728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Top Freezer Refrigerators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black

15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black

Your 15.5 cu. ft. Top-Freezer Refrigerator in Black features upfront temperature controls that make it simple to regulate both the fresh food and freezer sections. Adjustable shelves provide flexibility to meet your storage needs. GE appliances provide up-to-date technology and exceptional quality to simplify the way you live. With a timeless appearance, this family of appliances is ideal for your family. And, coming from one of the most trusted names in America, you know that this entire selection of appliances is as advanced as it is practical.
Overall rating:
4.283 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(53 reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product44 of 51reviews
Rating Breakdown 53 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(37)
4
(8)
3
(0)
2
(2)
1
(6)
Features 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product44 of 51reviews
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer reviews for 15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
Review 1 for 15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Newport, RI
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Happy! Happy! Happy! Love my new GE REFRIGERATOR!!!

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
What can one say from start to finish and I MEAN that Home Depot from the associate level to the online purchase, and the great guys who delivered the refrigerator, one word can be said, NICE! The experience was one I was extremely happy to know was like this. It made me even like Home Depot more, the committment alone to make sure you have what you want, like and really need is outstanding. They excel!
So would I shop online again, the answer is YES! I frequent the store and have for years. Thank you!
The refrigerator far supersedes its expectation. Like I said, think HAPPY!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Virginia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good Customer Service, Bad Experience

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Excited to have our GE Refrigerator delivered for our new garage. Unfortunately events took place from the day of delivery left me feeling that I made a mistake in placing this order. Delivery guys were nice enough, but the handling of the refrigerator was uncalled for in my opinion. These poor guys had a lot of deliveries to make on that same day and I could feel the rushing around, just to get finished and move on. After placing beverages in the refrigerator that same day, went to get a beverage out the next day, and even though the setting was on the lowest it would go, all the beverages had frozen and busted all over the refrigerator. Now I am out that money, plus my time off from work to wait for another delivery. Was given a phone number to GE to see if we could get reimbursed for our loss of beverages, and cannot get anyone on the phone. My personal opinion is that Home Depot should be making this right.
Pros: Looks Great
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Columbus, Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exactly as advertised

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
A bit noisy, but great for a garage fridge. Interested to see how it will handle in the summer.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: Noisy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Los Angeles
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It's great!

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great purchase! Good price, great size. I had a hard time finding an inexpensive fridge for my rental home. This one is great. It's the right size, it fits in the tight space but is also very roomy inside. It looks great from the outside as well. The only thing that is missing a cheese box or a compartment for cheese.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Queens, N>Y>
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

not happy

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I loved the features of the refrigerator but in less than one month had many problems with the frig. Mainly the freezer. Having problems with GE to get the solutions finished to a good conclusion.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Cons: freezer problems
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from New Jersey

The noisiest fridge that I ever purchased

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I made this purchase based off of the good reviews and price. Boy was I wrong. When the fridge is running it makes a loud consistent buzzing/rattling sound for about an hour straight then it goes off for an hour and on again. The sound is so loud that I haven't been able to sleep at night. Please do not waste your money on this purchase.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: No Instructions, very noisy, doesn't get very cold
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black

Very Displeased

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My complaints are rooted in both the appliance and the process to get this rectified. We bought the fridge on 8/20 and it was not delivered until 9/3. It was plugged in for less than 4 hours before it just stopped working. We tried to troubleshoot it using the manual and calling GE. We were told if the fridge didn't regulate itself within 24 hours to call back. The fridge didn't regulate itself so we called Home Depot and were told to cLl the online customer support. We are not getting the replacement fridge until 9/13 even though the Home Depot website says it's available on the 10th. But apparently that's not applicable to us because GE is overbooked for deliveries on the 10th and they do not deliver in our area (ten minutes from the Home Depot) on the 11th or 12th. Also, the fridge is now $50 cheaper and we are required to go into the store to get a refund. It took the poor young lady at the online customer support center 20 minutes on the phone with the local store to figure this out because she was placed on hold so many times and given the run around by the store. I'm giving the fridge a one star review because of her & her alone. She did everything she could and was very pleasant.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

great purchase

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I did a lot of research before I finally made my purchase. Without a doubt one of the best decisions I've made. I love the product, the promptness. and setup. From start to finish it was very favorable experience..
Pros: Sturdy, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Bothell, WA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Solid Man fridge for the garage!

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
This fridge is very spacious and eco friendly, perfect size for the garage. Plenty of room for party platters and boxes of snacks for the kids. I love the purchase and feel great about the color, egg shell white looks super clean.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Dripping condensation around Freezer door....

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
I've had my GE Refrigerator for a month. The honest complaint I have is the poor engineering regarding the freezer door. The corners drip condensation because of a strip of plastic trim that hides the metal corner seam. The rubber seal around the door does not seal properly because of this raised corner piece and therefore leaks cold air.
The bottom door does not have this problem. No plastic trim. I live in a house with central air. I think it would be dripping on the floor if I didn't!
I'm contacting service tomorrow, I'll keep you informed. I believe this is an engineering mistake that is wasting precious energy. Let's see what they can do. Anything? I'm really not happy here.
Such a simple thing. It's not like refrigerators are a new invention!
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black

disappointed

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
Freezer leaks at top gasket causing freezing droplets lining top of freezer & door. Repairman said they all do it & applied a gel like substance to the gasket. Did not fix problem - now have to schedule another repair visit. Not optimistic.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Maine
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good, inexpensive no frills fridge

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
No french doors, ice maker or slide out external drawer compartments. If all you need is a basic no-frills fridge, this GE model seems to fit the bill nicely and it's a bargain at around $450. Not Energy Star certified, but depending on the age/condition of the unit you're replacing, you may very well experience what I did. Which is a welcome and noticeable decrease in your monthly electricity bill.
FYI: if you're ordering online sight unseen and having trouble evaluating what 15.5 cubic feet really means, suffice it to say this unit is ever so slightly smaller than what one would be expect a "standard" basic top freezer fridge to be. Still "full size" as a general proposition, but I think 18 cubic feet is more the norm. For a single person or a couple living in a modest apartment, this unit is fine.
Pros: Easy to Clean, High Quality, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black

Good Size And Roomy - Great Value!

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
Great size . Small for tighter locations but plenty big for a small family. Seems to keep perfect tempature as well.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Rhode Island
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great second refrigerator

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
We've only had this fridge a couple of weeks, but so far it's met our needs as a second unit. There's plenty of room for offloading milk, cheeses, eggs, fruits, and meats, and it maintains temp nicely. I'm glad we went with the 15.5 model versus a 10 cubic foot model as we originally planned.
I can't say if it is energy efficient because it isn't Energy Star certified, but as it's replacing a 39 year old GE refrigerator I imagine it will use less power.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Port Jefferson Ny
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Buying Experience

PostedNovember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
The appliance was shipped on the date and time as promised. Nice job. As far as the refrigerator goes, it is too early to rate the product. I had a similar fridge. It was the same model and a few years older that only lasted 5 years before it went on the fritz.That is why I reluctantly replaced that one with this one. However, I liked the features of this appliance better than the others in its price range. I am just hoping it has a better longevity than the last.one.
Pros: Lots of Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Los Angeles
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great value

PostedAugust 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
Nice big freezer section. Very quiet. Perfect for a small home.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Maryland, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent refrigerator

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
This is the perfect second refrigerator for all the overflow. Spacious inside and the shelves are very sturdy.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Lockport NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice Refrigerator for the price

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
Was limited to the size of refrigerator we could purchase. This one has all the basics that we need.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Looks Great
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Forest city, ia
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

First time fridge buyer

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
The fridge is clean, well organized, sturdy, and efficient. No frills and works well. Simple design for a simple rental property.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Glendora CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

We love this fridge

PostedOctober 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
We couldn't believe we got such a nice refrigerator/freezer for the price. We had originally just planned to buy a freezer because with a family of 8 we needed more then the inside freezer. We came across this on the Home Depot website and decided to go ahead. When they delivered it it was bigger then we thought and we love it.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>