728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Services or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Garbage Disposal

Garbage Disposal

Overall rating:
4.578 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(232 reviews) 232
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product214 of 230reviews
Rating Breakdown 232 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(173)
4
(40)
3
(7)
2
(4)
1
(8)
93%of customersrecommend this product214 of 230reviews
Customer reviews for Garbage Disposal
Review 1 for Garbage Disposal

Great job by the Installation Team. Abysmal failure by Home Depot

PostedOctober 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Short summary: Plumbers were very efficient and proactive. Installation was timely and professional.
Home Depot failed at every phase of this project. Original order had been placed incorrectly. I was repeatedly told incorrect information. Product was delivered broken - twice (once discovered while in transit, once during installation). Stated due dates were routinely missed.
The positive score above for 'Customer Service' is intended for Liz at corporate. Everyone I interacted with at the local store warranted a zero.
I have no problem with the quality of the product or the installation, but the overall experience with Home Depot was disappointing.
-----------------
10 August - Visited store to purchase two toilets and coordinate installation. Was told that the toilets were 'in stock' in the local warehouse and arranged to have them delivered to my residence. I was also told to call the store once they arrived to schedule the Plumbers.
12 August - Plumbers called to schedule an appointment. Toilets had not yet been delivered, but installation was scheduled for 4 September (3 weeks out - plenty of time for them to arrive from the local warehouse, right?)
13 August - Called Home Depot to determine status of order. Was told that they were scheduled for delivery on SUNDAY, 17 August. The Sunday delivery was questioned and I was told that Home Depot would contact me to verify delivery date.
16 August - Called Home Depot to determine status of order. I was now told that the toilets were being delivered to the STORE on 18 August and that I would need to collect them.
16 August - Home Depot called me back to correct their previous statement. Now, they were to be delivered to my residence on 25 August.
25 August - Took the day off work to receive delivery. No delivery or phone call explaining why there was no delivery.
26 August - Called Home Depot to determine status of order. Current story is that only one toilet had been ordered and was being shipped from somewhere other than local warehouse. Status of second toilet was an absolute mystery.
26 August - Called Home Depot to speak with Manager on Duty in order to cancel the order and obtain refund. Was informed they could not cancel order because I would need to physically return the toilets (which I haven't received) in order to get my money back.
Duty Manager stated that they would follow-up with delivery company at 8:00am next morning to verify status.
27 August - Called Home Depot corporate service department requesting to cancel order and receive refund.
Corporate negotiated with the store and they finally began getting organized. I was refunded the installation fees and two new toilets were being ordered and shipped to the store. Staff from the store were to personally deliver them to my residence.
Between 27 August and 24 September - One toilet was broken in shipping. Replacement ordered and shipped to store. Eventually, two new toilets WERE delivered to my residence and left in the original packaging awaiting installation.
24 September - Installation Day! (also another day I had to take off work) Old toilet was removed and the first toilet was taken from the box - broken. Second toilet was then installed to replace the one that had been removed and a new one had to be ordered.
29 September - Another day off work to accommodate this project. By mid-day, the Plumbers called to inform me that the replacement toilet (for the broken one) had NOT been received and they would not be coming today.
6 October - Replacement toilet finally arrived with the Plumbers and was installed without issue.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareNovember 3, 2014
We apologize for any troubles with your install. We appreciate your feedback and are glad to hear that the replacement was installed without issue.
Review 2 for Garbage Disposal
from Westerville, OH, USA

Process was very simple and easy for my schedule

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Reasonable pricing for the installation. And loved that I could meet the installer without staying home all day. Painless experience overall.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Garbage Disposal
from Minneapolis

Good service

PostedMarch 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It took a few steps to get the order and installation linked but once we did they arrived as scheduled and did a good job with the install. A smoother link with online special orders and install would be helpful - it probably would be best to do it all at the store.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Garbage Disposal
from Piqua, OH

Everything went smoothly and we love the sink.

PostedJune 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great help at the store when we purchased the sink and accessories. Knowledgable person recommended the best products to go with the sink and set up the financing to our benefit.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Garbage Disposal
from River Falls, WI

Easy purchase and very good installation

PostedJune 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We found the toilets we were looking for the the person installed the two units did a wonderful job.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Garbage Disposal
from Columbus, OH, USA

Quick installation and excellent technician

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
A second call to Home Depot customer service was needed to confirm the installation time with contractor. Somewhere at the point of sale, communication was dropped to the contractor for an installation date. Once that communication was made, I received prompt service for the installation of my sink and fixtures. I am very pleased with the service and installation and would certainly used this service again. Yes, I would recommend my friends to use Home Depot for all their service needs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Garbage Disposal
from Grove City, OH, USA

Smooth installation and all is well.

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The installer showed up on time. He completed the installation of my disposal and everything works fine. He was respectful to both me and my property. Excellent job.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Garbage Disposal
from Prescott, AZ, USA

Very good workmanship on the installation.

PostedAugust 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is an excellent AS luxury toilet. We are happy with it. (Note that this web page says garbage disposal at the top, but our product installed was an AS toilet.)
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Garbage Disposal

Better "heads up" on actual installation time would be helpful.

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
All was very good except for two things:
Installation scheduler didn't let us know that the installers were delayed. We would have liked to know how that would affect their planned arrival time.
The inspector said that a permit was not required for this job. As a result, the project cost over $70 more than was necessary.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Garbage Disposal

garbage disposal installation

PostedJune 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
My disposal went out on me on Friday afternoon, and I bought a new one that day which included installation. You weren't able to get it installed until the following Wednesday. That's too long. You need some means of doing things like this over the weekend. Most people would understand that a weekend installation might cost more, but waiting 5 days for something like this is unacceptable.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Garbage Disposal

Satisfied Service with the Installation

PostedMay 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Took a long time to get the paper work going for setting up the cost & delivery day. Person on floor in the Toilet Dept. did not know how to do & the person helping him did not know about the discounts & promotions. Finally a 3rd person knew all the answers. Your service desk help has much to be desired.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Garbage Disposal
from Burnsville, MN, USA

Superior from order entry thru installation

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Could not be more pleased.Store manager in Burnsville,Mn
handled order entry with ease and professionalism.
Installer was extremely compotent. No nonsense and
thorough. We are pleased and satisfied with the total
process. HD has done a good job in choosing their
installers. From this point forward anything we buy that
requires installation will be from HD.;
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Garbage Disposal
from Chula Vista, CA, USA

Garbage Disposal

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Garbage disposal was to be installed on opposite side of sink and the contractor was supposed to give an updated cost which I would pay out of pocket. The installer would not do the work as instructed and proceeded to do the overpriced standard install. I wanted it moved to the other side of the sink and the installer would not do it. I figured Home depot would charge me either way since the guy already showed up on site. Not happy and not what I asked for. I could have done the standard install on the same side myself.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy SherondaCustomer CareNovember 16, 2012
I’ll be happy to take a look into this for you. I apologize that the disposal wasn’t moved per your request. We will be contacting you immediately to discuss. If you have questions in the meantime, please contact me at Teamsocial@homedepot.com. Thank you.

Sheronda
The Home Depot
Review 14 for Garbage Disposal

It stinks

PostedDecember 19, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Your in store support is terrible. Installer was great. I will never use your install services again as the Home Depot people are not very well trained,,have limited product knowledge, and do not understand what you are selling and the timelines. I even went to 2 Home Depots and was amazed how bad each store was. Product is fine and installer was great but you sales process is terrible.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy SherondaCustomer CareJanuary 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I apologize for the problems you had with the sales process and our associate’s product knowledge. I will make sure that our store leadership team receives your feedback so that it can be used as a training opportunity. If you have additional comments, feel free to contact us. Thank you!

Sheronda
The Home Depot
Teamsocial@homedepot.com
Review 15 for Garbage Disposal
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA

Outstanding both at the store experience and with the installation. Very professional and timely

PostedJune 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Store personnel were extremely knowledgeable and helpful in selecting the appropriate product and in coordinating the installation process. Installation technician was on time, very professional, friendly and thorough in his work. Professionally installed, attended to clean up and was a fine representative of the company. Thank you
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Garbage Disposal
from Edina, MN, USA

good installation, very poor store policies

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very good installers. However, very poor policy to require customer to get toilet home himself, making it impossible for installers to check for quality and/or damage to merchandise before it is time to install. In my case a toilet tank top was broken and it took at least 3 trips by me back to the store to rectify problem. It still has not been replaced appropriately, but there is yet another top at the store for me to pick up. Home depot policies have cost me, the customer, a great deal of extra time rectifying this situation.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Garbage Disposal
from Cedarville, OH 45314, USA

We thought the sale went well, but your installation was unacceptable.

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Your installer came to look at the project, and said that he would prefer that we have our local plumber install the water softener. Your installer said it would be very difficult to install due to state requirements. He said if he put it in, he would recommend just letting the water run on the ground under the house from the softener. Of course, we would absolutely not allow him to go that route.
The man we hired to install your softener said it was not that difficult. He did crawl under the house so he could install the softener correctly. Your installer did NOT want to crawl in the dirt.
Actually, we believe we should have our $75 refunded that was charged us for your installer to look at the project.
The Water Boss is now installed very neatly, and the water runs directly into the drain. . . not on the ground.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Garbage Disposal

Well done

PostedJune 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Installer was on time and finished the job of installing a new disposal in a half hour.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Garbage Disposal

Wonderful Installation

PostedMay 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
The installers were neat, fast and on time. Very nice young men.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Garbage Disposal
from Arizona

install

PostedApril 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Plumber was very prompt and professional would definately use this service again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 12 >>