728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Garage Door Opener Remotes or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip

Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip

The Smart Button receives the signal to open the door from the Key Chain Remote. The Smart Button can be installed next to your existing wall button or replace it. The Smart Button may also be installed on the GDO directly. Once a Smart Button is installed it can receive a signal from any Defiant Remote.
Overall rating:
4.188 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(32 reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product25 of 31reviews
Rating Breakdown 32 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(23)
4
(3)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(5)
Appearance 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
81%of customersrecommend this product25 of 31reviews
Customer reviews for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
Review 1 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Work great, easy install, awesome price.

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My new house had an ancient Sears (not Craftsman, SEARS! Late 70s, by the looks) garage door opener with no remote, but it still worked fine, and I didn't want to replace it. After a litle research, found out that the old Sears unit didn't even have the old DIP switches, which most universal remotes have to communicate with older units.. Went to my local store and the knowledgeable dude pointed me toward this baby. Installs in seconds (assuming the wires to your existing open/close push button in your garage are accessible) and works great. Both receiver and remote transmitter are small and look nice. Each remote transmitter can be programmed to open three separate doors. At $20, you can't go wrong. Range is great, it works over 100 ft away at the base of my driveway. I am going back to get a second one for the other garage bay where my wife parks. That one already had a remote, but this way we both can have a remote to open BOTH doors, and we can keep our old one as a spare.
Pros: Great Value, Functional, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Rowlett, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Replacement Remote - Fast & Easy Install!!!

PostedJune 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My new lease had a garage door opener, but didn't have a remote. The realty company wouldn't provide one either, they said people never returned them.... Which is what I thought the deposit was for!!! I researched remotes but didn't want to spend a fortune on one, I didn't know if I would ever have a Genie Garage Door Opener again if I moved. I found this one and for $20!! I kept putting off the install thinking it would be difficult, I had never even programmed a remote! This was literally the easiest and quickest install EVER!! Works great! I am a single female in my mid 40's and I was able to take care of this myself!
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value, Good Size & Fit
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Denver, CO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Money saver!

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have an old '70's SEARS "Digital Control" garage door opener that still works great. Unfortunately, the remote finally kicked the bucket. With no direct replacement available, I tried a Chamberlain 2-Button Universal Compatible Garage Door Opener Remote because it has DIP switches like my old remote. Unfortunately, it didn't work with my ancient GDO. Then I saw this and figured I'd give it a shot.
EASY 1 step installation! Less 1 minute to install and program. This product saved me from shelling out a lot of money. I was afraid I would have to replace the entire GDO unit. The wife is thrilled too. My only complaint is that it doesn't have a 2nd remote.
Pros: Great Value, Easy to Install
Cons: only 1 remote
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Compact and looks great

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
You don't have to but I changed out my garage wall button that came with the garage door opener I already had installed. The opener I have came with our house and is called Master Built and I could not find an outlet to buy a replacement remote. We have one remote that works but one died hence the need for another.. The original remote still works with this Defiant Key Chain remote deal.
Once I installed their button (smart button) in place of my existing button, the Defiant remote was easy to get operating. It works great. I just could not find out how much these will be after this Special Buy deal?
I may get another one before they go off special. One thing to think about is the package is hard to open but other than that I think this is a great buy. Thank you Home Depot!!!
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Lots of Features, Good Size & Fit
Cons: package is hard to open need a knife or snip
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great product

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Keeping the remote on my key chain is insurance from having it stolen from your car. Its great for those who own a motorcycle. Worth every penny.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value, Good Size & Fit
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Salem, MA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The ease of install is incredible!

PostedJune 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I really love this product, we are selling our house and the new owners wanted a remote control which we lost lonftime ago, I bought this at HD and installed in less than 7 mins flat!!
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Well Made
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Atlanta, GA
Age Range:35 to 44
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works with Overhead Door 'Touch'n Go 1000A' openers.

PostedJune 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Our house came with a pair of ancient Overhead Door Touch'n Go 1000A 1/2 HP chain drive garage door openers. They still work great ~20 years later but as far as I can tell, they use an older frequency and code base that none of the modern universal remotes are compatible with.
There was one caveat to the installation with the 1000A unit - if you wire the remote base without the external power supply, the remote base powers up but it puts the opener control panel into panic mode and prevents the door opener from working. Solution - wire it just like the instructions but power the universal remote base with the external 12v power supply. Radio Shack sells a universal 3-12vdc 300ma wall wart that will also work - you'll pay $20 for the Radio Shack power supply vs. $5 (plus shipping) for the Home Depot version but I think the $5 version is online order only.
The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars - as far as I can tell, the Defiant model is only compatible with other Defiant remotes. I was hoping I could also pair a generic universal wireless keypad unit to the Defiant receiver but I can't get any of the local brands to pair up.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very handy

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installation and setup was a snap. Took less than 5 minutes
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Good Size & Fit
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip

Worked great with old opener!

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A friend purchased a home with an old garage door opener, Having spent plenty upgrading/remodeling his home he didn't want to purchase a new opener just for the convenience of a remote. He had looked at other universal remotes but his opener was not listed, and he was even told his was to old to update. I found this one on display at my local HD and it looked like it would work, plus it had a much lower price than the other kits he had seen. Instructions seemed to generic, possibly because installation was so simple, it comes with a crimp connector that connects directly to the existing wire for the inside opener switch, no splicing required! Programming the remote is very easy. It worked on the first try! does seem to have a slight delay and range could be better. But it works from inside a vehicle parked in the driveway, so no more getting out in the rain!
Pros: Functional, Good Size & Fit, Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Rochester,NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

It works VERY WELL!!! Couldn't be happier!!!

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I live in an apartment complex and have a Genie ProMax garage opener in my rented garage. They only gave me one remote, so it meant I had to carry it back and forth between my home and the car... very inconvenient. I tried purchasing the Genie Intellicode keychain remote, and it was awful. The Genie remote only worked while standing 1 foot in front of the garage door - it would not even work from the car! This remote does everything you would expect a remote to do, and it does it well. Here are the details.
1) First of all, that extra box in the package is a transmitter that intercepts the garage opener and the remote. That little box "owns" learning the code from the main system and remains mounted on the inside of the garage, so its ALWAYS in range. Then, that box sends a SEPARATE signal to the keychain remote... and it has its own technology to control the connection strength and range between itself and the remote. Therefore, it has solved for all the issues associated with trying to transmit a signal directly from the master system to the remote.
2) Installation was EASY. All you do is clip the wire from the transmitter box to the exposed wires of the wall control in the garage. The clip is included. From there, the transmitter receives everything it needs - power, codes, etc in order to function as needed. Next, you set up your remote to learn from the transmitter box. Because both of these items came in the same box and are designed to work together, the instructions are accurate, and they work on the first try.
3) The keychain remote has a better range than the original remote that came with the opener. Not only can I open the garage from my car, but I can open the garage from my apartment window, across the street (probably 80 feet or so).
4) The keychain remote is attractive and small. I keep it on my keychain attached to the outside of my purse with my car remote. Not embarrasing to have it hanging there at all... its attractive and low profile.
5) You can buy multiple units and make them all work together. I have 3 garage bays, each with their own original remote. Now, with 3 units, I will be able to program a single remote to control all 3 doors. My husband can have a remote that also controls all 3 doors, and we can keep a spare in the house. Its a perfect set up!
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, fantastic range, well designed
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from San Antonio, TX.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good buy.

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this today, to replace the remotes on my 95' Marantec from Overhead Door in San Antonio,TX. It seemed to easy. When you have suffer a stroke you tend to mess up where you used to do good. So I slowed down. Heck, it was true and preformed as it says it will. Thank you Home Depot.
Pros: Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Beautiful Appearance, Easy to Install
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Kansas City, MO
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy install

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This worked all I had to do was clamp the clip to the remote wires. Press the learning button on the button and sync the remote. Whole process took 10 min. Bought two and both remotes work great.
I would recommend this product to others. You get a transmitter and remote for $20.
Pros: Great Value, Easy to Install
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip

Waste of money

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
So there goes $20. I couldn't get this to work. It did eventually clip on to my existing wiring, but it was finicky. When the clasp was closed, it shorted the system (even the original opener button failed to respond). When I opened it, I could use the door with the original button for a while (until the clasp loosened further?), but could not get the new receiver programmed with the universal remote. The lights did not behave as described in the instructions, no matter what I tried. When I gave up and pulled the clasp off the wiring, the pins were all bent up. I'll be curious to know whether Home Depot will take it back.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Maine
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product

PostedJuly 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product can be used with any garage door opener that can be operated by a simple push button.
It easily provides for a remote control on an older opener that does not work with the usual remotes. It can be used with an opener that does not have an existing remote or it can easily provide an additional remote. Installation is simple and easy and at a good price.
This product cannot be used with a garage door opener that does not work with a simple push button.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functional, Well Made
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

A very good Plan B for a garage door.

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a very good way to open the door without messing with the RF signals of the Motor Control. It's like you open the door from inside pushing the switch.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Easy to Install, Functional, Great Detail
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Pittsburgh
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fantastic little remote

PostedApril 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Extremely easy installation. Worked on my apartment craftsman 1/2 hp door opener. Just got a garage but landlord didn't have a remote, thought I would try this, worked perfect. 5 minute install and everything is great. Highly recommend.
Pros: Great Value, Functional, Good Size & Fit, Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Livermore, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does *NOT* work with Genie Excelerator

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The Defiant Universal Garage Door Remote Control does **not** work with my Genie Excelerator garage door opener.
I think it is because the existing wall button for the Genie Excelerator garage door openers is not a simple ON/OFF switch, it somehow encodes the operation of two separate buttons (one button opens the door, the other button only turns on the light)
If you have an older opener, with a simple ON/OFF button, then it probably works just fine.
Pros: Good Size & Fit
Cons: not genie compatible
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Florida
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Over all don't waste your money...

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product when all hooked up the unit was not vary good,I have to get out of the car and get with in two or three feet of the door to open the door, with the door open you can be eight feet away (no more then) and the door will close, in my set up I had to also buy the power supply. Over all don't waste your money.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: not functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product when "learn" feature doesn't work.

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Moved into a new house with a 10 year old liftmaster chamberlain and no openers that worked. The "LEARN" was messed up. An overhead door company came by and wanted to order and install parts but I found and installed this Defiant opener and fix the issue myself.
It was easy to install and program.
The only issue is I cannot get it to program my Homelink in our Murano, so I'll have to buy another unit just for the remote opener and save the rest of the package for a rainy day. If you have any information on Homelink programming let me know. I still give it a 5 star due how inexpensive it is.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from NH
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Terrible Purchase, broke my overhead door

PostedMay 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have a rather old overhead garage door that I can no longer get remotes for so I purchased this product to be able to add additional remotes. Got it all hooked up and plugged the motor back in... nothing. Took my multi-meter to it to see what was going on, noticed it was always sending a 3.5-4 volt signal to the door, figured OK makes sense, needs to draw power for the receiver always sending a high signal. So I bought the adapter that goes with it, got all that hooked up, plugged it in and it killed the motor to the overhead door.
WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT.
BE VERY CAREFUL WHEN INSTALLING IT.
Cons: not functional, broke motor
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>