728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Services or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Water Heater Installation

Water Heater Installation

Overall rating:
4.433 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(383 reviews) 383
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product340 of 376reviews
Rating Breakdown 383 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(270)
4
(58)
3
(24)
2
(13)
1
(18)
90%of customersrecommend this product340 of 376reviews
Customer reviews for Water Heater Installation
Review 1 for Water Heater Installation
from des moines, iowa

good results, poor getting the job done

PostedOctober 16, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer Service at the store was ok. Water Heater differences were not really explained to us, therefore, although we have a good product, we probably would have been better satisfied with one which didn't require being plugged in to heat the water.
The most disappointing moment was the fact that the store advertised installation within 24 hours. It was explained to us that it may take a couple of days for the installer to call us, we were ok with this. However, we did not hear anything for a week, my husband had to call three times to get any type of results from the store (management). The installer finally did call, but still could not install for a week. In my opinion this is poor management and customer service.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareOctober 21, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We will share your feedback with our business partners and continue to improve. Sorry for any delays with installation.
Review 2 for Water Heater Installation
from Fairport, NY 14450, USA

THE WORST EXPERIENCE I HAVE EVER HAD AT HOME DEPOT

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
MADE PURCHASE 10:30A ON A FRIDAY 01/03/14 AND GUARANTEED TO HAVE SAME DAY DELIVER AND INSTALL.WHAT A JOKE,THIS PAST FRIDAY 01/24/14 JOB WAS COMPLETED.WATER HEATER WAS INSTALLED SAME DAY COULD TURN ON HOT WATER AT 10:30P FRIDAY NIGHT.NO PHONE CALLS MADE TO ME I HAD TO MAKE ALL CALLS LOOKING FOR ANSWERS AND TIMES OF INSTALL,ALL IN ALL THE WORST APPLIANCE BUYING PROCESS EVER AND WOULD NEVER RECOMMEND IT ANYONE.THERE IS A LOT OPTIONS WHEN IT COMES TO HOT WATER HEATERS.NEVER AGAIN WILL I PURCHASE SOMETHING LARGER THAN HARDWARE FROM HOME DEPOT.OPENED BOX IN MY BASEMENT TO FIND SOCCER BALL SIZE DENT IN BRAND NEW TANK 11HRS AFTER PURCHASE.
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Water Heater Installation
from Westville, IN, USA

Professional service

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The gentlemen that installed my hot water heater were professional and knew what they were doing. They had the hot water heater installed in less than an hour. It was at the end of the day and they had had a very long day of installing water heaters. They were professional, hard working, polite, informative, and did a wonderful job. I am very happy with the quality of work that they performed. Thank you.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Water Heater Installation
from Rochester, NY, USA

Installation went great and completed in a timely manner.

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The installer was very polite and professional, he pointed out a dent in my water tank and gave me directions to address it. The store manager was very helpful, understanding and satisfactory address my concern.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Water Heater Installation
from Moline, IL, USA

Timely and simple

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Customer service 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Arrived on time, performed thorough installation, no water leakage, explained well, clean at the end. No fuss installation.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Water Heater Installation
from Hilo, HI, USA

Smooth Installation Process in Hilo, HI

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Home Depot takes the hassle out of finding a creditable plumber with their installation program. The contractor called us within a few days to schedule the installation and we had our new efficient toilets installed in no time. No hidden installation costs and you pay for the installation when paying for the toilets in store. Thank You!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Water Heater Installation
from Phoenix AZ

They took out the wrong tank and it cost me more money

PostedJune 20, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After being explicit on the job details, they took out the working 40 gallon tank, replaced it with a 30 gallon tank. Left the broken 30 gallon tank. So they replaced the wrong one.
I had to pay for a new tank, as the working tank had been destroyed. HD did discount the tank and the installer waived the install fee. The project still cost me more money than anticipated,. Was a total hassle. This was a simple problem but frustrating to fix as I live 2 thousand miles away from the property.
They could have run the hot water to figure out which HOT WATER HEATER DID NOT PRODUCE HOT WATER!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareAugust 9, 2013
Hello Peter,

We understand your frustration and will be sure to work with our service providers to better our processes in this regard. We are so sorry about the troubles as this should not have happened. Glad to know the store discounted / waived the purchase / install.
Review 8 for Water Heater Installation
from Island of Hawai‘i, Hawaii, USA

The install went well. From ordering hot water tank via phone through timing and install.

PostedMay 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The main difference was the installer. He had tight quarters in which to work, His timing was excellent. He did his job effortlessly, clean and thorough. He was also very friendly and courteous. It wasn't the product. It was the installer that counted.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Water Heater Installation
from Columbiana, OH, USA

Prompt response to problem. (Sunday afternoon mess)

PostedAugust 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Courteous, helpful installers. Disposed of old heater & answered all questions pertaining to new heater. Big thank you.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Water Heater Installation

Smooth install process and great results

PostedJuly 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Couldn't be happier,very professional installors,made sure everything was operational before they left
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Water Heater Installation
from Westchester, NY, USA

Plenty Of Hot Water And Quick Install

PostedDecember 26, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My Rheem 60,000 BTU hot water heater died after 16 years, which I'm told is doing excellent. So I was comfortable getting this GE model since Rheem manufactures it as an OEM for GE. I was worried that getting a 40,000 BTU unit was taking a step back, but either powered heater will run out of water after basically the same time, 4 consecutive showers. The only difference is the 60,000 BTU unit recovers in 25-30 minutes while the 40,000 BTU unit recovers in 40-45 minutes. And really, if you run out of hot water, you're probably not going to sit around waiting for more, so 25 versus 45 doesn't matter. It's my two teenagers, who have no sense of time in the shower, and me and I haven't run out of water yet. I run my dishwaher at night and the washing machine during the day or early evening.
12 year warranty and 2 years parts and labor from Home Depot is better than any local plumber. Local plumbers were $100-300 more. 18 months to pay with no interest is a deal you can't beat.
Contract plumbers came on time and had the installation done in 45 minutes.
So great for now, time will tell.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Water Heater Installation

Good install

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Install went well, installer cleaned up a plumbing nightmare from previous install.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Water Heater Installation
from Burbank, WA, USA

good job

PostedOctober 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Everything was just fine other than a little extra cost because o my county codes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Water Heater Installation
from Mount Vernon, MO 65712, USA

Outstanding!

PostedMay 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent product. Mr. Messenger was the installer and he was very professional and courteous. He arrived on time and when he finished he cleaned up the area, briefed us on the operation of the water heater and made sure everything was installed correctly. Excellent job!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Water Heater Installation
from Willmar, MN, USA

expensive but responsive

PostedMay 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased over the phone and ordered it installed which nearly doubled the cost but the timeliness and speed of the install was worth the cost in my opinion.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Water Heater Installation
from Southeast Ohio

Nice job, thorough, and left the area nice and clean

PostedMay 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The installation was a breeze, the installers really had a time removing my old unit. They persevered and got it done. I love the new unit, it is fantastic.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Water Heater Installation
from Rochester, NY, USA

Did a great job,love it...........

PostedApril 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The service was great,and we are very pleased with our hot water tank,thanks again,I would recomend you in a heartbeat......................
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Water Heater Installation
from Nehawka, NE 68413, USA

Job Well Done

PostedJanuary 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Happy with the product and the service to install it. It has only been 3 weeks since installation so the product status could change, but hope not. The gentleman who installed was very professional and helpful. Answered all questions and I could not be happier with his performance.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Water Heater Installation
from Syracuse, NY, USA

Quick helpful response and great installation

PostedJanuary 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Went to HD early in the morning and the installation was done before noon. Very helpful customer service and installation.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Water Heater Installation
from Rainsville, AL, USA

Good service at Home Depot. Poor install.

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Customer service 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Water heater installed with safety pan that had five extreme cracks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy SherondaCustomer CareFebruary 11, 2013
I apologize that the problems with the safety pan have not been addressed. I am partnering with the store and will contact you to discuss. Thank you!

Sheronda
The Home Depot
Teamsocial@homedepot.com
1 2 3 4 5  ... 20 >>