728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Generators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 6,800-Watt Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Honda GX390 Engine

6,800-Watt Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Honda GX390 Engine

For reliable power and a great value, PowerStroke is the brand that has it all. This PowerStroke Portable Generator features a reliable 389 cc Honda Engine and delivers 6800 Running Watts (8500 Starting Watts) for up to 13 hours at 50% load. Featuring a wheelbarrow frame design with 10 in. flat-free wheels this generator is easy to transport. For added convenience, this unit is also equipped with low-oil shut down and an automatic voltage regulator for cleaner, more reliable power. The easy-access control panel conveniently features (4) 120-Volt 20 Amp Standard Outlets and (1) 240-Volt 30 Amp Twist Lock Outlet making this generator ready to provide power for all your jobsite and home back-up power needs. All backed by a 3 Year Limited Warranty.
Overall rating:
4.765 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product17 of 17reviews
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(13)
4
(4)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Features 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product17 of 17reviews
Customer reviews for 6,800-Watt Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Honda GX390 Engine
Review 1 for 6,800-Watt Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Honda GX390 Engine
from Fall River Mass
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

More then what I expected

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The generator was delivered right to my yard ,I put on the tires ,the pins on the handle and connected the battery .Filled the oil that it came with added the gasoline chocked it pressed the start button ,started right up...Ready for that power fail will run everything I need.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong
Cons: has no gas gage
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 6,800-Watt Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Honda GX390 Engine
from Southern New Hampshire
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It's running our whole house as I write this

PostedNovember 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this unit a couple of years ago, and this is the first extended outage during which we've gotten to really test it. It runs our well pump with a 500 ft well, our furnace, all of our lights, a TV, a chest freezer and a refrigerator. I've been cautious in running everything at once, but I'm pretty sure it could handle it. I've run all of the above except for the well pump simultaneously. When we shower, I just turn off a few other items and run the pump and the oil furnace.
It's been humming away for about 24 hours straight now since the heavy snow took out the local power in southern New Hampshire, with only breaks for fuel replenishment.
The electric start is awesome. You don't have to fight with it, not that you would, since the Honda motor is just about bulletproof. The fuel tank is nice and large. Every time I go out there every few hours to top it off, there's still plenty of fuel in there. I could probably run it all night, but I've been checking on it about every five hours because I'm paranoid like that.
The only thing is that it can run a little rough after a cold start, and that's a pretty minor complaint. It usually settles out after a few minutes. Also, if you run something heavy off of it, like a microwave, it can also start the motor surging up and down a bit. Nothing major, but enough to make you want to unplug sensitive items. It doesn't have fancy inverter electronics and it doesn't throttle down at low demand like more expensive, purebred Honda units, but you get the reliability and ruggedness of the Honda motor at a more affordable price.
Overall, it's a fantastic value for the money, and the extra dollars from cheaper models buy you a much more robust setup. We're really happy with ours.
Pros: Easy to Use, long running time, very reliable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 6,800-Watt Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Honda GX390 Engine
from Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I've liked the honda engine. I've already talked a friend into buying the exact same generater...

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
the product was just what I expected. It worked great and starts just like a Honda should. I'm sure
I will be satisfied with this generater and service I got ordering and receiving it....
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 6,800-Watt Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Honda GX390 Engine
from Mount Airy, MD
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I love it!!

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Never thought I would love a generator, but this one's great! I don't have the strength to do the pull-string-to-start, so the electric start is perfect for me. It comes with a trickle charge, so it's always ready to go. It generates enough electricity to run the house comfortably. The handles and wheels make it very easy to move around. Nothing negative to say.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 6,800-Watt Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Honda GX390 Engine

It's a Honda motor!!!!

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great generator! Has the Honda motor and 6800w is more than sufficient to power up my needs. My old generator died last two days of the Sandy power outage so this was my choice after careful deliberations. 8 gal steel gas tank is plenty of storage and the only thing I would have liked to see was a voltage and ampere meter and no fuel gauge. Other than that it has it all including a very easy to use trickle charger for the battery.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight
Cons: no ampere meter, no fuel gauge
+21points
23out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 6,800-Watt Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Honda GX390 Engine
from Flint, MI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome generator!!!

PostedNovember 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought it 4 months ago and it got its first use last night for about 4.5 hours. It ran my whole house without a hiccup. Furnace, well pump, lights, fans, garage door opener. It was like the power never went out due to the storm. We had 50 mph winds and 30 degree temp outside. This was a long overdue purchase...
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 6,800-Watt Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Honda GX390 Engine
from Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

WORKS GREAT

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This generator is a real workhorse and has been well worth the purchase. We mostly use it when we "rough" camp in the woods. Our only complaint is that it is louder than we desire, but we've built a ventilated box to put over it and that helps a lot.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Strong
Cons: Too Heavy, loud
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 6,800-Watt Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Honda GX390 Engine
from buffalo ny
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very easy purchase

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
my purchase could not have gone any smoother for the on line order to my picking up the generator at my local store. The assembly was very easy with clear instructions. I have not needed to use the generator yet but it start right up and runs good.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy
Cons: Limited Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 6,800-Watt Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Honda GX390 Engine
from Largo, FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far so good... will update when I actually have to use it

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Unboxed and put together in under an hour. Good thing it was delivered on a pallet, made installing the wheels and the legs on it much easier as this is one heavy son of a gun. Once I had it put together, attached the battery and put in non-ethanol gas, I fired it up and it started immediately and ran for 10 minutes before shutting it down. Fast and easy delivery, happy that I'll know it will keep my food and lights on and safe for the next hurricane to hit Florida.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Strong
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 6,800-Watt Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Honda GX390 Engine
from Maine, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great backup machine

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very nice machine, more quiet than my old generator. It powers my whole house with ease. Easy to move around for when I need it on a construction site and still be able to have it at home for power outages.
Pros: Durable, Long-Lasting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 6,800-Watt Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Honda GX390 Engine
from Puyallup, WA, USA

excellent product for the price

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I assembled it rather quickly. When I pushed the start button for the first time it started so fast I was shocked. It also pull starts with one pull every time. I highly recommend.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Strong
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 6,800-Watt Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Honda GX390 Engine

Great product and features !!! Happy customer .

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble the wheels.handle and battery leads. Tested it and it works just great.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 6,800-Watt Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Honda GX390 Engine
from Santa Cruz, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Quieter than most generators this size.

PostedDecember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Everything you want in a full house generator. Electric start makes it so easy to start. Great power. Quieter than most at 63dBs.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 6,800-Watt Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Honda GX390 Engine

Seems to be a great generator

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this to use for power outages. I have not had to use this for that yet, but it starts and runs well.
Pros: Easy to Use, Strong
Cons: a little noisy
-2points
4out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 6,800-Watt Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Honda GX390 Engine
from NJ

Honda engine a plus.

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy operation, reliable engine, starts no problem.
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 6,800-Watt Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Honda GX390 Engine
from Udall, KS 67146, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The Generator is easy to operate per the instructions.

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The only issue I had was that the fuel tank vent (plastic) was broken off when I recieved the genreator. It took nearly a month and five phone calls to get the part so I could replaced it and use the Generator.The part was provided as a. warranty replacement.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy
Cons: too much plastice/ parts
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 6,800-Watt Gasoline Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Honda GX390 Engine

Honda-engine 6800 generator

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We haven't "needed" to test this out on a powerless day yet, but it functioned well at installation. The installing electrician thought it was a good product!
Pros: Durable, well built
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.