728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Americana Decor 16 oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish

Americana Decor 16 oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish

Achieving a vintage, time-worn look is simple if you start with the right paint.  With Americana Decor Chalky Finish paint, creating beautiful home decor and furniture pieces does not require skills or hours of training.  Make store-bought pieces or flea market finds look like they came from a European estate sale or a French countryside cottage by using Americana Decor Chalky Finish paint.
Overall rating:
3.417 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(36 reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
54%of customersrecommend this product19 of 35reviews
Rating Breakdown 36 reviews
3.4 out of 5
5
(15)
4
(3)
3
(7)
2
(4)
1
(7)
Quality 
3.3 out of 5
3.3 out of 5
Value 
3.1 out of 5
3.1 out of 5
54%of customersrecommend this product19 of 35reviews
Customer reviews for Americana Decor 16 oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish
Review 1 for Americana Decor 16 oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish
from Sacramento, California
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Comparable to Annie Sloan Chalk Paint. Amazing value and a superior product!

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have used the pricey Annie Sloan Chalk Paint for several project and while it worked great I did not like the price or that I had to go to a specialty store to purchase it. I was thrilled when I learned the Home Depot was carrying the American chalk paint brand. I decided to try it out when re-purposing a "dress up" armoire for my daughter.
As advertised, I did not have to do any priming or sanding. I easily applied 3 coats of this thick and luxurious paint and my final product was amazing. It also distressed beautifully. I am never buying Annie Sloan again!
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+56points
57out of 58found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Americana Decor 16 oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish
from Brookhaven, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I love this paint!

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This paint is easy to use because you don't have to sand the furniture before applying. I hate sanding. I wanted a distressed look so I used petroleum jelly in the places where I wanted the paint to sand off easily. The only problem I had was that my cat walked on the table when the paint was wet right where I put the petroleum jelly and lifted the paint off making a perfect paw print. That little print gives the table character and can be my custom signature. Painting was easy. I can't wait to paint more furniture and try different colors. If I paint the kitchen table outside at night when the raccoons come out..........oh just think of the possibilities.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+59points
61out of 63found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Americana Decor 16 oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish
from Batavia, Illinois
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Value

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The Americana Décor brand does exactly what the more expensive boutique chalk paints do. Great coverage, and great finish. Only complaint would be that they only offer the smaller size of the product in store and judging by how quickly it seems to sell out - would be a great product to have more of! Also - store has very limited colors...the on line paint chart colors were not a good match to actual color. All I can say is carry the full line in store in all the colors!!!
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Americana Decor 16 oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish
from Alabama
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good value for the price

PostedAugust 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've done a lot of furniture refinishing using annie sloan chalk paints, but I decided to give this a try on some thrift store finds for our nursery. I was pleasantly surprised. I do think it took a few more coats than the ASCP would have, and isn't quite as smooth & creamy, but it got the job done. Was easy to distress. I used a combination of annie sloan soft wax and minwax to seal the piece once painted and distressed. I'll be purchasing again for the rest of the nursery projects.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Apply, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Americana Decor 16 oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish
from North Bend, WA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Value and great product to keep on hand!

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have actually done a painting project with the original more expensive brand of this same product. They are both very comparable and I would not hesitate to buy this product again. I have actually made another order already! Note, the wax is totally different than the big brands wax. It's runny. It's not bad at all just different... It works fine. Love this paint for furniture, picture frames...anything! Keep this on hand for an instant make over in your home! The photo is my child's toddler bed, I painted it white from black!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+18points
20out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Americana Decor 16 oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish

Wonderful Paint!

PostedOctober 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I recently used this paint to transform our bathroom vanity. Coverage was great and brush strokes are non-existent! Love the color too! I will definitely be using again!
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+50points
52out of 54found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Americana Decor 16 oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish
from Charleston WV
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fabulous Paint!

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This paint went on directly over finished furniture with no sanding or stripping - it was so easy and I loved the matte finish. I used the crème finish over the paint and it was just enough sheen. I saved $1000 on buying a new hutch.
Pros: Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks High End
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
14out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Americana Decor 16 oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish
from CT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

White needed many coats

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
White needed many coats to get full coverage. If I was distressing the furniture, then I would need many less coats. However, I wanted a solid white color. Wood did bleed through in a few spots. I'm a beginner, so it's very possible I did something wrong.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy Instructions, Easy to Clean, Good Protection, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
17out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Americana Decor 16 oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish
from Akron, Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy, Easy, Easy!

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have never painted furniture in my life and this was the easiest paint to use. I painted a bedroom suite that had cosmetic damage. It looks like a professional painted it! I can't believe how easy it was to paint with this product. It is marvelous. I used a synthetic paint brush and left some brush strokes. When I used the dark creme wax, the brush strokes created such a wonderful look of antiquity, almost like a patina. I used the color Enchanted with the dark wax. Everyone who has seen it so far can't believe how wonderful it looks. They are asking me for info on the product so they can do the same on some of their own furniture. I am already planning another project, just deciding on what color to use.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Americana Decor 16 oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish
from Summerville ga
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The very same look as Anne Sloin paint

PostedJanuary 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have painted several items with Anne's paint. The only difference are the colors she has.
Just wished Home Depot store carried more colors of this paint and larger sizes
Pros: Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Americana Decor 16 oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish

Sticking with Annie Slian

PostedJanuary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
It's good but not as good . I originally thought it was a lot cheaper but the $16 cans are half the size of the $35 AS quarts. So for a $3 difference it's not worth it.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Americana Decor 16 oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish
from Lynwood, Il
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Please and Will Use Again...and Again...and Again...

PostedMay 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am new to chalk paint but not new to painting furniture or cabinets. I am really pleased with my first project and will be using this paint again for future projects I have planned. This time I did a mirror frame that also has a shelf and side lights. The paint went on very well and dried quickly. I did have a bit of a problem with the wax, but I really do think it is just a learning curve. In the end all turned out well. I looked at all the brand name chalk paints and this is the first one I have tried. But at about 1/3 the cost of the boutique brands of chalk paints I think this is the one that I will continue to use.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Americana Decor 16 oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish
from Naperville, IL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Terrible Paint- do not buy!

PostedApril 11, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We purchased this paint after reading many great reviews on chalk paint. First, this paint is very difficult to get smooth, and we followed very precise instructions. Second, it doesn't cover anywhere near as much surface area as it promises to, which means I am out of paint and my project is still not finished (one tall bookshelf needed two cans of this paint). I wish I would have spent half the money and just bought a nice can of regular paint.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Americana Decor 16 oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish
from Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointed

PostedJanuary 2, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this because I wanted to start project immediately. Painted a large, built-in desk with upper cabinets. Needed at least 3 coats of this paint and when it dried, there were hundreds of tiny crackles in the paint.......not the look I was trying to achieve. Next time, I ordered Annie Sloan paint from the web and was surprised how beautiful my pieces turned out.
Pros: Dries Quickly
Cons: paint cracks
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Americana Decor 16 oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish

Great Product

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great product at great price! Goes on very smooth.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Americana Decor 16 oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish
from flagstaff, az
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

BEST CHALK PAINT EVER!!

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
i've purchased name brand chalk paints and even experimented with making my own. so far, hands down, this is the best i've used. this paint is much more self-leveling than other brands i've tried. the paint and the wax do take a few more minutes to dry than other brands, but i stress....just a few more minutes. the wax, after two coats was exactly the luster i was looking for and there is absolutely no odor. i have painted onto finished wood, didn't prime, and everything turned out beautifully. also, it seems to be about 1/3 less cost than other name brands.
thanks decoArt and home depot for a wonderful product.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Americana Decor 16 oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish
from Minnesota
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love the Carbon color

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have used many brands of chalk paint and I have never found a nice black color. This paint has a nice rich color. My only complaint was that it looked streaky after I applied clear wax but I added an application of dark wax and that took care of the problem. No brush strokes and a very smooth finish. I have painted 1 large piece and several smaller pieces with one can of paint so a little goes a long way. anxious to try other colors.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Dries Quickly
Cons: a little pricey
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Americana Decor 16 oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish

Thicker than expected

PostedJanuary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When I opened the container I was surprised by how thick it was. It was like pudding. Not sure if that's how it's supposed to be. I was expecting it to be more like paint. I applied two coats and it covered decently, but wasn't as easy as everyone has said (due to thickness).
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Americana Decor 16 oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish
from Ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Better than AS paint!!! And way better price!!

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Love this paint! Goes on smooth as silk! Love the price and free shipping too!! I've used MANY brands of chalk paint and this is my favorite.
Pros: Dries Quickly
+24points
27out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Americana Decor 16 oz. Everlasting Chalky Finish

Great service

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Fast shipping..Haven't used the product....looks great,as described
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>