728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Washers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Cabrio Platinum 4.8 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer with Steam in Chrome Shadow, ENERGY STAR

Cabrio Platinum 4.8 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer with Steam in Chrome Shadow, ENERGY STAR

Give your clothes the care they need with the Whirlpool Cabrio Platinum top load washer with steam. Adaptive Wash technology automatically senses the size of each load and uses the right amount of water to keep colors vibrant wash after wash. With Precision Dispense Plus, the 4.8 cu. ft. model even adds detergent, bleach and other additives at the right time during the cycle, so you don't have to. And, with adaptive wash actions, your clothes will always experience the perfect combination of powerful cleaning and gentle fabric care, while the Sanitary cycle with Steam and Oxi eliminates 99.9% of common household bacteria. And because it is designed, engineered and assembled in the U.S.A., you can buy this model with genuine American Pride. Search Electric Dryer model WED8900BC or Gas Dryer model WGD8900BC.
Overall rating:
4.608 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(577 reviews) 577
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product520 of 562reviews
Rating Breakdown 577 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(467)
4
(63)
3
(9)
2
(7)
1
(31)
Features 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Quality 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product520 of 562reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer reviews for Cabrio Platinum 4.8 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer with Steam in Chrome Shadow, ENERGY STAR
Review 1 for Cabrio Platinum 4.8 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer with Steam in Chrome Shadow, ENERGY STAR
from Doylestown, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worst Washer ever!!

PostedNovember 21, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Buyer Beware!!! Do not by whirlpool. I bought this 1 1/2 years ago. Did not purchase the extended warranty - but when you are spending close to 1000 for a washer should you have to? Well you better!! After 1 1/2 years, the hindge on the lid cracked. As a result the lid no longer closes and it will not work. Cost to repair- Door, new hinges, service call- about $400. Unreal and when you call the service center they dont care that they sell products that do not last. BUY LG! Picture attached!
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+21points
27out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cabrio Platinum 4.8 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer with Steam in Chrome Shadow, ENERGY STAR
from Brentwood, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Old school agitator washers are a hundred times better....

PostedAugust 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These washers are a gimmick. They don't clean at all. Clothes still smell, stains remain, and even the most minor of spots aren't removed. I've even pulled clothes out after a cycle to find completely dry and untouched areas on clothing I can't express enough how badly these washers clean. Save your money and find a regular old agitator washer that will clean your clothes. DO NOT BUY THIS WASHER!
Cons: doesn't clean at all
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cabrio Platinum 4.8 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer with Steam in Chrome Shadow, ENERGY STAR
from New Orleans, LA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

So far, so good

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Take the ratings with a grain of salt ... just got the washer and dryer combo. They look and sound great. Only have done a couple loads ... and haven't used the steam feature ... but I am please so far. So easy, even I can use it. The tub is so big. Need to wash one big load of sheets and towels to really try it out. Wife hasn't even seen them yet ... I thik she will be pleased. Need to rerate in about 4 years. Of course, with the kids grown and gone, they won't really be put to the test.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Lots of Features, Nice Design
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cabrio Platinum 4.8 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer with Steam in Chrome Shadow, ENERGY STAR
from Gainesville, GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

STAY AWAY

PostedApril 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The delivery man summarized this machine as he delivered the new washer yesterday. He said, "I have been picking up a lot of these lately." He went on to say, "I had this one too and it made the loudest noises."
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish
Cons: Not Durable, will begin making violent noise by year 3
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cabrio Platinum 4.8 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer with Steam in Chrome Shadow, ENERGY STAR

A Great Addition to Our Home

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After a great deal of research we decided to purchase the Whirpool Cabrio. It has exceeded our expectations with exceptional performance since it was installed.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cabrio Platinum 4.8 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer with Steam in Chrome Shadow, ENERGY STAR
from Houston, TX
Age Range:35 to 44

Lid has cracked twice in three years

PostedSeptember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Look online and you will see so many that have had a similar problem with the lid cracking. I have replaced the lid once at one year and now need to replace again. Unfortunately, the part is on indefinite backorder and I am now having to buy a new washer. So disappointed. Do not buy!
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cabrio Platinum 4.8 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer with Steam in Chrome Shadow, ENERGY STAR
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Worst Washer Do not waste your money!!!!!

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This washer does not get the clothes clean and we also have problems with the balance. Do NOT WASTE YOU MONEY!!!!!!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cabrio Platinum 4.8 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer with Steam in Chrome Shadow, ENERGY STAR

Wonderful

PostedNovember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this washer! I've only had it a couple of weeks, but we just moved and have had tons of company, so it's been busy. All of the options are great, and I LOVE that I can make a more eco-friendly choice with just the push of a button. I also love how quiet it is, and that it is so big, I can wash twice as much as my old agitator machine, which is great b/c we're about to have kiddo #3!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cabrio Platinum 4.8 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer with Steam in Chrome Shadow, ENERGY STAR
from Knoxville, TN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Washer

PostedNovember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have had this washer and matching dryer for just over a year now. We got this set to replace our 20 year old units that had finally done their last loads. This washer has been excellent so far! We have noticed a significant decrease in our water and electricity bills since using this HE machine. These machines are absolutely beautiful (we chose the chrome shadow models). I love that there are so many different cycles and various options to choose from; no matter what I'm washing, there is a cycle for it! It has a very large capacity and can hold a HUGE load. The fact that there is no agitator in the center saves lots of room and allows for larger loads. The only negative aspect of this washer that we have found so far, is that it starts to develop a mildew odor if you shut the lid immediately after doing laundry loads, which my old machine never did. I run a cleaning cycle through the machine once a month with the Affresh tablets and try to always keep the lid open, doing this definitely helps prevent the odor issue. I HIGHLY recommend this machine.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: occasional odor
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cabrio Platinum 4.8 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer with Steam in Chrome Shadow, ENERGY STAR
from Philadelphia
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor Choice

PostedOctober 6, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This washer is terrible at washing anything. We washed a mildly dirty dirty dish towel on the Sanitize cycle 3 times before giving up. All of the food and stains remained on the towel and you could still smell the food! With our old, ancient washer, it only needed one run through. Any basic washer will do a better job than this. We were originally attracted by all the features and look of the design, but the performance is a nightmare. Do not waste your money on this. We shopped around a lot looking for a HE unit with steam in the washer or dryer and something made in the USA before deciding on this. It's a disappointment to say the least.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish
Cons: doesn't wash well, bulky
+11points
17out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cabrio Platinum 4.8 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer with Steam in Chrome Shadow, ENERGY STAR
from ALBANY, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DO NOT PURCHASE

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased this washer about 2 years ago the it has broken down 4 times. the first time was about 4 months in. And just recently. So far it has been a month of repair men and the still not any clothes going through it. DO NOT BUY
Cons: Not Durable
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cabrio Platinum 4.8 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer with Steam in Chrome Shadow, ENERGY STAR

Washer and dryer

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I like the machines a lot but am not sure about using them as I did not receive the owner manual for the washer. I did receive the manual for the dryer. I think maybe the delivery guys took it with them by mistake as they opened up the box in the street. I will try to get one from home depot or the company (whirlpool)
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: No Instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cabrio Platinum 4.8 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer with Steam in Chrome Shadow, ENERGY STAR
from Greenbelt, MD, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I love this washer.

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love my new washer. It is so quiet, I hardly know it is on. It uses very little water, but my clothes come out incredibly clean. I am very pleased with the Cabrio. The steam feature is wonderful for someone with allergies. I also got it for an excellent price. I am glad I held out and got this washer instead of settling for something less expensive.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cabrio Platinum 4.8 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer with Steam in Chrome Shadow, ENERGY STAR
from Portland OR
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent machines - beautiful and highly efficient!

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought the Whirlpool Cabrio Platinum set with steam in white last month. My local Home Depot store had these on sale, with an additional 10% off, which helped with sticker shock. I bought them to replace a 12-year old Maytag set that came with my house, when that washer died. These new high-efficiency Whirlpool machines are really remarkable. My favorite features, in no particular order, are:
1.) The ease of the controls - very clear and simple to understand
2.) The wide variety of settings - sheets, delicates, durable, casual, etc...
3.) The enormous capacity
4.) The low water usage, since water is very expensive where I live
5.) Washer spins the clothes almost dry, so dryer is much quicker
6.) Dryer has option for very low heat for bras, activewear, delicates
7.) Dryer has steam refresh, which works perfectly
8.) Washer seems to be self-balancing. I haven't had a single load out of balance
9.) The machines look VERY handsome and are sturdily built in USA
10.) Washer has a sanitize feature, which works great for kitchen linens, etc.
11.) Both washer and dryer are super-quiet, compared to my old W/D
12.) Washer somehow gets clothes cleaner with less water and less detergent
13.) Clear lid is fun - to observe how the magic happens!
The only thing I think some people might not like is that the wash cycles are really long. Really, REALLY long. Like 50-90 minutes. This isn't a problem for me, but for someone with a packed schedule, this might be problematic. While dryer is quicker, overall time per load is definitely longer. Also, check dimensions carefully including height of washer with lid up, and depth of dryer with new style of rigid venting. Mine was a very close call on both, as the set is taller than average, and new style dryer vent sticks out further than old flexible tube kind.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, cleaner clothes with less water usage
Cons: very long wash cycles
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cabrio Platinum 4.8 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer with Steam in Chrome Shadow, ENERGY STAR
from Kansas, USA

Washes huge loads, shortens my time spent doing laundry

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
There is a lot to like about this washer. Multiple options make this machine quite versatile. The first week I had to consult the instructions to pick the right settings for nearly every load. But I've had it a month and now select the options I use most with almost no thought at all. The size of this washer saves me so much time over my old front loader. I can wash a comforter and throw a couple sweatshirts in, too. On the settings for study items like towels, it forces so much water out in the spin that drying takes very little time. Yet with a different setting, it cleans delicate items with no stretching, leaving them ready to air dry.
Another plus, it was made in the designed and assembled the USA.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: have to learn how to use
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cabrio Platinum 4.8 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer with Steam in Chrome Shadow, ENERGY STAR
from Southlake, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Great washing machine

PostedApril 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased about 2 months and extremely impressed so far. My previous Whirpool machines were 17 years and was ready to upgrade. The washer cleans great and is so quiet, especially compared to my old machine. Love all the different settings. We were able to wash some delicate items that would normally by dry clean only.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cabrio Platinum 4.8 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer with Steam in Chrome Shadow, ENERGY STAR
from Menlo Park, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It works fine!

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It was installed on delivery, and has had no problems.
It has a clear cover, and my daughter loves to watch the clothes clean.
The functions are easy to understand if you read the first 4 pages of the manual.
I like the idea that I'm saving water compared to a regular top loading agitator type washer.
The tub is large, and the height is just right for reaching in to get your clothes.
It works fine! Clothes come out clean.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Lots of Features, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cabrio Platinum 4.8 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer with Steam in Chrome Shadow, ENERGY STAR
from Buford, GA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far so good

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought it to help reduce allergens, and the steam feature to kill bacteria, and so far so good we have not had any issues, it gets the chlothes much drier, and doesnt use as much water as our old washer.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Lots of Features
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cabrio Platinum 4.8 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer with Steam in Chrome Shadow, ENERGY STAR
from Tucson
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Whirlpool Magic

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
There is so many options to cleaning and everything comes out perfect. I'm very finicky about clean items. This washer does magic. My items have never been cleaner. This washer has made life a whole lot easier.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, magic
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cabrio Platinum 4.8 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer with Steam in Chrome Shadow, ENERGY STAR

Great washer

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great washer does get itself in level once In awhile nice set would buy again
Pros: Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>