728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Paint Buckets & Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 5-gal. Bucket Companion Cooler (3-Pack)

5-gal. Bucket Companion Cooler (3-Pack)

Turn your 5-gal. Bucket into a cooler. Use Leaktite's foam bucket liner with lid and make your Homer Bucket the perfect cooler. Just drop the foam liner into the bucket and you have created a bucket cooler.
Overall rating:
4.509 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(53 reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product50 of 52reviews
Rating Breakdown 53 reviews
4.5 out of 5
5
(35)
4
(12)
3
(5)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product50 of 52reviews
Customer reviews for 5-gal. Bucket Companion Cooler (3-Pack)
Review 1 for 5-gal. Bucket Companion Cooler (3-Pack)
from Ontario, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Something Simple

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It was an insert for a project. I made a portable air conditioner.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: is fragile
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5-gal. Bucket Companion Cooler (3-Pack)
from Wentzville, Missouri
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Was Just What I Needed To Make My Bucket A/C Unit.....

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Worked perfect for my 5 Gallon Bucket A/C unit....
Pros: Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 5-gal. Bucket Companion Cooler (3-Pack)

YES BUT.....

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The coolers work as advertised and do the job I need them to do. I can't give more than a three star rating for two reasons. I wish they were just a little thicker than they are (like a half inch or so), and they are way over priced. These things should be no more than $2.49 each. I paid almost $6 each! Come on Home Depot, you can do better than that! I'll buy them again when I need to, but I'll be gritting my teeth while I do it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5-gal. Bucket Companion Cooler (3-Pack)
from Pensacola, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just what I wantedI

PostedMay 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am using this to make a tent air conditioner for summer camping here in Florida. I will use one for it's original intent...a cooler to take camping. .
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5-gal. Bucket Companion Cooler (3-Pack)
from San Diego, California
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good product

PostedJanuary 30, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Good product but even though it was in a box it was damaged and it looks like it was damaged BEFORE it went into the box for shipping. It is a very fragile thing (styrofoam) and even though the broken one was on top and very easy to see perhaps they should all be inspected before shipping to make sure none were damaged. I am very disappointed!
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: they damage easily before they are in a bucket!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5-gal. Bucket Companion Cooler (3-Pack)

Good product

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
It does what it is supposed to. The Styrofoam is a bit thin but it fits well in a 5 gallon bucket.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5-gal. Bucket Companion Cooler (3-Pack)

Exactly what I was looking for

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Didn't realize I was getting a 3 pack - so a great value if you're looking for the styrofoam coolers.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5-gal. Bucket Companion Cooler (3-Pack)

5 gallon cooler

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Fits perfectly works great as cooler or bait bucket
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5-gal. Bucket Companion Cooler (3-Pack)
from United States
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

bucket cooler

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
fit well for their need. works and keeps items cold
Pros: Easy to Use
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 5-gal. Bucket Companion Cooler (3-Pack)
Age Range:25 to 34
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does The Job

PostedOctober 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Works for what i needed it for, but it's a couple inches shorter than an actual 5 gallon bucket. Fits perfectly otherwise. Was a little flimsier than I thought it would be. You barely touch the stuff and it can make a dent in it, or break off, so be super careful with it (yes, I understand styrofoam isn't designed to be rough and tumble or anything, but this was a little ridiculous based on previous styrofoam that I've encountered.
Haven't really gotten the chance to use it as a cheap cooler yet, but I've never been asked to review something as much as Home Depot asked of this, so here I am, to get them off my back.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 5-gal. Bucket Companion Cooler (3-Pack)

It's a bucket liner

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Yeah, it's a styrofoam bucket liner. It works. Seems a bit pricy for what it is, but it works. Now, please quit sending me emails asking for a review. DONE!
Pros: rory mcilroy
Cons: oj simpson
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 5-gal. Bucket Companion Cooler (3-Pack)
from Centralia,Washington
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This was a great find

PostedDecember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
this was great being in a pack of 3, I made a swamp cooler out fo them with a fan on top.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Use, Looks Great
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 5-gal. Bucket Companion Cooler (3-Pack)
from Yuma, AZ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Now what to do?

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Well, we purchased this product to use with a 5 gal. bucket (also purchased from Home Depot) to make the YouTube air-conditioner-in-a-bucket. We must not know what the "trick" is though, because we couldn't get much cool air out of it at all. We did the instructions precisely as the video shows--with no luck. But, the styrofoam liner is not the problem, so I have no reason to rate it badly. The only real drawback is that the liners come as a three pack so I have two extras now...guess these will have to be for some future project. They do fit nicely into a 5 gal. plastic bucket, so could be used for a carry-type ice chest.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 5-gal. Bucket Companion Cooler (3-Pack)
from Sacramento, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

More than just a liner...

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
my son used the companion cooler to make three personal air chillers. the cooler, a bucket, some PVC and a fan. Then just add Ice. Works well.
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 5-gal. Bucket Companion Cooler (3-Pack)

Works as advertised

PostedOctober 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I ordered this product to create a homemade AC. It works as advertised. The product is durable styrofoam (as durable as styrofoam can be I guess) and fits the bucket perfectly. I felt it was a little over priced, but this is the only place I could find them, so... I guess that's to be expected?!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 5-gal. Bucket Companion Cooler (3-Pack)

Great for mini air conditioner

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This three pack was bought for a 5 gallon AC unit project. It works great and the price was not bad.
Pros: Easy to Apply
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 5-gal. Bucket Companion Cooler (3-Pack)

Great product, fast shipping.

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Works as described. Used these to make a/c buckets for cooling my upstairs without using the house A/C. Google "Home Depot A/C Bucket" to see what I'm talking about.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 5-gal. Bucket Companion Cooler (3-Pack)
from houston, tx
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good deal

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
i use these to line my bait bucket for live bait. works great as insulator keeping my bait alive longer
Pros: Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 5-gal. Bucket Companion Cooler (3-Pack)
from Georgia
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Smaller than Expected

PostedSeptember 19, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
First off, Home Depot will send you way too many emails trying to get you to review the product. It is smaller in height than a 5 gallon bucket. That was disappointing. But, I bought it to make a 5 gallon A/C unit. It works for this purpose. Could probably also work for an inexpensive cooler to go fishing or take to a construction site.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 5-gal. Bucket Companion Cooler (3-Pack)
from Mukilteo, WA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Innovative, but treat with care.

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This product is a decent insulator for your average ice cooler or what have you, but the lining is a little thin. It feels like it'll break if you handle it a little too rough. Love the design though, it fits perfectly into Home Depot's 5 gallon buckets and keeps flush with the sides. It doesn't come quite as high to the bucket top as I would like, but that's just me. The liner comes with a lid that fits into the top nicely.
Bottom Line: If you don't care too much about aesthetics or a beautiful looking cooler, than this a great idea for parties, days at the beach, etc. It's nice to carry a cooler with one handle instead of having to grab to at the side. There's no knee dumping when you carry one or two of these, it keeps things real simple.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Protection
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>