728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black

Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black

The Stratford Mailbox and Post Combination is a stylish and elegant vintage Victoria era design. The mailbox and post are constructed from heavy-duty double walled polymer plastic for lasting durability and resistance to weather elements. The mailbox features a decorative designed top panel with embossed side panels and an accent color door pull knob for easy access to mail, and also includes a built-in red mail indicator flag.
Overall rating:
4.608 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(51 reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product47 of 51reviews
Rating Breakdown 51 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(34)
4
(15)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product47 of 51reviews
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer reviews for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
Review 1 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from charleston, South Carolina
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Plastic pleasure

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It's just a mailbox right... Well I can't begin to describe how wonderful this produce is. My wife and I walk around our neighborhood and just do not like the plastic mailboxes popping up everywhere. They are just plain ugly. Along comes this unbelievable classic designer mailbox. It was easy to install. The hardest part was digging the hole with the post hole digger. It does require a 6 ft 4x4 wood post and a bag of concrete. which amounts to about an extra 10 bucks. This produce is so good I bought a second one for my rental property. It would make a wonderful gift to a homeowner who's mailbox is just blah. If there is such a thing... I'm in mailbox heaven. The wife did a great job with the plants we purchased at Home Depot too; as you can see with the attached photo.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from Mount Juliet, TN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Mailbox!

PostedMarch 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We were not quite ready to build a brick mailbox but needed to replace the one we had. I looked online and in stores, then came across this mailbox/post combination. Ordered the product online and it arrived promptly. As we were installing (super easy), several neighbors stopped by to comment on the box. We even had one neighbor ask if it was made of wrought iron. I had read many favorable comments about this mailbox online and have to agree with many of them: looks like a much more expensive mailbox than it is! We hope to enjoy this for many years to come.
Pros: Nice Design
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from summerville, sc
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great buy

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
it was easy to assemble and it is durable. not to mention we have the best looking mailbox now.. people slow down and look at it and people walking by stop to look at it. it has a huge box, so even if you go on vacation it will hold all your mail. i would recommend this product. it's great quality and price
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from Northwest Indiana
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product with exceptions.

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Had existing post, used a reciprocating saw and removed unnecessary pieces (cross arm and height).
Only felt the screws were cheap and replaced with longer deck screws. Whole installation took approx. 45 minutes. Looks great and have many good comments on the product.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: screws not adequate.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from Altamonte Springs, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Deal

PostedNovember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Looks terrific and a great value. Easy to assemble and secure to the ground. Time will tell about its durability, but for the styling and cost it is well worth it. Now we have the nicest mailbox on the block
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from Lexington KY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GREAT mailbox package for the price. There's nicer ones but they'll cost you

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
the price can't be beat. the look can't be beat AT THIS PRICE. But it's cheap alright - hopefully my mail doesn't get wet. BUT compared to other products at this price, it's great. that's like saying WAH WAH MY KIA ISN'T AS NICE AS A ROLLS ROYCE. Duh, it's 1/20 the cost.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from Mobile, AL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks Great

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The Mailbox was promptly delivered, but I had to wait another week to get the hardware kit for assembly -- the box was pretty battered in shipping and the hardware packet may well have dropped out during transit. Once I had all the parts, the box was easy to assemble and installation was normal for a post set in concrete. The box looks great and is larger than my old USPS standard. I'm very happy with it. I had no problem attaching the street number with the 2" adhesive numbers I got at Home Depot.
Pros: Durable, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from Florida
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beautiful looking mailbox and AMAZING price

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This mailbox is above and beyond what we expected for the price. It is so elegant and nice looking. I wasn't sure if it was going to look cheap. Delivery was fast and free, super easy to put together and install. A lot of space for mail! Great buy
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black

Great looking & good value

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is a great mailbox, it looks really good considering it's a plastic mailbox- the door opens so nicely & the "flag" isn't a regular flag, it's a modern type that my daughter actually thought was cool- it slides out towards the road instead of flips upward.. If I had to give it any downfall id say that when it rains the mail isn't completely protected, it does git a little damp - but I think that could be fixed if the mailbox is installed with just the slightest & unnoticeable slant towards the road to help keep water from running in the doorway (I think ours mite have just the SLIGHTEST slant backwards, not even enough to notice tho..).. But for the value I do really love the mailbox!! Would recommend it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from Lake Cormorant, MS
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor Construction

PostedMarch 21, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Mailbox was manufactured poorly. Screws did not fit into the milled holes on the horizontal bracket at all. Luckily, we had slightly smaller screws in our tool box. After all was said and done, horizontal bracket assembly wiggled on the upright post. We are going to try and secure it with hose clamps, which will no doubt detract from the esthetics of the box design. Also, it took us 4 hours from start to finish to assemble, partly because of the poor mill work. Had we known this, we would have opted for another mailbox. It's very nice looking, but hardly worth the time and effort it took to assemble and install.
Pros: Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Install, poorly manufactured
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from Ft Lauderdale, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Stratford mailbox post combo

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
You get what you pay for. It's a nice looking product but the attachment of the mailbox to the post is very shaky. I'm not sure how long product this will last. We installed over a wood post cemented into the ground
Pros: Nice Design
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from Lenoir City
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Mailbox & pole cover

PostedApril 20, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I just installed this. By the time you buy a 4x4, concrete, and mailbox assembly, expect to pay about $125. If the plastic holds up, it may not be a bad deal. Will have to wait and see. It has a nice look to it.
Pros: Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from missouri
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

nice box

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
nice product , easy to install , good price online
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I love my new mailbox!!

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am very pleased with my mailbox. It was easy to install. It looks great.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black

Looks great could use a better clasp

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This set looks great! Far better than most plastic sets. Has a metal post look until very close. The box door closes only by plastic into plastic notches so expecting it to loosen quickly & trying to figure a way to rig a magnetic catch. Other than that I love it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black

Stratford mailbox

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Decent post and box, easy to put together. But the screws are small, I used 1/4 inch spax screws instead. Should be indestructible now.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from MA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice mail box, good value, easy installation

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to install, well made. Finish on post not perfect but good enough. Looks good, perhaps not as good as some reviews here suggest, but certainly excellent value.
Relies on a sturdy 4x4 post (not included) running the full height of the post.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from Oneida ,NewYork
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Stratford Mailbox Combination

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great mailbox for the price. Looks great and the price was reasonable .The hardest part about the installation was digging the hole .I ran into a lot of rock . After you get the 4x4 in place, the mailbox goes together quiet quickly . Love IT !!!
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from Palm Coast, Fl
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent solution to complete our new home entrance Great look and quality. Home Depot expedited this item quickly and on time.

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to assemble and installation. looks great and stylish. Perfect value compared to the alluminum mail boxes available.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Durable, Nice Design
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from Sarasota, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Love our new mailbox! Easy to install. I shopped around and this is a Very good value. We now have the best looking mailbox on the block.

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Love our new mailbox! Super easy to install. I shopped around and this is a very good value compared to others that cost the same or more. We now have the best looking mailbox on the block!
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>