728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Watering & Irrigation or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose

Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose

Introducing the As Seen on TV Pocket Hose, the garden hose that's small enough to fit in your pocket, then expands automatically to a giant full sized hose. Just turn on the water and watch this mini hose grow to maximum length like magic. Pocket Hose is super lightweight and easy to handle, making it convenient to hang or store anywhere even in your pocket. And, when you turn off the water to the Pocket Hose, it shrinks back to its original mini size, practically putting itself away. Best of all, it never kinks, twists or tangles like ordinary hoses. The secret is Pocket Hose's expandable accordion design that helps it grow long and strong enough for any tough job. Perfect for gardens, terraces, patios and more, you just turn on the water and watch the Pocket Hose grow and grow and grow.
Overall rating:
2.588 / 5
2.6
 / 
5
(660 reviews) 659
Open Ratings Snapshot
43%of customersrecommend this product278 of 648reviews
Rating Breakdown 660 reviews
2.6 out of 5
5
(171)
4
(85)
3
(35)
2
(39)
1
(330)
Quality 
2.5 out of 5
2.5 out of 5
Value 
2.6 out of 5
2.6 out of 5
43%of customersrecommend this product278 of 648reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer reviews for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
Review 1 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Yuba City, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor Water Flow

PostedMarch 13, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is Pocket Hose with BRASS fittings. The label says "NEW 3/4" Hose" but they fail to say that the fitting only has a 3/16" hole. It has very low water flow.
Cons: poor flow
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+20points
22out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Pleasant Grove, Utah
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Love the concept hate the hose

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The hose worked great for about a week then it sprang a leak. I returned it to Home Depot and they exchanged it for a new one, this one lasted about another week. All I have used it for is watering 7 planters in front of our house. I only turn the tap on less than a 1/4 turn as I am watering delicate flowers, my driveway gets as much water as the flowers from the leak. The concept I like as I let it curl up under the tap where it will not get walked on or driven over. I am not going to bother getting another I will continue using this one until it falls apart, then scrap it. Sorry I could not give a positive response as it was disappointing to me after watching the commercial .
Cons: Not Durable, short life span
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Minneapolis, MN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

garbage

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
(only gave it 1 star because I had to) 2nd hose rendered useless in 2 months. 1st one developed a hole. Home Depot was good about an exchange for a new one. Despite always turning the water on and off at the house with the hose running, so there was absolutely no pressure build up, my 2nd hose burst at the connector. This item is snake oil. Home Depot should not sell it.
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+41points
41out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Utah
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't buy explodes!

PostedMay 14, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don't buy this hose. after only a few uses it exploded with a loud bang right through the outer protective layer. Its supposed to withstand 300 psi. It scared the bagesis out of me! it was more then 90 days old so no returning it.
Cons: Not Durable
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Santa Rosa, Ca
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Returned in under 60 Seconds.

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Out of the plastic box on to the water cutoff and it leaked about a foot under the connector. Back in the box and back to Home Depot. I always wanted to try one of these models. Maybe there's a better one out there. This one is for sure not it.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+57points
60out of 63found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Wichita, ks
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Junk - Save your money

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The hose is very light and easy to use. Mine made it about 2 months before it blew up. It's a great idea it just doesn't last at all.
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+73points
77out of 81found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Montgomery, AL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exploded after using about two weeks

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used the hose about 5 times and turned water on and hose exploded in the middle
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+39points
42out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Orange CA

These work fine, if...

PostedJune 10, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Lot's of people have complained about bursting hose and/or fittings. I'd bet money that those folks don't have a pressure regulator on their water line. Mine is set at about 60 psi and I have had no trouble with the hoses (I have 3). Before I had the regulator, my line pressure was around 100 psi and I would no more trust these hoses to that than the man in the moon!
It's the pressure! At the very least, go to a Camping World and buy an in-line regulator that fits on the faucet and is set at 40-50 psi. Costs $5-6, maybe $10. Can't get such an animal at HD - too bad - and the pressure reg they have in the drip irrigation section is set too low.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Columbia MD
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth the price

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is my second one. The first one lasted the entire 2014 summer but broke the first time I tried to use it this year(2015).
I still would buy this over a rubber hose. It is so much easier to deal with. When moving it from the front to the back yard and up to a second floor deck, there really is no comparison to ease of use. Rubber hoses of comparable price, there really isn't any for 19.99, are complete junk and constantly kink up. I'm OK with buying a new one every year.
1. The packaging it VERY difficult to get open and the hose is really crammed in there. I wonder if some of the people getting leaks on the first or second use accidentally poked it when trying to open the package. It would be really easy to do it.
2. It made of thin plastic, which is what makes it nice to work with, so it's bound to be delicate. Don't leave it outside in the hot sun, it will cause structural damage. I try to bring mine inside every time I use it. It's actually very easy to do since it's so light.
3. It says 50 ft but I'm not sure how they came up with that number. It seems to be about 20-30 ft. It looks like I can stretch it farther but with structural problems everyone else has, I don't really want to try.
4. I would still recommend this to someone who moves their hose around alot. If you keep it in the same place for years on end, then this isn't the hose for you get the more expensive rubber hose.
I hope this help prospective buyers.
Pros: Easy to Install, Light Weight, ease of use
Cons: Not Durable
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose

BUy if you want something that will break

PostedMay 18, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have gone through two of these hoses. They are very convenient, but it is only a matter of time until they break on you. I will not be buying a third hose, i really like the concept and how compact they get, but the first got a hole in the middle of the hose that sprayed up like old faithful. The second was a more catastrophic failure. I heard when the second one ripped inside the inner hose, which then ruptured the outer hose and water started exploding out. Either way - your better off with a hose that will last you years and not months. Unless you are willing to care for hose like you care for your dog.
Pros: Compact, explodes well
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Glenside PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DO NOT PURCHASE THIS!!!

PostedJune 18, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Iv'e gone through 3 of these hoses so far and it's only mid June. I love the concept which is why I keep giving them another try but im over it. They explode after only a few uses, such a waste of money. I will NEVER purchase another one. I also tried the black one and it did the same thing.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Dayton, Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Garbage, Had a hole less than 3 weeks from purchase

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this for the ease of use in watering my flowers, but less than 2 weeks later the hose had a hole in it making it useless. I do have a rough concrete driveway next to the spigit, but still only 2 weeks is really a shame. I cannot recommend a product that does not last at least a summer. I will be going back to a traditional hose.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from miami,Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

It feels nice,but is not durable at all

PostedJune 20, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I wish it was stronger,because it is very lite and confortable to handle,I purchase 3 or 4 and they didn't last a month.
Pros: Functionality
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Little Rock, AR
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Please don't buy this!

PostedJune 8, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought one hose and it lasted a few weeks before springing a leak, then almost immediately a second leak. Bought another one and it lasted even less time. The concept is great, but the leaks are a pain. With the second hose I can't get back to turn off the faucet without getting sprayed multiple times. There are a least 4 different leaks in it. $19.99 (or more if you buy the longer one) spent every month on a new hose is not worth it.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose

Keep the receipt!

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The hose burst in less than three months of light use. It also never fully retracted as advertised, it was a long slow wait. The good news is that it has a 10 year warranty, and with the receipt you can get it replaced for free, the down side is by three months I no longer have the receipt. If you buy the hose keep the receipt to get your free replacement when it bursts. You essentially will never have to buy a hose again if you can get them to provide a date of replacement and the new hoses keep breaking within ten years.
Pros: Functionality
Cons: Not Durable
+66points
68out of 70found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from indy
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

piece of junk

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
didn't last a few months and it exploded. for the money we could have bought a regular hose for a lot less and had better results. supposedly this is the new improved version with better connectors. probably ought to work on a better hose material also.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Seattle wa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Super fantabulous!

PostedJune 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My wife has no problem rolling out our conventional hose getting it stuck here and there .and then the frustrated pulling and so forth.needless to say lots of repairs .since the purchase of,our new state of the arts version the roll up or should I say shrink up its as easy as shutting off the valve!! Thank you now I have the task of removing all these cumbersome hose bibs hah lol
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality, Good Shape
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

my choice of hose!

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The hose is light and reaches a full 50 feet around my house. It attaches easily to the outside spigot without any leaking. It coils up when the water stops running and is easy to transport.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Good Shape
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Edmonton
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Disappointing

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Have bought three of these hoses and all have burst or sprung holes in less than a year. Really disappointed because I wanted a light hose and this looked so promising.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from BALTIMORE
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Purchase

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am so glad I purchase this product, it stores away easily. It even comes with a little faucet that I can water my plants. I don't have to fill up 8 gallons of water.
Pros: Multi Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 33 >>