728*90 Advertising Space
Home>

Customer reviews for Wink Connected Home Hub

Wink Connected Home Hub

Wink is the quick and simple way to connect you and the products you rely on every day in your home. You can manage products from multiple brands on a single app, allowing you to select the products that are right for your life. Control lights, locks, thermostats, blinds, and more from anywhere in the world. Receive alerts to keep you informed about what is happening at home. Program smart products to operate based on your schedule.
Overall rating:
2.74 / 5
2.7
 / 
5
(185 reviews) 185
Open Ratings Snapshot
47%of customersrecommend this product83 of 178reviews
Rating Breakdown 185 reviews
2.7 out of 5
5
(47)
4
(32)
3
(10)
2
(18)
1
(78)
Quality 
2.6 out of 5
2.6 out of 5
Value 
2.9 out of 5
2.9 out of 5
47%of customersrecommend this product83 of 178reviews
Customer reviews for Wink Connected Home Hub
Review 1 for Wink Connected Home Hub
from PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Amazing! Simple! Smart! Love it!

PostedNovember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought the Wink hub, 2 GE connected light bulbs, and the Lutron Celesta in wall dimmer switch. Had the Hub about 2 feet from my wireless router and had the connection issue others mentioned so I called Wink help. They had my move the Hub to be more than 15 ft away from the router and voila! no more connection issues! From there on, setup of every device was super simple! Then I thought to try an older Schlage Link Z-wave lock we bought and never hooked up because of the Nexia monthly fee. To my excited surprise the locked connected right to the Hub simply and is working perfectly via the Wink app. I even was able to finally use the Z-Wave light control module to hook up a nightstand lamp! No more forgetting to turn on the lights for the dogs! Anyway, this is best purchase in hardware, electronics and gadgets that I made in a long time. In one afternoon, my house and even car is now automated with lighting schedules, via in app robot setups. The app has the ability to use the location of your phone to set controls so now when driving up the street to the house, the driveway lights automatically turn on when I reach my street! Love it!!!
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Compact, Clear Instructions, Great Dimming, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wink Connected Home Hub
from San Leandro
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hub will not connect

PostedOctober 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I waited patiently for several weeks for this and just got my hub and three lights today. I have spent the last 3.5 hours trying to get the hub connected but no luck. My router fits all the stated requirements but the hub just will not connect. The hub is 15 feet away from my router. I start up the app on my Galaxay S4 phone, tell it I want to connect the Wink hub. I give it my network password and it either fails immediately or I can see my phone's wireless connection switch to the hub and that is where it stops. It will show Connecting forever or stops with an error message stating that it cant connect. I will spend just a little more time on this and if it still doesn't work, it is going back to Home Depot.
Cons: simply doesn't work
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
13out of 23found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy THD-Customer ServiceNovember 3, 2014
Dear Valued HomeDepot Customer,

We reached out to the MFG for more information and below is their response.

"Thanks for reaching out! If your Wink Hub is blinking a purple-ish pink while you're trying to connect, your phone may not be pushing network credentials to your Wink Hub. If you're using a Samsung Galaxy S4, you may have to switch off your mobile data while the Wink Hub is connecting. If the mobile data is on, the S4 may be toggling between your home network and your mobile data, instead of connecting to the Wink Hub's wifi to transfer the network credentials. If you're still having issues after switching off your mobile data, I'd definitely love to give you a call to get you connected. You can email me directly at chelsea@winkapp.com, and you're always welcome to call in to get 24-hour support at 1-844-WINKAPP."
Review 3 for Wink Connected Home Hub
from Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Wink HUB will not pair with EcoNet EV100 vent

PostedFebruary 4, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The Wink Hub will not pair with EcoNet's EV100 HVAC vent. The EV100 vent is a certified Z-Wave device that should pair as a standard dimmer switch. I have tried contacting Wink for support, but my request for assistance has been ignored.
Pros: Battery Length, Eco-Friendly, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
Cons: wink hub does not pair
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy THD-Customer SupportFebruary 9, 2015
Dear Valued HomeDepot Customer,

We reached out to the MFG for more information and below is their response.

"Hey there,

Although the Hub has Z-wave compatibility and could be compatible with this vent the integration for vents isn't built into the app, so even if you paired it the app would not recognize it or be able to control it. We are always looking to expand our product line and versatility so it could definitely be compatible in the future. Feel free to reach out to us at 1.844.WINKAPP we are here 24 hours a day for support. You can also reach out to me directly at vwing@winkapp.com<mailto:vwing@winkapp.com> I would love to answer any questions you may have."
Review 4 for Wink Connected Home Hub
from Austin, Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good value but dissapointing limitations

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Love the hub and ease of setup but surprised at limitations which is why only 3 stars. Had purchased over 15 GE Z-Wave modules from The Home Depot recently and was using an open source Z-Wave USB Hub and laptop to control them. Decided to purchase this hub to remove the dedicated laptop for control. Setup is a snap but sadly, GE Z-Wave receptacle and dimmer modules are NOT listed and would not connect. Z-Wave is supposed to be cross-platform/brand but this hub limits connectivity to SPECIFIC brand devices which means not everything will connect unless it shows up in their menu. Sadly, The Home Depot sells various flavors of Z-Wave and yet not all interconnects using this hub. Need to upgrade the hub software to be able to connect anything Z-Wave and Zigbee. Because this hub is at the moment useless to me, I give 3 stars. Will have to go back to my original laptop based hub control to control my home again and hope that The Home Depot can get Wink to make generic connection capabilities.
Pros: Stylish, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: limited device connection options
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy THD-Customer ServiceAugust 21, 2014
Dear Valued Home Depot Customer, We have reached out to the MFG for more information and below is their response.

""Hey there Sciman, my name is Jimmy and I'm with Wink Support! I'm sorry to hear about the limitations you're experiencing with the Wink Hub. We are working around the clock to improve the experience for all of our customers. We are adding Zigbee connections and you can connect many Z-Wave products through our app as well through inclusion and exclusion modes. You can connect binary (ON/OFF) switches, multilevel (dimmers) switches, entry devices (locks) and thermostats through the "generic" inclusion and exclusion modes. If you have any questions or require any assistance in getting anything connected, please don't hesitate to give us a call 24-hours a day at 1.844.WINK.APP or shoot us an email at support@winkapp.com".
Review 5 for Wink Connected Home Hub

No Follow Up

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Have purchased the smoke/co2 detectors, and wifi thermostat. Bought the GE Link bulbs and could not get them to connect to hub. Called Wink and had great customer service from Dylan. He told me that he has not run into the problem but for some reason my hub would not update the firmware and that he would forward to Wink team. I thought that was great. It has since been several weeks and nothing from Wink. I have sent a additional email for follow up and nothing. I don't have the time to chase a company. I wish I could get an update on my case but nothing still. Very disappointed
+30points
31out of 32found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy THD-Customer ServiceOctober 9, 2014
Thank you for being so patient with us!

I sent you a new Hub! Normally it's not this hard to update the firmware, but luckily you're sending it back to us so we can test it and make it better!

If you have any issues with the next one you can email me directly here:

dlemay@winkapp.com<mailto:dlemay@winkapp.com>

I'll make sure we get this remedied once and for all!

If anyone else has trouble updating their firmware, try unplugging you hub and plugging it back in, then trying to update it! That should give it a nice refresh!

Also, here are a few tips:

1. Make sure your Hub is a good 10-15 feet away from your router. Our Wifi antenna tends to get a little over saturated by the outbound traffic coming from your router, causing it not to connect or work properly.

2. We require that you use WPA or WPA2 security encryption, WEP is not supported. WPA is a much stronger encryption, if you're going to run locks or cameras through it, you're going to want the best security!

3. Some routers are dual band, meaning they broadcast two signals. One is 2.4ghz, the other is 5.0ghz. We need to connect to the 2.4ghz band. 5.0Ghz is not supported by the Hub.

4. If using iOS, turn your bluetooth off and back on, and if you use Android, make sure you're connected to the Hub's wifi signal before sharing the wifi info in the app.

Like I said, please do not hesitate to reach out to me, and that goes for anyone!
Review 6 for Wink Connected Home Hub
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It's good the product is out of stock, as the integraton is flaky (especially with Zigbee product...

PostedOctober 6, 2019
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It's good the product is out of stock, as the integraton is flaky (especially with Zigbee products), and the Wink support is awful.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wink Connected Home Hub
from Port Orange
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Too many glitches

PostedNovember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Lets first say that for $50, the idea of a hub at no monthly cost is a great value. Unfortunately the product is too glitchy. It took me a few attempts and a couple of hours to set up the hub. I exchanged the product thinking it was defective. When I attempted to set up the second new device, I was running into the same issues. Before I purchased I read other reviews that stated this device was defective, I should have listened, but I wasn't ready to give up. I reset the hub and just let it sit. After several attempts I finally got it working, but unsure what was the exact fix. I only set up two lights, I'm having issues with one, it could be the light, the distance between the light and the hub, or could just be the hub (which wouldn't surprise me at this point). Well I'm still troubleshooting this light and actually turned to the internet to find out information for troubleshooting, which by the way is very scarce for this product. Well i stumbled upon the option to write a review so I have.
Pros: great idea, great product if it works, great value if it works
Cons: Complicated, No Instructions, hard to figure out
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy THD-Customer ServiceNovember 5, 2014
Dear Valued HomDepot Customer,

We reached out to the MFG for more information and below is their response.

"Hi Chris,

I'm Natalie with Wink tech support. Thanks for your review, and I'm sorry for the frustration. I'd love to help resolve the issues you've been having.

What's the proximity of the light to your Wink Hub? There are a few factors that could interfere with communication between your bulb and your Hub, you might want to try changing the location of either.

You also might want to try a quick factory reset to your bulb. Using the physical light switch, turn the light off, then wait three seconds, then turn the light on, and wait three seconds. Repeat this process 5 or 6 times until the light flickers and dims itself down.

If you're still running into a snag, feel free to email me at ngergich@winkapp.com<mailto:ngergich@winkapp.com>, and we can set up a call to see what's up."
Review 8 for Wink Connected Home Hub
from Monterey Ca
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Has Bugs but tons of potential

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
As others stated Wink has some bugs (this happens with all new products - especially those that support multiple platforms (IOS, Android, Android wear etc). I found the Android app more buggy than the iOS (larger team supporting IOS I assume). But with some patience and a bit of tech savvy this hub will eventually simplify whole home automation.
Customer Service is top notch, best I have encountered in a very long time. I wish I could say the same about the staff at the depot. Most have no clue what this device is or products that work with it. Some training is needed.
I am setting this as my main hub for my home with several TCP lights connected, Schlage locks, Kidde alarms and lutron switch. I am excited about the possibilities this system will bring. If Wink can get Google (nest) and WeMo and a few others on board -- this will be the number one selling WHOLE home automation systems (read that whole home -- not a lot of others can say the same - and none can at this price.
Notes:
-If pairing with android does not work try iOS (this worked on the Kidde alarms).
-You may need to configure your firewall settings (to be able to control TCP lighting from outside the house).
-IFTTT app adds more features (but not tech friendly)
-If you have an issue call customer service -- really they are the some of the best in the business...
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Compact, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: a bit buggy
+23points
30out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wink Connected Home Hub

Not working

PostedSeptember 14, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Hi,
The wink hub works intermittently. The scheduled activities doesn't work over the weekend.
Sent Emails to support@winkapp.com (sept 7, sept 10) and haven't received any response till date.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wink Connected Home Hub
from Lexington, KY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Finally - a product that integrates home automation from numerous manufacturers & apps - Set-up is effortless!!

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
WINK works with so many home automation products & apps, the primary benefit is a simple app that lets you control everything from one place!
This is the most basic device to connect I have ever found!! You literally install the App, plug in the WINK HUB when requested, and follow the simple steps! No programming, no IT experience needed.
Instantly connects to Baldwin & most all electric door locks, DropCam Pro wireless cameras, Philips HUE & most brands of connected Lights, thermostats, security, & so much more!!
More connectivity is promised. July 15, 2014 is the announced release date for MyQ (Chamberlain) Garage Door interface.
Connects instantly without any dropouts to Apple Time Capsule & Airport Extreme. Enables control of your home devices through the app on your iPhone, iPad (or Android) anywhere you can access the internet!!
HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Compact, Stylish, Nice Design, Easy Installation, very inexpensive
Cons: none
0points
18out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wink Connected Home Hub
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Verified Purchase:Yes

Never connected to Wifi

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Great idea for a product. However, it never connected to my Wifi network. The fine print says it only supports 2.4GHz networks. My home router supporters 2.4GHz and 5GHz; I made sure it was on dual-band mode, but I could never get the Wink to connect to my Wifi. As a result, adding devices was impossible. I'm going to return it and try again.
Pros: Easy to Use
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy THD-Customer ServiceOctober 23, 2014
Hey Michael,
I'm Natalie with Wink tech support. Thanks for your review. I'm sorry that you've had a frustrating experience so far, I'd love to help you out.

Since your router is dual band, we'll need to make sure that you're connecting to the dedicated 2.4ghz frequency. Do you have more than one SSID? If you don't, you may need to differentiate your SSIDS so that you have separate networks for each frequency (2.4ghz and 5.0ghz)

If you'd like, shoot me an email at ngergich@winkapp.com<mailto:ngergich@winkapp.com> and we'll set up a call to get your system up and running.
Review 12 for Wink Connected Home Hub

Wink hub review

PostedMarch 17, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
First I have Nest protect sensors Nest thermo 9 led Cree light bulb 2 GE light bulb , chamberlain garage door all this connected to my wink hub
First it took some time to connect to the hub can be frustrating but support told
Me a lot of important stuff
General reset of each light bulb
Cree have its way , GE its way (different in time U switch light on/off
Also biggest problem u can have is we're is hub located , we're is your wifi transmitter located I had to move my hub to different locations and now no issue what's so ever
When u are at page for manual turn lights on/off have some patient click in one bulb and wait before u leave page can cause light not to toggle on /off
Some issues like this I can see in software but its a startup comPany will be better
To pair components can be frustrating but remembers FIRST to do general reset on each module before u try to pair it
I'm happy about this product and it will be fantastic in the long run
Johan
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wink Connected Home Hub
from Norfolk, Virginia
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent customer service, terrible product

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I really wanted this to work, but it was a complete waste of time. The first hub had previously been returned to the store by a dissatisfied customer. As it had already synced with his home system, it wouldn't sync with mine. Customer service was outstanding troubleshooting the problem, but the fix was to return it to the store for a "new" one. The new one also didn't work-but it was because wink''s main servers were having problems. Once addressed, it was finally the "one click" set up promised. Unfortunately only two of the three bulbs would actually link with the system. Even those wouldn't consistently work. All I wanted was to turn on the two bulbs at night and turn them off in the morning. It would last 12 hours before crashing. Once the system crashed, you couldn't even control the bulbs directly in the app. This is the most poorly executed piece of technology with which I have ever dealt. I can't believe GE or Home Depot allowed their good names to be used on something that isn't even ready for beta-testing.
Pros: excellent customer service
Cons: doesn't work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wink Connected Home Hub
from San Diego
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ours works great!

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We have ours connected to the Kwikset door lock, Kibbe smoke alarm, Lutron dimmers and outlets, Hue lights, Quirky Spotter, & Rachio. We had a tough time programming the Pico remotes for the Lutron dimmers but when we called customer service they were very knowledgeable and resolved my issue quickly. We are looking forward to the Chamberlain garage door app which is advertised but not available at this time. Our has been working without issue since we installed it.
Pros: Nice Design
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wink Connected Home Hub
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Home automation for Good Price

PostedNovember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Got it from Home Depot with Two GE bulbs, it took me 10 minutes to set it up and running, it detected NEST thermostat and My Garage door opener also, everything works fine, new software has made it even better. i have noticed once the bulb did not work, it is very reliable otherwise. I am using APPLE Airport extreme as my router to connect it. For the price it is no-brainer, people who still own it give it a try with new software, may be they have fixed issues.
Thes devices are very tricky to work at times, make sure to invest in simultaneous dual band router and router which keeps the connection reliably, for larger homes either use network extender or powerful routers with larger antennas, keeping it connected to hub is key for function, now a days many devices are connected to router, since i have replaced my linksys router with Apple airport extreme i never had any problems with any network device, assigning static IP addresses to devices also helps.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wink Connected Home Hub
from Avon Lake, OH

Wink Hub does the job...

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I relocated recently and decided to upgrade my home automation from using X10 modules to something more up to date. Couldn't decide whether z-wave or other technologies were better, so opted for this hub which seems to control most everything. After some initial setup hurdles and a few iphone Wink app updates (one of which made my dimmers on timers non-functional), I finally have a good functioning system with no intervention in the last few weeks. The only reason I didn't give this 5 stars was that the scheduled timers do not include dusk/dawn options, like my old X10 CM15a did, but hopefully software upgrades will come soon to add this feature.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Easy Installation
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wink Connected Home Hub

Love the Wink system and app. Hope is doesn't go away!

PostedNovember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've read the reviews and was hesitant to buy. I'm glad I bought it! The customer support is GREAT. Talked to someone right away who sounded like they were right here in Northern America. It took probably about 30 min, but we finally got the whole system working perfect. I have most my lights, thermostat and front door connected and have yet to have an issue after one month. It's so easy I really don't know what people have an issue with. Call and talk to someone instead of emailing and trying to figure it out. Bottom line......get one. The "robots" ability is awesome, I have it set up to turn on the heat and certain lights when I'm near my house after a certain time, and it's worked every time. It does it by knowing where I am through the GPS on my phone. Thanks Wink!
Pros: Easy to Use, Great Dimming, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wink Connected Home Hub
from Milton, Georgia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Don't do it....

PostedJanuary 12, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought the Wink Hub, 10 in-wall switches, 2 plug-in modules and a Wink Relay (about $ 800 spent) and the result is a headache. The modules are a PAIN to pair with the Hub. Number one reason is that the pairing instructions were wrong for all of my in-wall devices. Also, something happened my in "in the cloud" and all my devices were lost. Even though they were not showing up on the screen, the system thought they were therefore I couldn't re-add them until I spent hours and hours on the phone with tech support. The Geo-fencing option DOES NOT WORK - Period. Support will tell you so. Why have a Quality Control department when you can crowd-source to Home Depot customers for free...That's what Wink has done - the software is full of bugs and Force Closes on my Android phone about 40% of the time. Don't buy this product. One last thing - CONSTANT INTERNET IS REQUIRED FOR THIS PRODUCT TO WORK (that's another thing they don't tell you up-front). If your WiFi network is less than perfect, you'll be upset with this product.
Pros: cheap
Cons: unstable
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy THD-Customer SupportJanuary 26, 2015
Dear Valued HomeDepot Customer,

We reached out to the MFG for more information and below is their response.


"I’m sorry to hear you’ve had such a negative experience. I can assure you that we are working diligently to create a better user experience. I would like to hear more about your set up and environment to see if we can get everything running more smoothly for you. There have been several updates recently that have improved the Wink app and Hub. Reach out to me at vwing@winkapp.com<mailto:vwing@winkapp.com> and we can work to resolve the problems you have been experiencing. I look forward to hearing from you!"
Review 19 for Wink Connected Home Hub
from Conroe, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Cool concept, poor network interface.

PostedOctober 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am taking a star off for the network interface. The very narrow security settings make no sense to me. While I agree that WPA is best, I don't think making people change their security settings because WEP is not secure enough, but NO security is OK. Also, I had my entire network running on AES instead of TKIP so I reconfigured my entire network to TKIP. The Hub would not connect. The first email from tech support gave me a generic response the first time which I kinda expected. By the time I got a phone call, I found out that my AP needed to be set to do both AES and TKIP(maybe something about my particular AP). There would be a lot less headaches if they would allow all common encryptions and put a ethernet port on it(this is what I would have prefered in the first place). POE would have been even better. I am not to fond of not being able to control the hub with the app via the local network when the Internet is down. Other than the network issues the hub is super cool. The controls on the app are wonderful and I am looking forward to expanding the control network.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Compact, Nice Design, lots of products
Cons: poor network interface
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wink Connected Home Hub
from Columbus OH
Age Range:35 to 44
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Start

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Good product that lives up to expectations. Purchased this and set it up with the smoke detector and two light modules. Easy to setup with the app. I like being able to control the lights as I come and go. I also have the air conditioner and makes it all very nice to network together.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Stylish
+15points
20out of 25found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 10 >>