728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Furniture Paint, Faux Finishes & Craft Paint or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Americana Decor 16 oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish

Americana Decor 16 oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish

Achieving a vintage, time-worn look is simple if you start with the right paint.  With Americana Decor Chalky Finish paint, creating beautiful home decor and furniture pieces does not require skills or hours of training.  Make store-bought pieces or flea market finds look like they came from a European estate sale or a French countryside cottage by using Americana Decor Chalky Finish paint.
Overall rating:
3.55 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(40 reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
59%of customersrecommend this product23 of 39reviews
Rating Breakdown 40 reviews
3.5 out of 5
5
(18)
4
(4)
3
(7)
2
(4)
1
(7)
Quality 
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
Value 
3.3 out of 5
3.3 out of 5
59%of customersrecommend this product23 of 39reviews
Customer reviews for Americana Decor 16 oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish
Review 1 for Americana Decor 16 oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish

Awesome!!

PostedMay 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used this paint to distress a dresser and I was very impressed! No priming and very easy to work with and clean up! Colors are also mixable so that's a plus!
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Americana Decor 16 oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish
from Sacramento, California
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Comparable to Annie Sloan Chalk Paint. Amazing value and a superior product!

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have used the pricey Annie Sloan Chalk Paint for several project and while it worked great I did not like the price or that I had to go to a specialty store to purchase it. I was thrilled when I learned the Home Depot was carrying the American chalk paint brand. I decided to try it out when re-purposing a "dress up" armoire for my daughter.
As advertised, I did not have to do any priming or sanding. I easily applied 3 coats of this thick and luxurious paint and my final product was amazing. It also distressed beautifully. I am never buying Annie Sloan again!
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+75points
78out of 81found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Americana Decor 16 oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish
from Brookhaven, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I love this paint!

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This paint is easy to use because you don't have to sand the furniture before applying. I hate sanding. I wanted a distressed look so I used petroleum jelly in the places where I wanted the paint to sand off easily. The only problem I had was that my cat walked on the table when the paint was wet right where I put the petroleum jelly and lifted the paint off making a perfect paw print. That little print gives the table character and can be my custom signature. Painting was easy. I can't wait to paint more furniture and try different colors. If I paint the kitchen table outside at night when the raccoons come out..........oh just think of the possibilities.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+73points
75out of 77found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Americana Decor 16 oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish
from Ashburn, VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great chalk paint

PostedJune 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am fairly new at chalk painting. I have painted a buffet table, dining room table, 2 benches and now working on bathroom cabinets. I used AS chalk paint for the buffet table which was quite expensive. Americana Decor paint is GREAT and is 1/2 the cost. It also lasts much longer than you think because it is fairly thick compared to AS, so I mix it with a bit of water and voila, I get the same consistency and the paint lasts longer because you are mixing it. Unfortunately, if you are excited to get started, be aware that Home Depot does not stock in stores, you have to buy it online. Free shipping if you ship to store.
Pros: Even Application, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Americana Decor 16 oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish
from Batavia, Illinois
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Value

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The Americana Décor brand does exactly what the more expensive boutique chalk paints do. Great coverage, and great finish. Only complaint would be that they only offer the smaller size of the product in store and judging by how quickly it seems to sell out - would be a great product to have more of! Also - store has very limited colors...the on line paint chart colors were not a good match to actual color. All I can say is carry the full line in store in all the colors!!!
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Americana Decor 16 oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish
from Alabama
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good value for the price

PostedAugust 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've done a lot of furniture refinishing using annie sloan chalk paints, but I decided to give this a try on some thrift store finds for our nursery. I was pleasantly surprised. I do think it took a few more coats than the ASCP would have, and isn't quite as smooth & creamy, but it got the job done. Was easy to distress. I used a combination of annie sloan soft wax and minwax to seal the piece once painted and distressed. I'll be purchasing again for the rest of the nursery projects.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Apply, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+21points
22out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Americana Decor 16 oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish
from North Bend, WA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Value and great product to keep on hand!

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have actually done a painting project with the original more expensive brand of this same product. They are both very comparable and I would not hesitate to buy this product again. I have actually made another order already! Note, the wax is totally different than the big brands wax. It's runny. It's not bad at all just different... It works fine. Love this paint for furniture, picture frames...anything! Keep this on hand for an instant make over in your home! The photo is my child's toddler bed, I painted it white from black!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+23points
25out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Americana Decor 16 oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish

Wonderful Paint!

PostedOctober 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I recently used this paint to transform our bathroom vanity. Coverage was great and brush strokes are non-existent! Love the color too! I will definitely be using again!
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+54points
57out of 60found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Americana Decor 16 oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish
from Charleston WV
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fabulous Paint!

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This paint went on directly over finished furniture with no sanding or stripping - it was so easy and I loved the matte finish. I used the crème finish over the paint and it was just enough sheen. I saved $1000 on buying a new hutch.
Pros: Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks High End
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+15points
19out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Americana Decor 16 oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish
from CT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

White needed many coats

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
White needed many coats to get full coverage. If I was distressing the furniture, then I would need many less coats. However, I wanted a solid white color. Wood did bleed through in a few spots. I'm a beginner, so it's very possible I did something wrong.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy Instructions, Easy to Clean, Good Protection, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+19points
23out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Americana Decor 16 oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish
from Pleasant Hill,CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Love this paint

PostedJune 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have used several colors of this paint. I paint furniture for resale. I'm so happy someone took the guess work out of picking a good shade of paint. Home Depot offers only the best shade of each color making it easier to pick a good color. All the colors I have used look really good on furniture. I also use the dark and clear waxes. The directions were very easy to follow. The paint covers very well. Most times I don't need to use a spray primer. It usually covers in one or two coats. This paint is as good as or better than the chalky paints sold in specialty shops, and it is less expensive. I wish Home Depot would sell the larger size containers in the store. There were only a few small sample size colors in the store. I think more would sell if Home Depot had a nice fully stocked display. I had to ask an employee if they carried chalk type paint. I was disappointed there were so few colors in the store to choose from.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly, great color selection
Cons: large cantainers of paint not sold in store, limited colors sold in store
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Americana Decor 16 oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice Alternative

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought this chalk paint as an alternative to the popular Annie Sloan chalk paint. I had already purchased some AS before, but didn't like that I had to order online and couldn't really tell what the colors were (every screen is different!). This arrived much faster since it came from my local Home Depot, which was so nice. The picture shows the paint in a can, but it came in a plastic tub with a screw on cap. As user -friendly as that seems I actually prefer the normal paint tins better (had some splash back when first opening the cap!). As far as the paint quality, it's as expected. To be honest, you're paying almost as much as you would for AS since you're getting half the quantity. The big upside is shipping is less expensive with Home Depot. I ordered the everlasting white color and it's definitely a bright white! It's exactly what I wanted. I painted over my AS old white paint on a nightstand. One coat worked just fine. Dries very quickly. Love that about chalk paint :-)
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Dries Quickly, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Americana Decor 16 oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish
from Naperville, IL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Terrible Paint- do not buy!

PostedApril 11, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We purchased this paint after reading many great reviews on chalk paint. First, this paint is very difficult to get smooth, and we followed very precise instructions. Second, it doesn't cover anywhere near as much surface area as it promises to, which means I am out of paint and my project is still not finished (one tall bookshelf needed two cans of this paint). I wish I would have spent half the money and just bought a nice can of regular paint.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Americana Decor 16 oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish

Sticking with Annie Slian

PostedJanuary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
It's good but not as good . I originally thought it was a lot cheaper but the $16 cans are half the size of the $35 AS quarts. So for a $3 difference it's not worth it.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Americana Decor 16 oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish
from Akron, Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy, Easy, Easy!

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have never painted furniture in my life and this was the easiest paint to use. I painted a bedroom suite that had cosmetic damage. It looks like a professional painted it! I can't believe how easy it was to paint with this product. It is marvelous. I used a synthetic paint brush and left some brush strokes. When I used the dark creme wax, the brush strokes created such a wonderful look of antiquity, almost like a patina. I used the color Enchanted with the dark wax. Everyone who has seen it so far can't believe how wonderful it looks. They are asking me for info on the product so they can do the same on some of their own furniture. I am already planning another project, just deciding on what color to use.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Americana Decor 16 oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish
from Summerville ga
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The very same look as Anne Sloin paint

PostedJanuary 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have painted several items with Anne's paint. The only difference are the colors she has.
Just wished Home Depot store carried more colors of this paint and larger sizes
Pros: Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Americana Decor 16 oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish

Thicker than expected

PostedJanuary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When I opened the container I was surprised by how thick it was. It was like pudding. Not sure if that's how it's supposed to be. I was expecting it to be more like paint. I applied two coats and it covered decently, but wasn't as easy as everyone has said (due to thickness).
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Americana Decor 16 oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish
from Lynwood, Il
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Please and Will Use Again...and Again...and Again...

PostedMay 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am new to chalk paint but not new to painting furniture or cabinets. I am really pleased with my first project and will be using this paint again for future projects I have planned. This time I did a mirror frame that also has a shelf and side lights. The paint went on very well and dried quickly. I did have a bit of a problem with the wax, but I really do think it is just a learning curve. In the end all turned out well. I looked at all the brand name chalk paints and this is the first one I have tried. But at about 1/3 the cost of the boutique brands of chalk paints I think this is the one that I will continue to use.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Americana Decor 16 oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish
from Bonne Terre, MO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

May be good for a very small project.

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The paint was extremely thick, did not cover nearly the area expected, and was clumpy. We did not finish our project with this product, and purchased Anne Sloan brand.
Pros: Dries Quickly
Cons: difficult to work with, clumpy, small coverage area.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Americana Decor 16 oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish
from flagstaff, az
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

BEST CHALK PAINT EVER!!

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
i've purchased name brand chalk paints and even experimented with making my own. so far, hands down, this is the best i've used. this paint is much more self-leveling than other brands i've tried. the paint and the wax do take a few more minutes to dry than other brands, but i stress....just a few more minutes. the wax, after two coats was exactly the luster i was looking for and there is absolutely no odor. i have painted onto finished wood, didn't prime, and everything turned out beautifully. also, it seems to be about 1/3 less cost than other name brands.
thanks decoArt and home depot for a wonderful product.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
1 2 >>