Looking for Answers about Lincoln Electric AC225S Arc Welder?

Customer questions and answers for
Lincoln Electric AC225S Arc Welder

The Lincoln Electric AC225S Arc Welder features a broad welding amperage range of 40-225-Amp for versatile use. Designed for operation with metals 16-Gauge and heavier. This powerful welder features a smooth AC arc and can be used with a wide variety of metals, including steel, cast iron and stainless steel.
Customer questions and answers:
23 Questions
 | 
39 Answers
Overall rating:
4.786 out of 5
4.8
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for Lincoln Electric AC225S Arc Welder

Question

how much it weight ?

Asked by
tito
nyc
about AC225S Arc Welder on
August 4, 2015
how much it weight ?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
WeldingExperts
August 18, 2015
109 lbs.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Ship to guatemala?

Asked by
oscar
guatemala
about AC225S Arc Welder on
July 19, 2015
ship to guatemala?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
THDSupport
July 23, 2015
Thank you for your recent inquiry with The Home Depot. We are unable to ship internationally at this time. We are only able to ship to the 48 contiguous states and a limited selection of products can be shipped to Alaska and Hawaii. For any other questions, please call us at HomeDepot.com Customer Service 800-430-3376. Thank you for shopping Home Depot
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I had my leads on welder stolen. Bought new ones, took welder apart a week ago, I am not for sure exactly what lead goes where? Need manuel?

Asked by
Mellow
Troy ,Mo.
about AC225S Arc Welder on
April 29, 2015
Welder older, no manuel or diagram. Thank you
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
WeldingExperts
April 30, 2015
Call 888-935-3876 with the code number from your welder and a wiring diagram can be sent.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

H D sells 10000 watt Duromax Generator (8000 watts continuos). Will it power Mod K1170 or K1297 welders HD is selling?

Asked by
Maxfly
Clyde,TX
about AC225S Arc Welder on
March 3, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
WeldingExperts
March 4, 2015
The K1297 and K1170 require 11,500 watts.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

my 50 amp breaker has a 4 wire outlet do they make an adapter for my older lincon 225 s arc welder ?

Asked by
mykie
colton ca
about AC225S Arc Welder on
February 12, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
WeldingExperts
February 13, 2015
You should consult an electrician to determine the best way to supply 230V, single phase, 50A power to the welder.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How long are the cables and can you add longer ones safely?

Asked by
Maxb
Clyde, Tx
about AC225S Arc Welder on
January 15, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
WeldingExperts
January 20, 2015
The AC225 comes with an 8', and a 10' lead. You can extend them, but need to follow amp/guage charts for the length required.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How big a generator does one need to run this machine?

Asked by
Maxb
Clyde, Tx
about AC225S Arc Welder on
January 15, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
WeldingExperts
January 20, 2015
11,500 watt.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Extending the cable lengths

Asked by
DIY069
Burkburnett, TX
about AC225S Arc Welder on
November 29, 2014
I want to add 100 ft. lengths to both the ground and the electrode cables. What size/gauge cable do I need? Can this be done. I have 4 sets of Lincoln QD connectors available.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
WeldingExperts
December 2, 2014
The mininum cable size for 100 ft would be 3 gauge cable.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What gauge is wire on machine's cord/plug and how long is it?

Asked by
gphealth2013
Los Angeles
about AC225S Arc Welder on
September 18, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
ChrisFixit
September 19, 2014
Hello gphealth2013,

The attached cord is 6 feet in length and 6 gauge. I've included a link to the Lincoln Electric product page with the information below. I hope this helps.

Cheers,
Chris

Lincoln Electric:
http://www.lincolnelectric.com/en-u...)
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

can I switch the plug to a 220v male end so I can use my existing circuit?

Asked by
Jeepguy
about AC225S Arc Welder on
July 28, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
WeldingExperts
Cleveland
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 31, 2014
Yes, you can change the plug on the cable end to plug into your current 220V configuration.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Where can I purchase the correct female outlet for my Lincoln 225 welder. My generator and dryer outlets or not the correct configuration.

Asked by
Bobwhite
Blanco, Texas
about AC225S Arc Welder on
May 16, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
WeldingExperts
Cleveland
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
May 19, 2014
We reccomend that you consult with a certified electrician. An electrician will be able to tell you what female plug you need and can install it where you need it as well.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the duty cycle time on this machine ?

Asked by
stephen
plymouth
about AC225S Arc Welder on
March 6, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
WeldingExperts
Cleveland
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
March 7, 2014
The rated output on the K1170 is 225A/25V/20%
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what % duty clcle does this have

Asked by
poppop
alachua
about AC225S Arc Welder on
February 8, 2014
how long can I run this welder without stopping
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
WeldingExperts
Cleveland
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
February 10, 2014
The Rated Output of the K1170 is 225A/25V/20%
Except 75 amp setting which can be used continuously for
1 hour.
225 amp AC output - Is enough for
3/16 in. (4.8 mm) diameter general
purpose mild steel electrodes and
5/32 in. (4.0 mm) sizes of other
electrodes.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is the fan on a AC225 arc welder run on 220 or 125 volts

Asked by
raymond
Compton Q C Canada
about AC225S Arc Welder on
January 31, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
WeldingExperts
Cleveland
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
February 3, 2014
The fan on theAC225S cannot run independently, so it to must run off of the required 230 welder volts.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the gauge size of the welding cables?

Asked by
Ronald
California
about AC225S Arc Welder on
December 16, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Darryl
Portland Oregon
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
January 1, 2014
2.0
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
WeldingExperts
Cleveland
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
December 17, 2013
The electrode cable is #6 and the work clamp cable is #5 on the AC-225
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

CAN THIS MACHINE BE USE FOR ALUMINUM WELDING

Asked by
JUNIOR
about AC225S Arc Welder on
October 30, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Darryl
Portland Oregon
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
December 30, 2013
Yes, if you are a little fast welding.
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Dennis
Terrebonne, OR, USA
December 10, 2013
I don't know anything about aluminum welding - sorry.
Ask on line at the Lincoln site or Home Depot. Or any welding supplier store.
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
DieselDon
Pittsburgh
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
November 22, 2013
They DO make an aluminum stick type rod that CAN be used to weld Aluminum. HOWEVER, THIS IS NOT IDEAL And, will NOT have the strength that using a TIG welder would provide.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
WeldingExperts
Cleveland
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
October 31, 2013
Th K1170 is reccomended to be used when welding with steel. We would like to direct you to the Lincoln Electric website for direction on welding with auminum.
www.lincolnelectric.com - home - support - welding how to's - aluminum. There is a whole gallery and a wealth of information about the requirements of welding with and on aluminum.
-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I plug this into a residence dryer outlet?

Asked by
bhemoth88
California
about AC225S Arc Welder on
January 8, 2013
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Dennis
Terrebonne, OR, USA
December 10, 2013
They are not rated at 50 amps- so no you can't.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
DieselDon
Pittsburgh
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
November 22, 2013
Probably. Just check to ensure you have adequate amperage.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
WeldingExperts
January 14, 2013
Hello,

Yes you can.

Thanks
+4points
5out of 6found this answer helpful.
Question

What size fuse do you need in the fuse panel? Thanks

Asked by
Dean
about AC225S Arc Welder on
February 9, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Dennis
Terrebonne, OR, USA
December 10, 2013
Don't use old fashion fuses - use a 2 pole breaker at 50 amps.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
DieselDon
Pittsburgh
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
October 9, 2013
25 to 30 amp should keep it running. HOWEVER, do NOT put a Higher rated fuse into a circuit that is NOT rated for that amperage. Your Range circuit SHOULD have the necessary amperage rating to handle it. MINE DOES. But, that doesn't necessarily mean yours does. But, MOST range circuits are built to handle this kind of power.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
WeldingExperts
Cleveland
February 11, 2013
Dean, our parts department recommends that you replace it with a 50AMP slow blow or time delay fuse. You may be able to pick one up at a hardware store, but may have better luck finding one at an electrical store like Mars Electric.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Am I able to use a Honda 6500 Generator with a Max amp (30) and voltage rating of 120/240 to power this welder?

Asked by
Clark
San Antonio
about AC225S Arc Welder on
May 14, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Dennis
Terrebonne, OR, USA
December 10, 2013
Sorry no. Need a 50 amp output circuit at 240 volts.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
DieselDon
Pittsburgh
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
October 9, 2013
That would be about the MAXIMUM that your generator can handle. I assume the 6500 is PEAK. I would let it take a bit of a break to cool down between weld runs. And, I would not advise to weld constantly. But, if you want to use it to do some occasional jobs I think it will run the welder. I would NOT advise to keep it under a constant load at that rate of consumption.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
WeldingExperts
Cleveland
May 15, 2013
No, this welder requires at least 50A to operate accordiing to the specs.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what do they mean by fuse? are they meaning 50amp breaker as in the home breaker box

Asked by
meangene33
about AC225S Arc Welder on
July 11, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Dennis
Terrebonne, OR, USA
December 10, 2013
A fuse is a bit old fashion now. It is a thin wire that melts ( fuses) when current is too high so 'break's the circuits continuity.

Go for a breaker at 50 amps. That will be a 2 pole type.
That will interrupt the power on overload and is re-settable.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
DieselDon
Pittsburgh
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
October 9, 2013
I can not be certain as I do not know the context in which "fuse" is being used. HOWEVER, in many older homes that were built BEFORE the advent of Breakers YES, they used fuses to protect the circuits from over loading. There are several different types of fuses so be sure to get the correct type
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
WeldingExperts
Cleveland
July 16, 2013
Hello, Machine has no fuse. I believe you are talking about the line service, and your breaker box should have a 50amp breaker for the welder to be plugged into.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
1 2 »