728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Snow Equipment or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Path-Pro SS21E 21 in. 208 cc Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

Path-Pro SS21E 21 in. 208 cc Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

Ariens brings their trademarked durability and robust design characteristics to the single stage platform. The new Ariens Path-Pro features everything you expect from Ariens in a lightweight, compact Sno-Thro that is easy to maneuver, transport and store. The Ariens Single-Stage 21 in. Gas Snow Blower is great for clearing snow from driveways, sidewalks, patios and more. Its 208 cc Ariens AX engine helps provide ample power during use and it features a 21 in. width for efficient clearing. The snow blower can throw snow up to 35 ft. and features a 210-degree chute rotation, allowing you to easily blow snow out of its path. The 120-Volt push-button electric start helps provide a quick and easy ignition.
Overall rating:
4.258 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(31 reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product25 of 30reviews
Rating Breakdown 31 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(18)
4
(8)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(2)
Features 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product25 of 30reviews
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer reviews for Path-Pro SS21E 21 in. 208 cc Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
Review 1 for Path-Pro SS21E 21 in. 208 cc Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Cleveland, OH
Age Range:55 to 64

Beware - Ariens has poor customer service.

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It was fabricated at the factory with the inside ring upside down. Installing the chute aligned with the holes in this configuration had the chute facing the operator.
My son had to remove the outside housing, disengage a spring, remove the inside ring turn it around 360 degrees, then re-engage the spring, screw the housing back in place in order to properly install the chute.
I contacted Ariens Warranty and they sent me a rubber mat as a consolation. .... really. I then contacted their customer service and sent along all the pictures showing the defect in manufacturing and what had to be done to correct the problem. This unit was clearly a second, and should have been discounted as such.
He bluntly told me that because I bought it online I had to expect to assemble the unit myself. OK .. YES minimal installation of the chute to the housing and raise the handlebars that is expected for an online purchase, NOT what I had to do. See following pictures....
Pros: Powerful, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: i bought a defective unit, poor customer service
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+12points
14out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Path-Pro SS21E 21 in. 208 cc Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Mpls, Mn
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

ariens 21" snow blower

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble, delivered to my residence. Bought larger engine model becsuse we live in MN and 4-6" snow falls are common.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Path-Pro SS21E 21 in. 208 cc Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Manchester MO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far... so good...

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to setup... we haven't any any snow yet... so I can't test it out yet... but I was pleasantly surprised to find it shipped with the required Engine Oil... only took me about :15 mins to setup once I got it unpacked.
It's light and nimble to move around... can't wait for our first snow so I can give it a go.
Pros: Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Easy to Store
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Path-Pro SS21E 21 in. 208 cc Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great deal

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've used this twice so far this winter, as I only bought it in February 2013, but I'm happy with it's performance so far. Someone said it's light, which it isn't, it's like 90 lbs or more. The fold down handles aren't that easy to fold down, for me anyway, and I have to use that feature to store in the garage due to limited space but other than that, I haven't found any problems. It started on first pull both times, did a good job and didn't seem to use a lot of gas. Being a woman I actually wanted a snow blower much smaller but in Michigan, this might be the one to keep. I don't know much about snow blowers and this is my first but I like the conveniences that it says will make changing oil easy, too.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Path-Pro SS21E 21 in. 208 cc Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Chicago
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product!

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We loved that at least parts of the snow blower were made in the USA which is why we chose this brand.
It arrived the day of a four-inch snowfall (we're in Chicago) and it did a fantastic job getting all the way down to the driveway even in frigid temperatures. It's even narrow enough to fit into our dog pen and did a great job in there given the uneven levels with the paver blocks.
Snow was thrown far enough to clear the driveway easily and quickly.
It takes straight gas - no mixing which is nice. The handle folds down making storage a bit easier.
It started on the first try and is very easy to handle.
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Path-Pro SS21E 21 in. 208 cc Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

Great Product

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Home Depot did a great job delivering our Areins snowblower.
Thought I would need to use it early this season.. but I've lucked out. No snow.
Assembly of the snowblower was easy and very well built. Looking forward to using it....just not wanting the snow.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Path-Pro SS21E 21 in. 208 cc Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

great on wet heavy snow

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We had a winter storm with 5 inches of wet snow and this blower moved through it no problem. Love the electric start options.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Path-Pro SS21E 21 in. 208 cc Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Saline, MI
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Seems to work just fine.

PostedDecember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Haven't had an opportunity to test under any severe conditions as of yet, but the little one inch snowfall we had earlier this year was no problem for this machine.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Too Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Path-Pro SS21E 21 in. 208 cc Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from chicago, il
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

nice little snowblower

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I haven't had an opportunity to use it yet. This snowblower has some nice features and is a good value. Purchasing and delivery was easy. My 14yo son unpacked it, filled it with oil/gas, and started it up. No issues at all. He's ready to plow the neighborhood!
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Path-Pro SS21E 21 in. 208 cc Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Illinois
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

WORST Purchase ever

PostedOctober 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Picked up the unit from Home Depot, I had it shipped there instead on my home. I finally had a chance to unpack the snow blower today, right away I notice the very flimsy plastic cover, everything is misaligned. Each piece of the cover are not fitting together correctly, one of the screws is over tighten it is cut thru part of the cover. VERY POOR quality. The oil inlet is deep down, try to put oil is very difficult. The gas on/off switch will be hard to reach if you have big hand. It took five or six pulls for the first start. I used to have the Ariens ss522E, I sold it to upgrade to this Path-Pro, what a disappointment. Will see how it handle snow.
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Path-Pro SS21E 21 in. 208 cc Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great purchase

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We are so please with our snowblower and the service too.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Great Engine, Light Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Path-Pro SS21E 21 in. 208 cc Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Colrain, MA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Nice machine, for up to 1 foot of FRESH snow

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Way easier to move around than my old snowblower.
It's very powerful and works great on fresh snow.
Blades are some sort of sturdy plastic, that is a great idea.
Do not try to use on one inch of ice, it will still work but it will throw around pieces of ice.
Little concerned that the top part of the blower (black part) is plastic but after being abused by blowing ice (again: it's not meant to do that) I can say it's pretty sturdy,
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Path-Pro SS21E 21 in. 208 cc Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Chicago
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

20% more power, 20% less cash

PostedFebruary 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great blower, lots of power, you will not bog this baby down. Goes thru the end of drive way stuff with ease. Just did my drive way @ 100 feet long and my elderly neighbors @ 75 feet long. Snow was 6" deep no problem. Could have handled lots more snow. The auger assist propel works great, very little effort required. Again did I say lots of power. Build quality is very good. Great job Ariens, you are "King of Snow".
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: none found yet
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Path-Pro SS21E 21 in. 208 cc Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

Nice snow blower

PostedApril 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Starts very easily, barely uses gas. Two things i didn't care for about the blower are the black marks it leaves on the concrete and no gas gauge.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Path-Pro SS21E 21 in. 208 cc Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Chicago, IL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

GReat Looking Product

PostedOctober 20, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have not used it yet but everything so far works to perfection
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Path-Pro SS21E 21 in. 208 cc Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from West Seneca New York State
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Ariens Snowthrower

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The scrapper on the ariens snowblower makes black marks on my concrete driveway. The snowthrower does start easily which is a plus. The snowthrower part on the ariens is kind of flimsy and could of been made more solid with better material. In all faitness it does the job on six inches of snow or more.
Pros: Great Engine, Easy to Use, Easy to Store, Light Weight
Cons: too much plastic material
+9points
12out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Path-Pro SS21E 21 in. 208 cc Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Downers Grove, IL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Right Size, Good Power

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Tried to make it through this winter without a snowblower but finally broke down and got this one just in time for a couple big snow storms. This unit is a good size. Big enough to make quick work of my driveway (about 80ft x 2 cars wide) but small enough to easily fit in the 2 car garage with both cars. The electric start makes it super easy for my wife to start when she needs to use it. I've gotten it to fire up on the first pull every time using the pull start.
The powerful motor easily throws snow high over the mountains of snow that have accumulated this year. The only thing i found tricky was the owner's manual makes it look like the fuel valve should be vertical when in actuality it needs to be horizontal. Once I figured that issue out, I have had no problems at all. Arien's customer service department is VERY helpful as well.
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, easy to start
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Path-Pro SS21E 21 in. 208 cc Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent for snow removal, great design, well made product

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have utilized our snow blower in record snowfall this winter. The product was easy to assemble, started with ease, and powerful in moving snow from a three car garage and sidewalk. We debated about the dual stage but are very happy with the results of a scaled down version
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Path-Pro SS21E 21 in. 208 cc Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A great little thrower

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Pros: Plenty of power makes this an ideal snow thower for medium-sized projects. My drive and walks are done in 30 min instead of 3 hours it took by hand. Very easy to start.
Cons: the shute is not as well focused as i would like. When shooting straight a head there is a fair amount side discharge that requires attention. I can adjust the shute to compensate but wish i didn't. The only other issue is mother nature's lack of partisipation!
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Path-Pro SS21E 21 in. 208 cc Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Dearborn MI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Buy!

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good buy for the money. Electric start is a great feature especially on those really cold mornings. My wife finds this product very easy to use also!
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: lots of plastic parts
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>