728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Watering & Irrigation or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose

Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose

Introducing the As Seen on TV Pocket Hose, the garden hose that's small enough to fit in your pocket, then expands automatically to a giant full sized hose. Just turn on the water and watch this mini hose grow to maximum length like magic. Pocket Hose is super lightweight and easy to handle, making it convenient to hang or store anywhere even in your pocket. And, when you turn off the water to the Pocket Hose, it shrinks back to its original mini size, practically putting itself away. Best of all, it never kinks, twists or tangles like ordinary hoses. The secret is Pocket Hose's expandable accordion design that helps it grow long and strong enough for any tough job. Perfect for gardens, terraces, patios and more, you just turn on the water and watch the Pocket Hose grow and grow and grow.
Overall rating:
2.623 / 5
2.6
 / 
5
(522 reviews) 522
Open Ratings Snapshot
44%of customersrecommend this product223 of 512reviews
Rating Breakdown 522 reviews
2.6 out of 5.0
5
(140)
4
(67)
3
(28)
2
(30)
1
(257)
Quality 
2.5 out of 5.0
2.5 out of 5
Value 
2.7 out of 5.0
2.7 out of 5
44%of customersrecommend this product223 of 512reviews
Customer reviews for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
Review 1 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Minneapolis, MN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

garbage

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
(only gave it 1 star because I had to) 2nd hose rendered useless in 2 months. 1st one developed a hole. Home Depot was good about an exchange for a new one. Despite always turning the water on and off at the house with the hose running, so there was absolutely no pressure build up, my 2nd hose burst at the connector. This item is snake oil. Home Depot should not sell it.
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Santa Rosa, Ca
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Returned in under 60 Seconds.

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Out of the plastic box on to the water cutoff and it leaked about a foot under the connector. Back in the box and back to Home Depot. I always wanted to try one of these models. Maybe there's a better one out there. This one is for sure not it.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+45points
47out of 49found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Pleasant Grove, Utah
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Love the concept hate the hose

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The hose worked great for about a week then it sprang a leak. I returned it to Home Depot and they exchanged it for a new one, this one lasted about another week. All I have used it for is watering 7 planters in front of our house. I only turn the tap on less than a 1/4 turn as I am watering delicate flowers, my driveway gets as much water as the flowers from the leak. The concept I like as I let it curl up under the tap where it will not get walked on or driven over. I am not going to bother getting another I will continue using this one until it falls apart, then scrap it. Sorry I could not give a positive response as it was disappointing to me after watching the commercial .
Cons: Not Durable, short life span
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Montgomery, AL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exploded after using about two weeks

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used the hose about 5 times and turned water on and hose exploded in the middle
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+26points
29out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Wichita, ks
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Junk - Save your money

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The hose is very light and easy to use. Mine made it about 2 months before it blew up. It's a great idea it just doesn't last at all.
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+61points
65out of 69found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Greenville, SC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Wife loves it, me...not so much.

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My wife is physically challenged and loves the light weight and ease of storage. This is not the first one we have used and the first one failed within a few months. Cautions: 1) Don't stress the connections by pulling on the hose. 2) Don't leave under pressure with closed nozzle (or connected to soaker hose). 3) Do store hose when done (coiled in a flower pot is good) do not hang on a peg.
Use common sense and don't believe the TV commercials, this is a lightweight hose hose take care and it should give you acceptable service.
Pros: Functionality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Charlotte, North Carolina
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does not last, waste of money

PostedJuly 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've purchased three pocket hoses; the first failed (burst) when it brushed against a sharp edge of my gutter down spout (my fault), the second burst and was probably my fault as well since I left it out and it did receive some sun exposure, the third however I was extremely careful to protect - kept in the shed when not in use and kept away from sharp edges yet it too failed after a few months of use. That's $60.00 in the garbage. The problem occurs when the outer fabric has a small tear which allows the delicate internal expanding tube to very easily burst once the fabric outer wall fails. Note: the first two were the original and the third was the ultra.
Pros: great except for short life
Cons: Not Durable
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Shrewsbury, ma
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

expanding hose

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After just two weeks of use, the hose developed a leak.Thinking it was a fluke, I bought a second hose and it also developed a leak after about 2 weeks again - see attached pictures. The inner rubber tube walls are too thin to keep expanding and contracting - poor quality of materials. Having not kept the sales slip, I could not return them.
Cons: Not Durable, poor quality materials
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Bonita Springs, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Do NOT BUY this piece of Junk!!!

PostedJune 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased 3 of these hoses. The first one burst on the second use and I'd already thrown away the receipt. The second one just blew, wonder how long the third one will last? Out $60+ and most unhappy!
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose

Keep the receipt!

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The hose burst in less than three months of light use. It also never fully retracted as advertised, it was a long slow wait. The good news is that it has a 10 year warranty, and with the receipt you can get it replaced for free, the down side is by three months I no longer have the receipt. If you buy the hose keep the receipt to get your free replacement when it bursts. You essentially will never have to buy a hose again if you can get them to provide a date of replacement and the new hoses keep breaking within ten years.
Pros: Functionality
Cons: Not Durable
+58points
60out of 62found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Shreveport, La
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

BIG WASTE OF MONEY! DO NOT BUY THIS JUNK!

PostedMarch 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased for my greenhouse. First week really liked it. Then I turned it on and it burst near the faucet. When I contacted pocket hose I got a run around and excuses. One other note I did turn the water off and let the hose completely drain each time I used it. Wish I could give it a minus 5!
Cons: Not Durable, piece of junk, doesn't last, waste of money
+65points
66out of 67found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Conroe, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

What a joke!

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I received this as a gift last year and used it a couple of times with great results. This year I took it out of the garage, hooked it to a spigot, turned it on and walked away for a minute. When I came back, the hose had numerous sections that were just clear balloons that were expanding and blowing the green cover off in chunks as they moved down the length of the hose. I managed to get it turned off before there was a water explosion. An amazingly bad product!
Cons: Not Durable
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Moore, OK, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Still a piece of garbage

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Last year we went through 5 of the lime green version in about 3 weeks. All failed due to hose leaks. This new dark green version with its lifetime guarantee is just as poorly made. We use these for watering our food and flower gardens but nothing that would be considered commercial or strenuous. The first of two failed in about 2.5 weeks with a hole in the hose. We hooked up the second one we bought and it leaked brand new out of the box. Do not waste you time or money on this garbage. Home Depot needs to take them out of their stores or drop the price to about $5.00 for kids to play with.
Cons: Not Durable, poor quality
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Atlanta, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Top 10 Worst

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought the new Pocket Hose Ultra about 4 weeks ago. The 3rd time I used it, I was 1/2 way through washing my car and the hose burst in 2 different areas. The outside faucet I had it connected to does not have unusually high water pressure and no rough or commercial use with the hose, only washing my car with it. Has to be one of the top 10 worst products ever.
Cons: Not Durable, unreliable
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+53points
55out of 57found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from OKLAHOMA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

SAVE YOUR MONEY! OVERPRICED JUNK!!!!!

PostedApril 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought 1 of these, using it for 1 week and thought it was great. So, I bought 3 more as I have lots of beds and gardens. Within 2 weeks all 4 had either sprung leaks in numerous places, blown the head completely off or just exploded huge holes within itself. WHAT A WASTE OF $150!
Cons: Not Durable
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Tacoma
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Save your money

PostedMay 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought one a year ago. From day one it leaked. After three weeks it was leaking so badly that it wouldn't expand. I did not keep the receipt so in the garbage it went. My parents gave me one another last summer so i gave the hose another try. It leaked from both end connectors but it would expand so i used it for watering the lawn. I put it away over the winter and just got it out this spring hooked it up and the thing leaked just like the first one did. No expansion and a gushing leak. In the garbage it went. If you think you'll have better luck than we naysayers do then keep the receipt because you will need it.
Pros: Vibrant Color
Cons: Not Durable, Leaks
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from mandarin Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pocket hose rain barrel companion

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was looking for a light weigh hose to use on my rain barrel . As I needed to water my lawn and garden and from time to time fill up our pool this was perfect. Not a big bulky hose and fits perfect on my home depot rain barrel. Will be getting another of each soon. great prices.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Strong, Great Quality
Cons: not 100 ft
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Tampa, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

You don't need to open your hose nozzle, all the leaks in the hose will do the watering for you!

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Originally bought 2. Within 3 uses, both sprang leaks. Eventually got 3 more replacements. All leaked. Gave up. Went back to standard hoses after wasting my money on the pocked version.
Cons: Not Durable, leak like a sieve
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Bayamón, Puerto Rico
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product fail at the first trial

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product fail at the first use, we need to return.
The guarantee is excelent
Cons: Not Durable
+24points
25out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ultra 1/2 in. x 50 ft. Expanding Garden Hose
from Houston, Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

Trash

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Do not buy this hose. It's basically a balloon inside some fabric. I used it maybe 4x before it began leaking then just busted. It's trash. Don't waste your money.
Cons: Not Durable
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 27 >>