728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Replacement Engines & Parts or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 56-Volt 4.0 Ah Battery

56-Volt 4.0 Ah Battery

The EGO 56-Volt Battery 4.0 Ah is the Industry’s most powerful battery. 40% more power than 40-Volt compact batteries. Patent pending Keep-Cool battery technology keeps each cell cool for long life and work in the most extreme conditions.
Overall rating:
4.578 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(64 reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product57 of 60reviews
Rating Breakdown 64 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(48)
4
(10)
3
(1)
2
(5)
1
(0)
Features 
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5
Quality 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product57 of 60reviews
Customer questions and answers:
18 Questions | 46 Answers
Customer reviews for 56-Volt 4.0 Ah Battery
Review 1 for 56-Volt 4.0 Ah Battery
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great so far!

PostedMay 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have two of these - the one which came with my EGO 56-volt lawnmower and an extra I bought, along with a 56-volt EGO blower and string trimmer. I bought the blower and string trimmer without the 2 amp batteries which come with them (which you can only do online) and got an extra 4 amp battery in case I needed more charge to finish cutting my lawn. This works great since the 4 amp battery will run all three machines (lawnmower, blower and trimmer). As it turns out, I can cut my lawn with just one charge, but on my daughter's yard, which is bigger, I need the second battery to finish up. So far, all of the EGO products have been great. With the battery power, there is no mess, they store in a minimum of space, and the mower is light enough to lift into the back of my Toyota 4Runner to take to my daughter's house.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Mulches Well, Easy to Store
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Response from By EGO Support TeamMay 26, 2015By EGO Support TeamMay 26, 2015
Warpoet, thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. 2 batteries and one mower is what we call infinite power: it takes less time to recharge the battery than it does to discharge it, so you are never without battery power. EGO
Review 2 for 56-Volt 4.0 Ah Battery

Yes I know

PostedDecember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Let's not lie it's pricey but what does it do it allows you to order all of their tools without a battery it let's you mow and cut and blow and trim like a viking without fear in fact order two and be a yard barbarian !
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 56-Volt 4.0 Ah Battery
from Houston
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cuts down on time because you don't have to charge as often.

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I used to have to charge the standard 2.0HH battery three times to do my entire yard (including edging). I used this one twice so far and I was able to do my entire yard on a single charge. It's heavier than the standard battery but seemed to balance my trimmer better. They make a 7.0HH battery but I don't know if I could pick it up...
Pros: Powerful, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 56-Volt 4.0 Ah Battery

As advertised

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Works great, just like the original battery that came with my mower. I love the quick 30-minute recharge time. Two reasons why it gets 4 stars instead of 5:
1. It only lasts 45 minutes on a charge. I know this is to be expected and is actually pretty good, but it's the reason I had to buy another battery to begin with--my lawn takes about 1hr 15 min to mow with the 20-inch mower. I was tired of having to stop and wait for half an hour while mowing.
2. It costs $200!! I could buy another mower for that price! (albeit a cheap, gas-powered one)
Overall, though, a really great product.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 56-Volt 4.0 Ah Battery
from WESTCHESTER NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

ITS THE BEST OUT THERE !!!!

PostedJuly 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have had multiple brand battery operated machines. So far the best bang for your buck is the Ego systems. The battery charges faster, last longer, and the strength superior. I highly recommend ego to everyone out there. If you are worried about battery drain you should look up and get another battery pack for continuous power. This product is a great option if you cant use gas powered equipment in your area.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 56-Volt 4.0 Ah Battery
from New Castle, Delaware
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Works great

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Though it is a little expensive, this batter works great with my electric lawn mower.
Pros: Accurate, Durable, Easy to Store
Cons: expensive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 56-Volt 4.0 Ah Battery
from houston, tx
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beware of poor battery quality.

PostedJune 27, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Worked really great for 6 months until the battery would not recharge anymore. Had to buy a second battery for $200. If battery quality were better I would rate this product much higher.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Mulches Well, Small Turn Radius, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: battery not durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By EGO Support Team.July 1, 2015By EGO Support Team.July 1, 2015
Please call us! Your battery is covered by our 3 year warranty--you did not need to buy a replacement. Please call us at 1-855-EGO-5656 (1-855-346-5656) 8:30am – 8:00pm EST (Monday – Friday) & 10:00AM - 6:00PM EST (Saturday and Sunday) so we can take care of you!
Review 8 for 56-Volt 4.0 Ah Battery

Ego battery replacement

PostedJune 12, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Loved it when it worked. Quit working about a year from purchase. )129.99 replacement. Wow! A little expensive.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 56-Volt 4.0 Ah Battery
from Ringoes, NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Easy to use battery for sturdy lawnmower

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The battery charges in less than an hour, making it easy to use one battery after another. Gives the mower all the power I need.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 56-Volt 4.0 Ah Battery
from Cibolo, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Battery I've ever had

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Best battery I've used on an electric mower. I've had electric mowers for more than 10 years. They all bogged down in thick grass. Not this one. It's by far the most powerful battery I've used. The internal fan and power indicator are innovations that are great. The fan keeps the battery cool and the power indicator lets you know how much power you have left. The mower power stays the same until the battery is drained. I have a 6500 square foot yard and the mower does the whole thing on one 4.0AH and less than 5 minutes on one 2.0AH battery. My old Black and Decker took at least tow days to mow my yard and that was mowing every 3 days. I left town for a wek. It took me an entire week to get caught up. If i'd had my EGO 56V mower it would have take one day to catch up.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Mulches Well, Small Turn Radius, Light Weight, Easy to Store
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 56-Volt 4.0 Ah Battery
from Riverton NJ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It's a Battery

PostedJune 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It was a battery what can I say needed it for the Ego mower - great mower so wanted it to work so got the battery. t was the right battery so no issues.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 56-Volt 4.0 Ah Battery
from Yakima, WA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Better than I imagined

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
If anyone is looking for battery operated lawn equipment EGO is the equipment to buy. I purchased the lawn mower, blower and grass trimmer in April, so I have had them for one mowing season and highly recommend EGO's product line. I have a small back and a large front yard that I can mow on a single battery charge and the same with the trimmer one battery charge.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: no cons to report
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 56-Volt 4.0 Ah Battery

Solid, Powerful, More Efficient

PostedMay 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The battery charged in under 10 minutes (probably was pre-charged) instead of 30. It's certainly more efficient that those lead-acid battery because it's lighter, last longer and it's more powerful. When used with a mower, the power was sustained because the mower didn't bog down in thick grass like my Black and Decker.
It also has a fancy on/off button. If it comes down in price, I'm getting one for every tool! The price point is too high - so it looses a one block rating on value. Lower prices also creates demand.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 56-Volt 4.0 Ah Battery
from Virginia Beach
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

EGO 4.0 AH battery

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great battery. Extended life over the 2 AH battery but expensive and heavy.
Should be available in the store, not just online.
Pros: Long-Lasting
Cons: Too Heavy, expensive
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 56-Volt 4.0 Ah Battery
from Quincy, Mi.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is a bigga boy !

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
May have over done it a bit with its sole use so far being on the EGO blower. We've done a residual leaf clean up of our half acre yard from last year twice now without having to recharge the battery yet. Its a lot to hump around if you don't need all that amp capacity in one shot.
Exceeded our expectations for sure, consider the smaller battery to lighten the load if your use is just the blower. This battery would be perfect if you also own the lawn mower but so far its been overkill for us.
Pros: Powerful, Long-Lasting
Cons: Too Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 56-Volt 4.0 Ah Battery
from Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wonderful batttery

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The battery is the best, doesn't even take a full 30 minutes to charge. LOVE IT!! also A PLUS for this product is the wonderful customer service. Register your products with EGO and if you ever have problems they will send you replacement equipment. Very easy to do business with.
Pros: Accurate, Durable, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 56-Volt 4.0 Ah Battery
from Salem,Il
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome product

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
This Ego lawn mover is great. It is very easy to use and the storage of it still amazes me. If anyone
is in the market for a new mower one should look st this mower. A added plus while operating it is
quiet in sound.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable
Cons: pricey
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 56-Volt 4.0 Ah Battery

Back-up unit

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Just wanted a spare since my yard takes > 1 hr to mow & stopping to recharge delays completing the job. I expect this battery to perform as well as the original.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 56-Volt 4.0 Ah Battery
from Memphis
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Ego Lithium Battery

PostedJune 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is by far the best Lithium battery on the market hands down...
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Mulches Well, Small Turn Radius, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 56-Volt 4.0 Ah Battery
from Grove city, Ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Double the run time!

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This battery doubled the run time of the leaf blower. It is a little pricy but for me, it was worth it.
Pros: Powerful, Long-Lasting
Cons: pricy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>