728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Services or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Carpet Installation

Carpet Installation

Overall rating:
4.497 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(7762 reviews) 7762
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product6,811 of 7,619reviews
Rating Breakdown 7,762 reviews
4.5 out of 5
5
(5,675)
4
(1,115)
3
(409)
2
(279)
1
(284)
89%of customersrecommend this product6,811 of 7,619reviews
Customer reviews for Carpet Installation
Review 1 for Carpet Installation
from Fallbrook, CA 92028, USA

Over measure, bad installation

PostedJanuary 7, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We have a coupe of issues: 1) they came and measured the carpet...when they were done with the installation, they had about 350 square feel left...about $450-$500 of unused carpet (so I over paid)
2) The carpet installer nicked and scraped our baseboard and literally every single stair...when I mentioned it, they stated "it was part of the installation process"...really? Damaging our stairwell is part of the installation process? Love the carpet, hate the overage and installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Carpet Installation

Nice looking product, hurried installation.

PostedNovember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product looks nice. Installers did a fair job installing- however, they attempted to leave all the trash/ carpet scrap for me to dispose of! They said Home Depot discourages them from brining trash back. I made them take it with them. There was mess everywhere from cleaning up the cut carpet fibers that I cleaned up. They attempted to leave without installing a transition strip between my bathroom tile and new carpet. There was a metal one there before. I didn't let them leave until they installed one, and I see that all the nails in it are loose now... There were a couple spots where carpet was cut short of the baseboard and I filled them in with scrap... I had a living room, family room, stairway, upstairs hallway, laundry room and 2 closets carpeted- Icertainly paid enough to expect a complete installation. Did I get a hurried installation? Yes.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Carpet Installation
from Russell, KS 67665, USA

Got carpet quicker than expected and customer service was great to work with

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The entire project went well from start to finish. In-store customer service worked with me to get the project started, called to arrange meeting times, and worked to get my carpet installed quickly. The carpet mesaurement specialist had my same unique name (never met anyone before who had my name) AND the installer just happened to be the dad of a classmate which gave the transaction a "hometown" feel. One other individual who say the carpet installation was so impressed with the quailty, price, and installation they want to carpet their house now.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Carpet Installation
from West Bend, WI

Satisfactory

PostedOctober 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Customer service 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The installation went okay after the crew finally arrived. We were told they would be here in the morning between 9-11 and they didn't arrive until 2. We were not notified that they would be late. My husband took off work to be here for this installation. Since the installation I have noticed a few areas where the carpet is coming loose. Staples were left protruding through the carpet and were sharp! Also there is a spot in the living room floor that feels spongy which was not there prior to the install. Overall it was a satisfactory job but not great!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Carpet Installation
from Sioux City, IA, USA

Couldn't have asked for more!

PostedJanuary 15, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
From the minute we walked into our Sioux City (IA) Home Depot to pick out the carpet until the installers were wrapping up the vacuum cleaner they used after the install; everything was friendly, professional, quick and went seamlessly! Showroom staff very knowledgeable, the measurer was quick and high tech, the scheduler was so nice and even called when she had an earlier slot come open, and then there's the installers. Guys, they tell me I'm not supposed to mention names so I'll use first initials: C, M, and T; you guys were the real heroes in my book...professional, clean, friendly, experienced and fast. These guys knew what they were doing and didn't leave a scrap of dirt behind. Carpet went down on Dec 22nd, just in time to decorate for Christmas. All in all, I cannot say enough good things about the new carpet experience. One of those purchases we will never regret. Thanx!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Carpet Installation
from Leesburg, VA, USA

Rough Start but great Finish

PostedNovember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Customer service 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The measure was a challenge...getting it done correctly for a very simple room..with no obstructions. The measure tried to add about 3 sq yrds to the measure to " make it fit". After a few conversations and a week of delays, we finally got it corrected. Just just check the measure, do not blindly trust what you do not see.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Carpet Installation
from Southfield, MI, USA

Nice work

PostedJanuary 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I set up an appointment for measurements online. I went in store to choose the flooring materials. Gave all the info to the estimate person that called. In just a few minutes he gave me an estimate. I was able to pay over the phone. I got a call once the materials came in and set up a delivery date for some stuff and the installer brought some. I had to make a lot of calls myself to keep track of the materials I paid for an who was delivering them.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Carpet Installation
from West Milford, NJ, USA

No problems at all!

PostedJanuary 8, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The prices were good compared to other companies, understanding that the quality may have been a little lower as well. The installation, however, was outstanding. I was constantly updated along the way by Home Depot and the installation company. The installation went smoothly, quickly and I was very happy with the final result.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Carpet Installation
from Phoenix, AZ, USA

Poor tile carpet installation and damage done to home's base molding and adjacent ceramic tile

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The installers arrived at 12:30pm to install 4 rooms of carpet the day of my installation, December 23, 2014. Needless to say, they rushed and rushed to finish the job and caused damage to the home, while cutting corners and leaving an overall terrible, unacceptable, sloppy job. I paid good money for the installation part of the deal, which regular carpeting comes with free installation. The installers told me they never laid tile carpeting in a home and were unsure how to go about doing the job. Plus, I paid for them to rip up the old carpeting, which they damaged my baseboards in the process, and I paid for them to move furniture, which they scratched, as well. Overall, a terrible, sloppy job from Home Depot, which I thought was the standard in carpet installation and customer satisfaction. Very disappointed and really unsure how to go about resolving because I really lack confidence in the installers, and they can only compensate me for the damage to my base moldings and adjacent ceramic tile (because they don't do base molding or tile). I think they should just compensate me for the whole job and I will rip up this carpet once the summer months arrive and the carpet is coming up from the seams and from on the ground.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareJanuary 21, 2015
Hi Jeanie,

We are so sorry about the quality of your carpet installation. We will be sure to contact you so that we can make this right for you. Thank you for your post.
Review 10 for Carpet Installation
from Newburgh, NY, USA

Great Job with no time wasted

PostedJanuary 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Installers were friendly, professional, and on time. Job was completed very efficiently with all tucks and seams done excellently. Carpet was pulled tight and is soft under foot. Thanks Home Depot
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Carpet Installation
from Lawrence, KS, USA

some lumps and seams that are unsightly

PostedJanuary 7, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Our carpet install was okay. there are some lumps and seams that are unsightly and I was told the seams would not be as many as there are. Poor to average review on install.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Carpet Installation
from Camden, NJ, USA

Very easy to schedule & effiecient

PostedJanuary 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was very pleased with the ease of scheduling & frequent updates on the project. Very nice installers, clean, looks great! A new multipurpose room!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Carpet Installation

Love the carpet, not happy with the change of layout

PostedJanuary 8, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
The installations guys were great, friendly, clean, prompt and timely. The carpet is great, fluffy, thick and comfortable.
When it was measured, we were told that there would be one seam with a 12' wide strip flowing through two rooms and only one seam in the wider room.
The carpet was pre-cut somewhere else and was cut so there were 4 seams. We were told that we had accepted that when we didn't respond to the confirmation email. We assumed what we had been told by the store when we paid and by the measuring guy would happen, didn't need to open yet another HD email. We were told we'd be given a small refund, but that has not be credited to our account yet.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Carpet Installation
from Germantown, WI

Installation was great but..

PostedNovember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The men who installed the carpet were both amazing, kind, and professional. It seemed as if one of them were newer and receiving training which was great, the man who was training the newer installer was patient and professional and it was clear both were very focused and driven to do the best job possible. I would highly recommend this install team, however purchasing and doing business with Home Depot is another story. I have submitted a concern in October and never received any follow up or concern from the store/retail end of it and because of that I am not satisfied with the experience-the installers have nothing to do with that aspect but again as a whole, the odds of purchasing again have been minimized. Highly recommend the install team that we had in our home that day. Thank you.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Carpet Installation
from Plymouth Township, MI, USA

pleased with install

PostedDecember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
carpet install went well for our 1500 sq ft basement project. padding install had a few non square and pieced triangular patches even though room is square, but can't be seen once carpet in place. very pleased with the outcome
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Carpet Installation
from Pembine, WI 54151, USA

install went great

PostedNovember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The carpet has given the cabin a whole new look. The install was excellent. New paint, new wood floor, looks great.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Carpet Installation
from California, USA

very professional from start to finish

PostedDecember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
we love the carpet. We couldn't be happier. Home Depot exceeded our expectations. Visitors to our home are amazed at the quality and install of the carpets.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Carpet Installation
from Junction City, KS, USA

Poor clean up, more worried about going home than my service

PostedOctober 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The installers asked to use my shop vac for clean up. The clean up itself was absolutely horrible. I spent an additional 45 minutes after they left cleaning up little pieces of carpet in my house and driveway. The scuffed the paint on 5 different walls putting the carpet in. One installer passed gas in my house (loudly), stuck the entire first floor up, and then laughed about it. They recommended using a transition strip on the stairs to the tile. The strip they used was cheap, dented, and left the tile edges exposed. It looks like trash! Needless to say I am very angry. Now I have to spend more of my time, money, and gas going to get a new proper transition piece THAT WORKS and put it in. I paid for a mid grade product and got a rental installation. I will NEVER use Home Depot again for this service. I am seriously considering closing my credit credit card and going to your competitor. I haven't been to Home Depot since.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareOctober 7, 2014
Craig, we apologize for the workmanship with your flooring. We will be sure to contact you to address any concerns that you have and help to get things cleared up for you. Thanks so much for your feedback.
Review 19 for Carpet Installation

Total ineptitude and nonexistent service

PostedDecember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
There was no communication and service was nonexistent. It was a nightmare experience and I would never recommend your company for carpet installation
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Carpet Installation
from Topaz, CA 96133, USA

Professional installer

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The installers were young and the lead installer was very professional and throughout the installation process. The lead installer was teaching a new installer of the process. During the installation the lead installer took his time to ensure the installation was completed with no issues or concerns. Paid specific detail to carpet seams.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 389 >>