728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner

FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner

Give your hard floors the spa treatment usually reserved for carpets. No more bucket, broom or hands-and-knees scrubbing with the Hoover FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner. This unit washes and dries hard floors so quickly you might not know what to do with all that extra time.
Overall rating:
3.846 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(241 reviews) 241
Open Ratings Snapshot
72%of customersrecommend this product166 of 230reviews
Rating Breakdown 241 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(131)
4
(42)
3
(11)
2
(14)
1
(43)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Features 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
72%of customersrecommend this product166 of 230reviews
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 56 Answers
Customer reviews for FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner
Review 1 for FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner
from ft myers, fl
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

leaks water and doen't clean the grout

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
product leaked water all over the floor, had a bigger mess cleaning up the water
Cons: Performance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner
from Denver Colorado
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love it!

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used to think that the only correct way to wash floors well was on my hands and knees. After I broke my femur 1/2 a year ago, this became too difficult to do and my knee caps hurt as well when I knelt on them. We had a large 2400 square foot rental property to clean. 1200 feet of that was a tiled basement. So we bought the Floormate hard floor cleaner. I had previously purchased a Shark steam mop which I returned because it was insufficient for really cleaning dirty floors. I love the Floormate. It sucks the dirty water back up so that you don't end up merely smearing the dirty water around. One of the best purchases I have ever made for myself.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Strong Suction, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner
from Rochester, NY
Age Range:45 to 54

Dont waste your money or time on this machine

PostedSeptember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the first review I've ever written but after rushing home to clean my floors I felt compelled to let everyone know that this machine is HORRIBLE!! Not only does it spit out water everywhere except where you need it, my wood floors look worse now than before I started. It smears and streaks and leaves black rubber marks on my white tile floors in the kitchen, didn't even touch the grout lines - don't think the brushes get deep enough into the groves. This machine is heavier than it seems, louder than it needs to be, doesn't fit under cupboards or stove area. UGH this was an utterly frustrating experience and it's going right back to HomeDepot in the morning!!! VERY VERY disappointed customer :(
Cons: Noisy, Performance, smears and streaks wood floors
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By HooverUSAOctober 7, 2014By HooverUSAOctober 7, 2014
Hi Krystie,
We're sorry to hear you didn't like the FloorMate Deluxe. Did you try the Tile and Grout brushes for your kitchen? That should help clean those areas which you may find are difficult with the originally attached brushes. If you have any questions or concerns, please email Ian.McCormick@ttifloorcare.com. Thanks! --John, Hoover Customer CareHoover
Review 4 for FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner

where's the "Deluxe"?

PostedOctober 26, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Well, it LOOKS modern and efficient but...
I used mine for the first time yesterday and am disappointed. It leaked all over the place especially when sitting still. You can tell from the water as it comes out that its not coming out evenly. I was also surprised for a Deluxe that it no longer vacuums and the cord is so short. Also the top cord holder is right at the level of my knee and bumps it every time i pull the scrubber towards me. Ouch! I dont have much faith that its getting my floors clean. And whats weird is even tho it leaks alot, it doesnt seem to use alot of water. That might be because the water cannister is bigger than the old one. I havent measured. And another thing, even tho the packaging looked brand new, the (supposed) grout brush was dirty. Speaking of which, it doesnt clean grout either! It did make some of my grout less dirty if i used both soap levers and left the brushes on one spot for a few minutes. Not efficient. And the stupid on off button is gonna tear, IF the machine lasts long enough to use more than a few times! I still wanna know whats the difference between Deluxe and the next lower model?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner
from Arizona
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Weekly

Great tile cleaner

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have mostly tile in my home and this machine is a time saver and a back saver. This machine cleans and dries very well. The only down side is when turned off it leaves a little puddle of water on the floor, probably from what is left on the brushes but that is easy to remedy with a towel to blot that up.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Strong Suction, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner

Love it

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Worked great right out of the box. The cleaning solution included leaves a film I do not like but it is not necessary and I disposed after first use. This was a replacement for one that I had about 15 years. I love this product for cleaning hard surface floors and cannot understand why anyone would use anything else. My only wish would be that the cleaning surface would be wider. It is the sam size it always has been but would be better if it was available 2-4" wider.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Great Value, Easy to Empty Filter
Cons: wish it was a little larger
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner

Hoover FloorMate Deluxe

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I love my floor mate! Home Depot made this online purchase very easy & I picked product up at the local store. The employees at the Home Depot were very helpful & extremely nice. Thank You!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner
from Naples, Fl
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

excellent product

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Simple and easy product to put together and use. Well worth spending the extra money over a cheaper steam mop. Product is slightly quieter than a standard vacuum.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner
from Pearland, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Gets the floor cleaner than a mop can

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
When I received the product the items listed to be included in the box. I called Home Depot and they gave me a gift card for the missing item. After using the floor cleaner for the first time I felt like the machine didn't do a great job after cleaning all my floors. I called Hoover and they stayed on the phone with me til the issue was fixed. The Hoover Company and the floor cleaner are worth the $.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good for All Surfaces, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
Cons: Suction
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner
from Rehoboth Beach, DE
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Monthly

Better than I expected

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used this product primarily on tile floors and found it easy to use and it does a great job. It does a lot better job than swifter wet mops and regular mops. They seem to deposit a lot of the crud in the grout lines and this brush product actually cleans out the grout lines. I wish it was available when I first moved in the house 10 years ago.
Pros: Performs Well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner
from West Palm Beach, Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Weekly

Hoover Tile Floor Cleaner

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was thrilled that I found this machine so close to my home. By using the internet I was able to find a very good product. I just wish I bought one sooner. When you have tile floors, nothing compares to letting a machine do the work for you. No more mops, buckets, hard work swabbing the floors. Great machine.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner
from Houston, Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Weekly

So disappointed... :-(

PostedMarch 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought it today after reading several great reviews and hating my current steam mop. At first nothing came out when I squeezed the buttons and then it wouldn't stop coming out. The vacuum part didn't suck up anything and had to dry my floor with a towel.
Cons: Suction, Performance
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HooverUSAMarch 27, 2014By HooverUSAMarch 27, 2014
Hi Deena, I'm sorry to read about your troubles with your FloorMate Deluxe and I do have a resolution for you. Please email me directly at Ian.McCormick@ttifloorcare.com so that I can better assist you. Thanks so much!

-Ian
Hoover Customer CareHoover
Review 13 for FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner
from Globe, Arizona
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Weekly

Best Money I Ever Spent

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
All of my floors are tile. It used to take me awhile to mop all of them and let them dry. Now it takes me very little time, and it dries instantly. I was going to buy one at Kohls for $159 (on sale), I got it Home Depot for $138. I am extremely happy with my purchase.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight
Cons: Cord Length, need bigger brush
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner
from Aurora IL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Weekly

I have 2 and they both broke.

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I read a review just now with the same problem. The liquid will not dispense.
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: Repair Costs, Clogs, Build Quality, Performance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HooverUSAJuly 14, 2014By HooverUSAJuly 14, 2014
Hi Victoria! If your FloorMate Deluxe is no longer dispensing, you can try flushing the cleaner out. There's probably excess solution caught in the interior hoses of the machine blocking the water flow. Fill both tanks with warm tap water. Pull the trigger 10 times then hold it for 30 seconds. Repeat procedure one more time. Hope this helps!

-Giselle
Hoover Customer CareHoover
Review 15 for FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner

It works to a certain degree. Needs help for some types of dirt.

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Assembly was easy, but the supplied long bolt for assembly was defective. It was round on the end with no means of inserting a screwdriver. This bolt was not stamped properly at the Chinese factory. I used a small hack saw and made a slot to enable me to screw it in. GREAT FIRST IMPRESSION. Once assembled we washed our tile floors. Because the rotating brushed are puny, I recommend keeping a small plastic scrapper nearby to remove the caked on stuff that may fall on the floor in the kitchen area. Frequent washings or touch ups are recommended.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter
Cons: Suction, brushes too mild
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Puts a Sparkle Back on Your Floors

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Use this on my kitchen and bathroom floors and must admit I do see dirty water in container. Especially helpful in one bathroom where I keep my cats litter box and no litter is 100% dust-free so this has put a sparkle back on that floor. The only thing I wish it would do better is clean the grout, I still have to get down and scrub certain areas. I don't have hardwood floors so I can't comment on that but it does clean my ceramic tile very well and like the drying feature that machine has.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Good for All Surfaces, Great Value, Easy to Empty Filter
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner
from marathon, fl
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

floormate

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble easy to use easy to clean, amzaed at all the dirt it picked up. I habe pets in the house and it did a great job at picking up all the dog hair too.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Quiet, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Daily

Average and could be better

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It stopped working after about six weeks. Will not suck up the solution anymore. Also, Hoover got truly stingy with the cord. It is WAY too short. I could not scrub my living room or my master bedroom without having to go to a different power outlet.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Empty Filter
Cons: Cord Length, Suction, Noisy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner

Love it!

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
All I can say is that I actually WANT to clean my floors now, including the non-carpeted ones! Easy to use and better than any mop or " on hands and knees" scrubbing. Putting the tanks on is literally a snap and the amount of dirty water even when you thought your floor was pretty clean... Surprising.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner
from Tucson, AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Weekly

Great.....but!

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've just received this two days ago and used it today. It has a leak from the cleaning liquid container, so it leaves more liquid on the floor than it should. I will have my husband check it to see if something needs to be tightened. Other than this issue, it works much better than its predecessor.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Quiet, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
Cons: Performance
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>