wheels look stronger than the 18". I think I will wear out the zippers and zipper pulls before the bag or the wheels or support. This bag has a nice flap on the top that covers the main zipper if you choose to fold it over instead of zipping every time. Think of the bag as a solid bag and not a soft bag as about the only thing soft is the top part but it is sturdy enough to put something on top when moving around. Of special note, the bag has hand lifting straps about half way down on each side of the bag to lift the bag with, instead of using the top handles. This can help considerably with the size and weight of this bag as far as lifting it into the back of a pick-up or trunk area. Expensive, but a nice quality product. I would buy it again.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Move, Stylish, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 22 in. Rolling Pro Tool Tote

This bag holds all of my tools!

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This bag is heavy duty and will get the job done. All of the outside pockets make it easy to get tools that are mostly used.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Move, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 22 in. Rolling Pro Tool Tote
from socal
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

great tool bag

PostedNovember 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this tool bag to replace two smaller husky bags that I carry in my trail jeep. I used one small for tools, and one small for recovery gear/straps. This one large bag more than fills the duty of both the other bags. Now that space isn't as much of issue I can carry some tools that otherwise I would leave behind. The other husky bags have always held up great for what I use, and this bag looks to be better built.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 22 in. Rolling Pro Tool Tote
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Awesome Product!

PostedMay 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This Husky rolling case worked out great for my needs.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 22 in. Rolling Pro Tool Tote
from New York, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This bag has all features you needet for every job.

PostedSeptember 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The best bag i ever havet.Very ridgid and big.Worth every dollar,good quality material and strong.In all my carer change a lot of bags,this is the one i was waiting for.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Move, Nice Design
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 22 in. Rolling Pro Tool Tote

This product had great features.

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this for my husband who is an electrician. He was able to fit ALL of his tools inside. Husky provides a warranty on their bags as well.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Move, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 22 in. Rolling Pro Tool Tote
from Concord, NH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Love it.

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great mobile storage unit. we take it outside to do repairs and have had no problems as yet.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.