728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Watering & Irrigation or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose

Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose

Introducing the As Seen on TV Pocket Hose, the garden hose that's small enough to fit in your pocket, then expands automatically to a giant full sized hose. Just turn on the water and watch this mini hose grow to maximum length like magic. Pocket Hose is super lightweight and easy to handle, making it convenient to hang or store anywhere even in your pocket. And, when you turn off the water to the Pocket Hose, it shrinks back to its original mini size, practically putting itself away. Best of all, it never kinks, twists or tangles like ordinary hoses. The secret is Pocket Hose's expandable accordion design that helps it grow long and strong enough for any tough job. Perfect for gardens, terraces, patios and more, you just turn on the water and watch the Pocket Hose grow and grow and grow.
Overall rating:
2.629 / 5
2.6
 / 
5
(604 reviews) 604
Open Ratings Snapshot
44%of customersrecommend this product260 of 592reviews
Rating Breakdown 604 reviews
2.6 out of 5
5
(161)
4
(80)
3
(33)
2
(34)
1
(296)
Quality 
2.5 out of 5
2.5 out of 5
Value 
2.7 out of 5
2.7 out of 5
44%of customersrecommend this product260 of 592reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
Review 1 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Yuba City, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor Water Flow

PostedMarch 13, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is Pocket Hose with BRASS fittings. The label says "NEW 3/4" Hose" but they fail to say that the fitting only has a 3/16" hole. It has very low water flow.
Cons: poor flow
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Minneapolis, MN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

garbage

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
(only gave it 1 star because I had to) 2nd hose rendered useless in 2 months. 1st one developed a hole. Home Depot was good about an exchange for a new one. Despite always turning the water on and off at the house with the hose running, so there was absolutely no pressure build up, my 2nd hose burst at the connector. This item is snake oil. Home Depot should not sell it.
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+35points
35out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Pleasant Grove, Utah
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Love the concept hate the hose

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The hose worked great for about a week then it sprang a leak. I returned it to Home Depot and they exchanged it for a new one, this one lasted about another week. All I have used it for is watering 7 planters in front of our house. I only turn the tap on less than a 1/4 turn as I am watering delicate flowers, my driveway gets as much water as the flowers from the leak. The concept I like as I let it curl up under the tap where it will not get walked on or driven over. I am not going to bother getting another I will continue using this one until it falls apart, then scrap it. Sorry I could not give a positive response as it was disappointing to me after watching the commercial .
Cons: Not Durable, short life span
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Santa Rosa, Ca
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Returned in under 60 Seconds.

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Out of the plastic box on to the water cutoff and it leaked about a foot under the connector. Back in the box and back to Home Depot. I always wanted to try one of these models. Maybe there's a better one out there. This one is for sure not it.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+52points
55out of 58found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Wichita, ks
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Junk - Save your money

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The hose is very light and easy to use. Mine made it about 2 months before it blew up. It's a great idea it just doesn't last at all.
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+67points
71out of 75found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Montgomery, AL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exploded after using about two weeks

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used the hose about 5 times and turned water on and hose exploded in the middle
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+34points
37out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Utah
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't buy explodes!

PostedMay 14, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don't buy this hose. after only a few uses it exploded with a loud bang right through the outer protective layer. Its supposed to withstand 300 psi. It scared the bagesis out of me! it was more then 90 days old so no returning it.
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Garland, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

WOW!

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is great - works exactly as advertised, and you can't beat the convenience. I bought my first one last year to try it out, and was so pleased with the product that I recently purchased two more.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose

Keep the receipt!

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The hose burst in less than three months of light use. It also never fully retracted as advertised, it was a long slow wait. The good news is that it has a 10 year warranty, and with the receipt you can get it replaced for free, the down side is by three months I no longer have the receipt. If you buy the hose keep the receipt to get your free replacement when it bursts. You essentially will never have to buy a hose again if you can get them to provide a date of replacement and the new hoses keep breaking within ten years.
Pros: Functionality
Cons: Not Durable
+66points
68out of 70found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Columbia MD
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth the price

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is my second one. The first one lasted the entire 2014 summer but broke the first time I tried to use it this year(2015).
I still would buy this over a rubber hose. It is so much easier to deal with. When moving it from the front to the back yard and up to a second floor deck, there really is no comparison to ease of use. Rubber hoses of comparable price, there really isn't any for 19.99, are complete junk and constantly kink up. I'm OK with buying a new one every year.
1. The packaging it VERY difficult to get open and the hose is really crammed in there. I wonder if some of the people getting leaks on the first or second use accidentally poked it when trying to open the package. It would be really easy to do it.
2. It made of thin plastic, which is what makes it nice to work with, so it's bound to be delicate. Don't leave it outside in the hot sun, it will cause structural damage. I try to bring mine inside every time I use it. It's actually very easy to do since it's so light.
3. It says 50 ft but I'm not sure how they came up with that number. It seems to be about 20-30 ft. It looks like I can stretch it farther but with structural problems everyone else has, I don't really want to try.
4. I would still recommend this to someone who moves their hose around alot. If you keep it in the same place for years on end, then this isn't the hose for you get the more expensive rubber hose.
I hope this help prospective buyers.
Pros: Easy to Install, Light Weight, ease of use
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Greenville, SC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Wife loves it, me...not so much.

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
My wife is physically challenged and loves the light weight and ease of storage. This is not the first one we have used and the first one failed within a few months. Cautions: 1) Don't stress the connections by pulling on the hose. 2) Don't leave under pressure with closed nozzle (or connected to soaker hose). 3) Do store hose when done (coiled in a flower pot is good) do not hang on a peg.
Use common sense and don't believe the TV commercials, this is a lightweight hose hose take care and it should give you acceptable service.
Pros: Functionality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose

Don't do it....

PostedMay 13, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
While I love the product it will fail, as mine did today. My father had 4 of them and all popped leaks when hooked up in the spring....
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Shreveport, La
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

BIG WASTE OF MONEY! DO NOT BUY THIS JUNK!

PostedMarch 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased for my greenhouse. First week really liked it. Then I turned it on and it burst near the faucet. When I contacted pocket hose I got a run around and excuses. One other note I did turn the water off and let the hose completely drain each time I used it. Wish I could give it a minus 5!
Cons: Not Durable, piece of junk, doesn't last, waste of money
+66points
67out of 68found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose

BUy if you want something that will break

PostedMay 18, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have gone through two of these hoses. They are very convenient, but it is only a matter of time until they break on you. I will not be buying a third hose, i really like the concept and how compact they get, but the first got a hole in the middle of the hose that sprayed up like old faithful. The second was a more catastrophic failure. I heard when the second one ripped inside the inner hose, which then ruptured the outer hose and water started exploding out. Either way - your better off with a hose that will last you years and not months. Unless you are willing to care for hose like you care for your dog.
Pros: Compact, explodes well
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Bonita Springs, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Do NOT BUY this piece of Junk!!!

PostedJune 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased 3 of these hoses. The first one burst on the second use and I'd already thrown away the receipt. The second one just blew, wonder how long the third one will last? Out $60+ and most unhappy!
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Conroe, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

What a joke!

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I received this as a gift last year and used it a couple of times with great results. This year I took it out of the garage, hooked it to a spigot, turned it on and walked away for a minute. When I came back, the hose had numerous sections that were just clear balloons that were expanding and blowing the green cover off in chunks as they moved down the length of the hose. I managed to get it turned off before there was a water explosion. An amazingly bad product!
Cons: Not Durable
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Shrewsbury, ma
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

expanding hose

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After just two weeks of use, the hose developed a leak.Thinking it was a fluke, I bought a second hose and it also developed a leak after about 2 weeks again - see attached pictures. The inner rubber tube walls are too thin to keep expanding and contracting - poor quality of materials. Having not kept the sales slip, I could not return them.
Cons: Not Durable, poor quality materials
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Atlanta, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Top 10 Worst

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought the new Pocket Hose Ultra about 4 weeks ago. The 3rd time I used it, I was 1/2 way through washing my car and the hose burst in 2 different areas. The outside faucet I had it connected to does not have unusually high water pressure and no rough or commercial use with the hose, only washing my car with it. Has to be one of the top 10 worst products ever.
Cons: Not Durable, unreliable
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+54points
56out of 58found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Charlotte, North Carolina
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does not last, waste of money

PostedJuly 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've purchased three pocket hoses; the first failed (burst) when it brushed against a sharp edge of my gutter down spout (my fault), the second burst and was probably my fault as well since I left it out and it did receive some sun exposure, the third however I was extremely careful to protect - kept in the shed when not in use and kept away from sharp edges yet it too failed after a few months of use. That's $60.00 in the garbage. The problem occurs when the outer fabric has a small tear which allows the delicate internal expanding tube to very easily burst once the fabric outer wall fails. Note: the first two were the original and the third was the ultra.
Pros: great except for short life
Cons: Not Durable
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from OKLAHOMA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

SAVE YOUR MONEY! OVERPRICED JUNK!!!!!

PostedApril 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought 1 of these, using it for 1 week and thought it was great. So, I bought 3 more as I have lots of beds and gardens. Within 2 weeks all 4 had either sprung leaks in numerous places, blown the head completely off or just exploded huge holes within itself. WHAT A WASTE OF $150!
Cons: Not Durable
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 31 >>