728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Services or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Granite Countertop Installation

Granite Countertop Installation

Overall rating:
4.304 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(773 reviews) 773
Open Ratings Snapshot
84%of customersrecommend this product632 of 748reviews
Rating Breakdown 773 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(488)
4
(143)
3
(67)
2
(39)
1
(36)
84%of customersrecommend this product632 of 748reviews
Customer reviews for Granite Countertop Installation
Review 1 for Granite Countertop Installation
from Carlsbad, CA, USA

Not smooth- a true headache

PostedOctober 9, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Wood Countertop Installation
We went via Home Depot to insure quality contractors & price. The installation process took close to 4 months-
For countertops only!!! I spent may hours on call backs to the contractor myself. When I tried to go through Home Depot to solve- I was advised to call the contractor myself, so WHY was I paying Home Depot??? I still don't know.
No- I will never again do home updates via Home Depot installation nor will I recommend it to any of my peers.
Completely dissatisfied with the service.
+33points
33out of 33found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareOctober 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for any inconveniences caused and will be sure to use your feedback to improve our process.
Review 2 for Granite Countertop Installation
from Port Ludlow, WA, USA

Process was not as promised, and subsequently unhappy with the granite.

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Granite Countertop Installation
Initially the order process was fine. We were told we would be going to the vendors showroom to approve the granite slabs. The vendor called and said they did not do it that way and we would be sent a digital image layout of the counter tops for my approval. The emailed image was terrible and I have a very high quality monitor and computer. But the pattern looked all right and I approved it, unfortunately. The installed granite looks like it was sealed over dirt or dust, and a corner was chipped on site and repaired on site. The installers spoke only minimal English, or so I thought. My unhappiness is targeted mainly at the outside vendor. I quite frankly feel I was "lied" to.
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Granite Countertop Installation
from Miami, FL, USA

excellent product

PostedOctober 10, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
the first installation crew did not cut the opening for the sink correctly; it was too small therefore the sink installer could not anchor the sink. the first crew also damaged the custom made cabinet. The second crew fixed the sink opening. Then some 4 wks ago the installation rep visited with my cabinet maker. he promised to reimburse $200 towards the fixing of the broken sink hole. Neither I nor HD Customer Support have been able to get the installation company to honor there commitment to date.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareOctober 11, 2013
We apologize for the troubles experienced. I have verified that your check was sent out yesterday, Oct. 10, 2013. We're glad that we were able to assist and make things right for you.
Review 4 for Granite Countertop Installation

A lengthy and exasperating experience

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Three two-hour round trips to the granite provider. Two installations - the first one, the cut pieces were two different colors. Another trip to the fabricator to actually layout the cuts for the second installation. A second installation that left me with a problem for the installation of the back splash. A process that took just short of two months. Little to no help from Home Depot. Not happy.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareAugust 20, 2014
We are sorry to hear of the time it took to complete your project. We appreciate your feedback and would be interested in having your concerns addressed by leadership. We will be sure to reach out in this regard. Thank you for your review.
Review 5 for Granite Countertop Installation

Smooth install

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
This review is from:Granite Countertop Installation
During install I noticed holes in stone in some spots on counter top. I asked if that could be taken care of was told it was a simple fix , I have called twice with the same response that some one would call me back to take care of this problem. I have not received that call back since Dec 13 2013
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Granite Countertop Installation

subcontractors were not coordinated, never installed dishwasher

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Granite Countertop Installation
Overall countertops look good. Installers had an issue with the dishwasher installation and told the homeowner to have the plumber take care of it. Poorly coordinated.
The crew was out to pre-measure the site and should have determined the proper dischwasher mount at that time. The crews left and never did install the dishwasher leaving it for the homeowner. When I called for resolution to the crew supervisor, he said he would get back to me but never did. I ended up installing my own dishwasher and had to call to get a refund on the brackets and installation whihc were not used.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Granite Countertop Installation
from Indianapolis

Home Depot was unresponsive to follow up calls requests for updates.

PostedSeptember 28, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Granite Countertop Installation
At purchase I was told the countertop would take 4-5 weeks to be installed but took 8. I called Home Depot numerous time(up words of 8 times and 4 visits) and was constantly told "we will look into the situation and call you tomorrow" but I would never receive a call. I ended up feeling like I was doing Home Depot's job in having to contact the fabricator/installer/plumber to schedule. In the 8 weeks it took to have the countertop installed Home Depot did not call me one time to update me on what was going on. I had to constantly call and go to the store to get updates. Overall the installer and plumber did good jobs but was extremely dissatisfied with how Home Depot handled my order.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Granite Countertop Installation
from Renton, WA

Ordered 10/30/13. Installation delayed twice. Backsplash was cut wrong. Counter was installed 12/24/13, backsplash finished 1/5/14.

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This review is from:Laminate Countertop Installation
Final product is satisfactory. Delays and inconveniece from the contractor were extremely frustrating, especially over the holidays.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Granite Countertop Installation

fixed problem, but was not initially installed properly

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
purchased granite counters from home depot in july 2012,
they were not installed properly and started to sink. by the time we contacted home depot they were out of warranty.
the problem would not have occurred if installed correctly
the first time. had to pay $250 up front to get the installer
to fix problem.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Granite Countertop Installation
from Sheridan, OR

Install was good and we like it.

PostedFebruary 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Laminate Countertop Installation
install company asked for a review and I voiced some concern about the estimate, but have not heard back from them, so my concerns are still alive.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Granite Countertop Installation
from Orange Park, FL, USA

Poor results, not a great intallation

PostedJune 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Granite Countertop Installation
Sinks in Master Bath, not installed properly the first time. Installer had to come back. Granite chipped in 5 corners and filled in with resin. Not what one would expect after spending good money!!. Back splash in one vanity had about a 1/4 inch broken corner and filled in with white caulk. When I cleaned it after it dried I sent photos and the small backsplash was replaced. Installer claimed he never noticed. Hard to believe. There is a hairline crack in the granite surrounding the sink. Filled with clear caulk and VERY noticeable. Not happy at all with the results on this project.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Granite Countertop Installation

Unsatisfied customer

PostedApril 12, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Because my installer did not look at the home depot design plan he had crown moldings left over which meant the work was not up to par with the designer. And wasn't what I paid for. He lied and said I told him I didn't want other pieces added to the cabinet after HE explained they were unecessary. I told him I would think about it and later said, since I paid for the bottom molding please install it. It never happened. He did not cover his nail holes or gapping because he said I didn't have wood filler and he didn't have any in his truck. He aruged with the delivery guys who delivered my appliances because they were trying to explain how they needed a hole drilled in the cabinet to install a vent. He did a sloppy half job on the drywall leaving the tape exposed and a lumpy finish.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy SherondaCustomer CareApril 15, 2013
We will contact you immediately regarding the outstanding issues with your Home Depot granite countertop installation. I apologize for the problems you had with our installer. Home Depot stands behind our installations 100% and we will do what it takes to correct the issues.

Sheronda
The Home Depot
Teamsocial@homedepot.com
Review 13 for Granite Countertop Installation
from California, USA

Acceptable install but some problems

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product was fantastic. The sales people and customer service was great. The install was ok. If you are there to watch over the install this would be fine, but if you don't want to watch the details I would go elsewhere. The installers did not cover my cabinets so they damaged several parts. Also, I left before they were done and when I got back they had shimmed the entire slab up so it wasn't even sitting on the cabinets. They also shifted the cabinets in the process and created a gap between the cabinets and the floor. My general contractor had to come in and fix it all the next day. Luckily that was possible. Could have been a disaster!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Granite Countertop Installation
from Indiana, USA

ok

PostedDecember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
lnstaller replaced gas range with gas off...had to get someone to help me move stove the next day to turn gas back on. Also still have questions about if supports needed for countertop. I did not know and was not told this prior to install. As installers left they said...don't forget to get supports......and they told me to find a contractor or do it myself. I did not know this was needed. I would have liked to know this was not part of install......
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Granite Countertop Installation
from Indianapolis, IN, USA

product was good, communications were ridiculous

PostedOctober 2, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Granite Countertop Installation
I had new counter top installed on a kitchen island and desk. The granite company and product were excellent. The Home Depot and electrical crew to re-hook the stove were ridiculously poor. The only reason I gave them two stars for service was the store staff that took the order. She was excellent. The one in charge of follow up never got the price right, never had the paperwork where I could talk to someone if she wasn't in the store, and never actually managed to talk to me directly. The electrician who connected the stovetop afterwards left screw tips protruding 1/2 inch on the outside of the island and a live wire on the inside. He did manage to wrap electrical tape around it when I asked him about it. When I saw the screws protruding after he left, I called Home Depot. It took a week to get someone out, and then it was only the person who "inspects" the problem. He confirmed the wire was still live, snipped the screw tips off, said he'd send an electrician out to fix the wire and putty the holes the screws made. That was several weeks ago. I haven't even had a call.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Granite Countertop Installation
from Sedona, AZ, USA

Not the happiest with our install

PostedApril 24, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My husband and I recently found out that the dishwasher would not come out after the granite was installed. If they had let us know this then we would have asked them to build the counter tops up a bit so we wouldn't have a problem getting the dishwasher out to get it repaired or replaced. Now we are stuck with having an issue with the dishwasher problem. So we aren't too happy with our install because of this and will have to have it redone eventually all because the installers didn't make us aware of this and give us an option to resolve the issue at the time.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Granite Countertop Installation
from Dallas, TX, USA

Final result was great, but getting there was painful.

PostedOctober 15, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Meaning - understanding the processes and logistical steps from design to, selection, prerequisites, ordering, scheduling and installation were not clear from the beginning. This lead to unnecessary delays and disappointments.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Granite Countertop Installation
from nj

bad but joint not smooth faucet hole not right

PostedMarch 3, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
the were nice but they shold of took more time to do a better job seen a lot of counter installs and they were alot better then mine
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy SherondaCustomer CareMarch 4, 2013
We’re sorry to hear about the issues you’ve had with your countertop installation. We appreciate your business and if you have any questions or concerns, please contact us. Thank you.

Sheronda
The Home Depot
Teamsocial@homedepot.com
Review 19 for Granite Countertop Installation

very poor installation process and problems made on granite not yet fixed

PostedFebruary 6, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Granite Countertop Installation
installer and its parent company was very difficult to contact, the installer never arrived on time, when the installer placed the granite the measurements were poor and the cuts that were made still remained unfix to this point
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy SherondaCustomer CareFebruary 11, 2013
I’m sorry about the problems you had with our installer during your countertop installation. I am partnering with the store and we will be contacting you immediately to discuss the problems with the cuts. We appreciate your feedback and if you have any additional comments, please let us know.

Sheronda
The Home Depot
Teamsocial@homedepot.com
Review 20 for Granite Countertop Installation
from Michigan, USA

Countertop looks great, installation took much longer than expected

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
This review is from:Corian Countertop Installation
The installer wasn't very quick to come out and measure for a template. Once they did, the scheduled install date was about three weeks later. One week before they were scheduled to install, they called to inform me that the color I chose was on back order. It shouldn't have taken them two weeks to figure out they didn't have the material. My guess is they don't check to see if they have the material until they go to fab the countertop. Not Home Depot's fault, but a poor process on the installer's part. I realize shortages aren't the norm, but some kind of effort on either HD's or the installer's part should have been done. Overall it took 5.5 weeks from the time they measured for the template to the final install.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 39 >>