728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Furniture Paint, Faux Finishes & Craft Paint or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Americana Decor 16-oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish

Americana Decor 16-oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish

Achieving a vintage, time-worn look is simple if you start with the right paint.  With Americana Decor Chalky Finish paint, creating beautiful home decor and furniture pieces does not require skills or hours of training.  Make store-bought pieces or flea market finds look like they came from a European estate sale or a French countryside cottage by using Americana Decor Chalky Finish paint.
Overall rating:
3.381 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
52%of customersrecommend this product11 of 21reviews
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
3.4 out of 5.0
5
(9)
4
(2)
3
(3)
2
(2)
1
(5)
Quality 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
Value 
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9 out of 5
52%of customersrecommend this product11 of 21reviews
Customer reviews for Americana Decor 16-oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish
Review 1 for Americana Decor 16-oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish
from Brookhaven, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I love this paint!

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This paint is easy to use because you don't have to sand the furniture before applying. I hate sanding. I wanted a distressed look so I used petroleum jelly in the places where I wanted the paint to sand off easily. The only problem I had was that my cat walked on the table when the paint was wet right where I put the petroleum jelly and lifted the paint off making a perfect paw print. That little print gives the table character and can be my custom signature. Painting was easy. I can't wait to paint more furniture and try different colors. If I paint the kitchen table outside at night when the raccoons come out..........oh just think of the possibilities.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+19points
20out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Americana Decor 16-oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish
from North Bend, WA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Value and great product to keep on hand!

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have actually done a painting project with the original more expensive brand of this same product. They are both very comparable and I would not hesitate to buy this product again. I have actually made another order already! Note, the wax is totally different than the big brands wax. It's runny. It's not bad at all just different... It works fine. Love this paint for furniture, picture frames...anything! Keep this on hand for an instant make over in your home! The photo is my child's toddler bed, I painted it white from black!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Americana Decor 16-oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish

Wonderful Paint!

PostedOctober 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I recently used this paint to transform our bathroom vanity. Coverage was great and brush strokes are non-existent! Love the color too! I will definitely be using again!
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+36points
37out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Americana Decor 16-oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish
from CT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

White needed many coats

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
White needed many coats to get full coverage. If I was distressing the furniture, then I would need many less coats. However, I wanted a solid white color. Wood did bleed through in a few spots. I'm a beginner, so it's very possible I did something wrong.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy Instructions, Easy to Clean, Good Protection, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Americana Decor 16-oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish
from Charleston WV
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fabulous Paint!

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This paint went on directly over finished furniture with no sanding or stripping - it was so easy and I loved the matte finish. I used the crème finish over the paint and it was just enough sheen. I saved $1000 on buying a new hutch.
Pros: Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks High End
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Americana Decor 16-oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish
from Minnesota
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love the Carbon color

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used many brands of chalk paint and I have never found a nice black color. This paint has a nice rich color. My only complaint was that it looked streaky after I applied clear wax but I added an application of dark wax and that took care of the problem. No brush strokes and a very smooth finish. I have painted 1 large piece and several smaller pieces with one can of paint so a little goes a long way. anxious to try other colors.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Dries Quickly
Cons: a little pricey
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Americana Decor 16-oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish
from Lynwood, Il
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Please and Will Use Again...and Again...and Again...

PostedMay 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am new to chalk paint but not new to painting furniture or cabinets. I am really pleased with my first project and will be using this paint again for future projects I have planned. This time I did a mirror frame that also has a shelf and side lights. The paint went on very well and dried quickly. I did have a bit of a problem with the wax, but I really do think it is just a learning curve. In the end all turned out well. I looked at all the brand name chalk paints and this is the first one I have tried. But at about 1/3 the cost of the boutique brands of chalk paints I think this is the one that I will continue to use.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Americana Decor 16-oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish
from flagstaff, az
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

BEST CHALK PAINT EVER!!

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i've purchased name brand chalk paints and even experimented with making my own. so far, hands down, this is the best i've used. this paint is much more self-leveling than other brands i've tried. the paint and the wax do take a few more minutes to dry than other brands, but i stress....just a few more minutes. the wax, after two coats was exactly the luster i was looking for and there is absolutely no odor. i have painted onto finished wood, didn't prime, and everything turned out beautifully. also, it seems to be about 1/3 less cost than other name brands.
thanks decoArt and home depot for a wonderful product.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Americana Decor 16-oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish
from Ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Better than AS paint!!! And way better price!!

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love this paint! Goes on smooth as silk! Love the price and free shipping too!! I've used MANY brands of chalk paint and this is my favorite.
Pros: Dries Quickly
+18points
20out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Americana Decor 16-oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish
from philly
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

ok...not great

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I just finished painting a walnut secretary and it took nearly 4 small containers. I realized by the 2nd container that this paint performs a lot better, with less crackling if it is diluted maybe 4:1 or 3:1 paint:water. Considering the desk is 80+ years old, poorly sealed and dark, dark walnut...there was little bleed through. I used a roller, light distressed it and used howard feed n wax to seal. Happy but it took at least 4 diluted coats over the first full strength coat. Next time I paint furniture, I will prime, use flat latex and seal with poly.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Americana Decor 16-oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish
from NJ
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Junk!!

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you're considering buying this paint, don't do it! Yes it's cheaper than ASCP. And, it's supposed to be more convenient than mixing your own chalk paint. But it's not! The brush strokes are awful! Horrible horrible brush strokes. After hours of sanding and lots of messy diluting, the brush strokes never went away (I guess no one told the creators of this product that sanding chalk paint is supposed to be easy.) This paint took my simple two-hour sweet dresser project and turned it into a entire daylong battle resulting in a ruined dresser. If you've already bought this paint, don't put it on anything unless you want to risk ruining it. It's much much better to spend the money on ASCP (or any other brand) or mix your own but don't waste your energy on this junk.
Cons: awful brush strokes, poor consistency, difficult to sand
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Americana Decor 16-oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish
from Savannah, GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

As a professional...

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I highly recommend this product. I have used nearly every available brand and this one is definitely one of my favorites. The coverage is amazing and durable. It is easy to use and I love that it is readily available at a decent price to everyone. I recently refinished my bathroom vanity using this product and could not be more satisfied!
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Americana Decor 16-oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish
from Utah

Not quite the chalky paint I'm used to

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was really hoping this product would be comparable to Annie Sloan Chalk Paint. I am a little disappointed. After it dries, it doesn't have quite as much chalkiness as it should. It was a little harder to sand/distress because it had a little more of a "latex" feel. If I were in a pinch I would use it again, but I think I'll stick with Annie Sloan Chalk Paint-even though it's a lot more expensive.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Dries Quickly
Cons: not enough chalk to it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Americana Decor 16-oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish
from United States
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Unfortunately disappointed

PostedJune 20, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The reason I would not recommend is because the color guide online is WAY OFF from what the paint color really is. There is a disclaimer about this on the website and I could accept a slight difference BUT NOT a totally different color. I will likely return 2 or 3 of the 4 I ordered & received. The only way I would say to purchase is if you are able to see the actual colors in person. Also this brand doesn't seem to go a long way like the ASCP does.
Cons: coloring
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Americana Decor 16-oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish
from Chicago, IL

The stinkiest paint ever!

PostedApril 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This paint stinks and takes more than one coat to get the coverage needed. Not really a deal.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Americana Decor 16-oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish
from Lebanon, TN
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

NOT the real thing

PostedApril 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was so excited to learn that Home Depot was now carrying their own version of chalk paint. I've used boutique store bought chalk paints several times and love it, the store location and hours just aren't ideal for me. I was so disappointed with this paint. I've put three coats on a rocking chair and it still looks horrible. I've got to sand off this stuff and redo it with the trusty paint I've always used. I guess if you're new to chalk paint and don't know the difference, this might be fine. But, not for me. It doesn't even compare.
-2points
3out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Americana Decor 16-oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish

Waste of Time and Money

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I painted a large piece of furniture with this product. I had to use five coats and it left very obvious brush strokes, which had to be sanded (something I was trying to avoid by purchasing chalk paint.) I will pay more for the higher quality brands next time.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Dries Quickly
Cons: poor coverage, obvious brush strokes
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Americana Decor 16-oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish
from carlsbad
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Worst Paint EVER

PostedApril 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I would give this zero stars if I could. I am used to buying Annie Sloan Chalk Paint, which gives a wonderful finish, so I was expecting similar results. I was SO wrong - I bought the color "lace" and the paint is very streaky and shows the brush strokes, and I use a very high quality brush that has NEVER shown strokes before. I am on my third coat and the wood is still showing through in places. I don't know how this product got so many good reviews. Those people must not know what good chalk paint is like, because good chalk paint goes on like a dream. DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT; YOU WILL BE SO DISAPPOINTED!! I refurbish furniture for a living and have used many different brands of paint. This is the worst paint I have ever bought.
Cons: streaky, shows brush strokes, wood shows through, dries too quickly
-6points
2out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Americana Decor 16-oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish
from Stoughton
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Americana Decor Chalk paint

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very disappointed with this product. Painted over laminate dressers and it showed the paint brush lines not a smooth finish. I think if you are painting on a oak finish it would be fine not for all products like it states. I refinished my kitchen cabinets prior to this project so am an experienced DIY person would not recommend this product.
Cons: Scratches Easily
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Americana Decor 16-oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks great!

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
This paint looks fantastic! Though I think it's too expensive for the amount they send (I could make this paint myself for much cheaper--it's just regular chalk paint). I would also use primer next time, because it took almost 3 cans of this stuff to cover my whole table. Keep in mind I used white on a wood table, so it took more. I would use it again, though.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
Cons: Scratches Easily
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>