728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner

FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner

Give your hard floors the spa treatment usually reserved for carpets. No more bucket, broom or hands-and-knees scrubbing with the Hoover FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner. This unit washes and dries hard floors so quickly you might not know what to do with all that extra time.
Overall rating:
3.777 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(368 reviews) 368
Open Ratings Snapshot
72%of customersrecommend this product250 of 349reviews
Rating Breakdown 368 reviews
3.8 out of 5
5
(194)
4
(60)
3
(23)
2
(20)
1
(71)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Features 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
72%of customersrecommend this product250 of 349reviews
Customer questions and answers:
18 Questions | 67 Answers
Customer reviews for FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner
Review 1 for FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner
from Mount Dora, FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Daily

Great Product - Breaks Prematurely

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This machine was a God send when I first bought it at best buy. I threw away the mop and bucket and started to solely depend on this unit. Until it started to get hard to switch between gears and then the motor started to hum and I had to stop using it. this is very disappointing because i love the unit and with an all tile home/ 2 dogs / 1 cat and 2 children it is a necessity. i don't use it now because it is very loud and sounds like it is going to break and I did not buy an extended warranty for this product at the time of purchase, because i thought that hoover was not going to break in a 1-2 year period. i have no idea about the manufacture warranty.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Good Size & Lightweight, Nice Design
Cons: Repair Costs, Noisy, Performance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By HooverUSAJune 11, 2015By HooverUSAJune 11, 2015
Hi PeraltaRyder,
The FloorMate Deluxe has a 2-year limited warranty. If it's a motor issue, that is most likely to be covered by the warranty. please email John,Hitch@ttifloorcare.com for further assistance. Thanks! -- John, Hoover Customer Care Hoover
Review 2 for FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner
from Green Valley, AZ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Usage frequency:Yearly

FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner FLOORMATE DELUXE HARD FLOOR CLEANER

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I really like how it cleans except that water always drips from it while trying to use the drying method. I must say though it sure cleans better than a mop.
Pros: Good for All Surfaces, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter
Cons: Noisy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner
from Bellevue, KY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Daily

Best thing ever invented

PostedJune 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I just purchased my 6th unit. Not because the prior units were defective, but because I use it so much I wear it out. This is an awesome tool to have when you own pets. Especially pets that track in dirt, shed hair and sometimes have accidents.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Nice Design
Cons: Cord Length, Noisy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner
from New York
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Where have you been all my life?

PostedMay 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Have only used this once on vinyl and laminate hardwood, and it worked beautifully. Easy to put together, lightweight and a breeze to use. It got up any and all spills and crud, and left absolutely no streaks. The floors feel and look so clean, and the cleaning solution has a nice, fresh scent. No more hands and knees cleaning. What was I thinking with the Swiffer and the Shark steam mop? Rubbish. Would highly recommend this product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner

great kitchen floor cleaner

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
easy to use, easy to clean, cleans the floor very well and leaves the floor almost dry. It's not very loud-no more than a vacuum cleaner. One review said the noise was terrible...not true if used correctly. I got this for my 85 year old mom and she loves it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Strong Suction, Good Size & Lightweight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner
from Atlanta
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

easiet way to clean the floor outside of having someone else do it

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Steam cleaning is as easy as vacuuming my floors. With a new puppy in the house keeping the floors super clean is a must. My old shark with its handle pumping action was wearing me out. I had read the reviews about leaking but have not had any problems, only clean floors. The only negative I can mention is the short cord length. I hope the next time Hoover updates this model they pay attention to the reviews as this is the most commonly mention negative issue.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Lightweight
Cons: Cord Length
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HooverUSAApril 17, 2015By HooverUSAApril 17, 2015
Hi puppymom,
Glad you like the FloorMate Deluxe. We actually did you one better with the cord. We got rid of it completely with the FloorMate Cordless, and it's available at Home Depot. http://thd.co/1aDHuGE. It's everything you love about yours without the one thing you dislike Hope this helps! -- John, Hoover Customer Care Hoover
Review 7 for FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner
from Greenwell Springs, LA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Weekly

Hoover Floormate Deluxe

PostedApril 15, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Love it so much. What a difference it makes in really cleaning my floors. Love the way you can flip from scrubbing the floor to drying it, it makes housecleaning so much easier and cleaner. I purchased 2, one for me and one for my daughter.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Quiet, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Self-Propelled, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner
from Phoenixville, PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Seems simple and good

PostedApril 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Got it since not too many good options in this price range and the new irobot mops got bad reviews so I picked this up and it did a great job with the kitchen tile. Going to use the wood brushes for all the hardwood floors next but it does seem like it will be a solid purchase.
the water comes out enough, cleans the floor and picks up and drys the floor well too.. worth the money for sure. No more mopping with a bucket
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Quiet, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner
from panama city beach
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

floormate cleaner

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I have only used it once on a tile floor and it did a good job. Cleaning it up was simple.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Lightweight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner
from Maine
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Weekly

not working as expected

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The brushes do not stay attached to the base. I would not recommend it.
Cons: Performance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HooverUSAApril 9, 2015By HooverUSAApril 9, 2015
Hi Pete! This is not good to hear. You're brushes should not be given you any trouble. Your FloorMate has a 2 year limited manufactures warranty that covers all manufacturing defects. To find a service center near you visit our website. Go to Support>Find a Service Center> Enter zip code. Hope this helps!

-Giselle
Hoover Customer Care Hoover
Review 11 for FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner
from Westerville, ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Weekly

Love the new design! The two water reseviors made cleaning faster since you don't have to stop to empty it so often!

PostedMarch 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Was thinking I was getting a great price for the cleaner since it was originally priced at $139.00 but I had to pay $159.00. Got it home and found it was selling at $139.00 everywhere else. Won't be purchasing small appliances at Home Depot in the future!
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Sturdy, Good Size & Lightweight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner
from TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Weekly

best floor cleaner so far

PostedMarch 4, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I have every floor cleaner know to man because I have a house full of dogs who never wipe their feet. I try every new product that comes on the market and this by far is the easiest to use. You just fill it and run it like you would a vacuum over your hard floors. The first time I used it I moved all furniture and did the best job I could and it looks great. I plan to use it weekly without moving furniture each time. I am hoping to stop hating to do my floors! The clean setting is enough to pick up most of the water here in dry Texas. But I used the dry setting to see the difference and it is great. With the dry setting on, the floor was dry almost instantly. No time to wait to return furniture to it's new position. I had been using the steam mops but they left visible swipe marks on my laminate floor. This cleaner does not.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Good for All Surfaces, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight
Cons: Build Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner
from Las Vegas, NV
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Weekly

Loving my new floor cleaner

PostedMarch 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very easy to put together and so easy to use. It has saved me a ton of hours of back and knee breaking cleaning.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Good for All Surfaces, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter
Cons: Cord Length
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner
from south gate, ca
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

i dont love it.

PostedMarch 5, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The concept itself is great. the vacuum is lite weight and easy to assemble. That being said, I don't love it. it leaks, doesn't vacuum all that great,or scrub the floors clean, and It DOES NOT dry the floors like it should. Needless to say, I will be returning it.
Pros: Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
Cons: Cord Length, Suction, Dust Chamber, Performance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HooverUSAMarch 12, 2015By HooverUSAMarch 12, 2015
Hi cheesehead26,
Your FloorMate should not be leaking and should excel at scrubbing and picking up the dirty water. We want to help and have a few questions for you. please email John.Hitch@ttifloorcare.com when you get a chance. Thanks! -- John, Hoover Customer Care Hoover
Review 15 for FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner
from Holly Ridge, North Carolina
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Excellent floor cleaner

PostedJanuary 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This machine cleaned the grooves in the wood-look vinyl flooring. They haven't been this clean since the vinyl was installed. Mopping didn't get the grooves clean. It's so easy to operate. I took it out of the box, read the quick start instructions and got started. I used it on the Tile in the kitchen next, and it did a great job there too. I wondered if it was as clean as it looked, so I tested with a wet, white rag. The rag was still white after wiping the floor. I would recommend this machine to anyone who wants truly clean floors.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Quiet, Strong Suction, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner
from Kansas, US
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Monthly

Waste of Money, doesn't last very long Quit after 7 uses.

PostedJanuary 24, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought one of these for light hard floor cleaning. Used about 7 times. Haven't even used up the sample cleaning compound and the unit quit dispensing fluid. Unit did work great when it was working. $160.00 kind of expensive to get 7 cleanings before having to throw the thing away. I dd all of the recommended cleaning ie. Removing brushes and nozzel assy and cleaning out all of the collected crud but still not water feed.
Hoover makes great wind machines, (vaccuums), but their wet machines suck. Check internet for problems before buying.
Cons: Build Quality, cheaply made, doesn't last very long
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HooverUSAJanuary 28, 2015By HooverUSAJanuary 28, 2015
Hi Nohochacyum666! Sounds like the internal lines to the cleaner may be clogged with soap suds. Here are a few suggestions that may help. First, empty cleaner water tank and rinse thoroughly. Next, fill clean water/solution tank with hot tap water. Then, prime trigger 10 times and hold for 30 seconds. Repeat procedure. You should see water dispensing now.
Hope this helps!

-Giselle
Hoover Customer Care Hoover
Review 17 for FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner
from Moses Lake, WA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

floor cleaner

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The cleaner does a pretty good job on my vinyl floors. I would change a couple features that are not critical. The on-off switch is too low on the handle, requiring bending over to use. And the cord attachment is too low, that makes it easy to step on the cord. If it were up higher, it would be easy to grab and hold out of the way of your feet. I like the suction feature which removes most of the water, so the floor dries quickly.
Pros: Easy to Use, Strong Suction, Good Size & Lightweight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner

So Awesome!!!

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
So let me start off by saying I have 3 boys and only the bedrooms have carpet therefore the rest of my house is ceramic tile. I've always used the mop and bucket way of mopping my floors with either bleach or pinesol, now my problem is that my tile didnt really change color or anything and even though I sweep before I mop it never really looks like I did anything. Now I just got this and of course being my "new toy" I got it out of the box and I used it. Took me a couple of minutes to really know how it worked, all I can say is WOW! Not only was I mopping but it was also picking up what the broom left behind. Noise of it I didnt find any louder than any regular vacuum, it left my tiles really clean and picked up some tough to clean messes the lil ones left behind. If you have hard surface floors and find the mop and bucket time consuming and not seeing the difference then I definitely recommend this to you. Take apart is easy and simple to clean, and best part no sticky floors left behind when you're done. It definitely brings a different kind of solution that is not soapy. Drying and dirty water pick up suction was awesome no worries about anybody walking on the wet floors leaving dirty foot prints behind.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner

floor cleaner

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Pulls dirt from the floor even after you have mopped
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for FloorMate Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner

love it

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have used my floor cleaner at least five times already and I love it. It is so easy to use and really cleans the grout well. I would recommend this product to anyone who wants to cut their cleaning time in half.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>