Looking for Answers about KILZ 2 2-gal. White Water-Based Latex Multi-Surface Interior/Exterior Primer, Sealer and Stain-Blocker?

Customer questions and answers for
KILZ 2 2-gal. White Water-Based Latex Multi-Surface Interior/Exterior Primer, Sealer and Stain-Blocker

KILZ 2 LATEX White Water-Base is an Interior/Exterior, fast drying, water-base, multi-surface primer-sealer-stainblocker with excellent, adhesion, sealing properties and very mild odor. Suitable for application on interior and exterior surfaces, including woodwork, wallpaper, furniture, drywall, plaster, paneling, masonry, brick, painted metal and properly prepared glossy surfaces. KILZ 2 LATEX primer also blocks medium stains and provides a mildew resistant coating.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions
 | 
22 Answers
Overall rating:
4.432 out of 5
4.4
out of
5

Customer questions and answers for KILZ 2 2-gal. White Water-Based Latex Multi-Surface Interior/Exterior Primer, Sealer and Stain-Blocker

Question

will kilz cover mold stains?

Asked by
sadiemarie
about 2-gal. White Water-Based Latex Multi-Surface Interior/Exterior Primer, Sealer and Stain-Blocker on
June 20, 2013
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Michel
8561 SW, 21CT, Davie,
February 11, 2014
Yes, but sometime it takes 2 application or more. But the best is to wash before painting, eventhough the stain doesn't leave. It'll do with the primer.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
CREAMER
YORK, PA
February 11, 2014
first you need to make sure the entire area to be treated is exposed. then wash the wall with a diluted bleach mixture to kill the mold - wait 24 hrs. to dry , repeat if needed, scrape and prepare for painting (do not use plaster products yet) apply a coat of the KILZ to the stained area. wait about an hour. fix any areas that need to be finished (spackle). after the wall is completely paint ready (sanded) apply a second coat of KILZ to the effected area. (wait until dry). repeat the KILZ apps. until mold is not noticeable. NOTE: APPLYING KILZ HEAVILY WILL ONLY MAKE THE DRY TIME LONGER AND WILL RUN ON YOU
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
jimmyjoe
Houston, TX, USA
February 4, 2014
I have used it to cover mold stains with satisfactory results. I like wipe the area with a mold killing solution first.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
fishboy944
January 16, 2014
in my opinion, if you poured the whole 2 gallon bucket on the mold, it would not cover it.
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Asked by
Memorial
Toledo, OH, USA
January 14, 2014
I would not recommend it, either use Binz or an epoxy paint
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Asked by
rick
CHARLEVOIX
January 14, 2014
After scrubbing with TSP the little mold stains I had were covered and did not bleed thru.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Asked by
Marlo
Houston, TX, USA
January 14, 2014
Yes, mold and water stains.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Asked by
rckt4dm
southern maine
January 14, 2014
Kilz has covered water and mold stains for me
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Asked by
Okay
Columbus, OH, USA
December 10, 2013
yes, but oil primer is better. make sure you use a mold killer/cleaner. the primer is only as good as the preperation before painting.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Asked by
WayneP
Leesburg, VA, USA
August 10, 2013
Yes, but only the original KILZ formula. The KILZ2 and KILZ MAX products probably won't.
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Asked by
KILZProblemSolver
St. Louis, MO
June 21, 2013
Hello! For mold and mildew, we recommend you prime with KILZ Premium. Before primer application, make sure to kill mold and mildew with a solution of bleach and water or a cleaner formulated to kill mold. It is important to rinse well and allow surface to dry thoroughly to ensure no new mold and mildew formation. If you have any additional questions, please contact us directly at ask@kilz.com. Thanks!
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the ambiant temperature required for exterior application?

Asked by
snbite
about 2-gal. White Water-Based Latex Multi-Surface Interior/Exterior Primer, Sealer and Stain-Blocker on
November 15, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
RednexToyz
Aromas, CA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
November 17, 2015
Per the Kilz site, the application temperature needs to be between 50-90°F.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Odamis
Philadelphia
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
November 16, 2015
Product specification from the manufacture is " Only apply if surface, air and product
temperatures are between 50°-90°F (10°-32°C)."
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
Dryfly
Lexington, Ky
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
November 16, 2015
As a professional 50 degrees is my limit, and then only if the temperature is stead or increasing with no expected rain. Never 50 late in the day when the temperature is falling as moisture will be increasing and the paint will not dry properly. You must also consider other factors such as paint temperature (needs to be at or above your painting temperature). What your painting also needs the same guidelines. It may be 50 degrees outside but if your wall was facing north it may be a lot colder.

Now if you read my review of this product you will see I do not use it any more, product does not cover like in the past. I would recommend Zinsser Bull Eye 123. I fell it is a much better product for the same price.
Lorenzo
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Asked by
Fuzzy
Catskill Mountains, United States
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
November 16, 2015
The surface, air, and primer should be between 50-90 degrees F.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

will product work to prime Electro-galvanized steel

Asked by
shedowner
about 2-gal. White Water-Based Latex Multi-Surface Interior/Exterior Primer, Sealer and Stain-Blocker on
August 24, 2015
some of the interior steel panels of the roof of an Arrow shed that is made of Electro-galvanized steel has some rusting. Will this product work as a primer and be okay with the rust if I use a steel brush on the rust prior to priming and following up with an exterior latex paint?
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Odamis
Philadelphia
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
November 16, 2015
I would not recommend this product for unpainted/untreated Electro-galvanize. My recommendation for your shed would be to clean the rust with steel brush and wool. Remove all visible rust and at least one inch of painted area around (please note with a metal gauge this thin you might have little holes). Then use a product like Rust-Oleum® Stops Rust® Clean Metal Primer.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Sarge
November 10, 2015
I'd go with Kilz oil base>
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
RednexToyz
Aromas, CA
Home Improvement Profile: DIYer
September 9, 2015
This product is not well suited for your intended use.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how to calculate paint is needed for concrete driveway

Asked by
charley
port richey fl
about 2-gal. White Water-Based Latex Multi-Surface Interior/Exterior Primer, Sealer and Stain-Blocker on
September 5, 2015
how much paint is needed to paint a concrete driveway 16ftx35ft
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Jim
Bedford, NH
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
January 11, 2016
Depends upon how porous your driveway is. Figure around 300 to 350 for supplies and material. May be more/ maybe less dependent upon the condition of your driveway.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asked by
Fuzzy
Catskill Mountains, United States
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
September 22, 2015
i don't think Kilz2 is a good choice for a driveway, I recommend you talk with a manufacturer's representative before attempting to use it there, If you do decide to go ahead, you would need a minimum of 2 gallons for one coat on your 560 sq ft driveway, and quite possibly more since concrete is porous,
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Asked by
CommunityAnswer
September 8, 2015
2 gallons of this product covers 600 to 800 square feet.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how many square feet does 1 gal. cover

Asked by
commontater
about 2-gal. White Water-Based Latex Multi-Surface Interior/Exterior Primer, Sealer and Stain-Blocker on
December 30, 2015
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Answer this question
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Asked by
Jim
New Hampshire
Home Improvement Profile: Professional
January 11, 2016
Depends upon whether you want to not see what is underneath. If you are looking for a "stain" blocker....don't even contemplate use of Latex based sealer.....use oil based primer. I suggest staying away from any Behr associated products....You will spend more time (multiple coats). I use both Lowes and HD to purchase my goods, but I prefer Valspar Bonding Primer when I need to cover anything. Usually just one coat. Always prep surface...wash prior to provide good adhesion...
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
1 of 1