728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Services or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Exterior Door Installation

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

Exterior Door Installation

Overall rating:
4.262 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(3781 reviews) 3781
Open Ratings Snapshot
84%of customersrecommend this product3,100 of 3,692reviews
Rating Breakdown 3,781 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(2,448)
4
(604)
3
(263)
2
(202)
1
(264)
84%of customersrecommend this product3,100 of 3,692reviews
Customer reviews for Exterior Door Installation
Review 1 for Exterior Door Installation
from Lake Charles, LA, USA

Horrible contractor

PostedMay 6, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The workmanship was terrible quality. The installer left gaps in the frame, scratched the door, didn't leave pieces that came with the door, and was about to leave without installing the step that we had paid extra for until we said something. We've been contacting Home Depot to have the problems fixed, especially because we can't properly lock the door, and the problem still hasn't been resolved. The contractor was supposed to show up yesterday to fix the shoddy work and never showed. I'm very upset with the quality and lack of service.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareMay 8, 2015
Stephanie, we're sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with the workmanship of your door installation. We will be sure to reach out to you to address your concerns and see that this is resolved. Thanks for your feedback.
Review 2 for Exterior Door Installation
from Marietta, GA, USA

Poor measurement and information leads to major issues at install

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
First I want to say that this is the first poor experience I have had with HD. We have had many major projects, but never an issue until the doors. The in store people were wonderful in facilitating the necessary issues to resolution.
The major issue was that the inital measurement did not take into account the difference in the threshold size from the original doors, leaving a gap of almost an inch across the top of the door frame. A gap at the top, interior flooring and carpet needed to be stretched were all caused by the difference in the threshold size.. They did fix the carpet and floors, but the hole at the top of all 3 doors needed to be addressed.The installer was excellent and did all he could,but he couldnt stretch the doors. The bottom line was after 3 visits by "management" they would not admit the problem. The holes were covered up. We reached an agreement to settle the issue. But never again will I have a construction project with HD.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Exterior Door Installation
from Bartlett, TN, USA

Bad door install

PostedApril 12, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I ordered the door with factory brick mold. Do you see the gap between the brick mold and door frame. The door is not properly flush to the sheet-rock on the rick side.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareApril 20, 2015
Hi Thomas, sorry to see how your door/frame was installed. We will be sure to review your order and see what we can do to help provided the workmanship of this project. Thanks for your continued patience.
Review 4 for Exterior Door Installation
from Menlo Park, CA

Horrible process from start to finish. Took 5 months to install 4 doors.

PostedFebruary 28, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If I could give negative ratings, I would. We were assured a turn key solution and it was anything but. We ordered the doors in October and the project wasn't completed until February. First, it took MONTHS for the doors to arrive...perhaps because the sales associate didn't know what she was doing. Materials for the install were in the garage for weeks but the doors were MIA. On delivery day, only two were delivered when all 4 should have been. Talked to several HD associates who all had different stories. Scheduled install and it was only to be a one day job. However, took 2 days to install the first 2 doors and then another 2 days to install the second two over the span of 6 weeks. I missed a total of 5 days of work to wait on this process. Then, with the last two doors, the job was just sloppy....caulk all over the house paint, not even an attempt to be neat or careful. Installer used a broken piece of moulding (had lots of other pieces to choose from) and then apparently just smeared some caulk over the broken piece to hold it together. Meanwhile, HD kept insisting that they owed us refunds (while we told them they didn't) only to turn around and demand payment and refuse to finish the job until we had repaid the refunds. We have had zero response to complaints from HD and will certainly never recommend them to anyone. In store associates were absolutely not sympathetic or apologetic and basically had the attitude that we needed to deal with it or walk away. I was even told I should be grateful that I didn't have to pay the delivery fee on the two doors that HD neglected to deliver initially. Negative reviews will be going up on social media shortly.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareMarch 2, 2015
Stacey, we are extremely sorry to hear of the workmanship with your installation. We will be sure to reach out to you to discuss your concerns and hope to be able to make things right for you. Thanks for sharing your experience.
Review 5 for Exterior Door Installation
from Maumelle, AR, USA

Extremely pleased

PostedJuly 29, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Installation was done perfectly and in a timely manner . Product was superior quality and just what was desired. I am so very pleased with my purchase from Home Depot even if I had to wait 6 weeks for delivery
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Exterior Door Installation
from Dallas, TX, USA

Great up front sales - slow on details for install date

PostedJuly 1, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Was a good experience working with sales staff. Things went downhill from there. Waiting nearly a month for the install guy to put on a new exterior door. The storm door was on back order so another 2 weeks went by before that got installed.
Workmanship was good on the exterior door. Storm door guy wanted to re-schedule as he claimed door guy didn't trim out properly, but convinced him his task as assigned was to install the door. In finality, am happy with the quality of the materials, doors and ultimately the install..
On a side note, neither installer never used a level of plumb line to square the door, but I had my level and I'll say they came really close to being level and plum without.. #impressiveinstallers
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Exterior Door Installation
from Aurora, CO

Good Service

PostedJuly 24, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Everything needed was done to make this install correct. The installer did a great job. Our only complaint was not understanding in advance that some items would need to be painted, which was very difficult to do after the installation. We would have much rather brought the items home and painted them prior to install. Otherwise very good
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Exterior Door Installation
from Houston, Tx

Delivered as promised, and better

PostedJuly 22, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The door installed was an improvement over the previous door. It is much stronger and thicker. The installer was very polite and competent. No extra charges were incurred!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Exterior Door Installation

They were very professional..... Did a terrific job, looks grear

PostedJuly 22, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Would strongly recommend the gentleman that did our installation. They were professional, courteous, did great work and cleaned up after themselves.
We were extremely pleased
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Exterior Door Installation

Awesome door.

PostedJuly 15, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Love this door! The whole process went smoothly and I am extremely happy with my door purchase.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Exterior Door Installation
from Morton, IL, USA

Jen Weld French and 6 lite steel door purchase and install

PostedJune 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The product of Jen Weld was researched for purchase compared to national brand doors, rating was greater or equal to a name brand but was affordable for middle income budget. The installation price was quoted on the free measuring of replacing areas so I was ready for the price, which I was aware there would be problems because of the age of the old doors. Product was picked up at store and installed with the expertise of tradesman in the field of installing doors in a home. I have been excited every time I look out or go out of these doors the quality of the product and installation makes this old house look like a new house built. When ordering doors make sure hardware such as hinges and deadbolt entry are explained are in matching colors. New trender colors on entry handles are not matching hardware on doors
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Exterior Door Installation
from Louisville, KY, USA

Smooth process and great results

PostedJuly 1, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy process, great staff, and amazing quality! Took a little while for the special ordered door to come in from the distributor (that wasn't Home Depots fault), but other than that absolutely no complaints! LOVE my new front door and storm door!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Exterior Door Installation
from Tulsa, OK, USA

Had to have installer come back twice. Needs to take more time on there work. Nice people though.

PostedApril 17, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Customer service 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Order went great. Had to wait to get in special trim. Install was done too quick with no attention to detail. Had to have them come out twice. Home depot did great in making sure everything was done to my satisfaction and I'm very great full. Just feel that installer needs to slow down and take the time to do the job right instead of cutting corners. I had to stay with him and watch him to make sure he did it right. In the end all was fixed correctly and I'm satisfied. Just could have gone smoother.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Exterior Door Installation
from Cincinnati, OH, USA

Purchased door Feb 2014, still not finished with trying to make it right.

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Have had door replaced, astricle replaced several times, have had installers out, have had FeatherRiver reps out. Still not right. Have asked for reimbursement-was told to wait until door issues complete to discuss. Worst purchase I have ever made in my life.
Still can see light from inside to outside(although getting some better. Do not believe vinly covered foam pads are considered permanent fix for door not fitting well with in frame. I could go on for hours.( After all it has been 1 1/2 years and still not done)
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareJune 11, 2015
Sorry to hear that you have still not had your installation issues resolved. We will be happy to get involved and see that this is put behind you as soon as possible. Due to lack of contact details, we will be sure to reach out to you via email and work to address your concerns.
Review 15 for Exterior Door Installation
from Overland Park, KS, USA

Good job, but took too long

PostedMay 20, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Customer service 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
House had been ransacked; wanted to buy a door the next day. Nope; first had to measure, and they wanted to do it the following week. Explained to the installers what had happened, they were out the next day. Standard door size, pick one out. Nope, measurements have to get into the computer first; another four days. Went in, they tried to get me to order a custom door (another 800$). Nope, standard door. Installers will call in a few days; no call in five more days, got irate on the phone. Took two more days (they wanted ten). Installer showed up with a hangover, smelled of alcohol. Did a good job, left the door covered with sawdust. Took the leftover materials (that I had paid for) with him.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Exterior Door Installation

not what I expected

PostedApril 10, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Customer service 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Doors ok but thay tore up my siding and charged extra th cut the door the size. $75.00
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Exterior Door Installation
from Cleburne, TX, USA

Part of the install and product was bad

PostedJune 3, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Installer was nice but part of the installation was not good and the part of the product was bad. The plate on the door jam for the locking mechanism was not installed well. Also part of a trim board was broken and we did not see it until after the installation was done.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy Robert GCustomer CareJune 8, 2015
Thanks for your feedback Kevin. We understand you have some concerns with the workmanship of your door installation and will be sure to review your order and follow up with you to help get this resolved. Thanks for your patience. We will be in touch to assist further.
Review 18 for Exterior Door Installation
from Harbor City, Los Angeles, CA, USA

The new entry door w/sidelights is beautiful!

PostedJuly 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The installers were friendly, competent and efficient. The door operates very smoothly unlike any other entry door we've seen. The frame feels very strong and sturdy. Most of all the whole installation, door and two sidelights is strikingly beautiful. It brings more light into the house and makes it easier to see what is outside.
Thank you to all the Home Depot Team,
F. Gray
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Exterior Door Installation

would not use home depot again

PostedJuly 15, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Customer service 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
ordered doors in april, did not get installed until end of june. it took one extra month to get the door painted and they don't tell you that ahead of time. if I would of known I would of done it myself. sent guy out without proper trim for front door. had to wait three weeks for the right trim. our back door got installed and there is an inch gap between the trim around the door and the shingles. I had to hire another contractor to fill the gap with trim. when we brought it up to the contractor all he said was that he caulked it. like that was good enough. it looked terrible. would never use home depot again for any kind of construction work.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Exterior Door Installation
from Atlanta, GA, USA

Seamless process

PostedMay 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The purchase process and the salesman was good, the door arrived in the specified time and the installation was terrific.:
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 190 >>