Looking for Answers about Custom Building Products RedGard 1 gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane?

Customer questions and answers for
Custom Building Products RedGard 1 gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane

RedGard Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane prevents cracks in tile and stone floors due to surface movement. The membrane also produces a moisture barrier. Suitable for use in residential and commercial tile and stone installations.
Customer questions and answers:
53 Questions
 | 
125 Answers
Overall rating:
4.448 out of 5
4.4
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for Custom Building Products RedGard 1 gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane

Question

IS THIS PRODUCT GOOD FOR WATERPROOFING NICHE ON SHOWERS

Asked by
FRED
MONCTON NB CANADA
about RedGard 1 gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane on
February 8, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CustomBuildingProducts
Technical Service Dept. Corp office
February 11, 2013
Hi there, thank you for contacting us. RedGard can be use for waterproofing floors, walls and niches on shower installations. If you need more specific information please contact our technical department at 800-272-8786.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Robert
Michigan, USA
March 17, 2013
Yes. Make sure you thinset and tape seams with alkali resistant mesh tape prior to applying redgard to the niche. After you thinset and tape seams make sure the thinset is completely dry before applying.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
David
Van Buren, AR, USA
March 30, 2013
I don't know, but I just applied it yesterday to just that in a new shower in my home. Will find out if it works or not. I expect it should be just fine from what I saw and read.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
bigB63
Cameron, NC 28326, USA
February 25, 2014
I used it on my niche once I had the backerboard installed and the joints where taped with a fiberglass mesh suitable for use with thinset mortar and troweled a thin layer of thinset over the mesh. Apply Redgard, let dry completely, then apply a second and third coat if needed. You can also use a sealer in your grout mix that helps with moisture and stains.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

will red guard waterproof plywood on a exterior deck under a patio cover and if so can you glue indoor /outdoor carpet to it

Asked by
spoonydog
ione cal
about RedGard 1 gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane on
November 6, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
kater224
Utah, USA
November 19, 2013
I think so.. when you put it on it makes a rubber feeling layer , I used it and put peel and stick tiles to it and it held them super good... would do it again
Kate Ramsey
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
CustomBuildingProducts
Technical Service Dept. Corp office
November 7, 2013
Hi there, thank you for contacting us. RedGard does not waterproof plywood. If you have further questions please contact our installation division at 800.272.8786
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
margulb57
Las Vegas, NV, USA
January 15, 2014
yes
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
RMTW
Denver, CO
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
January 31, 2014
Roofing cement and tar paper will be far more effective. Along with proper drainage, if water pools then it's going to eventually find it's way through
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can redgard be applied over formica countertops?

Asked by
Lawyer1
Birmingham,AL.
about RedGard 1 gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane on
January 10, 2014
I have Formica counter tops in my kitchen and I want to tile them.I know that they have to be roughed up to apply redgard or any underlayment but will it provide the moisture barrier needed?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
homehacker
Michigan
April 15, 2014
I have done this project before. I sanded the formica first with a vibrating sander. Then just used tile adhesive. I wouldn't bother with the redguard for this.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
CustomBuildingProducts
Technical Service Dept. Corp office
January 10, 2014
No. Over formica countertops roughen up the surface and used a polymer modified mortar such as FlexBond Bonding Mortar. If you need further assistance please contact our installation division at 800.272.8786
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
margulb57
Las Vegas, NV, USA
January 15, 2014
I would not use the Formica tops due to they are particle broad you need to use exterior glued 3/4 in plywood for your sub-top then hardy-backer 1/4 in then the redgard also use a white marble mat thin-set mortar because it only shrinks 1-2% also it is easier to use
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
RMTW
Denver, CO
January 31, 2014
sure it can but why? Usually we mortar and screw down 1/2" cement board on top of formica tops to prep for tile. Redguard won't give the type of stability you need to avoid grout cracks on countertops. Use concrete board
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will redguard show if using glass mosaic tiles?

Asked by
big
about RedGard 1 gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane on
February 8, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CustomBuildingProducts
Technical Service Dept. Corp office
February 8, 2013
Hi there, thank you for contacting us. RedGard will not show on a glass mosaic as long as you have full coverage of mortar behind the glass tiles. If you need further information please contact our technical department at 800-272-8786.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
rushin2
Seattle, WA, USA
February 8, 2013
It's quite deep red color once you apply it on the surface and it dries-up (see attached picture). If you are applying thinset it should cover Redgard just fine. If your tiles are see-through, the color of the thinset will be of importance. If you are applying a "see-through" glue of any sort (instead of thinset) - than the deep red will be visible. That is what our experience has been in-so-far. Hope it helps.
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
bigB63
Cameron, NC 28326, USA
February 25, 2014
If you use the correct depth trowel notch, only the thinset mortar should be visible through the tile.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
SteveVA
Virginia
July 29, 2013
Not if it is covered well with a thinset of your color choice. A thin layer of thinset with the wrong trowel may allow the Redgard to show through a clear glass tile.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can RedGuard be applied directly to sloped slab floor and thinset and tile over for walkin shower?

Asked by
John
Kansas City
about RedGard 1 gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane on
May 13, 2013
Redoing a walkin shower where the concrete is already slopped to the drain. Can I just use RedGuard to waterproof the concrete and then tile over with thinset?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
David
Van Buren, AR, USA
May 14, 2013
I'm not an expert but I did use this product on a shower wall(s). I see no reason why you couldn't use it for that purpose. Now I just visited with my brother who builds the multi-million dollar estate homes. He told me that coatings of this type will typically only last about 10 years. If you do use it on the shower floor, make sure you do two separate coatings in two different directions. Make sure you use a respirator during the application. This product creates a rubbery barrier, for the lack of a better description but thinset goes on right over it without any problems and tile attached very well from what I saw. Make sure you allow it to dry all the way before coats and thinset. Suggestion too, make sure you close off that room to the rest of your house otherwise the entire house will smell of this product while it dries. Turn on a vent in there or open window.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
homehacker
Michigan
April 15, 2014
Yes you can.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
CustomBuildingProducts
Technical Service Dept. Corp office
May 14, 2013
Hi there, thank you for contacting us. Yes RedGard can be used to waterproof sloped concrete slab. Two coats are required for waterproofing. If you need further assistance please contact our installation division at 800.272.8786
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
SteveVA
Virginia
May 19, 2013
Yes you can.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

will redguard on painted concrete allow thinset to stick?

Asked by
needing help
about RedGard 1 gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane on
July 7, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
David
Van Buren, AR.
July 8, 2013
I need to modify my earlier answer. If it was raw concrete, I think it would work but painted might be another matter. If the paint was to detach, the RedGuard probably will too. Earlier, I missed the part of the question stating "painted".
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
David
Van Buren, AR, USA
July 8, 2013
I'm sure it will. I used it over thinset covered surface since it was now pourous. I had installed Kerdi material over the drywall with thinset per their instructions but ended up having to remove it all, which left the thinset. Rather than removing the drywall and putting up cement board, I elected to use the RedGuard over it. Two coats of this Redguard in two directions, thinset and tile over that seemed to work just fine, for me.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
CustomBuildingProducts
Technical Service Dept. Corp office
July 8, 2013
Hi there, thank you for contacting us. No, redgard will not allow thinset to stick to a painted concrete. If you need further assistance please contact our installation division at 800.272.8786
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
SteveVA
Virginia
July 8, 2013
Yes, thinset will adhere to the Redgard just use a good quality modified thinset, preferably from Custom Builders.
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I apply redguard over sun touch floor heating mats over an interior bathroom floor?

Asked by
T king
St. Louis mo
about RedGard 1 gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane on
September 3, 2013
I've got 3/4" wood subfloor, 1/2" Hardi backer board then sun touch heat mats skimmed 3 times with versa bond. Now I want to do a little waterproofing to protect subfloor from moisture due to lack of a shower door.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CustomBuildingProducts
Technical Service Dept. Corp office
September 4, 2013
Hi there, thank you for contacting us. As per your assembly make sure the skim coat is at minimum 1/8" thick, Redgard will not be affected by the heat transmitted by the heating system. If you have any further questions please contact our installation division at 800.272.8786
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
rushin2
Seattle, WA, USA
September 4, 2013
Redgard will adhere to versabond well. Thereafter - tile on it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
homehacker
Michigan
April 15, 2014
I did this, but used warming wire instead of the mats. Seems like it would work to me.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
SteveVA
Virginia
September 4, 2013
I would check the manual or with the manufacturer. Usually the Redgard would go on the backerboards before the thinset.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

My concrete basement wall seems good & dry. Iwant to insure that by Redguarding it.Then I want to texture the wall w/drywall mud over the Redguard-OK?

Asked by
Robgart
Lebec,Ca
about RedGard 1 gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane on
August 17, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
rp66
Las Vegas, NV, USA
August 18, 2013
I'm assuming your wall is over the 28 days old from being poured. Redgaurd should work ok for what your talking. I would also look in to hydrolc cement I know they make a liquid form that paints as well. If you stick with redgaurd I know you can spay it with a paint sprayer but check with the manufacture on how to cut it to spray this will give you even coat. But with a textured wall you may just want to roll it on thick
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
David
Van Buren, AR, USA
August 19, 2013
I'm not an expert on this but watching lots of DIY shows and so on, I see that for basements and water protection, there are specific products that you apply to the "outside" of the wall/basement to prevent water from getting in. You don't normally apply the product to the inside wall. Now I have seen one product that supposedly allows for this to be done on the inside but how well it might or might not work is questionable. I don't believe RedGuard was intended for this usage. Again, I'm not a professional.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
CustomBuildingProducts
Technical Service Dept. Corp office
August 19, 2013
Hi there, thank you for contacting us. RedGard is intended for usage underneath cement mortar for the installation of ceramic tile. If you need further information please contact our installation division at 800.272.8786
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
OregonMuscle
Oregon City, Oregon
December 18, 2013
No, use a product specific for waterproofing basements. Redgard is not designed for the holding back the pressure that can accompany below grade water infiltration. The product is also intended to be covered with a solid material such as tile, or slate.

By using the correct product such as (Drylok 27512 Masonry Waterproofer), you will be spending much less money as well.
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

This is used INSTEAD of a shower pan (rubber membrane liner), correct?

Asked by
TheUnscented
MyBasement, Ohio
about RedGard 1 gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane on
April 26, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Dangil1992
ashville al
May 1, 2012
yes i used it for that.
put down the mud bed and then put it down and tile right on top of it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
CustomBuildingProducts
Technical Service Dept. Corp office
April 27, 2012
Yes, the RedGard can be used in place of a shower pan liner. Two full coats need to be applied to create the water proof membrane. If you look at the Custom Building Products web site you can find the RedGard technical data sheet which will alos give you complete installation instructions. Thank You
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Robert
Michigan, USA
March 17, 2013
I would not recommend using it in place of a rubber membrane liner. I would however use it as an effective waterproofing membrane behind the tiles for a tube surround.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

should redgard be used on concrete under laminate floor?

Asked by
Jimbo
about RedGard 1 gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane on
October 1, 2012
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CustomBuildingProducts
Technical Service Dept. Corp office
October 2, 2012
Hi there, thank you for contacting us. RedGard is for usage on concrete under hard surfaces such as ceramic, porcelain, natural stone tile. For more detailed information please contact our technical service department at 800-272-8786
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
rushin2
Seattle, WA, USA
October 3, 2012
Not sure why there would be a need for the moisture barrier between the cement and the laminate floor, but it would certainly not hurt the application of the laminate floor glue to the cement (if that is the question).
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
bigB63
Cameron, NC 28326, USA
February 25, 2014
The thin padding that goes under the laminate flooring acts as a vapor barrier. Be sure to tape your seams on the padding.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can Redgard be used with DensShield backer?

Asked by
Mike
Texas
about RedGard 1 gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane on
March 15, 2013
We plan to use DensShield as backer for our shower with fiberglass tape on the corners using thinset. Also will use thinset on screw heads. To seal corners and other areas covered with thinset, we'd like to use Redgard just over the areas with thinset since DensShield already provides a moisture barrier.Is this appropriate? Would there be any benefit to coat entire surface with Redgard?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CustomBuildingProducts
Technical Service Dept. Corp office
March 18, 2013
Hi there, thank you for contacting us. No need of RedGard. DensShield is coated with a moisture barrier that can inhibit good adhesion of RedGard. If you have further questions please contact our installation division at 800-272-8786
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
homehacker
Michigan
April 15, 2014
I would just paint the corners with Redguard. I can't see any benefit to painting the whole thing. Can't see any down side either other than the additional work.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Robert
Michigan, USA
March 17, 2013
Redgard designed to form a waterproof membrane. Make sure to coat the entire surface of your substrate to ensure complete waterproofing. Thinset is not waterproof so, yes, there is a benifet to coating the surface with redgard.
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

can redgard be used on wood? also, can you apply aquadefense to redgard?

Asked by
Kay
about RedGard 1 gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane on
August 14, 2013
I am trying to waterproof and protect my kitchen/bathroom from mould and my papa gave me a little bit of redgard, I went to Lowe's and bought aquadefense. I would like to know if I can apply redgard to the wood of my house before I attach hardibacker/greenboard, and put aquadefense on the redgard if possible.
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Mary
Lompoc, CA
August 15, 2013
A call to customer support will provide you with all answers and guidance. 800-282-8786 Ron, who helped me, was most knowledgeable and supportive.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
CustomBuildingProducts
Technical Service Dept. Corp office
August 15, 2013
Hi there, thank you for contacting us. Cannot apply aquadefense to RedGard. If you need further assistance please contact our installation division at 800.272.8786
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
rushin2
Seattle, WA, USA
August 14, 2013
Both products AD and Redgard create rubberized surface, so not sure why apply on top of another, but see no reason why it would not work... Caution to apply Redgard onto untreated wood - wood needs to breath and will absorb moisture, but eventually moisture will need to escape - Redgard will prevent it from happening - will create worst problems in regards of mold.

In our shower application - wood frame was built with no applicants. Hardibecker was applied on top of it and THAN Redgard onto hardibacker. And than quickcrete with tiles. And than grout.

If you have moisture issues - perhaps treated lumber would be better option.

Hope these thoughts help...
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

we are installing tile on outside concrete corridors with an exisiting waterproofing.

Asked by
mike
charleston sc
about RedGard 1 gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane on
December 13, 2013
We stripped old waterproofing off with a powered 400lb blade stripper. there is some residue left should that be a concern?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CustomBuildingProducts
Technical Service Dept. Corp office
December 13, 2013
The concrete must have a textured finish; do a water absorption test. Sprinkle a few drops of water to observ if water beads or penetrates. You want to see droplet of water penetrating and darkening the concrete. If you need further information please contact our installation division at 800.272.8786
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
margulb57
Las Vegas, NV, USA
January 15, 2014
the surface need to be dust & grease free for the redgard to bond also I would apply 2 coats
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
OregonMuscle
Oregon City, Oregon
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
February 25, 2014
Before any coating is applied over concrete the surface must be verified as to it's condition, checking it in multiple locations. The concrete should readily accept moisture when water is dripped on the surface. If the water beads up or rolls off, additional prep is necessary. Depending on thickness, the remaining residue may be removed with a simple Acid wash and through rinse.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Use with cement board

Asked by
Patrick
Indianapolis, IN
about RedGard 1 gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane on
March 9, 2014
When using this product on a shower surround with cement board do you tape the seams and use thin set, let dry, then apply redgard or can you just apply the mesh tape and then go right over that with redgard?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
homehacker
Michigan
April 15, 2014
I applied the thin set and let that dry first. I imagine you could do it either way, but this way seemed safer to me.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
CustomBuildingProducts
Technical Service Dept. Corp office
March 10, 2014
Fill the seams with thin-set mortar, tape them, let dry then apply RedGard. If you need further assistance contact our installation division at 800.272.8786
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Kenny
Hh
March 11, 2014
You should tape it off ,then apply it
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can i use this on drywall

Asked by
Lilbit
Katy TX
about RedGard 1 gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane on
March 23, 2014
I have mold in my bathroom walls around my tub...will be replacing drywall with moisture resistant drywall...will be tiling over the bottom 1/2 of the wall...can i use this product over drywall but under paint and tile
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CustomBuildingProducts
Technical Service Dept. Corp office
March 24, 2014
RedGard is suitable for use only on unpainted surfaces. As a better option, cement backer board such as WonderBoard can be waterproofed with RedGard for walls around the tub area. If you need further assistance contact our installation division at 800.272.8786
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Joybie
Doylestown, PA, USA
April 1, 2014
There is a thinset product called 3N1 that is mold resistant and goes under the tile to act as a moisture seal.. maybe try this first.. I think paying for redguard to achieve this purpose is not practical; Redguard is somewhat pricey for this type of application.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
homehacker
Michigan
April 15, 2014
I would use hardibacker or cementboard instead of the water resistant drywall. It won't cost that much more, but will be a lot more durable.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can Redgard be applied over basement concrete block that already have paint on them?

Asked by
Matt
Pittsburgh
about RedGard 1 gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane on
February 22, 2014
My concrete foundation block have paint on them. Does all paint have to be removed prior to application of Redgard? Or if the paint is in good condition (not flaking or peeling) can Redgard be applied directly over to provide a waterproof seal?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CustomBuildingProducts
Technical Service Dept. Corp office
February 24, 2014
The concrete surface must be clean and free from paint, sealers, waxes or anything that may prevent bond. If you need further assistance contact our installation division at 800.272.8786
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
OregonMuscle
Oregon City, Oregon
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
February 25, 2014
Redgard is an excellent product and will adhere to virtually any clean and sound surface. When applied at the thickness suggested by the manufacturer it will 'seal' this surface, making it essentially 'waterproof'. In this situation if you apply Redgard to existing paint, you will have a waterproof top layer of paint.

The existing paint that is coating the the Block prevents Redgard from creating it's direct waterproof bond. Any moisture will get trapped between the paint and your block walls. Leading to failure in the form of water blisters, or simply causing the paint to peel off taking the outer waterproof Redgard top coat with it.

Concrete block sealer may be a slightly better choice only due to the lower cost. Without direct surface contact, any substance applied is limited in performance to that in which it adheres to.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Joybie
Doylestown, PA, USA
April 1, 2014
If the paint is rubber or latex based.. I would remove the paint and then apply redguard.. if the purpose is to serve as a moisture barrier.

If the purpose is only for precaution and for aesthetic purposes; the redguard can be applied where the paint has worn away.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

can i use Red Guard to seal my 'at grade' bedroom concrete floor before laying wall to wall carpet. And is it a good idea to stop any moisture?

Asked by
jerr
Ft lauderdale, Fl
about RedGard 1 gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane on
January 23, 2014
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CustomBuildingProducts
Technical Service Dept. Corp office
January 23, 2014
RedGard is not compatible to carpet glue. Redgard is designed to waterproof concrete for the installation of ceramic tile. If you need further assistance please contact our installation division at 800.272.8786
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Joybie
Doylestown, PA, USA
April 1, 2014
I painted this on my basement floor to prevent condensation and prevent dewpoint moisture from coming up through the floor.. it worked great; the flip side is any manmade spills in the concrete will only dissipate into the back of the carpeting- so are you going to use padding (even if lower grade)?
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
RMTW
Denver, CO
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
January 31, 2014
No.. it's not the correct product for that application. I like to use high strength grout mix or D-patch to fill any larger voids along with a good 100% silicone caulking. Redguard doesn't do well with larger patches.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how to remove redguard

Asked by
Alfonso
napa home depot
about RedGard 1 gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane on
February 11, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CustomBuildingProducts
Technical Service Dept. Corp office
February 12, 2013
Hi there, thank you for contacting us. Assuming is a concrete surface, scrub using a wire brush and water. If you need further assistance please contact our technical department at 800-272-8786.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
WilsonConstructionSD
CA
April 28, 2013
You can clean up redgard with water before it dries. After it dries you can sometimes peel it off of plywood in small sections, or more if it dries on a glossy surface. If it has dried on concrete try paint stripper. If it has dried on cement board you should just leave it alone and tile over it.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
SteveVA
Virginia
July 29, 2013
Scraper
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can redgard be used to waterproof exterior (like under a table)without putting anything over it? Exposed to the Florida salt air

Asked by
Mike
Florida
about RedGard 1 gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane on
May 15, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CustomBuildingProducts
Technical Service Dept. Corp office
May 15, 2013
Hi there, thank you for contacting us. Redgard is not a finishing product. Redgard is an underlayment that has to be covered with cement mortar and tile installation. If you need further assistance please contact our installation division at 800.272.8786
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Manny
Brooklyn
May 28, 2013
You would probably want to put a coat of appropriate marine latex-based paint over it to protect it. All of these waterproof membranes (RedGard, Laticrete, BondTAC) typically shouldn't be used as a final coat.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
SteveVA
Virginia
July 29, 2013
Theoretically it could be used in that sense. It depends on what you are waterproofing but eventually the Redgard would be damaged because it is exposed. It is primarily meant to be below tile. There are more suitable products to waterproof exterior concrete, wood, etc.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what kind of thinset is used on redgard?

Asked by
cz
about RedGard 1 gal. Waterproofing and Crack Prevention Membrane on
July 8, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
CustomBuildingProducts
Technical Service Dept. Corp office
July 9, 2013
You should always use a good polymer/latex modified potland cement mortar. Do not ever use anything premixed. Thank You
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Kevin
Petaluma, CA
August 14, 2013
Use polymer modified Custom thin set. Custom is the company that makes RedGard. Do not use pre-mixed thin set.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
bigB63
Cameron, NC 28326, USA
February 25, 2014
Do not use the pre-mixed thinset.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 »