728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Mailboxes & Mailbox Posts or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black

Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black

The Stratford Mailbox and Post Combination is a stylish and elegant vintage Victoria era design. The mailbox and post are constructed from heavy-duty double walled polymer plastic for lasting durability and resistance to weather elements. The mailbox features a decorative designed top panel with embossed side panels and an accent color door pull knob for easy access to mail, and also includes a built-in red mail indicator flag.
Overall rating:
4.781 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(32 reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product32 of 32reviews
Rating Breakdown 32 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(25)
4
(7)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product32 of 32reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer reviews for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
Review 1 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from charleston, South Carolina
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Plastic pleasure

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It's just a mailbox right... Well I can't begin to describe how wonderful this produce is. My wife and I walk around our neighborhood and just do not like the plastic mailboxes popping up everywhere. They are just plain ugly. Along comes this unbelievable classic designer mailbox. It was easy to install. The hardest part was digging the hole with the post hole digger. It does require a 6 ft 4x4 wood post and a bag of concrete. which amounts to about an extra 10 bucks. This produce is so good I bought a second one for my rental property. It would make a wonderful gift to a homeowner who's mailbox is just blah. If there is such a thing... I'm in mailbox heaven. The wife did a great job with the plants we purchased at Home Depot too; as you can see with the attached photo.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from summerville, sc
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great buy

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
it was easy to assemble and it is durable. not to mention we have the best looking mailbox now.. people slow down and look at it and people walking by stop to look at it. it has a huge box, so even if you go on vacation it will hold all your mail. i would recommend this product. it's great quality and price
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from Altamonte Springs, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Deal

PostedNovember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Looks terrific and a great value. Easy to assemble and secure to the ground. Time will tell about its durability, but for the styling and cost it is well worth it. Now we have the nicest mailbox on the block
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from Palm Coast, Fl
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent solution to complete our new home entrance Great look and quality. Home Depot expedited this item quickly and on time.

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble and installation. looks great and stylish. Perfect value compared to the alluminum mail boxes available.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Durable, Nice Design
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from North Aurora, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Looks classy!

PostedJuly 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I wasn't sure how this would look in person as some plastic mailboxes can look tacky. Wow! My husband installed it in just a couple of hours and it looks great. I actually had a neighbor stop to compliment how nice it looked. The price point is great too if you don't want to invest too much if you have one of those plow drivers that can't seem to stay off the curb. Very pleased!
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from Naperville, IL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very nice mailbox!

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to install. We did look at a You Tube video to give us some help, too. We used pea gravel to hold it in place and did not use cement. It's really nice looking and you really can't tell it's just plastic. Great price, too.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from Nashville, TN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

nice looking mailbox

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
we live in a neighborhood with mostly brick mailboxes but we never had one. I didn't want a brick mailbox because of the cost and damage done in an accident. this kit went up easily with no hitches and it looks nice. I feel like it's on a par with the brick mailboxes.
The mylar reflective numbers sold at HD will not stick to the mailbox so I am trying some other solutions. I did not expect the address numbers to be the biggest problem. It would be nice if the manufacturer recommended some address solutions.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from Grand Prairie, tx
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love it!

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to set up. Husband set it up in the matter of minutes. The hardest part was cutting the existing post because it was too long.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from Clearwater, Fl
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Mailbox

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Mailbox was very easy to put together. I would have rated it 5 stars except there was no hardware in the box. It took over three weeks to the hardware after three phone calls. Mailbox looks nice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from Montgomery, AL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Classic Mail-box

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was able to assemble the box with little difficulty. Apparently very durable material. Recommended numbers for mail-box actually enhanced it's appearance.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black

Nice mailbox

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This looks great. It's mounted on a 4x4 post, so it's very sturdy. It looks as good as the expensive metal posts my neighbors have.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Super buy

PostedNovember 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very good product, very well made, super fast shipment
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from Acwoth, Georgia
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

awesome mail box!!!

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It is a surprisingly good product for the price, Looks really good and it was easy to install...
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from Thomaston, Georgia
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great for the price !

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The mail box and post combo arrived as planned and was very easy (not considering digging the hole) to install. Only time will tell how long the post will stand up to use and weather. I would have preferred a white post and box but the black looks ok.
The method of holding the mailbox door shut is suspect and we will have to wait and see how it holds up with use. The wood screws could be larger and longer to hold onto the wood post.
The sale price was great and the wood post and sackcrete only cost $12.75 so the whole deal was very economical.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from Palm Harbor FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good looking...very substantial

PostedOctober 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I liked almost everything...price...quality...ease of assembly...
One negative comment....the one screw that shows on post...(lower screw)...needs a pop-in black cap or at least a black decorative screw head...
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from St Louis, MO
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great looking mailbox

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ordered product online since I was unable to get to store to look at in stock mailboxes. Thought it looked good in the photo but looked even better when it came out of the box.. Large, sturdy and the best looking mailbox ever. Couldn't be more pleased you won't be disappointed in this purchase!
Pros: Stylish
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from Petal, MS
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It looks beautiful and increased the appeal of my home and yard without spending a lot of money!

PostedOctober 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The mailbox was easy to put together and my husband had it put up in one day! It has the look I want and was within my budget.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black

Love my new mailbox

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Shipping was fast, easy to install, and looks great! Very satisfied!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black

Love it

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very classy mail box! We love the look :) it add's a nice touch to our front lawn.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from ottawa, kansas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Purchase

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to put together and looks great in front of the house.
Pros: Durable, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>