728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop LED Light Bulbs or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 90W Equivalent Bright White PAR38 Broad Spectrum Grow Lamp Flood LED Light Bulb

90W Equivalent Bright White PAR38 Broad Spectrum Grow Lamp Flood LED Light Bulb

The GrowAdvantage PAR38 LED Grow lamp is energy efficient and spectrally optimized lighting solution for a variety of horticultural lighting applications including homeowner/hobbyist, greenhouse, and growth chamber. The lamp optimizes delivered photo synthetically active radiation (PAR) to maximize plant growth and PAR efficacy while providing white light suitable for the human visual system and excellent color saturation. The spectrum contains 12% blue (400-500nm) to support strong stems and compact growth. It provides excellent color saturation of plants under MyNature Grow broad spectrum all while generating much less heat and providing dramatic energy savings over traditional grow lights.
Overall rating:
4.7 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product9 of 9reviews
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(8)
4
(1)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product9 of 9reviews
Customer reviews for 90W Equivalent Bright White PAR38 Broad Spectrum Grow Lamp Flood LED Light Bulb
Review 1 for 90W Equivalent Bright White PAR38 Broad Spectrum Grow Lamp Flood LED Light Bulb
from Maine
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

has pinkish colorcast

PostedDecember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This light is big and solid, time will tell how long it lasts since its durability is what will influence the value over time since the price is not trivial.
It is well packaged and simple to install as one could imagine. Just screw it into the appropriate light fitting.
The light is pinkish due to the inclusion of some red in the light. I have tried to show that in the two photographs.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 90W Equivalent Bright White PAR38 Broad Spectrum Grow Lamp Flood LED Light Bulb
from minneapolis,slush capital of America
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

nice white light

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Old style incandescent and fluorescent 'grow' lights had a weird color. This LED unit puts out what seems to be a nice normal, even white light - but it's a trick because it actually uses red and blue LEDs. Check the shadows thrown by this lamp and you'll see they're red and blue. But somehow it fools the eye and doesn't seem harsh from across the room. A much more efficient way to grow plants indoors.
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 90W Equivalent Bright White PAR38 Broad Spectrum Grow Lamp Flood LED Light Bulb
from TAMPA,FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

It Will Grow On You

PostedNovember 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Never using any kind of grow light I was not sure if it really would do anything at all . Welllll. I was wrong. I had some tomato plants , 3-varietys , in containers . Two had actual tomatoes the third a big boy had some blossoms but never started to produce. Also I had another problem, squirrels, so I would put the plants out during the day and bring them in at night onto the lanai. Not feeling they were getting enough sun I set up the bulb in a chrome 4" diameter clamp light. I then arranged all the plants in a corner so they all would get some light. I turned on the grow bulb at about 5-6pm and left it on till about 10 am the next day. After about 3 days , BAM, I had two new tomatoes that seemed to come out of no where. Ok I am sold. So now that they got my attention I going to try a plant grown on the lanai in a separate location on a separate bulb. Oh, for the technicals, this is a 13watt LED that replaces a 90watt equivalent. So at 11cents a kilowatt I could run this bulb 24 hours a day for a year for about $13.52. It also has a five year warr. and ,get this, the stated bulb life at 12hrs/day is 67.4 years. That's a lot of tomatoes!
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 90W Equivalent Bright White PAR38 Broad Spectrum Grow Lamp Flood LED Light Bulb
from Boston
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Help my dying inside Plants

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
"Brought my Cactus Plant back to LIFE!!!!!" 90 watt equivalent, 13 actual watt is nice too.
Pros: Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 90W Equivalent Bright White PAR38 Broad Spectrum Grow Lamp Flood LED Light Bulb
from TENNESSEE
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Broad spectrum plant light

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The light given from this led plant light is amazing. I can supplement my indoor plants with this single led unit. The light given off floods the room with beautiful light that gives a calming mood and with the o2 from the plants gives a great ambience that is a great conversation piece.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Stylish, Easy Replacement, green technology, low power consumption, extremely long life
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 90W Equivalent Bright White PAR38 Broad Spectrum Grow Lamp Flood LED Light Bulb
from NJ
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product outperforms fluorescent lights intended for the same purpose.

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product outperforms fluorescent tubes intended for the same purpose, but at a reduced electricity consumption. This purchase was a test, the results of which were surprising. Our Amaryllis plants never looked healthier. We will be converting from fluorescent to LED technology.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 90W Equivalent Bright White PAR38 Broad Spectrum Grow Lamp Flood LED Light Bulb
from Clovis, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bright but not crazy bright and cool to touch.

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My plants love this light. Don't let the bulb get too close to the leaves because it will burn the leaves. This bulb has red colors and gold coming out of it. My husband no longer complains about all the bright regular lights in the living room. This is perfect for plants without lighting up the room too much. Even my Zamioculcas zamiifolia (ZZ plant) has put on more stems and it's a slow grower. I put it into a desk lamp socket so you can use stylish lamp decor. This would work great in a green house if you have a plug available for a lamp. Will be buying more of these for seed starting capabilities.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Stylish, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 90W Equivalent Bright White PAR38 Broad Spectrum Grow Lamp Flood LED Light Bulb
from nj
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

LED light bulb

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This light is very bright, and also much more colored than I expected. There are red LEDs in the array that make the light pinkish up close, and more yellow at a distance. Not unpleasant, just not expected. The purpose of the color is to make the plants look better to you, but it actually has no benefit for the plants.
I don't know what the swirly frame around the edge is about, but it keeps the bulb from fitting into most fixtures. The actual bulb inside the frame is rather small. I don't think it is a heatsink, as the bulb runs quite cool and has no need of one. I think it is just needless adornment. That kind of bad design really annoys me - two stars off. I hacked the plastic shade off an old floodlight mount, and that worked, otherwise you might need to buy a new fixture to put this bulb in.
The 45 year life span and annual energy cost are based on 3 hours a day. That is not realistic - a plant light needs to be on 8-10 hours a day for the plants. So triple the cost estimate, but it is still better than anything else. As for the lifespan, my experience with these things is that if it lasts 5 years, or even 3, you've done well. In 15 years, I'll post an update if I'm wrong.
As far as growing plants goes, this bulb's direct competitor is any 'daylight' fluorescent, straight tube or CFL. LEDs are definitely the future, and as the price drops they will exterminate kludgy CFLs. But right now they are still breathtakingly expensive. ( I got this one as a free sample. ) A 90 watt equivalent CFL costs 1/10 of this, and draws about 20 watts, while this LED draws 13. At current prices of both bulbs and kilowatts, LED bulbs have a breakeven point of ... actually, it will probably burn out long before you ever get your money back. But a few years and a huge price drop from now I expect that equation to have changed completely, and in 10 years CFLs will likely be as obsolete as incandescents are today.
There is one area where this bulb does compete with a CFL. Dimmable CFLs are very expensive, and LEDs are inherently dimmable. If you need a dimmable light, the CFL's price advantage is significantly less. Also, I've never seen a CFL that actually lasted its rated life, so if this LED truly is long-lasting, then it is pretty much a wash. Although, while this is true for lights in general, you would probably never actually want to dim a plant light.
So if you want to try the future now, and money is no object, then by all means get one of these. The technology is great, just the economics need to catch up.
Pros: Great Sound Quality, Eco-Friendly, Great Dimming, Very Bright
Cons: poor design doesn't fit in many fixtures
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 90W Equivalent Bright White PAR38 Broad Spectrum Grow Lamp Flood LED Light Bulb
from Houston
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Awesome light bulb

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This light bulb is very efficient and works excellent to provide light where needed.
Pros: Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 90W Equivalent Bright White PAR38 Broad Spectrum Grow Lamp Flood LED Light Bulb
from Las Vegas, Nevada
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Grow Light

PostedFebruary 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great grow light...Using indoors and has great light without all the heat....No special fixtures needed LED grow lights seem to be the right way to go...
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.