Looking for Answers about InSinkErator Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal?

Customer questions and answers for
InSinkErator Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

The InSinkErator Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal features a quick-mounting system that allows for easy installation or replacement of most disposers. This garbage disposal also features a 1/2 HP motor that rapidly grinds food waste for easy rinsing down the drain. The garbage Disposal also features galvanized steel construction for durability.
Customer questions and answers:
38 Questions
 | 
220 Answers
Overall rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for InSinkErator Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Question

I understand that the Badger Model #5 does not include a power cord. My old Badger Model # 500 has a perfectly good power cord, can I reuse that cord

Asked by
Bern
Cleveland, OH
about Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
July 31, 2014
The old Badger # 500 cord is perfectly good, but I need to know if I can use it on the new Badger Model # 5 --- Thanks -- Berni
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Chris
Chicago
August 1, 2014
Hello Bern, I’m Chris from the Home Depot’s how-to Community. Thank you for your question.

If the existing cord is indeed in good shape and includes hot, neutral and ground wires then there should be no problem reusing it.

See the installation instructions here:
http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/pd...

I hope this helps,
Chris.

.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
InSinkErator
August 4, 2014
Hi, this is Jerica from InSinkErator Customer Service. I do apologize but we cannot and we do not recommend reuse of disposer cords. When one removes the cord, it may cause damage to the cord and if reused, one may have an issue with it. As this is an electrical connection, it is always best to use a new cord and plug. If you have questions, you may call InSinkErator AnswerLine at 1 (800) 558-5700. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Arunc
Raleigh, nc
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
August 5, 2014
Yes. I used my old cord too.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Cousin
August 5, 2014
Yes. Disposal power cords are generally a universal fit item.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
gumby
fremont, ca
August 13, 2014
yes just open the access on the bottom and undo the wire nuts, rewire the same way, i had to do the same thing, hardest part is getting the old cord entry point out ...
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Maybe a crazy question,

Asked by
nash
Mn
about Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
July 6, 2014
but my Emerson just started leaking from the bottom, i was wondering if this Badger would attach to the same flange? (ive had mine for ten years.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
dale0770
Indiana, USA
July 8, 2014
I assume residential kitchen sinks have drain openings the same size. I have only used this brand because I have trusted it for years. I'm pleased with our last purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
InSinkErator
July 8, 2014
Hi, this is Jerica from InSinkErator Customer Service. I do apologize for the inconvenience your unit may have caused you. All Emerson and InSinkErator brand disposers have the same type of sink flanges. A Badger disposer would attach to an Emerson disposer’s sink flange. Please ensure that the flange is still in good condition before re-using it. If you have further questions, you may call the InSinkErator AnswerLine at 1 (800) 558-5700. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
jimthedean
South Carolina, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 8, 2014
I'm not familiar with an Emerson.

What I can say is that I'm not very good with mechanical things but the instructions were clear enough that I was able to do the installation without professional help...and changing the flange was quite straight forward and permitted the use of parts designed for the new equipment.

The Badger has also been a great product!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is the Maintenance Warehouse Model 405750-3 the same as the Badger 5?

Asked by
Tigerlily
about Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
June 2, 2014
I understand that Insinkerator makes the Maintenance Warehouse model and it's the same basic garbage disposer as the Badger 5 and 500 with a different warranty and that the 5 and 500 are also the same, just different model numbers for different stores. Can anyone confirm this? I'd like to replace my MW with a Badger and want to be sure that the pipe fitter locations are the same. Thanks.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
InSinkErator
June 3, 2014
Hi Tigerlily,

This is Belle from InSinkErator Customer Service. Maintenance Warehouse is a brand we manufacture. They are similar to the Badger 5 and Badger 500. Therefore, the plumbing dimensions are the same.

If you have further questions, you may contact the AnswerLine at 1-800-558-5700. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Tigerlily
June 3, 2014
What a wonderful system. Thank you for the quick answer Belle. Could you describe the difference between the Maintenance Warehouse model, the Badger 5 and the Badger 500. Also I wonder if you might comment on all the comments related to leaking. Is this something that has been looked at by Insinkerator and do you have any recommendations for reducing the liklihood of cracks. I've had my MW disposal for 8 years and it too is leaking though I think 8 years is a good amount of use. I'm just wondering if there's any advantage to changing from the MW model to the Badger. Thanks again.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

The old one was Model 5-75A Can I replace it with this one?

Asked by
Princess
La Quinta, Ca
about Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
May 21, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
InSinkErator
May 22, 2014
Hi Princess,

This is Belle from InSinkErator Customer Service. The Badger 5-75A is also a Badger 5 model. Therefore, you can replace your old Badger 5-75A with the Badger 5.

The old Badger 5-75A uses a threaded discharge outlet connection while the current Badger 5 uses a bolted discharge outlet connection. If you used the elbow discharge pipe that came with the Badger 5-75A to connect it to the discharge plumbing, the current Badger 5 will fit exactly the same. But, if you used a straight pipe, you will have to make some adjustments on your plumbing.

If you have further questions, you may contact the AnswerLine at 1-800-558-5700. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
gumby
fremont, ca
August 13, 2014
if it was a badger 5, yes, you need to have a power cord, if your old one has one then replace with that one
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this the same as the Badger 5-81A?

Asked by
bfrchicago
Chicago
about Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
April 28, 2014
I have a Badger 5-81A that is leaking so I plan to replace it. If I buy this Badger 5, is it the same or comparable?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
dino
April 30, 2014
the badger 5 compares to the badger 50. not sure of the badger 5-81a.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
ths3900
Lee's Summit, MO, USA
April 29, 2014
It will likely fit without any issues. It's an easy replacement. Take a look at were it attaches to the sink. It should be an exact match.

Make sure the power is out to the unit. Some are plugged into a wall outlet and that makes it safer to unplug before making any electrical connections.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
InSinkErator
April 29, 2014
Hi, this is Jerica from InSinkErator Customer Service. Yes, Badger 5-81A is a Badger 5 model. These two models have the same features like the horsepower, warranty length and dimensions. However, Badger 5-81A came pre-installed with a power cord. You may check with Home Depot if they have Badger disposers pre-installed with a power cord or you may get the power cord kit separately. The part number of the power cord kit is CRD-00. If you need further assistance, you may call the InSinkErator AnswerLine through 1 (800) 558-5700. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

do you carry a different disposal for saptic tanks

Asked by
merr
mio
about Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
March 29, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
ths3900
Lee's Summit, MO, USA
March 31, 2014
You will be better off not using a disposal if your plumbing is on a septic tank.
Just throw your trash in the garbage.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
InSinkErator
March 31, 2014
Hi merr,

I am Belle from InSinkErator Customer Service. InSinkErator
disposers have always been safe for septic systems. A disposer uses only about as much water per day as one flush of a toilet. But the Septic Assist model has dditional advantages. The Septic Assist has a Bio-Charge cartridge attached to it. Every time you turn on your disposer, the Bio-Charge is injected into the disposer. It helps break down food waste before it reaches your septic system. The microorganisms digest both food and household waste inside your septic tank, which reduce the accumulation of solids.

If you have any other questions, you may post them here or contact the AnswerLine at 1-800-558-5700. Thanks!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Ideas about how to keep the galvanized steel end bell assembly from corroding through?

Asked by
KDS444
Los Angeles, CA
about Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
March 10, 2014
I rent an apartment that came with a Badger 5 Insinkerator. Not long ago it jammed, and I had to take it out to have a look at the problem. Turns out a random screw had somehow fallen in (not related to the Badger). Anyhow, I removed the screw, but upon reinstallation I had a leak-- out the bottom of the disposal. I opened it up again and could see that the stray screw had punctured a hole in the end bell assembly. I cleaned up the hole with some steel wool, but as I was doing so I discovered that the entire end bell assembly had become paper thin all the way around. It was also clearly pocked with tiny craters all over its surface. Once I had it immaculately clean, I treated the assembly by covering it with a thin layer of aquarium silicone, which I then let cure before reinstalling. It is now holding water, but I dare not actually run it for fear the silicone will tear and the leak will return. Others have already asked about these kinds of leaks: it looks like the galvanized steel corrodes through after a few years. I am considering coating the top of the end bell assembly of the next garbage disposal with the same silicone before installation to prevent this from happening again. Is this a bad idea for any reason? Are there other suggestions for protecting the end bell assembly from corrosion? The zinc plating on the steel just isn't able to hold up (the stainless steel grinder, though... that thing seems to be immortal!).
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
D337z
Belton, MO
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 11, 2014
All you can really do is to replace the unit with a possibly stainless steel unit and/or keep your garbage disposal clean with garbage disposal cleaner to discourage deterioration.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Littlefish
Alexandria, VA, USA
March 11, 2014
it seems you need a new one. it only cost about $80. ask the owner to replace it ASAP to avoid possible water damage on cabinetry in near future.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
InSinkErator
March 13, 2014
Hi KDS444, I am Belle of InSinkErator Customer Service. The galvanized components inside the Badger series are made corrosion resistant by a coating of zinc. Unfortunately, once the galvanization has worn away(which happens long after the warranty of the disposer has expired), plain metal is being exposed to an almost wet environment, that is when the corrosion starts to interfere with the operation of the product. That happens after a long period of time. Avoiding caustic or acidic substances from going through the disposer helps extend the life of the disposer after the zinc coating has worn away. Other than that, there is really no steps that can be taken to slow down the natural progression of corrosion for galvanized steel grind chamber and components.

If you have further inquiry, you may contact the AnswerLine at 1-800-558-5700. Thanks.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

The model # of this one is 5-84. My current one is 5-81A. Are they compatible?

Asked by
Jenny
about Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
March 9, 2014
The model # of this one is 5-84. My current one is 5-81A. Are they compatible?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
D337z
Belton, MO
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 11, 2014
Compatibility isn't an issue. Garbage disposals come with everything (except for plumbers putty) you need to install it into an existing sink. You could purchase an upgraded and much quieter garbage disposal and it would still work.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Littlefish
Alexandria, VA, USA
March 11, 2014
they should be compatible if they are both Badger 5. Among Bagder 1 , Badger 5 and Badger 5xp, they are interchangeable. where did you find the "model #"?
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
InSinkErator
March 11, 2014
Hi Jenny,

I am Belle from InSinkErator Customer Service. Yes, the model 5-84 is compatible to your 5-81A. The difference is that, the 5-81A has a pre installed plug in cord while the 5-84 does not have a plug in cord attached to it. The "-84" and "-81A" are just engineering numbers. 5-84 and 5-81A are both Badger 5 model.

If you have further questions, you may contact the AnswerLine at 1-800-558-5700. Thanks!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the difference between the Badger 5 and 500 models.

Asked by
Donnie
Palm Harbor, Fl
about Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
February 2, 2014
I have looked at the specifications of both and see no difference except in the price. Can you recommend which is the better of the two.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
InSinkErator
February 6, 2014
Hi Donnie,

This is Jim with InSinkErator. The Badger 500 is the branded model for Home Depot. They are the same unit. I hope I have been able to answer you question. If you have any other questions, please feel free to contact our AnswerLine at 800-558-5700. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
dino
April 30, 2014
specs are the same
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
KenHDOC
Orange, Ca.
Home Improvement Profile: Other
February 3, 2014
Hi Donnie, I contacted InSinkErator to get you an answer. InSinkErator stated that both of these models are the same.

InSinkEraor assigned the model number 500 to the product sold at Home Depot.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Donnie
Dunedin Fl.
February 25, 2014
My answer is above. The model number is the only difference in the Badger5 and 500.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Littlefish
Alexandria, VA, USA
March 11, 2014
They are same to me. they all do their jobs. They are coexist because of company's marketing strategy.
For contractors and builders, they may go with Badger 5 to save money on many installations.
For homeowners, they may choose Badger 500, because they think the better price, the better value, and it immediately available in store.
For the manufacturer, they want to rise the price of Badger 5, but more concern about the reaction of market of price change. so, they keep them both on to test the market. I believe Badger 5 will fade out if more and more customer buying Badger 500, or Badger 5 will fade out and Badger 500 will drop the price if people like Badger 5 more.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
ths3900
Lee's Summit, MO, USA
April 29, 2014
I think two zeros and an extra $20. You may be able to order the 5 online from Home Depot. They do not carry it in the store. Delivery on mine was fantastic!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I am replacing the same cracked Badger 5 1/2 HP unit with a new one. Is there any reason why I can not use the existing power cord from the old one?

Asked by
Boatman
St Paul
about Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
January 30, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
InSinkErator
January 31, 2014
Hi Boatman,

This is Jim with InSinkErator. If your old unit was one with a built in cord, we do not recommend re-using the cord. If it was an uncorded unit and a cord was added, if the cord appears to be good condition, you can re-use it. For safety reasons though, we do recommend replacing the cord as well to avoid any potiential electrical issues.

If you have any other questions or concerns, please feel free to contact our AnswerLine at 800-558-5700. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Merf
January 31, 2014
If it were me and the existing cord is in good shape I would use it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Larry
Lake Saint Louis, MO, USA
February 1, 2014
I know of no reason if the cord is in good condition, but why is it important to use the existing cord?
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
cas55
Cottage Grove, MN
February 5, 2014
If your old cord is three wire grounded and still flexible and in good shape, no cracks in the rubber insulation, etc, there is no reason in world why you can't use it on the new disposal.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Donnie
Dunedin Fl.
February 25, 2014
Yes you can use the cord from the old one.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
JimC
Florida, USA
January 31, 2014
The new unit does not come with a power cord. The wiring you have for the old unit, provided it is in good condition, will work on the new disposer. It is easy to remove the old unit wiring (turn off the power to the unit first), then rewire the new unit exactly as the old one.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Septic tank and garbage disposal...

Asked by
Kiki
Miami, FL
about Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
January 30, 2014
We bought our home 4 years ago and it had this garbage disposal. I have since learned that homes using a septic system should not have a garbage disposal. My garbage disposal is leaking now and I am a pretty handy gall and think I could replace it myself...but should I? Any thoughts on if I am doing other damage to my home or system by using a garbage disposal?
Thanks!!
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
ths3900
Lee's Summit, MO, USA
January 31, 2014
I would not use a disposal with a septic tank. Just do not put food scraps down there. Put them in the trash.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
TreeMan11191
New Carlisle, OH 45344, USA
March 11, 2014
No do not replace it if you have a septic tank. The food waste does not breakdown very well & you'll need to have the tank pumped out much more often & can get into your leach bed & cause problems.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
InSinkErator
January 30, 2014
Hi Kiki,

This is Jim with InSinkErator. To answer your question; Even conventional InSinkErator disposers have always been safe for properly sized septic systems.

A septic system is designed to safely treat and dispose of household waste from the kitchen and bathroom(s). If your system is sized to handle a dishwasher or clothes washer in addition to sinks and toilets, it can handle a disposer as well.

Wastewater flows into your septic tank, where solids that are lighter than water (such as grease, oils and paper) float to the top and form a layer of scum. Solids that are heavier than water float to the bottom and form a layer of sludge.

The middle layer of partially clarified water flows through a distribution box that evenly disperses it into your drain field. Gravel and soil then filter out pollutants and bacteria.

Naturally occurring bacteria in your septic tank help to decompose solid matter.

Also, I have provided for you a link to some additional information concerning disposers and septic systems. It also has information about our Septic Assist Disposer that was designed for customers with septic systems.

http://www.insinkerator.com/en-us/Household-Products/Garbage-Disposers/Pages/Septic-Assist-Disposers.aspx

If you have any other questions, please feel free to contact our AnswerLine at 800-558-5700. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Donnie
Dunedin Fl.
February 25, 2014
I have heard the same about septic systems, but am not an expert. You should talk to your plumber or septic person. It may be that you could use the disposal with certain conditions.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Littlefish
Alexandria, VA, USA
March 11, 2014
you can still replace/install a new disposal for your kitchen sink. but put its usage on lite. Use strainer to separate the solid waste from liquid,make sure just liquid goes down the sink every time. You don't want your septic tank overflowed every year because you dumped all solid waste in it through disposal. Use disposal on occasionally base for clean up purpose only.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I have 3.4 garbage disposal.can i replace with this one being a different horsepower

Asked by
sonshine
indiana
about Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
December 31, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Nancy
Greeley, CO, USA
January 10, 2014
Yes as long as you are using the proper wire for it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
SBear
Mechanicsville, VA, USA
January 11, 2014
You need to make sure the pipe fitting are the same. That's what matters,
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
D337z
Belton, MO
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 23, 2014
Yes. Yes, you can. I recommend the In-sink Erator models as they have more than one sheer ring which results in smaller particles, fewer clogs and the ability to dispose of items like celery and carrots. They're also much quieter than the Badger models while reducing vibration. I also recommend using a disposal with a higher or equal horse power (HP) than your present one. If money is no issue, try the Excel model as you can then dispose of even rib bones if you want! It certainly keeps pesky critters out of your trash.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Littlefish
Alexandria, VA, USA
March 11, 2014
you mean 3/4 horsepower?
yes, you can use one with different horsepower. the lower horsepower, the cheaper price. but you will lose its performance.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Donnie
Dunedin Fl.
February 25, 2014
I am sorry I am not an expert tho I apparently have been stated somewhere here as being one. But, in my opinion I don't know whty you can't use a different powered Disposal. Home Depot should be able to help.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
InSinkErator
January 2, 2014
Hi Sonshine,

This is Jim with InSinkErator. All disposers in the Badger line share the same plumbing dimensions. You can easily replace your current unit with the Badger 5 1/2 HP. If your mounting assembly is still in good condition, you can connect this unit easily, as the mounting assembly is univeral on all InSinkErator disposers. I hope I have been able to answer your question today. If you have any other questions, please feel free to contact our AnswerLine at 800-558-5700. Thank you.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

what's the warranty period

Asked by
George
about Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
December 16, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Nancy
Greeley, CO, USA
January 10, 2014
one year in your home.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
SBear
Mechanicsville, VA, USA
January 11, 2014
1 year parts included.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
InSinkErator
December 17, 2013
Hi George,

This is Jim with InSinkErator. The Badger 5 carries a 2 year, we come to you warranty. InSinkErators full service warranty provides in home service, parts and labor, for a manufacturing defect through an InSinkErator authorized service agency. Warranty in based on purchase or installation receipt. If a receipt is unavailable, warranty is based on the manfucturing date as determined by the disposers serial number. I hope I have been able to answer your question today. If you have any other questions or concerns, please feel free to contact our AnswerLine at 800-558-5700. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
ths3900
Lee's Summit, MO, USA
January 28, 2014
I think the warranty is 2 years. It should last 10 years plus.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I have a Badger-1 currently installed. Is the Badger-5 a direct replacement for the Badger-1?

Asked by
Patrick
Overlea, MD
about Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
December 12, 2013
Would any extra plumbing work need to be completed or would everything line up?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Nancy
Greeley, CO, USA
January 10, 2014
Now, that depends on your drain pipes. Like me I made several trips to the store to purchase more of different sizes to make them work. However a female friend and I put ours in an afternoon,
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
D337z
Belton, MO
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 23, 2014
No, it's an upgrade. It's a loud upgrade I might add. See if you can find something with some sort of sound muffling. Depending on how often you use it, the Insinkerator brand is excellent and I recommend it to literally everybody. I'm not paid to either. It's just that great.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
InSinkErator
December 13, 2013
Hi Patrick,

This is Jim with InSinkErator. All the disposers in the Badger line share the same plumbing dimensions. You can swap out your current unit with any other Badger unit and would not need to change any of the plumbing. If the mounting assembly (what connects the disposer to the sink) is still in good condition, you can mount the new unit directly to that assembly. I hope I have been able to answer your questions today. If you have any other questions, please feel free to contact our AnswerLine at 800-558-5700. Thank you.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Patrick
January 25, 2014
Well I'd like to follow up on this. When I was about to purchase the Badger 5 a friend of mine installed a new Evolution series in a customers house. They had it for about a week and did not like it. They wanted the Badger 5 so he replaced the Evolution with the Badger 5 and GAVE me the evolution series since the customer was going to throw it away. Needless to say the thing works great and is noticeably quieter than the Badger 1 I had.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Littlefish
Alexandria, VA, USA
March 11, 2014
they are interchangeable, just make sure you have enough room for Badger 5 under sink. it about 1-1/4 in. taller than Badger 1.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Dish washer and water backs up but will go down with a plunger. Will the purchase of this product fix the problem?

Asked by
Needahandyman
Norwalk, CT 06854
about Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
December 8, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Nancy
Greeley, CO, USA
January 10, 2014
Sorry, i doubt it. Sounds more like a plumbing problem to me.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
SBear
Mechanicsville, VA, USA
January 11, 2014
Make sure you're dishwasher is even connected to the same pipe as your disposal. And have you checked the filter(s) on your washer yet?
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
D337z
Belton, MO
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 23, 2014
First off, you need to verify that the discharge (water out) hose from your dishwasher comes in from the top of the dishwasher and is above the normal water level of your sink so that any water backups won't drain back into your dishwasher. It's a fairly common problem that even installers make sometimes.
Second, it's generally not recommended to connect the dishwasher to a garbage disposal unless you must since the dishwasher detergent can deteriorate/corrode the garbage disposal over time. So, unless you have a stainless steel garbage disposal or only a single sink, connect the dish washer to the side closest to it and connect the garbage disposal to the other.
To answer your question, a garbage disposal will reduce clogs caused by large food particulates in the drain. It will make them much smaller and even act as a plunger in some circumstances (though you really shouldn't). I always suggest the Insinkerator brand since it does such a great job, has a great warranty, and stays quiet. You get what you pay for.
But yes, it will make a difference. You need to find out if your model of dishwasher has a built-in disposal to chop-up food particles as it runs or if it's a fairly old model that requires you to clean it every now and then. If it has the built-in garbage disposal, don't worry so much about that side.
If you decide to wash dishes in the sink (which defeats the purpose of a dishwasher), wash them on the garbage disposal side and rinse them on the dishwasher side. If you pre-rinse your dishes before putting them in the dishwasher, there's no need. Just scrape them off into your garbage disposal and put them in the dishwasher. The detergent will break down any leftover food. Your water bill will thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
larry
Lake St Louis
January 24, 2014
If the disposal is stopped up, yes. If the blockage is below the disposal, the option is to remove the pipe from the disposal and clean out the block.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Kris
Tampa Florida
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 23, 2014
Who ever installed the disposal did not remove the plug that is installed in the disposal. When the disposal is made there is a plug where the drain hose connects. This is installed for people who do not have a dishwasher. This is a temporary plug that can be knocked out with a big screwdriver. You might have to remove the disposal. Pull the hose off that goes to the dishwaser. remove the plug and reinstall.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
InSinkErator
December 10, 2013
Hi Needahandyman,

This is Jim with InSinkErator. If you are currently experiencing problems with water backing up in your dishwasher or sink and this issue is resolved with the use of a plunger this would indicate there is a drain line blockage in the plumbing that may need to be addressed. After that issue has been resolved, the use of a disposer, used properly, may help keep the plumbing line from future blockages. For a disposer with the finest grind (breaks the food waste into smallest particles), consider the Evolution models with the multi-grind technology. If you have any other questions, please feel free to call our AnswerLine at 800-558-5700. Thank you.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

How may I order and replace the the reset button

Asked by
Sapper
Springfield, VA
about Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
November 23, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
InSinkErator
November 26, 2013
Hello Sapper,

This is Jim with InSinkErator. The reset button on the disposer is replaceable. You can purchase that part at our parts depot Carroll Parts. Their contact number is 800-654-3545. The part is called an Overload Protector. When you contact Carroll Parts, you will need to provide the full Model Name and Number as listed on a tag on the lower edge of the disposer on the side where the reset button is located. If you have any other questions, please feel free to contact our AnswerLine at 800-558-5700. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
D337z
Belton, MO
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 23, 2014
The reset button should not be ordered or replaced. It is a thermal sensor that only allows itself to be reset once the unit has cooled to a safe operating temperature (usually within 3-5 minutes). If you are needing work done on the unit, see if it is still under warranty first. If so, just have them replace/repair it. If not, it may be time to get a better unit. Insinkerator has a few great choices which shouldn't overheat and even offer automatic reverse in case of jams and increase torque to prevent jams in some models. If it's overheating/overheated, you need to find the cause of it first because something caused that reset button to reset in the first place. You may have a jam, a short, or a leak. If you turn on the power to the disposal, hear a short hum and then the button clicks, you definitely have a jam. Use the jam wrench that came with the disposer or an allen wrench that fits the underside of the disposal to unjam whatever's stuck in it and then use tongs to remove it. Alternatively, unplug it and remove the jammed item with your fingers if you can. Glass is one of the most common jamming items, so be careful.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
THDCustomerSupport
Kennesaw, GA
November 25, 2013
Thank you for your recent inquiry with The Home Depot. Unfortunately, this item is not available for replacement parts through The Home Depot. However, it may be beneficial to reach out to the manufacturer of the product. The manufacturer is InSinkErator and their Customer Service department can be reached at 1-800-558-5700. For more information, please visit your nearest Home Depot store or call HomeDepot.com customer service at 1-800-430-3376.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Why does the disposal part keep slipping out of the locking ring assembly?

Asked by
BadgeredOut
about Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
November 18, 2013
We are reinstalling an old Badger 5. The mounting rings go up, the rings engage, we turn the ring to lock it and the unit keeps slipping off. We have read the manual and the assembly is in correct order. We lift up the unit, get the ring hooked up, we start to turn to the right and the unit slips out of the ring. The unit works and I don't think I need a new one, we just can't get the thing back up to stay inside the assembly. What are we doing wrong? Photo shows the unit about to go up again, ready to try the whole thing again but the rings just don't hold the unit up.
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
InSinkErator
November 20, 2013
Hello BadgeredOut,

I’m Jim from InSinkErator Customer Service. I’m very sorry to hear about the problem you are having getting the unit mounted again. I’d like the opportunity to further discuss your issue. Please send me an email at insinkeratorfeedback@emerson.com with your contact information and also when you purchased your Badger unit. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Nancy
Greeley, CO, USA
January 10, 2014
Are you certain that you have the garbage disposal up completely on all sides and that they are getting locked into place? Also are the rings ones that came with the unit? If not you may need to purchase a different disposal or rings if that is the problem.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
D337z
Belton, MO
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 23, 2014
Well, if you're reinstalling, it could be that the locking ring you have is for a different model of garbage disposal that doesn't fit. If you have a lot of vibration as well, this could be the problem. Just be 100% sure that it's locked into place. They can seem like they're locked when they're really just tight.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
pigworks
oswego
January 10, 2014
It's possible only one side is connecting. Be sure to push firmly up making sure the unit is not at an angle (i.e. make sure it is vertical). I had a similar situation and when I did this the connection went in nicely. good luck
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what's the difference between Bad 5 and Badger 500 besides the price?

Asked by
Momme
Belmont, Ca
about Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
November 15, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
InSinkErator
November 18, 2013
Hi Momme,

This is Jim with InSinkErator. The Badger 5 and the Badger 500 are identical. The Badger 500 is the Branded Home Depot model. All features, warranty and construction are the same. I hope I have been able to answer your question today, If you have any additional questions or concerns, please feel free to contact our AnswerLine at 800-558-5700. Thank you.
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
ths3900
January 28, 2014
$20 is the difference. Looks to be the same other than the number on the outside.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

We have a Badger 5 and would like to buy the same one. Do the new ones have the drain connector on the side that screws on ?

Asked by
Cece
Boston, MA
about Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
November 3, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Kristen
Lutz, FL, USA
November 5, 2013
Just ordered one & yes it does
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Nancy
Greeley, CO, USA
January 10, 2014
Yes the new ones do have the connection that screw onto the disposal.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
D337z
Belton, MO
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 23, 2014
Yes, and it comes with a new one so that you won't need to worry about whether or not the old one will fit. But why not take the time to upgrade to something with a longer warrant and is less likely to fail in a few years while offering the ability to reduce clogs and increase the number and types of items you can dispose of? They're also quieter by far and reduce vibration so you don't have a pile of dishes fall over and break.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Dreamcruiser313
Kennett Square, PA 19348, USA
May 21, 2014
I just bought one. There is a plate with two screws that secures the drain pipe to the unit. The old Badger 5 that I had used a slip jam nut to attach the drain pipe to the unit but as far as ease of installation, they are both comparably easy.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
InSinkErator
November 4, 2013
Hi Cece,

The current Badger 5 product connects to the drain line using a flange and two bolts. If you are currently using a elbo pipe that curves down and connects to the p-trap, you will need to make no changes. The current Bager 5 comes with an elbo pipe that will connect to the disposer and enter the p-trap. If you have a straight pipe that connects your disposer to your plumbing, you will need to purchase a standard 1-1/4 in straight pipe with a lipped end.

I hope I have been able to answer you questions today. If you have any other questions concerning our products, please feel free to contact our AnswerLine at 800-558-5700. Thank you.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
KennyP
Phoenix AZ
November 9, 2013
Yes. I am not a handy guy but found the install very easy. make sure you have some plummers puddy to seal the outlet.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this disposal come with a stopper or do I need to buy that separately?

Asked by
MooseGal
Colorado
about Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
October 24, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
bobby
October 29, 2013
yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Nancy
Greeley, CO, USA
January 10, 2014
Yes, no additional expense here. It does come with the disposal.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
SBear
Mechanicsville, VA, USA
January 11, 2014
separate
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
InSinkErator
October 25, 2013
Hi MooseGa,

This is Jim with InSinkErator. Yes the Badger 5 does come with a one piece plastic stopper. We also have a Stainless Steel stopper available as an accessory. I hope I have been able to answer you question today. If you have any additional questions concerning our products, please feel free to contact our AnswerLine at 800-558-5700.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Michael
San Diego, CA, USA
October 29, 2013
Mine came with a drain stopper.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
KennyP
Phoenix AZ
November 9, 2013
It comes in the kit.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
rohrs
South Georgia
November 19, 2013
I just installed one and yes, it came with a new drain stopper.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 »