728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Door Knobs & Hardware or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Kevo Single Cylinder Venetian Bronze Bluetooth Enabled Deadbolt for iPhone 4S, 5, 5C, 5S and Included FOB

Kevo Single Cylinder Venetian Bronze Bluetooth Enabled Deadbolt for iPhone 4S, 5, 5C, 5S and Included FOB

With Kwikset Kevo Bluetooth Enabled Deadbolt your Smartphone is now your key. No more fumbling for your keys. Keep your phone in your pocket or purse and just touch the lock to open. No Smartphone. No Problem. Enjoy the same touch to open convenience with the fob. You can send an electronic key (eKey) to family, friends, or visitors who have a compatible Smartphone so they can use their phone as a key too. Receive notifications of lock activity and manage the lock and eKeys with the Kevo Mobile App. In addition to the convenience, Kevo is incredibly secure. You can add, delete or disable eKeys from the mobile app or utilize the Lost Phone Reset should the unthinkable happen. The Kevo Bluetooth Enabled Deadbolt also works with a traditional key and features SmartKey re-key technology. With SmartKey you can re-key your lock yourself in 3 easy steps. The SmartKey deadbolt cylinder provides peace of mind for a backup traditional key and offers superior security against lock picking and bumping. The Kevo app is currently available for iPhone 4s, 5, 5C and 5S as well as the fifth generation iPod touch, third generation or higher iPad and iPad mini. We have plans to support all possible mobile devices. Currently Android 4.3 does not fully support all Bluetooth LE features required by Kevo, but we hope it will soon. When it does, we will be ready shortly thereafter. You can still enjoy touch-to-open entry with a key fob and migrate to your Android device when available.
Overall rating:
3.635 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(63 reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
68%of customersrecommend this product42 of 62reviews
Rating Breakdown 63 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(24)
4
(17)
3
(7)
2
(5)
1
(10)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
68%of customersrecommend this product42 of 62reviews
Customer questions and answers:
26 Questions | 103 Answers
Customer reviews for Kevo Single Cylinder Venetian Bronze Bluetooth Enabled Deadbolt for iPhone 4S, 5, 5C, 5S and Included FOB
Review 1 for Kevo Single Cylinder Venetian Bronze Bluetooth Enabled Deadbolt for iPhone 4S, 5, 5C, 5S and Included FOB
from Virginia, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

We absolutely love it

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It’s been more than 1 month since I installed this lock on my backdoor and my experience has been great so far. Lock comes in elegant packaging that includes all the hardware you need to install it along with two standard keys, a smart key and a fob. Ten minutes installation process is so simple that nonprofessionals should have no trouble at all.
You will spend more time calibrating it though. For me, the phone calibration took 2 tries but the fob took more than 20. I still do not see that a problem. Think about it, this lock is using near-field wireless technology (Bluetooth) which can pick up signals from any direction to communicate within 40 feet diameter. But Kevo wants to communicate only when your phone or fob is outside the door and close enough to the deadbolt. When Bluetooth signals are all in the air then it’s not easy to figure out if the phone is inside or outside the door and how close to the outside unit. I have tested it many times by placing the phone and fob just inside the door at the same level as inside assembly with a glass window in between but it did not unlock the door when I tapped on the deadbolt from the outside. I give full credit to Kwikset for such a smart idea and its implementation. Now, to achieve such accuracy, calibration might take multiple tries.
Included smart key takes less than a minute to re-key the lock.
If need be, you can disable the phone and fob feature and just use the manual key. Phone and fob locks/unlocks the door from the outside only, to lock it from the inside, you will use the thumb knob.
Currently, Kevo’s mobile application is only for Apple devices with Bluetooth 4.0 but soon we should see Android support. Mobile application has great user interface and offers great features that are easy to understand.
Keep in mind that if you are installing it on a double door with glass window, then you will face a bit trouble placing the lock on the door since it’s little wider. I struggled but eventually it worked out great for me.
We love this lock and happily recommend it.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Kevo Single Cylinder Venetian Bronze Bluetooth Enabled Deadbolt for iPhone 4S, 5, 5C, 5S and Included FOB
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

KEYS? Where we're going, we don't need KEYS!

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am writing a review for the new Kwikset KEVO Bluetooth enabled deadbolt for iPhone.
I got the Venetian Bronze color to match my home decor. This unit is also available in brushed nickel and gold.
Out of the box, the parts are packaged well and there were no missing pieces. The instructions were easy to read and thoughtfully written for the novice consumer. My current deadbolt is a Kwikset, so I did not have to remove the strike plate or the internal door mechanisms. However, for the purpose of this review, I removed all the guts and used what they included.
I LOVE the fact that Kwikset includes 4 AA batteries! I never seem to have batteries at the house when I need them. Also included are 2 steel keys and a wireless key FOB, for use without keys or an iPhone.
You don't have to take out your existing Kwikset door guts if you want to save time and a bit of headache. If your door is already setup for Kwikset, you can keep it.
Next, I simply measured my door to make sure that I had my settings correct. Kwikset gives you 2 different door dimensions for easy install. I placed the deadbolt into the door and fished the 2 wires through the bottom of the lock mechanism. I then married up the backplate on the inside of my door. I used the gold colored screws to secure the backplate to the deadbolt and tightened them with my hand held screwdriver. DON'T USE A POWER DRILL!
I connected the wires to the main power unit and securely fastened it to the backplate with 2 small machine screws. Lastly, I held down the program button and dropped in the battery pack. BEEP! -this sound started to put the lock into test mode to make sure the lock was calibrated to open and close.
After install, I downloaded the KEVO app from the iTunes app store and installed it. Once registering the app, I removed the back cover to the KEVO and pressed the program button and then held my iphone to the backplate to "PROGRAM THE KEY" to my iphone.
Once this was done, I re-keyed the lock to use my existing house key. (SEE VIDEO).
This lock is built extremely well. It was easy to install and took only 21 minutes. The app is handy and easy to use. I like that I can send "virtual keys" to anyone that has an iphone. This helps for when people come to town and I don't feel the need to go get a key cut. I'd recommend this lock to anyone that is forgetful with keys but ALWAYS has their phone. The retail price is fitting for the features and quality of the lock.
To open the door, have your iPhone or Key FOB on your person. Double Tap the outer bezel to open and then Double Tap your finger to lock it.
HAPPY FINGER TAPPING!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Kevo Single Cylinder Venetian Bronze Bluetooth Enabled Deadbolt for iPhone 4S, 5, 5C, 5S and Included FOB
from Atlanta, GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great customer follow up from my previous post - 180 degree turn around

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wanted to follow up from my previous post about 6 weeks ago with my awful experience of this Blue Tooth Enabled Lock. The company actually read my review and had one of their local account executives reach out to me directly with great followup. He asked if he could call me directly and I agreed, however I told him I had already returned the lock to the HomeDepot.
A very long story short - they sent me a new lock directly to my home that arrived the following afternoon. I finally installed it this weekend and had exceptionally low expectation given my previous experience.
Now for the good news: It worked exactly per the instructions...I was thrilled.
I sent an eKey to my wife, she downloaded the app and it took me 30 seconds to show her how to use the lock with the phone! Just wonderful!!!!!
I have never experienced follow up from a manufacturer before at this level.......They turned me around a 180 degrees.
Thanks MB
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Kevo Single Cylinder Venetian Bronze Bluetooth Enabled Deadbolt for iPhone 4S, 5, 5C, 5S and Included FOB
from Gainesville, GA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A great KWIKSET product

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a product that anyone with teenaged kids that forget their keys, but NEVER their phones needs!!
Has great built in safety features.
Thanks KWIKSET and HOME DEPOT for supplying such a great product.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design, Easy to Use
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Kevo Single Cylinder Venetian Bronze Bluetooth Enabled Deadbolt for iPhone 4S, 5, 5C, 5S and Included FOB
from Bastrop
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very convenient, just a little pricey.

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The Kevo works great, it is nice to be able to send the ekey to others to enter and then disable or delete when you need to. It works great, the plate and hole for the dead bolt need to be installed perfect position, if the bolt does not slide effortlessly, it will error on you. Once we got that adjusted there are no issues. I love it, just think it is a little pricey as is most new technology when it comes out.
Pros: Durable, Nice Design, Convenient
Cons: expensive
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Kevo Single Cylinder Venetian Bronze Bluetooth Enabled Deadbolt for iPhone 4S, 5, 5C, 5S and Included FOB
from Saint Cloud, FL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good but more expensive than I would have liked.

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product was an interesting thing to assemble. If all the components were not done to the exact letter, the lock would not work. I had to call support once for assistance. After 3 days of tinkering and troubleshooting, I finally have an awesome lock!
Take your time with assembly!!!
Pros: Sturdy, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Install, touchy and overly sensative
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Kevo Single Cylinder Venetian Bronze Bluetooth Enabled Deadbolt for iPhone 4S, 5, 5C, 5S and Included FOB
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love this little luxury!

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I had been looking for a lock similar to the one on my auto for a while. Researched this lock set prior to purchasing since it was on the pricey side. Finally took the plunge and purchased about 6 weeks ago. I absolutely love this lock! So convenient and easy. Makes life simpler. No more fumbling for keys or juggling grocery bags. Easy to install (my teenage son installed it without a problem). All things being said, no glitches or problems. Would and have recommended to friends.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
Cons: pricey
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Kevo Single Cylinder Venetian Bronze Bluetooth Enabled Deadbolt for iPhone 4S, 5, 5C, 5S and Included FOB
from Boston, MA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Do not buy this item

PostedNovember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This item works poorly. It is easy to install, and the finish quality is consistent with other Kwikset locks. The callibration with your iPhone is difficult to do (not technically--it just doesn't work, and you have to keep doing it over and over). The biggest problem is that if you don't hold your phone right in front of the lock, it won't sense it. I called the companies hot line, and they said there was a manufacturing issue, and sent a new one. It is marginally better. Your phone needs to be very close to the lock to have it work, and will work only occasionally if you have the phone in your pocket. If you have to take the phone out of your pocket to get teh lock to operate, you might as well take out your keys. What's the point. I see that Amazon has already taken this off their website, at least for now.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: doesn't work well
+7points
12out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Kevo Single Cylinder Venetian Bronze Bluetooth Enabled Deadbolt for iPhone 4S, 5, 5C, 5S and Included FOB
from South Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very cool door lock

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Fun and pretty easy to use. Calibration is a little tricky and takes multiple times and inside latch is poorly designed loose and flimsy but what a cool idea.
Pros: Lots of Features, fun and hi tech
Cons: average inside design
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Kevo Single Cylinder Venetian Bronze Bluetooth Enabled Deadbolt for iPhone 4S, 5, 5C, 5S and Included FOB
from Mississippi, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not reliable

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Good idea. But the antenna cable is too easily pinched. When the antenna cable is pinched, the lock either won't work at all or it locks and unlocks at random times. I'm come home to find my front door unlocked and the inside dogs out in the yard.
Not happy.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: not reliable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Response from By KwiksetDecember 12, 2013By KwiksetDecember 12, 2013
Hi Michelle. Thanks for providing your feedback. We apologize for the cable issue you encountered. We are aware of a pinched cable problem with a few of our early Kevo units that has since been addressed in all products shipping today. We continue to incorporate additional product enhancements to prevent any cable issues moving forward. Please contact us at 1-800-327-5625, let the Team know you've run into a problem with your cable, and we will make sure you get taken care of so you have a great Kevo experience.kwikset
Review 11 for Kevo Single Cylinder Venetian Bronze Bluetooth Enabled Deadbolt for iPhone 4S, 5, 5C, 5S and Included FOB
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very cool...

PostedNovember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I Installed Kevo a few days ago and I love this lock! The installation was very easy as I replaced my existing deadbolt. The calibration was a little tricky as it took me two attempts for the fob and four attempts with my phone. Once I got through the calibration phase the lock is performing very well.
Why not a five star…not compatible with Android. My wife has an Android and is using the fob that was included because her phone is not compatible.
Hints…watch calibration video on web site for assistance.
Overall, love the cool factor of the lock and most of all it is very convenient!
Pros: Easy to Install, Convenient
Cons: no android
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Kevo Single Cylinder Venetian Bronze Bluetooth Enabled Deadbolt for iPhone 4S, 5, 5C, 5S and Included FOB
from Houston, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wait for the 2nd or 3rd Generation Locks

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First Impression:
Clean packaging. Nice Finish. Instructions were a little overwhelming as there was more than one manual/instruction sheets.
Installation:
Mechanical installation was really simple for my case. I removed my old lock and installed this one back in without any real need for instructions. I connected the wires which was very easy due to all of the labeling on the product itself. I would say it only took about 10 minutes to have the mechanical aspects fully installed. I even re-keyed the lock to my existing keys in only a few additional minutes. The re-keying feature was the best part about this lock.
I installed the app on my phone and went through the setup process. Calibration and synch-up was also not very complicated.
Function:
The lock works. It opens and closes using my phone and overall I was very impressed. Practically however, I found that on average the lock takes about 2-3 times longer to open rather than if I had just taken out my key and opened it "Old School" style. I also found that my phones battery life was significantly lower due to having Bluetooth enabled all the time (iPhone 4S).
Security:
Overall I feel the lock is just as safe as a standard lock. However, I found that binding your phone to your key can be problematic because phones run out of battery and get stolen. Personally, I would suggest Kevo focuses on making the keyfobs smaller and focusing on them. If this lock had no phone app and only came with a few small fobs I would be much happier.
This lock does provide a huge boost in security when it comes to temporarily sharing access to your home. If you were only to provide someone a copy of your key you have no way of preventing them from making a copy. This is not a problem with the electronic keys.
Other Thoughts:
The interior components of the lock are very large and somewhat unsightly.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design, security with
Cons: slow operation, not enough keyfobs, reduced battery life on mobile device, no android support
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Kevo Single Cylinder Venetian Bronze Bluetooth Enabled Deadbolt for iPhone 4S, 5, 5C, 5S and Included FOB
from Wisconsin, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Overall good product

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The lock quality is good, heavy duty, solid. The vast majority of the time, the Kevo lock works and works great. There are still some bugs to be worked out. 95% of the time, no problem. We've had a few occasions in the 30 days we've been using it where the rings lights but the door doesn't lock or unlock. Tried recalibrating with no change. We haven't figured out what the cause might be. Love being able to monitor online to see who enters/exits. I can recommend it.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Kevo Single Cylinder Venetian Bronze Bluetooth Enabled Deadbolt for iPhone 4S, 5, 5C, 5S and Included FOB
from New York, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great idea but still needs some tweaking

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not allways the same with iPhone feature. Sometimes it works perfect and then sometimes it don't. I think it needs to be little more refined with phone.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: unstable with iphone
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Kevo Single Cylinder Venetian Bronze Bluetooth Enabled Deadbolt for iPhone 4S, 5, 5C, 5S and Included FOB
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Completely Buggy

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The lock more often than not will not function properly. It will cycle the LEDs like it is unlocking, but will not unlock. This occurs with multiple cell phones, so it is not a phone issue. Recall ration has not helped. A friend purchased the same lock and experiences the same problems at his house. Do not waste your money on this product. Try one of the other brands available.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
Cons: buggy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Kevo Single Cylinder Venetian Bronze Bluetooth Enabled Deadbolt for iPhone 4S, 5, 5C, 5S and Included FOB
from Garland, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

the setup was too complicated...

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I found the setup too complicated. I read all the instructions and videos to no avail. I really wanted it because of the security it provided. the closest I got to setting it up was to crack the door open and at that point it would work but the door was opened and did not need to be unlocked. my door is a 15 lite steel door so I don't know if that had anything to do with it. Maybe i'll wait for another couple of years for it to be better or the competitors to bring up something similar. I tried.
Pros: nice light outside would help deter intruders
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Install, plastic on the inside was too weak and could break
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Kevo Single Cylinder Venetian Bronze Bluetooth Enabled Deadbolt for iPhone 4S, 5, 5C, 5S and Included FOB
from Logan, UT
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great idea but not perfectly executed

PostedApril 9, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Kevo Single Cylinder Satin Nickel Bluetooth Enabled Deadbolt for iPhone 4S, 5, 5C, 5S and Included FOB
I was excited to install this lock and test it out. Installation was a bit challenging since it was the first deadbolt I've installed that had wires. I was able to follow the directions and get my phone to sink with the deadbolt. I love the color ring on the deadbolt. It is probably my favorite feature because it feels like I am going into a top-secret lab, but it is just my house.
I was sold on the idea that I can use my phone to unlock my door. I was also impressed that I could email, activate and deactivate keys for family and neighbors as they needed entrance into my home.
Now that I've had the lock for a few months, I am disappointed. I honestly wanted to like the lock but as time has passed, I've come to the conclusion that the idea is awesome but the execution is not there yet.
Some of the things that have disappointed or annoyed me are:
The deadbolt will activate as I go in and out of my home, without touching the lock. The sensor is too powerful or needs to be positioned in an area of the lock that will not produce false activation.
When I use my phone to unlock the door, you have to make sure your Bluetooth is on. I don't usually leave Bluetooth on because it drains my phone battery. Once I turn Bluetooth on, it takes several seconds to communicate with the lock before it finally opens.
The deadbolt will activate while my door is open so the lock will smash into my door trim once it is closed.
Sometimes the lock struggles to engage so it clicks and beeps until it gives up and I have to do it manually.
Batteries, I hate changing them. This lock has added additional expense by needing to buy batteries.
I ranked this a 3 because I really like the idea. Overall though, I find this lock to be less convenient than the standard key. I believe in the technology and am confident that Kwikset will get this right, they are just not there yet.
Pros: Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Use, unreliable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+22points
26out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Kevo Single Cylinder Venetian Bronze Bluetooth Enabled Deadbolt for iPhone 4S, 5, 5C, 5S and Included FOB
from North West, Loudoun Virginia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

One of a kind deadbolt

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Kevo Single Cylinder Polished Brass Bluetooth Enabled Deadbolt for iPhone 4S, 5, 5C, 5S and Included FOB
Installation & calibration
This lock was installed on my door 45 minutes after the shipment was delivered. Installation and calibration went smooth. I had no troubles what so ever in calibrating my phone and fob with the lock. The directions to install, calibrate and re-keying were explained well. You basically need no special skills/tools to install and calibrate. A single Phillips screw driver did the whole installation. You get 5 e-keys with the lock, each additional e-key comes at a minor cost but I believe that 5 e-keys are a lot to begin with. You also get 1 fob and 2 manual keys but in my opinion Kwikset should have offered 2 fobs along with 2 manual keys.
Appearance
The exterior unit appears just like a regular deadbolt until you touch it and flashing lights start to circle the deadbolt. These lights change colors per triggered operation. Interior part took some getting used to because of its 7.25” tall face plate. Overall, the gold finish looks very elegant.
What it offers
Security is just as same as a regular deadbolt but with a lot more convenience.
It provides convenience of locking the door from outside by tapping it 3 times without any fob/e-Kay or hard key (you can enable/disable this feature if need be). Also unlocking it by tapping it as long as the paired fob or Apple mobile device is outside and within calibrated range. It also let you share the e-Key(s) with others which can be revoked from or re-assigned again to whoever you want. That’s simply awesome.
Mobil application is free and offers great graphical experience. I so look forward to Android based application which isn’t supported yet.
These certainly are great features that none of the deadbolts in the market offer and that is what makes this lock one of a kind. My family and I are well satisfied with what it offers and surely recommend it.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Kevo Single Cylinder Venetian Bronze Bluetooth Enabled Deadbolt for iPhone 4S, 5, 5C, 5S and Included FOB
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Next generation of deadbolts

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Kevo Single Cylinder Satin Nickel Bluetooth Enabled Deadbolt for iPhone 4S, 5, 5C, 5S and Included FOB
This lock replaced my old Kwikset deadbolt. It comes with 2 manual keys and 1 fob.
Installation is just as easy as any other standard deadbolt and requires no special skill set. 2 screw and 4 bolts puts the lock in place. It took about 30 minutes to remove the old deadbolt and to place Kevo on the door. Installation time would have been no more than ten minutes if my door did not have the glass window with moulding and that’s what took an extra 20 minutes to make the lock sit flat on the door. The lock in fact is a bit wider for the doors with glass window in the middle.
I loved the fact that I could re-key the lock to continue using my old key if I wanted to, rekeying took about 15 seconds.
The lock construction is sturdy with high-end appearance. The indoor assembly housing cover is all plastic. It runs on 4 AA batteries.
Kevo mobile application is very intuitive and works flawlessly. The lock registered with the application on 2nd attempt and I had no trouble calibrating the phone and the fob. As long as I keep the phone in the front pocket of my shirt, it works 100% but when the phone is in my pants pocket then it works 60% or less especially when I am wearing a long coat that’s covering the pants’ pockets. Fob works with the same ratio.
Kevo application and the lock communicate through Bluetooth and currently it works with Apple mobile devices that have Bluetooth 4.0 and does not work with Android devices.
Each time the lock is opened/locked using the mobile, it generates a log entry in application log but that would never give a true picture of lock usage since there cannot be any log with fob and manual key usage but it would certainly help if you send an eKey to someone else and want to know when was it used.
With mobile app, fob and manual key able to lock/unlock your door, Kwikset has created a great product that certainly leads the next generation deadbolt family but it does need some tweaks to achieve perfection.
The mechanical warranty of the lock is lifetime but electronic warranty is 1 year only. The fob’s warranty is also 1 year.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, lock/unlock with mobile app, lock/unlock with fob, share ekeys
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+37points
46out of 55found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Kevo Single Cylinder Venetian Bronze Bluetooth Enabled Deadbolt for iPhone 4S, 5, 5C, 5S and Included FOB
from Austin, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simple, convenient, and really cool!

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Kevo Single Cylinder Satin Nickel Bluetooth Enabled Deadbolt for iPhone 4S, 5, 5C, 5S and Included FOB
So this thing is awesome!
Lock - great fit and finish. Easy to install, easy to re-key, easy to program. It has a great durable finish. The instructions to re-key the lock are clear and to the point. The back of the lock (from the inside) is a little large, and requires batteries, but it is very simple to pull the cover off and change the batteries and program the lock after you install. The front of the lock (from the outside) is shiny and clean looking. There are LED lights on the front when you touch the sensor that are very bright and flash several different colors (mainly blue, orange, and green). Since there are several lights they flash bright enough to be able to clearly identify what is happening even if the sun is shining on your door. The lock also has an audible beep when doing any function.
The phone app:
As with the rest of this lock, it is easy to use, and user friendly. The security options on the app with the lock are numerous. For example, when connected to wifi, my app will sense where I am in my house, that way if someone is outside and my phone is near the door, it will sense that I am not outside and I can chose this to be a safety feature. My only gripe with the app is that you must leave it open on your phone for it to work. Some features of the app let me send electronic keys to anyone with an email address and all they need to do is download the app and create an account to enter my home. This was great when family is in town and I was not always able to be around or didn't have enough keys. The app will also make your phone vibrate and chime when you lock or unlock the lock. It creates a low frequency wifi that only goes short distance and is secure. It does not drain your phone battery.
Since i've owned it, this has become the standard and I feel very save and secure. I have not had any issues with the motorized locking mechanism, and the style, functionality, ease of use, and security features make this more than worth it.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>