728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Mailboxes & Mailbox Posts or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black

Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black

The Stratford Mailbox and Post Combination is a stylish and elegant vintage Victoria era design. The mailbox and post are constructed from heavy-duty double walled polymer plastic for lasting durability and resistance to weather elements. The mailbox features a decorative designed top panel with embossed side panels and an accent color door pull knob for easy access to mail, and also includes a built-in red mail indicator flag.
Overall rating:
4.525 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(80 reviews) 80
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product72 of 80reviews
Rating Breakdown 80 reviews
4.5 out of 5
5
(54)
4
(20)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product72 of 80reviews
Customer questions and answers:
19 Questions | 37 Answers
Customer reviews for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
Review 1 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

Great Mailbox, Great Price

PostedMay 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Perfect size to receive small packages at the mailbox and save the mailman the trip to your front door. The installation was simple. We removed the old box and the arm on the post holding the box. My husband slid the new post on top of the old wooden post and that was it! Then he assembled the arm and box on to the new post. The material is a heavy plastic and looking at it from close up, you can see that it's plastic. But from a distance it has a very classy appearance that has added curb appeal to our front yard. The price was fantastic and I highly recommend the product.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from Hightstown, NJ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best mailbox in this Price Range

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Best mailbox in this price range. Looks expensive, easy to install. I got lot of compliments for this mailbox.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from charleston, South Carolina
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Plastic pleasure

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It's just a mailbox right... Well I can't begin to describe how wonderful this produce is. My wife and I walk around our neighborhood and just do not like the plastic mailboxes popping up everywhere. They are just plain ugly. Along comes this unbelievable classic designer mailbox. It was easy to install. The hardest part was digging the hole with the post hole digger. It does require a 6 ft 4x4 wood post and a bag of concrete. which amounts to about an extra 10 bucks. This produce is so good I bought a second one for my rental property. It would make a wonderful gift to a homeowner who's mailbox is just blah. If there is such a thing... I'm in mailbox heaven. The wife did a great job with the plants we purchased at Home Depot too; as you can see with the attached photo.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+25points
26out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from Powder Springs GA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Mailbox Kit

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This mailbox kit is reasonably priced and all vinyl construction is a plus. You do have to purchase a 4x4 post then the box slides easily over it. I also purchased the number kit for the top made by the same company and it did not fit, I had to drill new holes and purchase longer screws. Over all it is a good looking sturdy mailbox easy to install and my neighbors like it.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from summerville, sc
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great buy

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
it was easy to assemble and it is durable. not to mention we have the best looking mailbox now.. people slow down and look at it and people walking by stop to look at it. it has a huge box, so even if you go on vacation it will hold all your mail. i would recommend this product. it's great quality and price
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from Mount Juliet, TN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Mailbox!

PostedMarch 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We were not quite ready to build a brick mailbox but needed to replace the one we had. I looked online and in stores, then came across this mailbox/post combination. Ordered the product online and it arrived promptly. As we were installing (super easy), several neighbors stopped by to comment on the box. We even had one neighbor ask if it was made of wrought iron. I had read many favorable comments about this mailbox online and have to agree with many of them: looks like a much more expensive mailbox than it is! We hope to enjoy this for many years to come.
Pros: Nice Design
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from Altamonte Springs, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Deal

PostedNovember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Looks terrific and a great value. Easy to assemble and secure to the ground. Time will tell about its durability, but for the styling and cost it is well worth it. Now we have the nicest mailbox on the block
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from Northwest Indiana
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product with exceptions.

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Had existing post, used a reciprocating saw and removed unnecessary pieces (cross arm and height).
Only felt the screws were cheap and replaced with longer deck screws. Whole installation took approx. 45 minutes. Looks great and have many good comments on the product.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: screws not adequate.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from Tampa, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Gibraltar's Customer Service Doesn't Rock.

PostedApril 29, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased a Gibraltar Stratford mailbox from HD. I started the install, and had already put the plastic post covers and the support arm in place whern I found that the front and rear panels of the mailbox were missing. I know, I know, I should have checked all the parts before starting but I'm a guy and I didn't.
The instructions specifically state "Customer should not contact their place of purchese." I contacted Gibraltar's customer service by email, they replied that I should return the product to Home Depot. I advised that it was partially installed and I didn't want to disassemble it. I was then told to provide proof of purchase and photos of the partial assembly showing where the parts are missing. Unbelieveable!
I disassembled it, returned it to HD and am looking for a mailbox made by any company other than Gibraltar.
Cons: no customer service
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from Florida
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beautiful looking mailbox and AMAZING price

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This mailbox is above and beyond what we expected for the price. It is so elegant and nice looking. I wasn't sure if it was going to look cheap. Delivery was fast and free, super easy to put together and install. A lot of space for mail! Great buy
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from Central WI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Mailbox Post Combo Value

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is easily the best mailbox post value out there, and looks great. Had compliments before I had it finished. Went up in 30 minutes, seems well-made for the money. Plus MADE in the USA. Thanks for a great product at a great price.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from Miami FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

A good product

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Really adds class to the house. Prior to assembly, we painted ours with a black "hammered finish" spray paint to give it more of a cast iron look, and it came out really great. The only complaint is that the one side of the box has an extendable red "outgoing mail" mast and that takes up space on that side for your house numbers (assuming you want those on the mailbox). Also, the reflective oval 2-sided number sign kit that the manufacturer sells does not fit the top of this mailbox model, so we were forced to put the kit vertically on the back of the post.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from Mobile, AL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks Great

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The Mailbox was promptly delivered, but I had to wait another week to get the hardware kit for assembly -- the box was pretty battered in shipping and the hardware packet may well have dropped out during transit. Once I had all the parts, the box was easy to assemble and installation was normal for a post set in concrete. The box looks great and is larger than my old USPS standard. I'm very happy with it. I had no problem attaching the street number with the 2" adhesive numbers I got at Home Depot.
Pros: Durable, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beuatiful Mailbox, easy installation

PostedJune 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The instructions were very easy to follow. You need to purchase a 4x4 that is at least 6 ft in length. I would recommend looking in the clearance wood pile at the store, that's where I found mine for 70% off. You can cement the post in, and it is recommended if you have sandy soil, but with the clay soil in our neck of the woods it wasn't necessary. The hardest part was digging the hole for the post :)
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black

Simple Mailbox

PostedJuly 28, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Easy install, assuming you have a base 4x4 or existing hole. All plastic connects to 4x4, which is an important point to understand. Not difficult to join all the components, but better detail on the mailbox portion of the attachment to the base plate and correct holes would be beneficial. Biggest negative is that NO address numbers seem to adhere to the plastic, especially after a HOT summer day and then rain. They just peel right away and waste money.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: numbers don't stick to the plastic.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from Ft Lauderdale, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Stratford mailbox post combo

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
You get what you pay for. It's a nice looking product but the attachment of the mailbox to the post is very shaky. I'm not sure how long product this will last. We installed over a wood post cemented into the ground
Pros: Nice Design
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from Kenner, Louisiana
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beautiful product

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The mailbox was very easy to install. It is very stylish and durable. My mail stays nice and dry.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from Toms River, NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

LOVE IT!!

PostedApril 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Looking for a new mailbox, we went to another similar store and purchased a mailbox and separate post for it. The more I looked at it I realized I wasn't too impressed with it. So I went on Home Depot website and found this one and knew I had to have it. It cost less than the post and mailbox we returned. Ordered it and returned the other one. So happy we did. The pics don't do it justice. Yes it is plastic but it does not look cheap or flimsy. It's an attractive addition to our property. It was delivered sooner than expected and our great neighbor helped hubby install it, which didn't take too long. It's actually larger than it seems on the website, so happy about that. We made a great choice. Couldn't be happier!
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from Sicklerville, NJ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great mailbox

PostedJune 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I love it it's the highlight of our street if you want something that stands out very pleased with my purchase
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black

Great looking & good value

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is a great mailbox, it looks really good considering it's a plastic mailbox- the door opens so nicely & the "flag" isn't a regular flag, it's a modern type that my daughter actually thought was cool- it slides out towards the road instead of flips upward.. If I had to give it any downfall id say that when it rains the mail isn't completely protected, it does git a little damp - but I think that could be fixed if the mailbox is installed with just the slightest & unnoticeable slant towards the road to help keep water from running in the doorway (I think ours mite have just the SLIGHTEST slant backwards, not even enough to notice tho..).. But for the value I do really love the mailbox!! Would recommend it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>