I'm working with HD on fixing my ongoing problems with the floor. Here's what happened. 1# borrowed a family member's truck to pick up product at store and the store ordered the wrong floor, store reordered right floor; 2# went to store in my car to get right floor, paid for truck rental b/c I didn't have a truck to borrow, took staff well over an hour to get order together, had to tell truck rental people not to charge me b/c store taking too long, store didn't have enough quarter round despite being a special order so staff sent me to another HD store, staff gave me gift card to pay for quarter round at other store; 3# went to other store, spent half hour trying to find quality pieces of quarter round, went to pay and cashier charged me $25 more than what was given to me on my gift card, I negotiated $16 less, ended up paying $9 more for quarter round and never complained until now; 4# sanded/painted quarter round at home, some were 16 feet long, some were 12 feet long, purpose of that was to have 1 piece vs. 2 pieces along certain long walls in my condo; 5# floor installers come, did a good job with my laminate flooring; 6# they began installing quarter round, installers cut pieces that were supposed to be one single piece for long walls, quarter round looked funny to me because it was big relative to size of trim, also looked funny because the pieces were cut straight, the installers made no attempt to make 22 ½ cuts for end of quarter round by door, we had to tell them they need to make those cuts and not just a straight cut because it looks unprofessional, one installer told me verbatim “I’ve never seen that before”…installers then proceeded to install quarter round underneath my doors which jammed my doors when opening them….quarter round isn’t supposed to be installed under doors!!; 7# given the big quarter round size as well as the poor job the installers were doing I told them to stop 90% into their installation of quarter round and kindly told them we are done, they dropped everything and left pretty fast; 8) I realized that given that I had to get the quarter round myself without anyone’s help I picked the wrong quarter round size when I went to the store #see point 3 above), the correct size is ½ x ¾ not the ¾ x ¾ #I think these are the correct sizes reference, but not 100% sure still). Therefore, had my special order been at the store perhaps I could have avoided this; 9) after the installers left I looked around and realized a) my newly painted light grey/white walls were marked up with fingerprints/handprints #I have photos to prove it), b) one guy stepped on my new carpet on my stairs and left a shoe mark #I know it was him because nobody has ever walked on my new carpet with shoes on), c) I found a nick in one of the walls #I have photo as well); and 10) I have a corner wood design piece that went missing after the installers left, I’m not 100% sure they took it as they may have been upset but just a strange coincidence. Overall, this job has been a nightmare and I’m still dealing with it. I’m meeting with GS Floor on Friday and given the significant inconveniences already caused #I work 65 hours each week at my job and have many other personal responsibilities like everyone else), I’m kindly asking for the following; 1) the right size of quarter round delivered to my condo and $9 reimbursement for the extra money I had to pay for the quarter round; 2) an experienced and professional installation crew that can cut and install the quarter round appropriately; and 3) someone who knows how to install the right piece for under my doors # I believe I have the supplies at my condo with my special order but the original crew didn’t know how to install and put quarter round under the doors instead).
1out of1found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy Sheronda, Customer Care, August 10, 2012
Hi my name is Sheronda and I'm with Home Depot Customer Care. You have certainly been through a lot with your order and installation and I apologize for the inconvenience and the problems you've had. We are aware of all the issues and the store has worked to make this right for you. However, if you still need assistance, feel free to contact me at firstname.lastname@example.org. I'm here to help.
*First issue: You can only pick a day for the measuring company to come measure. You have no idea what time until they call you that morning & give you your 2 hour window. So can't make any advanced plans for the day. *Second Issue: When I went to pick out my flooring, the store associate sold me on a higher priced wood laminate that qualified for a discounted price on the installation. After my measurement was done, I went to the store to purchase my flooring and the price of the flooring was significantly higher than I was originally told. Apparently there are 2 skus for the flooring. One if you are taking the installation deal & one if you aren't. What is the point of an installation 'deal' if you are just going to raise the price of the flooring? When I asked to speak to a store manager about the pricing, I was treated like an irrational person trying to 'steal' something from the store. The associate did eventually call the manager and they both VERY reluctantly gave me the pricing I was originally given. Third Issue: This was replacement wood laminate flooring. I did not have any issues with my old flooring, however, the new flooring only secured on 2 sides instead of 4 like my old laminate. ANY amount of uneveness in the floor effects the integrity of the seams with the new stuff that I got. After starting the install, the installer thought that may be an issue. Home Depot gave me the option of forfeiting my warranty or installing the flooring myself. I do not see why the 'professional' that came to measure did not know about the different types of locking in the flooring and let me know that I needed to pick something out that locked on 4 sides. That is the whole point of them sending someone to scope out the job. Fourth Issue: I installed my old laminate with help from a friend. I had major issues with getting my transition strips installed. They would not stay down. So when I embarked on this massive remodel, this was a major factor in choosing to pay for the flooring to be professionally installed. The installer said the hard wood transition strips would work better with my flooring and told me to return the laminate ones I had and get the hard wood ones. He told me how to install them. I tried & tried, but can't get them to stay down. So now I have no warranty, no transition strips, the wrong laminate for my floor, I should have saved the money and all of the hassle and installed it myself. I called Home Depot to ask about having the installer come back to get my transition strips right. They said they would send them back & that they would call me to set it up. Nobody ever called. I now give up. When I save up another couple thousand dollars, I will go somewhere else and have the whole thing re-done. Thanks Home Depot!
Response from Home DepotBy Sheronda, Customer Care, August 14, 2012
Hi my name is Sheronda and I'm with Home Depot Customer Care. I’m disappointed to hear about all of the problems you had with your order and installation from the onset of your project. The store has been involved to resolve these issues. However, if you still need assistance, please contact me at Teamsocial@homedepot.com. I'm here to help.
I ordered an estimate online, then the flooring installation. The estimator arrived and (I realize now) never mentioned how the baseboards would be treated. I never got a choice of how they would look. The flooring arrived at the store, but the store wasn't going to deliver. My online receipt said that it was being delivered. After I argued with them, the store arranged to have it done.
Flooring looks great now (although I had to wait a month for it to be installed), but baseboards with quarter round looks absurd. Tried to get help from the store, that's when I realized the estimator didn't let us know how it was being finished. The manager said there would be an additional labor charge and he MAY be able to get me a discount on the baseboards - he just wasn't confident that any baseboards would fit/cover the gap left for the floating floor. (Normally, a quarter round install wouldn't be a problem; however, it is approximately half the size of the baseboard and it looks like someone wearing their pants just under their armpits - ridiculous and out of balance.)
Had I known that it would take more than a month from the time I said, "Yes! Please install the Pergo flooring." and the time that it was actually installed, I would not have gone with Home Depot. Add to the time delay that I have ridiculous baseboards, and I doubt I will ever go to Home Depot for an install again. Every time I see the baseboards, I think how much I dislike them and Home Depot's installation service.
Response from Home DepotBy Robert, Customer Care, November 8, 2012
Thanks for your feedback as its very valuable to us. We will make sure that your concerns are addressed and apologize for any inconvenience that may have been caused. I understand the store is now working with you to resolve this issue. We appreciate the opportunity to make this right for you.
The entire process was way to complicated. When we had someone come out to measure, I could pick a day for them to come, but not a time, so I had to just gamble and not make any plans outside the house for that day. Thankfully he came early in the morning. I had a question about the invoice after we ordered the flooring. I called the store, where I got transferred around 4 times until eventually nobody answered. So that lead to me having to go to the store to get my question answered. Fixed that problem. Then I had a hard time getting Romanoff Flooring to call me back to schedule, and got conflicting stories about if my product had been delivered to the store or not yet. Thankfully that time when I went to the store I worked with Will. He was awesome. He understood my frustration, called around to see if the product was there or not, and then got in touch with Romanoff Flooring for me and scheduled the install (and delivery of flooring materials). Install was overall pretty good, nice, clean, professional guys. I had a lot of leftover molding...not sure why when we had to have someone come professionally measure to "make sure the right amount was ordered". So I had to back and return that, which was just a pain after all of my recent trips to the store. I'm happy with the end product but I would warn anyone who asked me that it is a very drawn out, more complicated than need be, experience.
7out of7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Laminate Flooring
from Dahlonega, GA, USA
Final installed floor adequate but one quality issue evident.
The price for the Pergo XP flooring seemed to be fair, but the price for installation turned out to be aggravating. I paid to have some vinyl flooring taken out to prepare for the laminate, but the house was built by gluing the vinyl to a very thin (1/4") layer of plywood in the foyer of the house. Not only was I charged to take up the vinyl, but a separate charge for the thin layer of plywood, too. Home Depot wanted to charge me an additional $600+ dollars for this, and it seemed that the removal of the vinyl WITH the plywood was easier than just removing the vinyl only. It turned out that I didn't need to remove additional vinyl in the installation area that I paid for, so the additional $600 was offset by this. I felt like I was being "nickeled and dimed" on installation.
Additionally, the quarter-round trim that was installed with the floor was cut with no bevel or return to wall at transition points. The exposed material is raw (almost white) wood and gives parts of the installation an amateur look. I considered fixing this myself, but quit a lot of the quarter-round would have to be removed and reinstalled.
Overall, I would give the final result a B-.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
10out of10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Laminate Flooring
This flooring project went very well. As a contractor, I appreciated the knowledge and experience of the installation crew.
I 'am very happy with the results of this flooring project. The installation team was knowledgeable, experienced and was customer friendly. Their attention to detail and willingness to go the extra mile shows the passion for their trade. I would recommend better communication between all the people involved. After the measurement appointment, I received a e-mail quote. It was difficult to navigate the quote and determine exactly what was required and why. After a call to the estimating center,and a very knowledgeable representative, I understood exactly what was required and why.Through that conversation we were able to make the necessary adjustments and proceed with the project. As a contractor, one of my jobs is to explain the what,why and how of all phases of a project. I accomplish this by being the one project manager, (point person). This system eliminates discrepancies and unnecessary stress due to poor or at times, too much information presented to the client. Perhaps a point person would help you with a better flow through the complete process.
1out of1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Laminate Flooring
from Greenbelt ,Maryland
Initial install last year was a bust...Re-install this year was much much better.
Instll of Pergo laminate was a bust last year (November 2011). Installer did not follow installation guidelines and installed flooring when it clearly should not have been installed. Installer did not provide Laminate Flooring Warranty materials to me the customer. After call was made to complain about laminate flooring buckling, in mid August 2012, the site's required installation conditions were met after considerable delay caused by Installer's ineptness and unprofessionalism, Re-install was finally accomplished at the end of October 2012. Thus it took almost a full year to have this laminate flooring properly installed. Home Depot should and must reconsider its current relationship with this installation company, especially if they continue to underperform as they did at my worksite. If Home Depot does not, it won't be because they were not warned. Perhaps Home Depot desires to maintain this business relationship with its current Installers at the cost of loosing future customers and sales.
Response from Home DepotBy Sheronda, Customer Care, November 15, 2012
I’m sorry that it took so long to correct the problems with your floor. We have documented your feedback and know that your comments help us when we evaluate our service providers. If you have additional comments to share, feel free to contact me at Teamsocial@homedepot.com. Thank you.
Sheronda The Home Depot
Review 8 for Laminate Flooring
Romanov did a highly professional job on my floor!
From the moment I talked to Theresa and Aaron at the Home Depot store, I felt good about my decision to go with Hope Depot for new laminate flooring. I was told that if there was a problem when the carpet was taken up, I'd have to pay for repairs. As it turned out, I needed a new subfloor, which was fine. I just assumed the installation company would do the work. It might be a good idea to clearly state to customers that they would be responsible for finding a contractor to do any work necessary for installation. This set me back 3 weeks. Also, the quarter round and threshold kits did not arrive before the installation date. It turned out to be all right, because the installer wasn't able to proceed with the new flooring until I replaced the subfloor. However, I had to make some phone calls to finally have the materials delivered in time for the new installation date. Romanov did an outstanding job. I'm quite pleased with the floors and am glad I stuck with the Home Depot.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
0out of1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Laminate Flooring
from Phenix City, Al, USA
Our installer was great. He was very professional and personable.
The issue we encountered was with the store salesman. He gave erroneous information regarding installation expectations. He advised once the materials were received we could expect the installers as soon as the materials acclimated (3 days). He went on to assure us it could be installed in one day and that they worked on the weekend. When we called to set up the installation we found out that pulling up out existing flooring was a huge mistake as it was another five weeks before they could come out. All the concrete dust made my husband very sick. The one day installation on a Saturday actually made them laugh. I didn't find the same humor. The process was four days and they do not work on weekends. I can not blame this on the installers as they are contractors. I am not happy with Home Depots sales associate for this wrong information. I will not believe sales associates in the future. I will call the installers myself.
Love the product. Installation was difficult process. Materials arrived on a Wednesday and on Saturday night store employees were still tryng to locate all of them and get the order straightened out. Installers weren't aware that they needed to bring plywood. Installers purchased OSB although plywood was requested and paid for. Installers were angry about having to rip up the osb and purchase plywood and put it in. Product wasn't installed under baseboards just up to them and toe kick was put in to cover up gaps. One board is chipped and one is cracked and coming up. Extra materials were not left with us. Product paperwork from boxes not left for us to register product with company for warranty. Dryer vent hose was crushed and cracked when dryer was put back. Installers stayed past 9pm because their supervisor said they had to finish that night not in the two day schedule Home Depot gave us.
The product quality is excellent. The installation went without serious issues. We still have a sewer cleanout that is not covered and 1 door that needs to be trimmed so it will close. I really expected these would be part of the installation. As I said they are relatively small and I can probably do the work but should I have to? The guidelines say to avoid writing about customer service but it is a big part of the score . Communication between Home Depot and the installation company was not as seamless as I would expect. I had to do a lot more coordination than I feel I should have. I already talked to a manager and expressed my opinion in on their lack of excellence but suspect it is still business as usual. There is no way we were going to have our floor installed within 72 hours as I recall certain advertisements within the store proclaiming.
my floor was installed by a third party company subcontracted by home depot. they did not do any clean up or preparation before the install began. i live in a condo and they cut all the wood on my deck. unfortunately they did not put down a tarp or anything to catch the sawdust and a lot of the dust fell through to my neighbors deck. my neighbor called the police.... they also cut the wood without closing my sliding doors so my condo was covered in sawdust. then they left my place a complete mess because they didn't bring a vacuum to clean up. i was not happy to say the least. the floor itself looks amazing but the cleanup and set up left A LOT to be desired. home depot worked with me and my issue and refunded my installation costs so all is well now.
the floor looks amazing and i love it now but the installation did not go smoothly....
Response from Home DepotBy Sheronda, Customer Care, September 9, 2012
Hi my name is Sheronda and I'm with Home Depot Customer Care. I’m disappointed to hear about your experience with our installers; however, I’m glad to hear that the store was able to make this right for you. If you have any questions, feel free to contact me at Teamsocial@homedepot.com.
The floor is nice then expected installing was faster then expected. The measure was scheduled then someone changed what I was scheduled for. The measure was done incorrect they measured more then they needed too. The also told me I had rot in my floor which was untrue. The quote took longer to get done then was supported too because of bad information of rotten floor. This delayed order of floor. This cause floor to arrive later. Then the next proble was flooring was not in when I was told it would be. Then flooring arrived. Next the flooring was installed with speed and the workers were excellent faster then quoted they made Home Depot look better then I thought possible. My recommendations are this stay on Home Depot don't trust then to deliver on promises but the contractors made the job in the end am pleased with the out come.
1out of3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Laminate Flooring
All in all, I am very pleased with this flooring installation experience.
The Installation professional who was onsite was great. He faced a lot of challenges with my floor plan and leveling out the uneven flooring in many spots. He kept me informed all the way, was ontime each day, very courteous and left the place very clean.
The sales staff at Home Depot were extremely patient with me and very friendly. I always had lots of questions, and I appreciate the patience!
Something that needs to be improved is that all sales staff need to know that you cannot install cork underlay with Pergo or it will invalidate the warranty. I was never told about this upfront as perhaps the sales folks did not know this either, and I think this is something that should be included in your training for all sales associates.
All in all, I am very pleased with this flooring installation experience.
I chose the Pergo XP product because it had sound padding on the back and because the style I chose was individual planks. Installed, no one would think it isn't hardwood. This is in new construction.
I floored 4 bathrooms, plus the living room, dining room, kitchen and front hallway.
The installation team was excellent. They showed up on time even though their origin was over two hours away. Rather than commute, they got a motel room and spent the night so they could start early and finish up the next day. They were flexible around other subcontractors who were in the same area.
There are NO flaws in the product or the installation. I can't say enough good things about the installers.
With the sale on the product and the promotion on the installation, Home Depot saved me a ton of money. I'm very happy.
installation was scheduled for a Monday morning. Installer arrived on time. After looking at the job, he decided that the job would require 2 days and he was scheduled for the following day. In confirming with Home Depot, we got a quote of an additional $1,000 in charges for the extra install time. Then an additional $903. Mrs. Parker told them to pick up the materials and return them to the store. She was not going to get ripped off twice. After approximately 2 minutes she received a call from home depot stating that the $903.00 charge would be waived. The job was then scheduled For the following morning with a different crew. Amazingly the job was completed in one day, not the two days that required the extra $1000.00. The workers completed the installation and were out the door before 5:00 pm.
0out of0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Laminate Flooring
from Chesapeake, VA, USA
couldn't be more disappointed in the customer service provided by home depot
one problem after another with the folks in the home depot store. They couldn't find my order in the computer , they couldn't figure out if the product was delivered to the store, they lied about install availabliity dates. I complained to the store manager and assistant manager who laughed, said sorry, made excuses for their employees and that they would call the install company. All of which came to no avail. I am half way through a home remodel and after this experience the rest of my remodel will be through lowes or some other competitor.. I just don't feel like the home depot folks care about you once they have your money. There was no offer of a discount or coupon towards a future purchase, and I did not ask. The contractors who completed the instal were fabulous.
Response from Home DepotBy Sheronda, Customer Care, August 9, 2012
Hi my name is Sheronda and I'm with Home Depot Customer Care. I'm sorry to hear about your installation experience. So is our store leadership, who is aware of the issues you encountered and who is working to turn your experience around. If you still need assistance, feel free to contact me at email@example.com. I'm here to help.
I love the Pergo which I why I rated product quality excellent. However there were problems with every other aspect of this work. Home Depot ordered the wrong amount of materials (I had to buy 2 more boxes of flooring, I had WAY too much quarter-round, and the transitions were never ordered). The first person assigned to do the installation cancelled multiple times (after I had taken time off work to be at home!) and was at my house until 11 PM one night; and I had to get the supervisors of GS flooring company involved. The floor was eventually fully installed after 6 or 7 different days, more materials being purchased, and part of the original transition install ripped out and re-installed. I will never recomment Home Depot flooring and installation to anyone.
Response from Home DepotBy Sheronda, Customer Care, January 10, 2013
Angela, I’m so sorry to hear about your experience. This is not how your project should have been and your feedback has been given to the store and installer. If you have additional comments, feel free to contact us. Thank you.
Overall the installer did a good job, but here were my issues:
It would have been good if I had been made aware that the flooring I had chosen was going to need a spacer in it. Not a big fan of the spacer.
I was told I had to move my fridge and stove out of the space and even called to ask if the appliances could just be shifted and was told that no the had to be completely out of the space. When the installer arrived the first thing he said was that they didn't need to be moved out he could have shifted them around.
No one at the local Home Depot seemed to know what was going on with my project. Every time I called I would get transferred at least 4 times if not 6 times before someone who seemed to know what was going on would answer my question.
Main complaint about the project was the failure of the HD representative to go over all the fine details before installation. As a result, some of these details were greatly disputed DURING installation costing countless hours on the phone. My recommendation for HD would be to CLEARLY explain the plan for the project includding the actual layout which encompasses direction of laminate, transitions, and so forth. Also, the price HD charges for mid project additions are outrageous - almost comical. ($95 dollars per bag for leveling??? You got to be kidding me!!!) We would love to do more buisness with HD due to so many positive reviews - however if these extra charges are a common occurence...myself and many others will take our buisness elsewhere.