728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Services or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Kitchen Cabinet Installation

Kitchen Cabinet Installation

Overall rating:
3.704 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(196 reviews) 196
Open Ratings Snapshot
67%of customersrecommend this product128 of 190reviews
Rating Breakdown 196 reviews
3.7 out of 5
5
(88)
4
(39)
3
(18)
2
(25)
1
(26)
67%of customersrecommend this product128 of 190reviews
Customer reviews for Kitchen Cabinet Installation
Review 1 for Kitchen Cabinet Installation
from Flagstaff, AZ, USA

Install went very smooth. The installer knew what he was doing and completed the job quickly

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
From meeting Jill in the kitchen design center to the installer, this was a very pleasent and positive experience. One cabinent was damaged in shipping but Home Depot stepped up and offered a new one.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Kitchen Cabinet Installation
from Cedar Rapids, IA, USA

Kitchen looks great

PostedMarch 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Tara did EXCELLANT work in designing layout.
Install was very professional.
Countertop install was also great.
Very concientious teamwork on our project.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Kitchen Cabinet Installation
from Kaneohe, HI, USA

A very frustrating experience. A kitchen installation that is a disaster from start to, I would like to say finish, but are not finished yet.

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Demolition began 01/07/14, today is 05/06/14 and we're still missing 2 drawers and a filler side panel. After paying an additional $302.36 for cabinet storage fees, due to early deliver, the cabinet did not fit as ordered. There was a gap of three weeks between the counter completion and the countertop installation. Numerous calls to HD kitchen design specialist and facilitator were not answered timely. In fact, an average of 3 messages were left for the kitchen design specialist, prior to any return call. On 2 occasions, she failed to return any of my messages. The facilitator was non responsive to any concerns for the countertop installation. A supervisor was contacted and she was argumentative and condescending. She thought my wife cooking on a butane burner for 3 months was not a big deal to her. The countertop arrived with blemishes or blotches larger than a quarter. A quality control inspector came by to take photos of the blemishes, without any further comment. We purchased and paid for a set of 24 inch cabinets and counter adjacent to the range. As mentioned before, the cabinet and counter did not fit. The installation was cut down to 15 inch cabinets and counter.(We're still awaiting delivery for the missing drawers.) We lost about 5 inches of storage space due to this miscalculation, hence the necessity for the filler panel. We have requested a credit adjustment, but we have not heard anything back yet. We are very dissatisfied with the HD kitchen installation. Once our installation started going south, the kitchen design specialist became less and less involved. Currently, I have one telephone message and one hand written message for the KDS with no response yet. You're going to have to excuse me now while I leave another telephone message for her, which will probably be ignored again.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Kitchen Cabinet Installation

Good work

PostedNovember 14, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
It would have been a better experience if you hadn't fired your installers twice. Made it a very loooooong time without a kitchen.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy SherondaCustomer CareNovember 15, 2012
I apologize that your installation timeframe was delayed because of our changes. Thank you for hanging in there with us!

Sheronda
The Home Depot
Review 5 for Kitchen Cabinet Installation
from Michigan

The installers were thorough and conscientious and did an awesome job.

PostedMarch 22, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
home depot designed well, but as soon as the money was paid , no more contact. cupboards were ordered wrong, measurements were incorrect which has caused huge delays. They seem like they are in no hurry to make sure the customer is satisified and the job is complete
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Kitchen Cabinet Installation
from Lahaina, HI, USA

Install delayed because manufacturer's shipment was short of product ordered.

PostedAugust 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The kitchen designer and contractor were great to work with and very prompt in response to inquiries by customer. Contacts to me we're made as needed and we resolved any installation issues satisfactorily. I was 6000 miles away from the site so using Home Depot was efficient for me because I. could visit my local store and select products. The finished product is just what I expected.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Kitchen Cabinet Installation
from Clinton, IA, USA

Smooth install process and great results

PostedFebruary 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The installer was on time and provided me with updates throughout the day. Anytime I had a question, he responded with an answer and was both professional and friendly.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Kitchen Cabinet Installation
from New Hampton IA

Installation and product incredible...Crew 2 an absolute disaster

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Home Depot consistently made every effort to meet our expectations...Working with Crew 2 was a disaster and I did address this with anybody that cared listen They consistently gave us false and incomplete information and then denied it. I would never work with them again
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Kitchen Cabinet Installation
from Kennewick, WA, USA

Pulls look great on cabinets!

PostedJune 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The pulls look great on my bathroom and kitchen cabinets!!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Kitchen Cabinet Installation
from Pensacola, FL, USA

Smooth install process and great results

PostedFebruary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Smooth install process and great results. Completed install in one day. Even cleaned up garage when cabinets where stored waiting to be insatlled. Hauled away empty boxes, Very Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Kitchen Cabinet Installation
from Bella Vista, AR, USA

The whole experiance was great. From the person who helped us design to the install.

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The cabinets are top quality and the design of our cabinets fitted our needs. Great cabinets and great experiance in all areas of the project.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Kitchen Cabinet Installation
from Holley NY

Hard to rate due to incompetent sales personal

PostedJanuary 15, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Kitchen Cabinet Installation
The whole process was a nightmare. The person that measures and checks the site is not the person that helps pick out the products. The person helping you pick products has no clue about what you should and should not get. Delivery means they drop it in your driveway and leave you to figure out how to get it in the house. And God only knows how long it will be sitting awaiting the installation. The installers did not clean up after themselves and had to be called back to correct issues. Due to not having the products that should be used they made changes without consulting me and did not make changes I would have made. Do not go this route!
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Kitchen Cabinet Installation

Really Expensive Took Five Months to Complete Just OK Results

PostedFebruary 14, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Kitchen Cabinet Installation
The cabinets and countertops quality is very nice. The initial kitchen design representative was excellent. I really appreciated everything the design person did.
HD estimate was the highest by almost double. Time was of the essence for us so we chose HD even though expensive because they told us they could complete in 6-8 weeks. Lots of problems and delays - took 5 months to complete.
I chose "Average" for the installation quality because there are several different contractors involved. Some were very good. Others I would rate poor.
There was a lack of attention to detail. Items were missed and I had to keep asking about them. They left garbage at my home. There was an issue with a cabinet size that caused a space to be left that does not look good. This is considered complete. They could have covered it with a kick plate.
The project manager did not communicate well. The PM gave a lot of incorrect information that cost me time, effort and money. Project was not managed in an efficient manner causing additional visits and difficulties for the technicians working.
Extra charges for items that should have been in the quote. One item they charged me for was actually just a work around on the backsplash because they made a mistake during the survey for the quote. The end result is disappointing. I had to pay extra for a less than professional looking result. I was double charged for one item, and they missed something important I requested. When I asked about this item, they said I would have to pay extra for it.
They charge for "Permit Management", but I had to file for the permits, pick them up and be on site for the preliminary inspections. All they did was make the two appts with the town and be there for the final inspection. Other contractors I have hired handled the entire permit process. It's not that the permit tasks were particularly difficult, but they make a point of charging you for handling it.
There was no professional responsibility taken. Every problem was blamed on someone or something else.
+35points
36out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Kitchen Cabinet Installation
from Castroville, CA, USA

Kitchen Cabinets & Installation

PostedJanuary 30, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Kitchen Cabinet Installation
I am very dissappointed with the service. Since the measuring started, I had set appointments that were not kept, the delivery was terrible - consequently one of the cabinets was damaged, delaying the hole thing. Installer a day late to begin the installment process. I'm still waiting on the granite counter tops...
We started this project at the end of November, and 2 months later its still not completed.
I will not recommend Home Depot for remodeling kitchen at all!!!
+18points
20out of 22found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareFebruary 2, 2015
Thank you for your feedback Monica. We're sorry to hear of the delays. We will be sure to reach out to address your concerns and see that your installation is completed in a timely manner. We appreciate your continued patience.
Review 15 for Kitchen Cabinet Installation

not very good service

PostedDecember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Kitchen Cabinet Installation
It's been over 6 months since I paid for my new kitchen. It's STILL not done. It was measured improperly. The cabinets provided were sized wrong for the actual dimensions. The install left me with cracked, poorly installed molding and mismatched gaps where cabinets meet walls and ceilings. I've spent extra for additional parts- none of which solved the problems. It took 4 months to get the dishwasher properly anchored. The electrician "forgot" to add a switch for the disposal (he wired it in- just no way t turn it on!). He had to come back- but at least he was unpleasant.
Worst renovation I've ever had.
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Kitchen Cabinet Installation

What a mess

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Kitchen Cabinet Installation
The job is still not complete to our satisfaction and it has been paid for for many months.
We tried being patient.
We give up.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Kitchen Cabinet Installation
from NJ

install process was rocky... craftsmanship subpar

PostedOctober 23, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Kitchen Cabinet Installation
be wary of HD installer, they have a low regard for pride in their work and tolerate a minimum level of quality. Stay on top of the install company to insure you get the job completed at the high level of craftsmanship expected and you're paying for. The process runs much longer than they tell you and they look to change install team constantly. You have to be ready to be the general contractor DO NOT leave the project to them to do by themselves unless you are willing to accept shoddy workmanship
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Kitchen Cabinet Installation
from Baltimore, MD, USA

Good Result/Poor Communication

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
This review is from:Kitchen Cabinet Installation
While the final installation was satisfactory, the communication from the store (rarely got a call back from the scheduler) and installation company. Job took 5 weeks when should have completed in 3
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Kitchen Cabinet Installation
from Ankeny, Iowa

Too many cooks in the kitchen

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Kitchen Cabinet Installation
We started our process in late May and didn't get the project completed until October. Working with the designer was easy because we knew what we wanted. The person who came out to measure didn't do an accurate drawing, which shifted our kitchen dimensions and caused our cabinets to be shorter than the footprint. We had to wait an extra month to get new cabinets in. The installer was good to work with. Overall the quality of the cabinets is average. Lots of waiting time throughout the project and it was on Home Depot's end due to incorrect measurements from the beginning. It defeated our goal of having professionals do the project to make it go quicker and correctly.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Kitchen Cabinet Installation
from Middle River, MD, USA

The design phase was excellent. Execution was problematic throughout.

PostedJanuary 7, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Kitchen Cabinet Installation
Installation process was cumbersome and extended. Multiple delays for measuring and remeasuring. Lack of coordination between subcontractors. Burden fell to customer. Reordered cabinet pieces more than once. One cabinet hung upside down. I paid for the cabinet cardboard packaging to be removed from the site; the subcontractor could not fit it all in his vehicle and asked me to include with my recycling. Unsuccessfully attempted to relocate an electrical outlet, then offered a price reduction less than the line item billing. Wall repair was sloppy even on second attempt. Home Depot expediter was nice but ineffective, assuring me that she was coordinating all the pieces, including the plumber, when this project did not involve plumbing.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 10 >>