Looking for Answers about Lincoln Electric AC225S Arc Welder?

Customer questions and answers for
Lincoln Electric AC225S Arc Welder

The Lincoln Electric AC225S Arc Welder features a broad welding amperage range of 40 - 225 amps for versatile use. Designed for operation with metals 16 gauge and heavier. This powerful welder features a smooth AC arc and can be used with a wide variety of metals, including steel, cast iron and stainless steel.
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions
 | 
30 Answers
Overall rating:
4.769 out of 5
4.8
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for Lincoln Electric AC225S Arc Welder

Question

can I switch the plug to a 220v male end so I can use my existing circuit?

Asked by
Jeepguy
about AC225S Arc Welder on
July 28, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
WeldingExperts
Cleveland
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
July 31, 2014
Yes, you can change the plug on the cable end to plug into your current 220V configuration.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Where can I purchase the correct female outlet for my Lincoln 225 welder. My generator and dryer outlets or not the correct configuration.

Asked by
Bobwhite
Blanco, Texas
about AC225S Arc Welder on
May 16, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
WeldingExperts
Cleveland
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
May 19, 2014
We reccomend that you consult with a certified electrician. An electrician will be able to tell you what female plug you need and can install it where you need it as well.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the duty cycle time on this machine ?

Asked by
stephen
plymouth
about AC225S Arc Welder on
March 6, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
WeldingExperts
Cleveland
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
March 7, 2014
The rated output on the K1170 is 225A/25V/20%
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what % duty clcle does this have

Asked by
poppop
alachua
about AC225S Arc Welder on
February 8, 2014
how long can I run this welder without stopping
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
WeldingExperts
Cleveland
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
February 10, 2014
The Rated Output of the K1170 is 225A/25V/20%
Except 75 amp setting which can be used continuously for
1 hour.
225 amp AC output - Is enough for
3/16 in. (4.8 mm) diameter general
purpose mild steel electrodes and
5/32 in. (4.0 mm) sizes of other
electrodes.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is the fan on a AC225 arc welder run on 220 or 125 volts

Asked by
raymond
Compton Q C Canada
about AC225S Arc Welder on
January 31, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
WeldingExperts
Cleveland
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
February 3, 2014
The fan on theAC225S cannot run independently, so it to must run off of the required 230 welder volts.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the gauge size of the welding cables?

Asked by
Ronald
California
about AC225S Arc Welder on
December 16, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
john
Portland Oregon
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
January 1, 2014
2.0
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
WeldingExperts
Cleveland
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
December 17, 2013
The electrode cable is #6 and the work clamp cable is #5 on the AC-225
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

CAN THIS MACHINE BE USE FOR ALUMINUM WELDING

Asked by
JUNIOR
about AC225S Arc Welder on
October 30, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
john
Portland Oregon
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
December 30, 2013
Yes, if you are a little fast welding.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Dennis
Terrebonne, OR, USA
December 10, 2013
I don't know anything about aluminum welding - sorry.
Ask on line at the Lincoln site or Home Depot. Or any welding supplier store.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
DieselDon
Pittsburgh
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
November 22, 2013
They DO make an aluminum stick type rod that CAN be used to weld Aluminum. HOWEVER, THIS IS NOT IDEAL And, will NOT have the strength that using a TIG welder would provide.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
WeldingExperts
Cleveland
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
October 31, 2013
Th K1170 is reccomended to be used when welding with steel. We would like to direct you to the Lincoln Electric website for direction on welding with auminum.
www.lincolnelectric.com - home - support - welding how to's - aluminum. There is a whole gallery and a wealth of information about the requirements of welding with and on aluminum.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I plug this into a residence dryer outlet?

Asked by
bhemoth88
California
about AC225S Arc Welder on
January 8, 2013
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Dennis
Terrebonne, OR, USA
December 10, 2013
They are not rated at 50 amps- so no you can't.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
DieselDon
Pittsburgh
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
November 22, 2013
Probably. Just check to ensure you have adequate amperage.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
WeldingExperts
January 14, 2013
Hello,

Yes you can.

Thanks
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

What size fuse do you need in the fuse panel? Thanks

Asked by
Dean
about AC225S Arc Welder on
February 9, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Dennis
Terrebonne, OR, USA
December 10, 2013
Don't use old fashion fuses - use a 2 pole breaker at 50 amps.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
DieselDon
Pittsburgh
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
October 9, 2013
25 to 30 amp should keep it running. HOWEVER, do NOT put a Higher rated fuse into a circuit that is NOT rated for that amperage. Your Range circuit SHOULD have the necessary amperage rating to handle it. MINE DOES. But, that doesn't necessarily mean yours does. But, MOST range circuits are built to handle this kind of power.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
WeldingExperts
Cleveland
February 11, 2013
Dean, our parts department recommends that you replace it with a 50AMP slow blow or time delay fuse. You may be able to pick one up at a hardware store, but may have better luck finding one at an electrical store like Mars Electric.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Am I able to use a Honda 6500 Generator with a Max amp (30) and voltage rating of 120/240 to power this welder?

Asked by
Clark
San Antonio
about AC225S Arc Welder on
May 14, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Dennis
Terrebonne, OR, USA
December 10, 2013
Sorry no. Need a 50 amp output circuit at 240 volts.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
DieselDon
Pittsburgh
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
October 9, 2013
That would be about the MAXIMUM that your generator can handle. I assume the 6500 is PEAK. I would let it take a bit of a break to cool down between weld runs. And, I would not advise to weld constantly. But, if you want to use it to do some occasional jobs I think it will run the welder. I would NOT advise to keep it under a constant load at that rate of consumption.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
WeldingExperts
Cleveland
May 15, 2013
No, this welder requires at least 50A to operate accordiing to the specs.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what do they mean by fuse? are they meaning 50amp breaker as in the home breaker box

Asked by
meangene33
about AC225S Arc Welder on
July 11, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Dennis
Terrebonne, OR, USA
December 10, 2013
A fuse is a bit old fashion now. It is a thin wire that melts ( fuses) when current is too high so 'break's the circuits continuity.

Go for a breaker at 50 amps. That will be a 2 pole type.
That will interrupt the power on overload and is re-settable.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
DieselDon
Pittsburgh
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
October 9, 2013
I can not be certain as I do not know the context in which "fuse" is being used. HOWEVER, in many older homes that were built BEFORE the advent of Breakers YES, they used fuses to protect the circuits from over loading. There are several different types of fuses so be sure to get the correct type
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
WeldingExperts
Cleveland
July 16, 2013
Hello, Machine has no fuse. I believe you are talking about the line service, and your breaker box should have a 50amp breaker for the welder to be plugged into.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

can this be plugged into a regular outlet?

Asked by
shmit
brooklyn
about AC225S Arc Welder on
November 13, 2013
where do you power this machine from
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Dennis
Terrebonne, OR, USA
December 10, 2013
No.
Needs a 50 amp 240 v supply.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
DieselDon
Pittsburgh
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
November 22, 2013
No, This machine runs on 220 and, it is suggested that it be a 50amp circuit. I use my range circuit at my house.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
KenHDOC
Orange, Ca.
Home Improvement Profile: Other
November 14, 2013
Hi Shmit, this product is rated at 230 volts, so you will need the proper breaker, and circuit to operate this welder.

Most houses are rated 125 volts. So you would not be able to use, unless you install the proper circuit.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how long are the leads?

Asked by
mj
oklahoma
about AC225S Arc Welder on
January 6, 2013
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Dennis
Terrebonne, OR, USA
December 10, 2013
10 feet
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
WeldingExperts
January 14, 2013
Hello,

There is a 10Ft. lead for the electrode holder and a 12ft. lead for the work clamp and cable. Please let me know if you have any other questions.

Thanks
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Question

How long an extension cord can be used with the lincwelder ac-225-s and what size cord should be used?

Asked by
bhemoth88
California
about AC225S Arc Welder on
January 8, 2013
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Dennis
Terrebonne, OR, USA
December 10, 2013
Tthe welder needs a 240 v 50 amp supple so it is not feasible to use extensions such as are used from a 120 v receptacle.
Would need to be a heavy gauge 240 volt extension at 50 amps.

Best is to use the welder close to the work or take the work near the welder. Otherwise you would need a generator capable of supplying the volts and amps required when working in the field.

Even then you need to keep the distance of the cable to the welder as short as possible. The longer the lead the more power is lost.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
WeldingExperts
January 14, 2013
Hello,

If you get a 6ga. extension cord you can go as long as you would like. Please make sure you get an extension cord premade or made by someone qualified to ensure safety.

Please let me know if you have any other questions.

Thanks
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
1 of 1