728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Mailboxes & Mailbox Posts or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black

Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black

The Stratford Mailbox and Post Combination is a stylish and elegant vintage Victoria era design. The mailbox and post are constructed from heavy-duty double walled polymer plastic for lasting durability and resistance to weather elements. The mailbox features a decorative designed top panel with embossed side panels and an accent color door pull knob for easy access to mail, and also includes a built-in red mail indicator flag.
Overall rating:
4.578 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(64 reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product59 of 64reviews
Rating Breakdown 64 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(43)
4
(18)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product59 of 64reviews
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 25 Answers
Customer reviews for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
Review 1 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from Hightstown, NJ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best mailbox in this Price Range

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Best mailbox in this price range. Looks expensive, easy to install. I got lot of compliments for this mailbox.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

Great Mailbox, Great Price

PostedMay 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Perfect size to receive small packages at the mailbox and save the mailman the trip to your front door. The installation was simple. We removed the old box and the arm on the post holding the box. My husband slid the new post on top of the old wooden post and that was it! Then he assembled the arm and box on to the new post. The material is a heavy plastic and looking at it from close up, you can see that it's plastic. But from a distance it has a very classy appearance that has added curb appeal to our front yard. The price was fantastic and I highly recommend the product.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from charleston, South Carolina
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Plastic pleasure

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It's just a mailbox right... Well I can't begin to describe how wonderful this produce is. My wife and I walk around our neighborhood and just do not like the plastic mailboxes popping up everywhere. They are just plain ugly. Along comes this unbelievable classic designer mailbox. It was easy to install. The hardest part was digging the hole with the post hole digger. It does require a 6 ft 4x4 wood post and a bag of concrete. which amounts to about an extra 10 bucks. This produce is so good I bought a second one for my rental property. It would make a wonderful gift to a homeowner who's mailbox is just blah. If there is such a thing... I'm in mailbox heaven. The wife did a great job with the plants we purchased at Home Depot too; as you can see with the attached photo.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+20points
21out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from Mount Juliet, TN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Mailbox!

PostedMarch 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We were not quite ready to build a brick mailbox but needed to replace the one we had. I looked online and in stores, then came across this mailbox/post combination. Ordered the product online and it arrived promptly. As we were installing (super easy), several neighbors stopped by to comment on the box. We even had one neighbor ask if it was made of wrought iron. I had read many favorable comments about this mailbox online and have to agree with many of them: looks like a much more expensive mailbox than it is! We hope to enjoy this for many years to come.
Pros: Nice Design
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from summerville, sc
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great buy

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
it was easy to assemble and it is durable. not to mention we have the best looking mailbox now.. people slow down and look at it and people walking by stop to look at it. it has a huge box, so even if you go on vacation it will hold all your mail. i would recommend this product. it's great quality and price
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from Powder Springs GA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Mailbox Kit

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This mailbox kit is reasonably priced and all vinyl construction is a plus. You do have to purchase a 4x4 post then the box slides easily over it. I also purchased the number kit for the top made by the same company and it did not fit, I had to drill new holes and purchase longer screws. Over all it is a good looking sturdy mailbox easy to install and my neighbors like it.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from Northwest Indiana
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product with exceptions.

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Had existing post, used a reciprocating saw and removed unnecessary pieces (cross arm and height).
Only felt the screws were cheap and replaced with longer deck screws. Whole installation took approx. 45 minutes. Looks great and have many good comments on the product.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: screws not adequate.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from Altamonte Springs, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Deal

PostedNovember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Looks terrific and a great value. Easy to assemble and secure to the ground. Time will tell about its durability, but for the styling and cost it is well worth it. Now we have the nicest mailbox on the block
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from Florida
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beautiful looking mailbox and AMAZING price

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This mailbox is above and beyond what we expected for the price. It is so elegant and nice looking. I wasn't sure if it was going to look cheap. Delivery was fast and free, super easy to put together and install. A lot of space for mail! Great buy
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from Ft Lauderdale, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Stratford mailbox post combo

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
You get what you pay for. It's a nice looking product but the attachment of the mailbox to the post is very shaky. I'm not sure how long product this will last. We installed over a wood post cemented into the ground
Pros: Nice Design
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from Tampa, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Gibraltar's Customer Service Doesn't Rock.

PostedApril 29, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased a Gibraltar Stratford mailbox from HD. I started the install, and had already put the plastic post covers and the support arm in place whern I found that the front and rear panels of the mailbox were missing. I know, I know, I should have checked all the parts before starting but I'm a guy and I didn't.
The instructions specifically state "Customer should not contact their place of purchese." I contacted Gibraltar's customer service by email, they replied that I should return the product to Home Depot. I advised that it was partially installed and I didn't want to disassemble it. I was then told to provide proof of purchase and photos of the partial assembly showing where the parts are missing. Unbelieveable!
I disassembled it, returned it to HD and am looking for a mailbox made by any company other than Gibraltar.
Cons: no customer service
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from Lexington KY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GREAT mailbox package for the price. There's nicer ones but they'll cost you

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
the price can't be beat. the look can't be beat AT THIS PRICE. But it's cheap alright - hopefully my mail doesn't get wet. BUT compared to other products at this price, it's great. that's like saying WAH WAH MY KIA ISN'T AS NICE AS A ROLLS ROYCE. Duh, it's 1/20 the cost.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from Mobile, AL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks Great

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The Mailbox was promptly delivered, but I had to wait another week to get the hardware kit for assembly -- the box was pretty battered in shipping and the hardware packet may well have dropped out during transit. Once I had all the parts, the box was easy to assemble and installation was normal for a post set in concrete. The box looks great and is larger than my old USPS standard. I'm very happy with it. I had no problem attaching the street number with the 2" adhesive numbers I got at Home Depot.
Pros: Durable, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from Miami FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

A good product

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Really adds class to the house. Prior to assembly, we painted ours with a black "hammered finish" spray paint to give it more of a cast iron look, and it came out really great. The only complaint is that the one side of the box has an extendable red "outgoing mail" mast and that takes up space on that side for your house numbers (assuming you want those on the mailbox). Also, the reflective oval 2-sided number sign kit that the manufacturer sells does not fit the top of this mailbox model, so we were forced to put the kit vertically on the back of the post.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from Toms River, NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

LOVE IT!!

PostedApril 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Looking for a new mailbox, we went to another similar store and purchased a mailbox and separate post for it. The more I looked at it I realized I wasn't too impressed with it. So I went on Home Depot website and found this one and knew I had to have it. It cost less than the post and mailbox we returned. Ordered it and returned the other one. So happy we did. The pics don't do it justice. Yes it is plastic but it does not look cheap or flimsy. It's an attractive addition to our property. It was delivered sooner than expected and our great neighbor helped hubby install it, which didn't take too long. It's actually larger than it seems on the website, so happy about that. We made a great choice. Couldn't be happier!
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black

Great looking & good value

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is a great mailbox, it looks really good considering it's a plastic mailbox- the door opens so nicely & the "flag" isn't a regular flag, it's a modern type that my daughter actually thought was cool- it slides out towards the road instead of flips upward.. If I had to give it any downfall id say that when it rains the mail isn't completely protected, it does git a little damp - but I think that could be fixed if the mailbox is installed with just the slightest & unnoticeable slant towards the road to help keep water from running in the doorway (I think ours mite have just the SLIGHTEST slant backwards, not even enough to notice tho..).. But for the value I do really love the mailbox!! Would recommend it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black

Really love this mailbox

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very easy to assemble and install. Great quality for the price.
Pros: Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from Lake Cormorant, MS
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor Construction

PostedMarch 21, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Mailbox was manufactured poorly. Screws did not fit into the milled holes on the horizontal bracket at all. Luckily, we had slightly smaller screws in our tool box. After all was said and done, horizontal bracket assembly wiggled on the upright post. We are going to try and secure it with hose clamps, which will no doubt detract from the esthetics of the box design. Also, it took us 4 hours from start to finish to assemble, partly because of the poor mill work. Had we known this, we would have opted for another mailbox. It's very nice looking, but hardly worth the time and effort it took to assemble and install.
Pros: Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Install, poorly manufactured
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from Madison WI
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product

PostedMay 5, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This mailbox is more sturdy than it first seemed. The only downfall is it is not a complete kit meaning a post is also required.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from NJ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Stratford mailbox post combination

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I would definitely recommend this product! It was extremely easy to assemble, perfectly priced, and we received numerous compliments since the purchase. You will not be disappointed in this product. I should add it is very sturdy, and waterproof, and large enough to accommodate small to medium packages from Amazon, etc.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>