728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 22 in. 159 cc Gas Walk-Behind String Trimmer

22 in. 159 cc Gas Walk-Behind String Trimmer

The Cub Cadet high performance 159 cc OHV engine is equipped with an AutoChoke system that eliminates the need to prime the engine prior to starting. Cub Cadet’s unique deck design allows you to trim right up against fence lines, posts and other obstacles
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(92 reviews) 92
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product82 of 90reviews
Rating Breakdown 92 reviews
4.5 out of 5
5
(67)
4
(15)
3
(3)
2
(3)
1
(4)
Features 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
91%of customersrecommend this product82 of 90reviews
Customer questions and answers:
24 Questions | 76 Answers
Customer reviews for 22 in. 159 cc Gas Walk-Behind String Trimmer
Review 1 for 22 in. 159 cc Gas Walk-Behind String Trimmer
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

They should have called this the WEEDINATOR

PostedJune 18, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
A picture is worth a thousand words...............
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 22 in. 159 cc Gas Walk-Behind String Trimmer
from West
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fantastic!

PostedMay 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was torn between this model and the Husqvarna ..
I went with the Cub Cadet St100 because it was already in stock at the local Home Depot.
I love this thing! Like others have mentioned it is a beast! I have tackled hillsides with 4 foot tall brush! the trick is not to ram the thing into the tall stuff just let the spinning line cut it down to size!
I love the metal base, it has withstood the abuse and is still in good shape! You wont be dissapointed with this Cub Cadet! Just be sure to get some extra line, you can get the neon yellow Rhino .155 trimmer line that comes with the built in cutter also at Home Depot.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Small Turn Radius, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 22 in. 159 cc Gas Walk-Behind String Trimmer
from Wausau, WI
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy Starting, Simple Height Adjustment and Fast String Changes. Quality Construction, Powerful Engine.

PostedApril 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Who doesn't love that classic Cub Cadet yellow! Cub Cadet has a winner with this 22" walk behind string trimmer.
If you have to cut a lot of tall grass, thick weeds or even trim a long fence line, the edge of a pond or ditch, this is the tool you want. Have any area you need cut, but know it would tear up and stall out a regular lawn mower due to obstructions or uneven terrain? Afraid to take your lawn tractor down by the water's edge? That is where a walk behind trimmer excels.
Out of the box it assembles in seconds. If you can even call it "assembly". You take it out of the box, flip the handle up and use the finger screws to hold the handle in one of the three adjustable positions. Fill it with the included 20 ounces of 10w30 oil and all that's left is to gas it up (regular gas, no oil added) and start using it.
It starts like any regular lawn mower. Hold down the safety lever on the handle, give the pull cord a good yank and it's running. The sure start guarantee means no choking or priming. if it ever fails to start in one or two pulls Cub Cadet will fix it while under warranty. Lovely.
Using the Cub Cadet in the field or yard is as simple as it gets. First decide how high you want the cut to be made. It's infinitely adjustable between 1 3/4" high all the way to 4 inches, and anywhere in between. Adjustments take seconds using only two wing nuts. Loosen the nuts, slide the hub to the height you want and retighten. That's all it takes.
Changing string when needed is done with ease. Cub Cadet includes six pairs of string, and you can buy more at Home Depot either in pre-cut sections or by the spool. It is not expensive. We've done three runs of 400 feet of fence, both sides, and cut down last years growth of perennials and aren't in need of changing the first set of line yet. The string does not bump feed or get spooled inside the hub like smaller trimmer, it is attached in short sections to the hub and is changed manually when it gets too short to be effective.
Cutting with the machine is smooth and reliable. The extra large wheels roll over just about anything and don't get all bound up with the clippings. Because you have both hands on the handle, you can get very close and precise with cuts in corners, along the bottom of fencing, or close up to trees.
Make sure you wear eye protection. The trimmer has very large debris guards, but stuff still flies around as to be expected. Walk into the area you want cut and the machine will take down any type of grass and weeds you want it to handle. It's not made for thick brush, but I was able to trim off some smaller lilac shoots that I didn't see at first. If you hear the engine start to bog down because it's getting into some really gnarly stuff, just back up a foot, let it rev back up and go back to attacking the grass.
Any kind of serious grass clearing and trimming can be accomplished with this Cub Cadet walk behind style trimmer. It saves your back on big jobs compared to a hand held trimmer and it does the job light years faster as well.
Maintenance is easy, the oil drain hole is at the bottom of the dipstick. Make sure you use 20 ounces of 10w30 oil. The drive belt can be changed if needed without much trouble, and as I mentioned about the string the replacements can be purchased as needed from Home Depot.
Overall a great machine for heavy duty trimming tasks that will give us many years of reliable performance. Cub Cadet gives this a full three year warranty along with their sure start guarantee described above.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store, oil and air filter easy to change
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+38points
39out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 22 in. 159 cc Gas Walk-Behind String Trimmer
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The most ruthless and powerful trimmer

PostedMay 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the most ruthless and powerful trimmer I have ever owned. From 2 foot tall straw to ½” thick shrub, it trimmed my property line without any struggle what so ever in least amount of time.
1/8” thick line combined with 159cc engine makes it a super duty machine. Design and operation is very similar to walk behind mower but instead of blades, it has trimmer line. This in fact has reduced my cost of sharpening/changing the blades. Trimmer line is cheaper, lasts longer and very easy to replace.
It ships fully assembled; you just have to unfold the handle which takes about 30 seconds. The starting is great and needs no prime. If you want to keep the starting trouble free then use non-ethanol gasoline and your tool will start like a breeze.
I have consumed 3 gas tanks to date and I had no disappointments as far as trimming capability is concerned.
The problem comes with its metal ball under the deck that is supposed to help it move easily with additional help from its 14” wheels. In my experience, it constantly gets stuck on uneven terrain unless I lift the front a little bit while moving forward. And if I trim while the front is lifted, I never get an even cut. I must say that a wheel on the front would've been much better option than a metal ball. Other than that, it’s a great brand, comes with great warranty and literally trims everything in its path without any trouble.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Cons: front globe create friction in uneven terrain
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+30points
32out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 22 in. 159 cc Gas Walk-Behind String Trimmer
from Springfield MO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Trimmer From Cub-Cadet!

PostedMay 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought this for my girlfriend so we could use it in her backyard which has some pretty tough grass and weeds. Un-boxed this and I was up and trimming in less than 5 minutes. Just unfolded the handles, added the included oil and then put gas in. Line was already installed so it couldn't be easier.
This thing is a beast! Cut through everything I could throw at! - Starts on first or second pull every time and the string is so much easier to change than a conventional unit. We are very pleased with this trimmer!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 22 in. 159 cc Gas Walk-Behind String Trimmer
from CLOVIS, CA.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

MY FAVORITE PURCHASE FROM YOUR STORE.

PostedMay 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
MY PUSH ROTORY WEED EATER IS SO LIGHT YET SO TOUGH ON WEEDS AND BRUSH. I AM UNABLE TO LIFT EVEN THE LIGHTEST WEED EATER AND AM SO PLEASED WITH HOW EASY IT IS FOR ME TO USE THIS. I HAVE ALREADY RECOMMENDED THIS TO TWO OTHER CUSTOMERS AT THE STORE I BOUGHT IT FROM. THIS IS PERFECT FOR ANY OLDER PERSON WHO WANTS TO BE ABLE TO STILL TAKE CARE OF HIS YARD WITH NO WEEKEND WARRIOR ACHES AND PAINS AFTERWARDS.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Mulches Well, Light Weight, Easy to Store
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 22 in. 159 cc Gas Walk-Behind String Trimmer
from Alabaster, AL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product, would recommend!

PostedMay 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
First of all, I want to say that I read all of the reviews on this model and had been looking at an Echo Bearcat WT190 as well. The Echo was going to cost me $550 and was similar in construction. Since I get a Veterans Discount at Home Depot, that dropped the price down on the Cub Cadet to $300. So, for almost half the price, I couldn't go wrong.
-- Pulled out of the box, no assembly required other than the wing nuts on the handle
-- Filled with the included oil ( nice.... ) and Gas
-- Pulled the chord, and fired on the first pull! ( No priming or choking needed, has built in auto-choke )
-- Nice construction on the "ball" that it rides on, as it is steel and not plastic
-- Easy to change the line, and adjust the cut height
--Offset trimmer head makes getting close to flower beds and fences/walls easy
Used it for about 10 minutes, and during that time it was a beast. Cuts right through small bushes, and does an excellent job. It is nicely balanced due to the large wheels, so it is really easy to use. We have several areas on our property that have a lot of rocks and I was tired of eating up lawnmower blades. Hope this helps someone that is looking.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Powerful
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 22 in. 159 cc Gas Walk-Behind String Trimmer
from Atascadero, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this to clear a 1/2 acre of fox tails and other weeds. It worked great, started on the first pull, and took everything I could dish out. It will get plenty of use over the next several years.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 22 in. 159 cc Gas Walk-Behind String Trimmer
from Minnesota, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

powerful!!!

PostedMay 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Got this to keep the trails clear at the cabin, but tried it out at home first. The first time used - first pull it was running. No priming needed, no effort on the pull, just a normal pull and bang, it was running. The slide on the front is nice and slides very easily. it was very easy to adjust the height of the trimmer with no tools. I used it along a chain link fence which usually destroys my trimmer line, and other than a hard pull to the side, this thing didn't even slow down, and didn't even break a line. Very much overkill for an average yard, but will be GREAT for the thick brush I'm planning on using it for.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Cuts Well, Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 22 in. 159 cc Gas Walk-Behind String Trimmer
from Northern California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Machine

PostedJune 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Removed trimmer from BOX, flipped up the handle, tightened the two wing nuts, added the oil, filled the unit with gas....... started first pull, cleared an acre of high grass and manzanita in no time. Lot was littered with small decaying oak branches, no problem. Found the unit to be very manuverable. It seems light , easy to push cuts like crazy. Easy to replace the strings that were provided with the unit. Great for cutting grass in V ditches. I am not sure what kind of motor is on the unit, it runs great and it is very quiet. Much better than my old trimmer with the Briggs and Stratton with the funky gas bulb.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Mulches Well, Light Weight, Easy to Store
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 22 in. 159 cc Gas Walk-Behind String Trimmer
from San Antonio TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Trimmer

PostedFebruary 14, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Worked well and easy to set up out of the box. I liked how easy the mower was to maneuver and that it could get so close to the fence line, really would only need a weed whacker in areas that this thing wont fit. It definitely took down the long thick grass without a problem. On the down side it is hard to get a nice even cut look...even if there's no potholes where your cutting and the string is not carried at my local home depot...have to special order.
Pros: Sturdy, Small Turn Radius
Cons: string not carried at local home depot
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 22 in. 159 cc Gas Walk-Behind String Trimmer
from NE WA state/Northern Idaho
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

INCREDIBLE!

PostedJune 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I drove eighty miles roundtrip to get it, its yellow, its powerful yet easy to operate, starts easy, didn't leave me with much vibration in my hands.....and I need a tractor with a rake to clean up the results left behind!! What is it?!? A Cub Cadet Walk Behind Weed Trimmer! Yes, we had to put a balance on our home depot account, but with drought, fire danger, and some weeds up to my neck, safety made it essential!
That's what I posted on Facebook!
Now....we live on 10 acres in extreme NW WA state. We were gone for almost a month and in that time there was record rainfall followed by record high temps! When we returned, we not only had a forest of trees, we had a jungle of weeks. As we are just finishing up building our home, we don't actually have a LAWN at this point, but we have lots to cut.
I suffered a life-changing injury just over three years ago leaving me with a back and one foot permanently damaged. Its normally difficult or impossible for me to do a pull start on anything. This Cub started on the first pull and off I went! Although not self-propelled, it moves right along at a perfect pace. If turns on a dime and pulls back with ease.
I just can't believe it took us this long to buy such an economical and easy to use, crucial tool for our place.
THANKS!!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Small Turn Radius, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 22 in. 159 cc Gas Walk-Behind String Trimmer
from Heber City, UT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love my Cub Cadet Wheel String Trimmer

PostedJuly 15, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this after reading reviews of different brands. My old Sears trimmer fell apart. This Cub Cadet Trimmer is easy to start and easy to use. I have a lot of tall grass (weeds) and this trimmer went through several string changes in the beginning because everthing was so long. We have 4.5 acres so now that it is cleaned up, the string lasts a lot longer. I am a female and a senior but I find this trimmer very easy for me to use. I recommend it.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Store
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 22 in. 159 cc Gas Walk-Behind String Trimmer
from Carrizo Springs, Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

research before you make a final decision

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First time I used the trimmer it worked without any flaws, it cut down the rugged Texas grass without a strain. When I went back to use it for the second time the machine would start and die out after a few seconds. I drained the fuel and added a fuel additive, trimmer still would not turn on. I've had to control the fuel flow manually, but once I can get it to warmed up it stays on and does an excellent job of cutting knee high grass. It has been frustrating and this is the reason why I find it difficult to use. I have had to rely on my 8 year old troybilt walk behind trimmer that has lived up to it name and keeps on going.
Pros: Cuts Well
Cons: Difficult to Use
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 22 in. 159 cc Gas Walk-Behind String Trimmer
from Beautiful Coastal Washington State
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Rugged Trimmer

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This walk-behind string trimmer is equipped to do some pretty tough clearing. However, in my opinion, it has two large draw backs. The gas tank could use some kind of a filler gauge - the tank is quite small (surprisingly so) and the tank is black causing you to over fill and spill fuel over the body of the trimmer. And, the real pain in the neck, the trimmer is not equipped to idle!! When running the trimmer you must restart after letting up on the control lever - which means that every time you want to move something out of the way or even take a short breather the trimmer will need to be pull started. A big inconvenience to me - a deal breaker for my wife!
Pros: Cuts Well, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Store
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 22 in. 159 cc Gas Walk-Behind String Trimmer
from NY
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good for Fences and edging not so much mowing

PostedMay 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This is great for long fences lines and edging a large area, I used this on a 1.2 acre lot of grass that's enclosed with a wire fence. Doing the edges and tall grass was easy to do with the the Cub, However for the center of the lawn it was struggling where the land was uneven. I would find that the "ball" will tend to ride into the ground and the end result will be an uneven cut. When the "ball" goes into a low spot it will also become hard to push until you push down and allow the front of the mower to rise.
The Mower has a belt driven spindle with 2 poly lines that are the blades. The blades are surprisingly very strong and showed little signs of wear after use. They do send extra blades in the box.
Setup was easy I was mowing 15 minutes after unboxing. You bolt the handle and the pull cord, add oil and you are off!!
Adjusting the "ball height" is fairly easy, you loosen 2 wing nuts and adjust the height of the cut you desire.
Overall this is a nice mower that can potentially replace your standard mower and edge trimmer.
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, All In One, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 22 in. 159 cc Gas Walk-Behind String Trimmer
from Canyon Country, Santa Clarita, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

My back feels better already!

PostedAugust 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Could not be easier to operate. No clutch, no throttle, no choke,(automatic), no line feeder. Starts on the first pull, cuts a 22 inch path. Uses 1/8 inch square line, which is a snap to replace, and lasts a long time. Trimmer head is offset to the left, so you can get in tight to a wall or fence. Height is easily adjusted. Best of all, you just walk behind it, you don't have to hold it up and swing it back and forth. 4 cycle engine has plenty of power for thick grass and weeds. Easily clears any area in 1/2 the time of a shafted string trimmer. Only caveat: you need to be careful on uneven ground; if a wheel dips into a depression, the trimmer will dig into the soil.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 22 in. 159 cc Gas Walk-Behind String Trimmer
from Kaw Lake, Oklahoma
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Good Product

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very easy to assemble. Started as advertised. First pull. Have only used it twice, but very impressed.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Store
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 22 in. 159 cc Gas Walk-Behind String Trimmer

Love it!

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Started up on the first pull. Very easy to use and did a great job.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 22 in. 159 cc Gas Walk-Behind String Trimmer
from Western Pa.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cub Cadet trimmer

PostedJuly 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought this walk behind trimmer to mow a large wet area in my back yard that I can't access with my riding mower. I've mowed that area 3 times so far and I 'm very happy with the results.
I bought the walk behind because I have a heart condition that made it very hard for me to use my walk behind mower. The 14 inch wheels on this trimmer makes it very easy to push and it's much lighter than the self propelled mower. It starts on the first pull.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Great Engine, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: none
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>