Ordering the product went smoothly as did the measurements. I was told that the floor would be leveled out prior to installation. During the install, the installer said the floor is what it is - he is not able to level it out. The installers work was awful - leaving huge gaps between planks and could have leveled out parts of the floor to avoid pits and humps. His nailer also broke during the install. He continued to use the damaged nailer for a while which caused several of the boards to split and the nails popped out from the top of the board. He finally replaced the nailer after leaving excessive nail holes. When it came time to putty the holes, he said he didn't have time, handed me the filler, and said I have to go and vote. Not only did I have to fill in all of the nail holes - but the floor is awful looking. Several areas of the kitchen are noticebly raised up where planks were not hammered in appropraitely, and there several boards that were completely scratched and damaged by the installer that cannot easily be replaced unless the whole floor is ripped up and re-laid. I am now enjoying my new floor with a large area rug so I don't have to look at the shotty work and damaged floor. Additionally, the measurements were wrong and a lot of added materials and expenses were added to my inital bill. Most of the extra charges were removed; however, trying to return 15ft pieces of molding was inconvienent to say the least. I am still waiting for the installer to contact me with some sort of resolution.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
4out of4found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy Sheronda, Customer Care, December 3, 2012
Anthony, we will make sure that all of the problems with your flooring are resolved. I am partnering with the store and installer and you will be contacted immediately. If you have any questions in the meantime, please let us know.
The two young men were very professional. They showed up when they were supposed to and it was obvious they were experts at wood floor installation. They made sure they did not leave a mess when they left. We were very happy with the wood and the installation. We would definitely use the installers again.
We had to make 6-8 trips to Home Depot to coordinate this process. Coordination between HD, measurer & installer was poor. We had to return about 7 boxes of flooring due to measurement error. Worked with several different people at Home Depot who, while all knowledgeable, had different opinions & different ideas about what was needed. The wrong kind of paper was sent which had to be returned & exchanged. No one mentioned we needed transition flooring until the installer asked where it was. That had to be ordered & waited for. Mostly, it seemed there was a lack of oversight & coordination between many different parties. Erica did a good job but often wasn't there. Complicated...
We are very happy with the outcome of our new hardwood floors. The young men who installed our floors did an excellent job. they were curtious, and professional. Did an excellent job cleaning up. they cleaned the floor after they finished the install. I couldn't done it any better. Everyone loves our floors and continue to comment on the great job the installers did. I would definitely reccomend these young men to anyone. We did 5 rooms and two foyers. My home has taken on a whole new look. I get up every day with a smile on my face. Thank you so muchfor a job well done.
The Project manager at home depot - Val or vel, was very unprofessional. I had to make an additional payment to have the floor grinded. I asked him to put it on the account, he refused said he did not have the account number. threatned to close the job. At this stage i had already paid home depot $6000.00. It was very difficult communicating with this gentleman, not very customer oriented. He was very blunt and agitated. would not give me a proper hearing. The job lasted seven days, and at no time did he call to find out how things were going.
Estimator pulled up carpet in corner of room, was told subfloor Ok for wood flooring installation. When installers arrived, subflooring was not good for installation. Additional $1200.00 was needed to complete the job. We would have not done flooring if we would have known in advance. Also estimator shorted amount of flooring needed and we had to wait three weeks for installers to complete job.
Response from Home DepotBy Sheronda, Customer Care, January 30, 2013
Alan, I apologize that the problems with your subfloor weren’t discovered before the installation and the estimation of materials was inaccurate. Your feedback has given to our business partners so that we can review what happened. We appreciate your comments. If you have any additional comments, feel free to contact us.
Sheronda The Home Depot Teamsocial@homedepot.com
Review 8 for Hardwood Flooring Installation
from Montgomery, PA, USA
Process was smooth but dangerously poor workmanship.
They called quickly to schedule my installation and showed up on time and ready to work. However, they broke my custom made ceramic tile threshold, smoked cigarettes while in my house, and dumped debris down the toilet causing it to back up. The floor was installed incorrectly (it is not level) and now has to be re-installed. Nice people but extremely poor job. Would NOT recommend! Consider yourself warned...
Response from Home DepotBy Sheronda, Customer Care, November 25, 2012
Angie, I’m sorry to hear about the damage to your tile and your toilet. I have reached out to our service provider and store. We will contact you to resolve immediately. If you have any questions in the meantime, please feel free to contact me at Teamsocial@homedepot.com. Thanks!
We had new kitchen flooring and upstairs hall wood flooring installed last summer. We were so pleased with the results that when this spring rolled around, we decided to replace carpeting in four bedrooms and have wood flooring installed in the en suite section of the master bedroom. So transitional flooring was of concern. The installers did such a great job! It turned out beautifully. A ten out of ten. Thank you.
With holidays fast approaching and family coming from out-of-town, you want everything done now. Everything could not have gone any smoother. We were told what to expect and when to expect it. Quite honestly, it went so smooth from the purchase of the product to the install that we are ahead of schedule in making preparations for the holiday. Thank you!
Person sent to house over ordered material even some moldings that we would have no use for. You need better trained people to measure and order materials. I should mention that gentlemen was pleasant. Installers had some extra threshold in their truck so that job could be finished otherwise we would of had to order and install ourself or have installers come back another day.
The purchase, delivery, and general install went flawlessly. Very satisfied. Only complaint would be that the installer lacked a couple feet of 1/4 trim to finish, and stripped a couple screws when reinstalling closet door slide guides.
The service was amazing from the initial quote and scheduling to the completion of the project. The installer definitley knew what he was doing, he was very professional and explained the entire project from beginning to end. We are very pleased with the quality of the product, and are glad we went to Home Depot for this project.
0out of0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hardwood Flooring Installation
from Columbus, IN, USA
Great quality across the board - Material, Installation and customer service
I wish I could mention the installer because they did a fantastic job, left the place cleaner than they found it, and even figured out how to save me enough materials during the install to cut almost 10% off the total price of the job!