728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Services or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Carpet Installation

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

Carpet Installation

Overall rating:
4.491 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(8444 reviews) 8444
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product7,388 of 8,281reviews
Rating Breakdown 8,444 reviews
4.5 out of 5
5
(6,166)
4
(1,206)
3
(444)
2
(312)
1
(316)
89%of customersrecommend this product7,388 of 8,281reviews
Customer reviews for Carpet Installation
Review 1 for Carpet Installation
from Ashford, CT, USA

Very Bad Experience

PostedApril 30, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We were excited to get our new carpet in, but quickly became dissapointed. Our install window was from 12 - 3:30 pm. they showed up at 5 pm, and we didn't even get a phone call. We had to leave the house at 6 pm. They went right to work to complete install, and finished around 6:45, which made us late for our appointment (but I called to inform them we were running late). A phone call to be courteous. As they rushed, they damaged a hallway wall (big hole in wall).
also during install, they were walking in and out of the house, and then walking on the new carpet with dirty shoes. Don't get me wrong the quality of carpet is great, it's just the installation was terrible.I called Home Depot to discuss but have been blown off several times. I purchased several thousands of dollars of custom kitchen cabinets and now am thinking I should return if this is how the install goes.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareMay 7, 2015
Hi Jasun, thanks for your feedback. We will be sure to follow up with you to address your concerns with your recent carpet installation. We appreciate your continued patience.
Review 2 for Carpet Installation

Installation went well. However....

PostedMay 20, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Everything was as expected except for the following:
- Installers were late
- Installers did not communicate before arriving
- Installers did not have ID
- Installers did not have uniforms
- Installers did not have a marked vehicle
- Installation company could not reach the installer. The representative was excellent. She kept me on the line with her while she worked to contact the installers.
- Home Depot Customer Service could not reach the installer
- HDCS Rep could have done more when I called to follow up about appointment. I had to call flooring company myself.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Carpet Installation
from West Palm Beach, FL, USA

Great Job!

PostedApril 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have to say this process has been not only painless but fast with amazing results. I am happy in the end I decided to go with Home Depot. I instantly was made aware of the attentive customer service and in the end I have not one complaint.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Carpet Installation
from Delaware, USA

Great carpet install.

PostedApril 29, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This was the second time we have had HD do our carpet install first time 7 years ago so we were hoping the experience would be the same. We had stairs and hallway done with some tricky turns going up the stairs. The install guy was great he never missed a beat the whole time he was here. The install company kept us informed and even called within maybe 10 minutes of the installer arrival time to make sure he was there and let us know if there were any questions to let them know. Everything went smooth and we love the carpet. Highly recommend, we have two more rooms we would like to have done in the fall.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Carpet Installation
from Florida, USA

After installation was unable to get a return call

PostedMay 10, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Called the installer. They said they would follow up and call me back. Never happened. Called Home Depot, they said they would follow up. Never Happened. The left my closet doors off. Doors needed slight trimming at the bottom. Installations are guaranteed but you will not get any service, not even to speak with anyone responsible. For me being out of state and ordering over the phone this was not good service.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Carpet Installation

Not a quality job; Disregard for customer.

PostedApril 29, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I would NEVER junk up a person's house and think it is OK like these guys did.
Poor trim work I made them address that day. (pictures included#
Found loose trim after the install. Still not secured. #pictures included#
Pile of sawdust left out on my Patio. #picture included#
They cut wood in my garage w/o regard to the mess that was left behind -- I didn't catch it since they were cutting in two places. There is a layer of dust in it that I'll need to pay to get cleaned up. #cannot take pictures of this)
No cleanup -- Piles of sawdust and scraps left behind.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareMay 7, 2015
James, we will be sure to reach out to you regarding the workmanship of your installation and address any concerns that you may have. We appreciate your continued patience while we look into this for you.
Review 7 for Carpet Installation
from Houston, TX, USA

Great installation job!

PostedMay 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Our order was on back order for 3 weeks which no one told us about until I called to see what was taking so long. the carpet is great. The installers didn't come until 3pm and didn't finish until 11 pm, way to late to be still working.
The installers did a great job though. We love the carpeting.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Carpet Installation
from Willow Spring, Middle Creek, NC 27592, USA

Excellent

PostedMarch 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The installer was very professional and thorough. He took his time and made sure the project was done right the first time. Excellent!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Carpet Installation
from ROCK ISLAND, IL

Like the carpet but had issues with the install

PostedApril 29, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Customer service 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We had a couple of issues with the install due to the way the carpet was trimmed. The installer did address a couple of the issues but I still thought some of the trimming should have been better. The last issue however was at a doorway where the carpet met the vinyl floor. It wasn't done like the other 2 doorways. It was cut off too short and there was a gap which we thought should have had a metal strip put in. He told us that nobody used metal strips anymore. Even after we told him the contract said metal strips were included he didn't even try to address the issue. At the other 2 doorways they left enough carpet to fold over and tack down which looks better. I don't know why they didn't do the same thing for the 3rd doorway.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Carpet Installation
from Louisville, KY, USA

Good carpet, Repainted ALL trim

PostedApril 29, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Home Depot did a fine job installing carpet where there was none in a previous rental, so I contracted with them again to REPLACE carpet in another. I managed to get all the baseboard trim pained a few days prior to installation but no one mentioned to me they would destroy the paint job I had just completed. I had to repaint all the baseboard trim where they had beat it to dog meat.
They completed the work on the day scheduled. Someone along the line did not communicate the notes on the file regarding the lockbox on the door, so it was good that installers (Romanoff Carpet...) was able to get me on the phone when they arrived.
The carpet was good cheap stuff for a rental and I feel is exactly what I paid for so I'm satisfied on that piece of the process. The rest of the installation was fine, nothing terrible, nothing to write home about.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Carpet Installation
from rochester NY

Was a total nightmare from start to finish

PostedMarch 6, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The people they contract out with were my biggest issue. They were unfriendly (well one of them anyway) didn't apparently want to do the job because it was a tough job, outright told me that the jobs they do are on new builds or new floors. Found excuse after excuse not to do the job. Caused me to pay money i shouldn't have, job never done, lost time from work, frustration, aggravation and a total mess of my home. I will NEVER deal with home depot again and am closing my account there. I have since gone to Lowe's and non of the problems home depot gave me exist with Lowe's. I am still dealing with corporate to get some of my money back I am being charged for NO work being done. Is a short version of my story because it's a long one.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareMarch 11, 2015
Paige, we are extremely sorry for the troubles with your installation, and having to work with the installers. We will be sure to reach out to address your financial concerns and see how we can help to resolve that for you. Thanks for your continued patience.
Review 12 for Carpet Installation
from North Kingstown, RI, USA

Carpet installation

PostedMay 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very professional installers, quality of carpet is great. I will do future floor installations with Home Depot. Very satisfied customer
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Carpet Installation
from Largo, FL

Great

PostedMay 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy, Fast, and Great Outcome. I don't know what else to say. It was great.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Carpet Installation

Installation went great. The installers were really nice and I will definitely recommend to my friends.

PostedMay 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Our experience was a great one. We enjoyed our installers and they were really nice and helpful.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Carpet Installation
from Biloxi, MS

Great installation - very pleased with the results.

PostedApril 29, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The contracting company was great in working around our schedule for installation and communicated very well. The installer came in and completed the job in a single day and the finished product looked great meeting all our expectations. Thank you.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Carpet Installation

unnecessary seams in installation of carpet, enough carpet to install seamless, did not replace removed base boards,one small hole in wall

PostedApril 29, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Customer service 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
unnecessary seams in installation of carpet, enough carpet sent to install seamless, did not replace the removed base boards, one small hole in wall, installers were friendly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Carpet Installation
from Ann Arbor, MI, USA

Beautiful carpet careless installation.

PostedApril 1, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Carpet came in ahead of schedule and HomeDepot moved up our new carpet installation. One person took a roll of carpet and proceded down the stairs backward scraping the end of the carpet along the walls. The newly painted walls were damaged with scratches and gouges. The installation continued with problems. We have scratches and gouges up to 5 feet high on a wall. We chose to have the carpet installed up to a kitchenette with cabinets. The installers scratched the front of every cabinet. The exterior corners of the cabinet were damaged the kick board has a 4 foot long slice in it. All of the cabinet handles were scratched.
The installers were not done yet. They moved into a bedroom where one of the installers was unfortunately injured. The injury caused the person to spread blood throughout the room. After it was pointed out, they did clean up most of the blood.
Unfortunately the blood was not the last issue we had to deal with. While the installers were installing the carpet, they took 2" chunks of wood out of the newly installed trim boards. There are 4 different locations where these slices occurred.
HomeDepot has been out to take pictures of the damage and has offered to provide us with new cabinet doors. This does not fix the frame of the cabinets which they suggested we take a pen and fill them in. HomeDepot also said they would not fix the paint. Because it is just paint. The trim along the floor are still open. Our carpenters have said that this is going to be pricey to fix the damage.
In my estimation, HomeDepot should replace the cabinets fix the paint and replace the trim boards that were damaged into a state that would put our new space into the same condition that it was before they installed the carpeting at their expense not our inconvience.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareApril 10, 2015
Brent, we apologize about the damage and will be happy to look further into this to see how we can work to resolve this for you. Thanks for your feedback and continued patience.
Review 18 for Carpet Installation
from clark, nj

Comfortable Basement NOW!

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Thanks to Home Depot we now have a basement that is no longer a waste of space. The carpet looks and feels great.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Carpet Installation
from Kingman, AZ, USA

Entire process with home depot was bad

PostedMarch 18, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The two men that did the actual installation were great. The process of selecting the carpet, buying, waiting for it to be installed was horrble to due to customer service of home depot. I would not recommend home depot to anyone.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Carpet Installation
from Juneau, AK, USA

you just couldn't get it right!

PostedApril 1, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This install was supposed to be done before thanksgiving. It wasn't complete until March. One bedroom had square designs in the carpet and was skewed at the door threshold, the installer tried to blame it on the doorway not being square! They did not order enough carpet for the living room, ordered incorrect carpet the second time, finally got it right on the third try... no I am not happy with the installation.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 423 >>