728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Built-In Dishwashers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Artistry Top Control Dishwasher in White with Steam PreWash

Artistry Top Control Dishwasher in White with Steam PreWash

Your GE Artistry Built-In Dishwasher in White offers you Steam PreWash and Wash TempBoost. The Spacemaker Silverware basket gives you loading flexibility with this unique basket that can be placed on the rack or onto the door. Pearlescent dark gray nylon racks with ball tip tines offer durability and secure dishes. Dedicated silverware jets provide a highly pressurized spray jets that target the silverware area for improved cleaning. Expect exceptionally clean and table-ready dishes with powerful wash arms that deliver 65% more wash power to the top and bottom racks compared to previous GE models* (*Delivered separately to the upper and lower racks). GE appliances provide up-to date-technology and exceptional quality to simplify the way you live. With a timeless appearance, this family of appliances is ideal for your family. And, coming from one of the most trusted names in America, you know that this entire selection of appliances is as advanced as it is practical.
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(31 reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
77%of customersrecommend this product23 of 30reviews
Rating Breakdown 31 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(15)
4
(9)
3
(1)
2
(4)
1
(2)
Features 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
77%of customersrecommend this product23 of 30reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for Artistry Top Control Dishwasher in White with Steam PreWash
Review 1 for Artistry Top Control Dishwasher in White with Steam PreWash
from Kissimmee, Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent value and quality again from GE the machine is so quiet and effective

PostedDecember 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this as a replacement for our 10 year old washer which was very noisy. This washer is so quiet you hardly know it's on and running. The storage tray for the cutlery is very useful.
This washer get the dishes perfectly clean on the economy wash. This is easily the best washer we've ever owned. 10/10 all round and would highly recommend it.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design, very quiet
Cons: none so far
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Artistry Top Control Dishwasher in White with Steam PreWash
from Philadelphia, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Meh

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought this because it was one of the few models in our price range which Home Depot had in stock which could be delivered and installed in less than a month. Home Depot's installation service was a disaster and we wound up having to do the work ourselves.
The unit itself does a satisfactory job of cleaning, but unless dishes are arranged "just so," it occasionally leaves some ordinary grime behind. The spring on the door is weak, and several times we have almost had toes crushed by the door swinging open too fast. Once or twice, the unit has failed to drain properly. Fiddling with the drain hose seems to clear the problem, but the hassle is making us question the wisdom of the purchase.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Difficult to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Artistry Top Control Dishwasher in White with Steam PreWash
from CT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Outstanding

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had this dishwasher for over a week but so far so good. This unit is feature-loaded for the price. It even has a steam feature which took the place of the rinse and hold which I had on a previous dishwasher I thought I'd miss the stainless interior but I was wrong. Despite the plastic tub this dishwasher is quiet. I also like the controls at the top of the door. There's a light in front that tells you if the dishwasher is running or not--that's it--overall a clean design and I'm impressed with the washing action. With the holidays here it's great having a working dishwasher. Very pleased with the product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Artistry Top Control Dishwasher in White with Steam PreWash
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

So quiet and efficient

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Replaced an old GE potscrubber from 1978 with this new Artistry model. Same exterior dimensions but much more room inside. Sanitary and Steam features replace the old "rinse and hold" option and do a much, much better job. The reduction in noise is the most noticeable feature - this model is so quiet! Dishes come out clean, sanitized, no streaks or errosion on the glass surfaces and enough room to put everything in one cycle.
Pros: Easy to Use, Lots of Features, Nice Design, quiet operation
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Artistry Top Control Dishwasher in White with Steam PreWash
from Indianapolis, IN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product has great features and is very quiet!

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This unit has features of steam clean and a cycle for sanitize that are just great.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great, Nice Design, very quiet
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Artistry Top Control Dishwasher in White with Steam PreWash

I'm not impressed

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We have had this dishwasher for a little over two weeks and we are not impressed. The seal has fallen off multiple times when we open the door, the dishes are still wet after using the heated drying option and the door feels like it is going to fall off when we open it to load or unload dishes. We are planning on returning it for a different model. This is not the GE quality we are used to seeing.
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: Not Durable, low quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Response from By GE AnswersJanuary 23, 2014By GE AnswersJanuary 23, 2014
Hi Jccm874-this is Sue from GE. We are sorry to hear you are not impressed with your new Artistry dishwasher. We can certainly understand your concerns and want to assure you that GE has established high standards in appliance quality and performance and our warranties protect against any product failures that may occur. We certainly encourage you to take advantage of your 1- year warranty and contact GE Consumer Service at 1-800-432-2737 for assistance as our technicians are considerably experienced and will do a wonderful job in making sure your dishwasher provides you with great service. We can advise for optimal dry performance, make sure the incoming water temperature is 120F. Run the hot water at the kitchen sink and measure the temperature of the running water with a candy or meat thermometer. Adjust the temperature of the water heater accordingly. Run the hot water faucet at the kitchen sink prior to operating the dishwasher to purge out the cold water. Rinse agents are recommended as they break down the surface tension of water, improving water drainage from dishes, thus improves drying performance. We hope this is helpful and apologize for any inconvenience caused to you.GE_Appliances
Review 7 for Artistry Top Control Dishwasher in White with Steam PreWash
from Raleigh, NC, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Height not accurate website to actual

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I ordered this based on the height listed on the Home Depot website. I also ordered the premier service to install it. The technician call out (due to truck issues), then rescheduled and called out again! I fired them and hired my own plumber to install it. Turns out, the height in the web spec was not accurate. It did not fit, and needed to be returned. Then Home Depot wanted to charge me to come pick it up. I had to haul it back to return it. It was a nightmare.
Cons: Difficult to Install, web spec wrong
-11points
4out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Artistry Top Control Dishwasher in White with Steam PreWash
from Elgin, IL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Value

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Artistry Top Control Dishwasher in Black with Steam PreWash
This is the most quiet dishwasher I have seen. There are plenty of features for washing, sanitizing and drying. It is easy to use and gets dishes CLEAN. I am still figuring out the best way to load pots n pans, and I do not like the silverware holder, since it has individual slots for each piece of silverware, and can be a little tedious to load. This is a small inconvenience compared to the overall value and performance of the dishwasher.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Nice Design
Cons: silverware holder
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Artistry Top Control Dishwasher in White with Steam PreWash
from schererville, indiana
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great dishwasher for "foodie" family

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Artistry Top Control Dishwasher in Black with Steam PreWash
we put all kinds of dirty pots and pans, some of the worst stuck on food that you can imagine, and this dishwasher shines every time
Pros: Lots of Features, Looks Great, Stylish
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Artistry Top Control Dishwasher in White with Steam PreWash
from Goldendale, WA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Love this dishwasher!

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Artistry Top Control Dishwasher in Black with Steam PreWash
I used to practically wash my dishes before putting them in the dishwasher because I hated pulling dirty dishes out of it, but this dishwasher REALLY cleans - even with no rinsing. I've even had plastic containers with a strong onion or similar smell come out with no odor. Things I like: steam prewash, sanitation, flexibility with configuration, and it's quiet! The only negative is that it takes a long time - about 4 hours if you choose the prewash and drying options. But it's worth it to have clean (and dry) dishes in the end.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Quiet, cleans well
Cons: slow
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Artistry Top Control Dishwasher in White with Steam PreWash
from Freehold, NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I am AMAZED that this dishwasher has been discontinued!

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Artistry Top Control Dishwasher in Black with Steam PreWash
I just happen to see this dishwasher on the way into a Home Depot store. It was a floor model that was marked down drastically. Because of the price, I had to jump on it. Why GE discontinued this model is the question of the century!
Previous to this unit, I have (and NEVER will again) owned many appliances from Sears. I fell for their sales pitch and the "so called" top of the line Kenmore dishwasher was dead within 18 months. After seeing this GE model at Home Depot and doing a little research on my part, I found that this model has received some rave reviews. It didn't get a 100% perfect, "just have to have it" rating, but since it did get 4.3 stars out of 5, I figured I would go for it. OK, so it was a discontinued floor model, but I figured that in the worst situation, I could always return it and get my money back.
Aside from the utensil racks (that I do not like because you have to put each fork, knife and spoon into a slot on the cover. The flip down tops have been removed), I have to say that I am VERY impressed with this dishwasher. To begin with, it is EXTREMELY quiet! In all honesty, I have heard room fans that were louder than this appliance! It is in use right now and I am no more than 25 feet away from it. I can not hear anything!
Installation was a breeze. 3 Wire electrical line, water supply line, drain hookup and the under counter support brackets were all that had to be connected. Because of the top of the door controls, it had to be installed a little bit lower to the floor than I would have liked (you do need access to the switches) and I have a gap of about 1.5" between the top of the appliance and the underside of my counter. However, I removed the black floor trim piece from my old Sears piece of junk, cut it down to size, painted it with high quality appliance paint and was able to cover this opening.
What I like the most about the owners manual is that it gives several different scenarios on how to load it properly for the best cleaning performance. This was never mentioned in the manual for my old Sears dishwasher (which is now sitting by the curb for the local bulk GARBAGE pick-up).
Sears will never get my money again. I have had way too many problems with way too many of their Kenmore branded products. Since this was a discontinued floor model, it was missing a few installation parts (drain hose, under counter support brackets, etc). Did this matter? NOT AT ALL! The folks at Home Depot were more than happy to provide me with EVERYTHING I needed for a proper installation. And they did it at NO EXTRA CHARGE! They even took the Cascade sample dish washing detergent package out of another GE unit and threw it in for good measure!
GE, if you do not bring in an equal quality dish washer in to take the place of this one, you are making a terrible mistake! It is quiet, it cleans very well and it looks great! Both my wife and I love it!
To the folks at Home Depot, all I can say is that you went out of your way to make my wife and I happy. The staff at store 947, Bridgewater, NJ deserves a pat on the back for what they did. This is a perfect example of what QUALITY customer service is all about!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: it was discontinued!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Artistry Top Control Dishwasher in White with Steam PreWash

Good so far

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Artistry Top Control Dishwasher in Black with Steam PreWash
Not as quiet as I thought it was going to be but still very good for the cost.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Artistry Top Control Dishwasher in White with Steam PreWash
from Indiana
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good appliance

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Artistry Top Control Dishwasher in Black with Steam PreWash
Very quiet. Love the style. It matches the GE Artistry electric stove we purchased in May.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Artistry Top Control Dishwasher in White with Steam PreWash

Sharp looking dishwasher in the Artistry line!

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Artistry Top Control Dishwasher in Black with Steam PreWash
We love this dishwasher. It looks incredible with the rest of the Artistry line, and is simple to use. Many features make your cleaning needs a breeze!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Artistry Top Control Dishwasher in White with Steam PreWash
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very satisfied with dishwasher

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Artistry Top Control Dishwasher in Black with Steam PreWash
Love this product so far. Very quiet compared to my old dishwasher. Would get five stars if I had it longer. Absolutely no complaints.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great, Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Artistry Top Control Dishwasher in White with Steam PreWash
from Youngstown, FL 32466, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Only had the product a week but seems to have good features

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Artistry Top Control Dishwasher in Black with Steam PreWash
Quiet operation and energy efficient. Haven't had the product long enough to give a complete and thorough review on the products full operation capabilities. Ask again in a month.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Artistry Top Control Dishwasher in White with Steam PreWash
from Gilmer, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The actual product is great.

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Artistry Top Control Dishwasher in Black with Steam PreWash
My actual dishwasher is wonderful. Even after I had to install it myself.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Artistry Top Control Dishwasher in White with Steam PreWash

does not work well, disappointed!

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Artistry Top Control Dishwasher in Black with Steam PreWash
does not work well, disappointed! It does not dry, the bottom rack does not roll well and comes off track.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By GE AnswersMay 20, 2014By GE AnswersMay 20, 2014
Hello Curly - this is Nancy at GE and we are very sorry to hear that you are disappointed with your new Artistry dishwasher. This is not what we expect to hear and I am happy to be of assistance. If your dishes are not cleaning nor drying well, check that your water is entering the dishwasher at 120 degrees Fahrenheit. You may need to run the dishwasher a minute or two at the sink prior to starting the dishwasher. Also, please make certain you are using a rinse agent, such as Cascade Rinse Aid, as they are designed for great drying action and protect against spots and film build-up on your dishes, glasses, flatware, cookware and plastic. I hope this helps!GE_Appliances
Ratings-only reviews for Artistry Top Control Dishwasher in White with Steam PreWash
Based on the average of (13) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
10 out of 13 recommend this product