Looking for Answers about InSinkErator Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal?

Customer questions and answers for
InSinkErator Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

The InSinkErator Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal features a quick-mounting system that allows for easy installation or replacement of most disposers. This garbage disposal also features a 1/2 HP motor that rapidly grinds food waste for easy rinsing down the drain. The garbage Disposal also features galvanized steel construction for durability.
Customer questions and answers:
68 Questions
 | 
344 Answers
Overall rating:
4.381 out of 5
4.4
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for InSinkErator Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Question

I would like to replace a Waste King 1/2 hp SS 5000 Stainless Steel with the above Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal.

Asked by
Katcarken
Shoreline, Washington 98177
about Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
August 3, 2015
Is the existing hardware compatible to make this switch, or is some other hardware required, and if so, where can I get it?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Brad
Indiana, USA
August 13, 2015
The hardware that comes with the Badger is all you will need. You may have to use the drain ring that comes with the Badger because it's likely that the disposal is not compatible with the ring that is already in your sink. If they don't match up then you will have to use the ring that comes with the badger and switch it out . If that's the case you will need plumbers putty to properly seal the Badgers drain ring when you swap them out.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
EagleII
Houston, TX, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 6, 2015
The Badger 5 comes with all the "hardware" needed. I personally would not use "used" plumbing parts even if compatible. If you are not sure of what you are doing, Home Depot would install for a reasonable fee I believe.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
InSinkErator
August 6, 2015
Hi, this is Jerica from InSinkErator® Customer Service. It is highly recommended that our customers only use InSinkErator parts and accessories to ensure that our products will function properly and that the warranty of the unit will not be voided. All InSinkErator disposers include the mounting assembly inside its package. If you have questions, please do not hesitate to contact us through insinkeratorfeedback@emerson.com or call InSinkErator AnswerLine at 1 (800) 558-5700. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I have a Emerson disposol that on the side says it's a model 5-81. What model do I replace with?

Asked by
Kirk
hot springs village, AR
about Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
June 30, 2015
I have a Emerson disposol that on the side says it's a model 5-81. What model do I replace with?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
InSinkErator
July 1, 2015
Hi, this is Jerica from InSinkErator Customer Service. You may replace your Badger 5-81 with Home Depot’s Badger 500. If you have questions, please do not hesitate to contact us through insinkeratorfeedback@emerson.com or call InSinkErator AnswerLine at 1 (800) 558-5700. Thank you.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
EagleII
Houston, TX, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 1, 2015
Hey Kirk:
1. InSinkErator IS an Emerson item.

2. InSinkErator Badger 5, 1/2 HP Food Waste Disposer.
You will want to replace the entire item with all the badger supplied equipment. It is easy ( if you follow the included instructions to replace), Be prepared to add new drain pipe if you find a problem with any metal drain connections under the sink.

3. InSinkErator has/had a 5-81 I'd have to check Home Depots inventory to see if that is still the case.

Or you can pay Home Depot a small install fee and have peace of mind. (G)
User submitted photo
Video Answer:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

power in amps

Asked by
Andy
richmond va
about Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
June 14, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
GreenFlash
Edmonds, Washington
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 24, 2015
6.3 amps
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
InSinkErator
June 15, 2015
Hi, this is Jerica from InSinkErator Customer Service. The Badger 5 disposer has an amp. (average load) of 6.3. If you have questions, please do not hesitate to contact us through insinkeratorfeedback@emerson.com or call InSinkErator AnswerLine at 1 (800) 558-5700. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is the badger 5 1/2 garbage disposal easy to install

Asked by
Jeter
about Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
June 8, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
InSinkErator
June 9, 2015
Hi, this is Jerica from InSinkErator Customer Service. We understand that the skill level of the average consumer varies greatly. Regarding the installation of our disposers, some may find our units easy to install. All of our products include an installation manual and we also provide an online tutorial on how to install our disposers through our website at http://www.insinkerator.com. If you have questions, please do not hesitate to contact us through insinkeratorfeedback@emerson.com or call InSinkErator AnswerLine at 1 (800) 558-5700. Thank you.
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
EagleII
Houston, TX, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
July 1, 2015
Yes.. very easy. If you feel unsure, pay a small fee to home depot and have it installed with peace of mind it is done correctly.
User submitted photo
Video Answer:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
johndem1x
Leominster,Ma
July 26, 2015
Yes but I am not a Fan for this Garbage Disposal the Badger 5 1/2 hp . Sorry they tend to leak after time just about when the warranty run's out .
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I cannot find the tool that came with my garbage disposal to unjam it sticking the tool to the bottom so what size tool do I need

Asked by
Hairy
Indianapolis
about Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
June 6, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
InSinkErator
June 8, 2015
Hi, this is Jerica from InSinkErator Customer Service. If you cannot find the service wrench, you can use a standard 1/4 inch Allen wrench as an alternative. If you do not have your self-service wrench, and would like one, please let us know and we would be happy to send it out at no charge. Kindly send and email to insinkeratorfeedback@emerson.com with your complete contact information and serial number of your disposer and I will process your request immediately. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
GreenFlash
Edmonds, Washington
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 24, 2015
1/4-inch allen wrench (a.k.a. hex key)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
EagleII
Houston, TX, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 6, 2015
they have a multi purpose tool ( fits more than one type - with a batter handle for leverage ) to do that job. ASK plumbing next time your in the store
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this disposal compatible with the IKEA Domsjo sink?

Asked by
djbilo
Carrollton TX
about Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
June 5, 2015
I've been reading that Badger makes a 1/2 HP sink with a ring that will work with the IKEA Domsjo sink. Does anyone know with certainty that this is the unit that has been mentioned?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
InSinkErator
June 8, 2015
Hi, this is Jerica from InSinkErator Customer Service. All InSinkErator disposers come with a regular sink flange that requires a 3 ½” sink opening and can accommodate up to ¾” thickness of sink. The Badger 5 disposer has an approximate shipping weight of 14 lbs. You may provide these details to your sink manufacturer to check if their sink can accommodate our disposer. If you have questions, please do not hesitate to contact us through insinkeratorfeedback@emerson.com or call InSinkErator AnswerLine at 1 (800) 558-5700.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
EagleII
Houston, TX, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 6, 2015
Looks like a standard sink drain in the single and double basin domsjo sink at ikea. You may need more work by skilled trades folks under the sink if a GFI outlet is not available to plug your disposer into a power source, as well as an above counter on/off switch to control it.

Ask at your local Home Depot what their cost would be for an install by them.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

i have a Badger 1 (1/3 hp). can i use the power cord from it on the Badger 5 (1/2 hp)?

Asked by
Reez
baton rouge la
about Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
May 31, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
InSinkErator
June 1, 2015
Hi, this is Jerica from InSinkErator® Customer Service. I do apologize but we cannot and do not recommend reusing an old power cord from a previous disposer. It is best to use a new cord and plug. This is for the reason wherein if one removes the cord, it may cause damage to the cord and if reused one may have a problem. Many, many of our disposers are manufactured with the cord attached at the factory and cord removal in this instance more than likely will damage the cord. As this is an electrical connection best to use a new cord and plug. If you have questions, please do not hesitate to contact us through insinkeratorfeedback@emerson.com or call InSinkErator AnswerLine at 1 (800) 558-5700. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
johndem1x
Leominster,Ma
July 26, 2015
Yes if it is on at least a 15 amp GFCI outlet you should be fine.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I have a Badger 5 1/2 hp and am replacing it with Badger 500 1/2 hp. Is this the same model, and can I use the existing parts?

Asked by
LoriJan
Davie, Fl
about Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
May 25, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
InSinkErator
May 27, 2015
Hi, this is Jerica from InSinkErator Customer Service. The models Badger 5 and Badger 500 have the same features and dimensions. You may still use your existing mounting assembly as long as it is still in good condition. As for the plumbing hook up, you may send us the serial number of your current disposer so that we can check if your current unit would have the same requirements with our new Badger 500. Kindly send us an email through insinkeratorfeedback@emerson.com with your complete contact information and details of your disposer and I will get in touch with you. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
jaco
rhode island
July 28, 2015
they look identical.The difference is probably inside but it should mount to what ever you have under your sink. http://www.insinkerator.com/en-us/Pages/default.aspx has answers you may find also
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

is there a reset button and where is it

Asked by
scrooge
Mesa arizona
about Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
May 16, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
InSinkErator
May 20, 2015
Hi, this is Jerica from InSinkErator Customer Service. Yes, all InSinkErator disposers have a red reset button at the bottom. Make sure that power is OFF to the disposer. Look under the sink at the very bottom of the disposer. Locate the red, square, reset button (overload protector) that is toward the outside edge. If you find that the reset button has dropped down (out) approximately ¼ of an inch, gently press it back up. It should remain up and almost flush. If the reset button drops back down (out), the motor may still be too hot to for the reset button (overload protector) to engage. Let it cool down for 3 – 5 minutes and try again. The reset button should stay up (in) after the motor has cooled. Try the disposer. If resetting the disposer is ineffective, check to be sure there is power to the disposer. If your unit has a cord and plug, make sure the wall switch (on/off device) is in the OFF position, unplug the disposer, and use another small appliance in the outlet to see if it is working (after plugging it in, don’t forget to flip the wall switch or other on/off device to the “on” position to test). If your disposer is hardwired, check the circuit breaker to be sure it is on. If you determine that there is power to the disposer, and the reset is engaged or will not engage, there may be an internal problem with the disposer itself. If you have questions, please do not hesitate to contact us through insinkeratorfeedback@emerson.com or call InSinkErator AnswerLine at 1 (800) 558-5700. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
CommunityAnswer
May 16, 2015
The reset button is a red button on the bottom of the disposal.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Wagster
Houston
May 19, 2015
Yes. On the bottom. Small blue recessed button.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
EagleII
Houston, TX, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
August 6, 2015
Yep.. can't miss it.. Stick your head UNDER disposer and look for red reset. If you need help: InSinkErator :: 1-800-558-5700
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What would be the best Insinkerator to replace a Badger 9 as far as plumbing connections go. A similar size would be best. Thank you

Asked by
DMM68
Boston
about Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
May 15, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
InSinkErator
May 19, 2015
Hi, this is Jerica from InSinkErator Customer Service. The direct replacement of a Badger 9 disposer is Home Depot’s new model Badger 900. If you have questions, please do not hesitate to contact us through insinkeratorfeedback@emerson.com or call InSinkErator AnswerLine at 1 (800) 558-5700. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

When washing items we noticed water leaking from the only one screw in the bottom of the disposer. What is needed to do?

Asked by
j1a9a4n0
BRADENTON, FLORIDA 34209
about Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
May 9, 2015
We used the sink at the side and is not leaking unless we put on the disposer. What is your advise for this questions?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
InSinkErator
May 11, 2015
Hi, this is Jerica from InSinkErator Customer Service. I do apologize for the inconvenience that you encountered with your disposer. Our customer’s experience and satisfaction with our products are very important to InSinkErator and I would like the opportunity to assist you with this. Kindly send an email to insinkeratorfeedback@emerson.com with your complete contact information and serial number of your disposer and I will get in touch with you. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
ncatt
East Hartford, Ct
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
June 2, 2015
Replace the disposal, the leak will only get worse in time.Use a bucket under it until you do.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

i want to replace a emerson waste disposal will the badger 5 1/2 can i use the same hookup

Asked by
stiff
desoto ,tx.
about Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
May 1, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Dredge
Indiana
May 2, 2015
Yes, they are pretty much interchangeable. Follow the directions closely and you will be back in business shortly.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Whiskers
Sapulpa ok
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
May 3, 2015
Yes the badger 5 is made by Emerson They have kept the mounting and hook ups the same . Do not forget if you have a dishwasher you will need to drill out the soft metal plug inside the barbed connector . I used a paddle bit that just fit the inside diameter. Wiring will be the same as the old one
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
InSinkErator
May 4, 2015
Hi, this is Jerica from InSinkErator Customer Service. To be able to accurately check if your current unit has the same dimensions and plumbing requirements with the Badger 5 model, you may send the serial number of your disposer to insinkeratorfeedback@emerson.com and I will get in touch with you. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

CAN A BADGER 5 DISPOSAL BE REPLACED BY A BADGER 500

Asked by
Rick
about Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
April 3, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Honeydone
April 19, 2015
500 made exclusively for HD. Same units, different name plate.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
InSinkErator
April 15, 2015
Hi, this is Jerica from InSinkErator Customer Service. The models Badger 5 and Badger 500 both have ½ horsepower, 2 year in-home warranty and same plumbing requirements. It is correct that the Badger 500 is exclusively manufactured for Home Depot. If you have questions, please do not hesitate to contact us through insinkeratorfeedback@emerson.com or call InSinkErator AnswerLine at 1 (800) 558-5700. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Dredge
Indiana
April 15, 2015
Yes, with some adaptations.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Mayvalley
issaquah
April 28, 2015
the specs are identical. I would guess that the 500 is a newer version.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
EagleII
Houston, TX, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
April 3, 2015
There is no difference between the Badger 5 and the 500. The 500 was made specially for and is only available @ Home Depot..
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
ccr4evr
Monroe, New Jersey
Home Improvement Profile: Other
April 4, 2015
there is NO DIFFERENCE between the 5 and the 500... except that the 500 is made specially for and available only from Home Depot.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

My disposal is seen to be jam

Asked by
Victor
Portland or
about Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
March 14, 2015
it seen it is solid stuck then what
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
EagleII
Houston, TX, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 15, 2015
If the wrench/key that came with it will not free the disposer when inserted in the bottom and turned... you may need to remove the disposer to remove the problem. My guess; it is probably shot. Mark down the type you have and buy a new one. Follow the installation instructions. If you are not handy with electric or plumbing ask home depot to install.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
InSinkErator
March 16, 2015
Hi,

I do apologize for the inconvenience that you encountered with your disposer.

Each InSinkErator disposer is shipped with a self-service wrench. The wrench is silver colored, and shaped like a little crank, about four inches long. If you cannot find the service wrench, you can use a standard 1/4 inch Allen wrench. If you do not have your self-service wrench, and would like one, please let us know and we would be happy to send it out at no charge.

1. Make certain that the disposer's switch is in the OFF position. Also, be sure the water is not running during the procedure.

2. Looking under the sink, locate the hole, dead center, at the bottom of the disposer.

3. Insert the self-service wrenchette (or ¼ inch Allen wrench –short end) into the hole.

4. While holding the wrench up in the hole, attempt to make a complete revolution. The wrench should turn freely in a complete revolution, both clockwise and counter-clockwise. If you meet resistance in either direction, work the wrench in a back and forth motion. You may use force if necessary. You will know you are applying too much force if the entire disposer begins to turn.

5. Once the wrench is turning freely in a complete revolution both ways, remove the wrench from the hole.

6. With power still OFF to the disposer, look down into the chamber from the sinkhole opening. Hold the black flaps back and look down into the chamber from the sink hole opening with a flashlight. Look to see if you can see anything that that might still be binding the plate or that you might have dislodged. Do not put your hands into the chamber. Pay special attention to the area around the outer edge of the disposer's shredding disk. There is a small space between the "floor" (flat surface of the shredder disc) and the wall of the disposer. Follow the circumference of this ring, carefully checking the space, to see if you can locate anything that should not be there. If you locate something, use a pair of pliers or tongs to retrieve it. Again, do not put your hands inside the disposer.

7. Turn the faucet on and run water through for 15 – 20 seconds.

8. Turn the switch for the disposer to the on position to check if it is operating correctly.

In case you already tried using the wrench but cannot rotate is freely, please follow the steps below.

1. Make sure the disposer is electrically OFF.

2. Hold the black flaps back, and look down into the chamber from the sink hole opening with a flashlight.

3. Do NOT put your hands inside the disposer.

4. Pay special attention to the area around the outer edge of the disposer's shredding disk. There is a small space between the "floor" (flat surface of the shredder disc) and the wall of the disposer. Follow this space around the circumference of the chamber, to see if you can locate anything that should not be there.

5. If you do locate something, use a tool such as a long tongs or pliers to grab it. See if you can pull it out. If it is wedged too tightly, obtain assistance from another person and have them pull on the object from the top, while you work the wrench from below. Again, do not place your hands inside the disposer.

6. If you successfully retrieve the object and the wrench is turning freely, remove the wrench from the hole. Turn the faucet on and let the water run through for 15-20 seconds.

7. Switch the disposer on and check if it is operating correctly.

If none of these steps won’t make your unit work again; please send an email to insinkeratorfeedback@emerson.com with your complete contact information and serial number of your unit and I will get in touch with you.

Thank you.

Sincerely,

Jerica
InSinkErator Customer Service
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Whiskers
Sapulpa ok
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 16, 2015
If the allen wrench provided in the install will not turn the unit either way when inserted into the motor shaft from the under side then the unit probably has an internal failure. With the power off at the breaker panel inspect thru the upper opening with a flash light .If its full of garbage you may have to wet vac it out to see the cause of the jam
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
FriscoKid
San Francisco
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 24, 2015
First try push the reset button at the bottom of disposal to reset. If it is really jammed, use an allen wrench to turn the disposal to clear jamming. The hole for the allen wrench is at the center bottom of disposal. Search and check how to clear jamming from youtube if you want to see how this can be done.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the difference between the Badger 5 and 500?

Asked by
John
PA
about Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
March 6, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Whiskers
Sapulpa ok
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 6, 2015
From what I understand visiting with a home depot dept they are simply updating the model numbering to coincide with the other models I could see no difference when I looked at them side by side . The model 5 was available for less money if I purchased it from them on their web site Still free ship to home . The 5 has an improved discharge pipe over the older one I replaced in that the pipe is clamped by a screws and clamp flange instead of threading onto the housing same place as the older one . Dont forget to open the dishwasher plug if connecting one . I used a paddle bit that just fit down inside the tube and drilled out the blank off plug ,
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
EagleII
Houston, TX, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 15, 2015
The 5 and the 500: exactly the same unit save the badger 500 was made at some point just for home depot
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
InSinkErator
March 9, 2015
Hi, this is Jerica from InSinkErator Customer Service. Badger 5 and Badger 500 have the same features. These two models both have ½ horsepower, 2-year in-home warranty and overall dimensions are also the same. The Badger 500 is an exclusive model for Home Depot. If you have questions, please do not hesitate to contact us through insinkeratorfeedback@emerson.com or call InSinkErator AnswerLine at 1 (800) 558-5700. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
FriscoKid
San Francisco
March 24, 2015
Should be the same. 500 is branded for Home Depot. Badger 5 is cheaper than 500 when I bought it online from Home Depot
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Honeydone
April 19, 2015
500 made exclusively for HD. Same units. 500 not worth the extra bucks IMO.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

does it come with a power cord???

Asked by
gander41
melbourne FL
about Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
February 18, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Brad
Indiana, USA
March 5, 2015
No. It's set up to be hard wired. If you want to plug it in, you will have to purchase electical wiring (12-2 or 14-2) and a male plug adapter and create your own plug set up.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Pamperito
Lauderdale by the Sea
February 19, 2015
No. You can used the one from the previous unit or buy a new one (recommended).
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Scooter
California
February 19, 2015
No, just wire nuts.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
fixitsam2
Ohio
March 3, 2015
There is no power cord you use the old one. you just install it like the old one was installed
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
EagleII
Houston, TX, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 15, 2015
Nope. Easy to ad a power source/cord/reuse cord -- > if you already have a disposer you are replacing.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Whiskers
Sapulpa ok
March 4, 2015
No most do not come with a cord as they can be hard wired to the romex I would recommend a cord since it is easier to connect with it laying out in the open . Put an outlet in a box on your switched romex and then plug the service cord into the outlet. Be sure the cord is rated for the same or higher amperage than the disposal the amp draw is stated in the specs or on the box
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Electrical hookup and dishwasher drain input

Asked by
Danny
Lutz, Florida
about Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
February 16, 2015
Where is the wiring and does it have a input from a dishwasher drain line?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pyrro
Tulsa, OK
February 18, 2015
The hookup for the electric is located on the bottom of the disposal. there will be a cover plate to remove, inside you will see a black wire, white wire and ground wire. Connect them to the power, neutral and ground from the house. The disposal has a port to connect the dishwasher and it is very evident on the side of the machine just about the drain. If using this with a dishwasher please remember to "knock out" the plastic plug that is inside the plastic tube for the dishwasher. it may fall into the disposal, if it does just fish it out. Remember keep all power off while doing your work.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
InSinkErator
February 17, 2015
Hi, this is Jerica from InSinkErator Customer Service. When you remove the terminal plate at the bottom of the InSinkErator disposer, you would see the two electrical wires that need to be properly connected. You can have your unit hardwired or plugged to an outlet by connecting a power cord to it. As for the connection to a dishwasher, all InSinkErator disposers have a dishwasher inlet located on the upper side of the unit. You may refer to the disposer’s manual for the complete and accurate instruction on how to properly install the unit. If you have questions, please do not hesitate to contact us through insinkeratorfeedback@emerson.com or call InSinkErator AnswerLine at 1 (800) 558-5700. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Theo
Rochester, NY, USA
February 17, 2015
Wriing is on the Bottom of the Canister and YES there is a Nipple to attach a dishwasher drain line
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
nm2002
Saint Louis, MO
February 18, 2015
Yes you have to connect the cord, it had dw input. Do not buy this one it will leak after 6-8 months of use. My company used to buy these all the time. The older models were reliable these are junk. Try some other brand..
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
fixitsam2
Ohio
March 3, 2015
There is no new power cord. Re use the old one and hook it up the same way the old one came off.

The dishwasher hookup has a seal on the drain hook up and you must take a screwdriver and hammer and tap it in and remove the plug from the disposer before you fasten the drain hose on.

If you don't have a dishwasher it is ready to install with out doinh anything.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Whiskers
Sapulpa ok
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 4, 2015
The wiring connects behind a plate held on by 1 screw at the bottom outer edge of the motor There are connections for hot, neutral and ground . Hot (black) and neutral(white) will wire nut to the supply source and ground has a terminal block As for the dishwasher connection yes it is there but ls blanked off in side the opening I drilled thru it with a paddle bit just small enough to go inside the pipe before you install it Try to remove the debris some
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this be installed as hard-wired

Asked by
Larry
about Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
January 27, 2015
My existing garbage disposal's power is hard-wired and there is no outlet under the sink. Can this one be installed as hard-wired or do I need to install a power outlet for it?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Brad
Indiana, USA
March 5, 2015
Yes, it's set up for hardwire right into the bottom of the unit. Just unscrew the coverplate and it reveals the connection screws. You should be good to go by reattaching the wires from the disposal you just removed.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Whiskers
Sapulpa ok
March 4, 2015
Yes with a switched romex hard wire it has no switch of its own Still easier to install an outlet and then plug into the out let . Just use an adequate amp rated appliance cord
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
TSPORT
Doylestown, PA
April 8, 2015
Yes, you can hard-wire. That's the way it was designed. There is a small plate on the bottom held on with one screw that covers where the wires go after connected with wire nuts.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
EagleII
Houston, TX, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
January 28, 2015
The simple answer, yes. BUT you still need and On/Off Control that is normally a Wall Switch. If in doubt, have it installed. It is not worth a trip to the hospital or your life if you are not familiar with plumbing or wiring.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
InSinkErator
January 28, 2015
Hi, this is Jerica from InSinkErator Customer Service. InSinkErator manufactures disposers with a cord and without a power cord. The InSinkErator disposers manufactured without a cord are usually meant for customers who prefer to have their units to be hardwired. You just have to make sure that the electrical connection to your disposer is still controlled by an on/off switch. If you have questions, please do not hesitate to contact us through insinkeratorfeedback@emerson.com or call InSinkErator AnswerLine at 1 (800) 558-5700. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Scooter
California
January 28, 2015
Yes, but you would need to put an on/off switch in the line to operate the disposal.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the difference between the Badger 5 and the Badger 500 1/2 horse ?

Asked by
Slick
about Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
December 26, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Pyrro
Tulsa, OK
January 13, 2015
I have used both, the only difference that I have found are some very subtle amperage values. there is no other functional or operational differences that I can tell.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Brad
Indiana, USA
March 5, 2015
No difference that I can tell. One is available on-line only. The other is ready for in store purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
EagleII
Houston, TX, USA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 15, 2015
The 5 and the 500: exactly the same unit save the badger 500 was made at some point just for home depot
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Whiskers
Sapulpa ok
March 4, 2015
AS far as I could see when comparing the two side by side no difference I think they as simply phasing out the older numbering to give a consistancy with the numbers on some of their newest model / I installed a 5 it was 50 bucks less on line at Home Depot than the 500
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Scooter
California
January 27, 2015
I bought the Badger 500 in store and when I got it home and removed my Badger, I realized that I had a Badger 5 so I went on line to check out the difference and couldn't find any with the exception that the Badger 5 on line was $20.00 cheaper. I returned the Badger 500 and purchased the Badger 5 on line with free shipping.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
InSinkErator
December 26, 2014
Hi, this is Jerica from InSinkErator Customer Service. Badger 5 and Badger 500 have the same features of ½ horsepower and 2-year in-home warranty coverage. Badger 500 is an exclusive model that can be purchased through Home Depot. If you currently have a Badger 5 disposer, you may want to send the serial number of your unit to insinkeratorfeedback@emerson.com so that we can check if there would be difference on the two models’ plumbing requirement. Thank you.
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Do you install garbage disposals, and if so what is the fee?

Asked by
PRNS
pleasant hill iowa
about Badger 5 1/2 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal on
December 22, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
dhkktom888
California
February 10, 2015
had it done by an experienced worker.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
InSinkErator
December 23, 2014
Hi, this is Jerica from InSinkErator Customer Service. The warranty of the unit does not cover new installation. However, we have available Factory Authorized Service Agencies and Pro-Circle Plumbers who can possibly do new installation. You may send an email to insinkeratorfeedback@emerson.com with your complete contact information and I will respond with the available companies’ contact information. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Pilgrim33
Naples, FL
Home Improvement Profile: Other
December 23, 2014
No, I do not install garbage disposals. I paid someone to install mine, but, as it was a special deal through Angie's List, I am reluctant to mention the price.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Arky
Revere, MA
January 4, 2015
I had it installed by a licensed plumber, paid 237.50. It was in Dec 2014. Not cheap! ...however I did not feel secure for proper connections of plumbing and electricity when doing it myself... If you feel comfy with connecting pipes with no leak and electrical connections with no hazard, then O.K.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Whiskers
Sapulpa ok
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
March 4, 2015
Sorry I am a do it your selfer but a good friend or handy man could at least look at it and advise if you would need a plumber
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
Scooter
California
January 27, 2015
No.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 »