728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Mailboxes & Mailbox Posts or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black

Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black

The Stratford Mailbox and Post Combination is a stylish and elegant vintage Victoria era design. The mailbox and post are constructed from heavy-duty double walled polymer plastic for lasting durability and resistance to weather elements. The mailbox features a decorative designed top panel with embossed side panels and an accent color door pull knob for easy access to mail, and also includes a built-in red mail indicator flag.
Overall rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(39 reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
97%of customersrecommend this product38 of 39reviews
Rating Breakdown 39 reviews
4.7 out of 5
5
(28)
4
(10)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
97%of customersrecommend this product38 of 39reviews
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer reviews for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
Review 1 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from charleston, South Carolina
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Plastic pleasure

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It's just a mailbox right... Well I can't begin to describe how wonderful this produce is. My wife and I walk around our neighborhood and just do not like the plastic mailboxes popping up everywhere. They are just plain ugly. Along comes this unbelievable classic designer mailbox. It was easy to install. The hardest part was digging the hole with the post hole digger. It does require a 6 ft 4x4 wood post and a bag of concrete. which amounts to about an extra 10 bucks. This produce is so good I bought a second one for my rental property. It would make a wonderful gift to a homeowner who's mailbox is just blah. If there is such a thing... I'm in mailbox heaven. The wife did a great job with the plants we purchased at Home Depot too; as you can see with the attached photo.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from summerville, sc
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great buy

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
it was easy to assemble and it is durable. not to mention we have the best looking mailbox now.. people slow down and look at it and people walking by stop to look at it. it has a huge box, so even if you go on vacation it will hold all your mail. i would recommend this product. it's great quality and price
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from Altamonte Springs, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Deal

PostedNovember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Looks terrific and a great value. Easy to assemble and secure to the ground. Time will tell about its durability, but for the styling and cost it is well worth it. Now we have the nicest mailbox on the block
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from Lake Cormorant, MS
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor Construction

PostedMarch 21, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Mailbox was manufactured poorly. Screws did not fit into the milled holes on the horizontal bracket at all. Luckily, we had slightly smaller screws in our tool box. After all was said and done, horizontal bracket assembly wiggled on the upright post. We are going to try and secure it with hose clamps, which will no doubt detract from the esthetics of the box design. Also, it took us 4 hours from start to finish to assemble, partly because of the poor mill work. Had we known this, we would have opted for another mailbox. It's very nice looking, but hardly worth the time and effort it took to assemble and install.
Pros: Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Install, poorly manufactured
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from Florida
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beautiful looking mailbox and AMAZING price

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This mailbox is above and beyond what we expected for the price. It is so elegant and nice looking. I wasn't sure if it was going to look cheap. Delivery was fast and free, super easy to put together and install. A lot of space for mail! Great buy
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from Lexington KY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GREAT mailbox package for the price. There's nicer ones but they'll cost you

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
the price can't be beat. the look can't be beat AT THIS PRICE. But it's cheap alright - hopefully my mail doesn't get wet. BUT compared to other products at this price, it's great. that's like saying WAH WAH MY KIA ISN'T AS NICE AS A ROLLS ROYCE. Duh, it's 1/20 the cost.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from Sarasota, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Love our new mailbox! Easy to install. I shopped around and this is a Very good value. We now have the best looking mailbox on the block.

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Love our new mailbox! Super easy to install. I shopped around and this is a very good value compared to others that cost the same or more. We now have the best looking mailbox on the block!
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from Palm Coast, Fl
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent solution to complete our new home entrance Great look and quality. Home Depot expedited this item quickly and on time.

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to assemble and installation. looks great and stylish. Perfect value compared to the alluminum mail boxes available.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Durable, Nice Design
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from Naperville, IL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very nice mailbox!

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very easy to install. We did look at a You Tube video to give us some help, too. We used pea gravel to hold it in place and did not use cement. It's really nice looking and you really can't tell it's just plastic. Great price, too.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Nice Design
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from Boca Raton, Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great look, Easy installation!

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Got the 4"x4' at Home Depot. They cut it to the 6' size. Easily replace old rotted out post by pulling out and inserting new one. Looks good! So far adhesive numbers have stayed on. Time will tell!
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black

Great product, but...

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Great product. Installation was easy. No complaints. Just remember- it IS plastic. So with that, it looks great, and performs great; but you cannot be expecting the quality/strength of metal, etc.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from North Aurora, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Looks classy!

PostedJuly 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I wasn't sure how this would look in person as some plastic mailboxes can look tacky. Wow! My husband installed it in just a couple of hours and it looks great. I actually had a neighbor stop to compliment how nice it looked. The price point is great too if you don't want to invest too much if you have one of those plow drivers that can't seem to stay off the curb. Very pleased!
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from California
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good design, good value

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Just installed a week ago. Can't comment on durability.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: missing screws and nuts
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from Nashville, TN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

nice looking mailbox

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
we live in a neighborhood with mostly brick mailboxes but we never had one. I didn't want a brick mailbox because of the cost and damage done in an accident. this kit went up easily with no hitches and it looks nice. I feel like it's on a par with the brick mailboxes.
The mylar reflective numbers sold at HD will not stick to the mailbox so I am trying some other solutions. I did not expect the address numbers to be the biggest problem. It would be nice if the manufacturer recommended some address solutions.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from Grand Prairie, tx
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love it!

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very easy to set up. Husband set it up in the matter of minutes. The hardest part was cutting the existing post because it was too long.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from Clearwater, Fl
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Mailbox

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Mailbox was very easy to put together. I would have rated it 5 stars except there was no hardware in the box. It took over three weeks to the hardware after three phone calls. Mailbox looks nice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from Montgomery, AL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Classic Mail-box

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I was able to assemble the box with little difficulty. Apparently very durable material. Recommended numbers for mail-box actually enhanced it's appearance.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black

Nice mailbox

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This looks great. It's mounted on a 4x4 post, so it's very sturdy. It looks as good as the expensive metal posts my neighbors have.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
from Thomaston, Georgia
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great for the price !

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The mail box and post combo arrived as planned and was very easy (not considering digging the hole) to install. Only time will tell how long the post will stand up to use and weather. I would have preferred a white post and box but the black looks ok.
The method of holding the mailbox door shut is suspect and we will have to wait and see how it holds up with use. The wood screws could be larger and longer to hold onto the wood post.
The sale price was great and the wood post and sackcrete only cost $12.75 so the whole deal was very economical.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Stratford Mailbox Post Combination, Black
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Super buy

PostedNovember 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very good product, very well made, super fast shipment
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>