728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 11 oz. Black Spray Paint (6-Pack)

11 oz. Black Spray Paint (6-Pack)

Rust-Oleum FlexiDip is a multi-use rubberized coating designed to give extra comfort to users of items while providing protection. This unique coating can be applied to virtually any surface and later removed with ease. FlexiDip provides functional performance with customized decorative appeal.
Overall rating:
4.444 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product15 of 16reviews
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
4.4 out of 5
5
(12)
4
(4)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product15 of 16reviews
Customer reviews for 11 oz. Black Spray Paint (6-Pack)
Review 1 for 11 oz. Black Spray Paint (6-Pack)
from Kansas City, Missouri
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Good For Projects Where A Thin Rubbery Coating Is Needed

PostedMarch 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is my second review of this product. Initially, I had tried this product for a similar use as the well-known liquid plastic dipping product, namely coating tool handles, to give you some cushioning and hand protection while using tools. I still stand by my initial assessment that in that regard, this product will work, but would take so many coats of spray that it would not be cost effective to use it for that purpose. Nine months after my initial review, I came up with a possible use for this product, and picked up the can I had used for my original review. It felt like it still had product inside the can. I used a straight pin to clean out the spray nozzle, and gave it a test spray. To my shock, it still had air pressure and seemed to work. The project I wanted to try it on involved a rifle's pistol grip. This rifle grip was made of slick plastic, so holding it did not give you a firm grip, as your hand tended to slide on the slick plastic. I set up the grip on a old mop handle outdoors as a prop, and began spraying. I wasn't looking for a real thick coating, like you'd expect from the liquid plastic product, but mainly just a rubbery coating over that slick plastic, to give me a more sure grip. I sprayed on several coats, and allowed each one to dry well before adding the next coat. When I was satisfied that I had the thickness I wanted, I tested out the grip on the rifle. It worked just like I'd hoped, and I now had a good tactile grip. To buy a pistol grip for this rifle that already had a rubbery texture, I could have spent as much as $100 or more. But, using this Rust-Oleum FlexiDip, I achieved the same result for a tiny fraction of the cost. The bottom line is, that if you judge this product in comparison to the liquid plastic product, and need a real thick coating, then this isn't the product for you. But, if you have an appropriate project in mind, where a thinner coat of rubbery plastic is needed, then this product will certainly do the job well. You do need to make sure the surface you are spraying is clean, and will allow this spray to stick, just like you would with spray paint. With some surfaces, you may also need to prep the surface by sanding to give it a rough texture for the spray to stick to. Having now re-evaluated this product on a more fair and level basis, I would recommend it for projects it is suitable for. Thanks Rust-Oleum and Home Depot!
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 11 oz. Black Spray Paint (6-Pack)

pleasantly surprised

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I use Plasti Dip for automotive purpose and Home Depot has the best price short of online. Didn't have enough Plasti Dip one day so I decided to take a chance. It worked just as well as the tried and true product. Very satisfied.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 11 oz. Black Spray Paint (6-Pack)
from Annandale, VA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Buy the original product Plasti Dip instead.

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Save your money, and buy the original. Plasti Dip works so much better. Their product goes so much further. It took an entire bottle to do what I used to be able to do with a quarter of the bottle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By Rust-OleumSupportFebruary 11, 2015By Rust-OleumSupportFebruary 11, 2015
Depending on what you are trying to cover, this product will cover about 8 sq.ft. with 2 coats. By calling our Product Support Group at 1-866-585-8450, someone would be able to help you with any concerns you may have. Rustoleum
Review 4 for 11 oz. Black Spray Paint (6-Pack)
from SW Wyoming
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good.

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
So far I have only used this to coat the chrome emblems on my truck, just to fit the look of my truck (personal preference). Durable so far. I believe I could remove the coating if I choose to undo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 11 oz. Black Spray Paint (6-Pack)
from Louisville, KY, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Stuff

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This spray looks great, is easy to use, and is a lot of fun. I used this on some automotive projects and it works exactly like it claims. It goes on easy and comes off when you need it to. It looks great and has worked exactly like I hoped
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 11 oz. Black Spray Paint (6-Pack)
from Normal Illinois
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product

PostedOctober 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Sprayed my aging chrome wheels on my truck. Applied easily and looks great. Many good comments from friends on the look of my truck now.
Pros: Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Dries Quickly, Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 11 oz. Black Spray Paint (6-Pack)
from Tucson,AZ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Waterproof metal

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Had a problem within metal chain outdoors rusting, so I used this product and it looks great- have yet to see how well it works, so cannot give it 5 stars.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 11 oz. Black Spray Paint (6-Pack)
from California, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Similar to plastidip

PostedMay 2, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Similar to plastidip, but I feel isn't as good a product. I would use plastidip over this going forward.
Pros: Good Protection
Cons: Difficult to Clean
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 11 oz. Black Spray Paint (6-Pack)
from Denver
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fixed ceramic fountain bowl

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ceramic fountain bowl was broken in wind gust, and when glue back together there were pieces missing. Flexidip was use to line the interior of the bowl, and it will live to be an active fountain again.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy to Use, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 11 oz. Black Spray Paint (6-Pack)
from Palm Springs, CA, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome coverage!

PostedJuly 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have been seeing this rubberized product being used more and more recently. I decided that I would give my computer case an upgrade by painting parts of it blackseeing as it was originally all black. The spray goes on very light, so it took 6 full coats to convert my black steel computer case into a solid white. Before I sprayed though I did some prep work to ensure all of the parts I did not want paint on were taped up with some painters tape. I also added a sticker to the case so that I could remove it later giving the case a nice look.
I know this product more as Plasti-Dip and its automobile applications. I plan to use this stuff for parts of my truck later down the road. It is very easy to use and it dries very fast. The price point on these is actually not bad.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 11 oz. Black Spray Paint (6-Pack)

better than plasti dip

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Worked awesome and looks great. Easy application and fast drying
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 11 oz. Black Spray Paint (6-Pack)
from Hauppauge, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Goes on nice and easy. Looks nice and adds some grip

PostedJune 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This goes on like most other spray paints and it's less likely to run. Is leaves a nice matte/flat finish. If you read the info on the can, it's only meant as a temporary finish and I guess easy to remove. it's recommended to be removed within 3 months of application, not sure how easy to difficult it will be after that or how well it will hold up after 3 months.
I like the nice rubbery texture it adds. I sprayed the bottom of a few glasses and other items that I did not want to slide around and works pretty well at that.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 11 oz. Black Spray Paint (6-Pack)
from Azle, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Plastic coating, in a can

PostedJuly 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I needed to coat the handles on some hand tools where the plastic had deteriorated.
This stuff goes on like a rattle-can of spray paint, and once you build up a few coats, it forms a thick, durable, and comfortable new coating.
You need to apply several, thin, coats, and allow to dry between each coat. The effort is worth it, the new coating held up to use on my hand tools (pliers, grips, and a large screw driver).
Pros: Easy to Apply
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 11 oz. Black Spray Paint (6-Pack)
from Minnesota, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

fun

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This stuff is pretty cool. If you screw up what you are painting, peel it off and try again. I used it to change the color of my kids bike, and to protect the handlebars from when he crashes. Glad I have extra.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 11 oz. Black Spray Paint (6-Pack)
from United States
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for a quick change in look

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very easy to apply however apply a lot if not it will not come off easy, bought 4 cans for two cars, I would say you will need 1 1/2 or two for best results
Only con would be hard to clean but unless you apply a thick coat
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Dries Quickly, Easy to Apply, Looks High End
Cons: Difficult to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 11 oz. Black Spray Paint (6-Pack)
from Washington, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great!

PostedJune 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It worked great on my project. I used it on the front grill of my truck.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 11 oz. Black Spray Paint (6-Pack)

I like this paint

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Uses on my truck wheels. Covered corrosion and made them new.
Pros: Even Application, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 11 oz. Black Spray Paint (6-Pack)
from Des Plaines, IL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Loved it!

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've purchased the actual product "PlastiDip" in th past. This is as good if not better. I would highly recommend this product to anyone
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.