Looking for Answers about InSinkErator Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal?

Customer questions and answers for
InSinkErator Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

The InSinkErator Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal features a quick-mounting system that allows for easy installation or replacement of most disposers. This garbage disposal also features a 1/2 HP motor that rapidly grinds food waste for easy rinsing down the drain. The garbage Disposal also features galvanized steel construction for durability.
Customer questions and answers:
56 Questions
 | 
313 Answers
Overall rating:
4.362 out of 5
4.4
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for InSinkErator Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Question

CAN A BADGER 5 DISPOSAL BE REPLACED BY A BADGER 500

Asked by
Rick
about Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
April 3, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
EagleII
Houston, TX, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 3, 2015
There is no difference between the Badger 5 and the 500. The 500 was made specially for and is only available @ Home Depot..
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
ccr4evr
Monroe, New Jersey
Home Improvement Profile: Other
April 4, 2015
there is NO DIFFERENCE between the 5 and the 500... except that the 500 is made specially for and available only from Home Depot.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
InSinkErator
April 15, 2015
Hi, this is Jerica from InSinkErator Customer Service. The models Badger 5 and Badger 500 both have ½ horsepower, 2 year in-home warranty and same plumbing requirements. It is correct that the Badger 500 is exclusively manufactured for Home Depot. If you have questions, please do not hesitate to contact us through insinkeratorfeedback@emerson.com or call InSinkErator AnswerLine at 1 (800) 558-5700. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Dredge
Indiana
April 15, 2015
Yes, with some adaptations.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Honeydone
April 19, 2015
500 made exclusively for HD. Same units, different name plate.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

My disposal is seen to be jam

Asked by
Victor
Portland or
about Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
March 14, 2015
it seen it is solid stuck then what
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
FriscoKid
San Francisco
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 24, 2015
First try push the reset button at the bottom of disposal to reset. If it is really jammed, use an allen wrench to turn the disposal to clear jamming. The hole for the allen wrench is at the center bottom of disposal. Search and check how to clear jamming from youtube if you want to see how this can be done.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
EagleII
Houston, TX, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 15, 2015
If the wrench/key that came with it will not free the disposer when inserted in the bottom and turned... you may need to remove the disposer to remove the problem. My guess; it is probably shot. Mark down the type you have and buy a new one. Follow the installation instructions. If you are not handy with electric or plumbing ask home depot to install.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
InSinkErator
March 16, 2015
Hi,

I do apologize for the inconvenience that you encountered with your disposer.

Each InSinkErator disposer is shipped with a self-service wrench. The wrench is silver colored, and shaped like a little crank, about four inches long. If you cannot find the service wrench, you can use a standard 1/4 inch Allen wrench. If you do not have your self-service wrench, and would like one, please let us know and we would be happy to send it out at no charge.

1. Make certain that the disposer's switch is in the OFF position. Also, be sure the water is not running during the procedure.

2. Looking under the sink, locate the hole, dead center, at the bottom of the disposer.

3. Insert the self-service wrenchette (or ¼ inch Allen wrench –short end) into the hole.

4. While holding the wrench up in the hole, attempt to make a complete revolution. The wrench should turn freely in a complete revolution, both clockwise and counter-clockwise. If you meet resistance in either direction, work the wrench in a back and forth motion. You may use force if necessary. You will know you are applying too much force if the entire disposer begins to turn.

5. Once the wrench is turning freely in a complete revolution both ways, remove the wrench from the hole.

6. With power still OFF to the disposer, look down into the chamber from the sinkhole opening. Hold the black flaps back and look down into the chamber from the sink hole opening with a flashlight. Look to see if you can see anything that that might still be binding the plate or that you might have dislodged. Do not put your hands into the chamber. Pay special attention to the area around the outer edge of the disposer's shredding disk. There is a small space between the "floor" (flat surface of the shredder disc) and the wall of the disposer. Follow the circumference of this ring, carefully checking the space, to see if you can locate anything that should not be there. If you locate something, use a pair of pliers or tongs to retrieve it. Again, do not put your hands inside the disposer.

7. Turn the faucet on and run water through for 15 – 20 seconds.

8. Turn the switch for the disposer to the on position to check if it is operating correctly.

In case you already tried using the wrench but cannot rotate is freely, please follow the steps below.

1. Make sure the disposer is electrically OFF.

2. Hold the black flaps back, and look down into the chamber from the sink hole opening with a flashlight.

3. Do NOT put your hands inside the disposer.

4. Pay special attention to the area around the outer edge of the disposer's shredding disk. There is a small space between the "floor" (flat surface of the shredder disc) and the wall of the disposer. Follow this space around the circumference of the chamber, to see if you can locate anything that should not be there.

5. If you do locate something, use a tool such as a long tongs or pliers to grab it. See if you can pull it out. If it is wedged too tightly, obtain assistance from another person and have them pull on the object from the top, while you work the wrench from below. Again, do not place your hands inside the disposer.

6. If you successfully retrieve the object and the wrench is turning freely, remove the wrench from the hole. Turn the faucet on and let the water run through for 15-20 seconds.

7. Switch the disposer on and check if it is operating correctly.

If none of these steps won’t make your unit work again; please send an email to insinkeratorfeedback@emerson.com with your complete contact information and serial number of your unit and I will get in touch with you.

Thank you.

Sincerely,

Jerica
InSinkErator Customer Service
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Whiskers
Sapulpa ok
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 16, 2015
If the allen wrench provided in the install will not turn the unit either way when inserted into the motor shaft from the under side then the unit probably has an internal failure. With the power off at the breaker panel inspect thru the upper opening with a flash light .If its full of garbage you may have to wet vac it out to see the cause of the jam
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the difference between the Badger 5 and 500?

Asked by
John
PA
about Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
March 6, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Whiskers
Sapulpa ok
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 6, 2015
From what I understand visiting with a home depot dept they are simply updating the model numbering to coincide with the other models I could see no difference when I looked at them side by side . The model 5 was available for less money if I purchased it from them on their web site Still free ship to home . The 5 has an improved discharge pipe over the older one I replaced in that the pipe is clamped by a screws and clamp flange instead of threading onto the housing same place as the older one . Dont forget to open the dishwasher plug if connecting one . I used a paddle bit that just fit down inside the tube and drilled out the blank off plug ,
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
FriscoKid
San Francisco
March 24, 2015
Should be the same. 500 is branded for Home Depot. Badger 5 is cheaper than 500 when I bought it online from Home Depot
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
EagleII
Houston, TX, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 15, 2015
The 5 and the 500: exactly the same unit save the badger 500 was made at some point just for home depot
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
InSinkErator
March 9, 2015
Hi, this is Jerica from InSinkErator Customer Service. Badger 5 and Badger 500 have the same features. These two models both have ½ horsepower, 2-year in-home warranty and overall dimensions are also the same. The Badger 500 is an exclusive model for Home Depot. If you have questions, please do not hesitate to contact us through insinkeratorfeedback@emerson.com or call InSinkErator AnswerLine at 1 (800) 558-5700. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Honeydone
April 19, 2015
500 made exclusively for HD. Same units. 500 not worth the extra bucks IMO.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

does it come with a power cord???

Asked by
gander41
melbourne FL
about Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
February 18, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Brad
Indiana, USA
March 5, 2015
No. It's set up to be hard wired. If you want to plug it in, you will have to purchase electical wiring (12-2 or 14-2) and a male plug adapter and create your own plug set up.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Pamperito
Lauderdale by the Sea
February 19, 2015
No. You can used the one from the previous unit or buy a new one (recommended).
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Scooter
California
February 19, 2015
No, just wire nuts.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
fixitsam2
Ohio
March 3, 2015
There is no power cord you use the old one. you just install it like the old one was installed
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Whiskers
Sapulpa ok
March 4, 2015
No most do not come with a cord as they can be hard wired to the romex I would recommend a cord since it is easier to connect with it laying out in the open . Put an outlet in a box on your switched romex and then plug the service cord into the outlet. Be sure the cord is rated for the same or higher amperage than the disposal the amp draw is stated in the specs or on the box
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
EagleII
Houston, TX, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 15, 2015
Nope. Easy to ad a power source/cord/reuse cord -- > if you already have a disposer you are replacing.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Electrical hookup and dishwasher drain input

Asked by
Danny
Lutz, Florida
about Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
February 16, 2015
Where is the wiring and does it have a input from a dishwasher drain line?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
InSinkErator
February 17, 2015
Hi, this is Jerica from InSinkErator Customer Service. When you remove the terminal plate at the bottom of the InSinkErator disposer, you would see the two electrical wires that need to be properly connected. You can have your unit hardwired or plugged to an outlet by connecting a power cord to it. As for the connection to a dishwasher, all InSinkErator disposers have a dishwasher inlet located on the upper side of the unit. You may refer to the disposer’s manual for the complete and accurate instruction on how to properly install the unit. If you have questions, please do not hesitate to contact us through insinkeratorfeedback@emerson.com or call InSinkErator AnswerLine at 1 (800) 558-5700. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Theo
Rochester, NY, USA
February 17, 2015
Wriing is on the Bottom of the Canister and YES there is a Nipple to attach a dishwasher drain line
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
nm2002
Saint Louis, MO
February 18, 2015
Yes you have to connect the cord, it had dw input. Do not buy this one it will leak after 6-8 months of use. My company used to buy these all the time. The older models were reliable these are junk. Try some other brand..
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
fixitsam2
Ohio
March 3, 2015
There is no new power cord. Re use the old one and hook it up the same way the old one came off.

The dishwasher hookup has a seal on the drain hook up and you must take a screwdriver and hammer and tap it in and remove the plug from the disposer before you fasten the drain hose on.

If you don't have a dishwasher it is ready to install with out doinh anything.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Whiskers
Sapulpa ok
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 4, 2015
The wiring connects behind a plate held on by 1 screw at the bottom outer edge of the motor There are connections for hot, neutral and ground . Hot (black) and neutral(white) will wire nut to the supply source and ground has a terminal block As for the dishwasher connection yes it is there but ls blanked off in side the opening I drilled thru it with a paddle bit just small enough to go inside the pipe before you install it Try to remove the debris some
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Pyrro
Tulsa, OK
February 18, 2015
The hookup for the electric is located on the bottom of the disposal. there will be a cover plate to remove, inside you will see a black wire, white wire and ground wire. Connect them to the power, neutral and ground from the house. The disposal has a port to connect the dishwasher and it is very evident on the side of the machine just about the drain. If using this with a dishwasher please remember to "knock out" the plastic plug that is inside the plastic tube for the dishwasher. it may fall into the disposal, if it does just fish it out. Remember keep all power off while doing your work.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this be installed as hard-wired

Asked by
Larry
about Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
January 27, 2015
My existing garbage disposal's power is hard-wired and there is no outlet under the sink. Can this one be installed as hard-wired or do I need to install a power outlet for it?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Brad
Indiana, USA
March 5, 2015
Yes, it's set up for hardwire right into the bottom of the unit. Just unscrew the coverplate and it reveals the connection screws. You should be good to go by reattaching the wires from the disposal you just removed.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
EagleII
Houston, TX, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 28, 2015
The simple answer, yes. BUT you still need and On/Off Control that is normally a Wall Switch. If in doubt, have it installed. It is not worth a trip to the hospital or your life if you are not familiar with plumbing or wiring.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
InSinkErator
January 28, 2015
Hi, this is Jerica from InSinkErator Customer Service. InSinkErator manufactures disposers with a cord and without a power cord. The InSinkErator disposers manufactured without a cord are usually meant for customers who prefer to have their units to be hardwired. You just have to make sure that the electrical connection to your disposer is still controlled by an on/off switch. If you have questions, please do not hesitate to contact us through insinkeratorfeedback@emerson.com or call InSinkErator AnswerLine at 1 (800) 558-5700. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Scooter
California
January 28, 2015
Yes, but you would need to put an on/off switch in the line to operate the disposal.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Whiskers
Sapulpa ok
March 4, 2015
Yes with a switched romex hard wire it has no switch of its own Still easier to install an outlet and then plug into the out let . Just use an adequate amp rated appliance cord
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
TSPORT
Doylestown, PA
April 8, 2015
Yes, you can hard-wire. That's the way it was designed. There is a small plate on the bottom held on with one screw that covers where the wires go after connected with wire nuts.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the difference between the Badger 5 and the Badger 500 1/2 horse ?

Asked by
Slick
about Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
December 26, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
InSinkErator
December 26, 2014
Hi, this is Jerica from InSinkErator Customer Service. Badger 5 and Badger 500 have the same features of ½ horsepower and 2-year in-home warranty coverage. Badger 500 is an exclusive model that can be purchased through Home Depot. If you currently have a Badger 5 disposer, you may want to send the serial number of your unit to insinkeratorfeedback@emerson.com so that we can check if there would be difference on the two models’ plumbing requirement. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Pyrro
Tulsa, OK
January 13, 2015
I have used both, the only difference that I have found are some very subtle amperage values. there is no other functional or operational differences that I can tell.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Brad
Indiana, USA
March 5, 2015
No difference that I can tell. One is available on-line only. The other is ready for in store purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Whiskers
Sapulpa ok
March 4, 2015
AS far as I could see when comparing the two side by side no difference I think they as simply phasing out the older numbering to give a consistancy with the numbers on some of their newest model / I installed a 5 it was 50 bucks less on line at Home Depot than the 500
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
EagleII
Houston, TX, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 15, 2015
The 5 and the 500: exactly the same unit save the badger 500 was made at some point just for home depot
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Scooter
California
January 27, 2015
I bought the Badger 500 in store and when I got it home and removed my Badger, I realized that I had a Badger 5 so I went on line to check out the difference and couldn't find any with the exception that the Badger 5 on line was $20.00 cheaper. I returned the Badger 500 and purchased the Badger 5 on line with free shipping.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Do you install garbage disposals, and if so what is the fee?

Asked by
PRNS
pleasant hill iowa
about Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
December 22, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Scooter
California
January 27, 2015
No.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
InSinkErator
December 23, 2014
Hi, this is Jerica from InSinkErator Customer Service. The warranty of the unit does not cover new installation. However, we have available Factory Authorized Service Agencies and Pro-Circle Plumbers who can possibly do new installation. You may send an email to insinkeratorfeedback@emerson.com with your complete contact information and I will respond with the available companies’ contact information. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Pilgrim33
Naples, FL
Home Improvement Profile: Other
December 23, 2014
No, I do not install garbage disposals. I paid someone to install mine, but, as it was a special deal through Angie's List, I am reluctant to mention the price.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Arky
Revere, MA
January 4, 2015
I had it installed by a licensed plumber, paid 237.50. It was in Dec 2014. Not cheap! ...however I did not feel secure for proper connections of plumbing and electricity when doing it myself... If you feel comfy with connecting pipes with no leak and electrical connections with no hazard, then O.K.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
dhkktom888
California
February 10, 2015
had it done by an experienced worker.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Whiskers
Sapulpa ok
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 4, 2015
Sorry I am a do it your selfer but a good friend or handy man could at least look at it and advise if you would need a plumber
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I have a Badger 5 1/2 HP when turns on it shoot water OUT!! is it a plumbing problem OR reverse polarity ??

Asked by
John
California
about Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
November 28, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
ccr4evr
Monroe, New Jersey
Home Improvement Profile: Other
November 30, 2014
No Clue! Sorry I had mine installed by a handyman I trust and it has worked fine since install. I get what you mean by polarity though, as the blade could be spinning in then opposite direction. I would have it looked at by an experienced installer.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Pamperito
Lauderdale by the Sea
November 30, 2014
There is no "reverse polarity" in the AC power going into your unit. The rubber splash guard is what prevents the swirling water from coming out. Either you're missing the guard or it's damaged. I suggest you replace it with a new one.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Zorro
La, California
December 12, 2014
Your drain is pluged
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
AZRprman
Phoenix, AZ
December 10, 2014
It's highly unlikely to be a polarity issue if it's operating on 120 volts. It sounds like the problem may be a blockage in the plumbing downstream.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
InSinkErator
December 1, 2014
Hi, this is Jerica from InSinkErator Customer Service. I do apologize for the inconvenience that you encountered with your disposer. Our customer’s experience and satisfaction are very important to InSinkErator and I would like the opportunity to help you with this. Kindly send me an email through insinkeratorfeedback@emerson.com with your complete contact information and serial number of your unit and I will get in touch with you. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
John
california
December 2, 2014
I do thank all nice people which took time to answer my question.
I have solved my problem by cleaning ( opening) drain pipe under garbage disposal.
John
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Do the ports on the Badger 5 line up with an old ISE 9452?

Asked by
Barbs
San Jose, CA
about Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
November 24, 2014
I have an ISE 9452, at least 17 years old and probably older (obviously I don't use it a lot) that's finally giving out. I'd like to replace it with the Badger 5 and do it myself, but I would like to know if the ports (there's both a drain line and a dishwasher connection) will line up. I'm not a plumber so if they don't line up I may have to hire a plumber.

TIA,
Barbs
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
InSinkErator
November 25, 2014
Hi, this is Jerica from InSinkErator Customer Service. I tried to check what ISE 9452 is and it leads me to a generic InSinkErator Manual for a household disposer. We need to know the exact model and if possible, the serial number of the disposer so that we can compare its features to our Badger 5 disposer. Kindly send me an email through insinkeratorfeedback@emerson.com with your complete contact information and serial number of your unit and I will get in touch with you. The full model and serial number can be found on the specification label. The serial number will start with S/N followed by 2 letters and 8 numbers, or S/N followed by 11 numbers. The specification label is silver in color, about the size of a large band-aid, and is located on the side of the disposer very near the bottom edge. If you know where the red reset button is on the bottom of the unit, the specification label will be found on the side of the disposer closest to the reset button. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
budde
Pickerington, oh
December 10, 2014
yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Brad
Indiana, USA
March 5, 2015
Most units are pretty standard with the dishwasher and drain ports. You may have to buy a different PVC pipe to hook into your kitchen sink's "s-trap". I recently replaced a 3/4 horse Insinkerator with this 1/2 horse Badger unit and the new unit did not have as big a diameter as the one I removed. So, the PVC pipe from the unit into the drain pipe was too short. I just had to pick up a longer one (actually I bought a 2 inch extension piece and cut off a little bit with a hack saw (PVC is easy to saw if you haven't done it before) so it would fit like the one I removed. Not a difficult process.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Whiskers
Sapulpa ok
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 4, 2015
I dont know for absolute certain but if the ISE was 5 hp or so then probably so The new discharge pipe is bolted to the disposal with a clamp instead of a threaded nut but the size of everything is the same . You may have to cut a little off the plastic discharge pipe to obtain the correct fit easy hack saw I was surprised that the have stuck with a good design and swapping out was straight forward .Dont forget you will have to open the hole inside the dishwasher port . I used a paddle bit just small enough to go inside the opening and drill out the casting plug
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Badger 900 has ss grind components, is the grind chamber also ss?

Asked by
Charlie
about Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
November 16, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
InSinkErator
November 17, 2014
Hi, this is Jerica from InSinkErator Customer Service. Badger 900 has stainless steel grind components with galvanized grind chamber. If you have questions, please feel free to call InSinkErator AnswerLine at 1 (800) 558-5700. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Whiskers
Sapulpa ok
March 4, 2015
The 500 series has all stainless interior parts So the only difference is the 900 has more power as far as I could see when comparing them
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is the Badger 5 a direct replacement (piping wise) for the Badger 5 plus-7 in photo?

Asked by
GCF41
Williamsburg, VA
about Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
October 27, 2014
(Getting too old to work under sinks!)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Michael
Baltimore, Md
October 29, 2014
All piping lined up and no need to adjust.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Brad
Indiana, USA
March 5, 2015
I'm not sure, but I've replaced alot of garbage disposals and all of them that I've done have been Insinkerator models like the Badger. In every case the port holes have matched up in the same or very close location. Hope this helps.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
InSinkErator
October 28, 2014
Hi, this is Jerica from InSinkErator Customer Service. All Badger disposers have the same plumbing requirements. In Home Depot, the model Badger 900 is the comparable replacement for a Badger 5 Plus. If you have questions, please feel free to contact us through insinkeratorfeedback@emerson.com or call InSinkErator AnswerLine at 1 (800) 558-5700. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

why is this same item $99.96 at the home depot store?

Asked by
Malvido
Whittier,CA
about Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
September 29, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
JohnnyDYI
Lee Summit, MO
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
October 6, 2014
The item I believe you're referring to is specially package for Home Depot and is sold in their stores as the Badger 500. The Badger 5 is not available in their stores, but you can buy it at www.homedepot.com for about $20 less than the in-store Badger 500.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Roger
Salem, Utah
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
October 22, 2014
handling costs
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Prowrench
Buckeye, AZ
December 17, 2014
Because everything is cheaper when purchased online, the seller doesn't have to use valuable floor space in a "brick & mortar" store that requires construction, employee, theft, security & numerous other costs. Much cheaper for the seller to simply ship direct from a warehouse or the manufacturer, the savings are passed along to the buyer.. I saved about $15 buying my disposal online vs. in store, about 15%
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Scooter
California
January 27, 2015
Good question! I returned my $99.96 store model and purchased the Badger 5 on line (at a savings) and when I compared them I couldn't find any difference. Also got free shipping!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Brad
Indiana, USA
March 5, 2015
I wondered the same thing. You will have to ask HomeDepot why you pay more in the store than on-line for virtually the same unit. But, I can tell you when you buy on-line they are very efficient at getting your order to you. I've ordered several units on-line and they have been their within two days. I will admit that it is a little frustrating to have to do it that way. Usually when I'm replacing something it's a Saturday project and I want to complete it the day I start working on it. When you have to either pay more at the store or wait a couple of days for a delivery it becomes a bit aggrevating. But, if you plan ahead they do get the replacements to you quickly.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Whiskers
Sapulpa ok
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 4, 2015
The store I checked at was higher so that sounds like a fair /good price
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is Badger 5 & Badger 500 Garbage Disposal the same unit ?

Asked by
Thumbs
Mead, WA
about Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
September 26, 2014
If they are not the same unit please tell me the difference.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
InSinkErator
September 30, 2014
Hi, this is Jerica from InSinkErator Customer Service. Badger 5 and Badger 500 are disposers with the same features. Badger 500 is an exclusive model that we manufacture for Home Depot. If you have questions, please feel free to contact InSinkErator AnswerLine at 1 (800) 558-5700. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Arunc
Raleigh, nc
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
September 28, 2014
Yes, they are same unit in different package. One sold in stores is $20 more and moline is cheaper one.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
JohnnyDYI
Lee Summit, MO
September 29, 2014
The best I can tell, the two represent the same unit with the same 2 year warranty. Home Depot offers both units, but the 500 model is boxed and sold for sale in their stores while the 5 and 500 models can be purchased through the Home Depot website. You will pay almost $20.00 more for the convenience of purchasing the 500 model in your local store.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
capt
SE FLA
September 30, 2014
no obvious difference between models
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Scooter
California
January 27, 2015
When I compared my Badger 5 with the Badger 500 I could not find any difference except the on line price of the Badger 5 was cheaper with free Shipping.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Whiskers
Sapulpa ok
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 4, 2015
As far as I could see comparing them side by side I could see no difference . Appears to me and the home depot sales associate they are just standardizing the numbering to coincide with the newest models I bought the badger 5 and am very satifsied with it install and other wise
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

is the rubber safety gasket removable

Asked by
mermaid
olathe, ks
about Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
September 14, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Springfield
Orlando. FL
October 14, 2014
Yes. It is mounted to the disposal main body, under the sink fixture. Easily removed when the disposal is not mounted to the sink.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
InSinkErator
September 16, 2014
Hi, this is Jerica from InSinkErator Customer Service. The standard mounting gasket or MGK-00 of a Badger disposer is not removable from the top. You would have to uninstall the disposer for you to remove or replace it. However, there are several gaskets that are part of the entire disposer. In case it is not the mounting gasket that you are asking about, you may always call InSinkErator AnswerLine at 1 (800) 558-5700 for more information about our disposers and accessories. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
grouchy
cape coral fl
October 6, 2014
yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Scooter
California
January 27, 2015
Yes.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Whiskers
Sapulpa ok
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 4, 2015
Yes they are pretty standard and I think the stores carry replacement ones
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
EagleII
Houston, TX, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
September 18, 2014
Yes, if you go under, undo the plumbing and drop the unit. I would not advise running without that item (Mounting Gasket) in place. It keeps the unit snug as a bug in a rug... and prevents leaks.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is it easy to replace the 444-5 to Badger 5?

Asked by
charlie
Plantation, FL
about Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
September 14, 2014
Is it easy to replace the 444-5 to Badger 5? My old 444-5 is leaking, and plan to replace to a new one, and hope no much change required. Will Badger 5 be a good choice to fit? (Size, Height, Length).
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Brad
Indiana, USA
March 5, 2015
Sorry, I don't know the dimensions of your old unit. But, most of the same horsepower units are a pretty close fit to the one you are replacing - but you have to make sure it's from the same manufacturer. Badge is an Insinkerator product and I've always had good experiences with them.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Arunc
Raleigh, nc
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
September 17, 2014
Replacing was very easy. I removed everything under the sink, also removed the door to the cabinet, this gave extra room to go in. Opened the old one , directions are included with the new one. Replaced it with new one and now it works great. Bager 5 works good for me.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
EagleII
Houston, TX, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
September 18, 2014
Follow the install ( using components that come with your badger 5 ) instructions and there shouldn't be a problem. The 444 is a 3/4 HP motor.. and the badger 5 is 1/2 HP. It is (Badger 5) probably some what narrower so no problem with the install re: space. You may have to adjust sink drain pipe. Changing the pipe out, if metal, at the same time is probably a good idea.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Pilgrim33
Naples, FL
September 18, 2014
I'm not familiar with the 444-5, but I can tell you that the Badger 5 installs very easily. Power connection, drain connection and suspend it from the drain. That's about it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I bought a Badger 5 but have not installed it. The normal sink strainers do not fit into it

Asked by
Steve
Sharon, MA
about Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
September 11, 2014
Do you sell an oversized strainer. We have septic, and for 30 years have always use a stainless steel strainer, to catch and dispose of food waste.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
batmn1
Ohio
September 16, 2014
Yes Home Depot has a stopper strainer model stp-ds for $18.21 for the Badger it's also available online #100041381 with free delivery to your store
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
InSinkErator
September 15, 2014
Hi, this is Jerica from InSinkErator Customer Service. I do apologize but InSinkErator do not have sink strainers as an accessory. We have several accessories that would prevent food items from backing up to the sink. These are the non-removable mounting gaskets, removable sound baffles, and sink stoppers. If you have questions, you may call InSinkErator AnswerLine at 1 (800) 558-5700. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Springfield
Orlando. FL
October 14, 2014
Disposal comes with a plastic stopper, so you can fill the sink if needed. Don't need a strainer because the disposal will grind up any bits of food, and everything else (like silverware) LOL.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
HomeownerK
mid-Maryland
October 16, 2014
The standard size strainer comes with the Badger 5, but I do not know if it SS. I think the interior mechanism is not SS, and will rust after some time--probably long before the strainer. I think they sell a SS model besides the Badger 5. I would contact Badger.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
thestray
Altoona, PA
November 4, 2014
Why would you buy a disposal if you are trapping your waste? It comes with a stopper to hold the water in the sink. You can grind your food waste right into your septic.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
EagleII
Houston, TX, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
September 18, 2014
Normally badgers or any disposal does not come with a "strainer". That would defeat the purpose of having a garbage "disposer". It's perfectly ok to scrap your dish or other content into it, then with faucet on, turn it on and "poof" the garbage is ground up and disposed. If a double sink, keep the drain "strainer" as you called it in that drain. When soiled, clean it into the "disposer".
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what year were these manufactured?

Asked by
Nick
Alexandria Va.
about Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
September 9, 2014
Important to know that in terms of warrantee. I bought a Badger back in 2009 and had it installed. It's now gone bad. When I called the company they said that unit was manuf. back in 2003! No chance for a warrantee kick-in there!!
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
ccr4evr
Monroe, New Jersey
September 14, 2014
My box says 2008, but I'm not sure that is the year of manufacture. I haven't had mine installed yet, but the box says the warranty is only 2 years anyway so why would your purchase from 2009 be covered anyway?
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
InSinkErator
September 15, 2014
Hi, this is Jerica from InSinkErator Customer Service. I do apologize for the inconvenience that you encountered with your disposer. Our customer’s experience and satisfaction is very important to InSinkErator. Kindly send me an email through insinkeratorfeedback@emerson.com with your complete contact information and serial number of your disposer and I will get in touch with you. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I understand that the Badger Model #5 does not include a power cord. My old Badger Model # 500 has a perfectly good power cord, can I reuse that cord

Asked by
Bern
Cleveland, OH
about Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
July 31, 2014
The old Badger # 500 cord is perfectly good, but I need to know if I can use it on the new Badger Model # 5 --- Thanks -- Berni
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
9 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Cousin
August 5, 2014
Yes. Disposal power cords are generally a universal fit item.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
rdmarquis
Maryland
September 2, 2014
Usually these are hard wired with the existing cord leading to your old disposal. However, any grounded cord in good shape will do the trick.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
joe8088
Pacific Palisades Ca
September 2, 2014
yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Chris
Chicago
August 1, 2014
Hello Bern, I’m Chris from the Home Depot’s how-to Community. Thank you for your question.

If the existing cord is indeed in good shape and includes hot, neutral and ground wires then there should be no problem reusing it.

See the installation instructions here:
http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/pd...

I hope this helps,
Chris.

.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
gumby
fremont, ca
August 13, 2014
yes just open the access on the bottom and undo the wire nuts, rewire the same way, i had to do the same thing, hardest part is getting the old cord entry point out ...
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Arunc
Raleigh, nc
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
August 5, 2014
Yes. I used my old cord too.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
InSinkErator
August 4, 2014
Hi, this is Jerica from InSinkErator Customer Service. I do apologize but we cannot and we do not recommend reuse of disposer cords. When one removes the cord, it may cause damage to the cord and if reused, one may have an issue with it. As this is an electrical connection, it is always best to use a new cord and plug. If you have questions, you may call InSinkErator AnswerLine at 1 (800) 558-5700. Thank you.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
USAgent2005
Menasha, WI
September 2, 2014
Yes you can. You'll need a screwdriver to remove the old ground wire. The directions will show you what to do.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
Pamperito
Lauderdale by the Sea
September 17, 2014
Yes. Make sure you connect the ground wire... water and electricity don't go well together.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Maybe a crazy question,

Asked by
nash
Mn
about Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
July 6, 2014
but my Emerson just started leaking from the bottom, i was wondering if this Badger would attach to the same flange? (ive had mine for ten years.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
dale0770
Indiana, USA
July 8, 2014
I assume residential kitchen sinks have drain openings the same size. I have only used this brand because I have trusted it for years. I'm pleased with our last purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
InSinkErator
July 8, 2014
Hi, this is Jerica from InSinkErator Customer Service. I do apologize for the inconvenience your unit may have caused you. All Emerson and InSinkErator brand disposers have the same type of sink flanges. A Badger disposer would attach to an Emerson disposer’s sink flange. Please ensure that the flange is still in good condition before re-using it. If you have further questions, you may call the InSinkErator AnswerLine at 1 (800) 558-5700. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
jimthedean
South Carolina, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 8, 2014
I'm not familiar with an Emerson.

What I can say is that I'm not very good with mechanical things but the instructions were clear enough that I was able to do the installation without professional help...and changing the flange was quite straight forward and permitted the use of parts designed for the new equipment.

The Badger has also been a great product!
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 »