728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Nail Guns & Collated Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit

4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit

The HDX 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit is the perfect kit for hobbies crafts and the small projects around the house. The HDX Pneumatic 16-Gauge Straight Finish Nailer features a top-loading aluminum magazine a no-mar tip and adjustable exhaust. The nail depth can be adjusted without the need of any tools to drive nails ranging from 3/4 in. to 2-1/2 in. The HDX Pneumatic 18-Gauge Strip Brad Nailer accepts 3/8 in.-2 in. brads and works great on trim, finish, cabinetry and crafts. The die-cast aluminum housing and quality internal components are durable while still remaining lightweight. The HDX Pneumatic 18-Gauge Narrow Crown Stapler fastens 7/32 in. crown staples ranging from 3/8 in. to 1-1/4 in. long it works great with trim cabinetry and crafts. In-line re-load indicator alerts when you are running low so you can work uninterrupted. The HDX Pneumatic 23-Gauge 1 in. Strip Headless Pin Nailer is great for assembling many small wood projects such as jewelry cases, trim and hobby work. It is made of lightweight, die-cast aluminum for a durable tool that is easy to handle. This nailer comes 200 of each nail type to get you started on your projects.
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(64 reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product60 of 64reviews
Rating Breakdown 64 reviews
4.5 out of 5
5
(38)
4
(24)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product60 of 64reviews
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 74 Answers
Customer reviews for 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit
Review 1 for 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit
from Minneapolis

Garbage! Short Life! They Don't Last.

PostedJanuary 11, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this set to replace a finishing nail that failed after 15 years. This set the finishing nailer didn't even make it though the box of nails that came with the guns. After taking the gun nose apart to get a jammed nail out I discovered why they won't last. The driving pin doesn't appear to be hardened steel. Just look at the attached picture. I returned to HomeDepot and bought the Ridgid finishing nailer, a much better product that is designed to last!
My advise is don't waste your money on this set. They won't last.
Pros: cost
Cons: Not Durable, won't last!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit
from Chesapeake, VA, USA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best deal out there

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this set of nail guns mainly for the 16 gauge finish nailer. When I saw the price, I thought they must be of poor quality but there were too many good reviews to ignore. I needed them for a crown molding project and they really made the job a lot easier. I used the 16 gauge finish nailer to put up backer board and then used the 18 brad nailer for the crown. Both of them loaded easily and never jammed. I was able to use the nails that came with the set to complete the job of over 120' of 3.5" crown. My compressor would kick on every 30 min or so when not using the nailer due to air leakage, possible a slow, inaudible leak in the gun or in the hose connections. With the hose disconnected, there was no leakage. The set was delivered in a couple of days, in good condition. I did have a few misfires until I learned how hard to press against the work, then they fired every time. Once I got the air pressure right, every nail was countersunk about 1/16", (perfect). Order these and you shouldn't be disappointed. If I were a professional installer I would have gone with a more expensive brand name, but for my purposes, these were great!
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit
from Canaan, Vermont
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Purchase/Awesome Value

PostedJanuary 29, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I picked up the e nail guns and the stapler one day, took them home and put a couple drops of oil in
each one as recommended and waited one day. Plugged them in next day and one spice rack, one slat
topped plant table and a couple of other projects in the works, these things work GREAT!!!! I switch
back and forth from one to the other and NO problems, NO issues, and so far (knock on wood) NO misfires. These things are awesome and the sale value was tremendous. THANK YOU HOME DEPOT!!!!!
Bob Rice
U-Design Woodworking
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit
from Sunland, CA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great value for the price!

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am a handyman that does EVERYTHING, including build cabinets and such.
I had been using a stapler/pinner combo gun that I was never really happy with. I could never find a nail gun or pinner that I was happy with the quality/price with, so I kept holding out.
I stumbled onto this pack and was very excited. We cracked open the box and everything seemed very solid and well put together.
Even my dad, who has been using Porter Cable guns for the last 15 years, was very pleased and couldn't believe the quality and handling of these guns for this price.
I highly recommend them for someone who uses various guns on a semi regular basis.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit
from Lewiston, Idaho
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Price

PostedJanuary 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The 4-PIECE PNEUMATIC FINISHING KIT came with compressor attachments, lubricant, and nails for all four guns. I build Bird houses, some big and some small. I have been able to try all the guns and they work great. It makes the job fast and easy. I would recommend the PNEUMATIC NAIL GUNS to anyone.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit

hdx 4pc finish nailer set

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Used 3 of the 4 airguns all worked good 18 gauge finish nailer miss fired a few times till i ran about 400 nails through it and it finally fired every time . Good deal for the price .
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit
from Denver
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very happy with product

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this 4-piece nailing kit and have used them extensively as I am finishing out my basement. In one month, I have used them a lot, and I have been very happy with all of them. Occasionally a nail will get hung up in the 18-guage nailer, but I'm not surprised by that. It's pretty easy to get the nail out, although you have to remove a few parts to do it. Since the whole set comes for $100, I highly recommend it. I've been very pleased with it so far, and expect I will continue to be.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit
from Warrenton, Virginia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I was building a float for my wife's organization for our Town's Christmas Parade.

PostedDecember 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I really only needed one of the staplers, but I couldn't pass up the four-pack!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit
from Oregon
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Verdict is still out

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My first impression is that some quality is lacking. The construction is clearly not of contractor grade. But for $49 for the set I wasn't expecting it. So far all the guns work fine, but I can't speak to the durability of them. They were cheap and they work so for right now I am a satisfied customer. If some day they fail to work and I need them I'll have regrets, but none so far.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit
from Cary, NC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Handy tools tp have

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a good choice for the DIY or occasional use person. Not so much for the commercial use. I thought the price of 90 dollars was great until I saw the same thig advertized by Home Depot for 70 dollars one week later. It gets staples, brads, and finishing nails just where I want them without the problems of holding small fasteners in place and hitting them with a hammer. As an additional bonus, finishing nails are set without having to go back and do it with a nail set. Driving staples throuigh thick plastic into wood was very simple and would have been very difficult to do by habd.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit
from Orlando, FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Amazing Deal!

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This set of FOUR nail guns is amazing. I really only needed to buy one more gun for my needs, but at this price point, I upgraded my entire collection. I have used the 16 and 18 gauge nailers so far with beautiful and reliable results.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit

If you didn't get it you missed out

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
use all of these guns with about 5000 nails/staples through each looks identical to my Bostitch and almost of equal quality and $49 for all 4 guns HDX brands are true steals
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit

Remodeled my house using these

PostedJanuary 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I started remodeling my house in October shooting for a finish date of February first. I've done most of the work myself and knew I would need a nail gun for all my trim work, wall paneling, and wainscoting so I bought this kit. It is absolutely worth it's weight in gold. I've had guys using dewalt cordless setups where they could buy them once I told them the price. I bought the extended warranty for because I knew it'd be worth it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit

Great deal , great stuff

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very good deal for quality guns. Used all the guns, no issues, worked out of box
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit

Great product at a great price!

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was able to pick this up on sale at half the cost and I believe I got a great steal! All guns seem to be well built and work great out of the box! They are the perfect addition to my garage and an amazing tool to make my wood working projects and home repairs a snap!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit

I love it!!

PostedJanuary 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Nice 4 small project in my house and I love the price too...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit
from Oceanside NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Deal of the century

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The product I pruchased at the home depot in Freeport NY, was an incredible deal. How on earth can you get four nail guns for less than $100 dollars. It is a finish carpenters dream, each nail gun has it purpose, and the are all included in this deal. I was shocked to see it sellingso inexpensive. Thank you, I will put them to good use, an use them for years.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Strong, Light Weight, Long-Lasting, price is very right
Cons: not that i can think of
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit
from Modesto, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

JUNK

PostedJanuary 1, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Large gun worked for a while then the nails supplied jammed and I can not get them out, so I went to the next nailer rated at 2" and it jammed immediately not even driving the supplied 2" nail 100% into the surface. Like anything else in my 60 years, You get what you pay for. I am not misusing the gun. I have had several. I had a senco finish nailer once, worked perfect all the time. Will return and upgrade from JUNK to something better.
Cons: Not Durable, nails jam right away
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit
from PORTLAND, OREGON
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

PERFECT FOR DIYers

PostedDecember 31, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
EVERY TOOL IN THE KIT HAS WORKED LIKE IT WAS DESIGNED TO. THE ONLY THING I'VE NOTICED SO FAR WAS, YOU CAN'T GO SUPER FAST WITH THE STAPLER, WITHOUT IT MISSING A STAPLE HERE AND THERE, BUT NOT REALLY A BIG DEAL. THIS KIT IS A GREAT BUY FOR MOST EVERYONE WITH SMALL TO MEDIUM JOBS TO DO. NOT FOR THE EVERY DAY CONSTANT HEAVY WORK LOAD I WOULDN'T THINK BUT, I DON'T BELIEVE IT'S INTENDED FOR THAT. THIS IS A GREAT KIT, CAN'T SEEM TO STOP PLAYING WITH THESE TOOLS.
Pros: Easy to Use, Strong, Good Size & Weight
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit
from Puerto Rico
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excelent Value

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Lowest price in the market, excelent combo for any DIY or Shop
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>