728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit

4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit

The HDX 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit is the perfect kit for hobbies crafts and the small projects around the house. The HDX Pneumatic 16-Gauge Straight Finish Nailer features a top-loading aluminum magazine a no-mar tip and adjustable exhaust. The nail depth can be adjusted without the need of any tools to drive nails ranging from 3/4 in. to 2-1/2 in. The HDX Pneumatic 18-Gauge Strip Brad Nailer accepts 3/8 in.-2 in. brads and works great on trim, finish, cabinetry and crafts. The die-cast aluminum housing and quality internal components are durable while still remaining lightweight. The HDX Pneumatic 18-Gauge Narrow Crown Stapler fastens 7/32 in. crown staples ranging from 3/8 in. to 1-1/4 in. long it works great with trim cabinetry and crafts. In-line re-load indicator alerts when you are running low so you can work uninterrupted. The HDX Pneumatic 23-Gauge 1 in. Strip Headless Pin Nailer is great for assembling many small wood projects such as jewelry cases, trim and hobby work. It is made of lightweight, die-cast aluminum for a durable tool that is easy to handle. This nailer comes 200 of each nail type to get you started on your projects.
Overall rating:
4.427 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(82 reviews) 82
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product76 of 82reviews
Rating Breakdown 82 reviews
4.4 out of 5
5
(49)
4
(27)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(4)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product76 of 82reviews
Customer questions and answers:
16 Questions | 78 Answers
Customer reviews for 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit
Review 1 for 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit
from Minneapolis

Garbage! Short Life! They Don't Last.

PostedJanuary 11, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this set to replace a finishing nail that failed after 15 years. This set the finishing nailer didn't even make it though the box of nails that came with the guns. After taking the gun nose apart to get a jammed nail out I discovered why they won't last. The driving pin doesn't appear to be hardened steel. Just look at the attached picture. I returned to HomeDepot and bought the Ridgid finishing nailer, a much better product that is designed to last!
My advise is don't waste your money on this set. They won't last.
Pros: cost
Cons: Not Durable, won't last!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit
from Chesapeake, VA, USA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best deal out there

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this set of nail guns mainly for the 16 gauge finish nailer. When I saw the price, I thought they must be of poor quality but there were too many good reviews to ignore. I needed them for a crown molding project and they really made the job a lot easier. I used the 16 gauge finish nailer to put up backer board and then used the 18 brad nailer for the crown. Both of them loaded easily and never jammed. I was able to use the nails that came with the set to complete the job of over 120' of 3.5" crown. My compressor would kick on every 30 min or so when not using the nailer due to air leakage, possible a slow, inaudible leak in the gun or in the hose connections. With the hose disconnected, there was no leakage. The set was delivered in a couple of days, in good condition. I did have a few misfires until I learned how hard to press against the work, then they fired every time. Once I got the air pressure right, every nail was countersunk about 1/16", (perfect). Order these and you shouldn't be disappointed. If I were a professional installer I would have gone with a more expensive brand name, but for my purposes, these were great!
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit
from Sunland, CA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great value for the price!

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am a handyman that does EVERYTHING, including build cabinets and such.
I had been using a stapler/pinner combo gun that I was never really happy with. I could never find a nail gun or pinner that I was happy with the quality/price with, so I kept holding out.
I stumbled onto this pack and was very excited. We cracked open the box and everything seemed very solid and well put together.
Even my dad, who has been using Porter Cable guns for the last 15 years, was very pleased and couldn't believe the quality and handling of these guns for this price.
I highly recommend them for someone who uses various guns on a semi regular basis.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit
from Canaan, Vermont
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Purchase/Awesome Value

PostedJanuary 29, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I picked up the e nail guns and the stapler one day, took them home and put a couple drops of oil in
each one as recommended and waited one day. Plugged them in next day and one spice rack, one slat
topped plant table and a couple of other projects in the works, these things work GREAT!!!! I switch
back and forth from one to the other and NO problems, NO issues, and so far (knock on wood) NO misfires. These things are awesome and the sale value was tremendous. THANK YOU HOME DEPOT!!!!!
Bob Rice
U-Design Woodworking
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit
from Albany, Georgia
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Decent for the price

PostedMarch 6, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
My wife purchased this set for me a couple months ago. Today is the first opportunity I've had to try them. I had a crown molding installation project that was perfect for these guns.
I started with the 16 gauge gun. Very first nail jams... gun will have to be disassembled to remove it. So I tried the 18 gauge gun. It worked fine other than it tended to leave the nail approximately 1/16" inch above the wood. Increasing my air pressure didn't help (100 lbs).
I haven't tried the smaller guns yet. Overall I think they're decent for occasional & DIY use.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: jams
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit
from Lewiston, Idaho
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Price

PostedJanuary 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The 4-PIECE PNEUMATIC FINISHING KIT came with compressor attachments, lubricant, and nails for all four guns. I build Bird houses, some big and some small. I have been able to try all the guns and they work great. It makes the job fast and easy. I would recommend the PNEUMATIC NAIL GUNS to anyone.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit

hdx 4pc finish nailer set

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Used 3 of the 4 airguns all worked good 18 gauge finish nailer miss fired a few times till i ran about 400 nails through it and it finally fired every time . Good deal for the price .
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit
from Denver
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very happy with product

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this 4-piece nailing kit and have used them extensively as I am finishing out my basement. In one month, I have used them a lot, and I have been very happy with all of them. Occasionally a nail will get hung up in the 18-guage nailer, but I'm not surprised by that. It's pretty easy to get the nail out, although you have to remove a few parts to do it. Since the whole set comes for $100, I highly recommend it. I've been very pleased with it so far, and expect I will continue to be.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit
from Trenton, MI
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good for the DIYer

PostedMarch 27, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I would recommend this set for anyone who is trying to remodel their house with flooring and trim. The usage is easy and it seems to be built fairly well. I used this for face nailing and some edge nailing 3/4 inch thick hickory flooring, 1/2 inch pine trim and quarter-round, and stapling underlayment. I plan to use these for other projects in the future, and I'm sure they'll continue to function well. These might not be the best choice for a professional worker, but for the price, it's perfect for the DIYer.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth the price i paid

PostedMarch 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I tried the 18g nailer and stapler and they worked perfect. Some people mentioned in the review that it jams which i didnt encounter. If you put few drops of lub oil before every use, you should not have any jams. Overall , the price i paid was 35 incl tax (w coupons). Believe me, it was $35 :) , i used harbor freight 20% off coupon when this was on sale few months back i guess was for $49.99 +20% off HF coupon and there was a special 10% off for everyone. I am happy with quality as well.
Pros: Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit
from The Dalles, OR
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Deal

PostedMarch 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I agree with all the other favorable reviews. For the handyman/hobbyist these are great. I used them to build some deck planters and all the guns have worked perfectly. Now, if I was a person who made a living doing finish work, I probably would fork over more money for name brands. But for this price it is the best deal going. I figure at $25 each even if they only last one year, it is well worth it.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Great Value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit
from Warrenton, Virginia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I was building a float for my wife's organization for our Town's Christmas Parade.

PostedDecember 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I really only needed one of the staplers, but I couldn't pass up the four-pack!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit

Awesome guns

PostedMarch 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
bought these to do a project and the price for four guns is unbeatable. they work great and the only issue I had was the pin nailer jamed once but I think it was just the pins they send with it. I had no issues with the others and I would recommend these to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit

Great Set

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've been building and woodworking for a while now, but just recently inherited an air compressor.
I started looking for a set of nailers that gave me a good range of fastening ability. This fit the bill, so I ordered online.
This set has been incredible. My biggest need was a finish nailer to tack pieces together while glue was drying. The 18ga finish nailer works great for that. On finish pieces, I use the 23ga pin nailer. You can barely see the hole once you stain or paint, and it holds the wood tight enough to ensure a good glue bond.
The stapler and 16ga finish nailer were bonus tools, as far as I was concerned. I didn't think I could ever use the stapler, but it's become on of the most used pieces. I use it for repairing my 2 son's toys, attaching chalkboard panels to easels and other places where a finish nail might not hold well enough.
All the tools seem well built. You can direct the exhaust direction on all of them. I haven't had a single malfunction or misfire.
I grabbed these on a 50% off discount. So, total, I paid $50. At that price, even if one fell apart on me, I would still be happy with it. Even at $99 its a great deal, in my opinion.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit
from S. of the boarder
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Deal

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great bargain works great :) Use the 16 ga nailer to finish trim & it set most nails to proper depth at 110 psi
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit
from LaGrange, KY USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just what I needed.

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
As a DIY and woodworking hobbyist this set is just what I needed. So far these tools have been able to meet and complete every task I have ask of them. Great value for us folks that only need "hobby" tools.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit
from Thibodaux, Louisiana
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth every penny!!!!!!

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Been using the nailers and stapler for months building my house. One of the best tool purchases I have had since working on this house. Only occassional jam and misfires. I have been through over 5000 staples for putting up masonite and tongue and groove and the stapler is still going strong. It leak a lttile but I pulled it apart and cleaned up the orings and replaced the one I thought was leaking and no more leaks. Well well well worth the purchase
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit
from Grass Valley, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good and use-able for small projects

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Easy to use. Good range of nails covered in combination package
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit
from Salisbury, NC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great set of nail guns for the money!

PostedFebruary 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am amazed at what a great set this was for the money. Although I did not use it extensively yet, I did test them all and put the 18 gauge though its paces. Never a jam, and works almost as great as my Bostitch set. (I bought this to do some remodeling out of state so I didn't have to transport tools). The adjustable exhausts are a nice touch as are the reload indicators. The only negative thing I could possibly say is that it can be finicky about firing and the way it fires if you don't have it completely pressed against the work(the 18g brad nailer at least) I did discover that it is easy to remedy this if you are in an awkward situation and cant get it to fire is to use your third or pinky finger to manually pull the safety bracket as you fire. Additionally I will add that the track on the 18g finisher may not have been exactly true, as I had to coerce some 2" nails into it by breaking the stick in half. Could have been lousy nails too. But in summary, it's certainly a great set for homeowners or hobbyists. The set may have more quirks that would bother a professional but that's not who it targeted to nor priced for.
Pros: Easy to Use, Strong, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 4-Piece Pneumatic Finishing Kit
from Indiana
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A good value for the price

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am a weekend warrior at best, but I really wanted my own air nailers. After looking nearly everywhere both on line and in stores I eventually settled on this combo set. It was the reviews that convinced me to give this set a try and I must say they were accurate. I've used all four nailers and I am completely satisfied with them all. The build quality, feel in your hand, the ease of use, etc are all acceptable to me. I agree that these are not pro level quality, but they are excellent for my needs. If you are looking for a bargain, give these a try.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>