728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Garage Door Opener Remotes or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip

Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip

The Smart Button receives the signal to open the door from the Key Chain Remote. The Smart Button can be installed next to your existing wall button or replace it. The Smart Button may also be installed on the GDO directly. Once a Smart Button is installed it can receive a signal from any Defiant Remote.
Overall rating:
4.037 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(81 reviews) 81
Open Ratings Snapshot
74%of customersrecommend this product58 of 78reviews
Rating Breakdown 81 reviews
4.0 out of 5
5
(51)
4
(10)
3
(3)
2
(6)
1
(11)
Appearance 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Quality 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
74%of customersrecommend this product58 of 78reviews
Customer reviews for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
Review 1 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Work great, easy install, awesome price.

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
My new house had an ancient Sears (not Craftsman, SEARS! Late 70s, by the looks) garage door opener with no remote, but it still worked fine, and I didn't want to replace it. After a litle research, found out that the old Sears unit didn't even have the old DIP switches, which most universal remotes have to communicate with older units.. Went to my local store and the knowledgeable dude pointed me toward this baby. Installs in seconds (assuming the wires to your existing open/close push button in your garage are accessible) and works great. Both receiver and remote transmitter are small and look nice. Each remote transmitter can be programmed to open three separate doors. At $20, you can't go wrong. Range is great, it works over 100 ft away at the base of my driveway. I am going back to get a second one for the other garage bay where my wife parks. That one already had a remote, but this way we both can have a remote to open BOTH doors, and we can keep our old one as a spare.
Pros: Great Value, Functional, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Rowlett, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Replacement Remote - Fast & Easy Install!!!

PostedJune 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My new lease had a garage door opener, but didn't have a remote. The realty company wouldn't provide one either, they said people never returned them.... Which is what I thought the deposit was for!!! I researched remotes but didn't want to spend a fortune on one, I didn't know if I would ever have a Genie Garage Door Opener again if I moved. I found this one and for $20!! I kept putting off the install thinking it would be difficult, I had never even programmed a remote! This was literally the easiest and quickest install EVER!! Works great! I am a single female in my mid 40's and I was able to take care of this myself!
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value, Good Size & Fit
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Carrollton, Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Barely Okay

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product was not as easy to install as the video displays. It is very rare that the cords connecting the opener to the wall will be exposed. Rather, they are likely covered in the wall, so the easy to install video is not so easy. Also, the alternative installation shown in the video is likely not an option either. It shows installation with two wires coming from the ceiling unit; whereas, I had 4 cords coming from the ceiling unit. I had to install by pulling the cords from the wall and splicing. It took days to figure this out and the technical support department took days to call me back and really didn't know how to fix the problem. I discovered the fix on my own. After installed, I have to be right at the garage and pointing the remote to the garage several times before it will go up. This has everything to do with the small antenna that comes with this product, thereby affecting the range of the remote. I would recommend spending more money on a better functioning product.
Cons: not functional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Great Replacemnt For Lost Remote

PostedJanuary 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The installation was super easy. I got this to replace our lost remotes and works perfectly. My only complaint is which it came with 2 remotes.
Pros: Functional, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Bend
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product for the price

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I read the directions to my husband while he attached this to the motor box to our existing garage opener. it took all of about 7 mins. I couldn't have asked for a better solution to our problem. I have the original opener (13 years old) in my car, and my husband really needed one for his new truck so this was perfect.
Pros: Functional, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Willis, Mi
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Great idea but don't work well.

PostedMarch 6, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought this item to add remotes to our existing opener so we could have them on the bikes. It works but it stops the original remotes from working. The original remotes have to be real close now and have to be pushed several times to finally open the door. Once we removed this unit though, the original remotes work fine again.
Cons: not functional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Idaho
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good buy. Easy to Install

PostedSeptember 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This was really a good buy. The inside Smart Button Receiver installed quickly and easily. This new Defiant remote worked on the first try. It can either be put on your keychain or use the holster & visor clip. It can also be set up with a password, but we didn't feel a need for that. We have an older Craftsman garage door and our old remotes stopped working two months ago & couldn't be replaced. The inside door opener still worked so we had to close the door from inside then go out the front door to our car and the other way when we came back. The short installation video on the website here was helpful but instructions came with it also. It will be so nice to have a working remote again.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Good Size & Fit
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Buffalo, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not recommended for an "older" opener...

PostedSeptember 14, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
In theory, this is a great project that requires little, to no expertise to install. You need not do any wiring, nor even really even understand what it is that you're doing. While billed as an "Easy 1-2-3" install, unless you have the perfect conditions, it is not.
I have two major issues with this product, first is the easy install clip is a one-shot deal. You get one chance at using it. Should the position of the remote receiver not be right on your first attempt, the internal connectors of the easy-install collar will be bent and unusable. Therefore, you have to cut the collar off, and hardwire it in. Normally this might be a minor deal, but given my second issue, it can be a major pain.
Issue two is that, only in the internal instructions will you find the disclaimer that the receiver unit may not get enough power from your garage door opener to function. In that case, you have to go back and buy a separate 12-V power supply. This, of course, is not "knowable" until after you get hope and open up the unit. In fact, unless you are a person that will read installation instruction start to finish, you won't learn this nugget until you get to the troubleshooting portion of the instructions.
Put the two things together and you have the fantastic scenario where you get the collar installed in a nice convenient location, like right next to the hardwired door-opening button (as illustrated on the instructions), but not enough power to use it, but the unit is too far from a plug for the hypothetical power supply to reach. At this point, you have two options. Go back to HD, buy the power supply, then go back home, move the receiver closer to the wall plug (which now will have one outlet permanently occupied) and hardwire it in, in the hopes that it will, in fact, work. OR, just return the dang thing and go with a different option. I guess I understand why so many of the packages on display had been previously opened...
Cons: not functional, installation
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Foley, AL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Garage Door Opener

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The Garage Door Opener has a metal Hoster that clips to the visor with the opener in it. Or, you can put the garage door opener on a key chain. additionally, it is small and cute. not ugly like those big ugly monsters you see in the store. I purchased the first one in the store, then Home Depot would not restock it and I had to order online, which I dislike. It is easier to purchase it in the store, and I get a military discount. Online, I do not get a military discount.
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Easy to Install, Functional, Good Size & Fit
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Minnesota
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great purchace!!

PostedApril 9, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I was impressed with how quick and easy it was to install. The battery life on the other hand was not up to my standards (one month) other than that all is well. very convenient for my wife to operate the door with the key chain remote. it is really awesome for my motorcycle key I just pull right in the garage it has great range. I get approximately 800 feet on average in the city.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functional
Cons: battery life
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from SF
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great inside garage!

PostedJanuary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This works great if you are inside the garage! If you are outside in your car forget about it! My install worked fine till I was out in my car. I have a Prius which has a small hood I have to drive till I almost touch the door of the garage to make it work if I'm lucky. I mounted it with direct line of sight of a the driver seat it can't be more that 15'. But it doesn't work through the garage door. waste of money I'm looking for something else.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: not functional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip

Works great

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Just as advertised. Went in easily and works well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Lewisville, Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very simple purchase and installation!

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The unit was VERY easy to install and works great. The only issue I have is that I have to be closer to the garage door for it to open than I did previously. No big deal! At least it works! I lost my original remote and am SO glad I don't have to walk thru the wet grass to get to my car anymore. :)
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Willis, Mi
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great idea but don't work well.

PostedMarch 6, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought this item to add remotes to our existing opener so we could have them on the bikes. It works but it stops the original remotes from working. The original remotes have to be real close now and have to be pushed several times to finally open the door. Once we removed this unit though, the original remotes work fine again.
Cons: not functional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip

Works, but only from up close

PostedDecember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I could not get the "easy clip" to work, so I had to cut the wires and attach. No matter what I try, I have to drive right up to the garage door to get it to open. I will probably buy something else.
Pros: Great Value, Good Size & Fit
Cons: not functional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Huntsville, AL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

After a few months...

PostedJanuary 8, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product is very easy to install, very tiny and unobtrusive, but lacks a major piece... functionality. This will work great for a few months. After approximately 3 months, the device is intermittent. At first, I blamed the batteries so I replaced them. It seemed to work fine for 2 weeks, when it started going south again. Again, blaming the batteries, I took my frustrations to Batteries Plus, a battery supplier and retailer. As I began explaining that I had trouble with a garage door opener I installed, the lady stopped my in my tracks and said, "Is it the Defiant brand?". It turns out, this product is very common for working for a short period of time. Warning to the buyer: read the comments, but look for comments that have been placed months after the purchase... DO NOT BUY THIS!!!!!
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Fit
Cons: not functional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Don't be cheap!

PostedJanuary 11, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don't buy if you own a Wayne Dalton Garage door opener, Model 3018. Don't try to install if the temperature is below zero. The price is great for an automatic door opener, installation really is easy if it works for your door opener, but beware. If the temperature is low, the "Easy Clip" will break while trying to puncture the cold stiff plastic wires. Once it breaks you will need to cut the clip off, strip the wires and fasten them to the back of your wall button. When you discover that the smart button doesn't work and the wall button no longer works, you will try to program it to no avail. Your next option is to return to the store to get a 12v power supply. At this point I froze up, threw the whole mess in the garbage and returned to the store and bought a Clicker Model IKLIK1U, 5 minutes later it was up and working.
Pros: Easy to Clean
Cons: not functional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Maryland
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedMarch 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Works perfectly. My garage door remote quit working (it was 15 years old) and getting a name brand replacement was expensive and difficult, so I gave this a try. I installed it in less time than it took me to cut it out of the plastic packaging!
I was careful to line the wires up correctly. (Some commenters pointed out that if you don't get it right on the first try, you have to strip the wires and install it manually.)
Great product. Problem solves.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Denver, CO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Money saver!

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have an old '70's SEARS "Digital Control" garage door opener that still works great. Unfortunately, the remote finally kicked the bucket. With no direct replacement available, I tried a Chamberlain 2-Button Universal Compatible Garage Door Opener Remote because it has DIP switches like my old remote. Unfortunately, it didn't work with my ancient GDO. Then I saw this and figured I'd give it a shot.
EASY 1 step installation! Less 1 minute to install and program. This product saved me from shelling out a lot of money. I was afraid I would have to replace the entire GDO unit. The wife is thrilled too. My only complaint is that it doesn't have a 2nd remote.
Pros: Great Value, Easy to Install
Cons: only 1 remote
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Universal Garage Door Key Chain Remote with Visor Clip
from Scottsdale, AZ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect for adding to existing controller

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have an older door opener and controller. I wanted to add a keychain size activator without having to change my older system. This product attaches across existing manual switch. It installed quickly and worked perfectly.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Fit
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>