728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Services or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Kitchen Cabinet Installation

Kitchen Cabinet Installation

Overall rating:
3.797 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(163 reviews) 163
Open Ratings Snapshot
71%of customersrecommend this product112 of 158reviews
Rating Breakdown 163 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(74)
4
(37)
3
(15)
2
(19)
1
(18)
71%of customersrecommend this product112 of 158reviews
Customer reviews for Kitchen Cabinet Installation
Review 1 for Kitchen Cabinet Installation
from Flagstaff, AZ, USA

Install went very smooth. The installer knew what he was doing and completed the job quickly

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
From meeting Jill in the kitchen design center to the installer, this was a very pleasent and positive experience. One cabinent was damaged in shipping but Home Depot stepped up and offered a new one.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Kitchen Cabinet Installation
from Kaneohe, HI, USA

A very frustrating experience. A kitchen installation that is a disaster from start to, I would like to say finish, but are not finished yet.

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Demolition began 01/07/14, today is 05/06/14 and we're still missing 2 drawers and a filler side panel. After paying an additional $302.36 for cabinet storage fees, due to early deliver, the cabinet did not fit as ordered. There was a gap of three weeks between the counter completion and the countertop installation. Numerous calls to HD kitchen design specialist and facilitator were not answered timely. In fact, an average of 3 messages were left for the kitchen design specialist, prior to any return call. On 2 occasions, she failed to return any of my messages. The facilitator was non responsive to any concerns for the countertop installation. A supervisor was contacted and she was argumentative and condescending. She thought my wife cooking on a butane burner for 3 months was not a big deal to her. The countertop arrived with blemishes or blotches larger than a quarter. A quality control inspector came by to take photos of the blemishes, without any further comment. We purchased and paid for a set of 24 inch cabinets and counter adjacent to the range. As mentioned before, the cabinet and counter did not fit. The installation was cut down to 15 inch cabinets and counter.(We're still awaiting delivery for the missing drawers.) We lost about 5 inches of storage space due to this miscalculation, hence the necessity for the filler panel. We have requested a credit adjustment, but we have not heard anything back yet. We are very dissatisfied with the HD kitchen installation. Once our installation started going south, the kitchen design specialist became less and less involved. Currently, I have one telephone message and one hand written message for the KDS with no response yet. You're going to have to excuse me now while I leave another telephone message for her, which will probably be ignored again.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Kitchen Cabinet Installation

Good work

PostedNovember 14, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
It would have been a better experience if you hadn't fired your installers twice. Made it a very loooooong time without a kitchen.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy SherondaCustomer CareNovember 15, 2012
I apologize that your installation timeframe was delayed because of our changes. Thank you for hanging in there with us!

Sheronda
The Home Depot
Review 4 for Kitchen Cabinet Installation
from Michigan

The installers were thorough and conscientious and did an awesome job.

PostedMarch 22, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
home depot designed well, but as soon as the money was paid , no more contact. cupboards were ordered wrong, measurements were incorrect which has caused huge delays. They seem like they are in no hurry to make sure the customer is satisified and the job is complete
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Kitchen Cabinet Installation
from Lahaina, HI, USA

Install delayed because manufacturer's shipment was short of product ordered.

PostedAugust 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The kitchen designer and contractor were great to work with and very prompt in response to inquiries by customer. Contacts to me we're made as needed and we resolved any installation issues satisfactorily. I was 6000 miles away from the site so using Home Depot was efficient for me because I. could visit my local store and select products. The finished product is just what I expected.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Kitchen Cabinet Installation
from Clinton, IA, USA

Smooth install process and great results

PostedFebruary 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The installer was on time and provided me with updates throughout the day. Anytime I had a question, he responded with an answer and was both professional and friendly.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Kitchen Cabinet Installation
from New Hampton IA

Installation and product incredible...Crew 2 an absolute disaster

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Home Depot consistently made every effort to meet our expectations...Working with Crew 2 was a disaster and I did address this with anybody that cared listen They consistently gave us false and incomplete information and then denied it. I would never work with them again
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Kitchen Cabinet Installation
from Kennewick, WA, USA

Pulls look great on cabinets!

PostedJune 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The pulls look great on my bathroom and kitchen cabinets!!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Kitchen Cabinet Installation
from Pensacola, FL, USA

Smooth install process and great results

PostedFebruary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Smooth install process and great results. Completed install in one day. Even cleaned up garage when cabinets where stored waiting to be insatlled. Hauled away empty boxes, Very Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Kitchen Cabinet Installation
from Bella Vista, AR, USA

The whole experiance was great. From the person who helped us design to the install.

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The cabinets are top quality and the design of our cabinets fitted our needs. Great cabinets and great experiance in all areas of the project.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Kitchen Cabinet Installation

What a mess

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Kitchen Cabinet Installation
The job is still not complete to our satisfaction and it has been paid for for many months.
We tried being patient.
We give up.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Kitchen Cabinet Installation

Delayed install & poor customer service.

PostedJuly 13, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Kitchen Cabinet Installation
One cabinet was found to have a blemish during inspection and was to be reordered. Home Depot never placed order for replacement cabinet which delayed project ten days. With a kitchen remodel already being a lengthy process, ten additional days without a functioning kitchen was a major inconvenience. It was very difficult to get in contact with a store manager. Promised call back dates were broken multiple times. While offered compensation for inconvenience was appreciated, it fell short of customer expectation. Happy to have functioning kitchen again!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Kitchen Cabinet Installation

Incorrect measurements given by installation rep/change caused floor installation to be incomplete/additional costs due to water lines being discarded

PostedAugust 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Kitchen Cabinet Installation
My experience beginning with the Home Depot salesperson was a nightmare. Time wasted (4 days)because Home Depot personnel did not understand what was being asked for (installation NOT remodeling of a powder room).Numerous telephone calls to try to get the correct service. Installation company representative measured incorrectly therefore vanity was incorrect size. There was no consideration given to the plumbing in the room. (Was told that the representative was fired from his job right after my room measurements were given) Waterlines discarded that were needed for the faucet. Required an additional cost of a new faucet with appropriate waterlines. The quality of the vanity replacement is far less than desired or originally purchased. The floor installers completed their job on a Saturday however since the vanity measurements were incorrect the tile installed as a baseboard is incomplete. The vanity was not installed until three days later due to the incompetency of the installation company's employee.
I will NEVER recommend Home Depot to anyone for its installation services. I quickly received a bill from Home Depot for the balance to be paid by August 23rd but also have been bombarded with repeated voicemail messages for payment. This entire experience has been dreadful.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Kitchen Cabinet Installation
from Ankeny, Iowa

Too many cooks in the kitchen

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Kitchen Cabinet Installation
We started our process in late May and didn't get the project completed until October. Working with the designer was easy because we knew what we wanted. The person who came out to measure didn't do an accurate drawing, which shifted our kitchen dimensions and caused our cabinets to be shorter than the footprint. We had to wait an extra month to get new cabinets in. The installer was good to work with. Overall the quality of the cabinets is average. Lots of waiting time throughout the project and it was on Home Depot's end due to incorrect measurements from the beginning. It defeated our goal of having professionals do the project to make it go quicker and correctly.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Kitchen Cabinet Installation
from Lake Geneva, WI 53147, USA

disaster

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Kitchen Cabinet Installation
Installation of cabinets seemed to be going well but they did not have enough material to finish. Grout on cabinets turned green so it was determined they would have to be replaced and it would take an additional 6 weeks for new cabinets.
The countertop man called to say he was leaving Madison, 1.5 hours away, 10 minutes after he was supposed to be at our home. When he showed up he told me there would be a seam in the top and I objected. He then proceered to lie about why a seam was required. I wws told a seam would create a lot more wwste, another lie, and I was given a quote for an additional $400. The store salesman then confessed that the reason it would be more is because it would require an additional man to install. That I could understand, why did they make up lies. It was then determined that in order to install the one pkece countertop some of the previuosly installed cabinets would bave to be removed and I would be charged for that. In the interium the additional trim arrived but not at our home but at the store and we were expected to pay for it. 3 days after they decided to order new cabinets for the green grout the grout cured and turned white (ish) and we called and said we did not want new cabinets installed. They did not cancel the order as a few weeks later we were pestered by the store to come and pickup the new cabinets and pay $1100.
The countertop man showed up, late, with the new top but without the additional man. I had to help with the instalation as two people could not do it. The cabinet guys removed 3 screws and pulled back a panel to allow the countertop to be installed. We had to, once again, remove and reinstall the appliances.
It is done. After all of this no one fron Home Depot bothered to call a see if all was completed to our satisfaction.
The guys that installed the cabinets were the one shining star in this whole debacle. They were effient, punctual, personable and accurate.
The management of the project was abysmal and the countertop people were amateurish. I received several calls from different layers of management all were ineffectual and clearly unaware of the ongoing problems. The last was a woman, Ann Marie I believe, that told me this was all my fault because the walls in my 100 year old house are not square.
Disaster?
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Kitchen Cabinet Installation
from Torrance, CA, USA

NEVER AGAIN

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Kitchen Cabinet Installation
I will Never have Home Depot do any services for me again. I spent a small fortune on cabinetry and special order flooring and the cabinet installers showed up, did a horrible job & even cut jagged edges into my sink base....then after that I tried to schedule the installation of my laminate floors - no such luck - they decided since I was such a complainer they would not install the laminate & because it was special order laminate - I couldn't just take it back and go elsewhere so I was stuck. Had to find another contractor on a budget & the Torrance Home Depot is tops of the places I will NEVER shop there again!
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareMarch 12, 2014
We are extremely sorry to hear of the troubles you had to face trying to have your kitchen upgraded. We will be sure to review our processes, and continue to work to improve so that these types of issues do not continue. Thank you for your feedback.
Review 17 for Kitchen Cabinet Installation
from Greensboro, NC, USA

Communication issues + others issues

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Kitchen Cabinet Installation
We felt like we were not properly informed during the whole process. 1st we recieved a call about delivery of our vanity to our house. It was our understanding ALL the materials were going to be kept at the store and brought over by the installer. When we inquired we were told that they would see if it could be delivered to the store instead of the house. We never heard back then one day we get a call saying the vanity was going to be delivered the next day. Luckily we were back from our honeymoon in time to receive the vanity. 2nd we were told it would take approximately 1 day to remove the old tub and vanity and 2 or 3 days to install the new ones. After the 3rd day we were informed that the vanity top people had to come and measure the vanity. Then it would be another 10-12 days to install it. It would have been nice to know that upfront so that we could plan to be without our bathroom for that long.
The installers were very nice but didn't do a great job on their patch work around the shower. The drywall is pretty uneven in several spots. Plus they put a hole in our closet wall and patched it but did not paint it. I'm pretty sure there is a crack in the shower wall as well. All in all is say 5 out of 10 stars.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Kitchen Cabinet Installation

Commercial kitchen installation

PostedJune 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Kitchen Cabinet Installation
Kitchen designer did not design, nor build us, a kitchen that adheres to ADA guidelines. I would give zero stars but that is not an option here. Absolutely terrible.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Kitchen Cabinet Installation

Installer took advantage of me

PostedMay 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Kitchen Cabinet Installation
The contractor took advantage of me. He skipped a step when installing cabinates. He installed them up against the lathe without putting sheet rock inbetween. I understand I did not pay for this step, however I did not know it was a fire hazard without it. He just wanted to get it over with and get paid. I would like the cabinates to be removed, sheet rock installed and cabinates redone. I hired a professional with the understanding it would be done correctly. I am not a contractor therefore I do not know the way things are done properly. I had another contractor tell me this was a hack job and he has never seen anything like this. I tried to upload photos, but it is not letting me where should I email them to?
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Kitchen Cabinet Installation
from Farmington, MI, USA

Beautiful kitchen and timely process

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Kitchen Cabinet Installation
We hired Home Depot to install cabinets, countertop and plumbing. Our kitchen is now more functional and beautiful. The work was performed professionally and in a timely manner.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>