728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Services or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Exterior Door Installation

Exterior Door Installation

Overall rating:
4.332 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(2881 reviews) 2881
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product2,429 of 2,823reviews
Rating Breakdown 2,881 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(1,922)
4
(462)
3
(187)
2
(150)
1
(160)
86%of customersrecommend this product2,429 of 2,823reviews
Customer reviews for Exterior Door Installation
Review 1 for Exterior Door Installation
from Warminster, PA, USA

Installer himself was great.. Home Depot dropped the ball

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The installer was great. He was very professional and did a great job on the install. I ordered a door and picked out exactly what I wanted. After I placed the order Home Depot learned that that door company was not a retailer for Home Depot anymore. Home Depot, unbeknownst to me, then ordered another door from another company which ended up taking nearly 2 months to arrive. When it arrived it was the wrong door from the one I ordered. The wrong door needed to be installed because my current door was unable to be secured due to it being in poor condition. So I have the wrong door on my home with no trim around the door and it looks terrible. The installer told me that he didn't feel it was a good idea to install the trim on the door due to another door was going to be installed. He advised me that he would have to cut the floor trim to fit the side trim and he didn't want to cut it and it be too short when the new door and trim comes in. Still waiting for my new door to come in and be reinstalled causing another inconvenience to me. When I spoke to the employee he blamed me and told me that I had ordered the door that arrived. He then told me that I was the one who ordered the new door because he told me that they did not do work with that company any more. When I told him that I had no part in ordering the second (wrong) door, he told me that I had to have been. I feel as if I did not need to be blamed for the mistake which was not my fault. After hearing him repeat himself several times about it being my fault and not his I had to cut him off and ask him how we can resolve the problem rather than play the blame game.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Exterior Door Installation
from Plano, TX, USA

Outstanding Experience all the way around!

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The process to order a new fiberglass 8 foot door was easy. The Home Depot staff was very helpful. It took a while to get the door in since it was custom made. Once the door arrived we were called to set up an appointment and on the date of set up everything went very smoothly. Nigel showed up removed and took the old door/frame and the new door was installed with great care even to the security wires and sensors (all were retained) and every thing was cleaned up as if he was not there. I highly recommend Home Deport for any of your Exterior door needs!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Exterior Door Installation
from Ithaca, NY, USA

We love our new front door!

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The entrance to our home was beginning to look a little shabby after 20 years of kids, grandkids, and dogs. A front door install was beyond my skills so we purchased the install with the door. As I watched the professional installer work, I realized that it was the best decision we could have made.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Exterior Door Installation
from Hendersonville, TN, USA

Very Happy!

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We wanted to replace an old exterior door with a new one with a built-in pet door. Ordered through Home Depot and decided to try their installation service -- very happy that we did! The installer was professional and on time for the measurement and installation appointments. He really knew his stuff and did a fantastic job. The door is well sealed and insulated, the interior and exterior trim look fantastic, and the door functions beautifully. Note that the photos show the old entry hardware that I re-used -- will replace with new hardware when I paint the door. I will definitely use Home Depot installation services in the future!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Exterior Door Installation
from Dallas, TX, USA

guy who installed it seemed nice But????

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This door is the second item that home depot install something. I will never ever ask them to install something for me. I think I am thru with home depot. I am going to give Lowes a try. The guy who installed my back door was a nice guy but I don't think he knew how to measure. The door is smaller than the one before. I cant get my trash can thru it now. Plus he installed it one inch higher than the old one so its bad. I have tripped on the threshold many times now. With a broken back it doesn't feel good to fall on your face or jerk from tripping. The other guys that installed my sliding door also didn't install it very well. Door has been squeaking ever since.
Be aware people who have home depot installers. They don't know what their doing.
I used to build houses and remolded houses until my back was broken.
I will have to tear the brand new back door down and reinstall it myself. Thanks home depot
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy NickiCustomer CareDecember 20, 2013
Kelly we apologize for the disappointment with the door installation & the problems it has caused. We of course do not want you to be dissatisfied & would be happy to look into getting the door fixed so this does not continue. We have created a record of this in our system & it will copy to the install escalation team for review. Please expect a follow up call/email within 48-72 hours. Thank you again.
Review 6 for Exterior Door Installation
from San Antonio, TX, USA

Scheduling an install was a hassle

PostedJune 18, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Although my installation results were beautiful, scheduling the installation was very inconvenient. I had to call a total of 4 times to remind Home Depot to schedule my install. Once my install was scheduled, my installer showed up 3 hour late and didn't finish until 10 pm. He stated my door that was special ordered was lost in inventory and it took an hour just to find it. Quality installation, bad customer service.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Exterior Door Installation
from Olean, NY 14760, USA

Issues, issues, issues

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Ordered double doors--both doors were drilled--only one door was to be drilled. Went over this in store. Issues with old door led to troubles with install--installer came back multiple days to try and make things right. Framing is cracked/splintered bottom left--they filled/covered with something to hold it together--was told this is how it was delivered and had nothing to do with install. What we wanted and explained in store was not relayed to installer. Siding around framing is now chipped and looks rough--new doors look better than old doors but framing looked much better prior to new doors being installed. Finished product/project is not what we envisioned.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Exterior Door Installation
from Western New York

Great installation and product

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Everything went extremely well from the purchase to the final installation. Couldn't be happier!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Exterior Door Installation
from Philadelphia, PA, USA

Incompetent staff at Cheltenham PA STORE

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The staff was great when I order the doors. And called me as soon as my order was in. Three weeks after my doors were in was the first date I could receive from the contractors to install the doors. The contractor went to pick up the doors 9am the day of my installation & they were no longer there. After spending 3 days being bounced around from associates, I was finally told by the manager that the doors were stolen. Now I had to wait 2 more weeks to re-order my doors & a new date for installation. The contractors were nice enough to squeeze me in 2 days after the 2nd order of the doors. What professional business allows someone to walk in and take merchandise without showing the work order for them?
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareFebruary 15, 2014
Oh my. Sorry to hear that this happened. We apologize for the delays and are glad to hear that you were able to get the 2nd door installed quickly. We will continue to work to improve our processes. Thanks again.
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareFebruary 15, 2014
Oh my. Sorry to hear that this happened. We apologize for the delays and are glad to hear that you were able to get the 2nd door installed quickly. We will continue to work to improve our processes. Thanks again.
Review 10 for Exterior Door Installation
from Logan Square, Chicago, IL, USA

outstanding service and installation

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I recently had a exterior door replaced thru home depot in logan square- chicago
I initialy came to the store and met with the team in doors about my needs
and a possible installation using the store.
Both (Sam and Adam) were exactly what I needed and wanted as to the replacement
of my door. They were honest about the cost, durability of the product (and other products) and the installation
that could be complicated as I own a very old home.
The quality of the work to be done was of utmost importance to me- no matter how long
I needed to wait- and both (Sam and Adam) honored my requests.
When XXX(installer) came for the estimate and later the installation- his skill and knowledge about the project
were outstanding and I cannot say enough great things about his work.
I am more than happy with my new door and the installation and the service I received
from Adam and Sam- store employees
I wish to commend you on these staff people in your store and Zed the installer.
Thank you so very much for the oustanding service I received in this situation.
Melinda E. GIbson, MD
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Exterior Door Installation
from South Bay, CA, USA

Smooth install process and great results

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The in-stock Masonite pre-hung fiber glass door fit our requirement very well. It did not take long to schedule the installation. The actual install took only a few hours. The area was separated with a big plastic sheet taped to the wall to prevent dust from coming into living room. The insulation is much better.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Exterior Door Installation
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA

Beautiful home entrance

PostedMay 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ron and team at Home Depot did a great job meeting their appointment times, and installed our new door beautifully. There was no mess and cleaned up everything after finishing up. My wife and I are very pleased!!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Exterior Door Installation

Took awhile but the doors are Beautiful.

PostedAugust 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Love the updated look of both doors. Even had compliments of neighbors across the street, and the 92 year old neighbor next door-and he gives an Eagle eye to everything : ) We're very pleased with the doors. Thanks!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Exterior Door Installation
from Keene, TX, USA

Very efficient and professional installation of storm door and exterior door.

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My installer Andy arrived on time and was very efficient and professional. Only disappointment was in finding he would not take the old door. I had hoped you partnered with Habitat for Humanity or like organization. I should have covered this at the time of purchase but didn't think of it. Overall very pleased with project.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Exterior Door Installation
from Oklahoma City, OK, USA

little attention to detail

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This whole process has been a difficult one. It took over 2 hours to set up a measure appointment at the store because the clerk didn't know what he was doing. Luckily all of our doors came when it was time to install. One of our doors arrived dented. Neither installer noticed, no remedy offered or provided, we just have to deal with a dented door. The installers left metal shavings and wood splinters all around the doors so my dog stepped in it and ended up with metal shavings in a paw. Doors were left dirty and the little plugs that are installed around the windows to cover the screws were not installed. Installers did not inspect each door with me or show me how to operate the windows. One installer did walk to the end of my driveway to smoke, which I greatly appreciated. It took 2 installers almost 8 hours to install 4 doors. I was not impressed by the efficiency, or attention to detail the installers paid and will not be recommending Home Depot to friends or family in the future.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Exterior Door Installation
from Prospect Heights, IL, USA

Careful and thorough installation

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Set up time for measuring was very delayed because my cell phone number was not used as I had requested and when I would try to return calls to the appointment schedule person even moments after her call to me I was just leaving messages and unable to arrange a measure date for at least two weeks.
I was very satisfied with the actual installation.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Exterior Door Installation
from Plano, TX

looks like its not finished.

PostedAugust 30, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
very disappointed they left the bottom, outside, like it is. they took out concrete and did not replace.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Exterior Door Installation
from Plano, TX

The Way You Want Things To Work

PostedAugust 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Order placed, received, installer call to make an appoinment to install, shows up early for appointment, performs installation, and is gone. Just the way you always hope thing will go.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Exterior Door Installation
from St. Louis, MO, USA

Very satisfied with installation

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
From the sizing and estimate to the appointment and installation everything went smooth. I was very satisfied with my new door.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Exterior Door Installation
from Charleston, WV, USA

The product was installed in a timely manner and looked great.

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The door looks great and is a nice addition to the house. I liked the installers work. They showed up on time and worked consistently, then cleaned up when they were finished. I would recommend them to anyone.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 145 >>