Looking for Answers about InSinkErator Badger 1, 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal?

Customer questions and answers for
InSinkErator Badger 1, 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

The InSinkErator Badger 1 Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal 1/3 HP features a quick-mounting system that allows for easy installation or replacement. This sturdy garbage Disposal is constructed from galvanized steel and features a 26 oz. chamber for space-saving waste disposal. The garbage Disposal also features a 1/3 HP motor that rapidly grinds food waste for easy rinsing down the drain.
Customer questions and answers:
47 Questions
 | 
100 Answers
Overall rating:
4.38 out of 5
4.4
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for InSinkErator Badger 1, 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Question

i have a model 1-83. Can i replace it with a model 1-87?

Asked by
Dmagic
georgia
about Badger 1, 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
November 28, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
InSinkErator
November 29, 2012
Hello and thank you for your question. Both of these units have compatible mounting assemblies. Therefore, the 1-87 can be mounted on the existing 1-83 mounting assembly as long as the assembly is in good condition. Also, one thing to keep in mind is if your current disposer is plugged into an outlet with a power cord, verify that the cord is also in good shape. If you need to purchase a new power cord, I’ve provided a link below for your convenience. Thanks for your interest in InSinkErator disposers, and good luck with your kitchen project.
 
Products related to my answer
 
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Rourogersiv
Lantana, TX 76226, USA
November 29, 2012
The answer is yes. Should take all of five minutes to do.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Kpixler
Oceanside, CA, USA
November 29, 2012
Yes, all garbage disposals are interchangeable.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

I have a Badger 1 Model 1-56. What model can I replace it with?

Asked by
Jill
Ann Arbor, MI
about Badger 1, 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
June 10, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
DesigningWoman
June 18, 2013
Hello Jill and thank you for your question.

The Badger 1 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal can be replaced with any model in the Badger 1 series rated for 1/3 or 1/2 hp as long as the plumbing connections are the same.

Best wishes on your project.
 
Products related to my answer
 
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
InSinkErator
July 22, 2013
Hello Jill,
Thank you for your question. All Badger models have the same plumbing dimensions. This will allow you to replace your current Badger 1 with any Badger model that is currently available quckly and easily. You if have any additional question, always feel free to call our Answer Line at 1-800-558-5700. Thank you again for your question and we hope this information is helpful to you.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
LittleBigheart
Rochester, NY, USA
August 26, 2013
If you want the same thing, a Badger 1. If you want more horsepower go up to a 5. All Insinkerator models use the same sink mount so if your's is still in good shape you can get any Insinkerator disposer you want, not just the Badgers. Look at the product size dimensions and compare to what you already have. It's the pipes underneath that made need length adjustment. If your Badger is really old and rusted through, the disposer may break off instead of twist off and it may be impossible to replace only the disposer part. It's not that hard to replace the sink mount but it does take time and plumbers putty.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
maninmirrors
Walla Walla, WA, USA
July 2, 2013
I would strongly advise you to order another Badger 1. You can pay more for far less value.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I have the Badger 1, 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal, the reset button is leaking water. Do I need to replace it?

Asked by
Gem1n1twins
about Badger 1, 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
November 1, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
DisposalHelper
Bellevue, WA
Home Improvement Profile: Other
December 25, 2013
The "warranty" does not cover this issue. It leaks because the manufacturer didnt use a seal, but sealant instead, for the inner housing.

This is how I fixed my Badger 1 with the same issue:
Disconnect from power
Take off the bottom housing (4 long screws)
Strip off the black sticky goop around housing
Clean area and apply plumbers 'Goop' sealant
Put the housing back on around the flywheel
Let it sit overnight

This is the ONLY way to get it to stop leaking unless you want to replace it entirely.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
DiscDAY
Spring, TX
December 23, 2013
YES!! something is wrong internally and the power connects underneath.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
InSinkErator
November 1, 2013
Hi Gem1n1wins

Hello Gem1n1twins, I’m Jim from InSinkErator Customer Service. I’m very sorry to hear about your experience with our product. I’d like the opportunity to further discuss your issue. Please send me an email at insinkeratorfeedback@emerson.com with your contact information and also when you purchased your Badger 1. Thank you.
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

getting a water leak at the very bottom of the disposal

Asked by
Trevor
about Badger 1, 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
December 26, 2012
only when the disposal is turned is when we get this leak.
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Rhettro
December 28, 2012
My experience is that the unit has rusted out and will need to be replaced. This is based on the fact that I have been through 3 of these units, with the same symptoms, since we bought our home 7 years ago. Ours has to do with the salt system that we have to soften our water. I have started flushing the unit nightly, with 1 glass of RO water so it will rinse off the salt from the internals of the unit. When I have dismounted the unit and looked inside the bottom, it is always full of messy gooey crud and the power wires are coated with it. Be carefull and always unplug the unit prior to working on it.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
InSinkErator
December 27, 2012
Hello Trevor and thank you for your question. There are a few scenarios that could be causing the leak. To best troubleshoot, please contact our service department at your earliest convenience. 1-800-558-5700.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Garbage disposal only hums when I hit the reset button

Asked by
BC4648
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
about Badger 1, 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
January 11, 2014
My in sink badger garbage disposal only hums when I hit the reset button for a few short seconds then goes out again. Do I need to re[lace my current unit, or is their anything else that I can try to do to get it to work again.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
InSinkErator
January 13, 2014
Hi BC4648,

This is Jim with InSinkErator. I do apologize that your having problems with your disposer. You mentioned that the unit hums when you hit the reset button. If the unit is humming and not grinding, this could indicate that the unit is jammed. I am including some troubleshooting tips below that you can try to see if this resolves your issue.

Each InSinkErator disposer is shipped with a self-service wrench. The wrench is silver colored, and shaped like a little crank, about four inches long. If you can not find the service wrench, you can use a standard 1/4 inch Allen wrench. If you do not have your self-service wrench, and would like one, please let us know and we would be happy to send it out at no charge.

1. Make certain that the disposer's switch is in the OFF position. Also, be sure the water is not running during the procedure.
2. Looking under the sink, locate the hole, dead center, at the bottom of the disposer.
3. Insert the self-service wrenchette (or ¼ inch Allen wrench –short end) into the hole.
4. While holding the wrench up in the hole, attempt to make a complete revolution. The wrench should turn freely in a complete revolution, both clockwise and counter-clockwise. If you meet resistance in either direction, work the wrench in a back and forth motion. You may use force if necessary. You will know you are applying too much force if the entire disposer begins to turn.
5. Once the wrench is turning freely in a complete revolution both ways, remove the wrench from the hole.
6. With power still OFF to the disposer, look down into the chamber from the sink hole opening. Hold the black flaps back and look down into the chamber from the sink hole opening with a flashlight. Look to see if you can see anything that that might still be binding the plate or that you might have dislodged. Do not put your hands into the chamber. Pay special attention to the area around the outer edge of the disposer's shredding disk. There is a small space between the "floor" (flat surface of the shredder disc) and the wall of the disposer. Follow the circumference of this ring, carefully checking the space, to see if you can locate anything that should not be there. If you locate something, use a pair of pliers or tongs to retrieve it. Again, do not put your hands inside the disposer.
7. Turn the faucet on and run water through for 15 – 20 seconds.
8. Turn the switch for the disposer to the on position to check if it is operating correctly.

If the steps outlinde do not resolve your issue, this could inidicate an issue with the disposer and it may need to be serviced or replaced. Please contact our AnswerLine at 800-558-5700 for further assistance and to check warranty status.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Domino
Salt Lake City, Utah
January 13, 2014
This sounds like there is something stuck inside the disposal. Turn off power to the unit or unplug, have someone with small hands reach in and check for blockages. Be careful to not cut yourself on whatever may be inside.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
lounger
January 23, 2014
MAKE SURE IT UNPLUGGED AND/OR TURN OFF THE CIRCUIT BREAKER!

Then see if you can find an obstruction inside. You can also try to spin it to free it up.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Edski
Wisconsin, USA
January 23, 2014
Sounds like you have something stuck in the grinder plate. You should have a hex wrench that fits in a socket on the bottom of the disposer. be sure the disposer is turned off and insert the wrench into the socket and see if you can turn the wrench. If not, you probably have something stuck in the plate.

Use a flashlight and look into the throat of the disposer to see if a bone, spoon or other item is stuck. If there is, turn off he power to the disposer and then carefully see if you can remove the item. You may need to use a needle nose pliers to do this. If it's a bone fragment, try to use the wrench to move the grinder plate back and forth to dislodge the item.

If this fails, it seems that a call to your plumber or trusty handy man is in order.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

My insinkerator 1-83 has a crack in the lower housing.

Asked by
mtnbarbie
Friendswood, TX
about Badger 1, 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
April 1, 2013
It has still worked until yesterday when the unit started leaking a lot of water out of the bottom where there are screws and the power cord enters the unit. It is about 7 years old. Do I need to replace the entire disposal?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Royrogersiv
Lantana, TX 76226, USA
April 1, 2013
Replace it. Mine had the same crack
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
InSinkErator
April 1, 2013
Hello and thank you for your question. To best troubleshoot the issue you are experiencing, please contact our customer service department at your earliest convenience at 1-800-558-5700. Thank you and we hope to speak with you soon.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
LittleBigheart
Rochester, NY, USA
August 26, 2013
This is a common complaint of the Badgers 1 and 5 models, cracks in the housing after only a few years, even with light use. Notice the very short warentee periods? It does need to be replaced. Badgers are pretty inexpensive so you can replace with the same if you're okay with replacing every 5-7 years. You would probably not have to replace the sink mount if still in good shape so it would be a fast and easy install you could do yourself. Better, quieter, more durable models are out there but they do cost more.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I have a badger 1 \ 1/3 hp that is leaking at the very bottom of the unit it self / no leaks on the plumbing connections ...

Asked by
George
Bel Air Md.
about Badger 1, 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
June 23, 2014
Can I replace it with the same new model badger 1 if it needs to be replaced ?
What if anything can I.do to stop the leaking through the unit ?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Edski
Wisconsin, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 24, 2014
From what you describe, it would appear that there is a manufacturer's defect in your unit. I would not take chances with the water coming out the bottom, but simply replace the unit. It will hook u the same as the current unit with wiring and drain connection. Be sure to read the installation instructions if you are connecting a dishwasher drain line to the disposer. There is a plug to remove in that connection.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
InSinkErator
June 24, 2014
Hi George,

Thisi s Belle from InSinkErator Customer Service. I do apologize about your experience with our product.

If you have not already done so, please a bucket underneath the unit to catch any dripping that might occur. In addition, if your disposer has a cord and plug, please unplug it from the outlet at this time. If it is hardwired and has its own separate circuit, please shut off the power at the circuit breaker. If it is hardwired and other items are on the same circuit as the disposer, make sure the on/off switch is in the off position. Power should remain off to the disposer and the receptacle underneath until the problem is resolved.

If the leak is not coming from any of the plumbing connections, the unit requires to be replaced. So that you do not have to modify your plumbing, you may replace your disposer with the same model, Badger 1. If you choose to upgrade, please check the specification sheet first of the model you prefer for the dimensions of the unit.

If you have any other questions or concerns, you may contact the AnswerLine at 1-800-558-5700. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
codyjackaa
Tampa, FL, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 24, 2014
If it's leaking, it needs to be replaced. You can replace it with the same model.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Are the Badger 1 disposals all the same, i want to replace one with a model # B179?

Asked by
cortezh1
Dallas
about Badger 1, 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
December 30, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
InSinkErator
January 3, 2012
Hello to you and thank you very much for your question. All Badger 1 models are 1/3HP and will feature identical hook-up dimensions. Hope this information is helpful to you and good luck with your project!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
LittleBigheart
Rochester, NY, USA
August 25, 2013
Basically the same with 1/2 horsepower (light duty) and same Quicklock sink mount. They are the cheapest and shortest warenteed of the Badgers but okay if you're tossing mostly just mushy stuff in them.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

My crusher "In Sink Erator Badger 1, 1/3 HP" does not turn on due to a small pebble stone stuck inside. How can I open it?

Asked by
Shiv
about Badger 1, 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
January 2, 2012
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Fulfy38
Rhode Island, USA
January 17, 2012
turn the motor manually with an allen wrench till the stone frees itself then remove it.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
InSinkErator
January 5, 2012
Hi Shiv - Thank you very much for your question. For the issue of a jam, please call our customer service department at 1-800-558-5700, who can troubleshoot the issue with you and walk you through the steps. Hope this gets resolved for you soon.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How do I get the plug out for dishwasher

Asked by
poor john
about Badger 1, 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
May 24, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
InSinkErator
May 25, 2012
Hello and thank you for your question. Please reference the installation and care instructions for the Badger 1 disposer found here: http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/pdfImages/38/38b128b9-91e8-49fc-a01a-8e31191f5959.pdf
If the disposer is already installed we recommend that you un-install (make sure to disconnect electrically first), then knock the plug out using a screwdriver and hammer (see images attached), retrieve the plug from inside the disposer using a plyers and then reinstall the disposer. Thank you again for your question and I hope this information is helpful.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Designing Woman
Atlanta, GA
May 25, 2012
Hello poor john and thank you for your question.

You can knock out the drain plug of the InSinkErator Badger 1-1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposer and remove it for the dishwasher by referring to Figure 16 of the Installation Guide found here: http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/pd.... Please wear safety glasses to protect your eyes.

Best wishes on your project.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I have tthe badger model I-29 can i replace with this.

Asked by
Chandler
Elko, NV
about Badger 1, 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
April 30, 2013
If i can replace the I-29 model, that would be great. If not which one would work or what would i need to do?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
InSinkErator
May 7, 2013
Hello and thank you for your question. The I-29 is equivalent to Badger-1 and the dimesions of today are the same as yesterday with the Badger I-29. I've included dimensions below and product selections for your review. Thank you for your question and we hope this information is helpful.
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Kpixler
Oceanside, CA, USA
April 30, 2013
Yes, you can replace any garbage disposal with another garbage disposal.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I have an Whirlpool disposal gc100x will the Insinkerator Badger 1 have the same plumbing mount?

Asked by
tombell
middleburg florida
about Badger 1, 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
January 10, 2012
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
InSinkErator
January 11, 2012
Hello to you and thank you for your question. Yes, the Badger disposer will have the same rough-in specifications for mounting. Hope this information is helpful and good luck with your project!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

I have a Badger 1 1/3 hp, I need to replace, ordering online would take too long, can I replace it with the Badger 100 1/3 hp?

Asked by
Wab24
Abingdon, Md
about Badger 1, 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
January 3, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Rhettro
Naples, Fl
January 4, 2013
I have replaced older Badger units with new units and have no issues doing so. The Sink collar was interchangable and the power cord will need to be removed and used on the new unit. Take care when installing the new unit so as to place the power cord in the same area as some cords are just long enough to reach on previously installed units.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
InSinkErator
January 7, 2013
Hello and thank you for your question. Yes, the Badger 1 and 100 are comparable disposers and should be fine for replacement. Also, for easy installation, both disposers feature a quick-lock sink mount so you may be able to reuse this mount if it is in good shape. Also, one thing to check is if your current disposer is plugged into an outlet with a power cord, verify that the cord is in good shape. If you need to purchase a new power cord, I’ve provided a link below for your convenience. Thanks for your interest in InSinkErator disposers, and good luck with your replacement.
 
Products related to my answer
 
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
LittleBigheart
Rochester, NY, USA
August 26, 2013
All insinkerator models use the same sink mount. If you now have one that plugs into an outlet check wiring for damage and get replacement cord if needed. Compare size of unit (in specifications) to the size of your unit. If different may need to adjust length of pipes underneath. Look at installation guide on this website for pictures and recommended tools/supplies. I know of atleast one other seller that may have the 1 1/3 in stock. (They do in my town.) Did you check around?
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

My inkserator Badget 183 has a crack in the upper housing ( the tapered part, just below the sink.) Is that replaceable?

Asked by
bretmeister
Sandy, UT
about Badger 1, 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
February 7, 2013
I notice spray coming from underneath the sink. Upon further inspection, I found that the housing unit of my badger 183a was cracked (the tapered, gray plastic). Is that piece replaceable or should I replace the unit? It is about 8 years old.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
InSinkErator
February 7, 2013
Hello and thank you for your question. To best assist you, we'd like to opportunity to speak with you in person. Please contact our customer service AnswerLine at your earliest convenience at 1-800-558-5700. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
PMLJ
Surprise, AZ, USA
March 11, 2013
Replace the unit.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
LittleBigheart
Rochester, NY, USA
August 26, 2013
Not sure but I think the part is called the mounting bracket body container and is quite expensive to replace. As many others have complained about housing cracks appearing in other areas (the plastic parts) after only a few years of use, you may want to consider just replacing it. You can contact the manufacturer at their website to better identify the part because I may be wrong.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

My 1-83model has a wash rag stuck. Has the motor or spincycle be broken or can it be fix. Or does the whole garbage disposer needs to be replace

Asked by
bernard
about Badger 1, 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
March 10, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Mallm07
Savannah, GA, USA
March 11, 2013
Pull as much of the rag material out as possible. Use needle nose or pliers to get as much of the small parts out. You may have to press the reset button( little red button on bottom) if it locks up. If when you run it and it vibrates a lot ,you still need to get more out under the blade that is not spinning free, if working then put some ice cubes in and run. I hope this helps you
Mike
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
InSinkErator
March 14, 2013
Hello and thank you for your question. You may be able to remove the wash rag (ensure that the disposer is off first) by having one person working the service wrench (a service wrench does come with many of our disposers but they may also be purchased), moving the wrench back and forth under the disposer, while another person pulls and moves the rag about in an effort to remove it using tongs or pliers. If unable to remove the rag, you may consider having it serviced or replace the disposer. Thank you again for your question and we hope this information is helpful to you.
User submitted photo
 
Products related to my answer
 
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
PMLJ
Surprise, AZ, USA
March 11, 2013
A wrench that comes with the garage unit fits on the bottom conection and you can turn it to unclog the unit.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Unit comes on but the next time it is hung up and hums. Never know when it will or will not. Nothing is in the unit but if you manualy spin and try

Asked by
panhead
Ms.
about Badger 1, 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
September 14, 2013
it it may come on and it may not
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
LittleBigheart
Rochester, NY, USA
September 14, 2013
Go to YouTube. Search "How to fix a garbage disposal: Stuck Flywheel." for 2 1/2 minute video that shows you what to do. Looks easy. Good luck, and please don't put your hand down the disposal.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
InSinkErator
September 16, 2013
Hello Panhead,

This is Jim from InSinkErator Customer Service. I'm very sorry to hear that you’re experiencing problems with your InSinkErator Badger disposal. To properly address your concerns, I'd like the opportunity to further discuss your issue. I'd like the opportunity to further discuss your issue. Please send me an email at insinkeratorfeedback@emerson.com with your contact information. It would also be very helpful if you could obtain the full model and serial number from the disposer and have it have handy when we speak.

The full model and serial number can be found on the specification label. The serial number will start with S/N followed by 2 letters and 8 numbers, or S/N followed by 11 numbers. The specification label is silver in color, about the size of a large band-aid, and is located on the side of the disposer very near the bottom edge. If you know where the red reset button is on the bottom of the unit, the specification label can be found on the side of the disposer closest to the reset button. Please be sure power is off to the disposer when checking for the specification label.

Sincerely
Jim Z.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
avlisk
Phoenix, AZ
September 14, 2013
I had this happen to mine, and couldn't ever get it to work right again. After several days of "would it work or only hum", finally it would only hum and trip the breaker. I replaced it after about 18 months old with the same model. Those in the know told me to run the new one every few days, even when I didn't think I needed to, and it's still working after 30 months.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

how much does it weight?

Asked by
NICK
mIAMI
about Badger 1, 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
April 10, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
ZombieMomOf4
Pasadena, MD
April 10, 2014
We threw the box away, but it's definitely less than 5 pounds. Very light and easy to install.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
codyjackaa
Tampa, FL, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 10, 2014
Approximately 12lbs. Give or take a couple of pounds.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
InSinkErator
April 11, 2014
Hi NICK,

This is Belle from InSinkErator Customer Service. The weight of the Badger 1 is approximately 13 lbs. 8 oz.

If you have any other questions, you may post them here or you may contact the AnswerLine at 1-800-558-5700. Thanks.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

replaced diposal now dishwasher is flooded replaced with badger 1

Asked by
debo
mentor
about Badger 1, 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
April 17, 2014
does upper pipe connected to dishwasher have to be punched or what
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
InSinkErator
April 17, 2014
Hi debo,

I am Belle from InSinkErator Customer Service. Your disposer has a knock out plug in the dishwasher inlet tube. If you have your dishwasher connected to your disposer, you have to knock out the plug so that the dishwasher could drain through the disposer.

Please follow these steps to knock out the plug:

1. Disconnect electrical power at the fuse box or circuit breaker box.
2. Remove the disposer from the sink per the instructions in your Installation Care and Use Manual.
3. Position the disposer on its side, on a protected floor or workbench, with the dishwasher inlet tube facing up.
4. Using a flat-head screwdriver, insert it into the dishwasher inlet tube so as to set the tip on the molded outer edge of the plug located at the end of the tube.
5. Take a hammer and tap the screwdriver all the way around this edge until the plastic plug breaks loose and falls into the disposer grind chamber.
6. Be sure to retrieve the plastic knockout plug from inside the grind chamber. Making sure power is still OFF to the disposer, turn it upside down and shake it out or, as a second option, shine a flashlight into the chamber, locate the plastic knockout plug, and use a long tongs or pliers through the top opening to pinch it and pull it out. Do NOT place your hands inside the disposer.
7. Reinstall the disposer per the instructions in your Installation Care and Use Manual.

If you have any other questions, you may contact the AnswerLine at 1-800-558-5700. Thanks.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
codyjackaa
Tampa, FL, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 17, 2014
Is the dishwasher drain hose going into the garbage disposal higher than the disposal?
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Nonhandyman
April 17, 2014
Yes, you need to punch out the plug in the disposal for the dishwasher to drain. You'll need to use some force to get the plug removed...aka hitting a screwdriver with a hammer. Otherwise, the water will backup into your dishwasher.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does the Insinkerator Badger 1 have a model number of 1-83?

Asked by
bgilson
about Badger 1, 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
December 17, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
InSinkErator
December 19, 2011
Hello to you, and thank you for your question. Yes. "Badger 1” is the primary model name. The “-83” is a suffix to the model number for internal use only. Hope this information is helpful and good luck with your project.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
LittleBigheart
Rochester, NY, USA
August 25, 2013
Yes. And a 1-79, etc. The Badger 1's all have 1/3 horsepower, (light duty.) Badger 5's have 1/2 hosepower and Badger 5XP all have 3/4 horse power. The only other major difference is length of warrentee, i.e. the 5XP is built to last longer than the 1. All Insinkerator models have the same Quicklock sink mount so you can replace a 1-79 with a 1-83 or any other "1" model AND you can replace a "1" with a "5" or "5XP" or any of their evolution models without having to replace the sink mount.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

clogged garbage disposal

Asked by
gritz
winchester Virginia
about Badger 1, 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
January 9, 2012
My badger is clogged-we have already cleared all pipes, only water stays in disposal now-Can you help me?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Fulfy38
Rhode Island, USA
January 17, 2012
Replace it , Drain cleaners will only eat the insides and cause it to leak.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
InSinkErator
January 11, 2012
Hello to you and thank you for your question. I'm sorry to hear about your clogged disposer. There could be one or several factors causing this. The Grind Shear Ring inside the disposer or Disposer Discharge tube could be clogged and those are just a couple of possibilities. To better troubleshoot the issue and get it resolved, I will recommend to call our customer service line at 1-800-558-5700 so they can assist step-by-step.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 »