728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Services or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Exterior Door Installation

Exterior Door Installation

Overall rating:
4.285 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(3507 reviews) 3507
Open Ratings Snapshot
84%of customersrecommend this product2,895 of 3,428reviews
Rating Breakdown 3,507 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(2,288)
4
(564)
3
(246)
2
(183)
1
(226)
84%of customersrecommend this product2,895 of 3,428reviews
Customer reviews for Exterior Door Installation
Review 1 for Exterior Door Installation
from Menlo Park, CA

Horrible process from start to finish. Took 5 months to install 4 doors.

PostedFebruary 28, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If I could give negative ratings, I would. We were assured a turn key solution and it was anything but. We ordered the doors in October and the project wasn't completed until February. First, it took MONTHS for the doors to arrive...perhaps because the sales associate didn't know what she was doing. Materials for the install were in the garage for weeks but the doors were MIA. On delivery day, only two were delivered when all 4 should have been. Talked to several HD associates who all had different stories. Scheduled install and it was only to be a one day job. However, took 2 days to install the first 2 doors and then another 2 days to install the second two over the span of 6 weeks. I missed a total of 5 days of work to wait on this process. Then, with the last two doors, the job was just sloppy....caulk all over the house paint, not even an attempt to be neat or careful. Installer used a broken piece of moulding (had lots of other pieces to choose from) and then apparently just smeared some caulk over the broken piece to hold it together. Meanwhile, HD kept insisting that they owed us refunds (while we told them they didn't) only to turn around and demand payment and refuse to finish the job until we had repaid the refunds. We have had zero response to complaints from HD and will certainly never recommend them to anyone. In store associates were absolutely not sympathetic or apologetic and basically had the attitude that we needed to deal with it or walk away. I was even told I should be grateful that I didn't have to pay the delivery fee on the two doors that HD neglected to deliver initially. Negative reviews will be going up on social media shortly.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareMarch 2, 2015
Stacey, we are extremely sorry to hear of the workmanship with your installation. We will be sure to reach out to you to discuss your concerns and hope to be able to make things right for you. Thanks for sharing your experience.
Review 2 for Exterior Door Installation
from Gardena, CA, USA

Door looks nice, but unable to trust sales associates.

PostedMarch 20, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
To purchase a door from the Home Depot for my first time was such a nightmare and I received the worst customer service in my life, because the sales associates are not knowledgeable and can not answer my questions correctly. As a result, their unprofessional service led to errors and delays to finally have the door installed correctly months later. Even the supervisor, "Rimar" tried to help including compensations, but he was just not reliable. Moreover, I decided to hire Home Depot after all and he looked professional, but for some reason, the door would spring open about 15 degrees and would not shut smoothly. I paid him extra to install a retractable screen door, but he failed and I had to return to door to Home Depot. So as you can see, I can't buy another door or window again from this store. Overall, it costs me more than I anticipated!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Exterior Door Installation
from Moorhead, MN, USA

Install was just OK, product and experience was disappointing

PostedFebruary 23, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I give credit to the installer for coming out on a near 0-degree day to meet a deadline. I also give him credit for trying to correct a bad situation that was caused by the door not being as ordered. But in the end the door is not very square with a noticeable gap on top v/s the bottom, and was installed using brick mould and trim from the old door (see photo). My siding contractor ultimately completed the finish work to make the door look as it was supposed to, and the local Home Depot reimbursed me for the deficiencies in the order.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Exterior Door Installation
from Richboro, PA

Exterior and Storm Door Installation

PostedOctober 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The installation process went very smoothly. The installer was very knowledgeable and courteous and he made sure not only that he completed the project correctly, but also that we knew how to operate our new doors. I highly recommend this service!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Exterior Door Installation
from Houston, TX, USA

quick install, by knowledgeable worker

PostedDecember 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Customer service 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Installer communicated well and when necessary. Onsite early. Fast and accurate work.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Exterior Door Installation
from Victorville, CA, USA

Great installer, poor customer service will not use you again!

PostedFebruary 18, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After spending $8000 on doors, one was damaged on arrival and one was sent with the wrong glass. The damaged door took another 6 weeks to arrive. I had to call to get updates and was told it happens with custom orders. Was not communicated with effectively until I finally got a manager to intervene. I ordered my doors before Thanksgiving and they were not completed until February. I made 2 credit card payments before my project was complete. I had a $22k kitchen installed and $8k worth of doors, bathroom and windows are next on my list and I will not use home depot!!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Exterior Door Installation
from Anderson, SC, USA

quality service and quick install.

PostedFebruary 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Love the door, I just wished it could have came painted already since it had to be ordered. The door would look much better than the paint job we did.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Exterior Door Installation
from Muenster, TX 76252, USA

Door installatio

PostedFebruary 4, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The whole experience was horrible. We ordered in November and didn't get our door until late January. It was first damaged, then never reordered until I tracked down people at the store several times complaining and asking where it was. No one took responsibility or followed up. No one knew anything about how to do this. It was one of the most frustrating experiences I ever had with any store. If you offer a service you should have people who know something about how to order it and if it is not done follow up without being hounded by the customer repeated. I should have gotten a discount offered for the poor service delivered. I had to pay up front and no one cared once they got my money. I was told by the installer the store could match the color so I could paint the trim and when I went to the paint department I was virtually impossible to get the color without bringing in the door so they could color match even though it was a standard color choice offered by Home Depot. Probably never use Home Depot for anything I can't pick up and carry out of the store myself.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Exterior Door Installation

It took 4 attempts and 4+ months for our doors to be installed...

PostedJanuary 1, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It was a painful process working with Home Depot to have 3 doors installed. With incorrect measuring, damaged products and multiple bad lines of communication between Home Depot and the installation company, and the installation company and their employees, the project dragged on for 4+ months. We do NOT recommend Home Depot.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Exterior Door Installation
from Warminster, PA, USA

My expectations for the purchase of my door were completely met

PostedJanuary 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The inside staff was knowledgeable about the specifics for purchasing an exterior door. My questions were answered to my satisfaction. The entire plan from beginning to end was explained to me so that I was fully aware of the process. The installers were polite and informative. They also answered my questions to my satisfaction. The installation process was smooth and I got a door that is beautiful and one that I love! What and enhancement to my home.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Exterior Door Installation
from Broken Arrow, OK, USA

Great installer and workmanship

PostedFebruary 5, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
We were called numerous times by the Home Depot location about the door left at the store for the installer asking when we were going to pick up our door. The estimate we were given and the high end amount of estimate we were given at the store were WAY OFF. We called numerous times to get straight the process and we continued to get calls and t.hen the last time we called, we were told we had to pay for the install first. When we initially bought the door we tried to pay for the install and then when the estimate was given we tried to pay for the install and then when we had not heard back we called again and were told we had to come in and pay for the install. Duh. :) The installer was friendly, professional, cleanly, and his is awesome. Door looks and works great.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Exterior Door Installation

Terrible installation service

PostedMarch 4, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It took more than 2 months to get a door installed completely. The day of the installation installer called me telling me I needed a door with 2 pre-made holes instead of 1. And that he couldn't make an extra one because he didn't have the tools. Or that I needed to called a locksmith. The store told me the this door does support 2 holes but I can call a locksmith.
The requirements and measurements are collected by the installer before buying the door. And then they are given to the store. But when I bought the door I wasn't told that I needed one with 2 pre-made holes.
So after calling corporate customer service I got a call from the store which sent again the same installer to make the extra hole.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Exterior Door Installation

Late late late

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I ordered and paid for a door in Nov. It was not delivered and installed until January. I was not kept informed as to when to expect delivery other than a phone call in December in which my expectations were set to see the door before Christmas...and then nothing until I called 2 weeks after new years.
Seriously disappointed, will not order windows from Home Depot due to this experience.
3rd party contracted installer was great.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Exterior Door Installation
from Michigan, USA

I am extremely happy with the work and my new doors.

PostedMarch 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I would definitely recommend the installation. It made the process go smoothly.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Exterior Door Installation
from Lee's Summit, MO, USA

Good store design support and two very competent installers at our home!

PostedMarch 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Excellent all the way around, thanks for the design and ordering assistance too.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Exterior Door Installation
from Austin, TX, USA

they needed more time so hurried toward the end to get done. final work was sloppy.

PostedNovember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
One of the sliding doors was not put in correctly and I need to call service to have it refitted.
They didn't clip the finishing nails on the front door or fill the nail holes
the door handle was not installed correctly, the door didn't actually latch unless pushed in.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Exterior Door Installation
from Chicago, IL, USA

Home Depot was helpful, door was cracked, installers didn't show up the first time

PostedFebruary 18, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Home Depot was great with follow-through and all the store employees were very helpful. We noticed when we started staining it that the Jeld-Wen door was split on the bottom and we didn't want to wait another two months for a new one so just decided to live with it. The contractor who did the install did a good job but never showed up for the first install after scheduling it 90 days in advance. I called them mid-day and they said they weren't coming. Then they failed to call again for a reschedule and I had to call them again. Eventually they showed up and did a nice job.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Exterior Door Installation
from Dallas, TX, USA

guy who installed it seemed nice But????

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This door is the second item that home depot install something. I will never ever ask them to install something for me. I think I am thru with home depot. I am going to give Lowes a try. The guy who installed my back door was a nice guy but I don't think he knew how to measure. The door is smaller than the one before. I cant get my trash can thru it now. Plus he installed it one inch higher than the old one so its bad. I have tripped on the threshold many times now. With a broken back it doesn't feel good to fall on your face or jerk from tripping. The other guys that installed my sliding door also didn't install it very well. Door has been squeaking ever since.
Be aware people who have home depot installers. They don't know what their doing.
I used to build houses and remolded houses until my back was broken.
I will have to tear the brand new back door down and reinstall it myself. Thanks home depot
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy NickiCustomer CareDecember 20, 2013
Kelly we apologize for the disappointment with the door installation & the problems it has caused. We of course do not want you to be dissatisfied & would be happy to look into getting the door fixed so this does not continue. We have created a record of this in our system & it will copy to the install escalation team for review. Please expect a follow up call/email within 48-72 hours. Thank you again.
Review 19 for Exterior Door Installation

Was not professionally orcastrated at all

PostedFebruary 18, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Manager did not want to give any money back after it took 3 months to install a door. After over 5 phone calls he did give in but still was not fair compensation. Will never, never use Home Depot again for that purpose.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Exterior Door Installation
from California, USA

Installer did an excellent job.

PostedJanuary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The installer came the day and time requested. He was friendly, efficient and knowledgeable about what he was doing. He draped everything around the job site to prevent dust and debris from entering the house. He went out of his way to added pieces that made everything match. Excellent job. Very happy with the installer.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 176 >>