728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Log Splitters or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 28-Ton Gas Log Splitter

28-Ton Gas Log Splitter

The DHT 277 cc 28-Ton Gas Log Splitter features a Kohler CH395 engine that produces 9.5HP for powerful vertical and horizontal wood splitting. This gas log splitter features log catchers standard and a 10.5 second cycle time for maximum productivity. The auto return and adjustable detent also come standard. The DHT 28-Ton log splitter is road towable for easy mobility and comes with 2 in. coupler and safety chains. Like all DHT tools, this log splitter is ready to go to work.
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product9 of 9reviews
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
5.0 out of 5.0
5
(9)
4
(0)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Features 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Quality 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product9 of 9reviews
Customer reviews for 28-Ton Gas Log Splitter
Review 1 for 28-Ton Gas Log Splitter
from Zionsville, pa
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

What a great log splitter

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This log splitter is one of the best I have ever seen or used. I checked out at least 20 different log splitters and decided on this one. Its cycle time is great, the 28 ton splitting force is great, it does not hesitate it just drives the wedge through anything you put on it.
One small modification I made. There is a table/tray that holds the split wood. It is built very strong but it is not big enough. I made it about 6 inches wider and about 18 inches longer. When splitting large logs, 1/2 of the first split lays on the table while you are working on the other half. At times the piece you are splitting will push on the piece on the table and push it off. My extention eliminates the problem.Also the longer length covers the motor to eliminate any wood from dropping on the motor.
If I was to need another splitter I would buy one of these without a second thought.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 28-Ton Gas Log Splitter
from Greenville, Ca
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Dirty Hands Log Splitter

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble. Strong log splitter with a quick cycle time. We have split 6-7 cords of wood and it has been easy. My wife usually is the one splitting the wood, I can't seem to get to use it.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 28-Ton Gas Log Splitter
from Sunbury, OH
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Strong Log Splitter at a Great Price

PostedApril 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I looked at several different brands/styles and did a lot of research for several months before deciding on the 28 ton DHT log splitter. My main reasons for picking this log splitter are listed below.
Cycle Time – 10.5 seconds is fast compared to all the other similar sized models. 5 to 8 seconds might not seem like much, but splitting 100 pieces of wood will take you 8 to 12 minutes longer. Granted, you don’t really need to return the wedge all the way most of the time – but it is still a big time saver.
Force – From what I was able to discern, 28 tons should be strong enough to split anything I am able to roll to or lift onto the splitter. I think 22 tons may have been adequate if all the wood being split was cut and air dried or pretty straight, but that won’t always be the case for me.
Engine – Kohler is a name brand that has a decent reputation and track history. Maybe I am wrong, but I couldn’t get past the feeling for something as demanding as running hydraulics the 5 to 6.5 horsepower engines (22-27 ton units primarily) would struggle too much and not last as long as the larger 9.5 HP engine.
Cost – At the list price, this is competitive with other similar sized units especially since it already includes the log catcher, an add-on for most other brands. Even if you don’t get this particular unit – get a log catcher; I can’t imagine using the splitter without it. Don’t buy one if you can’t get a log catcher and plan to split in the horizontal position which for me was more comfortable.
Fit and Finish – I wasn’t actually able to see this splitter in person before buying, but I did see the 27 ton version and was impressed. Some of the other splitters I considered and was able to see in person seemed more flimsy (none were terrible, just not as good), and not as well thought out (adjustable height jack stand on the tongue, vs. fixed height, for example). I think they were probably more compact, but the engine and hoses seemed more crowded and in the way. I suspect the DHT models are longer than most others but haven't compared the specs.
Made in America - Not every piece, but I don’t think any are 100% US made.
So far I’ve split about a cord and a half consisting of all the rounds I didn’t get around to hand splitting last summer/fall. Some of the rounds I just didn’t get to but most I decided were too knotted to even bother splitting with the sledge/wedge or Fiskars Super Splitter. The DHT splitter was splitting as fast we could stack with about 12 foot from the splitter to the pile. With the two stage pump the ram moves at a higher speed with lower force until it encounters a certain amount of resistance then it slows down and delivers more force in the second stage. Splitting knotted oak, cherry and ash it only had to go to the second stage a handful of times and quickly busted up the piece. I am very happy with this log splitter and think it should last a long time. The wedge has a few scuffs, and the 25 inch ruler (sticker) where you set the logs was a little chewed up but otherwise it still looks brand new.
The packaging was solid, 1/2 inch plywood all around with everything secured, and the assembly was straightforward with clear instructions. I had the unit delivered to the store and then loaded into a pickup. The packaging looks sort of like a coffin and the forklift could only pick it up from the wide side. We had to prop it on 2x4s and have the forklift lift it from the short end to get it in the truck bed. After assembling, some tips that might be helpful are:
Mount the engine after the wheels and bar are mounted so you can secure the bolts easily.
Heat up the clear hose that connects the hydraulic pump to the hydraulic reservoir with a hair dryer to make it more pliable.
Check that the hydraulic filter is tightened before running.
The heaviest part is the beam. Stand it on the bottom plate and back the assembly up to it to attach the hinge pin – but only if you have a way to secure it overhead somehow.
Add some cheap clean oil to the engine and drain before filling with your normal stuff. Luckily I overfilled the oil reservoir because when I drained off the excess, there was a yellow fluid mixed with the oil; I think it was just assembly fluid and probably wouldn’t have hurt anything – but I was glad to get it out before running for five hours (maybe this is spelled out in the Kohler guide, but I didn’t check).
Pros: Powerful
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 28-Ton Gas Log Splitter
from Carolina
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best purchase I have made in a long time

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the best purchase I have made in a long time. We usually buy cords of wood but had some downed trees and wanted to cut and split them. With the price of a cord of wood these days buying a splitter made a lot of sense. After a lot of research and reading reviews on these splitters elsewhere I ordered from Home Depot. The unit arrived within 5 days. The crate is amazing and the unit arrived in perfect shape. Took about 45 min for me and my son to assemble. Filled it with oils and split about 2 cords of wood. Looks like this will last us a long time.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 28-Ton Gas Log Splitter
from N.M.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Splits wood logs with no problem what so ever. Great machine for the price.I recommend it to every one.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Store
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 28-Ton Gas Log Splitter
from Wisconsin
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fastest Splitter I Could Find

PostedJune 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had this thing for a couple weeks now and have been very impressed. It fires right up and splits faster than any splitter I have ever used. I even prefer it to the commercial rental units. It is really heavy so I had to get my neighbor to help me put it together. I am just tickled to death with it and would recommend them at this price to anyone. Great Value and Home Depot was great to work with. Fast shipping too.
Pros: Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 28-Ton Gas Log Splitter
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

log splitter

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Hey. It was easy to put together. It work better then we thought. We really like it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 28-Ton Gas Log Splitter
from Between Greenville and McKenney Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does what it says it will do.

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good wood splitter, has handled everything I've put in it. Only negative is the gas shut off and chock are plastic levers. Would have liked metel. Other than that, very happy with it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Store
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 28-Ton Gas Log Splitter
from Southeastern Wisconsin
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great log splitter

PostedSeptember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Product came well crated to prevent accidental damage. Easy to assemble. Starts easy. I have not had any problem with performance. Has split everything I have put under the wedge.
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.