728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Services or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Granite Countertop Installation

Granite Countertop Installation

Overall rating:
4.349 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(613 reviews) 613
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product507 of 592reviews
Rating Breakdown 613 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(394)
4
(113)
3
(55)
2
(28)
1
(23)
86%of customersrecommend this product507 of 592reviews
Customer reviews for Granite Countertop Installation
Review 1 for Granite Countertop Installation
Nikkih2
from Carlsbad, CA, USA

Not smooth- a true headache

PostedOctober 9, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Wood Countertop Installation
We went via Home Depot to insure quality contractors & price. The installation process took close to 4 months-
For countertops only!!! I spent may hours on call backs to the contractor myself. When I tried to go through Home Depot to solve- I was advised to call the contractor myself, so WHY was I paying Home Depot??? I still don't know.
No- I will never again do home updates via Home Depot installation nor will I recommend it to any of my peers.
Completely dissatisfied with the service.
+28points
28out of 28found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareOctober 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for any inconveniences caused and will be sure to use your feedback to improve our process.
Review 2 for Granite Countertop Installation
Delmac
from Miami, FL, USA

excellent product

PostedOctober 10, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
the first installation crew did not cut the opening for the sink correctly; it was too small therefore the sink installer could not anchor the sink. the first crew also damaged the custom made cabinet. The second crew fixed the sink opening. Then some 4 wks ago the installation rep visited with my cabinet maker. he promised to reimburse $200 towards the fixing of the broken sink hole. Neither I nor HD Customer Support have been able to get the installation company to honor there commitment to date.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareOctober 11, 2013
We apologize for the troubles experienced. I have verified that your check was sent out yesterday, Oct. 10, 2013. We're glad that we were able to assist and make things right for you.
Review 3 for Granite Countertop Installation
bella2323

Smooth install

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
This review is from:Granite Countertop Installation
During install I noticed holes in stone in some spots on counter top. I asked if that could be taken care of was told it was a simple fix , I have called twice with the same response that some one would call me back to take care of this problem. I have not received that call back since Dec 13 2013
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Granite Countertop Installation
Andrew19
from Indianapolis

Home Depot was unresponsive to follow up calls requests for updates.

PostedSeptember 28, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Granite Countertop Installation
At purchase I was told the countertop would take 4-5 weeks to be installed but took 8. I called Home Depot numerous time(up words of 8 times and 4 visits) and was constantly told "we will look into the situation and call you tomorrow" but I would never receive a call. I ended up feeling like I was doing Home Depot's job in having to contact the fabricator/installer/plumber to schedule. In the 8 weeks it took to have the countertop installed Home Depot did not call me one time to update me on what was going on. I had to constantly call and go to the store to get updates. Overall the installer and plumber did good jobs but was extremely dissatisfied with how Home Depot handled my order.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Granite Countertop Installation
RobRoy
from Renton, WA

Ordered 10/30/13. Installation delayed twice. Backsplash was cut wrong. Counter was installed 12/24/13, backsplash finished 1/5/14.

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This review is from:Laminate Countertop Installation
Final product is satisfactory. Delays and inconveniece from the contractor were extremely frustrating, especially over the holidays.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Granite Countertop Installation
harmonygoat
from Sheridan, OR

Install was good and we like it.

PostedFebruary 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Laminate Countertop Installation
install company asked for a review and I voiced some concern about the estimate, but have not heard back from them, so my concerns are still alive.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Granite Countertop Installation
ABCD1234

Unsatisfied customer

PostedApril 12, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Because my installer did not look at the home depot design plan he had crown moldings left over which meant the work was not up to par with the designer. And wasn't what I paid for. He lied and said I told him I didn't want other pieces added to the cabinet after HE explained they were unecessary. I told him I would think about it and later said, since I paid for the bottom molding please install it. It never happened. He did not cover his nail holes or gapping because he said I didn't have wood filler and he didn't have any in his truck. He aruged with the delivery guys who delivered my appliances because they were trying to explain how they needed a hole drilled in the cabinet to install a vent. He did a sloppy half job on the drywall leaving the tape exposed and a lumpy finish.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy SherondaCustomer CareApril 15, 2013
We will contact you immediately regarding the outstanding issues with your Home Depot granite countertop installation. I apologize for the problems you had with our installer. Home Depot stands behind our installations 100% and we will do what it takes to correct the issues.

Sheronda
The Home Depot
Teamsocial@homedepot.com
Review 8 for Granite Countertop Installation
Flyer227
from California, USA

Acceptable install but some problems

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product was fantastic. The sales people and customer service was great. The install was ok. If you are there to watch over the install this would be fine, but if you don't want to watch the details I would go elsewhere. The installers did not cover my cabinets so they damaged several parts. Also, I left before they were done and when I got back they had shimmed the entire slab up so it wasn't even sitting on the cabinets. They also shifted the cabinets in the process and created a gap between the cabinets and the floor. My general contractor had to come in and fix it all the next day. Luckily that was possible. Could have been a disaster!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Granite Countertop Installation
DRobb
from Indiana, USA

ok

PostedDecember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
lnstaller replaced gas range with gas off...had to get someone to help me move stove the next day to turn gas back on. Also still have questions about if supports needed for countertop. I did not know and was not told this prior to install. As installers left they said...don't forget to get supports......and they told me to find a contractor or do it myself. I did not know this was needed. I would have liked to know this was not part of install......
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Granite Countertop Installation
Jsedona
from Sedona, AZ, USA

Not the happiest with our install

PostedApril 24, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My husband and I recently found out that the dishwasher would not come out after the granite was installed. If they had let us know this then we would have asked them to build the counter tops up a bit so we wouldn't have a problem getting the dishwasher out to get it repaired or replaced. Now we are stuck with having an issue with the dishwasher problem. So we aren't too happy with our install because of this and will have to have it redone eventually all because the installers didn't make us aware of this and give us an option to resolve the issue at the time.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Granite Countertop Installation
Kelly
from Indianapolis, IN, USA

product was good, communications were ridiculous

PostedOctober 2, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Granite Countertop Installation
I had new counter top installed on a kitchen island and desk. The granite company and product were excellent. The Home Depot and electrical crew to re-hook the stove were ridiculously poor. The only reason I gave them two stars for service was the store staff that took the order. She was excellent. The one in charge of follow up never got the price right, never had the paperwork where I could talk to someone if she wasn't in the store, and never actually managed to talk to me directly. The electrician who connected the stovetop afterwards left screw tips protruding 1/2 inch on the outside of the island and a live wire on the inside. He did manage to wrap electrical tape around it when I asked him about it. When I saw the screws protruding after he left, I called Home Depot. It took a week to get someone out, and then it was only the person who "inspects" the problem. He confirmed the wire was still live, snipped the screw tips off, said he'd send an electrician out to fix the wire and putty the holes the screws made. That was several weeks ago. I haven't even had a call.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Granite Countertop Installation
richard
from New York, NY, USA

Workmen were very good, installation coordination had issues

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This review is from:Silestone Project
Wait time after measurement was too long because product was very popular and they had the order for several weeks. During the installation it was noted that a corner was chipped so the installers ordered a new one. I did not receive a call to set up the revisit from the office, but did from the installers when they were on their way. Fortunately, I was able to get away and get to the house to meet them. Final installation looks great.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Granite Countertop Installation
bmig
from nj

bad but joint not smooth faucet hole not right

PostedMarch 3, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
the were nice but they shold of took more time to do a better job seen a lot of counter installs and they were alot better then mine
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy SherondaCustomer CareMarch 4, 2013
We’re sorry to hear about the issues you’ve had with your countertop installation. We appreciate your business and if you have any questions or concerns, please contact us. Thank you.

Sheronda
The Home Depot
Teamsocial@homedepot.com
Review 14 for Granite Countertop Installation
Kristein36
from Palm Beach, FL, USA

Getting to the install was painful

PostedOctober 2, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Corian Countertop Installation
The install and kitchen counters, cabinets & sink were great. The customer service and process leading up to the install as well as simply taking delivery of the materials and getting appointments was nearly impossible. No one would call us for any notifications or updates; we had to call them for everything otherwise we'd still be waiting on our kitchen.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareOctober 3, 2013
So sorry to hear of the lack of follow up. We will share your feedback with the stores leadership so that they are aware and can start to work towards improvement. Thanks for your feedback.
Review 15 for Granite Countertop Installation
Kendra
from Omaha, NE

Difficult install process but pleased with the results

PostedFebruary 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Silestone Project
Our installer's customer service, provided by their office staff and onsite installation employees, was better than average. But we did run into a few problems. Our first issue was that instead of taking 4-6 weeks for the counter to arrive, it took about 8 weeks. I think the problem was due primarily to the fact that the company could not produce enough of the 1" thick counter that we ordered. However, they very graciously upgraded us to an 1 1/4" counter thickness without us asking them for that favor. On the day of installation, the installers noticed that there was a gap of about 3/4" between one of the counter pieces and the wall. I assume it was a mismeasurement. The employee who measured for the counter came January 2nd and drove from Lincoln, so perhaps he just had an off day. He was for the most part friendly and seemed to know how to do his job. When he noted the problem our primary installer did make several phone calls to the home office for us and offered us two options. We could ask the company to replace the counter at their cost, which as we understood it would require an entirely new counter because only replacing one part of the counter risked a mismatch in color, or we could accept a free backsplash. We opted for the free backsplash because we were told that they may be able to find enough of the backsplash material in Lincoln or Omaha. It took another 3 weeks for the backsplash to arrive but we were happy not to have had to wait another 5 weeks (as we did with the counter). The second installation team was a bit younger than the first installation team. Both young men were very friendly, but we noticed after they installed the backsplash that there was a mismatch of 1/16" in height of the material where it met in the 3 corners. It doesn't sound like much of a difference but it was quite noticeable. The company sent the first installation employee back to fix the problem a week later. We're very happy with the appearance and quality of the counters. Although we did not expect it to take 3 months and 3 installation visits, we are happy with the results and the fact that the installation company did correct the installation problem and compensated us with a free backsplash (and a thicker counter when our wait for the counter to arrive passed 6 weeks). However, if we had been on a timetable and needed to have our kitchen back in use quickly, we would not have been as satisfied with the fact that it took twice as long as we expected to finalize the project.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Granite Countertop Installation
angry

very poor installation process and problems made on granite not yet fixed

PostedFebruary 6, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Granite Countertop Installation
installer and its parent company was very difficult to contact, the installer never arrived on time, when the installer placed the granite the measurements were poor and the cuts that were made still remained unfix to this point
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy SherondaCustomer CareFebruary 11, 2013
I’m sorry about the problems you had with our installer during your countertop installation. I am partnering with the store and we will be contacting you immediately to discuss the problems with the cuts. We appreciate your feedback and if you have any additional comments, please let us know.

Sheronda
The Home Depot
Teamsocial@homedepot.com
Review 17 for Granite Countertop Installation
CB123
from Michigan, USA

Countertop looks great, installation took much longer than expected

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
This review is from:Corian Countertop Installation
The installer wasn't very quick to come out and measure for a template. Once they did, the scheduled install date was about three weeks later. One week before they were scheduled to install, they called to inform me that the color I chose was on back order. It shouldn't have taken them two weeks to figure out they didn't have the material. My guess is they don't check to see if they have the material until they go to fab the countertop. Not Home Depot's fault, but a poor process on the installer's part. I realize shortages aren't the norm, but some kind of effort on either HD's or the installer's part should have been done. Overall it took 5.5 weeks from the time they measured for the template to the final install.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Granite Countertop Installation
Linda81

We are very happy with the installation.

PostedFebruary 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Granite Countertop Installation
The crew who installed our countertops were very clean and courteous. They were very professional and quick but did a great job.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Granite Countertop Installation
kbwka
from Eden Prairie, MN, USA

Acceptable

PostedApril 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This review is from:Granite Countertop Installation
Installer was friendly. They left with one back splash unacceptable. Took two days of calls. They did come back and correct, but we had to catch them before leaving to redo the caulking.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Granite Countertop Installation
Nickname

Never showed up on time.

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Corian Countertop Installation
Installers did decent job but were ALWAYS late, far outside the time estimate given.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 31 >>