728*90 Advertising Space
Home>

Customer reviews for X4 18-Volt Hyper Lithium-Ion Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit (3-Tool) with Radio

X4 18-Volt Hyper Lithium-Ion Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit (3-Tool) with Radio

The RIDGID 18-Volt compact drill and impact driver combo with free radio has best-in-class torque for the most demanding applications. With free registration, this tool is covered for life. Free batteries, free parts and free service for life. Includes: R86008 Drill, R86034 impact driver, charger, (2) R840085 1.5Ah Lithium-Ion batteries, (2) bits, R84084 radio, bag, auxiliary handle assembly, (2) belt clips and operator's manuals.
Overall rating:
4.475 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(667 reviews) 666
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 667 reviews
5 stars
501
4 stars
83
3 stars
21
2 stars
23
1 star
39
594 out of 657(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
63 Questions | 346 Answers
Customer reviews for X4 18-Volt Hyper Lithium-Ion Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit (3-Tool) with Radio
Review 1 for X4 18-Volt Hyper Lithium-Ion Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit (3-Tool) with Radio
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a great little radio!!

,
PostedApril 14, 2013
Customer avatar
from Spanaway, WA, USA
 
Please wait while more information about buckeyedad is loaded.
Additional information about buckeyedad could not be loaded.
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Home improvement profile:DIYer
Level of expertise:Beginner
Length of ownership:1 week
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
I did a lot of research before I decided on this Ridgid combo. I can't believe how powerful they really are! The lights have really good placement on the tools as well. There were two main selling points for me on this combo... 1) You get a lifetime warranty on the tool and battery after you register your serial number! 2) You get a very impressive little radio with surprisingly big sound, and with an mp3 aux plug-in for the same price as the two tool combo. You can't go wrong!
Pros: Durable, Strong Suction, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
Yes, I recommend this product.
+53points
73out of 93found this review helpful.
Review 2 for X4 18-Volt Hyper Lithium-Ion Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit (3-Tool) with Radio
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rigid kit is amazing

,
PostedMay 15, 2013
Customer avatar
from Santee, CA, USA
 
Please wait while more information about sandiegohaunted is loaded.
Additional information about sandiegohaunted could not be loaded.
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Home improvement profile:DIYer
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Length of ownership:1 month
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
Rigid has come through BIG time with this combo kit. I have nothing but great things to say about the entire set.
The people at Rigid really thought about the consumer on this one, even the Lithium ion batteries have their own light meter (see video) to tell you when there low. The drill and impact driver have powerful built in lights, both tools are very light weight - balanced, and powerful (yes powerful). The radio which I thought was going to be kind of gimmicky turned out to be awesome, it runs on the same cordless battery as the tools, and is LOUD it sounds really good (see video) even on FM radio. If you're in the market to buy a combo impact /drill kit this is the one that you can't pass on.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting, loud radio volume
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
Impact Driver Bit Set (28-Piece)
4 out of 5(5)
 
 
 
 
 
+8points
34out of 60found this review helpful.
Customer received product for free in exchange for honest feedback
Review 3 for X4 18-Volt Hyper Lithium-Ion Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit (3-Tool) with Radio
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Power, Good Design

,
PostedMay 4, 2013
Customer avatar
from Knoxville, TN, USA
 
Please wait while more information about Judson is loaded.
Additional information about Judson could not be loaded.
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Home improvement profile:DIYer
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
This is a great set. Both the drill & the impact driver pack pack plenty of power. The batteries come out of the box with a charge, which is always nice, and they have indicator lights that tell you how much juice is left, which is really handy. The LED light that comes on when you pull the trigger is also a really nice feature. The battery life is excellent & I was amazed at how small these batteries were compared to other 18v batteries I have (see photo).
Lastly - the radio. It's actually a pretty solid addition to this set. I was skeptical at first, but the sound quality is much better than I expected & the volume gets loud enough to make you feel self-conscious about your music selection if your neighbor comes out in their yard. It's AM/FM & has an auxiliary input where you can hook up your ipod or any other mp3 player. It also has a strap on the back to secure the mp3 player.
All in all, great set. Well made, lots of power & some really well thought out features.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
14out of 25found this review helpful.
Customer received product for free in exchange for honest feedback
Review 4 for X4 18-Volt Hyper Lithium-Ion Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit (3-Tool) with Radio
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product with long battery life!

,
PostedAugust 9, 2013
Customer avatar
from Belton, MO
 
Please wait while more information about Delester16 is loaded.
Additional information about Delester16 could not be loaded.
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Home improvement profile:DIYer
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Length of ownership:1 month
Verified Purchase:Yes
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
I was encouraged to buy an impact driver when my neighbor found out I was building a garden shed (12' X 15') in a remote area of my property. (no electricity). I went shopping and found the 18V drill, impact, radio combo. After checking on prices elsewhere, I knew I had found just what I needed. Then I discovered that the batteries have a lifetime warranty which is very important when you have battery powered power tools. I'm just about done with the building and have not broken off one head on the screws I am putting the metal on with. A fantastic tool....Just used it yesterday (impact tool) to change tire on pickup. Handled the 13/16 socket like it was nothing. VERY SATISIFIED!
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
Yes, I recommend this product.
+44points
56out of 68found this review helpful.
Review 5 for X4 18-Volt Hyper Lithium-Ion Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit (3-Tool) with Radio
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality Tools with Great Warranty

,
PostedApril 22, 2013
Customer avatar
from Knoxville, TN
 
Please wait while more information about Trogo is loaded.
Additional information about Trogo could not be loaded.
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Home improvement profile:DIYer
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Length of ownership:1 week
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
I anxiously awaited receipt of the Ridgid 18 Volt X4 Hyper Lithium-Ion Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit with Radio. Contrary to the website description, all of the tools are brand new. Perhaps it’s listed as “Refurbished” because the battery charger is the older 60-minute charger. The build quality, performance, and ergonomics of these Ridgid tools rival comparable top-tier manufacture offerings. What stands out with Ridgid is their Lifetime Service Agreement Warranty, which also includes battery replacement.
I used the Ridgid drill for building a 12’x12’ raised storage platform in the attic. The drill lasted all day without charging, and the battery fuel gauge is a very nice feature. The light switch on the handle came in handy for low light areas. The ergonomics and power ratings of the Ridgid tools are superior to my comparable Dewalt drill. The thing I like better with the Dewalt is the hammer mode for concrete surfaces, and the full metal clutch. Last year I dropped a Dewalt cordless drill from 28-feet on a ladder while using a hole saw. That disaster would have been avoided using this Ridgid Drill with side handle.
The Ridgid Impact Driver is my first cordless Impact tool, so I have nothing to compare against. However it has the highest in-class torque rating and is very user friendly. It makes driving lag bolts and deck screws almost effortless. The radio is small, but has good sound and decent signal reception.
My only concern is the longevity of the lithium-ion batteries. Earlier generation lithium batteries lasted only 2-3 years from manufacture date. I know there have been improvements in these X4 Hyper Lithium-Ion Batteries, but I have no experience with them. Although not specified, the Ridgid Combo Kit has 1.5 Ah compact batteries. Unsupported claims of 50% longer life and run time are meaningless. Thankfully Ridgid’s lifetime warranty covers the batteries, but filing a warranty claim is always a hassle and never a guarantee.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: longevity of batteries yet to be determined
Yes, I recommend this product.
+25points
41out of 57found this review helpful.
Customer received product for free in exchange for honest feedback
Review 6 for X4 18-Volt Hyper Lithium-Ion Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit (3-Tool) with Radio
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Professional Quality, Life Time Warranty, Free Radio

,
PostedApril 28, 2013
Customer avatar
from Wausau, WI
 
Please wait while more information about hpiguy is loaded.
Additional information about hpiguy could not be loaded.
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Home improvement profile:DIYer
Level of expertise:Advanced
Length of ownership:1 week
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
Ridgid is well known in the professional field as having high quality tools and this drill/driver/radio set maintains that level of quality and reliability.
The drill is a solid tool with the features you want for all manner of tasks. It has a nice heft/weight in the hand, and it's compact size means it fits into almost any confined workspace. It's not too heavy and not too light, just right. The LED light on the handle is bright and keeps you focused on the fastener. While I don't use the clutch a lot, it's there if you need to make sure you don't strip out a screw or screw head. An accessory handle is included for heavy drilling/driving and it snaps right onto the drill body and screws down tight. I never worried about it coming off or working loose when applying quite a bit of pressure.
The impact driver is ready for any type of work you can throw at it. I had to assemble a garage door and it handled the entire job with ease. Every type of socket head screw and bolt went together well and never bogged down the driver once. One entire garage door and tracks took one battery pack. The LED light on the handle base was great for those tight spaces near the rafters. I could see everything I was working on.
Two battery packs are included and their charger. I didn't time the initial charges for both packs, but each took under an hour. Given the long life of the batteries in both large tasks I gave them, this will be sufficient to charge one pack while using the other. I like how the batteries lock into each tool. There is no way they are coming loose. The charger has a full explanation of what modes it's in by the lights that are on and what it's doing to the battery pack.
Included in this package is a nice radio. Who doesn't like listening the the game while getting things done? It's a nice addition to the set. AM/FM settings and an AUX port if you have an Mp3 player or other device you want to use with it. It of course takes the same battery packs the other tools do and it runs for many hours on a charge.
Not only do you get two high quality drivers in the set, you get a radio and a heavy duty carrying case and to top it off, RIDGID offers a lifetime warranty on the drivers and the batteries. Yeah, lifetime. When you get the tools, you go online and print off a form to submit and they'll send you notice of the lifetime warranty in effect for your tools. Having the batteries covered along with the tools really gives you confidence in this offering from RIDGID.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting, great case and radio!
Cons: lifetime warranty should be automatic
Yes, I recommend this product.
+31points
60out of 89found this review helpful.
Customer received product for free in exchange for honest feedback
Review 7 for X4 18-Volt Hyper Lithium-Ion Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit (3-Tool) with Radio
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is one sweet Combo!

,
PostedApril 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Home improvement profile:DIYer
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
The Ridgid 18 volt Lithium-ion combo is "must have" for homeowners and DIY'ers alike. Whether you are hanging blinds, drywall or shelves, these tools have you covered. From carpentry to fencing, from framing to decking, Ridgid built tools that are up for a big job. They are also light-weight and accurate, making small jobs are a synch.
The Drill- The 18-volt drill is compact and lightweight but don't let than fool you, the power is splendid. The clutch is a great feature which helps prevent drill bit breakage. The LED light is in the perfect location on the base near the battery (both drill and impact). My previous drill had a light but the chuck would always cast a shadow as you move close to the project; not so with this unit.
The Impact- Best-in-class torque is not just about bragging rights, it is about performance. This impact performs! From making repairs to hardwood furniture to fixing deck boards, the Ridgid impact has not struggled at all. In fact, I really put it to the test over the weekend when I rotated my car tires. I found a socket and extension that fit the impact and proceeded to remove all my lug nuts with it. I had my compressor running with my air impact on stand-by for when this little Ridgid failed...it didn't fail. It took off every lug nut with easy. The best part about it, I was able to shut off my loud compressor and I didn't have to drag an air hose around with me. I am impressed!
The Radio- This is one great bonus item! The radio is powered by one of the two batteries that are supplied in the kit. It has and A.M./F.M. tuner but my favorite feature is the built in Aux input. You can play tunes from your MP3 player, smart phone, ipad and anything else that has a standard headphone output. The radio is respectably loud but a little hard to hear when you are operating a bunch of noisy tools at the same time. Kudos for it being a great portable size. I took mine out to one of my kid's soccer practices and enjoyed the tunes while basking in the sun. I had no worries that the 18 volt lithium-ion battery would die on me. The radio also has a nice elastic strap (pictured) that is designed to hold your MP3 player or smart phone in place during use.
The charger works very well and takes a battery from dead to fully charged in less than an hour. Another great feature of the charger is that the battery actually clips in to the charger, which allows you to mount the charger on the wall. My previous charger had to sit flat or the battery would fall out, thus requiring valuable shelf space.
Now for the heart of these beasts, the 18 volt lithium-ion battery packs. The first thing you will notice is how much smaller and lighter these battery packs are compared to the old models. I noticed a slight decrease in battery life but that coincided with a big decrease in arm fatigue. Worth the trade-off all day in my book.
This Ridgid 18 volt lithium-ion combo is an absolute home-run in my opinion. Lighter, smaller, more powerful and tunes to keep you motivated...Great Work Ridgid. I highly recommend this product and remind you that Ridgid backs up their products by offering the best warranty in the business.
Oh and Don't forget the bag...another bonus! It is ready for the next time you take your tools on the road.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
19out of 38found this review helpful.
Customer received product for free in exchange for honest feedback
Review 8 for X4 18-Volt Hyper Lithium-Ion Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit (3-Tool) with Radio
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome combo

,
PostedJuly 2, 2013
Customer avatar
from Columbus, OH, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Home improvement profile:DIYer
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Length of ownership:3 months
Verified Purchase:Yes
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
This combo is outstanding and is by far the best bang for your buck. The impact driver has serious power while the drill and radio are also excellent. Highly recommend, no one can touch their warranty either! Ridgid customer for life, I will not buy any other brand if power tools.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+12points
15out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 9 for X4 18-Volt Hyper Lithium-Ion Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit (3-Tool) with Radio
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ridgid 18 volt Ion Drill Set

,
PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Customer avatar
from Rainier, WA 98576, USA
 
Please wait while more information about TinyTimber is loaded.
Additional information about TinyTimber could not be loaded.
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Home improvement profile:Professional
Level of expertise:Advanced
Length of ownership:3 months
Verified Purchase:Yes
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
Very powerful drill, Great balance, focused light, comfortable grip, batteries last a long time, great radio with good sound, great for construction but overpowered for my use, will look for Ridgid 12 volt ion drill, adjustable hand grip is very nice
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for X4 18-Volt Hyper Lithium-Ion Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit (3-Tool) with Radio
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great set! Impressed with torque of driver.

,
PostedJanuary 20, 2015
18-Volt Compact Drill and Impact Driver Kit
Customer avatar
from Tucson, AZ
 
Please wait while more information about Billiam is loaded.
Additional information about Billiam could not be loaded.
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Home improvement profile:DIYer
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Length of ownership:3 months
Verified Purchase:Yes
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
This compact set is a great value especially with the Lifetime Service Agreement (LSA)! I am impressed with the battery life after a full charge. For a compact driver, the impact driver has a lot of torque. The only improvement I would ask for is minor. The carrying case is great, but I added a couple of pieces of foam to keep everything separate. The manufacturer could have included a foam insert for the carrying bag to keep everything separate and neat in the bag.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for X4 18-Volt Hyper Lithium-Ion Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit (3-Tool) with Radio
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great dependable drills

,
PostedJanuary 7, 2015
18-Volt Compact Drill and Impact Driver Kit
Customer avatar
from Lakeland, Fl
 
Please wait while more information about dpry is loaded.
Additional information about dpry could not be loaded.
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Home improvement profile:DIYer
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
A year and a half ago we purchased one of these drill sets so my husband could help other family members replace our beach house dock. It did such a great job that my brother bought one a short time later. My dad liked them so much he asked for (and received) a set for Christmas. Not one problem from any of the drills, which really get a work out...and even if there were the warranty covers just about everything. Tough, durable and obviously dependable.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for X4 18-Volt Hyper Lithium-Ion Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit (3-Tool) with Radio
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So Far it's Great

,
PostedApril 11, 2014
Customer avatar
from St. Cloud, FL, USA
 
Please wait while more information about WrongwayToolman is loaded.
Additional information about WrongwayToolman could not be loaded.
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Home improvement profile:DIYer
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Length of ownership:1 month
Verified Purchase:Yes
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
Has plenty of power, and hasn't needed a recharge since the initial charge. I've used it for small jobs about a half dozen times over 3 weeks. Learned not to hold the chuck and turn it on to tighten bits in the chuck. That's how I would tighten the bits in the chuck with my old 9volt. Can't and don't need to do that with this drill motor. I burned my thumb doing it out of habit. So far it appears to be a very good product.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for X4 18-Volt Hyper Lithium-Ion Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit (3-Tool) with Radio
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drills have great flexibility for all job tasks

,
PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Customer avatar
from Kansas City, MO, USA
 
Please wait while more information about HomeDepotCustomer is loaded.
Additional information about HomeDepotCustomer could not be loaded.
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Home improvement profile:DIYer
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Length of ownership:6 months
Verified Purchase:Yes
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
Purchased combo kit last fall and have used extensively ever since. Impact drill is especially powerful with great torque for driving extensive project I had installing Tap-con screws into concrete substrate. Previous Rigid drill is still in use and provides me with flexibility on the job-site. These hand tools are remarkably lightweight and smaller in size than previous models making them my tool of choice.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for X4 18-Volt Hyper Lithium-Ion Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit (3-Tool) with Radio
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Great Drill / Driver.... LOUSY Customer Service.

,
PostedOctober 30, 2014
Customer avatar
from Columbus, Ohio
 
Please wait while more information about OhioDIYguy is loaded.
Additional information about OhioDIYguy could not be loaded.
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Home improvement profile:DIYer
Level of expertise:Advanced
Length of ownership:3 months
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased this set a couple of months ago for use around the home on some remodeling projects.
The drill and driver have been fantastic.... easily outperforming some of my friends other brands of similar tools. Based upon this I would have gladly given the set 5 stars.
HOWEVER.... one battery just stopped working after being used in the radio for several hours. It will not take a charge and is shown as 'faulty'. No big deal... just return it under the 'lifetime' program.
NOT A CHANCE. Not only have I made multiple calls to RIGID and 3 trips to HomeDepot.... even under warranty the Store Manager can't seem to get RIGID to exchange the battery (which still looks new and has NO apparent damage) .
Buyer beware... there is NO support on this company. (note... their Facebook page is locked... Yet Dewalt, Craftsman, etc. all allow customers to post directly.... wonder why RIGID is afraid of what people say about them!)
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Long-Lasting
Cons: Not Durable, poor customer service
No, I do not recommend this product.
+80points
85out of 90found this review helpful.
Review 15 for X4 18-Volt Hyper Lithium-Ion Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit (3-Tool) with Radio
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice combo set.

,
PostedJune 8, 2013
Customer avatar
from Western MA
 
Please wait while more information about PTA1962 is loaded.
Additional information about PTA1962 could not be loaded.
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a very nice combo set compared to my other one I have of similar features.
First, the impact driver is indeed compact and much more powerful than my older impact driver. Couple this with drivers designed for the impact drill and you have a nice set up.
The drill driver clamps down on bits nicely, even the 1/16" ones. No slippage I have experienced yet. The light is also very good, as you can light up the area before you drill, and stays on a few seconds after you stop drilling. The only thing i didn't like, is the switch to drill or drive. It tends to "stick" a little, it's not smooth, but maybe that will work its way out after more use.
The compact Li battery seems to be a good match for the drills. Though if you have tools that require more juice, i.e. circ saw, you may want to go to the full size Li battery. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars, I will have to wait and see how the batteries hold up. Only time will tell on that. Overall seems to be a decent value.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for X4 18-Volt Hyper Lithium-Ion Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit (3-Tool) with Radio
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Combo Kit

,
PostedApril 22, 2013
Customer avatar
from SC
 
Please wait while more information about Cutworm is loaded.
Additional information about Cutworm could not be loaded.
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Home improvement profile:DIYer
Level of expertise:Advanced
Length of ownership:1 week
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Starting with the drill. It's nice and compact in size and has enough torque for even my largest forstner bits. Great speed control with a high and low speed select switch. It also has a very nice led light that you can turn on by squeezing the switch in the handle making it great for finding a screw in the dark. The light also turns when you start drilling.
With the impact driver I drove a 3" deck screw in a pine board in just a few seconds. It was like driving a screw into a stick of butter. The hammering action keeps the driving bit from slipping and rounding the screw head. It also has the nice LED light. This driver is fantastic.
The radio is the icing on the cake. It's great to be able to listen to some tunes in my shop. You can also hook up your MP3 player to it if you choose.
The kit comes with 2 lithium ion batteries that have an indicator on them to tell you the amount of charge that they have.
Ridgid's Lifetime Service Agreement makes this kit the best value ofered in my opinion. Super product.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Customer received product for free in exchange for honest feedback
Review 17 for X4 18-Volt Hyper Lithium-Ion Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit (3-Tool) with Radio
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Craftmanship not so good

,
PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Customer avatar
from Houston, TX
 
Please wait while more information about GSM47 is loaded.
Additional information about GSM47 could not be loaded.
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this drill as a package deal for about $180 from home depot. I've had this drill less than a year and the chuck / gears broke while trying to drive 2" wood screws. I remember the sales person saying it's a great drill for less money than a dewalt. Just bring it back if it ever breaks and exchange it 3 year warranty. Well it did break and what's even worse is trying to return or exchnange. First tried a home depot close to my work on Hwy 6. Customer service was absolutley no help. They told me to go to another store on Hwy 6 where they could repair it or exchange it. Again no help; did absolutely nothing for me. So in my opinion the service at these two stores is less than poor and as far as the drill is concerned sometimes you get what you pay for. Sure am glad I had my dewalt to finish the job.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
No, I do not recommend this product.
+23points
24out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 18 for X4 18-Volt Hyper Lithium-Ion Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit (3-Tool) with Radio
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good for small projects/around the house. Terrible for contractors

,
PostedDecember 29, 2014
Customer avatar
from Pittsburgh,PA
 
Please wait while more information about Tinman is loaded.
Additional information about Tinman could not be loaded.
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Level of expertise:Advanced
Length of ownership:6 months
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I agree with the reviews which state this is good for homeowners but not for contractors. I decided to give this kit a try because of the good reviews here and I also thought that throwing in the radio plus offering a lifetime warranty on batteries was a great bonus. I've only used the impact and drill/driver for 6 months. The drill (which I ONLY use when I need to use a bit/holesaw that won't fit in the impact, now only works on low speed (it has NEVER been dropped or mishandled in any way). The batteries are not holding a charge nearly as long as I had hoped. The radio doesn't get very good reception (same as a ryobi). If you're going to use these tools every day, you probably will not want to go through the hassle of dealing with ridgid customer service and having to run all around to get your tools fixed/replaced every few months. Just not worth the hassle, spend the extra $ for dewalt/makita/bosch (something built to last).
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for X4 18-Volt Hyper Lithium-Ion Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit (3-Tool) with Radio
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Dissapointed

,
PostedNovember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I am a contractor who has always used Dewalt and Milwaukee brand impacts. I decided to purchase the Rigid Kit as it had a lifetime warranty on the batteries. After reading the reviews I thought the Rigid would be comparable to Dewalt or Milwaukee. I was wrong. The Rigid is under powered, the battery life is horrible, the battery charging time is around an hour, the light is on the bottom of the tool (where your hand blocks it out), and it's incredibly loud. It's probably ok for light use around the house, but it's definitely not made for heavy use. I have on several occasions drained a battery, replaced it with a battery with a full charge, then drained that battery before the first is done charging. This is unacceptable in my line of work, and never happened with Dewalt or Milwaukee unless they needed a new battery. I would not recommend this tool. At this price point you can simply do better.
Pros: warranty
Cons: Short Battery Life, long charging time, underpowered
No, I do not recommend this product.
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 20 for X4 18-Volt Hyper Lithium-Ion Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit (3-Tool) with Radio
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Home owner or contractor?

,
PostedDecember 30, 2014
Customer avatar
from Wa
 
Please wait while more information about McFly is loaded.
Additional information about McFly could not be loaded.
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Home improvement profile:Professional
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Length of ownership:6 months
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Bought this combo kit because my boss has real attachment to the Rigid brand... Poor choice. Great little kit if your a home owner or just need it from time to time. In my line of work I have to pre drill and drive maybe 300 crews a day(Most of the time they're 3 inchers) and the Rigid just doesn't hold up. If I had my choice and based on my experience I would have gone with Milwaukee, Dewalt or the green Makita kit.(the white Makita just doesn't seem too be built as well as the green) I also purchased a couple of the 3amp/hr batteries seeing as how there was a 2 pack for $100...Bad idea. Yes they have more umph than the 1.5's but they just don't seem too hold charge for very long. The last one of these kits I burned up in less then six months! I don't know about you guys but I need a little bit more bang for my buck. Bottom line...If your a professional buy a professional tool. If your an amateur buy Rigid.
Cons: Not Durable
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 30 >>