728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Mowers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 22 in. 159 cc Gas Walk-Behind String Trimmer

22 in. 159 cc Gas Walk-Behind String Trimmer

The Cub Cadet high performance 159 cc OHV engine is equipped with an AutoChoke system that eliminates the need to prime the engine prior to starting. Cub Cadet’s unique deck design allows you to trim right up against fence lines, posts and other obstacles
Overall rating:
4.634 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(41 reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
97%of customersrecommend this product38 of 39reviews
Rating Breakdown 41 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(30)
4
(9)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Features 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
97%of customersrecommend this product38 of 39reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer reviews for 22 in. 159 cc Gas Walk-Behind String Trimmer
Review 1 for 22 in. 159 cc Gas Walk-Behind String Trimmer
from Wausau, WI
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy Starting, Simple Height Adjustment and Fast String Changes. Quality Construction, Powerful Engine.

PostedApril 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Who doesn't love that classic Cub Cadet yellow! Cub Cadet has a winner with this 22" walk behind string trimmer.
If you have to cut a lot of tall grass, thick weeds or even trim a long fence line, the edge of a pond or ditch, this is the tool you want. Have any area you need cut, but know it would tear up and stall out a regular lawn mower due to obstructions or uneven terrain? Afraid to take your lawn tractor down by the water's edge? That is where a walk behind trimmer excels.
Out of the box it assembles in seconds. If you can even call it "assembly". You take it out of the box, flip the handle up and use the finger screws to hold the handle in one of the three adjustable positions. Fill it with the included 20 ounces of 10w30 oil and all that's left is to gas it up (regular gas, no oil added) and start using it.
It starts like any regular lawn mower. Hold down the safety lever on the handle, give the pull cord a good yank and it's running. The sure start guarantee means no choking or priming. if it ever fails to start in one or two pulls Cub Cadet will fix it while under warranty. Lovely.
Using the Cub Cadet in the field or yard is as simple as it gets. First decide how high you want the cut to be made. It's infinitely adjustable between 1 3/4" high all the way to 4 inches, and anywhere in between. Adjustments take seconds using only two wing nuts. Loosen the nuts, slide the hub to the height you want and retighten. That's all it takes.
Changing string when needed is done with ease. Cub Cadet includes six pairs of string, and you can buy more at Home Depot either in pre-cut sections or by the spool. It is not expensive. We've done three runs of 400 feet of fence, both sides, and cut down last years growth of perennials and aren't in need of changing the first set of line yet. The string does not bump feed or get spooled inside the hub like smaller trimmer, it is attached in short sections to the hub and is changed manually when it gets too short to be effective.
Cutting with the machine is smooth and reliable. The extra large wheels roll over just about anything and don't get all bound up with the clippings. Because you have both hands on the handle, you can get very close and precise with cuts in corners, along the bottom of fencing, or close up to trees.
Make sure you wear eye protection. The trimmer has very large debris guards, but stuff still flies around as to be expected. Walk into the area you want cut and the machine will take down any type of grass and weeds you want it to handle. It's not made for thick brush, but I was able to trim off some smaller lilac shoots that I didn't see at first. If you hear the engine start to bog down because it's getting into some really gnarly stuff, just back up a foot, let it rev back up and go back to attacking the grass.
Any kind of serious grass clearing and trimming can be accomplished with this Cub Cadet walk behind style trimmer. It saves your back on big jobs compared to a hand held trimmer and it does the job light years faster as well.
Maintenance is easy, the oil drain hole is at the bottom of the dipstick. Make sure you use 20 ounces of 10w30 oil. The drive belt can be changed if needed without much trouble, and as I mentioned about the string the replacements can be purchased as needed from Home Depot.
Overall a great machine for heavy duty trimming tasks that will give us many years of reliable performance. Cub Cadet gives this a full three year warranty along with their sure start guarantee described above.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store, oil and air filter easy to change
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 22 in. 159 cc Gas Walk-Behind String Trimmer
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The most ruthless and powerful trimmer

PostedMay 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the most ruthless and powerful trimmer I have ever owned. From 2 foot tall straw to ½” thick shrub, it trimmed my property line without any struggle what so ever in least amount of time.
1/8” thick line combined with 159cc engine makes it a super duty machine. Design and operation is very similar to walk behind mower but instead of blades, it has trimmer line. This in fact has reduced my cost of sharpening/changing the blades. Trimmer line is cheaper, lasts longer and very easy to replace.
It ships fully assembled; you just have to unfold the handle which takes about 30 seconds. The starting is great and needs no prime. If you want to keep the starting trouble free then use non-ethanol gasoline and your tool will start like a breeze.
I have consumed 3 gas tanks to date and I had no disappointments as far as trimming capability is concerned.
The problem comes with its metal ball under the deck that is supposed to help it move easily with additional help from its 14” wheels. In my experience, it constantly gets stuck on uneven terrain unless I lift the front a little bit while moving forward. And if I trim while the front is lifted, I never get an even cut. I must say that a wheel on the front would've been much better option than a metal ball. Other than that, it’s a great brand, comes with great warranty and literally trims everything in its path without any trouble.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Cons: front globe create friction in uneven terrain
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 22 in. 159 cc Gas Walk-Behind String Trimmer
from Minnesota, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

powerful!!!

PostedMay 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Got this to keep the trails clear at the cabin, but tried it out at home first. The first time used - first pull it was running. No priming needed, no effort on the pull, just a normal pull and bang, it was running. The slide on the front is nice and slides very easily. it was very easy to adjust the height of the trimmer with no tools. I used it along a chain link fence which usually destroys my trimmer line, and other than a hard pull to the side, this thing didn't even slow down, and didn't even break a line. Very much overkill for an average yard, but will be GREAT for the thick brush I'm planning on using it for.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Cuts Well, Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 22 in. 159 cc Gas Walk-Behind String Trimmer
from NY
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good for Fences and edging not so much mowing

PostedMay 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This is great for long fences lines and edging a large area, I used this on a 1.2 acre lot of grass that's enclosed with a wire fence. Doing the edges and tall grass was easy to do with the the Cub, However for the center of the lawn it was struggling where the land was uneven. I would find that the "ball" will tend to ride into the ground and the end result will be an uneven cut. When the "ball" goes into a low spot it will also become hard to push until you push down and allow the front of the mower to rise.
The Mower has a belt driven spindle with 2 poly lines that are the blades. The blades are surprisingly very strong and showed little signs of wear after use. They do send extra blades in the box.
Setup was easy I was mowing 15 minutes after unboxing. You bolt the handle and the pull cord, add oil and you are off!!
Adjusting the "ball height" is fairly easy, you loosen 2 wing nuts and adjust the height of the cut you desire.
Overall this is a nice mower that can potentially replace your standard mower and edge trimmer.
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, All In One, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 22 in. 159 cc Gas Walk-Behind String Trimmer
from GA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Trimmer Mower!

PostedApril 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my first trimmer mower and I'm very happy with the product. It works exactly as described. I really like the large wheels that allow you to access areas with high and thick grass/weeds and areas with uneven terrain. It is useable near fence lines and other obstacles. The handle also folds for better storage. Adjusting the trimming height is not as easy as I would prefer, but it is still manageable while in the field. The motor starts from the first or second pull. I haven't had this machine long enough but from my first use I am impressed. As a bonus, oil is included!
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 22 in. 159 cc Gas Walk-Behind String Trimmer
from Keller, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best piece of yard equipment I have ever used.

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Technically this is a string trimmer, and it is an excellent one, but once you get going, you can mow with it faster than with a walk-behind gas mower. Cut weeds, even the stalky ones, cut grass, cut obnoxious grasses, like Johnson grass, easier than any other string trimmer I have used. You don't have to carry the thing --- the large wheels move over the terrain without a problem. With this, I feel like I am in control again. The house next door is now a rental, and their weeds migrated to my yard, so now I can handle them more easily, without getting out a mower and a trimmer. This Cub Cadet string trimmer trims and mows both, so I forgot about replacing my old mower, too. I don't need it.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 22 in. 159 cc Gas Walk-Behind String Trimmer
from Beautiful Coastal Washington State
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Rugged Trimmer

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This walk-behind string trimmer is equipped to do some pretty tough clearing. However, in my opinion, it has two large draw backs. The gas tank could use some kind of a filler gauge - the tank is quite small (surprisingly so) and the tank is black causing you to over fill and spill fuel over the body of the trimmer. And, the real pain in the neck, the trimmer is not equipped to idle!! When running the trimmer you must restart after letting up on the control lever - which means that every time you want to move something out of the way or even take a short breather the trimmer will need to be pull started. A big inconvenience to me - a deal breaker for my wife!
Pros: Cuts Well, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Store
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 22 in. 159 cc Gas Walk-Behind String Trimmer
from Helena, Mt
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Performance

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Thanks to all who posted reviews. Based on these reviews, I think I made an excellent choice. After using it for 3 hours cutting tall grass and assorted weeds over uneven terrain, it exceeded my expectations. Easily started, ran smooth, cut cleanly, and tilting to cut higher on thick high growth not at all difficult. For the money, I can't imagine a better deal. But this is my first walk behind trimmer, so I have nothing to compare it to. I wish though they included line replacement with the unit since I finally lost the line against a large tree stump. Home Depot didn't carry the replacement line so I bought regular thick trimmer string recommended by the store representative. It didn't work as well as the manual suggested it might not. They only recommend the manufacturers string replacements. It could be I didn't install the replacement string properly. I only did it once before calling it a day.
Pros: Cuts Well, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Store
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 22 in. 159 cc Gas Walk-Behind String Trimmer
from Round Rock, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice Trimmer Mower for the price

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
In the past I've owned two walk behind trimmer mowers. The first was a DR trimmer. While expensive it lasted me almost 15 years. The second was a Sears Craftsman DR look alike. It broke down just after the warranty period expired with broken throttle and engine control cables on the handlebars. It also required frequent mow ball replacement and belts. The grass tended to wrap around the mow ball more than just cut it. I shopped for a replacement DR but didn't like the reduced quality I was seeing. In addition shipping prices were very high. They don't even include the needed oil or oil drain plug on many of their engines. I stumbled on this Cub Cadet model while price shopping. While it has a powermore chinese made engine, reviews were generally favorable. It has an oil drain plug, includes the engine oil and comes with a three year warranty. It only has one engine speed so does not need a throttle control. It also has an auto choke so no bulb squeezing. Home Depot delivered it to my home for the purchase price plus tax. Plenty of Cub Cadet dealers in my area for service if needed. So far the unit performs as expected. I mow 12 months of the year so my equipment gets a regular workout. Only time will tell how long it lasts.
Pros: Durable, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 22 in. 159 cc Gas Walk-Behind String Trimmer
from Santa Rosa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Too soon to tell, but so far so good.

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The mower was shipped to me within a few days. I put oil and gas in it and looked for the gas adjustment and choke. Didn't find either. Pulled on the line and it started right up. There doesn't seem to be a throttle adjustment but it cuts like crazy. I gave the quality 4 stars because it is not that fine a piece of equipment. But I didn't want to spend twice as much to get a little better one. And the weeds don't really care. It's the only one I have found that lets you adjust the height of cut!
Pros: Powerful, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, good value for the $$
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 22 in. 159 cc Gas Walk-Behind String Trimmer
from Waimea,Hi
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quality machine

PostedMay 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I owned several Sears string mowers and they always needed repair. When I first started the Cub Cadet and started cutting my lawn this machine made the Sears trimmer feel like a toy. It felt like a solid pro quality machine. I've already recommended it to my family...Home Depot Hilo, keep it in stock because more sales coming your way. Thanks
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 22 in. 159 cc Gas Walk-Behind String Trimmer
from Vermont
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good , well built unit !

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The only small issue is the Nylon trimmer string staying in the head.
It seems to be a common issue with most field trimmers when used
against brush or small saplings.
I used the factory .155 line along with a second loop of .95 line on the
the inside and I had no problem with the string afterwards.
Good unit ,, glad I bought it. :)
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 22 in. 159 cc Gas Walk-Behind String Trimmer
from Wilton, Wi
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I Love this trimmer.

PostedJuly 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Super easy to assemble. Was a little leary about the pull start, but this trimmer starts very easily. Strings are a breeze to change and this trimmer cuts through everything I need it for. I could use this walk-behind trimmer to mow whole lawn if I wanted to. Much more versatile than a push mower. I would definitely recommend this trimmer.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 22 in. 159 cc Gas Walk-Behind String Trimmer
from Sodus, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good but could use some refinements

PostedJune 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I got this trimmer for overgrown areas with uneven ground, fencing and rocks. Works well for this. Definitely easy assembly and startup out of the box. But it seemed all of my overgrown fence lines were uphill on the offset side and with the string trimmer head having to be lifted off the ground to move ahead, it was heavy going for me. Not bad on a flat surface but you still must lift the trimmer up to clear the ground and move forward. I'm used to strenuous work but at 5'2' and 62 years old, I wish there was a solution for this.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, All In One, Accurate
Cons: Too Heavy, Difficult to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 22 in. 159 cc Gas Walk-Behind String Trimmer
from Cypress, TX 77429, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did a great job with Salt Grass

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought a beach lot that has waist high salt grass with 8 inches of dead grass. It has never been mowed. This mower did great. It was quite time consuming, and I went through a ton of replacement string. The grass was incredibly thick, strong and sharp. It started right up, and ran for two days straight. Replacing the string is very fast and easy once you do it a couple of times.
Finding the replacement string was a pain. The manufacturer gave me a part number, but I couldn't find it at home depot or at my local cub cadet store. You can cut your own, but I bought Swisher 18-Inch Pre-Cut Replacement Trimmer Line from Amazon and it worked fine.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: hard to find precut string
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 22 in. 159 cc Gas Walk-Behind String Trimmer
from Idaho
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best buy

PostedMay 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is one of the best string trimmer made it is far passes a 5 star rating /I will be buying another product made by Cub Cadet
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 22 in. 159 cc Gas Walk-Behind String Trimmer
from Texas, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great machine

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Very easy to use starts and runs great. With 5 acres to trim this will make my work easier with less strain on my arms and shoulders.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Powerful, Great Engine
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 22 in. 159 cc Gas Walk-Behind String Trimmer
from Puerto Rico
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

GREAT - POWER FULL - IT DOES THE JOB.

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The engine and the power train should be separate.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Store
Cons: Limited Features, power train and engine should be separated
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 22 in. 159 cc Gas Walk-Behind String Trimmer
from oklahoma city, oklahoma
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

walk behind trimmer

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
very easy to use, balanced well so its easy to move around when in use. very satisfied with product.
Pros: Cuts Well, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 22 in. 159 cc Gas Walk-Behind String Trimmer
from Madisonville, TN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Qualified Recommendation

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I spent a lot of time reviewing different machines and finally settled on this Cub Cadet string trimmer. Some of the features that were very important to me were price, extended warranty and stated ability to cut under fences. Few of the walk behind string trimmers on the market speak to the issue of an offset cutting head or design features making it easy to cut under fences. During my research process I did not even think about the general design of the string trimmer, and what it would be like pushing it up hill. The front of the machine rides on the string trimmer head, and it is one thing to use this on level ground and it is something else to push it up hill. Your cutting edge for going under fences and up against landscaping timbers is the left side, which meant that I would have a lot of up hill work on my property. While the machine did well on level ground and for that matter up against landscape timbers, it was no fun pushing it up hill. It was for that reason alone that I took the machine back. I am considering a Walk-Behind Stihl product now. I'm just going from memory, but I think that it was called the Yard Boss. This device has a wheel out front similar to the athletes jogging stroller, and two wheels behind, with the string trimmer in the middle. Because of the long front and small wheel, it appears that it would be easier getting under fences, and based upon the design, you could cut up against objects from either the left of the right side. This feature makes it possible to go down hill cutting areas that the Cub Cadet might only be able do going up hill. I think the Cub Cadet is a fine machine for level ground, but consider that issue and the lay of your land before you buy it to maintain your yard.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Durable, Great Engine
Cons: not ideal for up hill cutting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>