728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Services or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Interior Door Installation

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

Interior Door Installation

Overall rating:
4.248 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(3910 reviews) 3910
Open Ratings Snapshot
84%of customersrecommend this product3,192 of 3,817reviews
Rating Breakdown 3,910 reviews
4.2 out of 5
5
(2,513)
4
(628)
3
(276)
2
(212)
1
(281)
84%of customersrecommend this product3,192 of 3,817reviews
Customer reviews for Interior Door Installation
Review 1 for Interior Door Installation
from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Excellent Process

PostedApril 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The entire process was quick, simple, and seamless. I went to my local Home Depot to schedule someone to come out and measure from Jeld-Wen. The man used lasers to measure all of my openings and helped me choose a door style and hardware. The next day, I paid Home Depot right over the phone and a few days later I received a call to schedule my install. About a month later my doors were installed. They are wonderful. Just as I wanted them. I even had one of them painted a custom color and it matches perfectly! The installer was on time, thorough, and was very clean as he worked. Overall I am very pleased with the process and would recomend this to anyone!!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Interior Door Installation
from Bel Air, MD

Great solution to our odd shaped doorways

PostedApril 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great salesperson at store, Nick Katsu. Professional people sent from Jen Weld to do measuring and installing, always on time and worked quickly. The laser measuring is a great concept and worked very well for us.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Interior Door Installation
from Philadelphia, PA, USA

Doors look great and fit in our custom openings.

PostedJune 27, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I waited a while to see how the doors worked over a couple of months and 1 door does not shut and i have 2 or 3 doors that are very tight and need to be adjusted.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Interior Door Installation
from Chenoa, IL

Love my new doors!

PostedApril 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The overall process went well. The guy came out to measure, I sent him a paint sample to get customized color, they matched it perfectly and install was smooth and no issues.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Interior Door Installation

No problems. Very happy with the new doors

PostedMay 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Installer was professional and everything went well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Interior Door Installation
from Fort Collins, CO, USA

everything went well. doors fit perfectly.

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The measuring of the doors came off without a hitch. Installation went well, all the parts were included. A great experience!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Interior Door Installation
from Salisbury, MD, USA

initial problems were quickly fixed by installer

PostedDecember 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My wife and I didn't want to replace our door casings so this install was convenient for us since only the slab part of the door was replaced. Everyone connected with the install was professional.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Interior Door Installation
from Lake Charles, LA, USA

Horrible contractor

PostedMay 6, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Exterior Door Installation
The workmanship was terrible quality. The installer left gaps in the frame, scratched the door, didn't leave pieces that came with the door, and was about to leave without installing the step that we had paid extra for until we said something. We've been contacting Home Depot to have the problems fixed, especially because we can't properly lock the door, and the problem still hasn't been resolved. The contractor was supposed to show up yesterday to fix the shoddy work and never showed. I'm very upset with the quality and lack of service.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareMay 8, 2015
Stephanie, we're sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with the workmanship of your door installation. We will be sure to reach out to you to address your concerns and see that this is resolved. Thanks for your feedback.
Review 9 for Interior Door Installation
from Bartlett, TN, USA

Bad door install

PostedApril 12, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Exterior Door Installation
I ordered the door with factory brick mold. Do you see the gap between the brick mold and door frame. The door is not properly flush to the sheet-rock on the rick side.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareApril 20, 2015
Hi Thomas, sorry to see how your door/frame was installed. We will be sure to review your order and see what we can do to help provided the workmanship of this project. Thanks for your continued patience.
Review 10 for Interior Door Installation
from Marietta, GA, USA

Poor measurement and information leads to major issues at install

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
This review is from:Exterior Door Installation
First I want to say that this is the first poor experience I have had with HD. We have had many major projects, but never an issue until the doors. The in store people were wonderful in facilitating the necessary issues to resolution.
The major issue was that the inital measurement did not take into account the difference in the threshold size from the original doors, leaving a gap of almost an inch across the top of the door frame. A gap at the top, interior flooring and carpet needed to be stretched were all caused by the difference in the threshold size.. They did fix the carpet and floors, but the hole at the top of all 3 doors needed to be addressed.The installer was excellent and did all he could,but he couldnt stretch the doors. The bottom line was after 3 visits by "management" they would not admit the problem. The holes were covered up. We reached an agreement to settle the issue. But never again will I have a construction project with HD.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Interior Door Installation
from Florence, KY, USA

Waste of money

PostedAugust 5, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Interior Door Installation
Had door installed on existing frame at rental property. Had to pay up front and now I know why. With the door shut there is a 2 inch gap between the top of the door and the frame. You can see into the room with the door closed. Why would someone leave a job looking like this?
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareAugust 10, 2015
Hi Michael,

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the workmanship with your door installation, and will be sure to reach out to you and work to have this corrected. We appreciate your continued patience.
Review 12 for Interior Door Installation
from East Coast

Door and Shutter debacle

PostedAugust 15, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Exterior Door Installation
I had my front entry door and shutters replaced for a non-builders grade. I experienced multiple problems with the install and door components missing. 1 of the shutters fell off a little over a week after the install of the shutters. I identified all problems immediately after the install, however, it took months for a resolution. Everybody was kind and I kept my composure despite my frustration. Eventually all the problems were resolved, and it appears the front entry door and shutters were a great investment...minus the problems. The pictures uploaded identified the some of the many problems.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Interior Door Installation
from Rockford, IL, USA

Patio Jeld-Wen French Door Install

PostedAugust 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Patio Door Installation
I couldn't be happier with the selection, ordering, and installation process. Everyone made this project come together just as I had hoped. The traditional door companies were not only unable to provide the type of door and screen I wanted, they were a minimum of 2x the price. I had a 5 foot wide opening. I wanted french doors to swing in opening entirely with screens on both sides, creating a 5'x7' opening completely screened. Home Depot and Jeld-wen were the only ones I could find without ordering a custom door at a minimum of 2x the price.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Interior Door Installation
from Aberdeen, WA, USA

Install still incomplete

PostedJuly 1, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Customer service 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Storm Door Installation
We love the doors. The installation process has been less than successful. Ordered the doors on 5 May 2015. Received the doors on 10 June 15 and Installation started that date and to date (01 July 15) is not complete. First Installer put doors on incorrectly requiring a return visit to correct. (pic) Next a particular screw was needed, Installer had to order. 20 June we had not heard from Installer so we called Home Depot. Mill Works desk said they would call Installer to find out status, and then called us back to tell us if we had not heard from installer by 27 June to call him back. 27 June 15 we had not heard from Installer so we call Mill Works desk. He said he would call installer. He called us back to say he was unable to reach installer due to his voicemail box being full. He suggested we call management. We did, spoke to Assistant manager of local store, she said she would call Installer and if we don't hear from him we should call her back.
Installer called on 28 June 15, he would come the next day to finish. 29 June Installer came but discovered he needed a special tool, screw extractor, left to get that tool. He called that same day saying he could not find that tool in all of Washington State so he ordered that tool; anticipated date to complete job 8-14 July 2015.
In addition to the above situation the installer split the door frame with each screw he installed. (pics)
Not your best work Home Depot!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Interior Door Installation
from Menlo Park, CA

Horrible process from start to finish. Took 5 months to install 4 doors.

PostedFebruary 28, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Exterior Door Installation
If I could give negative ratings, I would. We were assured a turn key solution and it was anything but. We ordered the doors in October and the project wasn't completed until February. First, it took MONTHS for the doors to arrive...perhaps because the sales associate didn't know what she was doing. Materials for the install were in the garage for weeks but the doors were MIA. On delivery day, only two were delivered when all 4 should have been. Talked to several HD associates who all had different stories. Scheduled install and it was only to be a one day job. However, took 2 days to install the first 2 doors and then another 2 days to install the second two over the span of 6 weeks. I missed a total of 5 days of work to wait on this process. Then, with the last two doors, the job was just sloppy....caulk all over the house paint, not even an attempt to be neat or careful. Installer used a broken piece of moulding (had lots of other pieces to choose from) and then apparently just smeared some caulk over the broken piece to hold it together. Meanwhile, HD kept insisting that they owed us refunds (while we told them they didn't) only to turn around and demand payment and refuse to finish the job until we had repaid the refunds. We have had zero response to complaints from HD and will certainly never recommend them to anyone. In store associates were absolutely not sympathetic or apologetic and basically had the attitude that we needed to deal with it or walk away. I was even told I should be grateful that I didn't have to pay the delivery fee on the two doors that HD neglected to deliver initially. Negative reviews will be going up on social media shortly.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareMarch 2, 2015
Stacey, we are extremely sorry to hear of the workmanship with your installation. We will be sure to reach out to you to discuss your concerns and hope to be able to make things right for you. Thanks for sharing your experience.
Review 16 for Interior Door Installation
from San Francisco, CA, USA

Good materials and ordering process, horrible install process

PostedApril 18, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Interior Door Installation
The folks in the store were good to work with and had no problem with the ordering/delivery process. The installation however was a mess. The installer was late, didn't have the proper tools, and at first did not want to haul away the old item even though it was paid for. After the install of the door the track attached to the ceiling detached and the screws fell out of the ceiling. This was because the installer failed to secure it to a stud, they simply attached it to the sheetrock which held for only a few days. I went to home depot and asked if it could be fixed, the installer made an appointment about 2 weeks later and then was a no show. After several attempts the installer finally called back several days later to reschedule and again was a no show. After 1 week finally rescheduled to May 1 for them to come out and fix the job. Hopefully they show up this time. I would recommend Home Depot find different installers because you have lost a customer that will never use your services again.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Interior Door Installation
from San Diego, CA, USA

Good website for following progress. Disappointed in final result.

PostedAugust 12, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This review is from:Storm Door Installation
The door itself is nice and the customer service has been very responsive. However, I contacted them regarding 1/4" gaps on either side of the door, and was told nothing could be done about it. An actual person was not sent out to evaluate it. I find it hard to believe nothing can be done about it since my neighbor's door is the exact same and does not have the same gaps that mine does.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Interior Door Installation
from Las Vegas, NV, USA

Excellence Overall

PostedAugust 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Storm Door Installation
Install date was much later than predicted and touch up paint arrived a month later - minor irritants. The overall installation, appearance, quality, and function are superb.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Interior Door Installation
from Burnsville, MN, USA

smooth installation.

PostedAugust 12, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Storm Door Installation
The only problem was Homedepot did not have my patio screen door was not included when the installation company pick it up. I had to wait another 3 weeks before it was installed. 2 crew was professional and there was no mess left behind aftetwards. Im very pleased with their work.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Interior Door Installation
from Mccordsville Indiana

Install was smooth and friendly. Salesman got the order wrong.

PostedAugust 5, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Patio Door Installation
1st the HD Sales rep disagreed with the measurements that the HD professional provided and ordered the wrong size door. The installers had to leave and pick up more materials to frame it in. I was told that I would be charged for the additional materials. The threshold was supposed to be brushed silver and I got brass. I pointed out that there was a gap in the reveal and was told they weren't sent with a needed piece and that they would contact me to schedule a revisit to install the needed part. I was told that I would be credited the cost of measuring for the door if I made a purchase. The cost was never applied to my purchase or credited back to my card. The only follow up I received was from the installation company who said that the issues would be addressed and resolved. Never heard back from anyone. I get the impression that once you got my payment that was all that mattered.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 196 >>