728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Services or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Water Heater Installation

Water Heater Installation

Overall rating:
4.455 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(363 reviews) 363
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product323 of 357reviews
Rating Breakdown 363 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(258)
4
(55)
3
(23)
2
(11)
1
(16)
90%of customersrecommend this product323 of 357reviews
Customer reviews for Water Heater Installation
Review 1 for Water Heater Installation
from Fairport, NY 14450, USA

THE WORST EXPERIENCE I HAVE EVER HAD AT HOME DEPOT

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
MADE PURCHASE 10:30A ON A FRIDAY 01/03/14 AND GUARANTEED TO HAVE SAME DAY DELIVER AND INSTALL.WHAT A JOKE,THIS PAST FRIDAY 01/24/14 JOB WAS COMPLETED.WATER HEATER WAS INSTALLED SAME DAY COULD TURN ON HOT WATER AT 10:30P FRIDAY NIGHT.NO PHONE CALLS MADE TO ME I HAD TO MAKE ALL CALLS LOOKING FOR ANSWERS AND TIMES OF INSTALL,ALL IN ALL THE WORST APPLIANCE BUYING PROCESS EVER AND WOULD NEVER RECOMMEND IT ANYONE.THERE IS A LOT OPTIONS WHEN IT COMES TO HOT WATER HEATERS.NEVER AGAIN WILL I PURCHASE SOMETHING LARGER THAN HARDWARE FROM HOME DEPOT.OPENED BOX IN MY BASEMENT TO FIND SOCCER BALL SIZE DENT IN BRAND NEW TANK 11HRS AFTER PURCHASE.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Water Heater Installation
from Island of Hawai‘i, Hawaii, USA

The install went well. From ordering hot water tank via phone through timing and install.

PostedMay 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The main difference was the installer. He had tight quarters in which to work, His timing was excellent. He did his job effortlessly, clean and thorough. He was also very friendly and courteous. It wasn't the product. It was the installer that counted.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Water Heater Installation
from Phoenix AZ

They took out the wrong tank and it cost me more money

PostedJune 20, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After being explicit on the job details, they took out the working 40 gallon tank, replaced it with a 30 gallon tank. Left the broken 30 gallon tank. So they replaced the wrong one.
I had to pay for a new tank, as the working tank had been destroyed. HD did discount the tank and the installer waived the install fee. The project still cost me more money than anticipated,. Was a total hassle. This was a simple problem but frustrating to fix as I live 2 thousand miles away from the property.
They could have run the hot water to figure out which HOT WATER HEATER DID NOT PRODUCE HOT WATER!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareAugust 9, 2013
Hello Peter,

We understand your frustration and will be sure to work with our service providers to better our processes in this regard. We are so sorry about the troubles as this should not have happened. Glad to know the store discounted / waived the purchase / install.
Review 4 for Water Heater Installation
from Columbiana, OH, USA

Prompt response to problem. (Sunday afternoon mess)

PostedAugust 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Courteous, helpful installers. Disposed of old heater & answered all questions pertaining to new heater. Big thank you.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Water Heater Installation

Smooth install process and great results

PostedJuly 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Couldn't be happier,very professional installors,made sure everything was operational before they left
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Water Heater Installation
from Westchester, NY, USA

Plenty Of Hot Water And Quick Install

PostedDecember 26, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My Rheem 60,000 BTU hot water heater died after 16 years, which I'm told is doing excellent. So I was comfortable getting this GE model since Rheem manufactures it as an OEM for GE. I was worried that getting a 40,000 BTU unit was taking a step back, but either powered heater will run out of water after basically the same time, 4 consecutive showers. The only difference is the 60,000 BTU unit recovers in 25-30 minutes while the 40,000 BTU unit recovers in 40-45 minutes. And really, if you run out of hot water, you're probably not going to sit around waiting for more, so 25 versus 45 doesn't matter. It's my two teenagers, who have no sense of time in the shower, and me and I haven't run out of water yet. I run my dishwaher at night and the washing machine during the day or early evening.
12 year warranty and 2 years parts and labor from Home Depot is better than any local plumber. Local plumbers were $100-300 more. 18 months to pay with no interest is a deal you can't beat.
Contract plumbers came on time and had the installation done in 45 minutes.
So great for now, time will tell.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Water Heater Installation

Good install

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Install went well, installer cleaned up a plumbing nightmare from previous install.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Water Heater Installation
from Burbank, WA, USA

good job

PostedOctober 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Everything was just fine other than a little extra cost because o my county codes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Water Heater Installation
from Mount Vernon, MO 65712, USA

Outstanding!

PostedMay 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent product. Mr. Messenger was the installer and he was very professional and courteous. He arrived on time and when he finished he cleaned up the area, briefed us on the operation of the water heater and made sure everything was installed correctly. Excellent job!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Water Heater Installation
from Willmar, MN, USA

expensive but responsive

PostedMay 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased over the phone and ordered it installed which nearly doubled the cost but the timeliness and speed of the install was worth the cost in my opinion.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Water Heater Installation
from Southeast Ohio

Nice job, thorough, and left the area nice and clean

PostedMay 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The installation was a breeze, the installers really had a time removing my old unit. They persevered and got it done. I love the new unit, it is fantastic.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Water Heater Installation
from Rochester, NY, USA

Did a great job,love it...........

PostedApril 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The service was great,and we are very pleased with our hot water tank,thanks again,I would recomend you in a heartbeat......................
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Water Heater Installation
from Nehawka, NE 68413, USA

Job Well Done

PostedJanuary 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Happy with the product and the service to install it. It has only been 3 weeks since installation so the product status could change, but hope not. The gentleman who installed was very professional and helpful. Answered all questions and I could not be happier with his performance.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Water Heater Installation
from Rainsville, AL, USA

Good service at Home Depot. Poor install.

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Customer service 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Water heater installed with safety pan that had five extreme cracks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy SherondaCustomer CareFebruary 11, 2013
I apologize that the problems with the safety pan have not been addressed. I am partnering with the store and will contact you to discuss. Thank you!

Sheronda
The Home Depot
Teamsocial@homedepot.com
Review 15 for Water Heater Installation
from Syracuse, NY, USA

Quick helpful response and great installation

PostedJanuary 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Went to HD early in the morning and the installation was done before noon. Very helpful customer service and installation.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Water Heater Installation
from Bflo ny

Smooth install process

PostedJanuary 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The tech that came into my home was very pleasant helpful and informative
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Water Heater Installation
from Guilderland, NY, USA

Prompt and competent installation.

PostedDecember 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The installer was on time and very competent. He was very careful not to make a mess and the installation was very quick and well done.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Water Heater Installation
from Knoxville, TN

Too much time and money required to complete installation

PostedMarch 8, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Customer service 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Should of had a better evaluation of existing hot water tank to determine need for pressure regulater and expansion tank. We could of avoided second plumbing charge to have those items installed. Otherwise tank and workmanship are acceptable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy SherondaCustomer CareJuly 26, 2012
This is Sheronda with Home Depot Customer Care. We are always looking for areas to improve and your feedback helps. I’m here to help if you ever need anything.

Sheronda
The Home Depot
sheronda_care@homedepot.com
Review 19 for Water Heater Installation
from Golden, CO, USA

Replaced my hot water heater

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Water Heater Installation
I am an older single woman and not knowing anyone that could help me when my water heater started leaking - I called Home Depot to see if they could replace it.
I was impressed when I found out I could receive same day service. The installers were quick and efficient. When they were done they showed me how the hot water heater worked and how to ignite the pilot if it went out.
I could not have asked for a better product or service.
Thanks Home Depot!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Water Heater Installation

Bad experience at the store, installation was good

PostedJuly 3, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
This review is from:Water Heater Installation
When I went to Home Depot to purchase the hot water heater the sales clerk was less than interested in helping me. He told me virtually nothing about the products except gallon size and price. (Another associate had to tell him to help me). I would have gone to Lowes at that point if I had time. Also HD did not cash my check for a MONTH because my drivers license number wasn't on it. ??? Instead it must have sat in someones desk, not a good policy. Also, I talked to someone at HD about an inspection from the city. That person had me chose a date and time and said they would arrange. Nobody ever showed up, not sure if a HD problem or a city problem.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 19 >>