728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Garage Door Opener Remotes or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip

Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip

The Smart Button receives the signal to open the door from the Key Chain Remote. The Smart Button can be installed next to your existing wall button or replace it. The Smart Button may also be installed on the GDO directly. Once a Smart Button is installed it can receive a signal from any Defiant Remote.
Overall rating:
4.059 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(51 reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product38 of 49reviews
Rating Breakdown 51 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(34)
4
(5)
3
(1)
2
(3)
1
(8)
Appearance 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
78%of customersrecommend this product38 of 49reviews
Customer reviews for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
Review 1 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Work great, easy install, awesome price.

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My new house had an ancient Sears (not Craftsman, SEARS! Late 70s, by the looks) garage door opener with no remote, but it still worked fine, and I didn't want to replace it. After a litle research, found out that the old Sears unit didn't even have the old DIP switches, which most universal remotes have to communicate with older units.. Went to my local store and the knowledgeable dude pointed me toward this baby. Installs in seconds (assuming the wires to your existing open/close push button in your garage are accessible) and works great. Both receiver and remote transmitter are small and look nice. Each remote transmitter can be programmed to open three separate doors. At $20, you can't go wrong. Range is great, it works over 100 ft away at the base of my driveway. I am going back to get a second one for the other garage bay where my wife parks. That one already had a remote, but this way we both can have a remote to open BOTH doors, and we can keep our old one as a spare.
Pros: Great Value, Functional, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Rowlett, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Replacement Remote - Fast & Easy Install!!!

PostedJune 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My new lease had a garage door opener, but didn't have a remote. The realty company wouldn't provide one either, they said people never returned them.... Which is what I thought the deposit was for!!! I researched remotes but didn't want to spend a fortune on one, I didn't know if I would ever have a Genie Garage Door Opener again if I moved. I found this one and for $20!! I kept putting off the install thinking it would be difficult, I had never even programmed a remote! This was literally the easiest and quickest install EVER!! Works great! I am a single female in my mid 40's and I was able to take care of this myself!
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value, Good Size & Fit
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Buffalo, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not recommended for an "older" opener...

PostedSeptember 14, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
In theory, this is a great project that requires little, to no expertise to install. You need not do any wiring, nor even really even understand what it is that you're doing. While billed as an "Easy 1-2-3" install, unless you have the perfect conditions, it is not.
I have two major issues with this product, first is the easy install clip is a one-shot deal. You get one chance at using it. Should the position of the remote receiver not be right on your first attempt, the internal connectors of the easy-install collar will be bent and unusable. Therefore, you have to cut the collar off, and hardwire it in. Normally this might be a minor deal, but given my second issue, it can be a major pain.
Issue two is that, only in the internal instructions will you find the disclaimer that the receiver unit may not get enough power from your garage door opener to function. In that case, you have to go back and buy a separate 12-V power supply. This, of course, is not "knowable" until after you get hope and open up the unit. In fact, unless you are a person that will read installation instruction start to finish, you won't learn this nugget until you get to the troubleshooting portion of the instructions.
Put the two things together and you have the fantastic scenario where you get the collar installed in a nice convenient location, like right next to the hardwired door-opening button (as illustrated on the instructions), but not enough power to use it, but the unit is too far from a plug for the hypothetical power supply to reach. At this point, you have two options. Go back to HD, buy the power supply, then go back home, move the receiver closer to the wall plug (which now will have one outlet permanently occupied) and hardwire it in, in the hopes that it will, in fact, work. OR, just return the dang thing and go with a different option. I guess I understand why so many of the packages on display had been previously opened...
Cons: not functional, installation
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Idaho
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good buy. Easy to Install

PostedSeptember 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was really a good buy. The inside Smart Button Receiver installed quickly and easily. This new Defiant remote worked on the first try. It can either be put on your keychain or use the holster & visor clip. It can also be set up with a password, but we didn't feel a need for that. We have an older Craftsman garage door and our old remotes stopped working two months ago & couldn't be replaced. The inside door opener still worked so we had to close the door from inside then go out the front door to our car and the other way when we came back. The short installation video on the website here was helpful but instructions came with it also. It will be so nice to have a working remote again.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Good Size & Fit
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Denver, CO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Money saver!

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have an old '70's SEARS "Digital Control" garage door opener that still works great. Unfortunately, the remote finally kicked the bucket. With no direct replacement available, I tried a Chamberlain 2-Button Universal Compatible Garage Door Opener Remote because it has DIP switches like my old remote. Unfortunately, it didn't work with my ancient GDO. Then I saw this and figured I'd give it a shot.
EASY 1 step installation! Less 1 minute to install and program. This product saved me from shelling out a lot of money. I was afraid I would have to replace the entire GDO unit. The wife is thrilled too. My only complaint is that it doesn't have a 2nd remote.
Pros: Great Value, Easy to Install
Cons: only 1 remote
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from ga
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

garage door opener

PostedNovember 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
can't get it to sync and work. limited instruction for problem solving
Cons: not functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great product

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Keeping the remote on my key chain is insurance from having it stolen from your car. Its great for those who own a motorcycle. Worth every penny.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value, Good Size & Fit
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Salem, MA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The ease of install is incredible!

PostedJune 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I really love this product, we are selling our house and the new owners wanted a remote control which we lost lonftime ago, I bought this at HD and installed in less than 7 mins flat!!
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Well Made
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Manassas,VA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great remote replacement

PostedOctober 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Overall great product. I have a craftsman garage door without a remote. Installed product in less than 10 min and now I have a remote that I use for my motorcycle. Had issues with the crimping tool that they provided, but worked around it and have a functional working product that I can open with a remote control vice not being able to open.
Pros: Great Value, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from utah
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

great buy

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
easy installation. did require adjustment on the antenna so the door would open from outside when down.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value
Cons: Size
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from SF Bay Area
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works, but doesn't work with homelink

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Our Genie RF receiver stopped working. The Genie has a 4 conductor wire going from the opener to the button by the door, so this wasn't an easy clip/crimp on. However, we have a remote key operated switch wired to the outside, and that's where I crimped the receiver to. The unit itself works great, with the exception that it DOES NOT WORK with Homelink, which means that we would be forced to buy several more of these units (remote is not available separately?). Have a Genie GIRUD-1T on order. If it isn't too much more complicated, it may wind up being cheaper in the end as many of the cars that use this garage have homelink built in.
Pros: Great Value, Functional, Easy to Install
Cons: does not work with homelink
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Plymouth, MI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Key chain garage door opner universal

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The remote is slick and compact. It requires a little TLC. The controlled distance is not great. It only works very close to the garage door. Also, it may not compactable with my Town & Country Mini Van home link system.
Pros: Beautiful Appearance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip

Exceeded expectations

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a very old Craftsman garage door opener that no longer has parts or accessories available. I did a lot of research with the other garage door manufacturers and only found one option for adding a remote which was way out of my price range. I came across this product while at HD and was surprised by its claims of being universal as well as easy installation. After getting the item home and installed in about 5min per the instructions my ancient opener was brought into modern times. I use the remote on a daily basis and it has been flawless for the last month or so since I purchased it. If you have an old opener and want to add a remote I highly recommend that you try out this item.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value, Good Size & Fit
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip

Quick and easy

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Was super easy to install, just clamp on the wire and sync the opener and you're good to go. Way easy.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip

Works Great!

PostedOctober 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used it to replace my old Chamberlain whisper drive remote and control panel.
Easy to install, and works like a charm!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from San Antonio, TX.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good buy.

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this today, to replace the remotes on my 95' Marantec from Overhead Door in San Antonio,TX. It seemed to easy. When you have suffer a stroke you tend to mess up where you used to do good. So I slowed down. Heck, it was true and preformed as it says it will. Thank you Home Depot.
Pros: Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Beautiful Appearance, Easy to Install
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Kansas City, MO
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy install

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This worked all I had to do was clamp the clip to the remote wires. Press the learning button on the button and sync the remote. Whole process took 10 min. Bought two and both remotes work great.
I would recommend this product to others. You get a transmitter and remote for $20.
Pros: Great Value, Easy to Install
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Nice product just didn't work for me

PostedSeptember 25, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I have a very old garage door opener and this did not work on my Stanley. The product is easy to install and is a good value. Just doean't work with all garage door openers.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: not functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Compact and looks great

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
You don't have to but I changed out my garage wall button that came with the garage door opener I already had installed. The opener I have came with our house and is called Master Built and I could not find an outlet to buy a replacement remote. We have one remote that works but one died hence the need for another.. The original remote still works with this Defiant Key Chain remote deal.
Once I installed their button (smart button) in place of my existing button, the Defiant remote was easy to get operating. It works great. I just could not find out how much these will be after this Special Buy deal?
I may get another one before they go off special. One thing to think about is the package is hard to open but other than that I think this is a great buy. Thank you Home Depot!!!
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Lots of Features, Good Size & Fit
Cons: package is hard to open need a knife or snip
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Atlanta, GA
Age Range:35 to 44
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works with Overhead Door 'Touch'n Go 1000A' openers.

PostedJune 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Our house came with a pair of ancient Overhead Door Touch'n Go 1000A 1/2 HP chain drive garage door openers. They still work great ~20 years later but as far as I can tell, they use an older frequency and code base that none of the modern universal remotes are compatible with.
There was one caveat to the installation with the 1000A unit - if you wire the remote base without the external power supply, the remote base powers up but it puts the opener control panel into panic mode and prevents the door opener from working. Solution - wire it just like the instructions but power the universal remote base with the external 12v power supply. Radio Shack sells a universal 3-12vdc 300ma wall wart that will also work - you'll pay $20 for the Radio Shack power supply vs. $5 (plus shipping) for the Home Depot version but I think the $5 version is online order only.
The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars - as far as I can tell, the Defiant model is only compatible with other Defiant remotes. I was hoping I could also pair a generic universal wireless keypad unit to the Defiant receiver but I can't get any of the local brands to pair up.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>