728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Services or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Exterior Door Installation

Exterior Door Installation

Overall rating:
4.372 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(2197 reviews) 2197
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product1,882 of 2,155reviews
Rating Breakdown 2,197 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(1,496)
4
(355)
3
(126)
2
(108)
1
(112)
87%of customersrecommend this product1,882 of 2,155reviews
Customer reviews for Exterior Door Installation
Review 1 for Exterior Door Installation
kellydav
from Dallas, TX, USA

guy who installed it seemed nice But????

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This door is the second item that home depot install something. I will never ever ask them to install something for me. I think I am thru with home depot. I am going to give Lowes a try. The guy who installed my back door was a nice guy but I don't think he knew how to measure. The door is smaller than the one before. I cant get my trash can thru it now. Plus he installed it one inch higher than the old one so its bad. I have tripped on the threshold many times now. With a broken back it doesn't feel good to fall on your face or jerk from tripping. The other guys that installed my sliding door also didn't install it very well. Door has been squeaking ever since.
Be aware people who have home depot installers. They don't know what their doing.
I used to build houses and remolded houses until my back was broken.
I will have to tear the brand new back door down and reinstall it myself. Thanks home depot
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy NickiCustomer CareDecember 20, 2013
Kelly we apologize for the disappointment with the door installation & the problems it has caused. We of course do not want you to be dissatisfied & would be happy to look into getting the door fixed so this does not continue. We have created a record of this in our system & it will copy to the install escalation team for review. Please expect a follow up call/email within 48-72 hours. Thank you again.
Review 2 for Exterior Door Installation
MsWen
from Philadelphia, PA, USA

Incompetent staff at Cheltenham PA STORE

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The staff was great when I order the doors. And called me as soon as my order was in. Three weeks after my doors were in was the first date I could receive from the contractors to install the doors. The contractor went to pick up the doors 9am the day of my installation & they were no longer there. After spending 3 days being bounced around from associates, I was finally told by the manager that the doors were stolen. Now I had to wait 2 more weeks to re-order my doors & a new date for installation. The contractors were nice enough to squeeze me in 2 days after the 2nd order of the doors. What professional business allows someone to walk in and take merchandise without showing the work order for them?
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareFebruary 15, 2014
Oh my. Sorry to hear that this happened. We apologize for the delays and are glad to hear that you were able to get the 2nd door installed quickly. We will continue to work to improve our processes. Thanks again.
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareFebruary 15, 2014
Oh my. Sorry to hear that this happened. We apologize for the delays and are glad to hear that you were able to get the 2nd door installed quickly. We will continue to work to improve our processes. Thanks again.
Review 3 for Exterior Door Installation
DIYDave
from Houston, TX, USA

Great installation of storm door!

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The door was installed and it is functioning wonderfully. After seeing the whole installation being done, it was just more confirmation that I needed you folks to help me. lol The Anderson door with the dog door is very functional and very well insulated. Even when the temp hit 20 degrees, I felt no cold radiating from the door, window, or dog door. The installer really knows his craft. I like trying DIY stuff but this project was beyond what I could do. I enjoyed learning by watching the pro. Thanks again!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Exterior Door Installation
PJ100
from Columbus, OH

the installers were prompt and professional

PostedApril 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We are very pleased with everything that we had done through Home Depot and would use them again and recommend their service.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Exterior Door Installation
Sprtsntx
from Denton, TX, USA

Perfect

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installer was excellent. Couldnt be better.
Very Happy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Exterior Door Installation
Nrwllms

Rocky scheduling/ordering, smooth install

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I first was not impressed with getting this scheduled but once the door was installed I forgave about the other stuff.
I was supposed to be contacted to schedule a measuring appointment within 48 hours and didn't get to talk to someone for 2 weeks after calling several times. Then once the door was ordered it was another month or so. The full process took 3 months.
Install went smoothly, satisfied with everything but the inside molding. The molding had to be cut longways and was a choppy cut. At some point I will probably redo.
I would recommend only if they are not in a hurry to be completed.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Exterior Door Installation
NotAHappyCamper
from Allison Park, Hampton Township, PA, USA

The door wasn't measured or ordered properly . . .

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
. . . but the installers installed it! Instead of using normal door shims, they used 2x4s and then tried to fill the 1 inch gap on the top and both sides with caulking. By the end of the day, the caulking was oozing out just like a door from a horror movie. The installers did not even have the right tools and had to borrow tools from us. Heck, they didn't even have a broom for clean up. They never covered doorways from the cold air so we had to since it was in single digits the day of installation. The installers were very disorganized, unprepared and unprofessional. We called and left several messages for the store manager (who to date has NOT returned the call) but the store's assistant manager has been extremely helpful in getting this matter resolved and corrected. Another door has been ordered and will be installed. Feedback will be updated accordingly.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareMarch 14, 2014
Edward, we thank you for sharing your experience. We apologize for the lack of follow up from the store manager, and will be sure to reach out to you to confirm the installation of the new door. We thank you for your continued patience.
Review 8 for Exterior Door Installation
JHALK
from Chicago, IL

Horrible Install Process and the Absolute Worst Result

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We purchased a new door $2500. The guy that came out to measure seemed to know his business and what needed to be done. After that, it has been a complete fiasco. This order was delayed for starters. Then we set up a am install date and nobody showed up. The we had a second install date and they were 4 hours late and ended up installing at night. The door is beautiful but the worst installation ever and the frame is all damaged and dinged up. The holes to install never filled. Not all the screws in the hinges. The list goes on. We had the manager from Home Depot come out and take pictures. We also get a terrible draft at the bottom of the door where there is a 1/2" gap. Ridiculous. Our old $100 door was a much better fit and seal when closed.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareNovember 8, 2013
Thanks for your review Jeff,

We will be sure to review your order and follow up with you to address your concerns. Thanks again.
Review 9 for Exterior Door Installation
goldengirls2
from Watauga, TX, USA

Great job!

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Everything went smoothly from start to finish and we are extremely happy with the function of the door and how it looks. We had it painted as part of our order and I would highly recommend that to anyone on a special order door.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Exterior Door Installation
BarbJean
from Hayward, CA, USA

Professional install process completed in a timely manner.

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The installer was prompt, skilled and professional. He was friendly and patient when I asked questions. He kept the area clean while working and after the job was completed. He telephoned to confirm the appointment the day before. The day of the job, he called 20 minutes or so before arriving which was helpful.
Overall, the job was well done. Thank you.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Exterior Door Installation
Donna07
from Lexington, KY, USA

Great service! Fast and easy!

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Wow! Great service! Fast service. The installer showed up on time and did everything perfectly. I would recommend Home Depot door installation to all my friends. It was well worth the installation cost.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Exterior Door Installation
ZacCS
from Bryan, TX, USA

Delays in scheduling the install

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It was over 2 weeks after we had paid for all of the products and installation before we could even schedule the installation date. I was told this was from a miscommunication between Home Depot and the installer. It's also strange to me that the installers only allow Home Depot to make 1 call to them a day. Seems very inefficient and not very helpful to your customers. We were finally helped by Charles and everything went smoothly after that. I think if we had worked with him from the beginning, we wouldn't have had as many issues, but it's hard to say. I will say this, if we come back to Home Depot again, I will look to Charles to try to help us.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Exterior Door Installation
Rich

Install Andersen exterior patio door

PostedNovember 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A terrific installarion of my rear patio door in fall 2013. I am very happy with the installation.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Exterior Door Installation
Dan11
from Myrtle Beach, S. C.

Installation ok

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Took two weeks to have installed, weather stripping was damaged upon install. Home Depot received new strip in took two weeks to get in but part was wrong. Was told it would take another two weeks to get in. Saleswoman didn't care that we weren't happy about the delay
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Exterior Door Installation
Door2014

Finishing was exteremly poor

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
1) Dead bolt hole was not the correct size
2) Corking and filling around molding was not done completely (inside and outside).
3) Nail holes were filled with filer that did not match the Molding color.
Follow up installer came on 1/21/2014 and said:
1) New molding is required and he will go back and reorder it.
2) New appointment is needed to address the issues.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareFebruary 6, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience Kuldip. We apologize for the additional time needed to complete this job, but thank you for allowing us the opportunity to correct it for you.
Review 16 for Exterior Door Installation
VANDY21

Horrible

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The installer didn't install my weather door in fact he broke it and I'm still waiting for Home Depot to come back and look at my weather door to see if it can be fix and installed.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareMarch 14, 2014
Thank you for letting us know. We apologize for the troubles with your door install, and will be sure to contact you to arrange a site visit and repair. We appreciate your feedback.
Review 17 for Exterior Door Installation
SidelightSnafu
from Woodridge, IL, USA

Delays due to Door Manufacturer product construction errors resulted in long delay to complete job.

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Product selection, quote, order process went smoothly. An error by the manufacturer relating to installing a sidelight on the wrong side of the door caused a significant delay in final product installation . . . well into the cold winter month of December. Installation quality was fairly standard . . . overall a good job, but with uneven miter cuts to interior door trim corners being the only noticeable deficiency. There was also an issue with the keypad deadbolt lock protruding out too far in depth resulting in the storm door handle hitting the keypad deadbolt lock, and preventing the doors from closing properly . . . exchanging the keypad lock for a standard deadbolt lock resolved this issue.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Exterior Door Installation
None

Mostly enjoyed the experience.

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My only concern with this purchase and install was the time it took from the time I ordered it. Every one at Home Depot (El Cajon) is very professional.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Exterior Door Installation
forhopes

Door Is Good/Installation not so good.

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Customer service 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I can see daylight between the door and the Frame. I specifically asked in the Store IF I pay this money, will I still see daylight between the door and frame like the current OLD Door and Frame. I was told, no, this is professional installation. I can still see daylight between the door and frame. Much smaller area, but I can still see it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Exterior Door Installation
JesseO
from Oklahoma City, OK

Sooth Process - Great Results

PostedApril 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
All in all I am very happy. The Aesthetic differences in the house are great due to the doors. I loved the Masonite dog door addition to its product. The only recommendation I have is a better paint job on the Masonite door. Since it is a dog used door - when the claw at it the scratches are instantaneous. I'd recommend some type of finish that is scratch resistant. I don't mind - it faces the back. . . All in all don't let that dissuade you - this service and the products are top notch.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 110 >>