728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Services or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Exterior Door Installation

Exterior Door Installation

Overall rating:
4.289 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(3342 reviews) 3342
Open Ratings Snapshot
85%of customersrecommend this product2,772 of 3,272reviews
Rating Breakdown 3,342 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(2,186)
4
(538)
3
(229)
2
(175)
1
(214)
85%of customersrecommend this product2,772 of 3,272reviews
Customer reviews for Exterior Door Installation
Review 1 for Exterior Door Installation
from Houston, TX, USA

quick install, by knowledgeable worker

PostedDecember 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Customer service 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Installer communicated well and when necessary. Onsite early. Fast and accurate work.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Exterior Door Installation
from Richboro, PA

Exterior and Storm Door Installation

PostedOctober 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The installation process went very smoothly. The installer was very knowledgeable and courteous and he made sure not only that he completed the project correctly, but also that we knew how to operate our new doors. I highly recommend this service!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Exterior Door Installation
from Warminster, PA, USA

My expectations for the purchase of my door were completely met

PostedJanuary 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The inside staff was knowledgeable about the specifics for purchasing an exterior door. My questions were answered to my satisfaction. The entire plan from beginning to end was explained to me so that I was fully aware of the process. The installers were polite and informative. They also answered my questions to my satisfaction. The installation process was smooth and I got a door that is beautiful and one that I love! What and enhancement to my home.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Exterior Door Installation

It took 4 attempts and 4+ months for our doors to be installed...

PostedJanuary 1, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It was a painful process working with Home Depot to have 3 doors installed. With incorrect measuring, damaged products and multiple bad lines of communication between Home Depot and the installation company, and the installation company and their employees, the project dragged on for 4+ months. We do NOT recommend Home Depot.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Exterior Door Installation
from California, USA

Installer did an excellent job.

PostedJanuary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The installer came the day and time requested. He was friendly, efficient and knowledgeable about what he was doing. He draped everything around the job site to prevent dust and debris from entering the house. He went out of his way to added pieces that made everything match. Excellent job. Very happy with the installer.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Exterior Door Installation
from Austin, TX, USA

they needed more time so hurried toward the end to get done. final work was sloppy.

PostedNovember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
One of the sliding doors was not put in correctly and I need to call service to have it refitted.
They didn't clip the finishing nails on the front door or fill the nail holes
the door handle was not installed correctly, the door didn't actually latch unless pushed in.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Exterior Door Installation

an installation time cal would have been nice, however the job was professonally done, good clean up and minimum open exposure while de-structing.

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The installation was well done, very effecient and as stated clean up was complete. The crew worked very effeciently and with minimum open exposure time between de-struct and installation. We were very please with the work!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Exterior Door Installation
from Bakersfield, CA, USA

A Ridiculous, four month ordeal

PostedOctober 30, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This was absolutely the worst experience I have ever had with a purchase and arranging installation. I have never experienced such poor service - I really couldn't tell if it was disinterest in taking my money, or just plain incompetence. It was as if nobody in the entire millworks department had ever measured, ordered, sold or arranged to have a door installed before. You would think someone working in a department that sold doors would have some kind of ability to do so, but you would be wrong if you were talking about home depot. Botched measurements (twice!), zero communication, and having to settle for a completely different product last minute - this entire experience was a huge ridiculous ordeal. The company that did the install did a great job, but that's about the only positive thing I can say about this. I will never, ever entrust this kind of purchase to home depot again, and no way would I ever recommend them to anyone, unless you enjoy wasting time, and having to repeatedly call to find out why your door hasn't been installed yet.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Exterior Door Installation

OK but not perfect

PostedDecember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Customer service 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The installers were not very friendly--they never spoke more than a few words to me the whole time they were there. That is fine with me, as I am an introvert and I don't love talking to strangers. Other customers might be put off by that. The main issue we had is that they removed a small piece of floor molding to install the new door frame and forgot to put it back, which I only noticed after they had left and removed all the materials. So we were left having to buy and install for ourselves a new piece of floor molding that doesn't quite match our existing molding. It wasn't a huge deal, but given the high cost of the installation we expected better.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Exterior Door Installation
from Oil City, PA, USA

Fast install on a below freezing day

PostedDecember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We LOVE OUR NEW DOOR!! the only downside to the whole process was the wait time to get it installed. Over 6 weeks is quite awhile to wait for installion! But Chester did a great job and was very courteous!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Exterior Door Installation
from Dallas, TX, USA

guy who installed it seemed nice But????

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This door is the second item that home depot install something. I will never ever ask them to install something for me. I think I am thru with home depot. I am going to give Lowes a try. The guy who installed my back door was a nice guy but I don't think he knew how to measure. The door is smaller than the one before. I cant get my trash can thru it now. Plus he installed it one inch higher than the old one so its bad. I have tripped on the threshold many times now. With a broken back it doesn't feel good to fall on your face or jerk from tripping. The other guys that installed my sliding door also didn't install it very well. Door has been squeaking ever since.
Be aware people who have home depot installers. They don't know what their doing.
I used to build houses and remolded houses until my back was broken.
I will have to tear the brand new back door down and reinstall it myself. Thanks home depot
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy NickiCustomer CareDecember 20, 2013
Kelly we apologize for the disappointment with the door installation & the problems it has caused. We of course do not want you to be dissatisfied & would be happy to look into getting the door fixed so this does not continue. We have created a record of this in our system & it will copy to the install escalation team for review. Please expect a follow up call/email within 48-72 hours. Thank you again.
Review 12 for Exterior Door Installation

Very slow process but end result very good

PostedJanuary 18, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Communication and help at the store was very good. once the installer finally got to our house, the installation was done very good but the whole middle part of the process was very disapointing. There was definately a lack of communication between the store and installer which resulted in a big delay in our installation.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Exterior Door Installation
from Cincinnati

The instalation process was great, but

PostedJanuary 28, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The installer and the final result were great, no complaints. The whole process of ordering a door through Home Depot was terrible. From the beginning the whole process took way too long. There were times I had to call Home Depot to keep the process moving along as they never got back to me. I felt I never received many options when choosing a product to buy. That process took forever and I had to return to the store many times to sit with the door expert as he was confused on how to work the system searching for doors and options I wanted. In the end, I got a product I am satisfied with, but I feel I could have gotten a much better product if more knowledgeable salespeople were involved.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Exterior Door Installation
from Horseshoe Bay, TX

The installer did a great job

PostedDecember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
After installing our new front door our installer noted the wrong trim was included. He made several efforts to get the correct style from HD to match our other doors. When I told him the trim was from XXX Hardware he was willing to spend his own money to make us happy. I tried to get HD to help with the issue to know avail. HD was not willing to fund the installer or refund me. I purchased the trim and the installer did a great job with the installation.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Exterior Door Installation
from Pottsville, PA, USA

acceptable installaiton with substituted parts

PostedOctober 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The problems began with insufficient materials delivered by the manufacturer. Initially, I was told only a week delay which turned out to be 45days delayed installation. I had to press Home Depot for consideration in a partial refund. The installer was not provided proper brick molding or sill plate, but the substitutions proved acceptable. Again, I had to press Home Depot for an additional refund. I find it unacceptable to pay in advance & have to settle. The product good, the installation good, the service from Home Depot-poor!!!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Exterior Door Installation
from Philadelphia, PA, USA

Incompetent staff at Cheltenham PA STORE

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The staff was great when I order the doors. And called me as soon as my order was in. Three weeks after my doors were in was the first date I could receive from the contractors to install the doors. The contractor went to pick up the doors 9am the day of my installation & they were no longer there. After spending 3 days being bounced around from associates, I was finally told by the manager that the doors were stolen. Now I had to wait 2 more weeks to re-order my doors & a new date for installation. The contractors were nice enough to squeeze me in 2 days after the 2nd order of the doors. What professional business allows someone to walk in and take merchandise without showing the work order for them?
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareFebruary 15, 2014
Oh my. Sorry to hear that this happened. We apologize for the delays and are glad to hear that you were able to get the 2nd door installed quickly. We will continue to work to improve our processes. Thanks again.
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareFebruary 15, 2014
Oh my. Sorry to hear that this happened. We apologize for the delays and are glad to hear that you were able to get the 2nd door installed quickly. We will continue to work to improve our processes. Thanks again.
Review 17 for Exterior Door Installation
from Olean, NY 14760, USA

Issues, issues, issues

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Ordered double doors--both doors were drilled--only one door was to be drilled. Went over this in store. Issues with old door led to troubles with install--installer came back multiple days to try and make things right. Framing is cracked/splintered bottom left--they filled/covered with something to hold it together--was told this is how it was delivered and had nothing to do with install. What we wanted and explained in store was not relayed to installer. Siding around framing is now chipped and looks rough--new doors look better than old doors but framing looked much better prior to new doors being installed. Finished product/project is not what we envisioned.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Exterior Door Installation
from Yorktown, VA, USA

Install was professionally done but finish work was sloppy.

PostedJanuary 28, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Customer service 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This was an old house so adjusting the door to the frame was difficult. The actual door installation was 5 star. The installers were very good at that job but they fell apart when it came time to trim the doorway. They used lower grade lumber and actually cut a notch in the base of one board rather than matching the opposite board by removing 2" of half round trim. Seams on the trim were approximately 1/4 '' and they did not seal the trim to the wall. The walls are not straight so some of the gaps were extremely visible. A painter we had filled the cracks and seams so that after painting the mistakes were not so noticible. I will still have to repair the notch at the base of the door when the weather is better.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Exterior Door Installation
from Houston, TX, USA

Very professional service and installation

PostedOctober 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Installer came on time and was finished in 2 hours. He did a beautiful job, everything fit better than original. We love our new door.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Exterior Door Installation
from Schenectady, NY, USA

never recieved call back from installer

PostedDecember 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The work was great but no call back from installer. ..from first contact it took 3 months to get door installed in garage. Very bad service would not use company again..very disappointed
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 168 >>