728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Paint Buckets & Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Mold Test Kit 1-Room Kit

Mold Test Kit 1-Room Kit

Finally a Mold Test Kit that tests for mold exactly like the professionals do. My Mold Detective’s Mold Test Kit utilizes spore trap air cassettes to sample for mold in your breathable air. Same technology used in schools, hospitals, elderly living facilities and nurseries. My Mold Detective’s Mold Test Kit is not another petri dish mold testing kit, that uses outdated technology and delivers unreliable results, it is a professional grade product engineered to provide a simple 3-step Do-It-Yourself process. Now you can stop ignoring the musty odors, allergic reactions and occupant complaints and give the air you breath the attention it deserves. Feature: Re-usable 15 l Air Pump which collects measurable quantity of air (not an unreliable petri dish that uses gravity) Benefit: Consumer test results are identical to what Indoor Air Quality (IAQ) Professionals receive when testing in homes, hospitals and schools. Feature: Kit includes 2 air sample cassettes. Benefit: Used for comparing indoor air quality with the outdoor air quality which is the same method used by all IAQ professionals. Feature: Kit includes 1 tape Lift sample. Benefit: Used for testing mold suspected surfaces – identify what is growing on walls, ceilings, vents, furniture or personal property. Feature: Spore trap air cassettes technology. Benefit: Measures not only for the presence of mold but also the concentration levels of mold on a microscopic, spore-size level. Note: Additional Lab Fees Required.
Overall rating:
4.167 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product9 of 11reviews
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
4.2 out of 5
5
(8)
4
(1)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product9 of 11reviews
Customer reviews for Mold Test Kit 1-Room Kit
Review 1 for Mold Test Kit 1-Room Kit
from Alamogordo, New Mexico
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Professional results

PostedMay 6, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
As other reviews mentioned, the cost of the machine is incidental compared to the cost of the lab report.. After receiving an official report of elevated levels of mold from a testing facility, we decided to try remediation ourselves. After the work was done, I decided to try a less costly pre-test before spending hundreds more for the official post remediation test. I felt confident that we had removed the problem and the mold detective test confirmed my feelings with a "normal" and acceptable level. Next we ordered the official test to be done. Unfortunately, the results came back adverse; the levels were elevated and unacceptable. I compared their results to the mold detective results and found a few anomalies. My first mistake was believing I could use only the two cartridges and 1 surface tape test to duplicate the test facilities evaluation. They test the air in each room and surface test all suspected areas without regard to price. Had I used the number of test cartridges and tape surface tests they did, the cost of testing would approach that of their test. The final summation is it cost me money in the end since it was not complete for what it should do...test a whole house. I suggest buying the extra cartridges before doing any testing or your results may not be accurate. This should be made clear, up front, when printing the sales literature. On the positive side, the results of the test are presented nearly identical to the professional test done and the accuracy of the samples tested can be trusted as accurate.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Looks High End, Modern
Cons: not enough cartridges and tape tests
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Mold Test Kit 1-Room Kit
from Roswell, Ga
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product Very User Friendly

PostedMay 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I definitely recommend this product! The step by step instructions were clear and easy to follow. The air pump automatically turns off so I didn't have to time it or worry about forgetting to turn it off. I'm very glad that I chose My Mold Detective!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Mold Test Kit 1-Room Kit

works well but be prepared to pay more for results

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
be aware, you have to initially invest in the kit then spend around another $100 to have the results analyzed. it was an easy process though.
Pros: Easy to Use
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mold Test Kit 1-Room Kit
from Connecticut
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked as anticipated

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Unit worked fine. Sampling fee is a little steep, but I knew that going in from other reviews.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mold Test Kit 1-Room Kit
from Atlanta, GA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fast, accurate, and affordable! Saved me hundreds or even thousands!

PostedSeptember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I just used My Mold Detective to uncover some suspicions in my home and would highly recommend the system. The super easy and convenient system was fast, accurate, and affordable and provided me a complete report when I registered online that I could understand! The remediation company was able to utilize the results, and provide his recommendations based on the test saving days and money by not requiring me to contract with a company to test the house. I'll definitely be recommending the system to my friends and family and using in future homes to make sure I’m keeping my family safe. Great work My Mold Detective!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Modern
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Mold Test Kit 1-Room Kit
from Oregon

Repot was very confusing

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The report we received was very confusing, footnotes don't seem to match the numbers on our report. There is a footnote number 19 but only 10 footnotes. Will have to call the lab to find out if we have mold or not. It's supposed to be $35.00 to test a room but you also have to do a test outdoors which is an additional $35.00. Will probably have to pay a company to do another test. We didn't get any report on the tape strip that was sent in.
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mold Test Kit 1-Room Kit

Excellent & Easy to Use Product

PostedFebruary 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
While the price of the machine and sample testing is hefty, it is well worth the investment. Within a week of time, we got our results and a support specialist explained to us what they meant. We got enough leverage to convince our landlord to start remedying the mold issue.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mold Test Kit 1-Room Kit
from Atlanta
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

BUYERS BEWARE

PostedJune 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Do Not do Business with this company. 1st off this will give you absolutely no results what so ever unless you send another $105 for the lab to test it. They sent my results via E-mail from an Email address that I had never seen and my computer sent it to junk which was auto deleted. There was no follow up what so ever to make sure I received it. Customer Service was NO help at all, it was escalated to the CEO and I still never received any resolution. I did eventually receive my results though to late for me as I had moved out of the house. Absolutely nothing was done about there , IMO, inadequate delivery method accept for the comment that this is the digital age and I should have done better on my end.... BEWARE
-2points
11out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mold Test Kit 1-Room Kit
from Atlanta, Georgia
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Amazing Mold Tester

PostedOctober 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Finally a mold tester that I can use that works. I would highly recommend this to anyone out there who thinks that they might have mold in their home. It works better and more efficiently than any other product I've tried. The whole process from A to Z is really easy and I love how My Mold Detective keeps helping me after I've completed testing in my home. Their website guides you through the whole process and the customer service is outstanding. Trust me, don't waste money or time on the little dishes they sell claiming accurate results. My Mold Detective is the best.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Looks Great
0points
12out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mold Test Kit 1-Room Kit
from Fort Lauderdale, FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Produc

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Phenomenal product that gives you the peace of mind that your family is safe from mold.
Pros: Easy Instructions, Good Protection
+3points
11out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Mold Test Kit 1-Room Kit
from Southwest Ranches, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

FABULOUS! Professional grade mold test for homeowners

PostedNovember 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This mold test kit actually works and its fast, only 5 minutes to test a room. My Mold Detective's mold testing DIY kit is so easy to use. The lab analysis is easy to understand and comes with a professional opinion and guidance on next steps in dealing with the mold problem. I've tried to use other Petri-dish mold testing products and the lab results were useless. Great product and great customer service.
Pros: Easy to Use, professional grade testing method
-7points
7out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mold Test Kit 1-Room Kit
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

My Mold Detective was easy to use and provided us a safe way to get a true air quality and mold test.

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
In looking for a product to test the air quality in our home My Mold Detective was the only one that made sense. Other mold test kits just sit on you counter and I am not sure how that can truly test the quality of your air or whether you have mold or not. This products sucks your rooms air through a spore cartridge that is mailed to a lab to be tested. Test takes 5 minutes per room and pump is easy to use.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use
-6points
2out of 10found this review helpful.