728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Garage Door Opener Remotes or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip

Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip

The Smart Button receives the signal to open the door from the Key Chain Remote. The Smart Button can be installed next to your existing wall button or replace it. The Smart Button may also be installed on the GDO directly. Once a Smart Button is installed it can receive a signal from any Defiant Remote.
Overall rating:
4.029 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(68 reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
76%of customersrecommend this product50 of 66reviews
Rating Breakdown 68 reviews
4.0 out of 5
5
(44)
4
(7)
3
(2)
2
(5)
1
(10)
Appearance 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Quality 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
76%of customersrecommend this product50 of 66reviews
Customer reviews for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
Review 1 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Work great, easy install, awesome price.

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
My new house had an ancient Sears (not Craftsman, SEARS! Late 70s, by the looks) garage door opener with no remote, but it still worked fine, and I didn't want to replace it. After a litle research, found out that the old Sears unit didn't even have the old DIP switches, which most universal remotes have to communicate with older units.. Went to my local store and the knowledgeable dude pointed me toward this baby. Installs in seconds (assuming the wires to your existing open/close push button in your garage are accessible) and works great. Both receiver and remote transmitter are small and look nice. Each remote transmitter can be programmed to open three separate doors. At $20, you can't go wrong. Range is great, it works over 100 ft away at the base of my driveway. I am going back to get a second one for the other garage bay where my wife parks. That one already had a remote, but this way we both can have a remote to open BOTH doors, and we can keep our old one as a spare.
Pros: Great Value, Functional, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Great Replacemnt For Lost Remote

PostedJanuary 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The installation was super easy. I got this to replace our lost remotes and works perfectly. My only complaint is which it came with 2 remotes.
Pros: Functional, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Rowlett, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Replacement Remote - Fast & Easy Install!!!

PostedJune 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My new lease had a garage door opener, but didn't have a remote. The realty company wouldn't provide one either, they said people never returned them.... Which is what I thought the deposit was for!!! I researched remotes but didn't want to spend a fortune on one, I didn't know if I would ever have a Genie Garage Door Opener again if I moved. I found this one and for $20!! I kept putting off the install thinking it would be difficult, I had never even programmed a remote! This was literally the easiest and quickest install EVER!! Works great! I am a single female in my mid 40's and I was able to take care of this myself!
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value, Good Size & Fit
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Buffalo, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not recommended for an "older" opener...

PostedSeptember 14, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
In theory, this is a great project that requires little, to no expertise to install. You need not do any wiring, nor even really even understand what it is that you're doing. While billed as an "Easy 1-2-3" install, unless you have the perfect conditions, it is not.
I have two major issues with this product, first is the easy install clip is a one-shot deal. You get one chance at using it. Should the position of the remote receiver not be right on your first attempt, the internal connectors of the easy-install collar will be bent and unusable. Therefore, you have to cut the collar off, and hardwire it in. Normally this might be a minor deal, but given my second issue, it can be a major pain.
Issue two is that, only in the internal instructions will you find the disclaimer that the receiver unit may not get enough power from your garage door opener to function. In that case, you have to go back and buy a separate 12-V power supply. This, of course, is not "knowable" until after you get hope and open up the unit. In fact, unless you are a person that will read installation instruction start to finish, you won't learn this nugget until you get to the troubleshooting portion of the instructions.
Put the two things together and you have the fantastic scenario where you get the collar installed in a nice convenient location, like right next to the hardwired door-opening button (as illustrated on the instructions), but not enough power to use it, but the unit is too far from a plug for the hypothetical power supply to reach. At this point, you have two options. Go back to HD, buy the power supply, then go back home, move the receiver closer to the wall plug (which now will have one outlet permanently occupied) and hardwire it in, in the hopes that it will, in fact, work. OR, just return the dang thing and go with a different option. I guess I understand why so many of the packages on display had been previously opened...
Cons: not functional, installation
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Idaho
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good buy. Easy to Install

PostedSeptember 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This was really a good buy. The inside Smart Button Receiver installed quickly and easily. This new Defiant remote worked on the first try. It can either be put on your keychain or use the holster & visor clip. It can also be set up with a password, but we didn't feel a need for that. We have an older Craftsman garage door and our old remotes stopped working two months ago & couldn't be replaced. The inside door opener still worked so we had to close the door from inside then go out the front door to our car and the other way when we came back. The short installation video on the website here was helpful but instructions came with it also. It will be so nice to have a working remote again.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Good Size & Fit
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip

Works, but only from up close

PostedDecember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I could not get the "easy clip" to work, so I had to cut the wires and attach. No matter what I try, I have to drive right up to the garage door to get it to open. I will probably buy something else.
Pros: Great Value, Good Size & Fit
Cons: not functional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from SF
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great inside garage!

PostedJanuary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This works great if you are inside the garage! If you are outside in your car forget about it! My install worked fine till I was out in my car. I have a Prius which has a small hood I have to drive till I almost touch the door of the garage to make it work if I'm lucky. I mounted it with direct line of sight of a the driver seat it can't be more that 15'. But it doesn't work through the garage door. waste of money I'm looking for something else.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: not functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip

Great Upgrade!

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Basically a remote for the wall switch. Solves reception problems with older openers PLUS it gives you rolling code technology for more security. Very simple to install, works great. A really nice alternative to more costly options.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Denver, CO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Money saver!

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have an old '70's SEARS "Digital Control" garage door opener that still works great. Unfortunately, the remote finally kicked the bucket. With no direct replacement available, I tried a Chamberlain 2-Button Universal Compatible Garage Door Opener Remote because it has DIP switches like my old remote. Unfortunately, it didn't work with my ancient GDO. Then I saw this and figured I'd give it a shot.
EASY 1 step installation! Less 1 minute to install and program. This product saved me from shelling out a lot of money. I was afraid I would have to replace the entire GDO unit. The wife is thrilled too. My only complaint is that it doesn't have a 2nd remote.
Pros: Great Value, Easy to Install
Cons: only 1 remote
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Don't be cheap!

PostedJanuary 11, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don't buy if you own a Wayne Dalton Garage door opener, Model 3018. Don't try to install if the temperature is below zero. The price is great for an automatic door opener, installation really is easy if it works for your door opener, but beware. If the temperature is low, the "Easy Clip" will break while trying to puncture the cold stiff plastic wires. Once it breaks you will need to cut the clip off, strip the wires and fasten them to the back of your wall button. When you discover that the smart button doesn't work and the wall button no longer works, you will try to program it to no avail. Your next option is to return to the store to get a 12v power supply. At this point I froze up, threw the whole mess in the garbage and returned to the store and bought a Clicker Model IKLIK1U, 5 minutes later it was up and working.
Pros: Easy to Clean
Cons: not functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Huntsville, AL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

After a few months...

PostedJanuary 8, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product is very easy to install, very tiny and unobtrusive, but lacks a major piece... functionality. This will work great for a few months. After approximately 3 months, the device is intermittent. At first, I blamed the batteries so I replaced them. It seemed to work fine for 2 weeks, when it started going south again. Again, blaming the batteries, I took my frustrations to Batteries Plus, a battery supplier and retailer. As I began explaining that I had trouble with a garage door opener I installed, the lady stopped my in my tracks and said, "Is it the Defiant brand?". It turns out, this product is very common for working for a short period of time. Warning to the buyer: read the comments, but look for comments that have been placed months after the purchase... DO NOT BUY THIS!!!!!
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Fit
Cons: not functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from St Louis
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy Instal

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Took longer to read instructions than it did to actually do the install .
Low price great value ,will be getting another to replace my older remote. :)
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Lakeland, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

works well

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to install, works quite well, much less expensive than getting any other type of opener. The only down side is that it will only work for one car, have to get another complete set for each car, cannot just get an additional remote.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional
Cons: can't get additional remotes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Saint Albans, WV
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Up and running in just a few minutes

PostedJanuary 15, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Super Easy to install
Works great on the old freestanding garages opener. (Craftsman)
Now I have a remote for where I keep my John Deere
Pros: Great Value, Functional, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip

Great product.

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It is a great garage door remote control, I had it installed within seconds, it even works with the opener that didn't come with smart bottom.
Loved it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Hopkinton, MA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works fine, easy to install.

PostedJanuary 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
When I saw several obviously returned packages, I had second thoughts--but figured even a preopened product was worth a try. I'm guessing that previous purchasers didn't remove the tape covering the battery. In any case, it was quite simple to install, and works great. A very simple and inexpensive solution for an old opener missing a remote.
Pros: Great Value, Functional, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Kansas city missouri
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great on old models!!!

PostedDecember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I installed this product in probably two minutes after watching the video given on this website. It literally worked immediately. before this i went with another more expensive garage door opener remote. It failed miserably I had to program it to my garage door. My garage door opener is so old it doesn't even have dip switches or a manual i can refer to. This worked the first time in under two minutes. Thanks defiant!!!
Only con of this review is the two sided tape didnt work the paper ripped the adhesive off one side so i have the smart button just hanging...
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip

FORGET THE CLAMP

PostedJanuary 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This works great and is easy to install. Save yourself the hassle and cut off the wire clamp (which is garbage) and tie it directly into your system via the wall mounted opener button or splicing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Mountain Top, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Great

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This was added to an opener that is over 30 years old. And it works great, good range, small compact unit. If you need an extra opener and cannot match your existing easily I recommend using this one.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip

Summer remote

PostedDecember 14, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have read all of the reviews on this product. The hook up was easy, worked great all summer long. Then when temperature drop with winter, the range got shorter and shorter till it would no longer open the garage door.. Replaced battery in the remote, did not help, warmed up the receiver with a hair dryer and it started working again till it got cold again. I wiil see if I can exchange for a new one, I might have just got a lemon. I will follow up with results.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>