728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Log Splitters or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 22-Ton Gas Log Splitter

22-Ton Gas Log Splitter

The DHT 196 cc 22-Ton Gas Log Splitter features a Kohler SH265 engine that produces 6.5HP for powerful vertical and horizontal wood splitting. This gas log splitter also features log catchers standard and a 10.9 second cycle time for lightning fast splitting. The auto return and adjustable detent also come standard. The DHT 22-Ton log splitter is road towable for easy mobility factory equipped with 2 in. coupler and safety chains. Like all DHT tools, this log splitter is ready to go to work.
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product8 of 8reviews
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
5.0 out of 5.0
5
(8)
4
(0)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Features 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Quality 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product8 of 8reviews
Customer reviews for 22-Ton Gas Log Splitter
Review 1 for 22-Ton Gas Log Splitter
from Bellevue, NE
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is better than Popcorn

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Not only was this easy to put together, and better than renting one from your local equipment rental. It not only cut through the very large blocks of wood, weighing a good 300 to 350 lbs and a good 3 ft or better around. My son said the first time we used it that he would work until it ran out of gas. He ran out of energy and complained unlike other splitters we had rented this wouldn't run out of gas. I can't say enough good things about this machine. Except Kudos to them. It is worth every penny and then some. In two sessions we cleared the upper yard of wood, now I have the wood from three trees in the lower yard to do. I am confident that this will take less time and easier than in the past. I am happy I purchased this machine and you will be too. Whether its vertical or horizontal, it made short work . I no longer have to split wood with a splitting maul, which I have done since 1980
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Store
Cons: it doesn't come with the hydraulic fluid or oil
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 22-Ton Gas Log Splitter

The SHIZEL!!!

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This thing works like crazy! Split a cord of hickory and oak today, split it like butter, never strained the purring like kitten Koehler engine. Super fast shipping. Absolutely stupid proof instructions! EZ assembly! Did it by my self in an hour. Buy it you will NOT regret it.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 22-Ton Gas Log Splitter
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

replacement of first unit

PostedApril 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Got a replacement splitter after the first one had motor problems, and it works well
Most impressive was the customer service from dirty hands they called me after I wrote a not so good review on my first unit. And they tried making it good. Even rushed the replacement unit.
If customer service stays this concerned about a bad review and continues helping customers the way they helped me, even if the price is a little higher.
I will be looking for more of their products. Because customer service counts.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Easy to Store
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 22-Ton Gas Log Splitter
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Not love at first sight

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Has to replace my Ariens 22-Ton log splitter and they were out of stock thus I purchased this model as it was similar, same price and 22-ton and so on.
Arrives in 3 pieces and no fluid's engine oil or hydraulic fluid... hoses not attached... no teflon tape and so on. Once you get past the assembly (easy if you have an extra set of hands as its solid as heck) and get past the fact that they tell you to put 20 oz of 10-30 oil in the engine (took 14 ounces and 6 ounces on the driveway) then they tell you to put 5 gallons of hydraulic fluid before priming the unit which puts a quart or so on the driveway as well ($65 extra in fluids mind you)
You clean up the mess... Then you fire it up with a seriously easy pull, prime it, add a little fluid and you have a "Great" log splitter! Better than expected and several cords of wood later I do in fact LOVE IT!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, love it
Cons: setup was not so fun
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 22-Ton Gas Log Splitter
from Wisconsin
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Value

PostedApril 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good splitter especially for the price. I have used it about 20 times now and it compares favorably to the commercial unit I was renting. It is actually heavier. I have had no problems.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 22-Ton Gas Log Splitter
from wis
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Best splitter for the money

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I looked on the web at a lot of models for several days before deciding on this splitter.I have been splitting oak for two days now and there hasn't been a piece that slowed it down.The Kohler engine took a little bit of getting used to as to how to place the throttle and choke for starting.Now that I have it figured out it's off and running in a couple of pulls.Runs quiet,cycles fast,easy on gas.Heavy duty built and operator friendly.
Pros: Durable, Great Engine, Easy to Use, Sturdy
Cons: none
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 22-Ton Gas Log Splitter
from Twin Cities
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Value I Found

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this unit a couple months ago and have been very impressed. It splits with ease and the Kohler engines are great. Most of the units in the price range use much cheaper engines. I split a lot so the faster cycle time is a great benefit to me. The unit shipped fast from Colorado in a sturdy crate. I'd recommend to anyone.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 22-Ton Gas Log Splitter
from Illinois
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Nice Splitter

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this because of the price of gas to heat and wish I would have got it years ago. This splitter had the fastest cyce time and a Kohler engine. Thats why I picked it and I'm glad I did. It was easy to assemble and arrived in just a few days. I did my homework and found real good reviews on this one.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.