728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Top Freezer Refrigerators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black

15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black

Your 15.5 cu. ft. Top-Freezer Refrigerator in Black features upfront temperature controls that make it simple to regulate both the fresh food and freezer sections. Adjustable shelves provide flexibility to meet your storage needs. GE appliances provide up-to-date technology and exceptional quality to simplify the way you live. With a timeless appearance, this family of appliances is ideal for your family. And, coming from one of the most trusted names in America, you know that this entire selection of appliances is as advanced as it is practical.
Overall rating:
4.328 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(64 reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product55 of 62reviews
Rating Breakdown 64 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(43)
4
(13)
3
(0)
2
(2)
1
(6)
Features 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product55 of 62reviews
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer reviews for 15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
Review 1 for 15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Newport, RI
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Happy! Happy! Happy! Love my new GE REFRIGERATOR!!!

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
What can one say from start to finish and I MEAN that Home Depot from the associate level to the online purchase, and the great guys who delivered the refrigerator, one word can be said, NICE! The experience was one I was extremely happy to know was like this. It made me even like Home Depot more, the committment alone to make sure you have what you want, like and really need is outstanding. They excel!
So would I shop online again, the answer is YES! I frequent the store and have for years. Thank you!
The refrigerator far supersedes its expectation. Like I said, think HAPPY!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Virginia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good Customer Service, Bad Experience

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Excited to have our GE Refrigerator delivered for our new garage. Unfortunately events took place from the day of delivery left me feeling that I made a mistake in placing this order. Delivery guys were nice enough, but the handling of the refrigerator was uncalled for in my opinion. These poor guys had a lot of deliveries to make on that same day and I could feel the rushing around, just to get finished and move on. After placing beverages in the refrigerator that same day, went to get a beverage out the next day, and even though the setting was on the lowest it would go, all the beverages had frozen and busted all over the refrigerator. Now I am out that money, plus my time off from work to wait for another delivery. Was given a phone number to GE to see if we could get reimbursed for our loss of beverages, and cannot get anyone on the phone. My personal opinion is that Home Depot should be making this right.
Pros: Looks Great
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Los Angeles CA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

ITS GREAT

PostedDecember 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great look, great price, great delivery… nothing to complain about :) love it
Pros: Easy to Clean, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black

Great item at a great price

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this as a replacement for one that went out in my office. It was on sale and the price was unbeatable. It has lots of room and the features it comes with make it an outstanding value.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Louisville, KY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ordering online was a breeze!

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ordered a refrigerator online for the office.
Home Depot delivered and removed the old product!
It was so easy and no fuss!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Columbus, Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exactly as advertised

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
A bit noisy, but great for a garage fridge. Interested to see how it will handle in the summer.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: Noisy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Los Angeles
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It's great!

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great purchase! Good price, great size. I had a hard time finding an inexpensive fridge for my rental home. This one is great. It's the right size, it fits in the tight space but is also very roomy inside. It looks great from the outside as well. The only thing that is missing a cheese box or a compartment for cheese.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Queens, N>Y>
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

not happy

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I loved the features of the refrigerator but in less than one month had many problems with the frig. Mainly the freezer. Having problems with GE to get the solutions finished to a good conclusion.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Cons: freezer problems
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from New Jersey

The noisiest fridge that I ever purchased

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I made this purchase based off of the good reviews and price. Boy was I wrong. When the fridge is running it makes a loud consistent buzzing/rattling sound for about an hour straight then it goes off for an hour and on again. The sound is so loud that I haven't been able to sleep at night. Please do not waste your money on this purchase.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: No Instructions, very noisy, doesn't get very cold
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black

Very Displeased

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My complaints are rooted in both the appliance and the process to get this rectified. We bought the fridge on 8/20 and it was not delivered until 9/3. It was plugged in for less than 4 hours before it just stopped working. We tried to troubleshoot it using the manual and calling GE. We were told if the fridge didn't regulate itself within 24 hours to call back. The fridge didn't regulate itself so we called Home Depot and were told to cLl the online customer support. We are not getting the replacement fridge until 9/13 even though the Home Depot website says it's available on the 10th. But apparently that's not applicable to us because GE is overbooked for deliveries on the 10th and they do not deliver in our area (ten minutes from the Home Depot) on the 11th or 12th. Also, the fridge is now $50 cheaper and we are required to go into the store to get a refund. It took the poor young lady at the online customer support center 20 minutes on the phone with the local store to figure this out because she was placed on hold so many times and given the run around by the store. I'm giving the fridge a one star review because of her & her alone. She did everything she could and was very pleasant.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

great purchase

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I did a lot of research before I finally made my purchase. Without a doubt one of the best decisions I've made. I love the product, the promptness. and setup. From start to finish it was very favorable experience..
Pros: Sturdy, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Bothell, WA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Solid Man fridge for the garage!

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
This fridge is very spacious and eco friendly, perfect size for the garage. Plenty of room for party platters and boxes of snacks for the kids. I love the purchase and feel great about the color, egg shell white looks super clean.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Dripping condensation around Freezer door....

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
I've had my GE Refrigerator for a month. The honest complaint I have is the poor engineering regarding the freezer door. The corners drip condensation because of a strip of plastic trim that hides the metal corner seam. The rubber seal around the door does not seal properly because of this raised corner piece and therefore leaks cold air.
The bottom door does not have this problem. No plastic trim. I live in a house with central air. I think it would be dripping on the floor if I didn't!
I'm contacting service tomorrow, I'll keep you informed. I believe this is an engineering mistake that is wasting precious energy. Let's see what they can do. Anything? I'm really not happy here.
Such a simple thing. It's not like refrigerators are a new invention!
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black

disappointed

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
Freezer leaks at top gasket causing freezing droplets lining top of freezer & door. Repairman said they all do it & applied a gel like substance to the gasket. Did not fix problem - now have to schedule another repair visit. Not optimistic.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Maine
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good, inexpensive no frills fridge

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
No french doors, ice maker or slide out external drawer compartments. If all you need is a basic no-frills fridge, this GE model seems to fit the bill nicely and it's a bargain at around $450. Not Energy Star certified, but depending on the age/condition of the unit you're replacing, you may very well experience what I did. Which is a welcome and noticeable decrease in your monthly electricity bill.
FYI: if you're ordering online sight unseen and having trouble evaluating what 15.5 cubic feet really means, suffice it to say this unit is ever so slightly smaller than what one would be expect a "standard" basic top freezer fridge to be. Still "full size" as a general proposition, but I think 18 cubic feet is more the norm. For a single person or a couple living in a modest apartment, this unit is fine.
Pros: Easy to Clean, High Quality, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black

Good Size And Roomy - Great Value!

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
Great size . Small for tighter locations but plenty big for a small family. Seems to keep perfect tempature as well.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Rhode Island
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great second refrigerator

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
We've only had this fridge a couple of weeks, but so far it's met our needs as a second unit. There's plenty of room for offloading milk, cheeses, eggs, fruits, and meats, and it maintains temp nicely. I'm glad we went with the 15.5 model versus a 10 cubic foot model as we originally planned.
I can't say if it is energy efficient because it isn't Energy Star certified, but as it's replacing a 39 year old GE refrigerator I imagine it will use less power.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Fort Lauderdale, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great deal!

PostedDecember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
I bought this refrigerator for an apartment that I use as a rental unit. It looks good and the price was right with free delivery and haul-away. So far so good. It's a GE so I assume it will work fine. It's not rated as energy efficient, but it doesn't get much use and energy cost estimate is only $4 more/YEAR over similar energy-star rated model. I replaced a fridge that was probably > 30 years old and had lost its seal so it has to be more efficient.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from New York, ny
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product and great service from Home Depot-

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
The refrigerator was delivered on time, by two very professional movers who carefully and quickly assessed the situation, took away my old fridge and installed the new one. I could not be happier with Home Depot, this fridge (The fridge runs quiet, runs well, is spacious and well designed and easy to clean) and I am very happy with the delivery and drop off service.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from North Miami Beach
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Standard refrigerator, product match the specs.

PostedDecember 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:15.5 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
Standard refrigerator, product match the specs. Delivery was on time, no issues.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>