728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner

FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner

Give your hard floors the spa treatment usually reserved for carpets. No more bucket, broom or hands-and-knees scrubbing with the Hoover FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner. This unit washes and dries hard floors so quickly you might not know what to do with all that extra time.
Overall rating:
4.005 / 5
4
 / 
5
(183 reviews) 183
Open Ratings Snapshot
77%of customersrecommend this product134 of 174reviews
Rating Breakdown 183 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(106)
4
(33)
3
(9)
2
(9)
1
(26)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Features 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
77%of customersrecommend this product134 of 174reviews
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 56 Answers
Customer reviews for FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner
Review 1 for FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner
from Pearland, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Gets the floor cleaner than a mop can

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
When I received the product the items listed to be included in the box. I called Home Depot and they gave me a gift card for the missing item. After using the floor cleaner for the first time I felt like the machine didn't do a great job after cleaning all my floors. I called Hoover and they stayed on the phone with me til the issue was fixed. The Hoover Company and the floor cleaner are worth the $.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good for All Surfaces, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
Cons: Suction
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner
from Rehoboth Beach, DE
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Monthly

Better than I expected

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used this product primarily on tile floors and found it easy to use and it does a great job. It does a lot better job than swifter wet mops and regular mops. They seem to deposit a lot of the crud in the grout lines and this brush product actually cleans out the grout lines. I wish it was available when I first moved in the house 10 years ago.
Pros: Performs Well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner
from West Palm Beach, Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Weekly

Hoover Tile Floor Cleaner

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was thrilled that I found this machine so close to my home. By using the internet I was able to find a very good product. I just wish I bought one sooner. When you have tile floors, nothing compares to letting a machine do the work for you. No more mops, buckets, hard work swabbing the floors. Great machine.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner
from Aurora IL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Weekly

I have 2 and they both broke.

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I read a review just now with the same problem. The liquid will not dispense.
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: Repair Costs, Clogs, Build Quality, Performance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By HooverUSAJuly 14, 2014By HooverUSAJuly 14, 2014
Hi Victoria! If your FloorMate Deluxe is no longer dispensing, you can try flushing the cleaner out. There's probably excess solution caught in the interior hoses of the machine blocking the water flow. Fill both tanks with warm tap water. Pull the trigger 10 times then hold it for 30 seconds. Repeat procedure one more time. Hope this helps!

-Giselle
Hoover Customer CareHoover
Review 5 for FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner
from Globe, Arizona
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Weekly

Best Money I Ever Spent

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
All of my floors are tile. It used to take me awhile to mop all of them and let them dry. Now it takes me very little time, and it dries instantly. I was going to buy one at Kohls for $159 (on sale), I got it Home Depot for $138. I am extremely happy with my purchase.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight
Cons: Cord Length, need bigger brush
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner

It works to a certain degree. Needs help for some types of dirt.

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Assembly was easy, but the supplied long bolt for assembly was defective. It was round on the end with no means of inserting a screwdriver. This bolt was not stamped properly at the Chinese factory. I used a small hack saw and made a slot to enable me to screw it in. GREAT FIRST IMPRESSION. Once assembled we washed our tile floors. Because the rotating brushed are puny, I recommend keeping a small plastic scrapper nearby to remove the caked on stuff that may fall on the floor in the kitchen area. Frequent washings or touch ups are recommended.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter
Cons: Suction, brushes too mild
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner
from marathon, fl
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

floormate

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble easy to use easy to clean, amzaed at all the dirt it picked up. I habe pets in the house and it did a great job at picking up all the dog hair too.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Quiet, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner
from Houston, Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Weekly

So disappointed... :-(

PostedMarch 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought it today after reading several great reviews and hating my current steam mop. At first nothing came out when I squeezed the buttons and then it wouldn't stop coming out. The vacuum part didn't suck up anything and had to dry my floor with a towel.
Cons: Suction, Performance
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HooverUSAMarch 27, 2014By HooverUSAMarch 27, 2014
Hi Deena, I'm sorry to read about your troubles with your FloorMate Deluxe and I do have a resolution for you. Please email me directly at Ian.McCormick@ttifloorcare.com so that I can better assist you. Thanks so much!

-Ian
Hoover Customer CareHoover
Review 9 for FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Puts a Sparkle Back on Your Floors

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Use this on my kitchen and bathroom floors and must admit I do see dirty water in container. Especially helpful in one bathroom where I keep my cats litter box and no litter is 100% dust-free so this has put a sparkle back on that floor. The only thing I wish it would do better is clean the grout, I still have to get down and scrub certain areas. I don't have hardwood floors so I can't comment on that but it does clean my ceramic tile very well and like the drying feature that machine has.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Good for All Surfaces, Great Value, Easy to Empty Filter
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner

Love it!

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
All I can say is that I actually WANT to clean my floors now, including the non-carpeted ones! Easy to use and better than any mop or " on hands and knees" scrubbing. Putting the tanks on is literally a snap and the amount of dirty water even when you thought your floor was pretty clean... Surprising.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner
from Houston
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Monthly

Nice idea but too much work. not smooth flow. it is tugging n pulling.

PostedApril 24, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It is a nice idea. I think it is good for only a small area.
If you have a large surface area, it is a lot of work!!!
I like the fact that you are not mopping with dirty water.
It takes time , a lot of time!!!
Hoover should make this with a roller mop like the carwash has. then it will be smooth and not jerky and still clean and suck up excess water!!
Edy H
Pros: Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design, clean water
Cons: Difficult to Use, takes too long to clean area, dirty tank fills..everything stops, dirty tank fills too quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HooverUSAJune 13, 2014By HooverUSAJune 13, 2014
Hi Edyh! Thanks for the suggestion. We will forward the information our engineering team and see what we can come up with!

-Giselle
Hoover Customer CareHoover
Response from By HooverUSAJune 13, 2014By HooverUSAJune 13, 2014
Hi Edyh! Thanks for the suggestion. We will forward the information our engineering team and see what we can come up with!

-Giselle
Hoover Customer CareHoover
Review 12 for FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner
from Costa Mesa, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Weekly

great for hardwood

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I clean our floors with 2 different kinds of micro fiber mops and Bona floor cleaner and I vacuum. Then I ran the Floormate over the the floors. You would think that maybe a little bit of dirt would have been left and pick up. WRONG. I had no idea how much dirt was being left behind. The water was BLACK and there was do much fine silt in the bottom of the waste water container it was scary! I forgot to mention that we have an 85 pound dog who runs in and out of the house. Back to the Hoover. My husband commented on how smooth the floors feel now. :-) I'm happy that he noticed.
The machine is lightweight and easy to use. Easy to clean up. I look forward to using it. (When was the last time you said that about a cleaning product?)
The floors are left as damp as if I were to wet "Swiffer" them. So no worries about over saturating the floors with water. I have noticed that there is an larger than normal wet spot if I let the machine sit in one place. But that is easily wiped up with a microfiber cloth. The noise level generated by the machine is comparable to a mid range vacuum cleaner.
Over all I really like/enjoy my Hoover. I do wish I could find the clean @ a discounted price. That would make it perfect!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Good Size & Lightweight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Daily

Average and could be better

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It stopped working after about six weeks. Will not suck up the solution anymore. Also, Hoover got truly stingy with the cord. It is WAY too short. I could not scrub my living room or my master bedroom without having to go to a different power outlet.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Empty Filter
Cons: Cord Length, Suction, Noisy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner
from Tucson
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Amazing!

PostedApril 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Probably one of the best purchases I've ever made. I made the poor decision to put white grout in a house with two large dogs. My floors have never been cleaner, and this machine was probably the easiest floor cleaner I've ever used!
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Strong Suction, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Nice Design
Cons: Noisy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner
from Tucson, AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Weekly

Great.....but!

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've just received this two days ago and used it today. It has a leak from the cleaning liquid container, so it leaves more liquid on the floor than it should. I will have my husband check it to see if something needs to be tightened. Other than this issue, it works much better than its predecessor.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Quiet, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
Cons: Performance
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Daily

Cleans great but leaves a little water

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The unit is great for quick pickups. Leave it full of water and it's up and running in seconds. However, when you're done, it leaves a little water behind that requires additional cleanup. I keep a dry mop nearby for the final touches.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
Cons: leaves water
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner
from AR
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is great!!!

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am so thrilled with this hard floor cleaner! I live in an older house and for the first time since we moved in, I feel like my floors are clean! Easy to use also!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Monthly

Pleased with it.

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We got email saying it was on sale. Five days later, no longer on sale. Cust. Serv. gave me $20 discount on separate gift card for different purchase. ... Wish the description of item would have said that soap fluid was included. I ordered soap fluid separately, and didn't need it yet.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well
Cons: Noisy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner
from St. Charles, IL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Love, Love, Love, Love, Love it!

PostedOctober 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have a wide variety of hard surface flooring throughout our house and there is no better, easier way to make it all shine!
With this one unit - vacuum up the dog hair, wash and dry the hard surface flooring.. It is amazingly fast, easy and relatively lightweight. The floor cleaning solution smells great and leaves all the surfaces shining!
Can't say enough positive things about this product. I am buying one for my daughter and son-in-law as a housewarming gift and recommend it to all my friends!!
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner
from Nashville, TN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Glad I purchased it.

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Very good purchase. With a child and being an animal foster....plus our own pets.....cleaning is always on the list of things to do. The floormate may not be a great "vacuum" but it does well with the floor scrubber and picking up the dirty water from the floor. I was tired of must "moving" around the dirt with a mop or other cleaning head type products. This truly gets the dirt off the floor.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>