728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Services or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Hardwood Flooring Installation

Hardwood Flooring Installation

Overall rating:
4.291 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(196 reviews) 196
Open Ratings Snapshot
85%of customersrecommend this product165 of 195reviews
Rating Breakdown 196 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(126)
4
(33)
3
(17)
2
(8)
1
(12)
85%of customersrecommend this product165 of 195reviews
Customer reviews for Hardwood Flooring Installation
Review 1 for Hardwood Flooring Installation
from Lowell, MA, USA

Overcharged and Unprofessional Results

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Ordering the product went smoothly as did the measurements. I was told that the floor would be leveled out prior to installation. During the install, the installer said the floor is what it is - he is not able to level it out. The installers work was awful - leaving huge gaps between planks and could have leveled out parts of the floor to avoid pits and humps. His nailer also broke during the install. He continued to use the damaged nailer for a while which caused several of the boards to split and the nails popped out from the top of the board. He finally replaced the nailer after leaving excessive nail holes. When it came time to putty the holes, he said he didn't have time, handed me the filler, and said I have to go and vote. Not only did I have to fill in all of the nail holes - but the floor is awful looking. Several areas of the kitchen are noticebly raised up where planks were not hammered in appropraitely, and there several boards that were completely scratched and damaged by the installer that cannot easily be replaced unless the whole floor is ripped up and re-laid. I am now enjoying my new floor with a large area rug so I don't have to look at the shotty work and damaged floor. Additionally, the measurements were wrong and a lot of added materials and expenses were added to my inital bill. Most of the extra charges were removed; however, trying to return 15ft pieces of molding was inconvienent to say the least. I am still waiting for the installer to contact me with some sort of resolution.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy SherondaCustomer CareDecember 3, 2012
Anthony, we will make sure that all of the problems with your flooring are resolved. I am partnering with the store and installer and you will be contacted immediately. If you have any questions in the meantime, please let us know.

Sheronda
The Home Depot
Teamsocial@homedepot.com
Review 2 for Hardwood Flooring Installation
from Franklin, IN

Responsible & good Installers

PostedMarch 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The two young men were very professional. They showed up when they were supposed to and it was obvious they were experts at wood floor installation. They made sure they did not leave a mess when they left. We were very happy with the wood and the installation. We would definitely use the installers again.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hardwood Flooring Installation
from Bloomfield Hills,MI 48302

A rocky start ,but good end results

PostedFebruary 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Lot of delays, due mainly to faulty sub floor but the installers were efficient and good,
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hardwood Flooring Installation
from Los Altos, CA, USA

Installation & product excellent; working with Home Depot difficult

PostedApril 23, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
We had to make 6-8 trips to Home Depot to coordinate this process. Coordination between HD, measurer & installer was poor. We had to return about 7 boxes of flooring due to measurement error. Worked with several different people at Home Depot who, while all knowledgeable, had different opinions & different ideas about what was needed. The wrong kind of paper was sent which had to be returned & exchanged. No one mentioned we needed transition flooring until the installer asked where it was. That had to be ordered & waited for. Mostly, it seemed there was a lack of oversight & coordination between many different parties. Erica did a good job but often wasn't there. Complicated...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hardwood Flooring Installation

The Installers, Very Professional

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The Project manager at home depot - Val or vel, was very unprofessional. I had to make an additional payment to have the floor grinded. I asked him to put it on the account, he refused said he did not have the account number. threatned to close the job. At this stage i had already paid home depot $6000.00. It was very difficult communicating with this gentleman, not very customer oriented. He was very blunt and agitated. would not give me a proper hearing. The job lasted seven days, and at no time did he call to find out how things were going.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hardwood Flooring Installation
from Romansville, pa.

excellent work.

PostedMarch 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We are very happy with the outcome of our new hardwood floors. The young men who installed our floors did an excellent job. they were curtious, and professional. Did an excellent job cleaning up. they cleaned the floor after they finished the install. I couldn't done it any better. Everyone loves our floors and continue to comment on the great job the installers did. I would definitely reccomend these young men to anyone. We did 5 rooms and two foyers. My home has taken on a whole new look. I get up every day with a smile on my face. Thank you so muchfor a job well done.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hardwood Flooring Installation
from Evansville, IN, USA

Floor excellent, overall experience very poor

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Customer service 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Estimator pulled up carpet in corner of room, was told subfloor Ok for wood flooring installation. When installers arrived, subflooring was not good for installation. Additional $1200.00 was needed to complete the job. We would have not done flooring if we would have known in advance. Also estimator shorted amount of flooring needed and we had to wait three weeks for installers to complete job.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy SherondaCustomer CareJanuary 30, 2013
Alan, I apologize that the problems with your subfloor weren’t discovered before the installation and the estimation of materials was inaccurate. Your feedback has given to our business partners so that we can review what happened. We appreciate your comments. If you have any additional comments, feel free to contact us.

Sheronda
The Home Depot
Teamsocial@homedepot.com
Review 8 for Hardwood Flooring Installation
from Montgomery, PA, USA

Process was smooth but dangerously poor workmanship.

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
They called quickly to schedule my installation and showed up on time and ready to work. However, they broke my custom made ceramic tile threshold, smoked cigarettes while in my house, and dumped debris down the toilet causing it to back up. The floor was installed incorrectly (it is not level) and now has to be re-installed. Nice people but extremely poor job. Would NOT recommend! Consider yourself warned...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy SherondaCustomer CareNovember 25, 2012
Angie, I’m sorry to hear about the damage to your tile and your toilet. I have reached out to our service provider and store. We will contact you to resolve immediately. If you have any questions in the meantime, please feel free to contact me at Teamsocial@homedepot.com. Thanks!

Sheronda
The Home Depot
Review 9 for Hardwood Flooring Installation
from Arnold, MD, USA

Fantastic quick install

PostedFebruary 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The installation of our hardwood was done with great precision and was completed quickly. We are very satisfied with the final product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hardwood Flooring Installation
from Avon, OH, USA

Install process and installation went great.

PostedOctober 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
With holidays fast approaching and family coming from out-of-town, you want everything done now. Everything could not have gone any smoother. We were told what to expect and when to expect it. Quite honestly, it went so smooth from the purchase of the product to the install that we are ahead of schedule in making preparations for the holiday. Thank you!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hardwood Flooring Installation

Great result with our new hard wood floor

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Obvious experienced, professional installer did job in timely manner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hardwood Flooring Installation

Only lacked attention to detail...

PostedNovember 28, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The purchase, delivery, and general install went flawlessly. Very satisfied. Only complaint would be that the installer lacked a couple feet of 1/4 trim to finish, and stripped a couple screws when reinstalling closet door slide guides.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hardwood Flooring Installation
from Columbus, IN, USA

Great quality across the board - Material, Installation and customer service

PostedDecember 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent customer service from day 1. Quote to Installation and post installation follow up has been excellent.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hardwood Flooring Installation
from Miramar

The installer, who usually worked alone, was professional and diligent in completing the project. I would probably use the company again.

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The coordinating of services was poor and disappointing.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy SherondaCustomer CareJanuary 10, 2013
Boyd, I’m sorry for any inconvenience you experienced with your flooring installation. We appreciate your business and if you have additional comments, feel free to contact us. Thank you.

Sheronda
The Home Depot
Teamsocial@homedepot.com
Review 15 for Hardwood Flooring Installation
from fresno, ca.

very fine youg men, did a great job.

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Everything went very smoth, they delivered one time and were very nice, installation was very smooth.Product was a very fine quatily, looks great. Thanks, Judy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hardwood Flooring Installation
from Baltimore, MD, USA

Installation and in store service excellent

PostedJuly 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Person sent to house over ordered material even some moldings that we would have no use for. You need better trained people to measure and order materials. I should mention that gentlemen was pleasant. Installers had some extra threshold in their truck so that job could be finished otherwise we would of had to order and install ourself or have installers come back another day.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hardwood Flooring Installation

excellent from start to finish

PostedNovember 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No problems, stayed late to get the job done, which was much appreciated. Looks beautiful, I will use them again.
Loved their concern for my satisfaction.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hardwood Flooring Installation
from Southeastern PA

Beautiful wood flooring. Beautiful installation. Wonderful, competent installer.

PostedApril 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had new kitchen flooring and upstairs hall wood flooring installed last summer. We were so pleased with the results that when this spring rolled around, we decided to replace carpeting in four bedrooms and have wood flooring installed in the en suite section of the master bedroom. So transitional flooring was of concern. The installers did such a great job! It turned out beautifully. A ten out of ten. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hardwood Flooring Installation
from minnetonka mn 55345

beautiful job

PostedOctober 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The two young men were very pleasant to have around. Never have seen such hard workers. The floor; et al looks flawless. I would definitely have this company do work for me again!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hardwood Flooring Installation

customer service and paper word was bad.

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Quality of work was great, installer was great, everything else was bad.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy RobertCustomer CareNovember 8, 2012
Hello Bruno,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with the overall quality of the work. We apologize if we dropped the ball in anyway throughout the process and will work to improve the installation process from start to finish.

Thanks,

Robert
Customer Care
TeamSocial@homedepot.com
1 2 3 4 5  ... 10 >>