728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 24 in. Terra Cotta Resin Deck and Porch Rail Planter for Horizontal Rails

24 in. Terra Cotta Resin Deck and Porch Rail Planter for Horizontal Rails

Emsco's Double Rail Picker is a beautiful accent to any porch or deck. The 24 in. length allows for twice as many plants as the normal sized rail pickers. Its durable resin constructed helps it last through any weather condition. The planter is a convenient fit for any rail between 1 in. to 4 in. wide. Comes in a quality terracotta color finish.
Overall rating:
3.636 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(55 reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product42 of 54reviews
Rating Breakdown 55 reviews
3.6 out of 5
5
(26)
4
(8)
3
(4)
2
(9)
1
(8)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
78%of customersrecommend this product42 of 54reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for 24 in. Terra Cotta Resin Deck and Porch Rail Planter for Horizontal Rails
Review 1 for 24 in. Terra Cotta Resin Deck and Porch Rail Planter for Horizontal Rails
from Ashford,CT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Incorrect description, only buy if rails are 4" or under

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I hate to give a bad review to something that was made in America. The product itself seems sturdy & it's nice looking, but the product description specifically says that it fits deck rails up to 6 inches. As you can see from my photos, the opening is exactly 4 inches. It will only work/fit on top of the rails if your deck rails are 4 inches or less. My deck rails are 5 inches, so sadly this did not fit.
Cons: wrong size listed in product description
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 24 in. Terra Cotta Resin Deck and Porch Rail Planter for Horizontal Rails
from NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Nice~Roomy~Adjustable

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a very nice porch rail planter. It looks beautiful and will fit quite a few different sizes of porch rails. Mine is probably the widest (5.5 inches) and the planter grips the rail perfectly. So I would say the planter will fit 5 and a half inches and smaller rails. It also comes with some adjustable grips, as I have shown in the picture.
I'm sorry that it is the middle of a very cold winter so I don't have any pretty plants to show you but I have included some pictures of the planter on the porch for you.
It has some drainage holes if you prefer to put dirt and plant directly inside, or you could set a few pots inside. It's versatile in many ways. It seems durable and well made and the color is very vibrant. Also, it is quite large and very roomy inside. My flowers are going to love it! I would recommend highly!
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Sharp, Stylish, Great Quality, Good Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 24 in. Terra Cotta Resin Deck and Porch Rail Planter for Horizontal Rails
from San Antonio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Window boxes

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
They fit on my balcony rail perfectly and look great.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Strong, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 24 in. Terra Cotta Resin Deck and Porch Rail Planter for Horizontal Rails
from Champaign, IL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very nice deck rail planter boxes.

PostedJuly 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought two deck rail planter boxes. Very reasonable price and they look very nice full of flowers. They fit perfectly and did not require any adjustment.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 24 in. Terra Cotta Resin Deck and Porch Rail Planter for Horizontal Rails
from Rochester, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Just what I was looking for.

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These planters were just what I wanted for my deck. They do however hold a lot of potting soil so maybe next summer I would put in some Styrofoam fillers. Reasonable price compared to others I saw online and free shipping because I purchased 3. I was glad to see that they had fasteners to keep them on the deck.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Easy to Install, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 24 in. Terra Cotta Resin Deck and Porch Rail Planter for Horizontal Rails
from Aiken,S.C.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very pleased with this product! I have not completed the project but I am sure it will work with what I plan to use it for.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Stylish, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 24 in. Terra Cotta Resin Deck and Porch Rail Planter for Horizontal Rails
from Painted Post , NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

As advertised

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Product matched specs - drilled a few holes in bottom as existing holes would allow water accumulation. Did not use tabs to secure box to railing (not needed), but great design for ease of use.
Am curious to see if color fades over time
Pros: Easy to Install, Strong, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 24 in. Terra Cotta Resin Deck and Porch Rail Planter for Horizontal Rails
from LBI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

pretty planters

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
We have wanted these for a long time. I'm glad we got them and they are beautiful. The only issue is the connection isn't very strong and I worry about them falling off. The anchoring mechanism seems off. Otherwise, great item.
Pros: Stylish, Good Shape, Durable, Easy to Clean
Cons: anchoring system
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 24 in. Terra Cotta Resin Deck and Porch Rail Planter for Horizontal Rails
from Easton,ct
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Hard to find planters that fit on 2x6 deck rails, these work fine, wife loves the, purchas red three, arrived fast,come with adjusters under neath for different size rails. Work great as I had 2x 2 ballisters on rails. Took off one star because they could have made some kind of lip on top edge for a little stiffing of the top rim
Otherwise excellent planters
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 24 in. Terra Cotta Resin Deck and Porch Rail Planter for Horizontal Rails
from Waterford, Michigan
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very Easy

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to put flowers in and looks great. Makes my home sooo cozy.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Stylish, Great Quality, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 24 in. Terra Cotta Resin Deck and Porch Rail Planter for Horizontal Rails
from Southern NH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth the extra money

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I had purchased some cheaper ones from two different garden centers but returned them for a number of reasons. I thought these were a little expensive and originally hid the purchase from my wife even. In the long run, they are well worth the money and I'm glad I bought them. We live in a condo development that does not allow anything attached to our deck. I bought 6 of these to line two sides of the deck and it has created a beautiful visual barrier from the neighbors that does not take up any floor space. The only drawback was removing the sticker from the planter. We had to try a few different cleaners to remove them.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Strong, Great Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 24 in. Terra Cotta Resin Deck and Porch Rail Planter for Horizontal Rails
from Red Bluff, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Everyone loves these!!

PostedMay 1, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
All the neighbors comment on these. They are already beautiful and due to the nice deep soil volume they should be great the entire season.
Pros: Durable, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 24 in. Terra Cotta Resin Deck and Porch Rail Planter for Horizontal Rails
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sorry to Have to Return

PostedMarch 19, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have to give this planter only one star because of the misrepresentation in the ad copy. My deck railing is 5.5 " wide. So if the planter would fit up to a 6" railing it should be ok, right? Nope, no way was I able to force this planter onto my railing.
I'm disappointed because the planter itself is attractive and excellent quality. It might be possible to squeeze it onto a 3.5" railing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 24 in. Terra Cotta Resin Deck and Porch Rail Planter for Horizontal Rails
from NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Accent to Decks

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
What a great accent to decks and balconies, ideal for planting flowers, vegetables or herbs. Easy to install, just fits over the deck railing. This style works with 24 inch railing, be sure to measure before heading to the store. The fasteners stabilize and secure the planter to the railing once it is filled. Fasteners are easy to install and no tools required, just snap into grooves on the bottom. The weather has turned cold and it is easy to remove and bring inside until it turns warmer. I look forward to planting various flowers all spring and summer.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 24 in. Terra Cotta Resin Deck and Porch Rail Planter for Horizontal Rails
from Bremerton, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great idea!

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It is a really great product, I saw one on my neighbor's front porch and loved how it makes her house look!
It can be painted to match your house.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 24 in. Terra Cotta Resin Deck and Porch Rail Planter for Horizontal Rails
from Hurricane WV
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

WRONG DESCRIPTION - PAY ATTENTION TO REVIEWS!!!!!!

PostedJune 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My husband and I now have a new policy - we will ALWAYS check out and pay attention to reviews on products ordered through the mail. I ordered 6 of these to use around my deck but they did not fit. Our deck railings are about 5 1/2 inches wide. The description said these fit up to 6 inches - so I thought "great!" and ordered 6 of them. They would probably fit 3 1/2 inch deck railings. So if you used standard wood railings - don't buy these!! Note to Home Depot - fix the description!!!!
Cons: wrong description, do not fit standard deck railings
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 24 in. Terra Cotta Resin Deck and Porch Rail Planter for Horizontal Rails
from New York, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Could not be re-sized tight enough

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My deck rail is three inches wide an one inch thick. Even though the product promised it could be re-sized to fit, the units could not be made to fit snuggly. Also ,ihe order came with no directions and it took several days to figure out how to use the fittings that make the tighter. But they did not b]make it tight enough. In the end I had to return the flower boxes. Too bad, because I really liked them.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
Cons: could not be made to fit
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 24 in. Terra Cotta Resin Deck and Porch Rail Planter for Horizontal Rails

Perfect for condo herb garden

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought 6 of these. I live in a condo so patio space is at a premium. These planters allowed me to plant a large variety of herbs and flowering plants, beautifying my patio and giving me access to fresh herbs without losing any patio space. The clips on the bottom of these keeps them stable. Also, once filled with soil and plants they are heavy and sit firmly on the rail.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 24 in. Terra Cotta Resin Deck and Porch Rail Planter for Horizontal Rails
from Northern Bergen County NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Durable Horizontal mount planter

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I have owned this planter for about 6 months. It is made of durable resin in a pleasant terra cotta shade that would be attractive on any deck. That said, it did not come with any instructions and will be very heavy when filled with dirt so it is important to secure it properly. I did not have a lot of success with the clip pieces provided. I have decided to place it on the ground with my herbs planted inside. While that is not the concept of this product, I was leery of having it tip over. Depending on the type of rail you might have, you may have more success. This planter is reasonably priced and so I would suggest you try it out in your situation as it is an attractive item.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Strong, Stylish, Good Shape
Cons: installation may be problematic depending on rail, instructions not provided
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 24 in. Terra Cotta Resin Deck and Porch Rail Planter for Horizontal Rails

quality good, not sure I like the style

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product too big too sit on my rail-very high & overwhelming to fill attractively
Pros: Great Quality
Cons: style not attractive
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>