Home Depot customer service gave outdated phone number to contractor even though I gave Sales Associate new number to have them call for appointment. It added on 3 days for installation and required me to call and correct the problem.
1out of1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Garbage Disposal
Great job by the Installation Team. Abysmal failure by Home Depot
Short summary: Plumbers were very efficient and proactive. Installation was timely and professional.
Home Depot failed at every phase of this project. Original order had been placed incorrectly. I was repeatedly told incorrect information. Product was delivered broken - twice (once discovered while in transit, once during installation). Stated due dates were routinely missed.
The positive score above for 'Customer Service' is intended for Liz at corporate. Everyone I interacted with at the local store warranted a zero.
I have no problem with the quality of the product or the installation, but the overall experience with Home Depot was disappointing.
----------------- 10 August - Visited store to purchase two toilets and coordinate installation. Was told that the toilets were 'in stock' in the local warehouse and arranged to have them delivered to my residence. I was also told to call the store once they arrived to schedule the Plumbers.
12 August - Plumbers called to schedule an appointment. Toilets had not yet been delivered, but installation was scheduled for 4 September (3 weeks out - plenty of time for them to arrive from the local warehouse, right?)
13 August - Called Home Depot to determine status of order. Was told that they were scheduled for delivery on SUNDAY, 17 August. The Sunday delivery was questioned and I was told that Home Depot would contact me to verify delivery date.
16 August - Called Home Depot to determine status of order. I was now told that the toilets were being delivered to the STORE on 18 August and that I would need to collect them.
16 August - Home Depot called me back to correct their previous statement. Now, they were to be delivered to my residence on 25 August.
25 August - Took the day off work to receive delivery. No delivery or phone call explaining why there was no delivery.
26 August - Called Home Depot to determine status of order. Current story is that only one toilet had been ordered and was being shipped from somewhere other than local warehouse. Status of second toilet was an absolute mystery.
26 August - Called Home Depot to speak with Manager on Duty in order to cancel the order and obtain refund. Was informed they could not cancel order because I would need to physically return the toilets (which I haven't received) in order to get my money back.
Duty Manager stated that they would follow-up with delivery company at 8:00am next morning to verify status.
27 August - Called Home Depot corporate service department requesting to cancel order and receive refund.
Corporate negotiated with the store and they finally began getting organized. I was refunded the installation fees and two new toilets were being ordered and shipped to the store. Staff from the store were to personally deliver them to my residence.
Between 27 August and 24 September - One toilet was broken in shipping. Replacement ordered and shipped to store. Eventually, two new toilets WERE delivered to my residence and left in the original packaging awaiting installation.
24 September - Installation Day! (also another day I had to take off work) Old toilet was removed and the first toilet was taken from the box - broken. Second toilet was then installed to replace the one that had been removed and a new one had to be ordered.
29 September - Another day off work to accommodate this project. By mid-day, the Plumbers called to inform me that the replacement toilet (for the broken one) had NOT been received and they would not be coming today.
6 October - Replacement toilet finally arrived with the Plumbers and was installed without issue.
11out of11found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy Robert G, Customer Care, November 3, 2014
We apologize for any troubles with your install. We appreciate your feedback and are glad to hear that the replacement was installed without issue.
Review 4 for Garbage Disposal
Went really well. We had a kitchen faucet installed not a garbage disposal
With the water shut off to our entire kitchen it was important to get a new faucet installed quickly. The Home Depot scheduler got the plumber out to our house quickly and the entire install went smoothly.
It took a few steps to get the order and installation linked but once we did they arrived as scheduled and did a good job with the install. A smoother link with online special orders and install would be helpful - it probably would be best to do it all at the store.
Garbage disposal was to be installed on opposite side of sink and the contractor was supposed to give an updated cost which I would pay out of pocket. The installer would not do the work as instructed and proceeded to do the overpriced standard install. I wanted it moved to the other side of the sink and the installer would not do it. I figured Home depot would charge me either way since the guy already showed up on site. Not happy and not what I asked for. I could have done the standard install on the same side myself.
Response from Home DepotBy Sheronda, Customer Care, November 16, 2012
I’ll be happy to take a look into this for you. I apologize that the disposal wasn’t moved per your request. We will be contacting you immediately to discuss. If you have questions in the meantime, please contact me at Teamsocial@homedepot.com. Thank you.
Your in store support is terrible. Installer was great. I will never use your install services again as the Home Depot people are not very well trained,,have limited product knowledge, and do not understand what you are selling and the timelines. I even went to 2 Home Depots and was amazed how bad each store was. Product is fine and installer was great but you sales process is terrible.
Response from Home DepotBy Sheronda, Customer Care, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I apologize for the problems you had with the sales process and our associate’s product knowledge. I will make sure that our store leadership team receives your feedback so that it can be used as a training opportunity. If you have additional comments, feel free to contact us. Thank you!
All was very good except for two things: Installation scheduler didn't let us know that the installers were delayed. We would have liked to know how that would affect their planned arrival time. The inspector said that a permit was not required for this job. As a result, the project cost over $70 more than was necessary.
A second call to Home Depot customer service was needed to confirm the installation time with contractor. Somewhere at the point of sale, communication was dropped to the contractor for an installation date. Once that communication was made, I received prompt service for the installation of my sink and fixtures. I am very pleased with the service and installation and would certainly used this service again. Yes, I would recommend my friends to use Home Depot for all their service needs.
My disposal went out on me on Friday afternoon, and I bought a new one that day which included installation. You weren't able to get it installed until the following Wednesday. That's too long. You need some means of doing things like this over the weekend. Most people would understand that a weekend installation might cost more, but waiting 5 days for something like this is unacceptable.