728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Watering & Irrigation or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose

Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose

Introducing the As Seen on TV Pocket Hose, the garden hose that's small enough to fit in your pocket, then expands automatically to a giant full sized hose. Just turn on the water and watch this mini hose grow to maximum length like magic. Pocket Hose is super lightweight and easy to handle, making it convenient to hang or store anywhere even in your pocket. And, when you turn off the water to the Pocket Hose, it shrinks back to its original mini size, practically putting itself away. Best of all, it never kinks, twists or tangles like ordinary hoses. The secret is Pocket Hose's expandable accordion design that helps it grow long and strong enough for any tough job. Perfect for gardens, terraces, patios and more, you just turn on the water and watch the Pocket Hose grow and grow and grow.
Overall rating:
2.574 / 5
2.6
 / 
5
(709 reviews) 708
Open Ratings Snapshot
42%of customersrecommend this product296 of 697reviews
Rating Breakdown 709 reviews
2.6 out of 5
5
(181)
4
(90)
3
(38)
2
(46)
1
(354)
Quality 
2.5 out of 5
2.5 out of 5
Value 
2.6 out of 5
2.6 out of 5
42%of customersrecommend this product296 of 697reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 31 Answers
Customer reviews for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
Review 1 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Yuba City, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor Water Flow

PostedMarch 13, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is Pocket Hose with BRASS fittings. The label says "NEW 3/4" Hose" but they fail to say that the fitting only has a 3/16" hole. It has very low water flow.
Cons: poor flow
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+22points
24out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Pleasant Grove, Utah
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Love the concept hate the hose

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The hose worked great for about a week then it sprang a leak. I returned it to Home Depot and they exchanged it for a new one, this one lasted about another week. All I have used it for is watering 7 planters in front of our house. I only turn the tap on less than a 1/4 turn as I am watering delicate flowers, my driveway gets as much water as the flowers from the leak. The concept I like as I let it curl up under the tap where it will not get walked on or driven over. I am not going to bother getting another I will continue using this one until it falls apart, then scrap it. Sorry I could not give a positive response as it was disappointing to me after watching the commercial .
Cons: Not Durable, short life span
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Minneapolis, MN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

garbage

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
(only gave it 1 star because I had to) 2nd hose rendered useless in 2 months. 1st one developed a hole. Home Depot was good about an exchange for a new one. Despite always turning the water on and off at the house with the hose running, so there was absolutely no pressure build up, my 2nd hose burst at the connector. This item is snake oil. Home Depot should not sell it.
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+42points
42out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Utah
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't buy explodes!

PostedMay 14, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don't buy this hose. after only a few uses it exploded with a loud bang right through the outer protective layer. Its supposed to withstand 300 psi. It scared the bagesis out of me! it was more then 90 days old so no returning it.
Cons: Not Durable
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Orange CA

These work fine, if...

PostedJune 10, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Lot's of people have complained about bursting hose and/or fittings. I'd bet money that those folks don't have a pressure regulator on their water line. Mine is set at about 60 psi and I have had no trouble with the hoses (I have 3). Before I had the regulator, my line pressure was around 100 psi and I would no more trust these hoses to that than the man in the moon!
It's the pressure! At the very least, go to a Camping World and buy an in-line regulator that fits on the faucet and is set at 40-50 psi. Costs $5-6, maybe $10. Can't get such an animal at HD - too bad - and the pressure reg they have in the drip irrigation section is set too low.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Santa Rosa, Ca
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Returned in under 60 Seconds.

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Out of the plastic box on to the water cutoff and it leaked about a foot under the connector. Back in the box and back to Home Depot. I always wanted to try one of these models. Maybe there's a better one out there. This one is for sure not it.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+57points
60out of 63found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Wichita, ks
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Junk - Save your money

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The hose is very light and easy to use. Mine made it about 2 months before it blew up. It's a great idea it just doesn't last at all.
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+74points
78out of 82found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from washington
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Finally Got One!

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Been watching the ads for a long time, finally decided to take the plunge. After reading reviews, was prepared for disappointment.
But, all seems to work fine; it is a nice weight, and compact, altho it doesn't shrink like on tv.
I plan on following the care directions, and treating it carefully, so as anticipate a reasonable life span for the hose.
I really do like the light weight and ease of storage.
Pros: Functionality, Good Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Montgomery, AL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exploded after using about two weeks

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used the hose about 5 times and turned water on and hose exploded in the middle
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+40points
43out of 46found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Springfield, MA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Nope, don't do it, it explodes!

PostedJuly 25, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Love the concept but overall quality poor. Ours lasted about 2 months. It is going back to HD.
Pros: Functionality
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Columbia MD
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth the price

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is my second one. The first one lasted the entire 2014 summer but broke the first time I tried to use it this year(2015).
I still would buy this over a rubber hose. It is so much easier to deal with. When moving it from the front to the back yard and up to a second floor deck, there really is no comparison to ease of use. Rubber hoses of comparable price, there really isn't any for 19.99, are complete junk and constantly kink up. I'm OK with buying a new one every year.
1. The packaging it VERY difficult to get open and the hose is really crammed in there. I wonder if some of the people getting leaks on the first or second use accidentally poked it when trying to open the package. It would be really easy to do it.
2. It made of thin plastic, which is what makes it nice to work with, so it's bound to be delicate. Don't leave it outside in the hot sun, it will cause structural damage. I try to bring mine inside every time I use it. It's actually very easy to do since it's so light.
3. It says 50 ft but I'm not sure how they came up with that number. It seems to be about 20-30 ft. It looks like I can stretch it farther but with structural problems everyone else has, I don't really want to try.
4. I would still recommend this to someone who moves their hose around alot. If you keep it in the same place for years on end, then this isn't the hose for you get the more expensive rubber hose.
I hope this help prospective buyers.
Pros: Easy to Install, Light Weight, ease of use
Cons: Not Durable
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose

Keep the receipt!

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The hose burst in less than three months of light use. It also never fully retracted as advertised, it was a long slow wait. The good news is that it has a 10 year warranty, and with the receipt you can get it replaced for free, the down side is by three months I no longer have the receipt. If you buy the hose keep the receipt to get your free replacement when it bursts. You essentially will never have to buy a hose again if you can get them to provide a date of replacement and the new hoses keep breaking within ten years.
Pros: Functionality
Cons: Not Durable
+66points
68out of 70found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose

BUy if you want something that will break

PostedMay 18, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have gone through two of these hoses. They are very convenient, but it is only a matter of time until they break on you. I will not be buying a third hose, i really like the concept and how compact they get, but the first got a hole in the middle of the hose that sprayed up like old faithful. The second was a more catastrophic failure. I heard when the second one ripped inside the inner hose, which then ruptured the outer hose and water started exploding out. Either way - your better off with a hose that will last you years and not months. Unless you are willing to care for hose like you care for your dog.
Pros: Compact, explodes well
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Greenville, SC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Wife loves it, me...not so much.

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
My wife is physically challenged and loves the light weight and ease of storage. This is not the first one we have used and the first one failed within a few months. Cautions: 1) Don't stress the connections by pulling on the hose. 2) Don't leave under pressure with closed nozzle (or connected to soaker hose). 3) Do store hose when done (coiled in a flower pot is good) do not hang on a peg.
Use common sense and don't believe the TV commercials, this is a lightweight hose hose take care and it should give you acceptable service.
Pros: Functionality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Shreveport, La
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

BIG WASTE OF MONEY! DO NOT BUY THIS JUNK!

PostedMarch 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased for my greenhouse. First week really liked it. Then I turned it on and it burst near the faucet. When I contacted pocket hose I got a run around and excuses. One other note I did turn the water off and let the hose completely drain each time I used it. Wish I could give it a minus 5!
Cons: Not Durable, piece of junk, doesn't last, waste of money
+67points
68out of 69found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Dayton, Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Garbage, Had a hole less than 3 weeks from purchase

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this for the ease of use in watering my flowers, but less than 2 weeks later the hose had a hole in it making it useless. I do have a rough concrete driveway next to the spigit, but still only 2 weeks is really a shame. I cannot recommend a product that does not last at least a summer. I will be going back to a traditional hose.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Glenside PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DO NOT PURCHASE THIS!!!

PostedJune 18, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Iv'e gone through 3 of these hoses so far and it's only mid June. I love the concept which is why I keep giving them another try but im over it. They explode after only a few uses, such a waste of money. I will NEVER purchase another one. I also tried the black one and it did the same thing.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Shrewsbury, ma
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

expanding hose

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After just two weeks of use, the hose developed a leak.Thinking it was a fluke, I bought a second hose and it also developed a leak after about 2 weeks again - see attached pictures. The inner rubber tube walls are too thin to keep expanding and contracting - poor quality of materials. Having not kept the sales slip, I could not return them.
Cons: Not Durable, poor quality materials
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Little Rock, AR
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Please don't buy this!

PostedJune 8, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought one hose and it lasted a few weeks before springing a leak, then almost immediately a second leak. Bought another one and it lasted even less time. The concept is great, but the leaks are a pain. With the second hose I can't get back to turn off the faucet without getting sprayed multiple times. There are a least 4 different leaks in it. $19.99 (or more if you buy the longer one) spent every month on a new hose is not worth it.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from miami,Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

It feels nice,but is not durable at all

PostedJune 20, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I wish it was stronger,because it is very lite and confortable to handle,I purchase 3 or 4 and they didn't last a month.
Pros: Functionality
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 36 >>