728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Services or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Exterior Door Installation

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

Exterior Door Installation

Overall rating:
4.279 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(3613 reviews) 3613
Open Ratings Snapshot
84%of customersrecommend this product2,977 of 3,530reviews
Rating Breakdown 3,613 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(2,353)
4
(580)
3
(253)
2
(190)
1
(237)
84%of customersrecommend this product2,977 of 3,530reviews
Customer reviews for Exterior Door Installation
Review 1 for Exterior Door Installation
from Lake Charles, LA, USA

Horrible contractor

PostedMay 6, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The workmanship was terrible quality. The installer left gaps in the frame, scratched the door, didn't leave pieces that came with the door, and was about to leave without installing the step that we had paid extra for until we said something. We've been contacting Home Depot to have the problems fixed, especially because we can't properly lock the door, and the problem still hasn't been resolved. The contractor was supposed to show up yesterday to fix the shoddy work and never showed. I'm very upset with the quality and lack of service.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareMay 8, 2015
Stephanie, we're sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with the workmanship of your door installation. We will be sure to reach out to you to address your concerns and see that this is resolved. Thanks for your feedback.
Review 2 for Exterior Door Installation
from Bartlett, TN, USA

Bad door install

PostedApril 12, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I ordered the door with factory brick mold. Do you see the gap between the brick mold and door frame. The door is not properly flush to the sheet-rock on the rick side.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareApril 20, 2015
Hi Thomas, sorry to see how your door/frame was installed. We will be sure to review your order and see what we can do to help provided the workmanship of this project. Thanks for your continued patience.
Review 3 for Exterior Door Installation
from Menlo Park, CA

Horrible process from start to finish. Took 5 months to install 4 doors.

PostedFebruary 28, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If I could give negative ratings, I would. We were assured a turn key solution and it was anything but. We ordered the doors in October and the project wasn't completed until February. First, it took MONTHS for the doors to arrive...perhaps because the sales associate didn't know what she was doing. Materials for the install were in the garage for weeks but the doors were MIA. On delivery day, only two were delivered when all 4 should have been. Talked to several HD associates who all had different stories. Scheduled install and it was only to be a one day job. However, took 2 days to install the first 2 doors and then another 2 days to install the second two over the span of 6 weeks. I missed a total of 5 days of work to wait on this process. Then, with the last two doors, the job was just sloppy....caulk all over the house paint, not even an attempt to be neat or careful. Installer used a broken piece of moulding (had lots of other pieces to choose from) and then apparently just smeared some caulk over the broken piece to hold it together. Meanwhile, HD kept insisting that they owed us refunds (while we told them they didn't) only to turn around and demand payment and refuse to finish the job until we had repaid the refunds. We have had zero response to complaints from HD and will certainly never recommend them to anyone. In store associates were absolutely not sympathetic or apologetic and basically had the attitude that we needed to deal with it or walk away. I was even told I should be grateful that I didn't have to pay the delivery fee on the two doors that HD neglected to deliver initially. Negative reviews will be going up on social media shortly.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareMarch 2, 2015
Stacey, we are extremely sorry to hear of the workmanship with your installation. We will be sure to reach out to you to discuss your concerns and hope to be able to make things right for you. Thanks for sharing your experience.
Review 4 for Exterior Door Installation
from Tulsa, OK, USA

Had to have installer come back twice. Needs to take more time on there work. Nice people though.

PostedApril 17, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Customer service 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Order went great. Had to wait to get in special trim. Install was done too quick with no attention to detail. Had to have them come out twice. Home depot did great in making sure everything was done to my satisfaction and I'm very great full. Just feel that installer needs to slow down and take the time to do the job right instead of cutting corners. I had to stay with him and watch him to make sure he did it right. In the end all was fixed correctly and I'm satisfied. Just could have gone smoother.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Exterior Door Installation

not what I expected

PostedApril 10, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Doors ok but thay tore up my siding and charged extra th cut the door the size. $75.00
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Exterior Door Installation
from Atlanta, GA, USA

Seamless process

PostedMay 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The purchase process and the salesman was good, the door arrived in the specified time and the installation was terrific.:
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Exterior Door Installation
from Albany, NY, USA

Smith process and great contractor. Love the result

PostedMay 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Great service and results.. First installation and good customer service.. Would highly recommend homedepot to all my friends..
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Exterior Door Installation
from Overland Park, KS, USA

Good job, but took too long

PostedMay 20, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
House had been ransacked; wanted to buy a door the next day. Nope; first had to measure, and they wanted to do it the following week. Explained to the installers what had happened, they were out the next day. Standard door size, pick one out. Nope, measurements have to get into the computer first; another four days. Went in, they tried to get me to order a custom door (another 800$). Nope, standard door. Installers will call in a few days; no call in five more days, got irate on the phone. Took two more days (they wanted ten). Installer showed up with a hangover, smelled of alcohol. Did a good job, left the door covered with sawdust. Took the leftover materials (that I had paid for) with him.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Exterior Door Installation
from Moore, OK, USA

great results.

PostedApril 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
They were fast and really clean, we really like the results
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Exterior Door Installation
from Gardena, CA, USA

Door looks nice, but unable to trust sales associates.

PostedMarch 20, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
To purchase a door from the Home Depot for my first time was such a nightmare and I received the worst customer service in my life, because the sales associates are not knowledgeable and can not answer my questions correctly. As a result, their unprofessional service led to errors and delays to finally have the door installed correctly months later. Even the supervisor, "Rimar" tried to help including compensations, but he was just not reliable. Moreover, I decided to hire Home Depot after all and he looked professional, but for some reason, the door would spring open about 15 degrees and would not shut smoothly. I paid him extra to install a retractable screen door, but he failed and I had to return to door to Home Depot. So as you can see, I can't buy another door or window again from this store. Overall, it costs me more than I anticipated!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Exterior Door Installation
from Atlanta, GA, USA

Great product, poor communication

PostedMay 6, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Poor communication between store and installers. The installer showed up with the wrong product. This caused us to have to reschedule the installation. When the installer when back to the store to pick up the correct product, the store could not find my special order.
Friendly and professional customer service during the ordering process, and friendly and professional installation. However, you have improvements to make in the middle: appointment scheduling, communicating special order delivery dates, coordinating special order delivery to the installers.
We were promised an 8-10 am installation, but the installer didn't arrive until after 11:30am. And, a one-day job turned into two days, with a two week scheduling delay in the middle. I'm not sure why.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Exterior Door Installation
from Richboro, PA

Exterior and Storm Door Installation

PostedOctober 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The installation process went very smoothly. The installer was very knowledgeable and courteous and he made sure not only that he completed the project correctly, but also that we knew how to operate our new doors. I highly recommend this service!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Exterior Door Installation
from Moorhead, MN, USA

Install was just OK, product and experience was disappointing

PostedFebruary 23, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I give credit to the installer for coming out on a near 0-degree day to meet a deadline. I also give him credit for trying to correct a bad situation that was caused by the door not being as ordered. But in the end the door is not very square with a noticeable gap on top v/s the bottom, and was installed using brick mould and trim from the old door (see photo). My siding contractor ultimately completed the finish work to make the door look as it was supposed to, and the local Home Depot reimbursed me for the deficiencies in the order.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Exterior Door Installation
from Houston, TX, USA

quick install, by knowledgeable worker

PostedDecember 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Customer service 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Installer communicated well and when necessary. Onsite early. Fast and accurate work.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Exterior Door Installation
from Atlanta, GA

Great Service

PostedMay 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
My husband and I are thoroughly satisfied with our door. The salesperson, Ms. Sashata was extremely knowledgeable and walked us through the process. The installation went very smooth and was completed in excellent time. Thank you for an outstanding experience and we have already referred your store to other HOs in the subdivision.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Exterior Door Installation
from tooele, ut

Door needs to be adjusted.

PostedMay 11, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Tried to call multiple times and no one answers the phone.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Exterior Door Installation
from Victorville, CA, USA

Great installer, poor customer service will not use you again!

PostedFebruary 18, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After spending $8000 on doors, one was damaged on arrival and one was sent with the wrong glass. The damaged door took another 6 weeks to arrive. I had to call to get updates and was told it happens with custom orders. Was not communicated with effectively until I finally got a manager to intervene. I ordered my doors before Thanksgiving and they were not completed until February. I made 2 credit card payments before my project was complete. I had a $22k kitchen installed and $8k worth of doors, bathroom and windows are next on my list and I will not use home depot!!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Exterior Door Installation
from Dallas, TX, USA

guy who installed it seemed nice But????

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This door is the second item that home depot install something. I will never ever ask them to install something for me. I think I am thru with home depot. I am going to give Lowes a try. The guy who installed my back door was a nice guy but I don't think he knew how to measure. The door is smaller than the one before. I cant get my trash can thru it now. Plus he installed it one inch higher than the old one so its bad. I have tripped on the threshold many times now. With a broken back it doesn't feel good to fall on your face or jerk from tripping. The other guys that installed my sliding door also didn't install it very well. Door has been squeaking ever since.
Be aware people who have home depot installers. They don't know what their doing.
I used to build houses and remolded houses until my back was broken.
I will have to tear the brand new back door down and reinstall it myself. Thanks home depot
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy NickiCustomer CareDecember 20, 2013
Kelly we apologize for the disappointment with the door installation & the problems it has caused. We of course do not want you to be dissatisfied & would be happy to look into getting the door fixed so this does not continue. We have created a record of this in our system & it will copy to the install escalation team for review. Please expect a follow up call/email within 48-72 hours. Thank you again.
Review 19 for Exterior Door Installation
from Anderson, SC, USA

quality service and quick install.

PostedFebruary 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Love the door, I just wished it could have came painted already since it had to be ordered. The door would look much better than the paint job we did.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Exterior Door Installation

It took 4 attempts and 4+ months for our doors to be installed...

PostedJanuary 1, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It was a painful process working with Home Depot to have 3 doors installed. With incorrect measuring, damaged products and multiple bad lines of communication between Home Depot and the installation company, and the installation company and their employees, the project dragged on for 4+ months. We do NOT recommend Home Depot.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 181 >>