Looking for Answers about InSinkErator Badger 1, 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal?

Customer questions and answers for
InSinkErator Badger 1, 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

The InSinkErator Badger 1 Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal 1/3 HP features a quick-mounting system that allows for easy installation or replacement. This sturdy garbage Disposal is constructed from galvanized steel and features a 26 oz. chamber for space-saving waste disposal. The garbage Disposal also features a 1/3 HP motor that rapidly grinds food waste for easy rinsing down the drain.
Customer questions and answers:
43 Questions
 | 
93 Answers
Overall rating:
4.384 out of 5
4.4
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for InSinkErator Badger 1, 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Question

replaced diposal now dishwasher is flooded replaced with badger 1

Asked by
debo
mentor
about Badger 1, 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
April 17, 2014
does upper pipe connected to dishwasher have to be punched or what
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Nonhandyman
April 17, 2014
Yes, you need to punch out the plug in the disposal for the dishwasher to drain. You'll need to use some force to get the plug removed...aka hitting a screwdriver with a hammer. Otherwise, the water will backup into your dishwasher.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
codyjackaa
Tampa, FL, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 17, 2014
Is the dishwasher drain hose going into the garbage disposal higher than the disposal?
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
InSinkErator
April 17, 2014
Hi debo,

I am Belle from InSinkErator Customer Service. Your disposer has a knock out plug in the dishwasher inlet tube. If you have your dishwasher connected to your disposer, you have to knock out the plug so that the dishwasher could drain through the disposer.

Please follow these steps to knock out the plug:

1. Disconnect electrical power at the fuse box or circuit breaker box.
2. Remove the disposer from the sink per the instructions in your Installation Care and Use Manual.
3. Position the disposer on its side, on a protected floor or workbench, with the dishwasher inlet tube facing up.
4. Using a flat-head screwdriver, insert it into the dishwasher inlet tube so as to set the tip on the molded outer edge of the plug located at the end of the tube.
5. Take a hammer and tap the screwdriver all the way around this edge until the plastic plug breaks loose and falls into the disposer grind chamber.
6. Be sure to retrieve the plastic knockout plug from inside the grind chamber. Making sure power is still OFF to the disposer, turn it upside down and shake it out or, as a second option, shine a flashlight into the chamber, locate the plastic knockout plug, and use a long tongs or pliers through the top opening to pinch it and pull it out. Do NOT place your hands inside the disposer.
7. Reinstall the disposer per the instructions in your Installation Care and Use Manual.

If you have any other questions, you may contact the AnswerLine at 1-800-558-5700. Thanks.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how much does it weight?

Asked by
NICK
mIAMI
about Badger 1, 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
April 10, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
InSinkErator
April 11, 2014
Hi NICK,

This is Belle from InSinkErator Customer Service. The weight of the Badger 1 is approximately 13 lbs. 8 oz.

If you have any other questions, you may post them here or you may contact the AnswerLine at 1-800-558-5700. Thanks.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
codyjackaa
Tampa, FL, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 10, 2014
Approximately 12lbs. Give or take a couple of pounds.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
ZombieMomOf4
Pasadena, MD
April 10, 2014
We threw the box away, but it's definitely less than 5 pounds. Very light and easy to install.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What kind of tools do I need to Instal a Badger1 1/3 Insink erator continuous feed garbage disposal?

Asked by
GMackBey
Alexandria
about Badger 1, 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
March 20, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
ZombieMomOf4
Pasadena, MD
April 1, 2014
Screwdriver, Pliers, Channel locks, Allen key - pipe glue (get a kit) - if replacing one already in.

If going for a new install, will need a hammer too. The box is very clear on the outside with what you need.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
InSinkErator
March 24, 2014
Hi GMackBey,

This is Belle from InSinkErator Customer Service. The tools you would need to install a Badger 1 disposer are: Slotted Screwdriver, Adjustable Pliers, Plumber's Putty, Electrical Tape.

You may also need the following tools, materials, and accessories: Phillips Screwdriver, Drain Auger, 3/8" Electrical Clamp Connector, (2) Wire Nuts, Second 1 1/2" Drain Trap, Hammer, hacksaw, Water Hose Clamp, Pipe Wrench, Copper Ground Wire, Dishwasher Drain Connection Kit, Air Gap, Electrical On/Off Switch, Drain Tube Extension.

Here is the link to the Installation, Care and Use Manual of the model Badger 1 for your reference:

http://www.insinkerator.com/en-us/Documents/Disposer/Badger-Installation-Care-and-Use-Manual.pdf

If you have further questions, you may contact the AnswerLine at 1-800-558-5700. Thanks!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Why do I need to "jump start" the disposal unit to get it to work?

Asked by
Befuzzled
about Badger 1, 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
March 27, 2014
Recently my garbage disposal unit "In-Sink -Erator" 1/3 HP Model 1-80 of about ten years, quit working properly. The motor hums and the breaker has never popped. If I take a long screwdriver and begin manually spinning the grinder plate freely with the switch on I can get it to work properly. Once I remove power and turn the switch back on, the unit just hums. I'm a bit befuzzled as to where to begin troubleshooting. It works great as long as I give it a jump start with the screwdriver.

Serial Number is XA 79670235
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
codyjackaa
Tampa, FL, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 29, 2014
Sounds to me that your bearings are starting to go. Mine was doing the same thing and eventually stopped spinning all together.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
InSinkErator
March 28, 2014
Hi Befuzzled,

I am Belle of InSinkErator Customer Service. I do apologize about your experience with your disposer. May I ask, how often do you use your disposer recently? InSinkErator disposers are designed to be used as it has self lubricating bearing. If not used for a long period of time, the oil in the bearing will settle at the bottom and may cause the "sticking" situations on start up. Most times, with power OFF to the disposer, using the self service wrench or a 1/4" allen wrench (if you do not have a self service wrench) at the center hole underneath the disposer, and making a couple of turns (full circles) in each direction will help get the unit to start properly, and once running should be fine. If same thing happens everytime you turn the disposer on (and your unit is not sitting for a long perid of time), then there might be an issue internally and your disposer requires service or replacement.

You may contact the AnswerLine at 1-800-558-5700 if you need further assistance. Thanks!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can you get the badger1 1/3 at the store. do they stock it.

Asked by
rlpatto
about Badger 1, 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
October 12, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Faye
January 28, 2014
Not stocked had to purchase online.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
THDCustomerSupport
Kennesaw, GA
October 13, 2013
Thank you for your recent inquiry with The Home Depot. This item is an online exclusive and is not available in your local Home Depot store. It can be ordered online and shipped directly to your home, business, or your local store. For any other questions, please call us at HomeDepot.com Customer Service 800-430-3376.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

dishwasher wont drain.

Asked by
vince
townsend,mt.
about Badger 1, 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
December 25, 2013
our dishwasher is hooked to the disposal, we just looked inside of the connection and found the connection tube has a restricting plate inside of it, can that plate be removed?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Edski
Wisconsin, USA
January 23, 2014
If you hooked it up to a new disposer, you or your installer may have forgotten to knock out the plug in the nipple used to connect the dishwasher drain hose.

Turn the power off, then remove the hose at the disposer connection and use a long shaft screwdriver or small wooden dowel and see if it will go into the nipple more that a half inch, or if you can, look into the nipple and see if the plug is there. If it is, then remove the disposer and set it on its side with the nipple facing up. Use a stout screwdriver that fits into the nipple and rap the end of it sharply to knock out the plug. Remove the plug and re-install the disposer. Your dishwasher should now drain.

If the plug had been removed, and the sink drains okay, then the problem is with the dishwasher or its drain hose. If the hose is pinched or kinked that may be you problem. If not, then it seems that it is a problem with dishwasher and its drain cycle.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
InSinkErator
December 26, 2013
Hi Vince,

This is Jim with InSinkErator. What you are refering to is called the knock out plug and is located on the dishwasher inlet. This will need to be removed to allow the flow of water from the dishwasher into the disposer. If you still have the Installation, Care and Use Manual, the instructions for removing this plug is located at step 15 and 16. I also including below the steps necessary to remove the plug.

DISPOSER IS ALREADY INSTALLED:

1. Disconnect electrical power at the fuse box or circuit breaker box.

2. Remove the disposer from the sink per the instructions in your Installation Care and Use Manual.

3. Position the disposer on its side, on a protected floor or workbench, with the dishwasher inlet tube facing up.

4. Using a flat-head screwdriver, insert it into the dishwasher inlet tube so as to set the tip on the molded outer edge of the plug located at the end of the tube.

5. Take a hammer and tap the screwdriver all the way around this edge until the plastic plug breaks loose and falls into the disposer grind chamber.

6. Be sure to retrieve the plastic knockout plug from inside the grind chamber. Making sure power is still OFF to the disposer, turn it upside down and shake it out or, as a second option, shine a flashlight into the chamber, locate the plastic knockout plug, and use a long tongs or pliers through the top opening to pinch it and pull it out. Do NOT place your hands inside the disposer.

7. Reinstall the disposer per the instructions in your Installation Care and Use Manual.

If you have any other questions, please feel free to contact our AnswerLine at 800-556-5700 for further assistance. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Garbage disposal only hums when I hit the reset button

Asked by
BC4648
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
about Badger 1, 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
January 11, 2014
My in sink badger garbage disposal only hums when I hit the reset button for a few short seconds then goes out again. Do I need to re[lace my current unit, or is their anything else that I can try to do to get it to work again.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Edski
Wisconsin, USA
January 23, 2014
Sounds like you have something stuck in the grinder plate. You should have a hex wrench that fits in a socket on the bottom of the disposer. be sure the disposer is turned off and insert the wrench into the socket and see if you can turn the wrench. If not, you probably have something stuck in the plate.

Use a flashlight and look into the throat of the disposer to see if a bone, spoon or other item is stuck. If there is, turn off he power to the disposer and then carefully see if you can remove the item. You may need to use a needle nose pliers to do this. If it's a bone fragment, try to use the wrench to move the grinder plate back and forth to dislodge the item.

If this fails, it seems that a call to your plumber or trusty handy man is in order.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
lounger
January 23, 2014
MAKE SURE IT UNPLUGGED AND/OR TURN OFF THE CIRCUIT BREAKER!

Then see if you can find an obstruction inside. You can also try to spin it to free it up.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
InSinkErator
January 13, 2014
Hi BC4648,

This is Jim with InSinkErator. I do apologize that your having problems with your disposer. You mentioned that the unit hums when you hit the reset button. If the unit is humming and not grinding, this could indicate that the unit is jammed. I am including some troubleshooting tips below that you can try to see if this resolves your issue.

Each InSinkErator disposer is shipped with a self-service wrench. The wrench is silver colored, and shaped like a little crank, about four inches long. If you can not find the service wrench, you can use a standard 1/4 inch Allen wrench. If you do not have your self-service wrench, and would like one, please let us know and we would be happy to send it out at no charge.

1. Make certain that the disposer's switch is in the OFF position. Also, be sure the water is not running during the procedure.
2. Looking under the sink, locate the hole, dead center, at the bottom of the disposer.
3. Insert the self-service wrenchette (or ¼ inch Allen wrench –short end) into the hole.
4. While holding the wrench up in the hole, attempt to make a complete revolution. The wrench should turn freely in a complete revolution, both clockwise and counter-clockwise. If you meet resistance in either direction, work the wrench in a back and forth motion. You may use force if necessary. You will know you are applying too much force if the entire disposer begins to turn.
5. Once the wrench is turning freely in a complete revolution both ways, remove the wrench from the hole.
6. With power still OFF to the disposer, look down into the chamber from the sink hole opening. Hold the black flaps back and look down into the chamber from the sink hole opening with a flashlight. Look to see if you can see anything that that might still be binding the plate or that you might have dislodged. Do not put your hands into the chamber. Pay special attention to the area around the outer edge of the disposer's shredding disk. There is a small space between the "floor" (flat surface of the shredder disc) and the wall of the disposer. Follow the circumference of this ring, carefully checking the space, to see if you can locate anything that should not be there. If you locate something, use a pair of pliers or tongs to retrieve it. Again, do not put your hands inside the disposer.
7. Turn the faucet on and run water through for 15 – 20 seconds.
8. Turn the switch for the disposer to the on position to check if it is operating correctly.

If the steps outlinde do not resolve your issue, this could inidicate an issue with the disposer and it may need to be serviced or replaced. Please contact our AnswerLine at 800-558-5700 for further assistance and to check warranty status.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Domino
Salt Lake City, Utah
January 13, 2014
This sounds like there is something stuck inside the disposal. Turn off power to the unit or unplug, have someone with small hands reach in and check for blockages. Be careful to not cut yourself on whatever may be inside.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I replace my Whirlpool GC1000, 1/3HP with a Badger 1, 1/2HP continuous Feed Disposal?

Asked by
Gogetter
Pembroke Pines, FL 33028
about Badger 1, 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
December 9, 2013
My original disposal unit developed a hole after 13 years. It has a connection to a trap and the Dishwasher. Are these units compatible or do I have to buy additional accessories for the new unit?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Edski
Milwaukee, WI
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 23, 2014
Disposers are interchangeable and while they may have small variations in dimensions, there is generally small dimensional differences between them. It may mean changing some drain pipes (I had to do this when I went form a GE to the Badger) but this is usually easily done.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
InSinkErator
December 10, 2013
Hi Gogetter,

This is Jim with InSinkErator. The GC1000 and all the disposers in the Badger line share the same plumbing dimensions. Both have the the dishwasher inlet for connecting your dishwasher and the dishcharge opening for the trap. I hope I have been able to answer your questions today. If you have any other questions, please feel free to contact our AnswerLine at 800-558-5700. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I have a Sinkmaster 750. What can I replace it with

Asked by
trapdoor
HOLLYWOOD,FL
about Badger 1, 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
January 7, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
InSinkErator
January 9, 2014
Hi Trapdoor,

This is jim with InSinkErator. Depending on what features your are looking for, you may want to look at models in the Badger line such as the Badger 500 (5) 1/2HP and the or the Badger 900 (5xp) 3/4HP. The main plumbing dimensions are different and you may need to modify your plumbing to accommodate these units.

If matching the current plumbing configuration is your desire, models in the Evolution line have similar install dimensions as the SinkMaster. The Select plus (Essential) and the Supreme (Excel) have similar rough in dimensions. If you have any other questions, please feel free to visit our website at InSinkErator.com where you can view and download the specification sheets for all our units or you can call our AnswerLine at 800-558-5700 for immediate assistance. I hope I have been able to answer your questions today. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I have the Badger 1, 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal, the reset button is leaking water. Do I need to replace it?

Asked by
Gem1n1twins
about Badger 1, 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
November 1, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
DisposalHelper
Bellevue, WA
Home Improvement Profile: Other
December 25, 2013
The "warranty" does not cover this issue. It leaks because the manufacturer didnt use a seal, but sealant instead, for the inner housing.

This is how I fixed my Badger 1 with the same issue:
Disconnect from power
Take off the bottom housing (4 long screws)
Strip off the black sticky goop around housing
Clean area and apply plumbers 'Goop' sealant
Put the housing back on around the flywheel
Let it sit overnight

This is the ONLY way to get it to stop leaking unless you want to replace it entirely.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
DiscDAY
Spring, TX
December 23, 2013
YES!! something is wrong internally and the power connects underneath.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
InSinkErator
November 1, 2013
Hi Gem1n1wins

Hello Gem1n1twins, I’m Jim from InSinkErator Customer Service. I’m very sorry to hear about your experience with our product. I’d like the opportunity to further discuss your issue. Please send me an email at insinkeratorfeedback@emerson.com with your contact information and also when you purchased your Badger 1. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I have a emerson 1-81 amps6.7 horsepower 1/3..what do i replace it with Garbage Disposal?

Asked by
shanter708
florida
about Badger 1, 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
December 15, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
InSinkErator
December 16, 2013
Hi Shanter708,

This is Jim with InSinkErator. If your looking for a Home Depot Model, the Badger 100 would be a direct replacement, plumbing, feature, and warranty wise. But all the units in the Badger line share the same plumbing dimensions. If you wanted to upgrade to say a Badger 5 or 500, you would not need to modify your plumbing configuration. I hope I have been able to answer your questions today. If you have any other questions, please feel free to contact our AnswerLine at 800-558-5700. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Ceramic fell into dipsosal. Removed it but motor whirs.Pushed red button but no action. Can you help?

Asked by
Bob
Lake Worth, Fla
about Badger 1, 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
September 16, 2013
red button still in. Did not "pop" out when I tried the motor. Is this a problem too?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
steve
Florida, USA
October 22, 2013
This is why I had to replace mine. After a spoon got stuck the fly wheel broke and it started leaking. It would make whirring noise but it didn't work anymore.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
InSinkErator
September 17, 2013
Hello Bob,

This is Jim with InSinkErator. The red reset button is the overload protector. The only time that button pops out is when the unit comes on and and the grind plate can not turn because something has jammed the plate. After a few minutes the reset button will pop out and the unit will turn off to prevent the motor from burning out.

You did not mention in your description on whether the grind plate is turning. If the grind plate is not moving but the motor is making a humming sound, something could be still jamming the unit. Below are some instruction you can follow if this is the case.

Each InSinkErator disposer is shipped with a self-service wrench. The wrench is silver colored, and shaped like a little crank, about four inches long. If you can not find the service wrench, you can use a standard 1/4 inch Allen wrench. If you do not have your self-service wrench, and would like one, please let us know and we would be happy to send it out at no charge.

1. Make certain that the disposer's switch is in the OFF position. Also, be sure the water is not running during the procedure.
2. Looking under the sink, locate the hole, dead center, at the bottom of the disposer.
3. Insert the self-service wrenchette (or ¼ inch Allen wrench –short end) into the hole.
4. While holding the wrench up in the hole, attempt to make a complete revolution. The wrench should turn freely in a complete revolution, both clockwise and counter-clockwise. If you meet resistance in either direction, work the wrench in a back and forth motion. You may use force if necessary. You will know you are applying too much force if the entire disposer begins to turn.
5. Once the wrench is turning freely in a complete revolution both ways, remove the wrench from the hole.
6. With power still OFF to the disposer, look down into the chamber from the sink hole opening. Hold the black flaps back and look down into the chamber from the sink hole opening with a flashlight. Look to see if you can see anything that that might still be binding the plate or that you might have dislodged. Do not put your hands into the chamber. Pay special attention to the area around the outer edge of the disposer's shredding disk. There is a small space between the "floor" (flat surface of the shredder disc) and the wall of the disposer. Follow the circumference of this ring, carefully checking the space, to see if you can locate anything that should not be there. If you locate something, use a pair of pliers or tongs to retrieve it. Again, do not put your hands inside the disposer.
7. Turn the faucet on and run water through for 15 – 20 seconds.
8. Turn the switch for the disposer to the on position to check if it is operating correctly.

If this does not resolve the issue, the motor may be damaged. If that is the case, I recommend that you call our AnswerLine at 800-558-5700 for additional assistance and to check warranty status. Please have the serial number if you need to call. It is located on the side of the disposal towards the bottom edge on the side nearest the reset button.

I hope I was able to address your issue.

Sincerely
James Zurawski
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

cost of installation for badger 1 replacement

Asked by
fran
troutdale or
about Badger 1, 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
August 24, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Jelong
VA
October 1, 2013
If you replace by yourself, you will need Plumber's Putty ($4.5), Power cord kit ($9.53) and Dishwasher connect kit ($7).
But if you have no tool and parts, it might be charged at least $50, I guess.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
LittleBigheart
Rochester, NY, USA
August 25, 2013
Nothing because person I got it for installed it himself. I think he only had to buy plumber's putty. There are videos on You tube of guys demonstrating how to install and some are pretty good. How much work involved will depend on your own set-up and what you're replacing. Only other thing I can suggest is getting a quote from a plumber if you're iffy on doing it yourself.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Unit comes on but the next time it is hung up and hums. Never know when it will or will not. Nothing is in the unit but if you manualy spin and try

Asked by
panhead
Ms.
about Badger 1, 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
September 14, 2013
it it may come on and it may not
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
InSinkErator
September 16, 2013
Hello Panhead,

This is Jim from InSinkErator Customer Service. I'm very sorry to hear that you’re experiencing problems with your InSinkErator Badger disposal. To properly address your concerns, I'd like the opportunity to further discuss your issue. I'd like the opportunity to further discuss your issue. Please send me an email at insinkeratorfeedback@emerson.com with your contact information. It would also be very helpful if you could obtain the full model and serial number from the disposer and have it have handy when we speak.

The full model and serial number can be found on the specification label. The serial number will start with S/N followed by 2 letters and 8 numbers, or S/N followed by 11 numbers. The specification label is silver in color, about the size of a large band-aid, and is located on the side of the disposer very near the bottom edge. If you know where the red reset button is on the bottom of the unit, the specification label can be found on the side of the disposer closest to the reset button. Please be sure power is off to the disposer when checking for the specification label.

Sincerely
Jim Z.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
LittleBigheart
Rochester, NY, USA
September 14, 2013
Go to YouTube. Search "How to fix a garbage disposal: Stuck Flywheel." for 2 1/2 minute video that shows you what to do. Looks easy. Good luck, and please don't put your hand down the disposal.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
avlisk
Phoenix, AZ
September 14, 2013
I had this happen to mine, and couldn't ever get it to work right again. After several days of "would it work or only hum", finally it would only hum and trip the breaker. I replaced it after about 18 months old with the same model. Those in the know told me to run the new one every few days, even when I didn't think I needed to, and it's still working after 30 months.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

I have a Badger 1 1/3 hp, I need to replace, ordering online would take too long, can I replace it with the Badger 100 1/3 hp?

Asked by
Wab24
Abingdon, Md
about Badger 1, 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
January 3, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
LittleBigheart
Rochester, NY, USA
August 26, 2013
All insinkerator models use the same sink mount. If you now have one that plugs into an outlet check wiring for damage and get replacement cord if needed. Compare size of unit (in specifications) to the size of your unit. If different may need to adjust length of pipes underneath. Look at installation guide on this website for pictures and recommended tools/supplies. I know of atleast one other seller that may have the 1 1/3 in stock. (They do in my town.) Did you check around?
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
InSinkErator
January 7, 2013
Hello and thank you for your question. Yes, the Badger 1 and 100 are comparable disposers and should be fine for replacement. Also, for easy installation, both disposers feature a quick-lock sink mount so you may be able to reuse this mount if it is in good shape. Also, one thing to check is if your current disposer is plugged into an outlet with a power cord, verify that the cord is in good shape. If you need to purchase a new power cord, I’ve provided a link below for your convenience. Thanks for your interest in InSinkErator disposers, and good luck with your replacement.
 
Products related to my answer
 
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Rhettro
Naples, Fl
January 4, 2013
I have replaced older Badger units with new units and have no issues doing so. The Sink collar was interchangable and the power cord will need to be removed and used on the new unit. Take care when installing the new unit so as to place the power cord in the same area as some cords are just long enough to reach on previously installed units.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

My inkserator Badget 183 has a crack in the upper housing ( the tapered part, just below the sink.) Is that replaceable?

Asked by
bretmeister
Sandy, UT
about Badger 1, 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
February 7, 2013
I notice spray coming from underneath the sink. Upon further inspection, I found that the housing unit of my badger 183a was cracked (the tapered, gray plastic). Is that piece replaceable or should I replace the unit? It is about 8 years old.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
LittleBigheart
Rochester, NY, USA
August 26, 2013
Not sure but I think the part is called the mounting bracket body container and is quite expensive to replace. As many others have complained about housing cracks appearing in other areas (the plastic parts) after only a few years of use, you may want to consider just replacing it. You can contact the manufacturer at their website to better identify the part because I may be wrong.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
PMLJ
Surprise, AZ, USA
March 11, 2013
Replace the unit.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
InSinkErator
February 7, 2013
Hello and thank you for your question. To best assist you, we'd like to opportunity to speak with you in person. Please contact our customer service AnswerLine at your earliest convenience at 1-800-558-5700. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

My insinkerator 1-83 has a crack in the lower housing.

Asked by
mtnbarbie
Friendswood, TX
about Badger 1, 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
April 1, 2013
It has still worked until yesterday when the unit started leaking a lot of water out of the bottom where there are screws and the power cord enters the unit. It is about 7 years old. Do I need to replace the entire disposal?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
LittleBigheart
Rochester, NY, USA
August 26, 2013
This is a common complaint of the Badgers 1 and 5 models, cracks in the housing after only a few years, even with light use. Notice the very short warentee periods? It does need to be replaced. Badgers are pretty inexpensive so you can replace with the same if you're okay with replacing every 5-7 years. You would probably not have to replace the sink mount if still in good shape so it would be a fast and easy install you could do yourself. Better, quieter, more durable models are out there but they do cost more.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Royrogersiv
Lantana, TX 76226, USA
April 1, 2013
Replace it. Mine had the same crack
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
InSinkErator
April 1, 2013
Hello and thank you for your question. To best troubleshoot the issue you are experiencing, please contact our customer service department at your earliest convenience at 1-800-558-5700. Thank you and we hope to speak with you soon.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I have a Badger 1 Model 1-56. What model can I replace it with?

Asked by
Jill
Ann Arbor, MI
about Badger 1, 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
June 10, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
LittleBigheart
Rochester, NY, USA
August 26, 2013
If you want the same thing, a Badger 1. If you want more horsepower go up to a 5. All Insinkerator models use the same sink mount so if your's is still in good shape you can get any Insinkerator disposer you want, not just the Badgers. Look at the product size dimensions and compare to what you already have. It's the pipes underneath that made need length adjustment. If your Badger is really old and rusted through, the disposer may break off instead of twist off and it may be impossible to replace only the disposer part. It's not that hard to replace the sink mount but it does take time and plumbers putty.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
InSinkErator
July 22, 2013
Hello Jill,
Thank you for your question. All Badger models have the same plumbing dimensions. This will allow you to replace your current Badger 1 with any Badger model that is currently available quckly and easily. You if have any additional question, always feel free to call our Answer Line at 1-800-558-5700. Thank you again for your question and we hope this information is helpful to you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
maninmirrors
Walla Walla, WA, USA
July 2, 2013
I would strongly advise you to order another Badger 1. You can pay more for far less value.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
DesigningWoman
June 18, 2013
Hello Jill and thank you for your question.

The Badger 1 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal can be replaced with any model in the Badger 1 series rated for 1/3 or 1/2 hp as long as the plumbing connections are the same.

Best wishes on your project.
 
Products related to my answer
 
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Are the Badger 1 disposals all the same, i want to replace one with a model # B179?

Asked by
cortezh1
Dallas
about Badger 1, 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
December 30, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
LittleBigheart
Rochester, NY, USA
August 25, 2013
Basically the same with 1/2 horsepower (light duty) and same Quicklock sink mount. They are the cheapest and shortest warenteed of the Badgers but okay if you're tossing mostly just mushy stuff in them.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
InSinkErator
January 3, 2012
Hello to you and thank you very much for your question. All Badger 1 models are 1/3HP and will feature identical hook-up dimensions. Hope this information is helpful to you and good luck with your project!
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Does the Insinkerator Badger 1 have a model number of 1-83?

Asked by
bgilson
about Badger 1, 1/3 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
December 17, 2011
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
LittleBigheart
Rochester, NY, USA
August 25, 2013
Yes. And a 1-79, etc. The Badger 1's all have 1/3 horsepower, (light duty.) Badger 5's have 1/2 hosepower and Badger 5XP all have 3/4 horse power. The only other major difference is length of warrentee, i.e. the 5XP is built to last longer than the 1. All Insinkerator models have the same Quicklock sink mount so you can replace a 1-79 with a 1-83 or any other "1" model AND you can replace a "1" with a "5" or "5XP" or any of their evolution models without having to replace the sink mount.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
InSinkErator
December 19, 2011
Hello to you, and thank you for your question. Yes. "Badger 1” is the primary model name. The “-83” is a suffix to the model number for internal use only. Hope this information is helpful and good luck with your project.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 »