728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Bath Ventilation Fans or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 90 CFM Ceiling Bluetooth Speaker Bath Fan

90 CFM Ceiling Bluetooth Speaker Bath Fan

Homewerks Worldwide ventilation fan with an integrated Bluetooth-enabled speaker. Perfect for the Tech-savvy homeowner with a desire to stream audio from their Smartphone or tablets into their bathroom. Since the Bluetooth speaker is integrated directly into the bath fan wiring there is no need to re-charge the speaker.
Overall rating:
3.929 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product12 of 13reviews
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(5)
4
(6)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product12 of 13reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for 90 CFM Ceiling Bluetooth Speaker Bath Fan
Review 1 for 90 CFM Ceiling Bluetooth Speaker Bath Fan
from Texas, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Super easy!

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Installing this fan was a breeze. The box is oversized, so I only had to widen the existing hole as opposed to trying to sheetrock and spackle a ceiling to accommodate for a smaller hole or another shape. The vent outlet is slightly larger, so you may need to buy an adapter or a larger vent tube to attach to it. Hooking up the electrical was incredibly easy as this comes with wire adapters that allow you to just push in the old wires. The operation is really simple too, flip the switch once and it's just the bluetooth. Flip it again and it's bluetooth and fan. Pairing was simple, no password. The sound quality isn't HiFi, but it's not bad for a speaker built into a bathroom fan. We are a very musical family, so this fan is loads of fun for us. Great for folks that like to sing in the shower!
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great
Cons: speaker is only average quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 90 CFM Ceiling Bluetooth Speaker Bath Fan
from Georgetown, SC
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great functionality; minor installation issues

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I replaced a smaller but much noisier fan; at 1.5 Sones this fan is one of the quieter models available...you'll still hear it when it's on but doesn't interfere with music playback. The option to only have the speaker on is great if you're simply getting ready and don't need to vent the room. Speaker quality is above average with fairly good replication of sound; no tinny quality. It's better than your typical shower stereo (or shower head speaker). It is easy to pair with your streaming device although it would be nice to auto-pair at subsequent uses. The speaker is hardwired so it requires no batteries or recharging (big plus!).
As far as installation, you'll more than likely need to expand the hole in the drywall which is easy enough. My limitation was that the current fan was flush with the joist on one side while the Bluetooth fan needed a little over an inch offset to accommodate the way the suspension brackets are manufactured...so I had to shift drywall opening over and do some repair on the other side at the end of installation. Check out the installation guide available on the product page.
The fan itself was straightforward to install. The difficulty on my end was accessing the attic side across an unfinished space with blown in insulation. Once I had created a sturdy work space across the joists it wasn't too bad but took longer than I would have liked. As seems typical with almost everything, the included screws are low quality and easily stripped using a manual driver. You may want to use own own hardware or get some stronger screws/nails. I ended up nailing in the support brackets with a 12V auto hammer that made it a snap (almost crucial for the support near the vent exhaust). If you have a second person on the bathroom side to help mount the fan flush with the drywall you'll save another headache (I used my pal duct tape).
All in all it's a great item and is used multiple times a day. I would definitely consider buying more to replace fans in other rooms but I'll have to scope out the attic a little more on a cool day.
5 stars for function
4 for limitations on installation positions and no temporary flush mount brackets
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: needs variable options for mounting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 90 CFM Ceiling Bluetooth Speaker Bath Fan
from NY
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Okay sound quality

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a great idea, The entire unit installs very easy and had clear instructions. The sound quality once hooked up is okay. The bluetooth linking is a bit annoying.
Also the overall diameter of the fan grill is pretty big com paired to the one it replaced.
The exhaust fan is very quite yet powerful so that is a big plus.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, High Quality, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 90 CFM Ceiling Bluetooth Speaker Bath Fan
from Minnesota, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very nice!!

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed this fan in about an hour, and could have done it faster had I not had a smaller fan installed before. This fan has a 4in outlet, and my old fan was only about 2 3/4-3in. , so I had to redo the vent tube, and the screws to attach the mounts that were supplied were too short to reach through the brackets and attach to the unit itself. As for the functions of the fan, it works great. Quiet fan and the speaker works better than I would have imagined. There isn't a lot of bass, but its very clear. The other thing people may want to know is that the wall switch turns on the speaker, with a confirmation tone after a couple seconds, to turn on the fan you need to turn the switch on/off/on again within 2 seconds.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 90 CFM Ceiling Bluetooth Speaker Bath Fan
from Miami, FL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quiet fan, decent sound quality

PostedSeptember 3, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a long one, so bear with me.
Installation was OK. I did run into a few issues. Before dragging the whole assembly into the attic, I tried sliding on the brackets and attaching the screws that secure them in place. Unfortunately the screws provided for this are way too short. Of the 3 screws provided for this, the third one was even shorter than the other two! I pressed down real hard and got 2 of them to grab just enough to hold the brackets in place, but still allow them to move a bit. More on this later. I crawled into the attic and took a look at the fan that was currently installed. Much to my dismay, the way the trusses are laid out meant that I would need to frame in the area in order to mount this new fan. In order to line up the new fan's outlet with the existing vent pipe meant that the brackets would be parallel with the trusses. After yanking out the old fan and enlarging the hole, I added two 2x4s perpendicular to the trusses. This wouldn't have been necessary if the manufacturer had given users the option to install the mount brackets on the other 2 sides of the box. Moving on...
Before securing the fan, you want someone underneath to make sure its flush with the ceiling, otherwise the grille won't fit right. Would be great if the box had tabs or something to hold the unit at the correct depth (the fan I removed had this). After securing the brackets to the 2x4s, I had a tough time tighting the undersized screws. My trusses were at about 23" centers and the fan wasn't exactly centered between them, giving me about 4" of room on one side to work with. Luckily I had attached the brackets beforehand, otherwise I don't think I would have been able to get the tiny screws in. Wingnut screws would've been better than the undersized round head Philips screws.
After securing the enclosure in place, it was time to attach it to the vent pipe. Given the orientation of the unit, the outlet's distance from the truss, and the position of the vent pipe, I ended up with a pretty sharp bend upwards right at the outlet. A 2 to 3 foot horizontal run is recommended before any upward bends. The builder dropped the ball there. At least they used a 4" pipe instead of a smaller diameter one.
With the unit secured and the vent pipe installed, I wired it up. Only 3 wires and they were all terminated with connectors that you insert a stripped wire into. I prefer wirenuts, but the wires felt secure, so I left everything as is.
Operating the unit is easy enough. Flip the switch on to enable the speaker. Flip it off and on twice to turn on the fan and speaker. From a usability standpoint this seems backwards to me. First flip of the switch should turn on the fan and speaker, doing it twice should turn on the speaker only. Why? Well the fan will get more use than only using the speaker, so naturally it should require less steps to turn on. Its just an extra flip of the switch though, so its not the end of the world.
Pairing was super easy - no passcode required. Sound quality is pretty good given the size of the single driver. Surely beats using your phone or tablet's built in speaker to blast music in the bathroom. Volume level is more than enough to overcome the sound of the shower. Just don't crank it up too loud or you'll get some distortion (this is noted in the instructions). The fan itself is very quiet, so you can barely hear it when you have music on. Its MUCH quieter than the smaller fan I had in there and, according to the specs, it moves almost double the air. My wife likes how the new vent cover looks. I think it looks good, my only gripe is that you can see the metal enclosure through the holes if you look straight up.
All that being said, I highly recommend this bath fan if you like to listen to music while in the bathroom.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Nice Design
Cons: orientation of brackets, no tabs to hold at right depth during installation, two flicks of the switch to turn on fan
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 90 CFM Ceiling Bluetooth Speaker Bath Fan

great fan and bluetooth option rocks

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The fan is great and super quite. The speaker in this fan sounds really good for such a small speaker. 10 out of 10 times when my teenage daughter is jamming I have to tell her to turn it down ( the speaker is that loud). My only 2 complaints the brackets for mounting the fan box between the rafters are lacking and I think the cover should be a little smaller. If your worried about ceiling space or a tight fit. The cover is pretty large.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 90 CFM Ceiling Bluetooth Speaker Bath Fan
from Delaware, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great concept, low quality, so so speaker

PostedMay 7, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I am a contractor and this is the second one that I have installed. Installation is the same as any other replacement ceiling exhaust fan.
The plastic cover leaves a lot to be desired. I have painted the white cover to help it from yellowing as did the previous unit installed 8 months prior.
The sound quality is muffled a little by the fan noise and vibration.
Pricing was much better at Home Depot than online. Music is better to listen to than a fan humming!
Pros: great concept
Cons: discoloration
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 90 CFM Ceiling Bluetooth Speaker Bath Fan
from Spring, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This thing blows

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
With a lot of force. I up graded me my 50 cfm bath fan with this 90, you can really tell the difference . Very quite operation with no banging or clanking like cheeper models. The blue tooth speaker is a nice touch I like to use it when taking showers. Way better than a lot of those blue tooth speakers on the market that have to be recharged. Buy this you'll love it. Just a heads up, the cover is twice the size of my old one. It was no problem for me, just a heads up if your fans close to a wall or light. I included a picture.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 90 CFM Ceiling Bluetooth Speaker Bath Fan
from TN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GREAT IDEA, BAD EXECUTION

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This bath fan makes all the sense in the world. Problem is when you turn up your music the fan rattles/vibrates. When you have your music on a normal level, you only hear the fan motor. Great idea, Im sure someone will do better on Generation II.
Great idea, pleased to find this at HD.
Ill be returning this unit and waiting on a new/improved model.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 90 CFM Ceiling Bluetooth Speaker Bath Fan
from Cheltenham, PA, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Innovative Product

PostedOctober 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We replaced our bath fan with this one because of its Bluetooth capability. Every morning, my husband's playlist is transmitted to the bathroom. Not only was it fairly easy to install and looks great, but the fan is very quiet and the speaker quality is very high. This addition to our bathroom has made getting ready every morning a lot more fun. We've showed several house guests how to use it and they all love it!
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 90 CFM Ceiling Bluetooth Speaker Bath Fan
from Kirksville Mo
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product Quiet with Great Sound.

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Picked this up at HD on clearance for $66. 100% best purchase for my bathroom remodel. Easy install but most bath fans are. What i wasn't sure of was going to be the sound quality and volume, both of these are Great. I can put the music on and listen to it throughout most of my house without any distortion. The fans quiet and doesn't make any rattling or clunking noise. Bluetooth was quick and easy to connect, now i just leave an old phone in a drawer in bathroom that i can hook up anytime and stream my slacker radio stations. Would certainly recommend this product for sure.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 90 CFM Ceiling Bluetooth Speaker Bath Fan
from NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Sounds Great !!!

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I’ve had a radio in my bathroom for years, to listen to the game, music, etc…. With all the moisture they don’t last too long. This is a great product that doesn’t take up any additional counter space and I don’t have to worry about buying new radios. I previously had a fan in the bathroom so installation was quick and easy, taking less than an hour. All I had to do was turn off the fan line in the breaker box. Unscrew the old fan, screw in the new, rewire and done. A novice could do this project easily.
Now whenever I use the bathroom, I just go to my phone, turn on the Bluetooth and I have music or the game….. It has great sound quality as well and is more than loud enough to hear. The unit requires no maintenance as well. This is an incredible idea…. The fan is 90 CFM, which is a good size and removes all the moisture and odors from the bathroom quickly. It’s a well built, quality product that’s easy to install and looks like it will last for years.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 90 CFM Ceiling Bluetooth Speaker Bath Fan
from Quincy, IL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It works great and installed very easy

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wouls recommend this to anyone it is great quiet and the built in speaker sounds way better then I thought it would
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 90 CFM Ceiling Bluetooth Speaker Bath Fan
from Florida, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great product

PostedOctober 16, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I loved the fact that your able to stream music ( via blue tooth) while in the shower. Installation was not too difficult. I only gave a 4 star rating because I believe the fan is a little loud. Over all I very happy with the Product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.