728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Watering & Irrigation or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose

Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose

Introducing the As Seen on TV Pocket Hose, the garden hose that's small enough to fit in your pocket, then expands automatically to a giant full sized hose. Just turn on the water and watch this mini hose grow to maximum length like magic. Pocket Hose is super lightweight and easy to handle, making it convenient to hang or store anywhere even in your pocket. And, when you turn off the water to the Pocket Hose, it shrinks back to its original mini size, practically putting itself away. Best of all, it never kinks, twists or tangles like ordinary hoses. The secret is Pocket Hose's expandable accordion design that helps it grow long and strong enough for any tough job. Perfect for gardens, terraces, patios and more, you just turn on the water and watch the Pocket Hose grow and grow and grow.
Overall rating:
2.615 / 5
2.6
 / 
5
(327 reviews) 327
Open Ratings Snapshot
42%of customersrecommend this product135 of 319reviews
Rating Breakdown 327 reviews
2.6 out of 5.0
5
(91)
4
(36)
3
(18)
2
(20)
1
(162)
Quality 
2.5 out of 5.0
2.5 out of 5
Value 
2.7 out of 5.0
2.7 out of 5
42%of customersrecommend this product135 of 319reviews
Customer reviews for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
Review 1 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Santa Rosa, Ca
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Returned in under 60 Seconds.

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Out of the plastic box on to the water cutoff and it leaked about a foot under the connector. Back in the box and back to Home Depot. I always wanted to try one of these models. Maybe there's a better one out there. This one is for sure not it.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+28points
30out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Montgomery, AL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exploded after using about two weeks

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used the hose about 5 times and turned water on and hose exploded in the middle
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Wichita, ks
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Junk - Save your money

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The hose is very light and easy to use. Mine made it about 2 months before it blew up. It's a great idea it just doesn't last at all.
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+53points
57out of 61found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose

Keep the receipt!

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The hose burst in less than three months of light use. It also never fully retracted as advertised, it was a long slow wait. The good news is that it has a 10 year warranty, and with the receipt you can get it replaced for free, the down side is by three months I no longer have the receipt. If you buy the hose keep the receipt to get your free replacement when it bursts. You essentially will never have to buy a hose again if you can get them to provide a date of replacement and the new hoses keep breaking within ten years.
Pros: Functionality
Cons: Not Durable
+53points
54out of 55found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Minneapolis, MN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

garbage

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
(only gave it 1 star because I had to) 2nd hose rendered useless in 2 months. 1st one developed a hole. Home Depot was good about an exchange for a new one. Despite always turning the water on and off at the house with the hose running, so there was absolutely no pressure build up, my 2nd hose burst at the connector. This item is snake oil. Home Depot should not sell it.
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Shreveport, La
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

BIG WASTE OF MONEY! DO NOT BUY THIS JUNK!

PostedMarch 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased for my greenhouse. First week really liked it. Then I turned it on and it burst near the faucet. When I contacted pocket hose I got a run around and excuses. One other note I did turn the water off and let the hose completely drain each time I used it. Wish I could give it a minus 5!
Cons: Not Durable, piece of junk, doesn't last, waste of money
+62points
63out of 64found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Conroe, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

What a joke!

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I received this as a gift last year and used it a couple of times with great results. This year I took it out of the garage, hooked it to a spigot, turned it on and walked away for a minute. When I came back, the hose had numerous sections that were just clear balloons that were expanding and blowing the green cover off in chunks as they moved down the length of the hose. I managed to get it turned off before there was a water explosion. An amazingly bad product!
Cons: Not Durable
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Atlanta, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Top 10 Worst

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought the new Pocket Hose Ultra about 4 weeks ago. The 3rd time I used it, I was 1/2 way through washing my car and the hose burst in 2 different areas. The outside faucet I had it connected to does not have unusually high water pressure and no rough or commercial use with the hose, only washing my car with it. Has to be one of the top 10 worst products ever.
Cons: Not Durable, unreliable
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+48points
50out of 52found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Bonita Springs, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Do NOT BUY this piece of Junk!!!

PostedJune 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased 3 of these hoses. The first one burst on the second use and I'd already thrown away the receipt. The second one just blew, wonder how long the third one will last? Out $60+ and most unhappy!
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from OKLAHOMA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

SAVE YOUR MONEY! OVERPRICED JUNK!!!!!

PostedApril 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought 1 of these, using it for 1 week and thought it was great. So, I bought 3 more as I have lots of beds and gardens. Within 2 weeks all 4 had either sprung leaks in numerous places, blown the head completely off or just exploded huge holes within itself. WHAT A WASTE OF $150!
Cons: Not Durable
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Portland, Ore
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I Love the Expanding Garden Hose for it lightness and its very easy to use!

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have now two expandable hoses that are both 50 ft. long. Lime green and also blue. Easy to use and so lightweight!! They do not get tangled up and are so flexible. Mmmm do they make hope the make 75 ft and 100 ft. hoses also?
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Stylish, Great Quality
Cons: flexibile
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Walker, Minnesota
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Light and Easy

PostedJuly 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Hose is light and easy to maneuver from the deck to the yard, even while using a cane.
Pros: Functionality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Bayamón, Puerto Rico
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product fail at the first trial

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product fail at the first use, we need to return.
The guarantee is excelent
Cons: Not Durable
+23points
24out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Houston, Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

Trash

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Do not buy this hose. It's basically a balloon inside some fabric. I used it maybe 4x before it began leaking then just busted. It's trash. Don't waste your money.
Cons: Not Durable
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Tampa, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

You don't need to open your hose nozzle, all the leaks in the hose will do the watering for you!

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Originally bought 2. Within 3 uses, both sprang leaks. Eventually got 3 more replacements. All leaked. Gave up. Went back to standard hoses after wasting my money on the pocked version.
Cons: Not Durable, leak like a sieve
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Moore, OK, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Still a piece of garbage

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Last year we went through 5 of the lime green version in about 3 weeks. All failed due to hose leaks. This new dark green version with its lifetime guarantee is just as poorly made. We use these for watering our food and flower gardens but nothing that would be considered commercial or strenuous. The first of two failed in about 2.5 weeks with a hole in the hose. We hooked up the second one we bought and it leaked brand new out of the box. Do not waste you time or money on this garbage. Home Depot needs to take them out of their stores or drop the price to about $5.00 for kids to play with.
Cons: Not Durable, poor quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from New Hampshire
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

STAY AWAY Does not LAST

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Nice concept but after one month and draining after each use it has a leak that cannot be repaired
I know of at least 2 others that suffered the same problem
By a real hose dont waste your money
Pros: Functionality
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Tacoma
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Save your money

PostedMay 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought one a year ago. From day one it leaked. After three weeks it was leaking so badly that it wouldn't expand. I did not keep the receipt so in the garbage it went. My parents gave me one another last summer so i gave the hose another try. It leaked from both end connectors but it would expand so i used it for watering the lawn. I put it away over the winter and just got it out this spring hooked it up and the thing leaked just like the first one did. No expansion and a gushing leak. In the garbage it went. If you think you'll have better luck than we naysayers do then keep the receipt because you will need it.
Pros: Vibrant Color
Cons: Not Durable, Leaks
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Denver, CO
Gender:Male

Expanding Hose leaked in 1st day of use

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased 2 units two days apart, both developed a pinhole leak about a third of the way down the hose, setting off a stream of water. Water pressure to hose was normal, not excessive.
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Stockton, CA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Junk!

PostedJune 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used this hose only about 5 times within a one month period before it sprung a leak in the middle. This was used very lightly and was not around anything sharp. Left it on for about an hour with a nozzle on it, and it sprung a leak under the pressure. A regular light duty hose would have lasted me at least 5 years with regular usage before breaking down. Do not waste your money, buyer beware!
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 17 >>