728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Bottom Freezer Refrigerators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Artistry 29.75 in. W 20.3 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black

Artistry 29.75 in. W 20.3 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black

Your GE Artistry 29.75 in. Wide 20.3 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black has High-gloss finish crown doors with Hidden Hinges. 3 electronic sensors and a multi flow Air Tower keeps your food at the temperature you control with upfront temperature controls. Reversible doors give you added flexibility when placing this refrigerator. GE appliances provide up-to-date technology and exceptional quality to simplify the way you live. With a timeless appearance, this family of appliances is ideal for your family. And, coming from one of the most trusted names in America, you know that this entire selection of appliances is as advanced as it is practical.
Overall rating:
4.283 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(99 reviews) 99
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product83 of 93reviews
Rating Breakdown 99 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(52)
4
(33)
3
(7)
2
(4)
1
(3)
Features 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product83 of 93reviews
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 31 Answers
Customer reviews for Artistry 29.75 in. W 20.3 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black
Review 1 for Artistry 29.75 in. W 20.3 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Roseville, MN
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Noisy operation

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Got all four pieces in the Artistry series. Extremely disappointed how noisy the fridge is! Waited two weeks to see if it would stop, but didn't. When it's running, it makes constant cracking/popping sound; sometimes sounds like a woodpecker; extremely annoying. GE tech came to check it out; extremely disappointed to hear that "it's just the coolant; most fridges do that; can't be fixed. it's normal". Not for me; never had a fridge make this much noise! Spent a lot of money on all four appliances. Will try to contact GE or Home Depot to see if at least can get a replacement; hoping someone will be able to assist and not say to just "deal with it".
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: Noisy
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Artistry 29.75 in. W 20.3 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from kansas city
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Unique!

PostedOctober 9, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I love the look of this refrigerator.... and it receives a lot of compliments. Very unique appearance. However... I can't get it level. The fridge tilts to the back. The delivery guys tried to level it, but it still looks like it's leaning. A lot.
The first day we had it plugged in, it made a lot of noise trying to get cold. I haven't really heard it since. It is a very quiet appliance.
Also - the front of this fridge is VERY prone to scratches and fingerprints. No magnets - EVER - on the front. We put one up on the first day & the scratches it left are highly visible. That's okay, I guess. It means I'll have a cleaner looking kitchen, but I will miss using the fridge as a place to hang pizza coupons & shopping lists.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Stylish
Cons: Scratches Easily, can't seem to get it level
+36points
36out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Artistry 29.75 in. W 20.3 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The General Electric Name Badge on the Front Fell Off...

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This GE Artistry refrigerator in black is really good looking. It's not that noisy when it kicks on as some other reviews suggest. Can't get it perfectly level as it's only adjustable on the front wheels. It does feel pretty solid, has a nice clean layout inside. Light in the freezer, also. Really gets cold and right now I have the settings on 5. The black paint does show finger prints. So far, the only complaint is that the GE name badge on the front of the refrigerator just fell off. It was hanging on by a little bit of glue, but it won't stay on. I called GE and have been waiting over a month for the replacement badge to show. Dealing with GE customer service was a bit difficult as I could hardly understand what she was saying.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Clean, Nice Design
Cons: name badge on front fell off
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Artistry 29.75 in. W 20.3 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Dripping Springs TX

LOVE this refrigerator, but HATE GE service

PostedJune 13, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I received my new GE refrigerator on June 7th, but didn't notice until after the delivery crew left that the light in the refrigerator was not working. I contacted GE right away by email to request a replacement bulb and received a response that they would need to schedule a technician to come out and run diagnostics. REALLY?? FOR A LIGHTBULB???
So I went to the website and scheduled a service call - which would require me to take an entire day off work...FOR A LIGHTBULB...as they only had all-day appointment options.
Then I called the number in the email response and couldn't get out of the automated system that only offered the option of ordering a part or scheduling a service appointment. After almost 30 minutes of trying multiple other numbers from the website, I finally reached a person and explained the situation to her. She was sympathetic, but told me I needed to call the parts department and they wouldn't open again until tomorrow morning. She cancelled my appointment request as she, too, thought it was not necessary...FOR A LIGHTBULB.
I plan to call the parts department in the morning and see if I can get them to send me the lightbulb. This is utterly ridiculous. I really do love the refrigerator, but the LACK OF SERVICE is making me hate GE.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: service is atrocious
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Artistry 29.75 in. W 20.3 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Brewster, NY
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome !

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have had for 2 weeks now and am extremely pleased with this purchase. I bought this refrigerator for my home, which I am getting ready to sell. I like it so much, I think I will buy this for my new home too! I purchased this in Black and it's quiet, keeps everything at the right temperature, has plenty of space, and looks fantastic. I didn't buy the entire set of the Artistry line, just this refrigerator to fit in with my other Black appliances. When the relators came, they loved the look and thought it was very 'cool and retro'. My home is a mix between contemporary and rustic and this fit right in. I rated the energy efficiency a 'Good' because I've only had it a few weeks and it's too soon to tell if it lives up to it's promise. Additionally, I had Home Depot deliver this and the delivery guys were terrific! My Kitchen is on the 2nd floor and I had just painted the stair hallway. They didn't scratch the walls coming in or out, nor scratch the new refrigerator, were very polite, set up everything, and took the old one away. What a breeze.
Pros: love everything about it
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Artistry 29.75 in. W 20.3 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black

Great looking, Great price

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We were looking for a fridge with a retro look, and all the others were thousands of dollars more. This one looks great in person, works perfectly fine, and has a great interior set-up. Couldn't be happier with it.
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Clean, Nice Design
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Artistry 29.75 in. W 20.3 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black

Loving my fridge

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had my eye on this Artistry line for over a year before I decided to get the fridge. So glad I did. It holds everything we need and more. The delivery guys leveled it and showed me the special screws in case we needed to adjust. They're not your old-school leveling feet. It's really gorgeous in our kitchen. I read reviews that it scratches easily so we don't put any magnets on the front. Just the side. The only reason I held out so long to purchase is because I was hoping they would come out with a counter-depth model, but our old fridge died so I decided to deal with the extra depth. The handles are reversible for right or left, but I don't think the listing said that at the time I purchased. VERY happy with this retro throw-back refrigerator!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Artistry 29.75 in. W 20.3 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Fair Grove, MO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great look, a lot of storage for the size!

PostedOctober 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I can't speak to longevity, since we've only had our refrigerator for a week. But I can say we are happy so far. We traded a 24 year old side by side for this refrigerator. The old one was slightly larger, but the nice open shelves of the new refrigerator make it feel larger. We would have preferred a freezer drawer over the freezer door, but we fell in the love with the nostalgic look and it was worth the trade off. So far all I can say is that we are very happy!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Artistry 29.75 in. W 20.3 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Illinois, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

I love this fridge!

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the only modern fridge I have seen that goes with my retro kitchen decor. I got it delivered/installed almost 2 weeks ago and it looks great! The online price was awesome, and the delivery was super easy. They even moved my old fridge (very heavy) to the garage for me, in freezing temperatures. There is so much room inside - I can fit several large boxes (pizza, cake, etc) on one shelf - which was impossible with my old fridge. I have not had any problems with the freezer drawer like some of the other reviewers have described.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Stylish
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Artistry 29.75 in. W 20.3 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Texas, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Retro chic

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The Artistry Fridge has a cute retro exterior, with thoroughly modern interior. The black exterior conceals handprints better than stainless or white. It's the best of both worlds, and a lot cheaper and roomier than the retro-style fridges for sale at West Elm.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Artistry 29.75 in. W 20.3 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black

Hello beautiful! You're one stylish retro refrigerator!

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The GE Artistry refrigerator is one stylish retro refrigerator for the modern age. We love it! It has plenty of storage and looks incredible with the rest of the Artistry line. Nicely priced, too.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Artistry 29.75 in. W 20.3 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from CT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Irritating Design flaw

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I took delivery of this refrigerator recently. It's got good looks and fits exactly what I need. However, I noticed an irritating design flaw with the vegetable bins. There is no lip/handle, you have to grip the drawer from the bottom to open it. The process of pulling open the drawer forces you to lift from the bottom and that action jams the drawer so you can't pull it open. If there was a handle there the drawer front wouldn't catch. This was especially irritating when I tried to get an onion from the bin whilst in the middle of cooking dinner. My slick hands couldn't open the drawer. GE needs to add handles at the top of the drawers to avoid the plastic drawer top from burrowing under the above shelf trim. Also a piece of plastic broke off the drawer glide. I should be able to get another drawer since it's under warranty. i'd still recommend the product for the looks and price point and it looks to be operating much better than the refrigerator I replaced.
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish
Cons: vegetable bin design flaw
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Artistry 29.75 in. W 20.3 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Pennsylvania
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Beautiful

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This refrigerator looks totally unique. When friends and family come over, they all remark on how beautiful it is. Due to the size of our space, we were limited on models. The only thing that this fridge lacks is running water. Contrary to a few other reviews, it is quiet, spacious, and contemporary.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Artistry 29.75 in. W 20.3 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Waynesboro, Va
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Icemaker questions

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Please order the IM6 icemaker with this refrigerator. The IM6 is the replacement to the IM4 according to GE.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: artistry doesnt come w/factory installed icemaker
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Artistry 29.75 in. W 20.3 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Minneapolis,MN

Classy and Works Well!

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have owned this for 3 months now with no complaints. We get lots of comments on the style. We are very happy with it.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Artistry 29.75 in. W 20.3 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Mishawak, IN
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

ICE MAKER ISSUES

PostedJune 30, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
GE continually messes up our ice maker order! I would never choose to work with GE again!
Cons: Difficult to Install
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Response from By GE AnswersJuly 3, 2014By GE AnswersJuly 3, 2014
I am sorry for your inconvenience. Please contact parts and request to speak with a supervisor. They can be reached at 1-877-959-8688. they are available M–F 7am–6pm, Sat 7:30am–4pm CT.GE_Appliances
Review 17 for Artistry 29.75 in. W 20.3 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from WIsconsin
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beautiful Outside, needs to be more practical inside

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Artistry 29.75 in. W 20.3 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in White
I really loved the looks of this fridge on the outside. The freezer door needs to be open the entire way, 180 degrees, to get the basket out. In my kitchen, with its limited space, I can't get the basket out, unfortunately. The top space could use a little more adjustable as a gallon of milk can't fit upright on any of the shelves unless I have two really short shelves. No ice cube tray or egg tray like my old fridge. I bought it for its vintage looks since I didn't have the time to wait to find an actual vintage fridge that works!
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Artistry 29.75 in. W 20.3 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black

This refrigerator is perfect for our needs -- a smaller refrigerator to fit in a narrow space.

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Artistry 29.75 in. W 20.3 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in White
Very good organization of storage space. Holds a lot for the size. I find the bottom freezer very convenient. The items I use most frequently (refrigerator, produce) are at eye-level and easy to reach. Deeper shelves in the door are very helpful.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Artistry 29.75 in. W 20.3 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Clayton GA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GREAT RETRO STYLE

PostedDecember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Artistry 29.75 in. W 20.3 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in White
I loved the looks of this fridge immediately! My mother purchased it a month previous to my purchase and she loves it too. It fit right in to our kitchen style and it was a little more narrow than our previous one so it looks more "right" in the space instead of being a big box stuck in a tiny hole. We wanted an uncomplicated fridge and this is perfect. We didn't even hook up the icemaker - it will freeze a tray of ice in less than 15 minutes. It runs so much more quietly than previous one too. Love the bottom freezer too. The only downfall to it is that the freezer has a big basket and one shelf and it is a little harder to organize but it was a great price and I had always wanted a retro style but never thought that I could afford it. My power bill was a lot less this month too and I bet this fridge had something to do with it. Thanks Home Depot!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: freezer space is sort of small but not horrible
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Artistry 29.75 in. W 20.3 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Oregon
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love the look!

PostedApril 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Artistry 29.75 in. W 20.3 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in White
I was looking for a retro style fridge. So many of them from other brands were so expensive, such as the Smeg (also too small) or the big chill at a very high price. So when I found this affordable regular sized fridge I was so happy. I love the touch of retro it has, it looks perfect in my kitchen. I love it so much I just now ordered the stove, microwave, and dishwasher to match, I am very happy with it.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, retro look!, good price
Cons: no icemaker
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>