728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Automatic Cable Gate Lock

Automatic Cable Gate Lock

The Automatic chain release for property management and security allows remote controlled access to cable, chain or rope secured property. Using the included Remote (FM135), you can automatically release the lock enabling the cable, chain or rope to fall allowing you to drive through without leaving the vehicle. This can also be used on properties containing gates as well, simply wrap the cable around the gate and lock into place. This convenient lock is ideal for land management such as hunting leases, driveways, restricted areas and most importantly to prevent trespassing of your property. Also great for securing property such as jet skis, golf carts or other valuables.
Overall rating:
4.6 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product9 of 10reviews
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(7)
4
(2)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product9 of 10reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for Automatic Cable Gate Lock
Review 1 for Automatic Cable Gate Lock
from NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Security for Property Owners

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We have a lot and do Not want people driving down the driveway unless we are there working. This was the perfect solution! It is sturdy, attractive and easy to install on either metal or wooden posts and works with cable, chain or rope to secure your property. Un-locks with a push of a button never leaving your car. Just push the button on the remote and the arm falls open dropping the cable allowing you to drive in. It can also be unlocked with the enclosed keys and there is an option of buying a keypad. The unit comes with two transmitters and a set of keys. This is definitely one of my favorite things.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Automatic Cable Gate Lock
from Pontiac, MI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Received free product:Yes

Just what I Needed!

PostedOctober 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The Mighty Mule Gate Lock is just what I needed for my Northern Michigan property. It is very well constructed. I was pleased it came with 2 remotes and 2 keys. I put in battery's and everything works perfectly. I will update review after installation.
Pros: High Quality of Material, good security product
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Automatic Cable Gate Lock
from Indianapolis, IN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Handle little lock for farm chains

PostedApril 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This device allows you to remote unlock a chain or cable lock. I first looked at the security of the device. It only has one screw to remove the cover. However, the case cannot be removed while the latch is fastened. Overall, I didn't see anything security wise that would make tampering with the box worth the trouble. People would be more likely to just cut the cable or chain at that point.
This system has some add-ons around it. A solar cell to keep the cells topped and a digital key pad for entry without remote. All in all, this is a pretty useful device. If you are not locking the chain again, you only need to get out of your vehicle when leaving to lock up.
See some details on the images posted. The latch is robust and it closes without any other action. Just push up in place. The remote includes a handy little LED light.
This is very useful for those places where chain security is needed.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Automatic Cable Gate Lock
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Perfect for getting a trailer into a driveway...

PostedFebruary 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This gate lock is the perfect solution for being able to pull a long vehicle into a chained driveway without stopping to block traffic - or having the gate opened for an extended period where livestock might be able to wander out.
The remote operation allows you to unlock the gate or drop the chain from the vehicle, drive in, all without having to block the road or get out of the vehicle.
Installation is very straightforward and the operation is seamless. I haven't tested the limits of the remote, but it clearly operates from a significant distance.
Pros: Multi Use, High Quality of Material, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Automatic Cable Gate Lock
from destrehan, LA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Great for property entrance

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We used this to secure the access to our land. It is really nice to be able to drop the chain gate with the remote, and you can leave a remote with a friend or relative. We get some serious rain down here and it was always a pain to get out and do the chain lock, not anymore!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Automatic Cable Gate Lock
from Cincinnati, OH, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Keep Your Property Secure

PostedDecember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Well I finally got around to installing my Mighty Mule Automatic Cable-Gate Lock at my summer lake home. The best feature I like is that I can drop the chain from the remote without getting out of the truck. This is a nice feature to use when it dark or raining out. I concreted at 6x6 in the ground and mounted it to that. The installation was very easy and only took about a half hour. Keys are also supplied incase the batteries in the remote go dead. I used 10' of #30 3/8 chain just for security and that it is heavy so when I hit the button to unlock the chain falls to the ground. Great product and it has really came in handy.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Automatic Cable Gate Lock
from Oceanside, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Combines conveince and security

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
If you have property you need to keep secure, but also want easy access this is the product for you.
It is best suited for securing driveway access using a cable or chain, but can also be used to secure other things stored outside - jet skis, trailers, patio furniture, etc. Just run a cable or chain through the items secured at one end and using the Might Mule Cable Gate Lock at the other.
I installed this at my lake trailer across the driveway, but also ran the cable through a motor cycle frame and outdoor patio furniture so everything is kept secure. Now when I pull up, I just press the remote to unlock and drop the cable and pull into the driveway and everything is unlocked and I'm ready to enjoy my weekend.
It is very convenient to use and provides good security as well.
Pros: Multi Use, High Quality of Material, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Automatic Cable Gate Lock
from El Paso,TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Looks tough

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Looks to be well built but only time will tell, after being exposed to the elements in the mountains. But it did not come with the 8 batteries and 2 carriage bolts/nuts needed for installation, which would have made it ready for installation. For the price paid, these should have been included. There was only 1 remote, when most openers come with 2.
Cons: carriage bolts and 8 batteries not included
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Automatic Cable Gate Lock
from Katy, Tx
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Mule Gate Keeper

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This cable locking system is very well built. Nice heavy material and constructed nicely. I would say the weakest point for this system would be the post you attach it to. The system works nicely with the remote controls. It comes with a keyed lock too, in case the batteries are dead. That is the one thing I think they missed by not putting a solar battery recharging panel on the top. It is very easy to install with 2 1/2" carriage bolts, install the batteries, close and your ready to use.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: battery operated
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Automatic Cable Gate Lock
from Oklahoma, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The cable lock system is great! Very easy to install.

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We live on 160 acres with a home and mobile home on the property. There was a problem with people going to the mobile home when no one was renting it. We got the cable lock system and no longer have the problem. And the remote makes it easy to get through the drive to feed the animals.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.