728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Bottom Freezer Refrigerators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Artistry 29.75 in. W 20.3 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black

Artistry 29.75 in. W 20.3 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black

Your GE Artistry 29.75 in. Wide 20.3 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black has High-gloss finish crown doors with Hidden Hinges. 3 electronic sensors and a multi flow Air Tower keeps your food at the temperature you control with upfront temperature controls. Reversible doors give you added flexibility when placing this refrigerator. GE appliances provide up-to-date technology and exceptional quality to simplify the way you live. With a timeless appearance, this family of appliances is ideal for your family. And, coming from one of the most trusted names in America, you know that this entire selection of appliances is as advanced as it is practical.
Overall rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(114 reviews) 114
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product97 of 107reviews
Rating Breakdown 114 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(63)
4
(36)
3
(8)
2
(4)
1
(3)
Features 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
91%of customersrecommend this product97 of 107reviews
Customer questions and answers:
15 Questions | 33 Answers
Customer reviews for Artistry 29.75 in. W 20.3 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black
Review 1 for Artistry 29.75 in. W 20.3 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Roseville, MN
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Noisy operation

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Got all four pieces in the Artistry series. Extremely disappointed how noisy the fridge is! Waited two weeks to see if it would stop, but didn't. When it's running, it makes constant cracking/popping sound; sometimes sounds like a woodpecker; extremely annoying. GE tech came to check it out; extremely disappointed to hear that "it's just the coolant; most fridges do that; can't be fixed. it's normal". Not for me; never had a fridge make this much noise! Spent a lot of money on all four appliances. Will try to contact GE or Home Depot to see if at least can get a replacement; hoping someone will be able to assist and not say to just "deal with it".
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: Noisy
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Artistry 29.75 in. W 20.3 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from kansas city
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Unique!

PostedOctober 9, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I love the look of this refrigerator.... and it receives a lot of compliments. Very unique appearance. However... I can't get it level. The fridge tilts to the back. The delivery guys tried to level it, but it still looks like it's leaning. A lot.
The first day we had it plugged in, it made a lot of noise trying to get cold. I haven't really heard it since. It is a very quiet appliance.
Also - the front of this fridge is VERY prone to scratches and fingerprints. No magnets - EVER - on the front. We put one up on the first day & the scratches it left are highly visible. That's okay, I guess. It means I'll have a cleaner looking kitchen, but I will miss using the fridge as a place to hang pizza coupons & shopping lists.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Stylish
Cons: Scratches Easily, can't seem to get it level
+38points
38out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Artistry 29.75 in. W 20.3 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome looking fridge!

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Really loving this fridge! Here's my take:
Pros:
Keeps food cold (does what a fridge is supposed to do and does it well)
Fits in my kitchen (this is one of a few top fridges under 30" wide)
Looks awesome (I love the retro look)
Has tons of space
Easily switches from left to right hand open
Cons:
Tilts back (although this was solved pretty easily with a 2x4)
Has only full shelfs in the fridge, no half shelfs (so if I make one shelf have enough height to hold a 2L bottle, the other 2 become too short)
Freezer basket doesn't slide (making it difficult to get stuff out of the basket on the bottom)
Shows finger prints
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Artistry 29.75 in. W 20.3 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The General Electric Name Badge on the Front Fell Off...

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This GE Artistry refrigerator in black is really good looking. It's not that noisy when it kicks on as some other reviews suggest. Can't get it perfectly level as it's only adjustable on the front wheels. It does feel pretty solid, has a nice clean layout inside. Light in the freezer, also. Really gets cold and right now I have the settings on 5. The black paint does show finger prints. So far, the only complaint is that the GE name badge on the front of the refrigerator just fell off. It was hanging on by a little bit of glue, but it won't stay on. I called GE and have been waiting over a month for the replacement badge to show. Dealing with GE customer service was a bit difficult as I could hardly understand what she was saying.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Clean, Nice Design
Cons: name badge on front fell off
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Artistry 29.75 in. W 20.3 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Dripping Springs TX

LOVE this refrigerator, but HATE GE service

PostedJune 13, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I received my new GE refrigerator on June 7th, but didn't notice until after the delivery crew left that the light in the refrigerator was not working. I contacted GE right away by email to request a replacement bulb and received a response that they would need to schedule a technician to come out and run diagnostics. REALLY?? FOR A LIGHTBULB???
So I went to the website and scheduled a service call - which would require me to take an entire day off work...FOR A LIGHTBULB...as they only had all-day appointment options.
Then I called the number in the email response and couldn't get out of the automated system that only offered the option of ordering a part or scheduling a service appointment. After almost 30 minutes of trying multiple other numbers from the website, I finally reached a person and explained the situation to her. She was sympathetic, but told me I needed to call the parts department and they wouldn't open again until tomorrow morning. She cancelled my appointment request as she, too, thought it was not necessary...FOR A LIGHTBULB.
I plan to call the parts department in the morning and see if I can get them to send me the lightbulb. This is utterly ridiculous. I really do love the refrigerator, but the LACK OF SERVICE is making me hate GE.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: service is atrocious
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Artistry 29.75 in. W 20.3 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Brewster, NY
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome !

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have had for 2 weeks now and am extremely pleased with this purchase. I bought this refrigerator for my home, which I am getting ready to sell. I like it so much, I think I will buy this for my new home too! I purchased this in Black and it's quiet, keeps everything at the right temperature, has plenty of space, and looks fantastic. I didn't buy the entire set of the Artistry line, just this refrigerator to fit in with my other Black appliances. When the relators came, they loved the look and thought it was very 'cool and retro'. My home is a mix between contemporary and rustic and this fit right in. I rated the energy efficiency a 'Good' because I've only had it a few weeks and it's too soon to tell if it lives up to it's promise. Additionally, I had Home Depot deliver this and the delivery guys were terrific! My Kitchen is on the 2nd floor and I had just painted the stair hallway. They didn't scratch the walls coming in or out, nor scratch the new refrigerator, were very polite, set up everything, and took the old one away. What a breeze.
Pros: love everything about it
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Artistry 29.75 in. W 20.3 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black

Great looking, Great price

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We were looking for a fridge with a retro look, and all the others were thousands of dollars more. This one looks great in person, works perfectly fine, and has a great interior set-up. Couldn't be happier with it.
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Clean, Nice Design
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Artistry 29.75 in. W 20.3 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black

GET Artistry 29.75 in W 20.3 cu.ft

PostedOctober 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Refrigerator is quite , nice looking and price reasonable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Artistry 29.75 in. W 20.3 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Washington DC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Lovely Retro Design and Function

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was looking for a refrigerator with a bottom freezer and no water dispenser. My husband does not like bottom drawer freezer and this product met our wants. Very stylish. Very spacious ref with lots of compartment. I just don't like the way it is tilted towards the back. Per the technician who came they said it's tilted so that the door can close easily.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, can add more feature
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Artistry 29.75 in. W 20.3 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Fair Grove, MO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great look, a lot of storage for the size!

PostedOctober 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I can't speak to longevity, since we've only had our refrigerator for a week. But I can say we are happy so far. We traded a 24 year old side by side for this refrigerator. The old one was slightly larger, but the nice open shelves of the new refrigerator make it feel larger. We would have preferred a freezer drawer over the freezer door, but we fell in the love with the nostalgic look and it was worth the trade off. So far all I can say is that we are very happy!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Artistry 29.75 in. W 20.3 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black

Great design and function at a great price

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our family bought this GE as a gift for our Mom to replace a near failing refrigerator. She absolutely loves the design and the function. This GE artistry has everything she wanted. It fits nicely in her small kitchen and gives her kitchen a bit of flare. So far the Artistry is running like a champ.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Artistry 29.75 in. W 20.3 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Illinois, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

I love this fridge!

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the only modern fridge I have seen that goes with my retro kitchen decor. I got it delivered/installed almost 2 weeks ago and it looks great! The online price was awesome, and the delivery was super easy. They even moved my old fridge (very heavy) to the garage for me, in freezing temperatures. There is so much room inside - I can fit several large boxes (pizza, cake, etc) on one shelf - which was impossible with my old fridge. I have not had any problems with the freezer drawer like some of the other reviewers have described.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Stylish
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Artistry 29.75 in. W 20.3 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black

Loving my fridge

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had my eye on this Artistry line for over a year before I decided to get the fridge. So glad I did. It holds everything we need and more. The delivery guys leveled it and showed me the special screws in case we needed to adjust. They're not your old-school leveling feet. It's really gorgeous in our kitchen. I read reviews that it scratches easily so we don't put any magnets on the front. Just the side. The only reason I held out so long to purchase is because I was hoping they would come out with a counter-depth model, but our old fridge died so I decided to deal with the extra depth. The handles are reversible for right or left, but I don't think the listing said that at the time I purchased. VERY happy with this retro throw-back refrigerator!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Artistry 29.75 in. W 20.3 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Texas, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Retro chic

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The Artistry Fridge has a cute retro exterior, with thoroughly modern interior. The black exterior conceals handprints better than stainless or white. It's the best of both worlds, and a lot cheaper and roomier than the retro-style fridges for sale at West Elm.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Artistry 29.75 in. W 20.3 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from CT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Irritating Design flaw

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I took delivery of this refrigerator recently. It's got good looks and fits exactly what I need. However, I noticed an irritating design flaw with the vegetable bins. There is no lip/handle, you have to grip the drawer from the bottom to open it. The process of pulling open the drawer forces you to lift from the bottom and that action jams the drawer so you can't pull it open. If there was a handle there the drawer front wouldn't catch. This was especially irritating when I tried to get an onion from the bin whilst in the middle of cooking dinner. My slick hands couldn't open the drawer. GE needs to add handles at the top of the drawers to avoid the plastic drawer top from burrowing under the above shelf trim. Also a piece of plastic broke off the drawer glide. I should be able to get another drawer since it's under warranty. i'd still recommend the product for the looks and price point and it looks to be operating much better than the refrigerator I replaced.
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish
Cons: vegetable bin design flaw
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Artistry 29.75 in. W 20.3 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Pennsylvania
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Beautiful

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This refrigerator looks totally unique. When friends and family come over, they all remark on how beautiful it is. Due to the size of our space, we were limited on models. The only thing that this fridge lacks is running water. Contrary to a few other reviews, it is quiet, spacious, and contemporary.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Artistry 29.75 in. W 20.3 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black

Hello beautiful! You're one stylish retro refrigerator!

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The GE Artistry refrigerator is one stylish retro refrigerator for the modern age. We love it! It has plenty of storage and looks incredible with the rest of the Artistry line. Nicely priced, too.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Artistry 29.75 in. W 20.3 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Minneapolis,MN

Classy and Works Well!

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have owned this for 3 months now with no complaints. We get lots of comments on the style. We are very happy with it.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Artistry 29.75 in. W 20.3 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Waynesboro, Va
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Icemaker questions

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Please order the IM6 icemaker with this refrigerator. The IM6 is the replacement to the IM4 according to GE.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: artistry doesnt come w/factory installed icemaker
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Artistry 29.75 in. W 20.3 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Mishawak, IN
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

ICE MAKER ISSUES

PostedJune 30, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
GE continually messes up our ice maker order! I would never choose to work with GE again!
Cons: Difficult to Install
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Response from By GE AnswersJuly 3, 2014By GE AnswersJuly 3, 2014
I am sorry for your inconvenience. Please contact parts and request to speak with a supervisor. They can be reached at 1-877-959-8688. they are available M–F 7am–6pm, Sat 7:30am–4pm CT.GE_Appliances
1 2 3 >>