728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Wet/Dry Vacuums or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for DC56 Hard Cordless Vacuum Cleaner

DC56 Hard Cordless Vacuum Cleaner

The new Dyson Hard cordless vacuum cleaner is engineered for hard floor cleaning. Using dual suction channels and a wet wipe, it removes both dust and grime in a single action. It has patented Root Cyclone technology and is powered by the Dyson digital motor V2. It’s the only vacuum cleaner to combine powerful constant suction and a wet wipe. DC56 comes with a 2 year warranty – parts and labor.
Overall rating:
4.405 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(89 reviews) 88
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product82 of 88reviews
Rating Breakdown 89 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(49)
4
(35)
3
(0)
2
(2)
1
(3)
Quality 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
2.7 out of 5.0
2.7 out of 5
Features 
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product82 of 88reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for DC56 Hard Cordless Vacuum Cleaner
Review 1 for DC56 Hard Cordless Vacuum Cleaner
from Utah

Wipes

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product comes with 3 wipes in the package to start with. It reaches well under my furniture and is pretty to looking too.
Pros: Looks Great, Good Size & Lightweight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for DC56 Hard Cordless Vacuum Cleaner
from West Lafayette, IN, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Dyson Miss the Mark on this one

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am stunned at what a bad product this is. I cannot get the wipes to stay on more than a swipe or two and have yet to finish a small room without the wipe drying out. The concept is wonderful but the product just does not meet the Dyson standards I am use to. I am very very disappointed and I am an elderly lady and thought would be a great product in the cleaning of my home. I am going to send it back, certainly not worth $300.00. I own 3 other Dyson products and this is the first one not worth the money. Darn it. I wanted it to work.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good for All Surfaces, Quiet, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter
Cons: Difficult to Use, Build Quality, Performance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By DysonProductExpertSeptember 16, 2014By DysonProductExpertSeptember 16, 2014
Hi there, this is Joe with Dyson. I am sorry to hear that the wipes on your DC56 do not appear to be cooperating. I understand you may have returned the machine, however; we greatly appreciate your continued support and we would like to learn more about your experience.

Please feel free to send an email do us directly at askdysonUS@dyson.com and we will be in touch.

Best wishes,

Joe
Dyson Customer ServiceDyson-EN_US
Review 3 for DC56 Hard Cordless Vacuum Cleaner
from Austin, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Really good at the one task it does

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This device is designed to clean tile or hardwood floors both vacuuming and mopping at the same time. It's cordless, it uses pre-moistened wipes to mop. The idea is convenience. No cord, you don't have vacuum the floor and then come right back and mop it. Almost makes cleaning floors fun.
Plus side: Amazing power for a cordless product, nothing else comes close. A brush and a crevice tool attachment are provided in addition to the main attachment with the mop head on it. It comes with a charger that mounts on the wall and all parts of the device easily snap in and automatically recharge. Dramatically cuts the time and hassle of cleaning hard floors, Crevice tool gets into any space, and you can easily clean up in the corners of the ceiling as well as sucking up insects. Very easy to empty the dirt and an "overdrive" button for a bit extra suction when needed.
Minuses: it doesn't do quite as thorough a job as vacuuming with a corded vac then mopping the old fashioned way. It's good for a quick clean up but you'll still need to do a thorough one from time to time. The pre-moistened pads dry out pretty quick, you'll need to use several on a large floor or spray floor cleaner onto the pad from time to time. Would be nice to have cloth pads so they could be washed and reused. The battery charge only lasts about 15 min or so on normal suction (less on max) and it takes quite a while to recharge. The on button is tedious to hold down but that's intentional to train you to not have the device constantly running down the battery when you're not actually sucking something up. It's expensive. Not useful on carpeted surfaces (no beater).
Pros: Strong Suction, Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for DC56 Hard Cordless Vacuum Cleaner
from Denver, Co.
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Weekly

Junk

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
What a waste of money. Awkward to handle. Battery last 15 minutes at the most. The wet wipes dry out quicker then the battery. The suction is weak. This product should sell for less the $10.00. What a hunk of junk.
Pros: nothing
Cons: Suction, Difficult to Use, Performance, Unbalanced
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for DC56 Hard Cordless Vacuum Cleaner
from Delaware, OH 43015, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Weekly

Good, but expensive.

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
A bit difficult to use due to one hand feature. Seems unbalanced and tough on the arm. Also, the wet feature is only acceptable.
Pros: Sturdy, Performs Well, Easy to Empty Filter
Cons: Unbalanced
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for DC56 Hard Cordless Vacuum Cleaner
Usage frequency:Daily

Light weight

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Light an manueverable. You will need to vacuum first. Be prepared to buy a lot of cleaning pads. One per room.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Quiet, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter
Cons: Clogs, Performance, only good for small jobs
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for DC56 Hard Cordless Vacuum Cleaner

This product is great just wish the price was better

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product just high cost. Lots of suction. I use swiffer wet pads as they are cheaper. Works great on tile floors.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for DC56 Hard Cordless Vacuum Cleaner
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Daily

The wet cloths don't stay wet long and streak my tile. It is not what I thought it would be and is not serving my need.

PostedOctober 20, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I will be checking with my local Home Depot about returns. I am not happy with this Dyson 56 and it does not fit my need. It streaks the floor and does not stay moist. It is not usable if one of the wet cloths is not attached so I am unable to use it to just vacuum my kitchen. I am not happy with it.
Pros: Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
Cons: Performance, streaks the floor, moisture pads do not stay moist very long, can't use it w/o the moist pads to vacuum the tile
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for DC56 Hard Cordless Vacuum Cleaner
from Illinois, USA
Gender:Female

Great idea-Horrible product

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It only holds a charge for six minutes then has to charge for three and a half hours, Dog hair accumulates on the sides rather than being sucked in, there's lots of drag from the weight of the motor at the handle, and the pads leave lots of streaks. I gave it three tries then returned it. Bought an Electrolux Ergorapido and love it.
Cons: Performance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for DC56 Hard Cordless Vacuum Cleaner
from Naperville, IL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Weekly

Would not recommend

PostedOctober 16, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Battery life too short. Does not clean as good as other products. Must keep depressing button for complete suction of vacuum
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for DC56 Hard Cordless Vacuum Cleaner

Makes life easier

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Makes life easier!! I love to use my new HARD! It cuts cleaning time in half!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for DC56 Hard Cordless Vacuum Cleaner

Unbelievable machine!

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the first Dyson product that I have purchased and it is worth every penny! I have bought every hard floor cleaning apparatus known to man and all fails in comparison to this Dyson.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Great Value, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for DC56 Hard Cordless Vacuum Cleaner
from Claremore, OK, USA
Usage frequency:Daily

I love love love the cordless feature and how quiet the vacuum is.

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
quiet powerful suction and well designed wall storage/recharger.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for DC56 Hard Cordless Vacuum Cleaner
Based on the average of (76) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
76 out of 76 recommend this product