728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Nail Guns & Collated Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit

4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit

The HDX 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit is the perfect kit for hobbies crafts and the small projects around the house. The HDX Pneumatic 16-Gauge Straight Finish Nailer features a top-loading aluminum magazine a no-mar tip and adjustable exhaust. The nail depth can be adjusted without the need of any tools to drive nails ranging from 3/4 in. to 2-1/2 in. The HDX Pneumatic 18-Gauge Strip Brad Nailer accepts 3/8 in.-2 in. brads and works great on trim, finish, cabinetry and crafts. The die-cast aluminum housing and quality internal components are durable while still remaining lightweight. The HDX Pneumatic 18-Gauge Narrow Crown Stapler fastens 7/32 in. crown staples ranging from 3/8 in. to 1-1/4 in. long it works great with trim cabinetry and crafts. In-line re-load indicator alerts when you are running low so you can work uninterrupted. The HDX Pneumatic 23-Gauge 1 in. Strip Headless Pin Nailer is great for assembling many small wood projects such as jewelry cases, trim and hobby work. It is made of lightweight, die-cast aluminum for a durable tool that is easy to handle. This nailer comes 200 of each nail type to get you started on your projects.
Overall rating:
4.408 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(76 reviews) 76
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product70 of 76reviews
Rating Breakdown 76 reviews
4.4 out of 5
5
(45)
4
(25)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(4)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product70 of 76reviews
Customer questions and answers:
15 Questions | 77 Answers
Customer reviews for 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit
Review 1 for 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit
from Minneapolis

Garbage! Short Life! They Don't Last.

PostedJanuary 11, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this set to replace a finishing nail that failed after 15 years. This set the finishing nailer didn't even make it though the box of nails that came with the guns. After taking the gun nose apart to get a jammed nail out I discovered why they won't last. The driving pin doesn't appear to be hardened steel. Just look at the attached picture. I returned to HomeDepot and bought the Ridgid finishing nailer, a much better product that is designed to last!
My advise is don't waste your money on this set. They won't last.
Pros: cost
Cons: Not Durable, won't last!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit
from Chesapeake, VA, USA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best deal out there

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this set of nail guns mainly for the 16 gauge finish nailer. When I saw the price, I thought they must be of poor quality but there were too many good reviews to ignore. I needed them for a crown molding project and they really made the job a lot easier. I used the 16 gauge finish nailer to put up backer board and then used the 18 brad nailer for the crown. Both of them loaded easily and never jammed. I was able to use the nails that came with the set to complete the job of over 120' of 3.5" crown. My compressor would kick on every 30 min or so when not using the nailer due to air leakage, possible a slow, inaudible leak in the gun or in the hose connections. With the hose disconnected, there was no leakage. The set was delivered in a couple of days, in good condition. I did have a few misfires until I learned how hard to press against the work, then they fired every time. Once I got the air pressure right, every nail was countersunk about 1/16", (perfect). Order these and you shouldn't be disappointed. If I were a professional installer I would have gone with a more expensive brand name, but for my purposes, these were great!
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit
from Sunland, CA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great value for the price!

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am a handyman that does EVERYTHING, including build cabinets and such.
I had been using a stapler/pinner combo gun that I was never really happy with. I could never find a nail gun or pinner that I was happy with the quality/price with, so I kept holding out.
I stumbled onto this pack and was very excited. We cracked open the box and everything seemed very solid and well put together.
Even my dad, who has been using Porter Cable guns for the last 15 years, was very pleased and couldn't believe the quality and handling of these guns for this price.
I highly recommend them for someone who uses various guns on a semi regular basis.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit
from Canaan, Vermont
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Purchase/Awesome Value

PostedJanuary 29, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I picked up the e nail guns and the stapler one day, took them home and put a couple drops of oil in
each one as recommended and waited one day. Plugged them in next day and one spice rack, one slat
topped plant table and a couple of other projects in the works, these things work GREAT!!!! I switch
back and forth from one to the other and NO problems, NO issues, and so far (knock on wood) NO misfires. These things are awesome and the sale value was tremendous. THANK YOU HOME DEPOT!!!!!
Bob Rice
U-Design Woodworking
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit
from Lewiston, Idaho
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Price

PostedJanuary 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The 4-PIECE PNEUMATIC FINISHING KIT came with compressor attachments, lubricant, and nails for all four guns. I build Bird houses, some big and some small. I have been able to try all the guns and they work great. It makes the job fast and easy. I would recommend the PNEUMATIC NAIL GUNS to anyone.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit

hdx 4pc finish nailer set

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Used 3 of the 4 airguns all worked good 18 gauge finish nailer miss fired a few times till i ran about 400 nails through it and it finally fired every time . Good deal for the price .
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit
from Denver
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very happy with product

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this 4-piece nailing kit and have used them extensively as I am finishing out my basement. In one month, I have used them a lot, and I have been very happy with all of them. Occasionally a nail will get hung up in the 18-guage nailer, but I'm not surprised by that. It's pretty easy to get the nail out, although you have to remove a few parts to do it. Since the whole set comes for $100, I highly recommend it. I've been very pleased with it so far, and expect I will continue to be.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit
from S. of the boarder
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Deal

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great bargain works great :) Use the 16 ga nailer to finish trim & it set most nails to proper depth at 110 psi
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit
from Warrenton, Virginia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I was building a float for my wife's organization for our Town's Christmas Parade.

PostedDecember 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I really only needed one of the staplers, but I couldn't pass up the four-pack!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit
from LaGrange, KY USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just what I needed.

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
As a DIY and woodworking hobbyist this set is just what I needed. So far these tools have been able to meet and complete every task I have ask of them. Great value for us folks that only need "hobby" tools.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit
from Grass Valley, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good and use-able for small projects

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Easy to use. Good range of nails covered in combination package
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit
from Salisbury, NC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great set of nail guns for the money!

PostedFebruary 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am amazed at what a great set this was for the money. Although I did not use it extensively yet, I did test them all and put the 18 gauge though its paces. Never a jam, and works almost as great as my Bostitch set. (I bought this to do some remodeling out of state so I didn't have to transport tools). The adjustable exhausts are a nice touch as are the reload indicators. The only negative thing I could possibly say is that it can be finicky about firing and the way it fires if you don't have it completely pressed against the work(the 18g brad nailer at least) I did discover that it is easy to remedy this if you are in an awkward situation and cant get it to fire is to use your third or pinky finger to manually pull the safety bracket as you fire. Additionally I will add that the track on the 18g finisher may not have been exactly true, as I had to coerce some 2" nails into it by breaking the stick in half. Could have been lousy nails too. But in summary, it's certainly a great set for homeowners or hobbyists. The set may have more quirks that would bother a professional but that's not who it targeted to nor priced for.
Pros: Easy to Use, Strong, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit
from Thibodaux, Louisiana
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth every penny!!!!!!

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Been using the nailers and stapler for months building my house. One of the best tool purchases I have had since working on this house. Only occassional jam and misfires. I have been through over 5000 staples for putting up masonite and tongue and groove and the stapler is still going strong. It leak a lttile but I pulled it apart and cleaned up the orings and replaced the one I thought was leaking and no more leaks. Well well well worth the purchase
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Good for simple around the house repairs.

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Works well for repairing picture frames and other around the house repairs.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Limited Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit

Not worth it.

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This nail guns don't work. I try all of them when installing my hardwood flooring and they all got jammed. I had an old one different brand and never got jammed.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit
from Bakersfield, CA 93311, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Buy

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this set of nail guns 6 weeks ago, while they were on sale for $49.00, because I needed the pneumatic pinner and the pin guns I was looking to purchase at the time were more than three times this cost. I needed the pin gun for a small project and so why not purchase this set; I get the pin gun plus three more guns -- like a bonus for me -- and at a sale price, even if they didn't last long I wasn't going to complain.
The quality of the guns did surprise me as anything this inexpensive to buy, I figured to be of poor quality. I own Freeman guns which are of great quality. These guns have good weight and feel just as solid as the Freemans. I have used all of the guns with no jams or misfires; they have a low-nail indicator and are easy to load.
I recommend this product. My only regret is that I didn't buy two sets when they were on sale for $49.00. If they come back on sale, I will definitely buy again!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit
from Pennsylvania

Some Good, some bad

PostedFebruary 4, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am a DIY'er at best and I found the price for this set to be great for what I need it for (crown, chair rail, casing, etc...). I used the brad nailer and the pin nailer and they've worked great, I have yet to use the crown stapler. Only experienced a couple misfires with the brad nailer but nothing crazy or much to complain about. The 16ga finish nailer is another story. It frequently jammed and misfired. I think part of it is poor design as on more than one occasion strips of nails overlapped each other in the magazine resulting in me taking it apart to fix. I ended up throwing away this piece of junk.
In Summary: This set is definitely a bargain set and feels that way. I used my brother's Bostich set of air tools and you can feel the quality difference, especially with the 16ga finish nailer. The difference is less apparent as you go to the brad nailer and pin nailer. Can anyone recommend a good finish nailer that won't break the bank?
Pros: All In One, price
Cons: jams frequently
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit

Started jamming!

PostedFebruary 8, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased these over the holidays and have been working on a hardwood flooring project. The finish nailer started jamming before I even finished with the box of nails the set came with. Going back!
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit
from Lacrosse WI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very glad I bought these!

PostedFebruary 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The nail guns seam well made, they are easy to use. I am having so much fun using them and very glad I bought them. If you are a DIY person these in my opinion are greart!
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit
from Illinois
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well priced. For a homeowner, especially if they did have a naile. Good for finishing and minor projects.

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very reliable and well constructed. No problems with the 3 I have used.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>