728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Watering & Irrigation or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose

Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose

Introducing the As Seen on TV Pocket Hose, the garden hose that's small enough to fit in your pocket, then expands automatically to a giant full sized hose. Just turn on the water and watch this mini hose grow to maximum length like magic. Pocket Hose is super lightweight and easy to handle, making it convenient to hang or store anywhere even in your pocket. And, when you turn off the water to the Pocket Hose, it shrinks back to its original mini size, practically putting itself away. Best of all, it never kinks, twists or tangles like ordinary hoses. The secret is Pocket Hose's expandable accordion design that helps it grow long and strong enough for any tough job. Perfect for gardens, terraces, patios and more, you just turn on the water and watch the Pocket Hose grow and grow and grow.
Overall rating:
2.425 / 5
2.4
 / 
5
(40 reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
34%of customersrecommend this product13 of 38reviews
Rating Breakdown 40 reviews
2.4 out of 5.0
5
(9)
4
(5)
3
(3)
2
(0)
1
(23)
Quality 
2.3 out of 5.0
2.3 out of 5
Value 
2.3 out of 5.0
2.3 out of 5
34%of customersrecommend this product13 of 38reviews
Customer reviews for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
Review 1 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
mick142
from Wichita, ks
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Junk - Save your money

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The hose is very light and easy to use. Mine made it about 2 months before it blew up. It's a great idea it just doesn't last at all.
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+23points
24out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
cjacob

Keep the receipt!

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The hose burst in less than three months of light use. It also never fully retracted as advertised, it was a long slow wait. The good news is that it has a 10 year warranty, and with the receipt you can get it replaced for free, the down side is by three months I no longer have the receipt. If you buy the hose keep the receipt to get your free replacement when it bursts. You essentially will never have to buy a hose again if you can get them to provide a date of replacement and the new hoses keep breaking within ten years.
Pros: Functionality
Cons: Not Durable
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
DRae84
from Shreveport, La
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

BIG WASTE OF MONEY! DO NOT BUY THIS JUNK!

PostedMarch 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased for my greenhouse. First week really liked it. Then I turned it on and it burst near the faucet. When I contacted pocket hose I got a run around and excuses. One other note I did turn the water off and let the hose completely drain each time I used it. Wish I could give it a minus 5!
Cons: Not Durable, piece of junk, doesn't last, waste of money
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
Sanparey
from Atlanta, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Top 10 Worst

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought the new Pocket Hose Ultra about 4 weeks ago. The 3rd time I used it, I was 1/2 way through washing my car and the hose burst in 2 different areas. The outside faucet I had it connected to does not have unusually high water pressure and no rough or commercial use with the hose, only washing my car with it. Has to be one of the top 10 worst products ever.
Cons: Not Durable, unreliable
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
GaryR
from Conroe, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

What a joke!

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I received this as a gift last year and used it a couple of times with great results. This year I took it out of the garage, hooked it to a spigot, turned it on and walked away for a minute. When I came back, the hose had numerous sections that were just clear balloons that were expanding and blowing the green cover off in chunks as they moved down the length of the hose. I managed to get it turned off before there was a water explosion. An amazingly bad product!
Cons: Not Durable
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
8191
from Bayamón, Puerto Rico
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product fail at the first trial

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product fail at the first use, we need to return.
The guarantee is excelent
Cons: Not Durable
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
HMIII
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Poor

PostedApril 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Burst on first use. Will return it and see if the warranty is valid .
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
mfsiii
from Houston, Texas
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Garbage Hose

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very cheap plastic, broke the second time I used it.
Cons: Not Durable, cheap
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
Roddy
from Milwaukee WI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Junk at best

PostedMarch 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Junk. At best lasts a few months. Do not waste your money on one.
Pros: none
Cons: Not Durable
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
HoustonTX
from Houston, Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

Trash

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Do not buy this hose. It's basically a balloon inside some fabric. I used it maybe 4x before it began leaking then just busted. It's trash. Don't waste your money.
Cons: Not Durable
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
TwentyFourSeven
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Pocket hose is complete junk.

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Total junk. Doesn't take long to wear hole in it and leak. Save your money
Cons: Not Durable, bursts after a few weeks.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
Fred
from Garden Grove CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Price is deceiving but very poor quality

PostedApril 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought 3 of this last year at home depot and only lasted for 2 weeks. They all rupture at the hose connection. I wouldn't even recommend this to my worst enemies.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
CowboyMan
from Placerville CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Never again

PostedApril 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased four of these, All are now in the local recycle center. The fitting are the lowest quality possible, with leaks coming right through the fitting itself, and both the inner and outer hoses break, blister and leak profusely within a few uses. I'd thought they were the answer to my hose problems forever, but their cheap quality makes them nothing more than a well meaning idea, but totally misses the mark for any serious long term use. It's hard to believe HD, or anyone else, still sells them.
Cons: Not Durable, cheap materials
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
GARDENQUEEN
from OKLAHOMA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

SAVE YOUR MONEY! OVERPRICED JUNK!!!!!

PostedApril 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought 1 of these, using it for 1 week and thought it was great. So, I bought 3 more as I have lots of beds and gardens. Within 2 weeks all 4 had either sprung leaks in numerous places, blown the head completely off or just exploded huge holes within itself. WHAT A WASTE OF $150!
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
TOMO
from Los Angeles
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pipe connection leaks, unusable

PostedApril 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Hose connection to pipe end leaks. The hose bond to metal fitting separates and leaks (cannot withstand the regular house water pressure). I like the hose and I hope this was just an exception but will not buy another to find out.
Pros: Functionality
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
Kenn
from Wilton Manors, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Improving

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This hose seems to be improved over last product line, seems stronger and most important doesn't leak yet, have used it for a month now, I really like the light weight so hope this one works, I would recommend keep your sales ticket, just in case
Pros: Light Weight, seems stronger
Cons: jury still out on this one
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
docaudio
from The OC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worst product ever from HD

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I can't think of a worst product purchased from Home Depot. It lasted 15 minutes before failing. My local store cheerfully took it back, issued me a refund, and tossed into the pile of other pocket hoses.
Pros: none
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
DIYMOM

DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am returning the 2 pocket hoses I bought less than two weeks ago (and have used exactly 3 times) -one of which I had already returned and replaced with another ! The second one literally shred to pieces - interior hose cracked completely and the cloth surrounding the house just shredded. This hose MAY work if all you need it for is to water your potted plants but do NOT expect it to do anything heavy-duty. Good concept but-poor execution and poor quality.
Pros: smallcompact
Cons: Not Durable, cheaply made, not made for heavy duty chores
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
Greekelk
from Winter Haven, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product - good quality - light weight

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
My wife loves it. Very light, easy to move around especially on a pool deck. I wish is was 5/8" or 3/4' instead of just 1/2". Package says not recommended for a power washer - that could pose a problem at the 1/2" size. For general watering or car washing it is perfect. Only time will tell if it is durable.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Good Shape, Light Weight
Cons: only 1/2" diameter hose
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
Tillie
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is not Ultra as stated

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The Pocket Hose Ultra is of average quality. I don't know what is supposed to be Ultra about it. We had to return the first one we purchased. As soon as I connected it to the outside hose bib faucet, it broke. We returned it for another one. We will see how long this one lasts.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>