728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Pots & Planters or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 24 in. Resin Deck and Porch Rail Planter in Terracotta for Horizontal Rails

24 in. Resin Deck and Porch Rail Planter in Terracotta for Horizontal Rails

Emsco's Double Rail Picker is a beautiful accent to any porch or deck. The 24 in. length allows for twice as many plants as the normal sized rail pickers. Its durable resin constructed helps it last through any weather condition. The planter is a convenient fit for any rail between 1 in. to 6 in. wide. Comes in a quality terracotta color finish.
Overall rating:
3.667 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
73%of customersrecommend this product11 of 15reviews
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
3.7 out of 5.0
5
(6)
4
(3)
3
(3)
2
(1)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
73%of customersrecommend this product11 of 15reviews
Customer reviews for 24 in. Resin Deck and Porch Rail Planter in Terracotta for Horizontal Rails
Review 1 for 24 in. Resin Deck and Porch Rail Planter in Terracotta for Horizontal Rails
from Ashford,CT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Incorrect description, only buy if rails are 4" or under

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I hate to give a bad review to something that was made in America. The product itself seems sturdy & it's nice looking, but the product description specifically says that it fits deck rails up to 6 inches. As you can see from my photos, the opening is exactly 4 inches. It will only work/fit on top of the rails if your deck rails are 4 inches or less. My deck rails are 5 inches, so sadly this did not fit.
Cons: wrong size listed in product description
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 24 in. Resin Deck and Porch Rail Planter in Terracotta for Horizontal Rails
from NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Nice~Roomy~Adjustable

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a very nice porch rail planter. It looks beautiful and will fit quite a few different sizes of porch rails. Mine is probably the widest (5.5 inches) and the planter grips the rail perfectly. So I would say the planter will fit 5 and a half inches and smaller rails. It also comes with some adjustable grips, as I have shown in the picture.
I'm sorry that it is the middle of a very cold winter so I don't have any pretty plants to show you but I have included some pictures of the planter on the porch for you.
It has some drainage holes if you prefer to put dirt and plant directly inside, or you could set a few pots inside. It's versatile in many ways. It seems durable and well made and the color is very vibrant. Also, it is quite large and very roomy inside. My flowers are going to love it! I would recommend highly!
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Sharp, Stylish, Great Quality, Good Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 24 in. Resin Deck and Porch Rail Planter in Terracotta for Horizontal Rails
from Southern NH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth the extra money

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I had purchased some cheaper ones from two different garden centers but returned them for a number of reasons. I thought these were a little expensive and originally hid the purchase from my wife even. In the long run, they are well worth the money and I'm glad I bought them. We live in a condo development that does not allow anything attached to our deck. I bought 6 of these to line two sides of the deck and it has created a beautiful visual barrier from the neighbors that does not take up any floor space. The only drawback was removing the sticker from the planter. We had to try a few different cleaners to remove them.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Strong, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 24 in. Resin Deck and Porch Rail Planter in Terracotta for Horizontal Rails
from Northern Bergen County NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Durable Horizontal mount planter

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I have owned this planter for about 6 months. It is made of durable resin in a pleasant terra cotta shade that would be attractive on any deck. That said, it did not come with any instructions and will be very heavy when filled with dirt so it is important to secure it properly. I did not have a lot of success with the clip pieces provided. I have decided to place it on the ground with my herbs planted inside. While that is not the concept of this product, I was leery of having it tip over. Depending on the type of rail you might have, you may have more success. This planter is reasonably priced and so I would suggest you try it out in your situation as it is an attractive item.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Strong, Stylish, Good Shape
Cons: installation may be problematic depending on rail, instructions not provided
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 24 in. Resin Deck and Porch Rail Planter in Terracotta for Horizontal Rails
from New Jersey
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Railing planters

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just what I was looking for. Works great. Was able to increase my herb garden. Just wish it was available in store.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 24 in. Resin Deck and Porch Rail Planter in Terracotta for Horizontal Rails
from Bremerton, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great idea!

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It is a really great product, I saw one on my neighbor's front porch and loved how it makes her house look!
It can be painted to match your house.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 24 in. Resin Deck and Porch Rail Planter in Terracotta for Horizontal Rails
from NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Accent to Decks

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
What a great accent to decks and balconies, ideal for planting flowers, vegetables or herbs. Easy to install, just fits over the deck railing. This style works with 24 inch railing, be sure to measure before heading to the store. The fasteners stabilize and secure the planter to the railing once it is filled. Fasteners are easy to install and no tools required, just snap into grooves on the bottom. The weather has turned cold and it is easy to remove and bring inside until it turns warmer. I look forward to planting various flowers all spring and summer.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 24 in. Resin Deck and Porch Rail Planter in Terracotta for Horizontal Rails

quality good, not sure I like the style

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product too big too sit on my rail-very high & overwhelming to fill attractively
Pros: Great Quality
Cons: style not attractive
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 24 in. Resin Deck and Porch Rail Planter in Terracotta for Horizontal Rails
from Indiana
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Will not fit 5.5" rails.

PostedJune 26, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These planters will not fit railings that are 5.5" wide. The product description claims that it will fit railings up to 6" wide. This is not correct. I will have to return these, (4). Good quality if your rails are narrower.
Cons: will not fit 5.5" rails
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 24 in. Resin Deck and Porch Rail Planter in Terracotta for Horizontal Rails
from Hurricane WV
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

WRONG DESCRIPTION - PAY ATTENTION TO REVIEWS!!!!!!

PostedJune 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My husband and I now have a new policy - we will ALWAYS check out and pay attention to reviews on products ordered through the mail. I ordered 6 of these to use around my deck but they did not fit. Our deck railings are about 5 1/2 inches wide. The description said these fit up to 6 inches - so I thought "great!" and ordered 6 of them. They would probably fit 3 1/2 inch deck railings. So if you used standard wood railings - don't buy these!! Note to Home Depot - fix the description!!!!
Cons: wrong description, do not fit standard deck railings
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 24 in. Resin Deck and Porch Rail Planter in Terracotta for Horizontal Rails
from Vancouver Wa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love these - flowers on the upstairs patio

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These come ready to use. Bought 2 to try - I'll be buying more for herbs - the flowers on my upstairs patio look great - and it the winter I'll be able to bring them inside so they won't die.
Pros: Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 24 in. Resin Deck and Porch Rail Planter in Terracotta for Horizontal Rails
from Tumwater, Washington
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Planter for horizontal rails

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product fit my rail out front perfectly. Looks great.
Pros: Durable, Stylish, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 24 in. Resin Deck and Porch Rail Planter in Terracotta for Horizontal Rails
from western New York
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bigger than expected

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This planter was much larger than I realized, but didn't totally overwhelm my porch railing as I expected. It did not come with instructions, so I got a bit confused what to do with the size adjusters included. Very heavy when filled with soil and plants.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 24 in. Resin Deck and Porch Rail Planter in Terracotta for Horizontal Rails
from Atlanta, GA

Doesn't fit 2 by 6 rail

PostedJune 12, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product description is wrong. It fits only 2 by 4 inch rail. I didn't read the review of others that mentioned the size. I really like it , very good quality, but can't use it.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Strong, Stylish, Great Quality, Good Shape
Cons: not the right size
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 24 in. Resin Deck and Porch Rail Planter in Terracotta for Horizontal Rails
from North Adams, MA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great features for the pot can fit on virtually any fence.

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I love the ease of using the pots and the stability as it sits on the fence. Neighbors have admired the flowers and it makes a wonderful feature on our deck.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Strong, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.