I ordered an estimate online, then the flooring installation. The estimator arrived and (I realize now) never mentioned how the baseboards would be treated. I never got a choice of how they would look. The flooring arrived at the store, but the store wasn't going to deliver. My online receipt said that it was being delivered. After I argued with them, the store arranged to have it done.
Flooring looks great now (although I had to wait a month for it to be installed), but baseboards with quarter round looks absurd. Tried to get help from the store, that's when I realized the estimator didn't let us know how it was being finished. The manager said there would be an additional labor charge and he MAY be able to get me a discount on the baseboards - he just wasn't confident that any baseboards would fit/cover the gap left for the floating floor. (Normally, a quarter round install wouldn't be a problem; however, it is approximately half the size of the baseboard and it looks like someone wearing their pants just under their armpits - ridiculous and out of balance.)
Had I known that it would take more than a month from the time I said, "Yes! Please install the Pergo flooring." and the time that it was actually installed, I would not have gone with Home Depot. Add to the time delay that I have ridiculous baseboards, and I doubt I will ever go to Home Depot for an install again. Every time I see the baseboards, I think how much I dislike them and Home Depot's installation service.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
Quarter round looks ridiculous
Quarter round 1/2 size of baseboard
9out of9found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy Robert, Customer Care, November 8, 2012
Thanks for your feedback as its very valuable to us. We will make sure that your concerns are addressed and apologize for any inconvenience that may have been caused. I understand the store is now working with you to resolve this issue. We appreciate the opportunity to make this right for you.
It was hard getting the installation people to schedule us. It seemed communication within their company was not happening. It took many calls to the installation people and finally we were able to schedule. Even on the day of installation, the installers did not know they were supposed to be here and had to leave a job to do ours. Our floor is beautiful and they did a fabulous job. Now...if only the right hand knew what the left hand was doing.
I love the Pergo which I why I rated product quality excellent. However there were problems with every other aspect of this work. Home Depot ordered the wrong amount of materials (I had to buy 2 more boxes of flooring, I had WAY too much quarter-round, and the transitions were never ordered). The first person assigned to do the installation cancelled multiple times (after I had taken time off work to be at home!) and was at my house until 11 PM one night; and I had to get the supervisors of GS flooring company involved. The floor was eventually fully installed after 6 or 7 different days, more materials being purchased, and part of the original transition install ripped out and re-installed. I will never recomment Home Depot flooring and installation to anyone.
Response from Home DepotBy Sheronda, Customer Care, January 10, 2013
Angela, I’m so sorry to hear about your experience. This is not how your project should have been and your feedback has been given to the store and installer. If you have additional comments, feel free to contact us. Thank you.
Scott, at the Hermiston store was extremely helpful, not only with product selection, but even more when it came to explaining the installation quote and changes we wanted to make to the project. He really understands what is required to make the final installation look professional.
Customer service did a good job in following up with the install and ordering additional product we needed for changes we wanted.
Response from Home DepotBy Sheronda, Customer Care, January 16, 2013
Michele, I’m sorry for the problems you had with our installer. Our store has worked to correct the issues and I have reached out to the store to see how we can restore your faith in Home Depot. We will contact you to discuss. If you have any questions in the meantime, please let us know. Thank you.
The installation was a complete success. The installers were late but the dispatcher remained in contact with me even after hours. Arrival time was scheduled between 12 and 3 pm. The installers arrived at 6 pm and completed the flooring at 10 pm. The intallers did a great job.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
1out of1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Laminate Flooring
Repeated miss-steps with delivery of material after long while for contractor to confirm quote, many weeks, then surprise change orders on the day
Contractor was adequate. Service reliability by Home Depot through the order, money charged, to the long wait for final quotes to the debacle around shipping the correct flooring materials, to the delays in installation, to the surprise change order requests, after rip up, that led to cancelling half the job. << leaving us with an unusable room for a long period before much-more-easily connecting with a flooring installer who provided good service through bid, negotiation, on time delivery, easy and clean installation. Lessons Learned for Home Depot here.
Response from Home DepotBy Sheronda, Customer Care, January 1, 2013
Charles, I’m sorry to hear about the trouble you had with your flooring installation. Your feedback is valuable and will be given to the store leadership. If you need further assistance, please let us know. Thank you!
Sheronda The Home Depot Teamsocial@homedepot.com
Review 9 for Laminate Flooring
from Oklahoma, USA
Floor looks good, but it took much longer for install than it should have.
I took two days off work when an appointed time was set for install. I was notified at noon on both days that the installer was sent on another job. I lost two days pay because of this. I will not shop at Home Depot again.
The Home Depot installers did an excellent job. They were on time and worked tirelessly. Any messes were cleaned up and the room and hall were left in spotless condition. They were very helpful with the couple pieces of furniture that we could not get out of the room. We were very satisfied!
Abolutely the worst, most insulting customer service experience we have ever had. The installers actually went through our home and helped theselves to food and toured their family and friends through our home. After ~55 cases of damaged/defective product and weeks of delay and amateur-level flooring alignment and trim work, the Home Depot has further insulted us by failing to refund us for over-ordered materials that we have returned. Store #453 is a disgrace and should be investigated.
Response from Home DepotBy Sheronda, Customer Care, November 8, 2012
Hi my name is Sheronda and I’m with Home Depot Customer Care. I’ve found the complaint and Customer Care and store leadership are working hard to resolve all of the issues for you. We will continue to stay in contact with you until the problem has been taken care of. If you have any additional comments, please contact me at Teamsocial@homedepot.com. Thank you.
They did a good job, but my house was full of dust from them removing my tile floor. I know it can be hard to keep the dust down ,but they had nothing to cover my furniture or anything. They had nothing to keep the dust contained to the area they were working in. The dust was in my bedrooms and all over my blinds, tables ,appliances in my kitchen and even in my cupboards where my dishes are, it was really filthy in my house which my wife and I had to clean up.Not real happy or satisfied with that. People told me we should have charge you for a total house cleaning which we had to do. I dont know ,what do you think?
the installers were very good.some of the material was damaged,so half my floor was unfinished for almost 2 weeks . i had no appliances for those 2 weeks so we had to eat our meals out.home depot did not seem concerned about me having to do this.ihave had other floors done by home depot,but this will be my last.i will go to lowes for the rest of my needs.no more home depot for anything anymore.
Response from Home DepotBy Sheronda, Customer Care, November 29, 2012
Rusty, I apologize for the damage to the flooring and the delay that the reordering caused. While we don’t compensate for meals, I have reached out to the store leadership team to see what we can do to make this right for you. We will be contacting you immediately. If you have any questions in the meantime, please let me know. Thank you.
Arrived on time. Movement of furniture remaining in rooms was efficient. While broom and dust pan used on floors as carpet was removed and laying of boards accomplished. dust remained and flowed throughout home as movement of installers creaded air movement. Installation of laminate was excellent. Installation team worked well together. Garage used for cutting. Considerable dust remained throughout garage even after attempt to blow dust outside was accomplished. Work lasted into hours of darkness. Final actions of signing and owner inspetion were rushed as lateness created a sense of everyone wanted to "get out".
Response from Home DepotBy Sheronda, Customer Care, November 8, 2012
Hawk, my name is Sheronda and I’m with Home Depot Customer Care. It sounds like the overall project went well except for the dust. I am partnering with the store to see how we can take care of the residual dust for you. If you have any questions in the meantime, please contact me at Teamsocial@homedepot.com. Thank you.
sales people at the store were of poor quality. no communication...took longer than it should have to ship products and no one ever called to inform me of how long or when I could expect delivery. then were very rude when I got upset at the poor quality of customer care. For future work I will go through a local contractor.
Response from Home DepotBy Sheronda, Customer Care, August 27, 2012
Hi my name is Sheronda and I'm with Home Depot Customer Care. I apologize for the problems with your laminate order and the issues with communication. This is not how we want to do business. All issues have been documented and forwarded to the appropriate decision makers for review. However, if you still need assistance, feel free to contact me at Teamsocial@homedepot.com.
Response from Home DepotBy Sheronda, Customer Care, September 27, 2012
Hi this is Sheronda and I'm with Home Depot Customer Care. I’m disappointed to hear about your purchasing experience. We appreciate your feedback and it has been forwarded to the appropriate teams for review. If you have questions, feel free to contact me at Teamsocial@homedepot.com. Thank you!
Sheronda The Home Depot
Review 18 for Laminate Flooring
from Wichita, KS, USA
Job finished late and was over budget but looked good once finished.
While the end result looked good it could have been better despite underlying problems with the install which delayed completion and exceeded original cost. Installers were informative and very helpful in the process but could have done a much better job with regards to our displacement during the process. Consideration on part of the installers as to placement of tools, equipment and supplies during the install could have been much better since we did have to live in our home during this time. Overall I would say we were satisfied with the end result but to that extent only.
I believe the sales rep I worked with is incompetent. She made many, many mistakes that I corrected with her over this entire process. The first installation crew installed the quarter round upside down, did a choppy job of installation on the molding, poked a hole in my wall, and took 12 hours over two days to install what I was told would take one day. They were very slow and left early the first day to do a job in Apple Valley for one of their sons. The molding was eventually ripped out and replaced using a different crew. I will NEVER use Home Depot for ANY other home improvement project, nor will I recommend Home Depot to anyone else. I will shop there from time to time, but no more projects.
Response from Home DepotBy Sheronda, Customer Care, August 16, 2012
Hi my name is Sheronda and I'm with Home Depot Customer Care. I apologize for the numerous problems you had with your flooring installation. The store is aware of the issues and has worked to resolve and make right for you. If you still need assistance, feel free to contact me at Teamsocial@homedepot.com. Thanks!
*First issue: You can only pick a day for the measuring company to come measure. You have no idea what time until they call you that morning & give you your 2 hour window. So can't make any advanced plans for the day. *Second Issue: When I went to pick out my flooring, the store associate sold me on a higher priced wood laminate that qualified for a discounted price on the installation. After my measurement was done, I went to the store to purchase my flooring and the price of the flooring was significantly higher than I was originally told. Apparently there are 2 skus for the flooring. One if you are taking the installation deal & one if you aren't. What is the point of an installation 'deal' if you are just going to raise the price of the flooring? When I asked to speak to a store manager about the pricing, I was treated like an irrational person trying to 'steal' something from the store. The associate did eventually call the manager and they both VERY reluctantly gave me the pricing I was originally given. Third Issue: This was replacement wood laminate flooring. I did not have any issues with my old flooring, however, the new flooring only secured on 2 sides instead of 4 like my old laminate. ANY amount of uneveness in the floor effects the integrity of the seams with the new stuff that I got. After starting the install, the installer thought that may be an issue. Home Depot gave me the option of forfeiting my warranty or installing the flooring myself. I do not see why the 'professional' that came to measure did not know about the different types of locking in the flooring and let me know that I needed to pick something out that locked on 4 sides. That is the whole point of them sending someone to scope out the job. Fourth Issue: I installed my old laminate with help from a friend. I had major issues with getting my transition strips installed. They would not stay down. So when I embarked on this massive remodel, this was a major factor in choosing to pay for the flooring to be professionally installed. The installer said the hard wood transition strips would work better with my flooring and told me to return the laminate ones I had and get the hard wood ones. He told me how to install them. I tried & tried, but can't get them to stay down. So now I have no warranty, no transition strips, the wrong laminate for my floor, I should have saved the money and all of the hassle and installed it myself. I called Home Depot to ask about having the installer come back to get my transition strips right. They said they would send them back & that they would call me to set it up. Nobody ever called. I now give up. When I save up another couple thousand dollars, I will go somewhere else and have the whole thing re-done. Thanks Home Depot!
Response from Home DepotBy Sheronda, Customer Care, August 14, 2012
Hi my name is Sheronda and I'm with Home Depot Customer Care. I’m disappointed to hear about all of the problems you had with your order and installation from the onset of your project. The store has been involved to resolve these issues. However, if you still need assistance, please contact me at Teamsocial@homedepot.com. I'm here to help.