728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Services or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Granite Countertop Installation

Granite Countertop Installation

Overall rating:
4.314 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(738 reviews) 738
Open Ratings Snapshot
85%of customersrecommend this product604 of 713reviews
Rating Breakdown 738 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(468)
4
(136)
3
(65)
2
(36)
1
(33)
85%of customersrecommend this product604 of 713reviews
Customer reviews for Granite Countertop Installation
Review 1 for Granite Countertop Installation

A lengthy and exasperating experience

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Three two-hour round trips to the granite provider. Two installations - the first one, the cut pieces were two different colors. Another trip to the fabricator to actually layout the cuts for the second installation. A second installation that left me with a problem for the installation of the back splash. A process that took just short of two months. Little to no help from Home Depot. Not happy.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareAugust 20, 2014
We are sorry to hear of the time it took to complete your project. We appreciate your feedback and would be interested in having your concerns addressed by leadership. We will be sure to reach out in this regard. Thank you for your review.
Review 2 for Granite Countertop Installation
from Johnson City, TN, USA

From ordering to installation, Everything went great!

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love my new granite countertops! I like the color choice and the price. Ginny at Home Depot was fabulous to work with and very knowledgable. The production time was pretty close to their estimate. And the installation went great! They replaced the countertops in our kitchen (including an island) and two bathrooms and finished in 4-5 hours. The product is beautiful and the quality of the installation is impressive...everything was level and smooth and matched up beautifully. The installers were so nice and professional and cleaned up before they left. Yes I would recommend Home Depot for countertop installation...in fact I already have!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Granite Countertop Installation
from Norwalk, CT, USA

Bad experience

PostedJune 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Counter was cut wrong (too short) company offered to replace with different stone but it would have taken a couple of extra weeks to get which would have put or kitchen out of service again. I then contacted the costumer service number for Home Depot to place a complaint and I was ignored, NO ONE contacted me back. It was a terrible experience. They fix the problem by giving me a miserable credit. I will NEVER do business with them after the lock of care for there costumers.
+25points
26out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Granite Countertop Installation
from Marietta, GA

Dealing with Home Depot personnel excellent. Dealing with installation sub is an opportunity for improvement.

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been in commercial construction for over 40 years, so I know a little bit about what am about to say, and it primarily focuses on setting the right expectations up front. This is the second major kitchen upgrade we have done through Home Depot. This one involved new granite countertops and backsplash. There was a disconnect between Home Depot and the installer regarding the pricing of the backsplash. I provided the quantities to Home Depot to prepare the work order and my quantities matched the installers within 1 SF. However, after Home Depot quoted the project, the installer insisted on adding 15% to the SF for waste and $6.00/EA for each electrical box/device cut-out. Home Depot should add these items to their quote to avoid the customer feeling that "why didn't you tell me that to start with?" Again, it's about setting expectations. In addition, there is no saving the existing backsplash substrate so you should tell/condition the customer that they will more than likely be an additional $9.00/SF charge to replace the backsplash substrate. I was expecting a charge, but not the $9.00 that came up after the fact. I would go through Home Depot again, but if anyone asks me about the process I would tell them about the after-the-order is taken upcharges to expect.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Granite Countertop Installation

fixed problem, but was not initially installed properly

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
purchased granite counters from home depot in july 2012,
they were not installed properly and started to sink. by the time we contacted home depot they were out of warranty.
the problem would not have occurred if installed correctly
the first time. had to pay $250 up front to get the installer
to fix problem.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Granite Countertop Installation
from Eagle River, Anchorage, AK 99577, USA

Beautiful end product & nice staff

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Although this process did take 6 weeks from purchase to finish the countertops are lovely, installers all very nice and clean and we are happy. I did have to call locally after the counters shipped to AK from WA to chase them down (they has already arrived but not been unpacked yet) they were swift in scheduling the install after I reached out to them. Very nice experience
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Granite Countertop Installation
from Rabun Gap, GA 30568, USA

Very professional service at every level

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm thrilled with my granite kitchen counter tops and sink. The service was so professional and such excellent workmanship. I would not hesitate to trust Home Depot enough to recommend to family and friends.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Granite Countertop Installation
from OAKHURST

WOW!!! Really love the new counter tops!!!

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My wife and I are very happy with our new granite counter tops we purchased at the first of this year... We went with a smaller deeper hammered copper sink which we are extra happy about because it gives us even more counter space for our other stuff... Thank you so very mych with all the help and support over this instalation as it could not have been a better experience... Rawn and Jae
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Granite Countertop Installation
from Livermore, CA, USA

great crew and excellent results.

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was very pleased with the whole process. I was able to select the exact granite pieces I wanted and in fact changed from my original store selection with no problem. The granite fits perfectly and is the showpiece for my new kitchen. love love love. The crew was quick, polite and very efficient.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Granite Countertop Installation

Irratic and confusing installation process

PostedMay 31, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had to stay on top of the installer for measurements, I had to get home deport management involved because installer didn't make appointments, wouldn't address issues related to his installation and wanted to charge me to fix things that were his fault.
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Granite Countertop Installation

Came out amazing

PostedMay 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The cabinets and counters came out amazing. Jim from Home depot was there anytime i had questions or concerns.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Granite Countertop Installation
from California, USA

Acceptable install but some problems

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product was fantastic. The sales people and customer service was great. The install was ok. If you are there to watch over the install this would be fine, but if you don't want to watch the details I would go elsewhere. The installers did not cover my cabinets so they damaged several parts. Also, I left before they were done and when I got back they had shimmed the entire slab up so it wasn't even sitting on the cabinets. They also shifted the cabinets in the process and created a gap between the cabinets and the floor. My general contractor had to come in and fix it all the next day. Luckily that was possible. Could have been a disaster!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Granite Countertop Installation
from Los Alamos, NM 87544, USA

Absolutely beautiful

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The countertop is so beautiful. Everyone that I interacted was so helpful and professional. I am extremely impressed with the customer service before and after the installation. Many friends are inspired by my project and are planning to upgrade their kitchens.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Granite Countertop Installation
from Reno, NV, USA

Good crew, smooth install

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We are happy with our new counter tops. The guys did a great job
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Granite Countertop Installation
from San Jose, CA, USA

Very happy with granite and overall result.

PostedMay 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had granite countertops with tile backsplack installed. The granite work was excellent, the granite subcontractor did a really good job with the granite. Overall, I think that we saved some money going with Home Depot, but I had to do a lot of work and coordination to complete the project the way it should be done. I was not happy that I was required to pay for additional square feet of the tile backsplash. I needed 55 square feet of tile and was told I have to pay for 67 square feet, after complaining I unhappily agreed to pay for 58. I was told I had to pay for extra tile installation due to breakage and alignment issues. The Home Depot people were very helpful.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Granite Countertop Installation
from Mountain House, CA

Great installation-super crew.

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The two-man crew arrived on time with all materials. Completed the job in a proficient/professional fashion and did a great clean-up afterwards.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Granite Countertop Installation
from Miami, FL, USA

excellent product

PostedOctober 10, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
the first installation crew did not cut the opening for the sink correctly; it was too small therefore the sink installer could not anchor the sink. the first crew also damaged the custom made cabinet. The second crew fixed the sink opening. Then some 4 wks ago the installation rep visited with my cabinet maker. he promised to reimburse $200 towards the fixing of the broken sink hole. Neither I nor HD Customer Support have been able to get the installation company to honor there commitment to date.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareOctober 11, 2013
We apologize for the troubles experienced. I have verified that your check was sent out yesterday, Oct. 10, 2013. We're glad that we were able to assist and make things right for you.
Review 18 for Granite Countertop Installation
from Arden, NC 28704, USA

Service of the contractor

PostedJune 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Customer service 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The service at the Home Depot was excellent and saved me money. However, the contractor's service was only so-so. They did schedule out in advance about 2 1/2 weeks but failed to confirm the day before. Then he called that morning and said they were coming by at 11am when they were scheduled at 1-5pm. I had my son move his schedule to accomdate it.. and they didnt show up till 12:30 or so... They didnt do a good job cleaning up either. I had pile of dust in the corner and the kitchen cabinet was a mess. The fellow that came out to measure was...curt.. at best. Just FYI. The workmanship was good.
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Granite Countertop Installation
from Coventry, RI, USA

Love my countertops, easy process

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The process couldn't have been easier. I let the installation company know when all the cabinets & appliances were installed. They sent a person out to make a template & I had my countertops installed a week & 1/2 later! They were efficient, professional and answered all my questions. Also made sure to ask when they had questions about the size of the backsplash & location of seams, not that you can even see the seams!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Granite Countertop Installation
from Toledo, OH

We had a granite counter installed.

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Everything went great, the installation crew were very professional. Notified us of their ETA, they were great about cleaning up after they were done and explaining everything they did.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 37 >>