728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Fluorescent Bulbs or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 6 in. U-SHAPE 27-Watt White (6500K) Linear Fluorescent Light Bulb

6 in. U-SHAPE 27-Watt White (6500K) Linear Fluorescent Light Bulb

Bring the sunlight back to your Sunlight lamp with this 27-Watt Tube Bulb. Save on your electric bills. The high-tech 27-Watt-bulb, with a C.R.I. (Color Rendering Index) of 80-85, gives as much light as an ordinary 150-Watt bulb, but uses far less energy. The bulb can last up to 5000 hours, 5x longer than other bulbs- for years of normal use.
Overall rating:
4.081 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(37 reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
85%of customersrecommend this product29 of 34reviews
Rating Breakdown 37 reviews
4.1 out of 5
5
(24)
4
(6)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(7)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
85%of customersrecommend this product29 of 34reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for 6 in. U-SHAPE 27-Watt White (6500K) Linear Fluorescent Light Bulb
Review 1 for 6 in. U-SHAPE 27-Watt White (6500K) Linear Fluorescent Light Bulb
from Vienna, VA

Works great had to sand down nubs in order to fit Verilux desktop lamp.

PostedMay 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Okay my verilux desk lamp bulb failed and need a replacement. Their bulb was like 4-5 times the cost and the difference to this bulb was the "rated" light spectrum and the diffrent shape of nubs at the end of the bulb that would keep them from clicking in place. Since these were just plastic molded nubs on the base, just took dremel and sanded them down a bit. It fits perfect now. Light wise I can't tell the difference but fine for my reading purpose.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 6 in. U-SHAPE 27-Watt White (6500K) Linear Fluorescent Light Bulb
from Providence, RI, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is a "legacy" bulb, no longer used in new lamps

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The good part about a 10,000 hour light bulb is that you only need to change it every 10 years or so. The bad part is that by the time you need to replace it, technology has marched forward and the bulb is no longer used by new lamps and it's no longer in stock. Thank goodness I could web order it.
That said, the bulb is inexpensive as high-intensity CF bulbs go, it snaps right in, and it works fine. Now I can forget it for another 10 years then replace it with a cold fusion quantum luminance orb, or whatever the current porch lamp tech is in 2024.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Very Bright, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
Cons: lasts longer than current technology
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 6 in. U-SHAPE 27-Watt White (6500K) Linear Fluorescent Light Bulb
from Talihina Oklahoma
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sadly, this 27 Watt flourescent bulb DID NOT WORK when I received it, I am returning it.

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product arrived in poor shape to begin with, should have been the first clue, however, ever the hopeful soul...tried it a week later when the lamp was available.. It did not work. Replaced it with a bulb from Walmart and WALLA...it worked, at much less cost. I will return the original bulb to a Home Depot .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 6 in. U-SHAPE 27-Watt White (6500K) Linear Fluorescent Light Bulb
from Shoreline Washington
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

27-Watt Fluorescent Tube Light Bulb

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I honestly can't remember when I replaced the bulb before this one I just bought. It literally last for years. A bulb can't get any better than that. I plan to get another lamp with the same bulb. It's fantastic for after dark sewing by machine or by hand.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation, cheap bright lighting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 6 in. U-SHAPE 27-Watt White (6500K) Linear Fluorescent Light Bulb
from Coeur d Alene
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

LIGHT REVIEW

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The lamp was easy to install and has worked flawlessly thus far. Picking up from the store was easy. Delivery was prompt and I was kept informed along the way.
Pros: Easy to Use, Very Bright, Easy Replacement
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 6 in. U-SHAPE 27-Watt White (6500K) Linear Fluorescent Light Bulb
from Lacey

Not the right bulb for my lamp

PostedMarch 27, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Wrong product for my lamp. along with poor service.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 6 in. U-SHAPE 27-Watt White (6500K) Linear Fluorescent Light Bulb
from north ft myers,fl
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

desk lamp

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
this product should be available in the store as I was without my office desk for a week
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
Cons: Burns Out
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 6 in. U-SHAPE 27-Watt White (6500K) Linear Fluorescent Light Bulb
from La Mesa, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great alternative to in-store 27 watt bulb

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Compared to a similar product carried in the retail store, this one is identical and cost $5 less. Delivery is free to your local Home Depot... which you were going to visit anyway.
Pros: Very Bright, Easy Replacement
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 6 in. U-SHAPE 27-Watt White (6500K) Linear Fluorescent Light Bulb
from las vegas, nv
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Home Depot is "on the ball"

PostedOctober 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I plugged it in. It works! It's a bright sunny day!
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 6 in. U-SHAPE 27-Watt White (6500K) Linear Fluorescent Light Bulb
from Memphis, TN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exactly what I needed

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought this lamp years ago and had no idea where to get a replacement bulb. The first bulb had lasted 5-8 years, can't remember how long I've had the lamp. Accidentally saw it online and couldn't believe my good fortune, as I thought I would probably have to replace the entire lamp. Thanks Home Depot!
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 6 in. U-SHAPE 27-Watt White (6500K) Linear Fluorescent Light Bulb

Product as descript

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
good product, reasonable price and quick delivery...................................................................................................................
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Easy Installation
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 6 in. U-SHAPE 27-Watt White (6500K) Linear Fluorescent Light Bulb
from Wisconsin, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exact replacement - works great.

PostedAugust 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Perfect replacement for original bulb. Hard to find, but worth the effort.
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Easy Replacement
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 6 in. U-SHAPE 27-Watt White (6500K) Linear Fluorescent Light Bulb
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Light bulb purchase online and picked up at store.

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This was a purchase of convenience. The light bulb was unusual. Home Depot had it and made it available without shipping cost to one of their stores.
Pros: Compact, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 6 in. U-SHAPE 27-Watt White (6500K) Linear Fluorescent Light Bulb
from Philadelphia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It was just what I needed.

PostedDecember 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
It was exactly what I wanted and I didn't even have to go to the store.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 6 in. U-SHAPE 27-Watt White (6500K) Linear Fluorescent Light Bulb
from Tacoma
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

A fantastic Desk light, easy to replace the bulb.

PostedNovember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was happy to find that Home Depot could supply this Bulb. It was easy to remove and reinstall.
I thought I would need to wait a few days but it arrived the day I ordered it. Home Depot is awesome!
Pros: Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 6 in. U-SHAPE 27-Watt White (6500K) Linear Fluorescent Light Bulb

Worst purchase ever

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Can't recommend due to be broken when arrived so I have to get out and take back to store. Packers should watch how they pack these bulbs I can't get anywhere else. Plus box leaked broken glass in my entry way.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 6 in. U-SHAPE 27-Watt White (6500K) Linear Fluorescent Light Bulb
from NJ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best value anyware !!

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Perfect replacement, A++++ Transaction on line, Quick
shipping to store for easy pickup.. Thanks !!
Pros: great price
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 6 in. U-SHAPE 27-Watt White (6500K) Linear Fluorescent Light Bulb
from Germantown, MD, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

a hard to find product delivered to my store

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The web site let me choose if I wanted to pick up at the customer desk or construction desk. I walked in received my product and was on my way in less than 5 min.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 6 in. U-SHAPE 27-Watt White (6500K) Linear Fluorescent Light Bulb
from Jacksonville Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hard To Find Flourscent Bulb

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This bulb goes in an exterior light that was on our house for at least 15 years. We thought we would have to replace the fixture but Thankfully "OUR HOME DEPOT" came through for us again!!!!! We ordered it online and it was in the same day as promised. We were called and picked it up at the online order desk. Worked like a charm. Thank You again, Home Depot from us to you.
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 6 in. U-SHAPE 27-Watt White (6500K) Linear Fluorescent Light Bulb
from Tacoma, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Long lasting.

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Didn't need to change the bulb in 8+ years with many hours a day use. Couldn't find one at the store so I had to order it which took a bit of time to get. That's the only con.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>