728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Services or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Kitchen Cabinet Installation

Kitchen Cabinet Installation

Overall rating:
3.754 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(171 reviews) 171
Open Ratings Snapshot
69%of customersrecommend this product115 of 166reviews
Rating Breakdown 171 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(77)
4
(37)
3
(15)
2
(22)
1
(20)
69%of customersrecommend this product115 of 166reviews
Customer reviews for Kitchen Cabinet Installation
Review 1 for Kitchen Cabinet Installation
from Flagstaff, AZ, USA

Install went very smooth. The installer knew what he was doing and completed the job quickly

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
From meeting Jill in the kitchen design center to the installer, this was a very pleasent and positive experience. One cabinent was damaged in shipping but Home Depot stepped up and offered a new one.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Kitchen Cabinet Installation
from Kaneohe, HI, USA

A very frustrating experience. A kitchen installation that is a disaster from start to, I would like to say finish, but are not finished yet.

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Demolition began 01/07/14, today is 05/06/14 and we're still missing 2 drawers and a filler side panel. After paying an additional $302.36 for cabinet storage fees, due to early deliver, the cabinet did not fit as ordered. There was a gap of three weeks between the counter completion and the countertop installation. Numerous calls to HD kitchen design specialist and facilitator were not answered timely. In fact, an average of 3 messages were left for the kitchen design specialist, prior to any return call. On 2 occasions, she failed to return any of my messages. The facilitator was non responsive to any concerns for the countertop installation. A supervisor was contacted and she was argumentative and condescending. She thought my wife cooking on a butane burner for 3 months was not a big deal to her. The countertop arrived with blemishes or blotches larger than a quarter. A quality control inspector came by to take photos of the blemishes, without any further comment. We purchased and paid for a set of 24 inch cabinets and counter adjacent to the range. As mentioned before, the cabinet and counter did not fit. The installation was cut down to 15 inch cabinets and counter.(We're still awaiting delivery for the missing drawers.) We lost about 5 inches of storage space due to this miscalculation, hence the necessity for the filler panel. We have requested a credit adjustment, but we have not heard anything back yet. We are very dissatisfied with the HD kitchen installation. Once our installation started going south, the kitchen design specialist became less and less involved. Currently, I have one telephone message and one hand written message for the KDS with no response yet. You're going to have to excuse me now while I leave another telephone message for her, which will probably be ignored again.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Kitchen Cabinet Installation

Good work

PostedNovember 14, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
It would have been a better experience if you hadn't fired your installers twice. Made it a very loooooong time without a kitchen.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy SherondaCustomer CareNovember 15, 2012
I apologize that your installation timeframe was delayed because of our changes. Thank you for hanging in there with us!

Sheronda
The Home Depot
Review 4 for Kitchen Cabinet Installation
from Michigan

The installers were thorough and conscientious and did an awesome job.

PostedMarch 22, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
home depot designed well, but as soon as the money was paid , no more contact. cupboards were ordered wrong, measurements were incorrect which has caused huge delays. They seem like they are in no hurry to make sure the customer is satisified and the job is complete
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Kitchen Cabinet Installation
from Lahaina, HI, USA

Install delayed because manufacturer's shipment was short of product ordered.

PostedAugust 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The kitchen designer and contractor were great to work with and very prompt in response to inquiries by customer. Contacts to me we're made as needed and we resolved any installation issues satisfactorily. I was 6000 miles away from the site so using Home Depot was efficient for me because I. could visit my local store and select products. The finished product is just what I expected.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Kitchen Cabinet Installation
from Clinton, IA, USA

Smooth install process and great results

PostedFebruary 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The installer was on time and provided me with updates throughout the day. Anytime I had a question, he responded with an answer and was both professional and friendly.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Kitchen Cabinet Installation
from New Hampton IA

Installation and product incredible...Crew 2 an absolute disaster

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Home Depot consistently made every effort to meet our expectations...Working with Crew 2 was a disaster and I did address this with anybody that cared listen They consistently gave us false and incomplete information and then denied it. I would never work with them again
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Kitchen Cabinet Installation
from Kennewick, WA, USA

Pulls look great on cabinets!

PostedJune 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The pulls look great on my bathroom and kitchen cabinets!!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Kitchen Cabinet Installation
from Pensacola, FL, USA

Smooth install process and great results

PostedFebruary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Smooth install process and great results. Completed install in one day. Even cleaned up garage when cabinets where stored waiting to be insatlled. Hauled away empty boxes, Very Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Kitchen Cabinet Installation
from Bella Vista, AR, USA

The whole experiance was great. From the person who helped us design to the install.

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The cabinets are top quality and the design of our cabinets fitted our needs. Great cabinets and great experiance in all areas of the project.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Kitchen Cabinet Installation

What a mess

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Kitchen Cabinet Installation
The job is still not complete to our satisfaction and it has been paid for for many months.
We tried being patient.
We give up.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Kitchen Cabinet Installation
from Flower Mound, TX, USA

Took months to finish

PostedOctober 6, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Kitchen Cabinet Installation
There were so many problems with this project, it is very hard to summarize. It would have been helpful to be able to provide feedback through each step of the process in order to be most accurate. There were issues with ordering (wrong things ordered), the product / shipping (broken and / or damaged cabinets), installation (off center, gaps), etc.
We started in February and it was finally completed in September. Some of the timing was due to our not being in town; however, even without that the timeframe for completion was excessive.
Looking at this page, I'm not sure you really wanted real information -- looks like you were just looking for pictures & comments to use in advertising -- obviously my experience does not qualify for that.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareOctober 9, 2014
Jim, sorry for the troubles experienced during your installation. We will be sure to follow up with you to discuss your concerns and how we can work to make it right for you. Thanks so much for your feedback.
Review 13 for Kitchen Cabinet Installation

Delayed install & poor customer service.

PostedJuly 13, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Kitchen Cabinet Installation
One cabinet was found to have a blemish during inspection and was to be reordered. Home Depot never placed order for replacement cabinet which delayed project ten days. With a kitchen remodel already being a lengthy process, ten additional days without a functioning kitchen was a major inconvenience. It was very difficult to get in contact with a store manager. Promised call back dates were broken multiple times. While offered compensation for inconvenience was appreciated, it fell short of customer expectation. Happy to have functioning kitchen again!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Kitchen Cabinet Installation
from Buffalo, NY 14220, USA

AWFUL experience from cabinets being delivered to project completion

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Kitchen Cabinet Installation
Cannot in good faith ever recommend this to anyone if Home Depot continues to use the current contractors you opt to use in the Buffalo, NY market. From the moment cabinets were delivered until we complained and even after install and service with regards to this were completely unsatisfactory. So bad that I was compelled to write a letter to store manager and asked it be forwarded to your contractors and subcontractors. Would be happy to provide it to you as well.
Needless to say my wife and I will not be Home Depot customers moving forward. Our experience is daily relayed to family, friends, and co-workers expecting to hear how happy we might be with the new kitchen project only to hear our compounding negative experiences. The only good thing we can say is that the Home Depot portion of the install is complete.
We opted to go with the Home Depot for convenience, ease, and relaxation on this portion of our project; none of which we ever got to benefit from.
Pictures, numerous phone calls, emails regarding our complaints and all we ever received from Home Depot was lip service. What more can I say!
Sincerely,
an unhappy customer
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareSeptember 10, 2014
We apologize for the troubles that you experienced with your installation and our company. We will be sure to work towards improving our installation services. Thank you for your feedback.
Review 15 for Kitchen Cabinet Installation
from Morrison, Colorado

Poor quality control

PostedSeptember 19, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Kitchen Cabinet Installation
KraftMaid had the pleasure of making the cabinets for my kitchen and made no effort to ensure that my cabinets were defect free, in fact one cabinet had a hole punched thru the side. The packaging was in perfect condition, there was no indication of damage.
You will not convince me the cabinet was damaged before it left the plant. This slowed the project by 10 days, the countertop people absolutely would not begin their job until the cabinets were installed. Cabinet install on hold.
The new cabinet arrived and 2 or 3 days later the cabinet installer put in the replacement cabinet but could not complete the job because KraftMaid failed to ship the scribe. This should have been caught by the guy who inspected the cabinets after they were delivered.
Yup, you guessed it, yet another week delay.
Then to top it off, after the 3rd attempt to install the job could not be completed because KraftMaid did not ship the toe kick. I'm starting to wonder " What the heck is going on here, have these people ever done this before?"
Seriously, is this considered a normal install?
During all the process I had to make numerous calls to find out what was going on and when things were going be done and I have to be honest, people made no real attempt to keep me informed.
Cabinets installed I still had to wait more than a week to get the countertop.
I had to stop the countertop guy from gluing down a piece that he had not noticed was more than 1" off at the front of the cabinet from left to right. Incredible! I saw the flaw from the other room!
We started this project at the 1st of May and I finally signed of on the countertop Sept 8th.
So, yes my kitchen is done and it looks great, mind you I completed the sink, DW, laminate floor, plumbing, painting and under cabinet LED's and it's only because of my efforts in this remodel.
I would probably pursue a different route next year when I have to remodel a kitchen in another house I own.
I don't want your $1000.00 gift card, this review was my pleasure and I have been waiting for this opportunity.
Thank you.
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareSeptember 23, 2014
We really appreciate your feedback and your willingness to share your experience. We will be sure to continue working to improve our installation services with our partners so that this doesn't continue to happen going forward. We are happy to hear that the end result looked great and you are happy with it overall. Again, sorry for the delays.
Review 16 for Kitchen Cabinet Installation
from Ankeny, Iowa

Too many cooks in the kitchen

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Kitchen Cabinet Installation
We started our process in late May and didn't get the project completed until October. Working with the designer was easy because we knew what we wanted. The person who came out to measure didn't do an accurate drawing, which shifted our kitchen dimensions and caused our cabinets to be shorter than the footprint. We had to wait an extra month to get new cabinets in. The installer was good to work with. Overall the quality of the cabinets is average. Lots of waiting time throughout the project and it was on Home Depot's end due to incorrect measurements from the beginning. It defeated our goal of having professionals do the project to make it go quicker and correctly.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Kitchen Cabinet Installation

Incorrect measurements given by installation rep/change caused floor installation to be incomplete/additional costs due to water lines being discarded

PostedAugust 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Kitchen Cabinet Installation
My experience beginning with the Home Depot salesperson was a nightmare. Time wasted (4 days)because Home Depot personnel did not understand what was being asked for (installation NOT remodeling of a powder room).Numerous telephone calls to try to get the correct service. Installation company representative measured incorrectly therefore vanity was incorrect size. There was no consideration given to the plumbing in the room. (Was told that the representative was fired from his job right after my room measurements were given) Waterlines discarded that were needed for the faucet. Required an additional cost of a new faucet with appropriate waterlines. The quality of the vanity replacement is far less than desired or originally purchased. The floor installers completed their job on a Saturday however since the vanity measurements were incorrect the tile installed as a baseboard is incomplete. The vanity was not installed until three days later due to the incompetency of the installation company's employee.
I will NEVER recommend Home Depot to anyone for its installation services. I quickly received a bill from Home Depot for the balance to be paid by August 23rd but also have been bombarded with repeated voicemail messages for payment. This entire experience has been dreadful.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Kitchen Cabinet Installation
from Fall River, MA, USA

worst experience I have ever had

PostedOctober 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Kitchen Cabinet Installation
Delay in delivering cabinets. Poor communication with sub contractors. Would not recommend home depot to anyone.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareOctober 17, 2014
We apologize for any delays with your project. We appreciate your feedback and will continue to work to improve our installation services. Thank you.
Review 19 for Kitchen Cabinet Installation
from Lake Geneva, WI 53147, USA

disaster

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Kitchen Cabinet Installation
Installation of cabinets seemed to be going well but they did not have enough material to finish. Grout on cabinets turned green so it was determined they would have to be replaced and it would take an additional 6 weeks for new cabinets.
The countertop man called to say he was leaving Madison, 1.5 hours away, 10 minutes after he was supposed to be at our home. When he showed up he told me there would be a seam in the top and I objected. He then proceered to lie about why a seam was required. I wws told a seam would create a lot more wwste, another lie, and I was given a quote for an additional $400. The store salesman then confessed that the reason it would be more is because it would require an additional man to install. That I could understand, why did they make up lies. It was then determined that in order to install the one pkece countertop some of the previuosly installed cabinets would bave to be removed and I would be charged for that. In the interium the additional trim arrived but not at our home but at the store and we were expected to pay for it. 3 days after they decided to order new cabinets for the green grout the grout cured and turned white (ish) and we called and said we did not want new cabinets installed. They did not cancel the order as a few weeks later we were pestered by the store to come and pickup the new cabinets and pay $1100.
The countertop man showed up, late, with the new top but without the additional man. I had to help with the instalation as two people could not do it. The cabinet guys removed 3 screws and pulled back a panel to allow the countertop to be installed. We had to, once again, remove and reinstall the appliances.
It is done. After all of this no one fron Home Depot bothered to call a see if all was completed to our satisfaction.
The guys that installed the cabinets were the one shining star in this whole debacle. They were effient, punctual, personable and accurate.
The management of the project was abysmal and the countertop people were amateurish. I received several calls from different layers of management all were ineffectual and clearly unaware of the ongoing problems. The last was a woman, Ann Marie I believe, that told me this was all my fault because the walls in my 100 year old house are not square.
Disaster?
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Kitchen Cabinet Installation
from Los Angeles, CA, USA

Horrible experience

PostedMay 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Kitchen Cabinet Installation
Installer ruined my cabinets. After installation was done it was as if an amateur had just installed my cabinets. I had to be a babysitter in order for things to get done. Pencil marks were left on the wall, shim hanging down, doors not aligned, shelves not installed, left unsightly drill marks after installing hardware. Total disaster.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>