728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip

Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip

The Smart Button receives the signal to open the door from the Key Chain Remote. The Smart Button can be installed next to your existing wall button or replace it. The Smart Button may also be installed on the GDO directly. Once a Smart Button is installed it can receive a signal from any Defiant Remote.
Overall rating:
3.967 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(91 reviews) 91
Open Ratings Snapshot
73%of customersrecommend this product64 of 88reviews
Rating Breakdown 91 reviews
4.0 out of 5
5
(56)
4
(11)
3
(3)
2
(7)
1
(14)
Appearance 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Quality 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
73%of customersrecommend this product64 of 88reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
Review 1 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Chicago South Suburbs
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Buy!

PostedJuly 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My 35 year-old Sears opener mechanism still works but the remote has finally died. This was the perfect replacement. While the self-perforating wire clip didn't work, it was simple to strip the wires and connect to the push button terminals on the opener mechanism. Programming was simple. If there was any "con", it's that it comes with a single fob. If that's an issue, buy a second one for the fob only. At $20 you can't beat the price. The manufacturer warns that you may need a 12 volt transformer for older units. My opener is definitely an "older" unit and the push button terminals say '24 volts' but I didn't need the 12 volt transformer.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Work great, easy install, awesome price.

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
My new house had an ancient Sears (not Craftsman, SEARS! Late 70s, by the looks) garage door opener with no remote, but it still worked fine, and I didn't want to replace it. After a litle research, found out that the old Sears unit didn't even have the old DIP switches, which most universal remotes have to communicate with older units.. Went to my local store and the knowledgeable dude pointed me toward this baby. Installs in seconds (assuming the wires to your existing open/close push button in your garage are accessible) and works great. Both receiver and remote transmitter are small and look nice. Each remote transmitter can be programmed to open three separate doors. At $20, you can't go wrong. Range is great, it works over 100 ft away at the base of my driveway. I am going back to get a second one for the other garage bay where my wife parks. That one already had a remote, but this way we both can have a remote to open BOTH doors, and we can keep our old one as a spare.
Pros: Great Value, Functional, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Rowlett, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Replacement Remote - Fast & Easy Install!!!

PostedJune 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My new lease had a garage door opener, but didn't have a remote. The realty company wouldn't provide one either, they said people never returned them.... Which is what I thought the deposit was for!!! I researched remotes but didn't want to spend a fortune on one, I didn't know if I would ever have a Genie Garage Door Opener again if I moved. I found this one and for $20!! I kept putting off the install thinking it would be difficult, I had never even programmed a remote! This was literally the easiest and quickest install EVER!! Works great! I am a single female in my mid 40's and I was able to take care of this myself!
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value, Good Size & Fit
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Atlanta, GA

Worked like a charm.

PostedJuly 31, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have an older Genie Pro 88 opener. Still works great. The remotes are not out of production so if I do find one there around $100. So this fit the bill. I wired it in to the door bell button control. I also added the external power supply to ensure it received proper power. To me it was worth the $6 and figured I could return it if not needed. I added it either way. Once connected and powered it worked perfect. No issues. Also since it is new tech I can add new universal remotes a lot easier. Overall I am happy. Thx
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Cleveland, Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good purchase

PostedJuly 15, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
I have a garage door opener from 1975. Still works great although the remote finally died. Bought this product along with the charger and it works great. The only minus is I had to strip the wires to attach it to my opener and the wires are miniscule. Difficult to strip the insulation without harming the actual wire. I stripped the insulation carefully using a razor blade and then crimped solder less terminals to the wire. I know quality has become a forgotten issue with a lot of today's products but couldn't they use a little more substantial wire? Other than that, a good product.
Pros: Great Value
Cons: Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Florence Al
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Buy it !

PostedJuly 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
To add more than one remote to the base just press the learn button on the side of the base and then press any of the buttons on the remote. That will let that remote work and it will not effect the first remote that came with the unit ( both of the remotes will work on the base) This is the lowest cost GDO remote I have found, it is very good looking, and small. It is very easy to install and it is well made. I think it will work with any unit that has a wall mounted switch no mater what year your GDO was made (as it is just a remote on/off switch and not a remote for your GDO itself.
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Great Detail
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Perris, CA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Never Worked

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I tried to install it every way and none of them worked. Waste of money!
Pros: Sturdy
Cons: Quality, not functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Abilene, Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great replacement garage door opener

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Working on rental properties I sometimes have to deal with lost or broken garage door remotes. This Defiant brand opener can replace both the wall mount button and remote opener for a very affordable $20. Installation is simple by either a vampire clip, or you can strip the Defiant wires and attach it directly to the existing opener wires as a supplement or complete replacement. I've used several of these, and they are a great and simple replacement for any of the openers that I've had to work on. Wall mount control is a simple single button for up/down use, but the remote has 3 programmable buttons that can control other functions, same as the factory original. - GREAT PRODUCT, recommended!
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Lots of Features, Good Size & Fit
Cons: outside of being a special order it's perfect
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Buffalo, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not recommended for an "older" opener...

PostedSeptember 14, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
In theory, this is a great project that requires little, to no expertise to install. You need not do any wiring, nor even really even understand what it is that you're doing. While billed as an "Easy 1-2-3" install, unless you have the perfect conditions, it is not.
I have two major issues with this product, first is the easy install clip is a one-shot deal. You get one chance at using it. Should the position of the remote receiver not be right on your first attempt, the internal connectors of the easy-install collar will be bent and unusable. Therefore, you have to cut the collar off, and hardwire it in. Normally this might be a minor deal, but given my second issue, it can be a major pain.
Issue two is that, only in the internal instructions will you find the disclaimer that the receiver unit may not get enough power from your garage door opener to function. In that case, you have to go back and buy a separate 12-V power supply. This, of course, is not "knowable" until after you get hope and open up the unit. In fact, unless you are a person that will read installation instruction start to finish, you won't learn this nugget until you get to the troubleshooting portion of the instructions.
Put the two things together and you have the fantastic scenario where you get the collar installed in a nice convenient location, like right next to the hardwired door-opening button (as illustrated on the instructions), but not enough power to use it, but the unit is too far from a plug for the hypothetical power supply to reach. At this point, you have two options. Go back to HD, buy the power supply, then go back home, move the receiver closer to the wall plug (which now will have one outlet permanently occupied) and hardwire it in, in the hopes that it will, in fact, work. OR, just return the dang thing and go with a different option. I guess I understand why so many of the packages on display had been previously opened...
Cons: not functional, installation
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Carrollton, Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Barely Okay

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product was not as easy to install as the video displays. It is very rare that the cords connecting the opener to the wall will be exposed. Rather, they are likely covered in the wall, so the easy to install video is not so easy. Also, the alternative installation shown in the video is likely not an option either. It shows installation with two wires coming from the ceiling unit; whereas, I had 4 cords coming from the ceiling unit. I had to install by pulling the cords from the wall and splicing. It took days to figure this out and the technical support department took days to call me back and really didn't know how to fix the problem. I discovered the fix on my own. After installed, I have to be right at the garage and pointing the remote to the garage several times before it will go up. This has everything to do with the small antenna that comes with this product, thereby affecting the range of the remote. I would recommend spending more money on a better functioning product.
Cons: not functional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Idaho
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good buy. Easy to Install

PostedSeptember 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This was really a good buy. The inside Smart Button Receiver installed quickly and easily. This new Defiant remote worked on the first try. It can either be put on your keychain or use the holster & visor clip. It can also be set up with a password, but we didn't feel a need for that. We have an older Craftsman garage door and our old remotes stopped working two months ago & couldn't be replaced. The inside door opener still worked so we had to close the door from inside then go out the front door to our car and the other way when we came back. The short installation video on the website here was helpful but instructions came with it also. It will be so nice to have a working remote again.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Good Size & Fit
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Great Replacemnt For Lost Remote

PostedJanuary 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The installation was super easy. I got this to replace our lost remotes and works perfectly. My only complaint is which it came with 2 remotes.
Pros: Functional, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Lewisville Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Garge door opener transmitter

PostedJune 24, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Nothing about the transmitter would work; neither the transmitter or receiver. A waste of money and time trying to get it to work.
Cons: not functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Denver, CO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Money saver!

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have an old '70's SEARS "Digital Control" garage door opener that still works great. Unfortunately, the remote finally kicked the bucket. With no direct replacement available, I tried a Chamberlain 2-Button Universal Compatible Garage Door Opener Remote because it has DIP switches like my old remote. Unfortunately, it didn't work with my ancient GDO. Then I saw this and figured I'd give it a shot.
EASY 1 step installation! Less 1 minute to install and program. This product saved me from shelling out a lot of money. I was afraid I would have to replace the entire GDO unit. The wife is thrilled too. My only complaint is that it doesn't have a 2nd remote.
Pros: Great Value, Easy to Install
Cons: only 1 remote
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Winchester, VA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Incorrect product

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My garage door is prior to 1993. The opener purchased did not mention until received that it would not work for doors prior to 1993. I returned the remote.
Cons: not functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Madison, WI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't waste your money on this device.

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The packaging was hard to open and the product is cheaply made. My attempts to install the device resulted in a failure of my garage door opener to function at all. I had to remove the device to allow the push-button door activators to work. After an hour of trying to make this device work, I gave up. My advice is not to purchase this product.
Pros: good idea
Cons: not functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Bend
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product for the price

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I read the directions to my husband while he attached this to the motor box to our existing garage opener. it took all of about 7 mins. I couldn't have asked for a better solution to our problem. I have the original opener (13 years old) in my car, and my husband really needed one for his new truck so this was perfect.
Pros: Functional, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip

Works, but only from up close

PostedDecember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I could not get the "easy clip" to work, so I had to cut the wires and attach. No matter what I try, I have to drive right up to the garage door to get it to open. I will probably buy something else.
Pros: Great Value, Good Size & Fit
Cons: not functional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from SF
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great inside garage!

PostedJanuary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This works great if you are inside the garage! If you are outside in your car forget about it! My install worked fine till I was out in my car. I have a Prius which has a small hood I have to drive till I almost touch the door of the garage to make it work if I'm lucky. I mounted it with direct line of sight of a the driver seat it can't be more that 15'. But it doesn't work through the garage door. waste of money I'm looking for something else.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: not functional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Huntsville, AL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

After a few months...

PostedJanuary 8, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product is very easy to install, very tiny and unobtrusive, but lacks a major piece... functionality. This will work great for a few months. After approximately 3 months, the device is intermittent. At first, I blamed the batteries so I replaced them. It seemed to work fine for 2 weeks, when it started going south again. Again, blaming the batteries, I took my frustrations to Batteries Plus, a battery supplier and retailer. As I began explaining that I had trouble with a garage door opener I installed, the lady stopped my in my tracks and said, "Is it the Defiant brand?". It turns out, this product is very common for working for a short period of time. Warning to the buyer: read the comments, but look for comments that have been placed months after the purchase... DO NOT BUY THIS!!!!!
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Fit
Cons: not functional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>