728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Paint Buckets & Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 5-gal. Bucket Companion Cooler (3-Pack)

5-gal. Bucket Companion Cooler (3-Pack)

Turn your 5-gal. Bucket into a cooler. Use Leaktite's foam bucket liner with lid and make your Homer Bucket the perfect cooler. Just drop the foam liner into the bucket and you have created a bucket cooler.
Overall rating:
4.522 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(46 reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product43 of 45reviews
Rating Breakdown 46 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(30)
4
(12)
3
(3)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product43 of 45reviews
Customer reviews for 5-gal. Bucket Companion Cooler (3-Pack)
Review 1 for 5-gal. Bucket Companion Cooler (3-Pack)
from Wentzville, Missouri
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Was Just What I Needed To Make My Bucket A/C Unit.....

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Worked perfect for my 5 Gallon Bucket A/C unit....
Pros: Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5-gal. Bucket Companion Cooler (3-Pack)
Age Range:25 to 34
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does The Job

PostedOctober 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works for what i needed it for, but it's a couple inches shorter than an actual 5 gallon bucket. Fits perfectly otherwise. Was a little flimsier than I thought it would be. You barely touch the stuff and it can make a dent in it, or break off, so be super careful with it (yes, I understand styrofoam isn't designed to be rough and tumble or anything, but this was a little ridiculous based on previous styrofoam that I've encountered.
Haven't really gotten the chance to use it as a cheap cooler yet, but I've never been asked to review something as much as Home Depot asked of this, so here I am, to get them off my back.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 5-gal. Bucket Companion Cooler (3-Pack)
from United States
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

bucket cooler

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
fit well for their need. works and keeps items cold
Pros: Easy to Use
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5-gal. Bucket Companion Cooler (3-Pack)
from Centralia,Washington
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This was a great find

PostedDecember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this was great being in a pack of 3, I made a swamp cooler out fo them with a fan on top.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Use, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5-gal. Bucket Companion Cooler (3-Pack)
from Sacramento, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

More than just a liner...

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
my son used the companion cooler to make three personal air chillers. the cooler, a bucket, some PVC and a fan. Then just add Ice. Works well.
Pros: Easy to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5-gal. Bucket Companion Cooler (3-Pack)

Works as advertised

PostedOctober 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I ordered this product to create a homemade AC. It works as advertised. The product is durable styrofoam (as durable as styrofoam can be I guess) and fits the bucket perfectly. I felt it was a little over priced, but this is the only place I could find them, so... I guess that's to be expected?!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5-gal. Bucket Companion Cooler (3-Pack)

Great for mini air conditioner

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This three pack was bought for a 5 gallon AC unit project. It works great and the price was not bad.
Pros: Easy to Apply
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5-gal. Bucket Companion Cooler (3-Pack)

Great product, fast shipping.

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works as described. Used these to make a/c buckets for cooling my upstairs without using the house A/C. Google "Home Depot A/C Bucket" to see what I'm talking about.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5-gal. Bucket Companion Cooler (3-Pack)
from Yuma, AZ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Now what to do?

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Well, we purchased this product to use with a 5 gal. bucket (also purchased from Home Depot) to make the YouTube air-conditioner-in-a-bucket. We must not know what the "trick" is though, because we couldn't get much cool air out of it at all. We did the instructions precisely as the video shows--with no luck. But, the styrofoam liner is not the problem, so I have no reason to rate it badly. The only real drawback is that the liners come as a three pack so I have two extras now...guess these will have to be for some future project. They do fit nicely into a 5 gal. plastic bucket, so could be used for a carry-type ice chest.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 5-gal. Bucket Companion Cooler (3-Pack)
from houston, tx
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good deal

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i use these to line my bait bucket for live bait. works great as insulator keeping my bait alive longer
Pros: Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 5-gal. Bucket Companion Cooler (3-Pack)
from Georgia
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Smaller than Expected

PostedSeptember 19, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
First off, Home Depot will send you way too many emails trying to get you to review the product. It is smaller in height than a 5 gallon bucket. That was disappointing. But, I bought it to make a 5 gallon A/C unit. It works for this purpose. Could probably also work for an inexpensive cooler to go fishing or take to a construction site.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 5-gal. Bucket Companion Cooler (3-Pack)
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

red neck beer cooler

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
basic cheap red neck beer cooler, use places like garage, beach, river
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 5-gal. Bucket Companion Cooler (3-Pack)

Great purchase

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product. Would recommend to others. Keeps ice longer
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 5-gal. Bucket Companion Cooler (3-Pack)

5 gal. bucket companion

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Would be nice if sold individually instead of packs of 3 and available at store.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 5-gal. Bucket Companion Cooler (3-Pack)

Happy with purchase

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Got what I expected in the time I expected. Satisfied
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 5-gal. Bucket Companion Cooler (3-Pack)
from Elk Grove, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great DIY project

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Using this cooler bucket I made a outdoor a/c for my patio. 1 5 gallon paint bucket with lid, one 5 gallon bucket companion PVC and a goodwill fan. Direction on Pinterest.
Pros: good quality
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 5-gal. Bucket Companion Cooler (3-Pack)
from Mukilteo, WA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Innovative, but treat with care.

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product is a decent insulator for your average ice cooler or what have you, but the lining is a little thin. It feels like it'll break if you handle it a little too rough. Love the design though, it fits perfectly into Home Depot's 5 gallon buckets and keeps flush with the sides. It doesn't come quite as high to the bucket top as I would like, but that's just me. The liner comes with a lid that fits into the top nicely.
Bottom Line: If you don't care too much about aesthetics or a beautiful looking cooler, than this a great idea for parties, days at the beach, etc. It's nice to carry a cooler with one handle instead of having to grab to at the side. There's no knee dumping when you carry one or two of these, it keeps things real simple.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Protection
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 5-gal. Bucket Companion Cooler (3-Pack)

Great Minnow Bucket

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The insert is a good insulator, keeps the minnows kicking much longer than the bucket alone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 5-gal. Bucket Companion Cooler (3-Pack)
from San Diego
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sad its being discontinued :(

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
iT CAN BE USED FOR SO MANY THINGS. STURDY, WHILE LIGHTWEIGHT...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 5-gal. Bucket Companion Cooler (3-Pack)

Just what I needed. Thanks.

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This will help with the portable AC project from the internet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>