728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Services or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Exterior Door Installation

Exterior Door Installation

Overall rating:
4.356 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(2668 reviews) 2668
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product2,263 of 2,616reviews
Rating Breakdown 2,668 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(1,809)
4
(418)
3
(163)
2
(138)
1
(140)
87%of customersrecommend this product2,263 of 2,616reviews
Customer reviews for Exterior Door Installation
Review 1 for Exterior Door Installation
from Hendersonville, TN, USA

Very Happy!

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We wanted to replace an old exterior door with a new one with a built-in pet door. Ordered through Home Depot and decided to try their installation service -- very happy that we did! The installer was professional and on time for the measurement and installation appointments. He really knew his stuff and did a fantastic job. The door is well sealed and insulated, the interior and exterior trim look fantastic, and the door functions beautifully. Note that the photos show the old entry hardware that I re-used -- will replace with new hardware when I paint the door. I will definitely use Home Depot installation services in the future!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Exterior Door Installation
from San Antonio, TX, USA

Scheduling an install was a hassle

PostedJune 18, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Although my installation results were beautiful, scheduling the installation was very inconvenient. I had to call a total of 4 times to remind Home Depot to schedule my install. Once my install was scheduled, my installer showed up 3 hour late and didn't finish until 10 pm. He stated my door that was special ordered was lost in inventory and it took an hour just to find it. Quality installation, bad customer service.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Exterior Door Installation
from Olean, NY 14760, USA

Issues, issues, issues

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Ordered double doors--both doors were drilled--only one door was to be drilled. Went over this in store. Issues with old door led to troubles with install--installer came back multiple days to try and make things right. Framing is cracked/splintered bottom left--they filled/covered with something to hold it together--was told this is how it was delivered and had nothing to do with install. What we wanted and explained in store was not relayed to installer. Siding around framing is now chipped and looks rough--new doors look better than old doors but framing looked much better prior to new doors being installed. Finished product/project is not what we envisioned.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Exterior Door Installation
from Dallas, TX, USA

guy who installed it seemed nice But????

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This door is the second item that home depot install something. I will never ever ask them to install something for me. I think I am thru with home depot. I am going to give Lowes a try. The guy who installed my back door was a nice guy but I don't think he knew how to measure. The door is smaller than the one before. I cant get my trash can thru it now. Plus he installed it one inch higher than the old one so its bad. I have tripped on the threshold many times now. With a broken back it doesn't feel good to fall on your face or jerk from tripping. The other guys that installed my sliding door also didn't install it very well. Door has been squeaking ever since.
Be aware people who have home depot installers. They don't know what their doing.
I used to build houses and remolded houses until my back was broken.
I will have to tear the brand new back door down and reinstall it myself. Thanks home depot
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy NickiCustomer CareDecember 20, 2013
Kelly we apologize for the disappointment with the door installation & the problems it has caused. We of course do not want you to be dissatisfied & would be happy to look into getting the door fixed so this does not continue. We have created a record of this in our system & it will copy to the install escalation team for review. Please expect a follow up call/email within 48-72 hours. Thank you again.
Review 5 for Exterior Door Installation
from South Bay, CA, USA

Smooth install process and great results

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The in-stock Masonite pre-hung fiber glass door fit our requirement very well. It did not take long to schedule the installation. The actual install took only a few hours. The area was separated with a big plastic sheet taped to the wall to prevent dust from coming into living room. The insulation is much better.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Exterior Door Installation
from Philadelphia, PA, USA

Incompetent staff at Cheltenham PA STORE

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The staff was great when I order the doors. And called me as soon as my order was in. Three weeks after my doors were in was the first date I could receive from the contractors to install the doors. The contractor went to pick up the doors 9am the day of my installation & they were no longer there. After spending 3 days being bounced around from associates, I was finally told by the manager that the doors were stolen. Now I had to wait 2 more weeks to re-order my doors & a new date for installation. The contractors were nice enough to squeeze me in 2 days after the 2nd order of the doors. What professional business allows someone to walk in and take merchandise without showing the work order for them?
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareFebruary 15, 2014
Oh my. Sorry to hear that this happened. We apologize for the delays and are glad to hear that you were able to get the 2nd door installed quickly. We will continue to work to improve our processes. Thanks again.
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareFebruary 15, 2014
Oh my. Sorry to hear that this happened. We apologize for the delays and are glad to hear that you were able to get the 2nd door installed quickly. We will continue to work to improve our processes. Thanks again.
Review 7 for Exterior Door Installation
from Keene, TX, USA

Very efficient and professional installation of storm door and exterior door.

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My installer Andy arrived on time and was very efficient and professional. Only disappointment was in finding he would not take the old door. I had hoped you partnered with Habitat for Humanity or like organization. I should have covered this at the time of purchase but didn't think of it. Overall very pleased with project.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Exterior Door Installation
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA

Beautiful home entrance

PostedMay 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ron and team at Home Depot did a great job meeting their appointment times, and installed our new door beautifully. There was no mess and cleaned up everything after finishing up. My wife and I are very pleased!!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Exterior Door Installation
from Oklahoma City, OK, USA

little attention to detail

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This whole process has been a difficult one. It took over 2 hours to set up a measure appointment at the store because the clerk didn't know what he was doing. Luckily all of our doors came when it was time to install. One of our doors arrived dented. Neither installer noticed, no remedy offered or provided, we just have to deal with a dented door. The installers left metal shavings and wood splinters all around the doors so my dog stepped in it and ended up with metal shavings in a paw. Doors were left dirty and the little plugs that are installed around the windows to cover the screws were not installed. Installers did not inspect each door with me or show me how to operate the windows. One installer did walk to the end of my driveway to smoke, which I greatly appreciated. It took 2 installers almost 8 hours to install 4 doors. I was not impressed by the efficiency, or attention to detail the installers paid and will not be recommending Home Depot to friends or family in the future.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Exterior Door Installation
from Prospect Heights, IL, USA

Careful and thorough installation

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Set up time for measuring was very delayed because my cell phone number was not used as I had requested and when I would try to return calls to the appointment schedule person even moments after her call to me I was just leaving messages and unable to arrange a measure date for at least two weeks.
I was very satisfied with the actual installation.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Exterior Door Installation
from St. Louis, MO, USA

Very satisfied with installation

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
From the sizing and estimate to the appointment and installation everything went smooth. I was very satisfied with my new door.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Exterior Door Installation
from Houston, TX, USA

Great installation of storm door!

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The door was installed and it is functioning wonderfully. After seeing the whole installation being done, it was just more confirmation that I needed you folks to help me. lol The Anderson door with the dog door is very functional and very well insulated. Even when the temp hit 20 degrees, I felt no cold radiating from the door, window, or dog door. The installer really knows his craft. I like trying DIY stuff but this project was beyond what I could do. I enjoyed learning by watching the pro. Thanks again!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Exterior Door Installation
from Carrollton, TX, USA

Fast correct and clean

PostedMay 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I really liked the total experience of buying the door and having it installed
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Exterior Door Installation
from Texas City, TX, USA

Mess left behind

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The door install was very good. But the installers did not take the old door and left is sitting in the yard. Also the left the packing material from the new door in the yard. I was told at time of purchase that the installer would remove the old door and material and take it with them. They left a mess in my yard.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Exterior Door Installation

Installation process quick and very little problems

PostedJuly 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Door and hardware looks really good. Casing for door blended well with surrounding color scheme (white) LOL. Overall very pleased with how the door turned out and the installation process.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Exterior Door Installation
from Knoxville, TN, USA

Great installation, poor scheduling.

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
The door we purchased was in stock. It took 2 weeks for the guy to come out and measure. Then another week to schedule. Then he got tied up and postpone. That put us at the end of the line instead of bumping the next person. My wife was home recovering from a surgery so if it had been scheduled in a timely manner she would have been home all of the time. As it worked out she had already gone back to work 1/2 days which made it harder to schedule. When the first guy couldn't make it he got someone else to come. This delayed us again. We had scheduled other work with another contractor on a different project. When your guy showed up the other contractor was already there. Your contractor was not the most cooperative in dealing with the other contractor. We ended up with a good door and he did a very good job of installing the door. However, the rest of the process was not handled well. I marked I would recommend Home Depot to someone else but it will be with a warning concerning scheduling.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Exterior Door Installation
from Illinois, USA

Love the door

PostedMay 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Customer service 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Selecting the door, paying for the door, setting up installation was a cinch. We were told the door was instock when we paid for it. After a few weeks the door was scheduled for install, then installer cancelled, then installer rescheduled. Took awhile for the transaction to be completed overall satisfaction after it is now complete is good.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Exterior Door Installation
from Marietta, GA

Great job!

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installer was knowledgeable, helpful, trustworthy and very skilled. Couldn't be happier with the installation of my door. Would not believe how immaculate everything was after he finished and cleaned up.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Exterior Door Installation
from Normal, IL

Took over two months to have correct entry door installed, even though we paid in full up front.

PostedJune 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We had to pay for an installer to measure for our new doors (4). Three were fine but the entry door was ordered incorrectly. We paid up front for all four doors and waited over two months for the correct door to arrive and be installed. We will not return to Home Depot for other products and projects such as this.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Exterior Door Installation
from San Mateo, CA, USA

Outstanding door install service - start to finish

PostedMay 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It was a smooth and seamless process. We picked the exterior doors, locks, and trim we liked. Measurement appointment was prompt, installer was courteous and professional. Estimate was on time. Once payment was made, work was scheduled and completed on time and VERY well. Very satisfied with Home Depot and the Installer.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 134 >>